Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 200 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

200 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

200 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
136
4 stars
19
3 stars
11
2 stars
13
1 stars
21
1-20 of 181 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews
I love it
10/26/2009

Customer review by AmyofPhoenix

5.0 stars 10/26/2009 by AmyofPhoenix
by AmyofPhoenix

I have had this slow cooker for a few months now, and I absolutely love it. Its light and easy to move around, the locking lid is great and the retractable cord is even a better idea. The lid when your cooking seems to seal itself, and becomes very tight fitting. It has several preset programs you can use, and of course you can program it yourself for the way you want it. The easy clean up makes it the all around slow cooker. The price is extremely reasonable for all that you get.

Was this review helpful? (217) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmyofPhoenix
Phoenx, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best Slow Cooker I've Ever Owned
10/25/2009

Customer review by RomeoKat

5.0 stars 10/25/2009 by RomeoKat
by RomeoKat

I currently own THREE slow cookers. The first was an inexpensive Rival that cooked MUCH to quickly at too high a heat. The second was a very expensive Hamilton Beach programmable (with probe) that I got for Christmas. It works fine about 70% of the time -- the other 30% of the time I come home from work to find that it has just stopped working in the middle of cooking. This GE slow cooker is the BEST for the following reasons: 1) the nonstick insert cleans up great and is MUCH lighter than the traditional stoneware crock; 2) it cooks everything exactly the way it should -- the heat settings are perfect (remember, a slow cooker should never even rise to a simmer) and everything that I have cooked in it has come out perfectly. I have cooked whole 7-lb chickens, chicken parts, pork shoulder, etc etc both on low or high and they have all come out fabulously. This GE 6 Quart Slow Cooker is the only one I use -- and I use it at least once a week, so if you are looking for a reliable, feature-filled, easy-to-use slow cooker, I strongly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (173) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RomeoKat
Burlington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
love it!
10/24/2009

Customer review by legomymego

5.0 stars 10/24/2009 by legomymego
by legomymego

I have had this slow cooker for about 2 months now, and have used it about once or twice a week. I cannot think of a bad thing to say about it. I cant really comment about it taking too long to cook something, because I have never used it for less than 8 hours, but EVERYTHING i've cooked, from pulled pork or guinness roast beef to casseroles have come out perfect. I was registered for a Crock-Pot for my wedding next spring, and was trying to hold out until then to get one, but with my busy schedule, I was getting tired of just throwing quick (unhealthy) dinners together every night. The features on this slow cooker come at a tremendous value. It's easy to set and use (as long as you take a few minutes to read the directions). It was hard to find all the features that this offers at a reasonable price. It also looks really good, its a nice large size, and the snaps on the lid make it ready for travel. It was so sturdy in my car, I didnt have to worry about it tipping over when I turned. If you follow the directions and use it with just water the 1st time, the plastic smell goes away. I gave it four stars for durability because I have only had it for 2 months, but it seems really well made, and sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (80) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
legomymego
Reading, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love It and worth it!! :)
11/23/2009

Customer review by TheGreatSaleHunter

5.0 stars 11/23/2009 by TheGreatSaleHunter
by TheGreatSaleHunter

Bought this a few weeks back and used twice so far. Once for a pot roast dinner and second for a chicken potato dinner. Both times my food came out DELICIOUS and perfect! Its done exactly when the recipe said it would be done. Has great features like "preset" and retractable cord and so easy to clean! I have only had one small Rival brand crock pot and made potato soup and I had to scrub eat clean. This GE crock pot is so easy to wipe and clean! This crock pot is my new best friend! :) I plan to use this for a pot roast dinner on Thanksgiving in addition to our turkey dinner in the oven!

Was this review helpful? (60) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheGreatSaleHunter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
CERAMIC STONEWARE IS BEST
3/21/2010

Customer review by tinaat1013

1.0 stars 3/21/2010 by tinaat1013
by tinaat1013

I didn't even notice before ordering this crock pot that the insert was NOT ceramic. All the features and the nice looking exterior was exactly what I wanted so I was very excited to get it and put it to use. I should've noticed something was "different" about it when I carried the box to my car because it was so light. Seriously, ANYTHING "non-stick" eventually scratches and comes off where the ceramic insert will last forever. So I am returning it for one with similiar features that has a ceramic insert. They're heavy but well worth dealing with the weight to wash it, to have something that will last a very long time. Plus I see other reviews where people were having problems with the insert scratching and chipping off. Hope this helps others when deciding on a new crock pot! :-)

Was this review helpful? (59) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinaat1013
Va Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A time saving product
12/4/2009

Customer review by ShopBetty

5.0 stars 12/4/2009 by ShopBetty
by ShopBetty

This product saved me alot of time Thanksgiving. I put my Lamb in it and it came out juicy and tender. I was able to leave in it in the crockpot after cooking it and the warming feature kept it nice and warm. This is a wonderful product and it is whole lot bigger than it looks.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopBetty
District Heights, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Initially Impressed
2/22/2010

Customer review by secrtamn

1.0 stars 2/22/2010 by secrtamn
by secrtamn

For the first 2 weeks of use I really liked the features and performance of this slow cooker, it was a big improvement over the 12 year-old cooker it replaced. However, after it's latest clean-up I noticed that the teflon was chipping off the inner surface. I've cooked 3 meals in this unit, used only wooden and plastic utenstils and always hand-washed it after use. I will be returning the unit to the store. I may give a second unit a try or buy the pricier Hamilton Beach with the same type of electronic controls but with a ceramic insert.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
secrtamn
Overland Park, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Some Good Features, But Overall Not for me
1/24/2010

Customer review by LikeToCook1

2.0 stars 1/24/2010 by LikeToCook1
by LikeToCook1

I had a more traditional crockpot with a ceramic insert. That one had a timer, too, which also switched to warm when the cooking time ended, which was great. I work long days, so I would "undercook" the recipe and let it continue to cook while on warm for several hours. Stupidly, I put that ceramic insert in the sink when hot, and it cracked with the cold water, so I had to get another one. I picked this one out because I liked a lot of the features on this one (stainless steel outside, timer, extendable/retractable cord/lid that can be clicked in place for traveling). But when I got it, I realized that there are some downsides to shopping on line. First, the panel that had the timer thing on it was flimsy and just stuck on. Second, the insert was not ceramic. It was a non-stick aluminum. (I should have noticed that before I ordered it on-line, but I didn't.) Though lighter to lift out and stick-proof, you can't use metal utensils, and I'm not sure it works the same as the other timing wise, as I expect ceramic heats up differently/slower than aluminum. But the worst part was that the timer, which kicks over to warm once done (same as my old one, a feature I loved), inexplicably automatically TURNS OFF after 4 hours. I made turkey chili in it, but was so bummed when I got home to learn that it was cold because more than 4 hours had passed since it switched onto warm. Not a big deal to turn on high and heat up (the meal was delicious), but the 4 hours only thing just defeats the whole purpose of the crock pot in my opinion. So I returned it and bought another one (more like my old one), which I love. Hope this helps you.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LikeToCook1
MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Only one flaw
1/18/2010

Customer review by ariderim

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by ariderim
by ariderim

I love this product so much that I hate to say anything bad about it. I just got off the phone with a GE rep and I did not do anything wrong. Here it is I have had my slow cooker since the end of October and maybe use it once every other week, (on the adverage) and the teflon is peeling up on the botom. I thought maybe I use it to much he said no, I thought that maybe it was that I put it in the dishwasher and he said no. I do not know why because I cook on low and slow and there is no reason. I will admit I am taking it back to walmart and getting another one, that is how much I really do love this slowcooker. I figure that if it has a two year warranty then in two years they will either recall it or make it better I am shooting for better, I love this crock pot and I have 4 other crock pots from other companys And always use this one since I have gotten it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ariderim
Newaygo, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent love the timer.
10/21/2009

Customer review by bren2355

5.0 stars 10/21/2009 by bren2355
by bren2355

Just purchased this produce a week ago but have used it several times. Excellent product for the price. Love the timer and temperature controls. You do have to read the directions or it will flash!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bren2355
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Big miss....
11/18/2009

Customer review by mandmsmeanmommy

1.0 stars 11/18/2009 by mandmsmeanmommy
by mandmsmeanmommy

I understand it is Energy Eff. but I will be taking it back along with the other review this taking too LONG!!! I soaked navy beans overnight and put them in my new crockpot this morning at 10am. Used the preset on low for 8 hours, which with my old crock would cook in that time. Well after 6 hours I went to check and they were still VERY hard. I put the crock on for 2 more hours on HIGH yep still hard. Just put them on 2 more hours and that will make dinner after 8 pm, not acceptable with two kids in the house. Will be taking this back and researching new crocks.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mandmsmeanmommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Wonderful & durable!
5/30/2012

Customer review by October0630

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by October0630
by October0630

I was skeptical about this GE slow cooker because it wasn't like my original ceramic Crock Pot. This slow cooker has met & exceeded my expectations. The insert is lightweight, easy to clean. It has a feature to keep the food inside warm without overcooking/drying. It has a timer and automatically switches to warming mode when the food has cooked for the predetermined amount of time. The lid creates a tight seal to prevent any spillage. ONE THING to be aware of; The cooker emits a strange odor the first couple uses. I believe it has something to do with the rubber-like seal around the rim of the lid. It has no effect on the food, just a bizarre smell that goes away after further usage.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
October0630
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it.
11/4/2010

Customer review by Marymotherof4

5.0 stars 11/4/2010 by Marymotherof4
by Marymotherof4

I have been reading the reviews about this slow cooker. I received mine for Christmas 2009 and have had no issues with it. (This is Nov. 4, 2010) The non-stick coating is not peeling. (I noticed several people said it was peeling in theirs) I only use utensils in it that are made for non stick cookware. I have a large family and I use this cooker on a weekly basis. I love it. it has been a great help to me in the kitchen having this cooker. I recommend it to anyone who wants a large slow cooker. It's a great product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marymotherof4
Chatsworth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
scratches easy
3/10/2010

Customer review by sleepytoe

1.0 stars 3/10/2010 by sleepytoe
by sleepytoe

Using the wooden spoon, like it said, it still scratches...I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sleepytoe
Gladstone, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Perfect for our needs
9/18/2012

Customer review by LadyShiloh

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by LadyShiloh
by LadyShiloh

This slow cooker is fantastic. The metal liner is light weight and very easy to keep clean. It cooks evenly and thoroughly. The programmability of outer shell is wonderful, especially for a working mom like me who is away from the house most of the day. I can put a roast or chicken into the pot first thing in the morning, and have a dinner ready when I walk into the house in the late afternoon without burning or drying out the meat. The locking lid is perfect! And even while cooking and not locked, the seal on the lid is very secure and holds the heat with ease. The retractable cord is a stroke of genius! It makes storage effortless and I never have to search for the correct cord for the appliance I want. I've had this cooker for over a year now and most of my friends and family wish to steal it from me. I just recommend them to Walmart to buy their own. If/when the one I have ever dies, I will definitely go back to get another without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyShiloh
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
My First Slow Cooker
11/29/2009

Customer review by Trinity702

5.0 stars 11/29/2009 by Trinity702
by Trinity702

This is my first slow cooker ever purchased/ever used and I must say that it was very easy to use and my stew turned out perfectly. I didn't want to leave it unattended the first time I used it so I stayed home to watch it as it cooked all day. The temps were perfect, the settings were prefect, it was a textbook stew. It came out delightful. I was tempted to peak and pry the lid off but I left it alone to do what it needed to do and after the timer went off we enjoyed a really great meal. This is a wonderful product and I am glad that I made the purchase after seeing the commercial. The price was a little high compared to some of the other models I saw, but I have no regrets. It does everything it says it does and I have had no problems whatsoever. This slow cooker is a GEM!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trinity702
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
My favorite slow cooker
8/7/2012

Customer review by DeltaDawn77

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by DeltaDawn77
by DeltaDawn77

I bought this slow cooker about a year ago. I had read many bad reviews and was a little hesitant at first. This is my go-to slow cooker now. It's light weight so it's easy to get in and out of my cabinet. I do use the slow cooker bags (mainly because I LOATHE scrubbing food out of any container). Yes, I will admit it does emit an unusual smell but using the bags, I don't taste anything in my food except my food! My other favorite feature is that I'm not stuck using the mfg's temperature settings. If I want to cook my food on SLOW for 10 hrs, I can do that. Or if I just want to cook something in there for 1 1/2 hrs on high heat b/c I don't feel like heating up my stove top, I can do that too. I do have 2 other Crock Pots which are the Crock Pot brand but I still prefer this one. I'm considering buying another one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeltaDawn77
MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
GE slow cooker, a good product
1/9/2010

Customer review by Hercandy

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by Hercandy
by Hercandy

This is my first slow cooker, but I have been going to stores and looking at the quality and features of many in the recent weeks. The GE one has a retractable cord so you can't loose it. It turns out delicious meals. I wanted to return comment on the person whos lid didn't fit, and I suspect someone may have switched lids in the store. The proper lid is easily identifiable as it has the GE logo etched in and has vent in the lid to relieve pressure in case you didn't read the manual and latched down the lid while cooking. This lid has a rubber seal that simply rests/sits on the lip of the aluminum insert(crock). There is a gap around the rim of the crock and lid, this lid does not fit tight to the crock. The tight cooking seal is provided simply by the weight of the lid and silicon rubber gasket on the lid. The display is very easy to read, and simple to operate. The displays on the Crock Pot models were flimsy and subject to allowing food drippings or water from a wet sponge to enter. I was also turned off by the displays on the Hamiltons. This GE was easy to operate. Has 8 built in programs that you can modify before cooking. I like the lightness of the non-stick aluminum crock, its easy to hold and clean. Seeing how it cooked meat I have no doubt that it will cook pinto beans, which someone else complained about, which I'm going to try this week.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hercandy
Chicago, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I highly recommend!
2/24/2010

Customer review by CatWoman4

5.0 stars 2/24/2010 by CatWoman4
by CatWoman4

I've had this slow cooker for several months now, and after making a bunch of different meals in it, it's safe to say that I officially love it! I would highly recommend it to anyone. My two favorite things about it are how light-weight the inner "crock" is. It's not ceramic, like most slow cookers. Instead, it's very thin, almost comparable to a cookie sheet weight and thickness. I was worried at first that that might cause food to burn or stick to the bottom, but it doesn't at all. The second thing I love is that the outside of the slow cooker doesn't get hot at all. I actually bought this slow cooker after buying and immediately returning a Hamilton Beach model, because the entire outer back of the slow cooker became too hot to touch within a half hour or so. I didn't feel safe leaving it on in the house all day while we were at work, especially since we have cats, and you never know what they might knock over onto it, etc. I'm very happy to say that the outside of this slow cooker never gets hotter than warm to the touch. Overall, I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatWoman4
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Ultimately disappointed
2/12/2011

Customer review by Aspouse

3.0 stars 2/12/2011 by Aspouse
by Aspouse

Because I read reviews before I purchase, I wanted to pass this along for consideration before you purchase this slow cooker. While I like this model and used it frequently, once the lid broke I found there were no replacement parts available for this. Perhaps it would cost as much to buy a new lid and have it shipped as it would to purchase a new slow cooker, but that's not even an option I am given to consider. Consequently, I will probably purchase Crock Pot brand to replace it, which does have replacement parts.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aspouse
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews