Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 163 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

163 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

163 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
81
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 stars
20
1-20 of 132 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 132 total reviews
1-20 of 132 reviews
It Does Boil!
8/4/2011

Customer review by Mom2AshandEmy

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by Mom2AshandEmy
by Mom2AshandEmy
Top 1000 contributor

I have gas ran throughout my house and have decided to go electric but cant afford a stove. When I seen this I read the reviews saying it didn't even boil water. So I went ahead and bought it to test and decided to test it before I threw the box away. I put a medium saucepan on the largest burner and guess what! It took just 10 minutes for the water to come to a ROLLING BOIL. I'm keeping the burner now that I know it does boil. Make sure you put a lid on the pot it helps the boiling process. I have to walk 300 yards to my mothers house to use her stove. Very difficult when you have three kids in tow and have to take every ingredient and utensil needed! This burner has saved me so much trouble

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2AshandEmy
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Cooking up a storm
6/20/2010

Customer review by kllam

5.0 stars 6/20/2010 by kllam
by kllam

at first i didnt know if the surface of the hot plate is supposed to be black ,but then i just turned it on and started to cook .

Was this review helpful? (2) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kllam
hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A rugged, easy to clean hot plate.
9/30/2011

Customer review by PopsInWinooski

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by PopsInWinooski
by PopsInWinooski

The GE Dual Burner Hot Plate is handsome, ruggedly built, and much easier to clean than other hot plates I've used. My only quibble is that the burners take longer to reach maximum heat than those on the old clunker I was using before. It's well worth the price, and seems certain to last for years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PopsInWinooski
Winooski Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great deal for the money
8/29/2011

Customer review by Bullkey

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by Bullkey
by Bullkey

I read all the reviews on this hot plate and was a little concerned. I decided to get one and if it didn't work, return it. The first day I needed to saute a bunch of vegetables and used a 12 inch frying pan on the large burner. I turned it to high and let the pan warm up first. It did an excellent job. Then I wanted to do a water boil test, as some reviews said it wouldn't boil water. I put a 4 quart pot on the large burner set to high with 5 cups of tap water. I put a lid on, as I would on my regular stove, and set the timer. In 9 minutes I had bubbles on the top and at 14 minutes I had a rolling boil. I then put a 1.5 quart pot on the small burner with 3 cups of tap water. I put a lid and set the timer. In 11 minutes I had bubbles on the top and at 14 minutes I had a rolling boil. This more than meets my expectations. I only have one negative comment and that is the entire unit gets quite hot and I need to move it with oven mitts right after use. I still give it 5 stars because this is a nit for me.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bullkey
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/7/2010

Customer review by louis33705

5.0 stars 10/7/2010 by louis33705
by louis33705

I am a retired single guy who lives in an RV at an RV resort in Florida. My RV operates on both propane and electric. Last Spring I ran out of propane. Being retired and lazy I did not want to go through the hassle of pulling out the propane tanks and getting them refilled so I went to Walmart and got the double burner. I am an avid cook and have done everything with the burner as I have always done on my regular stove. I have made everything from spaghetti sauce in a staneless steel pot to pot roast on a cast iron dutch oven. Boiling water? Yes, you can on both burners. All you need is a pot with a lid and it boils fast. Trust me. We have pot lucks dinners here at the resort once a month and I have cooked for 30 people with no problem. Last month I made a large pot of cachun gumbo. I will eventually refuel on propane for the RV heater, but I will continue to use the double burner to limit the propane use.

Was this review helpful? (270) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
louis33705
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
totally useful
9/22/2010

Customer review by chowderheadeluxe

4.0 stars 9/22/2010 by chowderheadeluxe
by chowderheadeluxe

These burners DO boil water, and actually can fry meats, contrary to what others have posted. Overall, the product works very well, but it does take a few minutes longer to boil larger (3-4 quart) kettles of water, than a burner on an actual full-sized stove. Common sense dictates that since the burners are 900w (larger burner) and 600w (smaller burner), the extra heating time is to be expected since real stove burners run 1250w on up to 2500w. The unit has to be below 1500w total current draw, in order to operate on any household electrical outlet without causing problems, (just like any other consumer electronic.) The unit is easy to clean, easy to use, seems durable enough, looks okay, and does the job well enough. I was surprised that it doesn't heat the surface it operates on much, so that is a big plus in my opinion. Of course, there's always room for improvement so only 4 stars overall.

Was this review helpful? (46) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chowderheadeluxe
North American Heartland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It cooks!
3/25/2011

Customer review by BobComp

5.0 stars 3/25/2011 by BobComp
by BobComp

I live in an area that can get power outages during storms. Since my kitchen stove is electric, I needed a way to cook dinner, when power is out. I have a small generator that can provide enough electricity to power things like this hot plate. So, I bought it, hoping I could cook with it. The owner's manual says its "not for braising, frying, etc", and suggested it was only intended to "boil water". So, I was concerned that this hot plate wouldn't get hot enough to cook. As a test, we turned it on, and was able to cook bacon and fried eggs with no problem (using the larger burner). There is no doubt that this hot plate can cook hamburgers, steak, or whatever you may need to cook. So yes, it works fine! It is a little slow to get hot at first, but that's to be expected with a 1000W 120V burner. The body appears to be made out of metal, and the entire unit seems sturdy. As others have said, the cast iron hot plates do seem solid, and retain heat quite well. No, the surface won't get "red hot" like your kitchen stove, but it is hot enough for small cooking jobs. There are indicator lights on the front, to let you know that a burner is turned on. There are no detents in the control knobs, so it could be easy to turn a burner on, by accidentally touching (moving) the control knob. Overall, very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (75) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobComp
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Convenient traveling stove
12/23/2009

Customer review by FrugalTraveler

4.0 stars 12/23/2009 by FrugalTraveler
by FrugalTraveler

The dual cookers are nice, but water boils only on the larger one. Can be taken on road trips and the dual burners helps me to do more than make just one-pot wonders. The price is pretty good, the additional burner's only $10 more than the single ones (and they're smaller anyways). It's fairly portable, pretty lightweight, and gets the job done. I've used it for about a half a year and haven't had any problems to date.

Was this review helpful? (101) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrugalTraveler
Saginaw, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Love it
12/20/2010

Customer review by Mom4theyear

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by Mom4theyear
by Mom4theyear

I had been looking for a hot plate burner for about 2 monthes and came across this one online at Walmart. I read and reread the reviews and I was sold. I got it about 2 wks ago and have used it everyday since. I love it, it does a awesome job of cooking and heating up food and it is very attractive looking. It came when they said it would Iwas so excited when I came home and it was there I cooked on it that night. Tks Walmart, I am a customer for life.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom4theyear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ge double burner hotplate
11/5/2012

Customer review by pitbull3154

5.0 stars 11/5/2012 by pitbull3154
by pitbull3154
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i also have the cheaper two burner hotplate with the open elements,and it doesn't even compare to this one for only about another 10$ ,it's even coat over elements makes it safer from fire and spreads the heat very even,so well that at 900 watt on main eye it does better than the open eye type at 1000 watts,, heating same amount of water on both eye types this hotplate heated the water 3 times faster,and at 100 watts less ,,that is a considerable savings on electricity,,it will pay back the extra 10$ in no time at that rate,,and i did do this test accuratly measured water and timed,,also used same pot from cold ,,this is a very good buy ,also another good feature is that this plate is grounded unlike cheaper ones that are not grounded,,for an extra 10$ it adds much safety with the covered even spread heat cover,and the added security of being grounded!!! big pluses especially since the electri savings will pay for itself in just a few uses!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pitbull3154
longview, texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well worth the money
2/14/2011

Customer review by b1tterr00t

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by b1tterr00t
by b1tterr00t

I read several negitive reviews on this product. Just wondering if they had it plugged in?? This brought partually frozen chicken stock to a rolling boil in 15 minutes. That was on the big burner. I had onions frying on the small burner. Average out the reviews folks. There are some people you just can't please.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
b1tterr00t
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Both burners easily boil full pans of water
7/24/2011

Customer review by steama

5.0 stars 7/24/2011 by steama
by steama

I do not understand any negative reviews of this outstanding product. Both burners easily boil full pans of water. This unit is just a bit slower than our full size range. Dollar for dollar you cannot go wrong with this unit.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not what I'd hoped for
2/4/2012

Customer review by GeekyWoman

3.0 stars 2/4/2012 by GeekyWoman
by GeekyWoman

I bought this product because we're currently without a real kitchen, and wanted to be able to boil water, and do some other basic top-of-the-stove tasks. I carefully read reviews and looked for my best option. Can I do those things? Yes. Can I do them the way I want? Not really - my expectations were probably too high. While other reviewers have clearly had a different experience, I've found that it's very slow to boil water, and is definitely not a portable real burner. Since we can only use one appliance of this type at a time (without causing the breaker to go), this has been somewhat of a disappointment for me. I tried using is a lot in the beginning, but now find that I'm using my microwave and electric skillet far more, using my Keurig to make a cup of hot water, and not really using this product as I'd expected, or even much at all. Down the road, when I have a kitchen again, I'll probably use it on a sideboard to keep things warm, or I'll give it away.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeekyWoman
Newport, RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
6/29/2012

Customer review by DeeDee0426

1.0 stars 6/29/2012 by DeeDee0426
by DeeDee0426

I thought I was purchasing a hot plate that I could actually cook on but what I received was a warming plate. Once the hot plate reaches a certain temperture it cuts off leaving the food you are cooking to sit and and wait until the hot plate comes back on. The description on Walmart website does not tell you that the hot plate is not meant for cooking. I did not find this out until I actually use it then notice in small writing that the manufacturer had it written in some paperwork that was inside the box. I think I should have been told on the website that this product can not be used for cooking or frying.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeeDee0426
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
No it does NOT get hot enough!
7/31/2011

Customer review by jkaustin02

1.0 stars 7/31/2011 by jkaustin02
by jkaustin02

After buying this when we lost use of our stove for 12 days, we thought it would work in conjunction with our electric skillet to enable us to cook the meals we are used to cooking. Did not see until unpacked that the instructions state not for braising, frying or browning, only for gently simmering. Decided to try it anyway and they were correct! Although others have posted it does boil water, we were never able to get it hot enough to do so. Did try several different pots and several different foods. Nothing worked. Tried with and without lids. Will be returning to store.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkaustin02
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
not what I expected
7/9/2012

Customer review by donnadidit

1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by donnadidit
by donnadidit

I bought this to use as a stove top burner since my range is not working so until I got another range I was going to use this to make meals. All the reviews were so good I figured it would do what I wanted which was to boil water to make a pot of spaghetti or pasta and to just do regular things any stove top would do....including sauteing chicken or boiling eggs or frying anything ( not deep frying ) but just regular pan sauteing. But after waiting for water to boil for over 25 minutes it was clear to see this is just not powerful enough to use as an every day cook top burner. I guess its ok if you want to just heat things up like a small pot of soup or keep things warm but it will not get hot enough to cook pasta or make a real dinner. It wouldn't even boil a pot of water to make hard boiled eggs. I returned it and got my money back.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donnadidit
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Very good product
2/21/2011

Customer review by ElaineInNJ

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by ElaineInNJ
by ElaineInNJ

I bought this for a friend who is a divorcee now living on her own. She does not have a stove yet so I bought her this product. It is an excellent product according to her and my friend does NOT mince words. Just like everyone said you should put lids on your pots if you are looking to boil water etc. It does a very good job and she was quite pleased.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElaineInNJ
Old Bridge, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product for the money
9/29/2011

Customer review by RowdiGal

4.0 stars 9/29/2011 by RowdiGal
by RowdiGal

I use this product several times weekly. I live alone, and got rid of my full size stove. After reading other reviews about the product not getting hot enough to boil water, I only half agree. Yes it does boil water. If I want to make hard boiled eggs, I always use the largest burner and keep a lid on the pot until it boils. takes 25-30 minutes to come to a boil. The smaller burner works fine for heating up canned goods. I keep it on top of a microwave stand, but usually put a metal tray underneath it when using, to keep the wooden stand from getting too hot. It is attractive and looks nice in my kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RowdiGal
Tarentum, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value
12/9/2010

Customer review by FiddlersTwo

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by FiddlersTwo
by FiddlersTwo

This hot plate meets all my needs and I'm really very pleased with it. Some people have complained about water taking too long to boil, but that's a non-issue - the water boils fast enough for me! I'm also pleased that the blue light that indicates it's plugged in serves as a safety feature, reminding me to unplug it when not in use. I highly recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FiddlersTwo
Southern Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does Not Work for General Cooking, OK for Buffet
11/30/2010

Customer review by ksisnottoolongOK

1.0 stars 11/30/2010 by ksisnottoolongOK
by ksisnottoolongOK

CONS: If your intention is to cook with it, it is underpowered from my experience. I tried boiling 5 cups of water on the large burner in a copper bottom stainless steel pan. After 15 minutes it showed bubbles but still had not come to a full boil. I tried 3 cups on the small burner and in 15 minutes it still had not boiled. This appliance would likely be OK as a warming device for a buffet or for heating a can of soup but it is not adequate for cooking. The picture on the box shows a pot of spaghetti ready to be made on the large burner and a pan of sauce on the other. Forget that. The entire appliance gets very hot so you have to be careful. PROs: It is very attractive with 2 burner lights and a hot surface light and seems sturdy and well built. 2 year warranty with return to Walmart if it breaks. It may be that another type of pan would work better with it but I did not try. I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ksisnottoolongOK
rochester
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
1-20 of 132 total reviews
1-20 of 132 reviews