Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

25 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

25 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 25 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
Great Gift

Customer review by Doublelunger

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Doublelunger
by Doublelunger

My 16 year old Daughter loves these pens. Great price at Wal-mart others charge upto $9.00.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Helpful Tip

Customer review by cgotnails1

4.0 stars 11/18/2012 by cgotnails1
by cgotnails1

I am a prof. manicurist and use these and other types of art pens daily. After reading many negative reviews, I feel compelled to give hints of use. These pens are actually very good. Tricky but useful. We prefer the thinner lined pens. Is easier to write with and dosnt flood the nail with to much polish. Black and white are our staple colors. First it's important to shake them very well when first opened. Otherwise will be to runny and not vibrant color. When you think it's enough, shake more. Theres no telling how long the've been sitting. If still to runny, it might be bad. Exchange for new one. Also consider. It depends on the color in my opinion how thin or useful any paint/polish is. Vibrant creme colors are the best for art. Black or white particularly. Frosted colors will almost def. be unusable for me. They are a thinner consistency. Usually apply lighter and never show up. For me at the salon, we never buy them in these colors. For individual use. You know what polish colors you prefer and which art paints are to light to be effective. As far as the paint cracking after top coat.... This is usually a problem with several types of paints/polishes if applied to thick and not allowed to dry thoroughly. To correct this issue, apply thinner coats of art polish, even if several are required to get the shade you desire. Let them dry a bit between coats. I'm confident this problem arises only when used as a french manicure. Dosn't matter the color. I've found that fast dry top coats will sometimes set up so quickly they will crinkle the paint. Especially if not thoroughly dry paint. If it's a problem, try a regular dry top coat. *This is one reason they still make several diff. types. I use in this case the cheapest one I can find. A rule of thumb for us is to stick to the primary creme colors. And a gold/silver glitter as well. I hope this has helped. We know how pricey and disappointing it can be to have problems with our art supplies when sitting down to apply something fun on your nails. Walmart has always been great about returns. These pens can get clogged or dry up if not stored properly. Take it back and exchange. Hint*** Gel pens are the best and usually in every color at the bottom of my sons back pack. Just sayin.... we use them alot. (don't bother with glitter or light colored ones. They dont show up enough). Enjoy

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Land o lakes Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day

Customer review by likeMail

2.0 stars 7/6/2010 by likeMail
by likeMail

Was NOT what I expected. A little messy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
A lot of fun

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've had fun with the nail Art Pen which provides more freedom than other kinds of application.

An anonymous customer
I love

Customer review by jenng1

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by jenng1
by jenng1

When i graduated i went to a few nail places but no one seemed to grasp what i wanted for my graduation and i ran across this and fell in love i can do what i want to my nails from dots to lines to french tip and I loved that. My only down fall with this is it takes a little long to dry. I will recommend this to anyone who like designing their nails like i do.

Fuquay-Varina, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Was worried when I read other reviews, but works GREAT!

Customer review by karaci

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by karaci
by karaci

I looked on the website to see if they had any info on how to use the pen and then I started reading the reviews and was worried that I made a bad choice. Decided to try it out and it works great. I think the bad reviews were from people not using the pen correctly. It says to press on a hard surface (not your nail). So I used a scrap piece of paper and pressed on the end once and waited, then pressed down again and I saw the polish start to flow to the tip. once it filled the tip I drew a line on the paper before I put it on my nail. It makes perfect lines, no blobs at all. I think the key here is to only press on the end once, maybe twice to get the color flowing. I did not have to keep pressing the tip down. I used a light touch as well when I applied the pen to my nail. Works great!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use

Customer review by NiftyNails

4.0 stars 9/17/2012 by NiftyNails
by NiftyNails

I have this product in gold, and it is amazing. I painted white tips and lined the top with gold, then wrote across the nail. It lasted over a week, I took it off before it wore off. I do have a similar pen from a beauty supple store that I paid even more for and it runs, globs and just make a pure mess. I would rather this product over the higher priced salon one anyday.

Ingersoll, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost there

Customer review by Lauren16

4.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Lauren16
by Lauren16

I got this for my sister for her birthday as a fun gift because we both love to do our nails, i got her the teal color and it worked great on the polish that she had on which was Sally Hansen Speed Dry polish, and I had on another brand of polish, and on the other brand it did not seen to stick on for long but that could have been just because i never put a top coat on. The point is that if you use the speed dry polish it works really well and then put the clear color from speed dry on top, the pen color will stay on for a while

West Chester, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Megspangs

4.0 stars 3/13/2013 by Megspangs
by Megspangs

At first it didn't work for me, but then I used a good base coat, colored nail polish, used the art pen for polka dots, and then finished with a top coat and its lasted for a few days now. So, I'd recommend it for easy, cool nail designs

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Learn how to use it.

Customer review by Seelix

4.0 stars 3/31/2013 by Seelix
by Seelix

I bought the white one for french tips and it works great. 1. apply to tip of nail 2. let dry 3. cover with clear coat. 4. and repeat if you want a thicker white. Clear coat over is key.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's a Hit or Miss Product!

Customer review by Shannon0710

2.0 stars 5/8/2012 by Shannon0710
by Shannon0710

I have the Neon Pink Pen and that works AWESOME, color is a bang on match to the box, covers great and is an attention grabber!!!!!! It doesnt turn bright pink untill you seal it in with the clear coat so dont be discouraged if it looks pale pink at first.- PINK is recomended I also have the Red (09) and that is more of a burt Orange with a bit of a sparkle. It looks awful and the color doesn't cover very well!!!!- The RED I would NOT recomend buying at all!

Would recommend to a friend? No
This Product Doesn't Work Well

Customer review by adale1320

1.0 stars 5/5/2012 by adale1320
by adale1320

I don't have a problem with any Sally Hansen product except this. The ink doesn’t come out, and when you push, it all comes out at once!

Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible results!

Customer review by dmccurley12679

1.0 stars 6/8/2012 by dmccurley12679
by dmccurley12679

I purchased the white nail art pen yesterday and decided to do polka dots over my purple nail polish. It was awful. the product is very runny and looks like watered down milk. I had to take all my polish off to get rid of it, otherwise it looked like fat free milk splashed on my nails. I wouldn't recommend this product to ANYONE!

Lacey, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very poor quality for Sally Hansen product

Customer review by ttamsp

1.0 stars 7/3/2012 by ttamsp
by ttamsp

I bought this for my daughter so we could make her nails "pretty". We followed the directions & used it over another color and then applied a top coat. It was really impressive for the first hour or so & as the day progressed the TEAL color turned almost white. The product didn't even stay for one full day. I will not purchase any more of this product.

Would recommend to a friend? No
Expensive, doesn't work well or stay on

Customer review by codyv122

1.0 stars 7/7/2012 by codyv122
by codyv122

First of all it was a little pricey. I bought the white to make polka dots, french tips, etc. It took forever to dry. I applied a top coat like it said and in just a few hours almost all of my polka dots were gone! I would not buy again!

Cape Girardeau, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth it..

Customer review by Libi95

1.0 stars 7/29/2012 by Libi95
by Libi95

My mother bought the black for me a few wks ago. At first i thought it would be pretty cool to make all my designs out of it. But boy was i wrong.. If your trying to do any type of flowy design it wnt work. I use the black for french tips all the time (Yes i love black) but it cracked HORRIBLY.. Even after putting on a few layers to cover the cracks it still looked bad :( And it comes right off if you dnt use a top coat..

Copperas Cove, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Complete waste of my money.

Customer review by ArE2

1.0 stars 8/3/2012 by ArE2
by ArE2

While I LOVE the concept, I wish that I could return this product. It lasts for about 2 hours before it starts to come off. I tried various methods of trying to keep the color on, but nothing works. I would suggest finding a different product.

Golconda, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn't last more than one day

Customer review by DanielleB

1.0 stars 1/20/2013 by DanielleB
by DanielleB

I normally do not review products but I was so excited to receive this nail pen and barely worked and then it chipped in less than one day. Unfortunately disappointing.

New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Comes off immediately

Customer review by Jess

1.0 stars 10/24/2012 by Jess
by Jess

This product is so bad that I actually took the time to create an account just so I could tell everyone not to buy it. I bought this pen in black to make nude/black french tips. It goes on smoothly and looks great at first. Immediately after applying the top coat the black tips began to crackle. By the next day a few nails were completely rubbed off and the others were beginning to show signs of wear. I read the label and didn't see anything about needing a special type of top coat. If that is the case, it should say on the package!

Would recommend to a friend? No
Very Very Disappointing

Customer review by DarlingNikkiFM

1.0 stars 11/29/2012 by DarlingNikkiFM
by DarlingNikkiFM

This is a very disappointing product. I threw out the two pens I had because they were not worth using. It didn't take long for me to realize that you had to use a top coat or your design wouldn't last two minutes. But the fact that the color cracks and base colors tend to bleed through made it that much more disappointing to use. I will not recommend this product to any one. In fact I would advise friends and family against buy this particular product.

New Hampshire, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews