Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 45 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Mean little machine
1/23/2010

Customer review by ComeOnSummer

4.0 stars 1/23/2010 by ComeOnSummer
by ComeOnSummer

Not bad..handled 13-15 inches with no problem. Like mowing tall wet grass with a lawn mower. The wheels do slide around on the snow and you have to be careful with cord because it can get in the way. It beats shoveling any day of the week.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ComeOnSummer
Winchester Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great for small driveways
12/9/2009

Customer review by LoveToCook1234

4.0 stars 12/9/2009 by LoveToCook1234
by LoveToCook1234

For the price, you definitely won't be disappointed. If you physically cannot shovel snow it might not be the right thrower for you because you do have to push it quite hard through the snow, which is to be expected of an electric thrower. There are wheels on the unit though, so it's not like you're dragging it. It's still less work than using a shovel because you're not lifting anything, just pushing and it gets the job done a lot quicker too. I would only recommend this product to someone with a small driveway because of the cord issue. You need to get a 14-gauge 2 prong (or 3 prong) cord to have enough power to operate the thrower at maximum capacity. My driveway fits 6 cars snugly, at 2 cars wide and I need the 100 ft cord to have enough line to run the thrower. There is a little contraption on the handle that you clip the cord into to hold it out of the way, but that doesn't really work. If you can manage to vacuum your house without running the cord over you won't have a problem with this snow thrower. I read in the reviews of other snow throwers that they don't work with wet snow or deep snow and that they don't throw the snow as far as the manufacturer claims. That is not true with this unit. My husband is out clearing about 5" of snow with sleet on top (so it's extremely wet and heavy) and the snow thrower is handling it just fine and throwing it plenty far from the driveway. He's rather impatient and is really pushing it so he can come back inside, and the unit is taking the abuse with ease.

Was this review helpful? (54) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveToCook1234
Bellingham, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
12/9/2009

Customer review by jimm644

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by jimm644
by jimm644

When i first looked at this i was suspicious, the price was too right. Then they told me I had to be shipped and we had to wait, when i asked how long they said 3-5 days. The next day it was here. today i tried it on wet slushy heavy snow about 3in on the ends ,,,,it blasted through no problem. Motor revs high, very powerfull. Compared to my torro gas unit i bought for 3 times+ the price this thing rocks. the only setback is the extension cord but that can be minimized by working side to side. Im already thinking of attaching a car battery to it

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimm644
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
If it only started
1/9/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/9/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was really looking forward to making the big switch from a gas/oil snow blower to an electric one mostly for the instant start with no maintaince features. When the new unit arrived, I was excited to assemble it and give it a test drive with all the snow still on the ground. Assembly was very easy and only required a screw driver and so no real issues at all. The moment has arrived to plug it in and go. I followed the instructions in the manual and pressed the start button and pulled the handle and nothing occured, I did it again and again and again. Now I am getting upset that I made a big mistake selling the big snow unit and buying this electric one since it too would not start. I called the service hot line which was just an answering machine telling me they were closed and to hold to leave a message, after holding 15 minutes I decided that was enough for me. The unit goes back on Monday and I would never buy this again. For those who had a good experince, you were just lucky.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lebanon, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not for Northern Michigan
12/11/2009

Customer review by AMY761

3.0 stars 12/11/2009 by AMY761
by AMY761

I have a small driveway, it fits two cars length wise and is only the width of one car. We just got a ton of snow and I was pushing this thing around like it didn't even have wheels on it. I had to go over the same stretch four times to get it done. Then again it is a snow blower for not so much money so I wasn't expecting that much. It would be great for an area that doesn't get as much snow!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AMY761
traverse city, mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Won't dissappoint; know what to expect
12/28/2009

Customer review by SeldomReview

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by SeldomReview
by SeldomReview

My criteria while looking for a snow thrower were: 1. Maintainance - I wanted something that was going to require as little maintainance as possible 2. Cost I've been leaning more toward the electric than the gas models owing to my maintainance criteria. I'd rather manoeuvre around a power cord than have to deal with gas, oil, spark plugs, etc., and accept the lower throwing power that I know I would get from an electric. Pretty much the only choices out there when I started looking were the Toro 1800 and the Snow Joe. Looking at the reviews, I wasn't too happy with either (even though the Toro is the highest rated electric thrower out there, I think that has more to do with the fact that it's only competition is the Snow Joe). So I was thinking I might have to spring for a gas unit after all when along came Walmart with the Snow Devil. What caught my attention was the price point - at sub $200, and with Walmarts no questions asked return policy, I felt it was worth a test run. Also, the other selling point for me was when I went ahead and pulled up the website of the company that manufactures this unit (Airco Hong Kong), and saw that they build and sell power tools and equipment under different brand names for various other retailers, so they aren't exactly newbies at this, so I went ahead and bit the bullet and ordered it. I got to test it out the very next day after it arrived. Wind and snow had left me with accumulations varying from 3 inches to 12 inches (in places) of wet snow. It handled 3" - 5" of the wet stuff with no problem, but the throwing distance obvioulsy suffered, and it threw maybe 5-6 feet. However, when I got to the areas where the snow had built up 9 - 12 inches, surprise surprise, it actually started throwing it 10-12 feet! Granted, I had to do a top layer, bottom layer approach to first clear a path then I started doing half track approaches where I was only letting half the unit attack the snow at a time, and this seemed to work best. The one drawback is that you need to really push this thrower as the auger does not have enough power to pull it along like the gas ones, so I did have slightly stiff forearms and wrists after all the removal, but I was using this machine in ways it wasn't intended to be used! I did have a problem with the extension cord popping out of the socket on the unit a couple of times; they could do with some sort of locking mechanism to keep it in place, and ofcoures, I had to figure out how to work around the cord but apart from that, I can't say I had any real problems. If this machine was going to throw a belt, I figure what I put it through, would definitly have done so by now. The suprising thing is, the unit itself performed well, even beyond what it was intended for! My reccommendations?- If all you get 80-90% of the time is dry snow, this is all you'll need because with a little patience, you can work with it the rest of the time to get you through the wet snow too. If however you get wet snow half the time or more, or have to consistenly deal with 6" or more of packed powder, I would say, consider a gas single stage. You could still get by with this unit even in those conditions if you're willing to go out and clear the snow each time it builds upto 3-5 inches, but be prepared that it will not throw far, so you'll have to aim the chute judiciously and you will have to push it while clearing. I can't speak for reliabilty or longevity at this time since I've only just used it a couple of times, but so far, I can comfortably say that the Snow Devil performs and performs well, and is even cabaple of doing a little more than expected!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeldomReview
Cheyenne, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Devil electric snow thrower
12/21/2009

Customer review by blakeyman

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by blakeyman
by blakeyman

This products is only designed for light fluffy snow up to 9", however i used it on a deck that was 9.5 " of wet snow and it worked like a charm, It didn't throw far because it was wet but it did work great right down to the wood.Go slow let it work a little at a time back off a little and continue on. Saved my back first storm. If it were lighter snow i bet it would have thrown it 20'.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blakeyman
Rochester,N.H.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Impressed
1/10/2010

Customer review by Felinofile

4.0 stars 1/10/2010 by Felinofile
by Felinofile

A year ago, I bought a Toro Power Curve snow thrower which died due (I'm guessing) to my use of the wrong guage of extension cord. Rather than pay $300 for another of the same, I bought the Snow Devil. It is a little more challenging to assemble, and I've only used it twice so far, but I'm impressed. While it doesn't seem as excited about shooting snow as the Toro (who needs to have snow shot 20', anyway?!?), it doesn't bog down as easily either (I don't whip along as fast as I would with a gas-powered snow-blower [NO electric snow-throwers can do that], but as long as I give it a second to catch its breath after chewing up a large chunk of snow, it's fine), and maneuvers easily. It also seems better built (sturdier construction). I'm hopeful that it can hold up (this time I bought the 12-guage extension I needed!) to our hard winters. So far, I would highly recommend this to women and seniors who couldn't handle a big gas-powered machine and don't want the hassle of maintenance and gas storage. And of course, the electrics are much quieter and don't stink up the neighborhood, either!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Felinofile
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
goblosno
1/3/2010

Customer review by yzleeyld

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by yzleeyld
by yzleeyld

Great machine for a paved area. Not certian about using it for gravel or stone. I have been clearing a 12 x 70 ft drive with 4 inch snow fall and it has plenty of reserve power and seems like it would tackle deeper snowfall. I think it might have some trouble with heavy wet snow over 4 inch, might just have to go slower. It would be nice to have a crank type shoot adjuster but the lever does the job with a little extra effort. Can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yzleeyld
Oneonta, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
it just to small
1/3/2010

Customer review by TMALONE

3.0 stars 1/3/2010 by TMALONE
by TMALONE

It working with the sidewalks in light snow ,but the wet heavy is hard on the machine you have to push back & forth.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TMALONE
Saint Paul MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
WELL WORTH THE PRICE
1/18/2010

Customer review by rje1940

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by rje1940
by rje1940

We live in a senior complex and have to dig out our cars after a snow. This thing took no time at all to clear right down to the pavement. We used it to throw the snow from between the cars into the street where the plows took care of it. Was a piece of cake.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rje1940
Riverhead, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great Snow Blower
1/17/2010

Customer review by majormike3141

5.0 stars 1/17/2010 by majormike3141
by majormike3141

Had my doubts but the price was right and the other reviews were good. I have used this on 3 occasions since it arrived. I spent more time getting rid of the packing than assembly. The snow depth ranged from 4 to 9 inches and handled all well enough that I did not feel that the results required any additional attention. This unit handled both wet and dry snow with a moderate amount of ice. I would recommend it for folks with a back, knee or keg issue as I have limitations. It worked well with a 50 to 75 foot cord. After weighing the options and pros and cons of much more expensive gas units and other electric ones I chose this and I am very happy so far. I also own a small SNOWJOE and this is easier to handle. Wall hanging storage is easy to manage as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
majormike3141
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Satisfied
12/19/2009

Customer review by seniorshopper62

4.0 stars 12/19/2009 by seniorshopper62
by seniorshopper62

The air temp was 0 degrees and the wind was blowing 35 mph. When I turned the chute to blow the snow the other direction on the driveway, the little red handle broke off. I just turned the whole chute assembly with both gloved hands. The frozen layer of rain stayed on the driveway. I salted that down. A low temperature cord would have been better as it would not bend and came unplugged several times. I do now have a low temp cord. I like that the blade did NOT break while it was chewing the frozen ice. I'm not too pleased with the snow chute system but I could not recommend a better design.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seniorshopper62
35630
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Weak
12/23/2009

Customer review by uki3

3.0 stars 12/23/2009 by uki3
by uki3

We just got about 8 inches of snow, and I got to test this product for the first time. Two things that I noticed almost right away. In less than 2 minutes the product began overheating and smelling like burned rubber, furthermore, it was not powerfull enough to deal with the snow, even though it was dry and flaky. I had to lift up the front of the unit to skim the top layer, then do the bottom. However, with all of that, I'd take this over the shovel anyday. By doing the "top than bottom" approach, I was able to clean my drive-way fairly quickly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
uki3
North Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
It really is a snow devil!
12/30/2009

Customer review by OmahaYoungAtHeart

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by OmahaYoungAtHeart
by OmahaYoungAtHeart

This is my second electric snowblower. The first was a Toro that I used for 12 or so years. The first snow for this snowblower was substantially more than the 9" for which it is rated. It did an absolutely fantastic job for me, a 63-year-old woman. I like the electric snowblowers because they do not drag you along behind them, shake you silly, are light and manuverable, and don't have an engine to maintain. I cleared a driveway that parks 6 vehicles plus sidewalks and helped a neighbor. It did a great job for me!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OmahaYoungAtHeart
Omaha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
solid performer
1/4/2010

Customer review by jeorge66

5.0 stars 1/4/2010 by jeorge66
by jeorge66

Handled wet snow well. It worked on plowed snow above the height of the machine at the end of the driveway. The machine throws snow very well. The direction of the snow from the blower tends to change and it does not hold the shoot position as well as I would like. Also the blower does draw some amperage. Do not simultaneously use on the same circuit as a hair dryer or it will blow the circuit breaker. Be careful on the assembly. The shoot takes some adjusting to fit into the top slot. Be very patient.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeorge66
minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Snow only please!
12/31/2009

Customer review by MaxT

2.0 stars 12/31/2009 by MaxT
by MaxT

I was really excited when I found this for $125.00. My excitement however quickly faded away during my first use, While clearing snow from my side walk, I barely hit the corner of a snow covered landscape wood edging. The whole unit started to shake and the blade became warped and hitting the housing. I straightened the blade out myself but the unit still feels like it's a little out of balance. The snow throwing distance has been reduced a bit also as a result but I guess I can live with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaxT
Monroe, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A Fantastic Little Blower
1/11/2010

Customer review by LeoInYakima

4.0 stars 1/11/2010 by LeoInYakima
by LeoInYakima

I have a similar size gas snow blower. Usually by the time I got it started my wife would have half the drive way cleared with a shovel. I have used the Snow Devil twice so far and it did a great job if you don't overload it. If the snow is deep take a smaller width to throw. Make sure that you use extension cords that are 14-AWG or better yet 12-AWG. Motors can be ruined by using light duty cords! The fact that you can just push the button and it goes is priceless!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeoInYakima
Yakima, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Works better than expected!
1/2/2010

Customer review by ShopsCloseouts

5.0 stars 1/2/2010 by ShopsCloseouts
by ShopsCloseouts

After the first blizzard of the winter, I decided that I didn't want to scoop my sidewalks any more. I have a larger machine, but I was unable to get it to the sidewalks I needed scooped, so I have had to do them by hand. It arrived a few days before the second blizzard. It ate through drifts even larger than advertised. No, it doesn't get completely down to the sidewalk, but no other blower does either. The only drawback is having to manage the electrical cord.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopsCloseouts
Clarinda, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
My Snow Angel
1/22/2010

Customer review by Purity1

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by Purity1
by Purity1

I thank you for making this product. I received it on the day it was snowing in Cleveland for 2 weeks straight. Then my snow angel showed up. It worked like a charm. My son got the job done with this snow angel. Sidewalks and driveway. I felt like I had a gas blower. I am pleased with this snow blower. I would buy it again in a heartbeat. Believe me. We had a great deal of snow and my snow blower got the job done. I am very happy using this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Purity1
Garfield Heights, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews