Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 45 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Great for small driveways
12/9/2009

Customer review by LoveToCook1234

4.0 stars 12/9/2009 by LoveToCook1234
by LoveToCook1234

For the price, you definitely won't be disappointed. If you physically cannot shovel snow it might not be the right thrower for you because you do have to push it quite hard through the snow, which is to be expected of an electric thrower. There are wheels on the unit though, so it's not like you're dragging it. It's still less work than using a shovel because you're not lifting anything, just pushing and it gets the job done a lot quicker too. I would only recommend this product to someone with a small driveway because of the cord issue. You need to get a 14-gauge 2 prong (or 3 prong) cord to have enough power to operate the thrower at maximum capacity. My driveway fits 6 cars snugly, at 2 cars wide and I need the 100 ft cord to have enough line to run the thrower. There is a little contraption on the handle that you clip the cord into to hold it out of the way, but that doesn't really work. If you can manage to vacuum your house without running the cord over you won't have a problem with this snow thrower. I read in the reviews of other snow throwers that they don't work with wet snow or deep snow and that they don't throw the snow as far as the manufacturer claims. That is not true with this unit. My husband is out clearing about 5" of snow with sleet on top (so it's extremely wet and heavy) and the snow thrower is handling it just fine and throwing it plenty far from the driveway. He's rather impatient and is really pushing it so he can come back inside, and the unit is taking the abuse with ease.

Was this review helpful? (54) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveToCook1234
Bellingham, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
12/9/2009

Customer review by jimm644

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by jimm644
by jimm644

When i first looked at this i was suspicious, the price was too right. Then they told me I had to be shipped and we had to wait, when i asked how long they said 3-5 days. The next day it was here. today i tried it on wet slushy heavy snow about 3in on the ends ,,,,it blasted through no problem. Motor revs high, very powerfull. Compared to my torro gas unit i bought for 3 times+ the price this thing rocks. the only setback is the extension cord but that can be minimized by working side to side. Im already thinking of attaching a car battery to it

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimm644
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Won't dissappoint; know what to expect
12/28/2009

Customer review by SeldomReview

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by SeldomReview
by SeldomReview

My criteria while looking for a snow thrower were: 1. Maintainance - I wanted something that was going to require as little maintainance as possible 2. Cost I've been leaning more toward the electric than the gas models owing to my maintainance criteria. I'd rather manoeuvre around a power cord than have to deal with gas, oil, spark plugs, etc., and accept the lower throwing power that I know I would get from an electric. Pretty much the only choices out there when I started looking were the Toro 1800 and the Snow Joe. Looking at the reviews, I wasn't too happy with either (even though the Toro is the highest rated electric thrower out there, I think that has more to do with the fact that it's only competition is the Snow Joe). So I was thinking I might have to spring for a gas unit after all when along came Walmart with the Snow Devil. What caught my attention was the price point - at sub $200, and with Walmarts no questions asked return policy, I felt it was worth a test run. Also, the other selling point for me was when I went ahead and pulled up the website of the company that manufactures this unit (Airco Hong Kong), and saw that they build and sell power tools and equipment under different brand names for various other retailers, so they aren't exactly newbies at this, so I went ahead and bit the bullet and ordered it. I got to test it out the very next day after it arrived. Wind and snow had left me with accumulations varying from 3 inches to 12 inches (in places) of wet snow. It handled 3" - 5" of the wet stuff with no problem, but the throwing distance obvioulsy suffered, and it threw maybe 5-6 feet. However, when I got to the areas where the snow had built up 9 - 12 inches, surprise surprise, it actually started throwing it 10-12 feet! Granted, I had to do a top layer, bottom layer approach to first clear a path then I started doing half track approaches where I was only letting half the unit attack the snow at a time, and this seemed to work best. The one drawback is that you need to really push this thrower as the auger does not have enough power to pull it along like the gas ones, so I did have slightly stiff forearms and wrists after all the removal, but I was using this machine in ways it wasn't intended to be used! I did have a problem with the extension cord popping out of the socket on the unit a couple of times; they could do with some sort of locking mechanism to keep it in place, and ofcoures, I had to figure out how to work around the cord but apart from that, I can't say I had any real problems. If this machine was going to throw a belt, I figure what I put it through, would definitly have done so by now. The suprising thing is, the unit itself performed well, even beyond what it was intended for! My reccommendations?- If all you get 80-90% of the time is dry snow, this is all you'll need because with a little patience, you can work with it the rest of the time to get you through the wet snow too. If however you get wet snow half the time or more, or have to consistenly deal with 6" or more of packed powder, I would say, consider a gas single stage. You could still get by with this unit even in those conditions if you're willing to go out and clear the snow each time it builds upto 3-5 inches, but be prepared that it will not throw far, so you'll have to aim the chute judiciously and you will have to push it while clearing. I can't speak for reliabilty or longevity at this time since I've only just used it a couple of times, but so far, I can comfortably say that the Snow Devil performs and performs well, and is even cabaple of doing a little more than expected!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeldomReview
Cheyenne, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not for Northern Michigan
12/11/2009

Customer review by AMY761

3.0 stars 12/11/2009 by AMY761
by AMY761

I have a small driveway, it fits two cars length wise and is only the width of one car. We just got a ton of snow and I was pushing this thing around like it didn't even have wheels on it. I had to go over the same stretch four times to get it done. Then again it is a snow blower for not so much money so I wasn't expecting that much. It would be great for an area that doesn't get as much snow!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AMY761
traverse city, mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Devil electric snow thrower
12/21/2009

Customer review by blakeyman

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by blakeyman
by blakeyman

This products is only designed for light fluffy snow up to 9", however i used it on a deck that was 9.5 " of wet snow and it worked like a charm, It didn't throw far because it was wet but it did work great right down to the wood.Go slow let it work a little at a time back off a little and continue on. Saved my back first storm. If it were lighter snow i bet it would have thrown it 20'.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blakeyman
Rochester,N.H.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
goblosno
1/3/2010

Customer review by yzleeyld

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by yzleeyld
by yzleeyld

Great machine for a paved area. Not certian about using it for gravel or stone. I have been clearing a 12 x 70 ft drive with 4 inch snow fall and it has plenty of reserve power and seems like it would tackle deeper snowfall. I think it might have some trouble with heavy wet snow over 4 inch, might just have to go slower. It would be nice to have a crank type shoot adjuster but the lever does the job with a little extra effort. Can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yzleeyld
Oneonta, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
it just to small
1/3/2010

Customer review by TMALONE

3.0 stars 1/3/2010 by TMALONE
by TMALONE

It working with the sidewalks in light snow ,but the wet heavy is hard on the machine you have to push back & forth.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TMALONE
Saint Paul MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
WELL WORTH THE PRICE
1/18/2010

Customer review by rje1940

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by rje1940
by rje1940

We live in a senior complex and have to dig out our cars after a snow. This thing took no time at all to clear right down to the pavement. We used it to throw the snow from between the cars into the street where the plows took care of it. Was a piece of cake.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rje1940
Riverhead, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Snow only please!
12/31/2009

Customer review by MaxT

2.0 stars 12/31/2009 by MaxT
by MaxT

I was really excited when I found this for $125.00. My excitement however quickly faded away during my first use, While clearing snow from my side walk, I barely hit the corner of a snow covered landscape wood edging. The whole unit started to shake and the blade became warped and hitting the housing. I straightened the blade out myself but the unit still feels like it's a little out of balance. The snow throwing distance has been reduced a bit also as a result but I guess I can live with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaxT
Monroe, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
didn't last long
1/7/2010

Customer review by phdinshopping

1.0 stars 1/7/2010 by phdinshopping
by phdinshopping

We weren't impressed with the way this is built and our fears were confirmed. It had problems during the first time we used it. For comparison, we have a (more expensive)Toro product, which has lasted and seems must sturdier.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phdinshopping
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love the snowblower
12/30/2009

Customer review by MNGal88

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by MNGal88
by MNGal88

I bought this because a gas powered unit would be too big and too hard for me (woman in late 40's) to handle. We had some record snowfall over the past couple weeks and this thing kept my driveway clear. It's easy to use, starts with the push of a button and requires no tune ups, gas or oil. It doesn't smell up my garage either. It's great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MNGal88
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Snow Devil is a Demon
1/22/2010

Customer review by CoachJames

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by CoachJames
by CoachJames

The Snow Devil was a no brainer of a purchase. Relatively inexpensive, light weight, and easy to use and assemble. Works great in snow, and I would highly recommend it.. For the price, it can't be beat

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoachJames
Martinsburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
My Snow Angel
1/22/2010

Customer review by Purity1

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by Purity1
by Purity1

I thank you for making this product. I received it on the day it was snowing in Cleveland for 2 weeks straight. Then my snow angel showed up. It worked like a charm. My son got the job done with this snow angel. Sidewalks and driveway. I felt like I had a gas blower. I am pleased with this snow blower. I would buy it again in a heartbeat. Believe me. We had a great deal of snow and my snow blower got the job done. I am very happy using this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Purity1
Garfield Heights, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Buy
12/30/2009

Customer review by loves4dogs

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by loves4dogs
by loves4dogs

What a buy! For the price, I couldn't have asked for better. It acts like a lawn mower, it justs slices the snow. I am disabled and it is my answer to independence. Only thing I have to get used to is the cord, but that will take practice and I am sure I can master that too. I love it! Can't beat the price. Thank you Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loves4dogs
Woods Cross, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
It really is a snow devil!
12/30/2009

Customer review by OmahaYoungAtHeart

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by OmahaYoungAtHeart
by OmahaYoungAtHeart

This is my second electric snowblower. The first was a Toro that I used for 12 or so years. The first snow for this snowblower was substantially more than the 9" for which it is rated. It did an absolutely fantastic job for me, a 63-year-old woman. I like the electric snowblowers because they do not drag you along behind them, shake you silly, are light and manuverable, and don't have an engine to maintain. I cleared a driveway that parks 6 vehicles plus sidewalks and helped a neighbor. It did a great job for me!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OmahaYoungAtHeart
Omaha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great value
1/3/2010

Customer review by Parrothead1965

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by Parrothead1965
by Parrothead1965

Very impressed with this product for the price. Living in Michigan, we get plenty of snow and this is a perfect little machine to clear the drive and plow a path in the yard for the dog. We have had it about three weeks, and it has been used several times a week. Not sure how long it will last, but so far very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Parrothead1965
Paw Paw, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great buy
1/1/2010

Customer review by tylhaihay

5.0 stars 1/1/2010 by tylhaihay
by tylhaihay

We got this the day after a snow storm and much to my surprise I put it to the test and it worked amazing. The price is reasonable compared to others out there and this did the job. It definately is not the best out there, but for the price it held up very good and saved my back! The only thing i didn't like is the cord that you have to drag around. Kinda annoying. But overall, I'm glad to have found something reasonably priced and works.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tylhaihay
long island, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great value for the money
1/2/2010

Customer review by LVN4GOD

5.0 stars 1/2/2010 by LVN4GOD
by LVN4GOD

We love this snowblower. It's electric and most people want one that isn't but just get a long cord and save yourself some money. This one starts right up and works well cleaning the snow out of the way just fine. It's made the winters more bearable around here.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LVN4GOD
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works Well
1/1/2010

Customer review by SalGal1953

5.0 stars 1/1/2010 by SalGal1953
by SalGal1953

I got this for my husband for his 60th birthday, and we had 8" of snow 4 days later. He has used it 3 times to clear the driveway and has worked just as advertised. It has been a big help as he has back problems and doesn't need to be slinging a shovel any longer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SalGal1953
Blue Springs MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Works better than expected!
1/2/2010

Customer review by ShopsCloseouts

5.0 stars 1/2/2010 by ShopsCloseouts
by ShopsCloseouts

After the first blizzard of the winter, I decided that I didn't want to scoop my sidewalks any more. I have a larger machine, but I was unable to get it to the sidewalks I needed scooped, so I have had to do them by hand. It arrived a few days before the second blizzard. It ate through drifts even larger than advertised. No, it doesn't get completely down to the sidewalk, but no other blower does either. The only drawback is having to manage the electrical cord.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopsCloseouts
Clarinda, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews