Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 68 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

68 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

68 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 66 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Great product!
3/3/2010

Customer review by GrillerDawg

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by GrillerDawg
by GrillerDawg

I've had at least a half dozen Meco grills over the last 25 or more years. Easy to use, good heat regulation and reasonably sturdy construction. Only limitation is the size of both surface area for cooking, and the height above the grilling surface for doing things like cajun drunken chicken. I just wish that the black covered models would become available again, since I prefer them over the ones with the red covers.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrillerDawg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
USA quality and functionality STILL available!
5/23/2011

Customer review by mcnairykid

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by mcnairykid
by mcnairykid

A great USA made product. Very functional and its overall quality is A1. Heat regulation and cooking super with its 3 grill levels available. Price is good and all of the parts and pieces were there as described. The only 2 improvements I see could be more gentle care in shipping, and the assembly instructions diagrams need to be bigger and clearer. Go Maco! Go USA!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcnairykid
Selmer, TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
GREAT Grill!
5/12/2011

Customer review by TwoLaidBack

5.0 stars 5/12/2011 by TwoLaidBack
by TwoLaidBack

I purchased this grill in order to return to that charcoal flavor I remembered as a child. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I'd recommend this grill to anyone looking for a great Charcoal grill.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TwoLaidBack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
BAR B Q
6/22/2010

Customer review by WATERFALLRAINBOW

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by WATERFALLRAINBOW
by WATERFALLRAINBOW

THIS IS JUST THE RIGHT SIZE FOR ONE PERSON OR TWO. IT WASN'T ALL THAT HARD TO PUT TOGETHER. (HOWEVER, IN THE LIST OF STUFF THAT IS SUPPOSED TO BE THERE IT SAYS YOUR SUPPOSED TO GET ACORN LOCK NUTS AND INSTEAD THEY SENT SQUARE NUTS - BUT I HAD ENOUGH TO GET IT ALL TOGETHER.) HAVEN'T HAD A CHANCE TO USE IT YET BUT IT DOES HAVE NICE FEATURES WHERE YOU CAN RAISE THE GRILL OR LOWER IT AND A REMOVABLE ASH PAN THATS NICE. LIGHT WEIGHT AND EASY TO MOVE AROUND.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WATERFALLRAINBOW
SAN JOSE, CALIF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
I <3 my Meco!!
3/17/2012

Customer review by MedicDrea

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by MedicDrea
by MedicDrea

I have had this grill for over 10 years and it has been well used. The adjustable height is wonderful. The space is ideal for feeding 4-6 people (depending on your meat choice, and whether you are doing foil packs as well), altho in the past we have fed 10 off of one round of grilling burgers. This grill has withstood moving to several different homes over the past few years, as well as several trips out to the lake, etc. The craftsmanship is better than I expected. This is a great charcoal grill!! I wouldn't buy or use any other brand. We are grilling tonight on it! :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MedicDrea
Minnesota!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Low cost, quality grill
4/20/2012

Customer review by Phierce

5.0 stars 4/20/2012 by Phierce
by Phierce

Perfect for want I wanted and price. This grill retails for almost $130 on other sites. All pieces and nuts and bolts were there. I had a grill similar to this years ago and would still have it, if it wasn't taken by punks. Love the 3 level settings for searing or warming or semi smoking. It will last years if taken care of properly. Lump Charcoal is the only way to grill!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phierce
Jacksonville. Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent for the money!
4/26/2012

Customer review by Fast1

5.0 stars 4/26/2012 by Fast1
by Fast1

I purchased this Grill about a month ago. After opening the grill box, I discovered the bottom bowl was dented. I returned the item to Walmart and ordered another one. The 2nd one had a dented hood. I called the manufacturer and they said they would send me out a new hood right away. After using the grill it meets all my expectations. It's the only one I could find that was made descent. The rest were all really thin material, and I figured they would not last long. I really like this grill for the ability to close all the vents when done grilling to save charcoal. I recommend this grill over the cheap, thin material ones. Make sure you read the instructions while putting it together. Very important steps! You will be pleased with your purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fast1
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The best grill out there
5/12/2014

Customer review by Matzaball

5.0 stars 5/12/2014 by Matzaball
by Matzaball

I bought this grill because it has been a proven performer in my family now through two generations. Once put together, this particular model more than met my expectations. Its design with a deep bottom, vented hood, side vents, and an adjustable grill is the best buy our there for the money. The fact that it is a charcoal grill is another big plus since gas grills do not give a barbecue flavor no matter what you do. I also found an especially great feature and accessory with this model are the two swing tables that come with it. The directions for putting the grill together, however, can be a little unclear for someone who is not mechanically inclined and needs things spelled out for them. I read someone's comment that this grill was "a piece of junk." NOT TRUE...my guess is that they got frustrated with the directions and couldn't figure out the proper fitting of the screws and nuts and some of the hardware. I discovered when it is put together correctly, this grill is indeed solid, steady and sure and is a top performer as well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Matzaball
Campbell, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a very good grill for under $100.00
7/19/2011

Customer review by tonyx500

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by tonyx500
by tonyx500

I got this grill a couple weeks ago.I have grilled steak,hamburgers and pork chops.All came out great.The best part is the 3-way adjustable rack.Set low to cook fast or high to slow cook.I also like Made In USA factor.I look for things made in USA.Support our USA factories.Too bad Wal Mart doesn't sell these in their stores.A great grill.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tonyx500
Dumas,Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/30/2012

Customer review by Pinky1970

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Pinky1970
by Pinky1970

My husband loves this grill. We used to have the same grill with one table, he loves the two table. We also got the additional rotissorie with electric motor (great for cornish hens or other things to rotissorate). He cooks all year long, sun, rain. or snow! I reccommend this product to anyone who loves to cook over charcoal!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pinky1970
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Ever Charcoal Grill
5/20/2010

Customer review by MoCity

5.0 stars 5/20/2010 by MoCity
by MoCity

I have been using these grills for over 20 years. They last for years, fold down the side tables for easy storage and are easy to clean out. But the cooking is the thing. The grill can be lowered to sear food and then raised up for slower cooking. Additional heat control is available for smoking, just close off the air vents. If closed completely, the charcoal can be put out and saved for later use. The only negative is that they no longer use a SS grille. The plated grill doesn't last very long.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoCity
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great grill with easy assembly.
2/10/2013

Customer review by damyankeee

4.0 stars 2/10/2013 by damyankeee
by damyankeee

This is a great grill with plenty of cooking surface. The left and right grill rack adjustments are very convenient for temperature control. Able to be assembled in about an hour by any moderately skilled person. All in all two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
damyankeee
wilson nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cooks great. Charcoal tastes better than gas.
6/30/2012

Customer review by T34RCflyer

4.0 stars 6/30/2012 by T34RCflyer
by T34RCflyer

This is my third or fourth Meco Swinger. I think they cook WAY better than gas. This time I bought a grill cover. Maybe this will be my last one. Assembly was more difficult than anticipated, but worth the effort. The side trays come in handy for tools and pans. Free delivery to local WalMart was very convenient.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
T34RCflyer
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good product for the cost. Love meco grills/
5/19/2014

Customer review by Showmeguy

4.0 stars 5/19/2014 by Showmeguy
by Showmeguy

Fairly easy to put together and controls (vents and height adjustments) on this Meco model facilitate great cooking.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Showmeguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Missing Parts!!!
5/4/2010

Customer review by jcsactown

2.0 stars 5/4/2010 by jcsactown
by jcsactown

Besides missing all 13 of the acorn locking nuts and two of the 2 1/4" bolts to mount the legs, this grill is very cheaply made. I just picked it up and assembled it last night, so I haven't had a chance to cook with it yet. I hope it works better than it looks and feels. It probably would not be a bad deal if it were half the price I paid for it. I am already regretting not getting a Webber.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcsactown
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/16/2010

Customer review by DredgeDaddy

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by DredgeDaddy
by DredgeDaddy

This grill is the absolute greatest for controlling heat and flame ups. Burgers, steaks and chicken absolutely grill with ease. Eliminates flame ups immediately by use of the hood vent. Can't say enough good things about this product. This is my third one in 25 years.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DredgeDaddy
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Grill
3/15/2014

Customer review by CrazyJohn

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by CrazyJohn
by CrazyJohn

This is a excellent grill. It is very durable and works great. The only thing I have to say about it is that it is very hard to put together. There are so many screws and bolts etc and it requires a lot of different tools. It took a long time to put together and was very very difficult.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyJohn
Canton NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
A Very Useful Product
6/24/2010

Customer review by acavanda

5.0 stars 6/24/2010 by acavanda
by acavanda

I purchased this grill to replace a worn out Meco Swinger Series Grill that I purchased in 1998. I have been nothing but pleased with the Meco Swinger Grill that I used for 12 years and am trusting that I will be just as pleased with this replacement. Twelve years of service for less than $100 is gonna be hard to beat.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acavanda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Terrific charcoal grill
8/1/2012

Customer review by cherribearblue

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by cherribearblue
by cherribearblue

This is the second Meco grill we have had. The previous one lasted 20 years. Sure am hoping this one lasts that long. Average time to put together. All parts needed were included., Performs as expected.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cherribearblue
Random Lake, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Basic Grill
4/30/2015

Customer review by HarlanOK

4.0 stars 4/30/2015 by HarlanOK
by HarlanOK

I had one of these 10 years ago, and it was great. The grill doesn't have a great fit when assembled now (hinges are cheaper and top doesn't mate smoothly with base as you close it). Also, you have bolt ends and plain nuts exposed on the exterior when you're finished putting it together. If aesthetics matter to you, buy the Weber. But overall, this is a good grill. The feature I like most is the adjustable grill level. The knobs allow you to move the grill among 3 set positions above the coals. You can't do that with a Weber. The removable fire pan makes cleanup very easy. I recommend this grill, and I'd tell the manufacturer that I would pay a little more for better engineering.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HarlanOK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews