Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

71 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

71 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 69 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
11/30/2012

Customer review by Pinky1970

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Pinky1970
by Pinky1970

My husband loves this grill. We used to have the same grill with one table, he loves the two table. We also got the additional rotissorie with electric motor (great for cornish hens or other things to rotissorate). He cooks all year long, sun, rain. or snow! I reccommend this product to anyone who loves to cook over charcoal!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pinky1970
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great grill with easy assembly.
2/10/2013

Customer review by damyankeee

4.0 stars 2/10/2013 by damyankeee
by damyankeee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great grill with plenty of cooking surface. The left and right grill rack adjustments are very convenient for temperature control. Able to be assembled in about an hour by any moderately skilled person. All in all two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
damyankeee
wilson nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The best grill out there
5/12/2014

Customer review by Matzaball

5.0 stars 5/12/2014 by Matzaball
by Matzaball
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this grill because it has been a proven performer in my family now through two generations. Once put together, this particular model more than met my expectations. Its design with a deep bottom, vented hood, side vents, and an adjustable grill is the best buy our there for the money. The fact that it is a charcoal grill is another big plus since gas grills do not give a barbecue flavor no matter what you do. I also found an especially great feature and accessory with this model are the two swing tables that come with it. The directions for putting the grill together, however, can be a little unclear for someone who is not mechanically inclined and needs things spelled out for them. I read someone's comment that this grill was "a piece of junk." NOT TRUE...my guess is that they got frustrated with the directions and couldn't figure out the proper fitting of the screws and nuts and some of the hardware. I discovered when it is put together correctly, this grill is indeed solid, steady and sure and is a top performer as well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Matzaball
Campbell, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!
3/3/2010

Customer review by GrillerDawg

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by GrillerDawg
by GrillerDawg

I've had at least a half dozen Meco grills over the last 25 or more years. Easy to use, good heat regulation and reasonably sturdy construction. Only limitation is the size of both surface area for cooking, and the height above the grilling surface for doing things like cajun drunken chicken. I just wish that the black covered models would become available again, since I prefer them over the ones with the red covers.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrillerDawg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT Grill!
5/12/2011

Customer review by TwoLaidBack

5.0 stars 5/12/2011 by TwoLaidBack
by TwoLaidBack

I purchased this grill in order to return to that charcoal flavor I remembered as a child. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I'd recommend this grill to anyone looking for a great Charcoal grill.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TwoLaidBack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
USA quality and functionality STILL available!
5/23/2011

Customer review by mcnairykid

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by mcnairykid
by mcnairykid

A great USA made product. Very functional and its overall quality is A1. Heat regulation and cooking super with its 3 grill levels available. Price is good and all of the parts and pieces were there as described. The only 2 improvements I see could be more gentle care in shipping, and the assembly instructions diagrams need to be bigger and clearer. Go Maco! Go USA!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mcnairykid
Selmer, TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
BAR B Q
6/22/2010

Customer review by WATERFALLRAINBOW

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by WATERFALLRAINBOW
by WATERFALLRAINBOW

THIS IS JUST THE RIGHT SIZE FOR ONE PERSON OR TWO. IT WASN'T ALL THAT HARD TO PUT TOGETHER. (HOWEVER, IN THE LIST OF STUFF THAT IS SUPPOSED TO BE THERE IT SAYS YOUR SUPPOSED TO GET ACORN LOCK NUTS AND INSTEAD THEY SENT SQUARE NUTS - BUT I HAD ENOUGH TO GET IT ALL TOGETHER.) HAVEN'T HAD A CHANCE TO USE IT YET BUT IT DOES HAVE NICE FEATURES WHERE YOU CAN RAISE THE GRILL OR LOWER IT AND A REMOVABLE ASH PAN THATS NICE. LIGHT WEIGHT AND EASY TO MOVE AROUND.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WATERFALLRAINBOW
SAN JOSE, CALIF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
I <3 my Meco!!
3/17/2012

Customer review by MedicDrea

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by MedicDrea
by MedicDrea

I have had this grill for over 10 years and it has been well used. The adjustable height is wonderful. The space is ideal for feeding 4-6 people (depending on your meat choice, and whether you are doing foil packs as well), altho in the past we have fed 10 off of one round of grilling burgers. This grill has withstood moving to several different homes over the past few years, as well as several trips out to the lake, etc. The craftsmanship is better than I expected. This is a great charcoal grill!! I wouldn't buy or use any other brand. We are grilling tonight on it! :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MedicDrea
Minnesota!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Excellent for the money!
4/26/2012

Customer review by Fast1

5.0 stars 4/26/2012 by Fast1
by Fast1

I purchased this Grill about a month ago. After opening the grill box, I discovered the bottom bowl was dented. I returned the item to Walmart and ordered another one. The 2nd one had a dented hood. I called the manufacturer and they said they would send me out a new hood right away. After using the grill it meets all my expectations. It's the only one I could find that was made descent. The rest were all really thin material, and I figured they would not last long. I really like this grill for the ability to close all the vents when done grilling to save charcoal. I recommend this grill over the cheap, thin material ones. Make sure you read the instructions while putting it together. Very important steps! You will be pleased with your purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fast1
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cute and Small
2/25/2016

Customer review by Mona11589

4.0 stars 2/25/2016 by Mona11589
by Mona11589

Got this for my husband for our new home, instructions were a little hard to read with the pictures provided however in the end it was a nice product. Have not used it yet but the overall appeal seems good. No instructions how to put on shelves but they fold down for easy storage. Great started bbq pit or for smaller spaces.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mona11589
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Low cost, quality grill
4/20/2012

Customer review by Phierce

5.0 stars 4/20/2012 by Phierce
by Phierce

Perfect for want I wanted and price. This grill retails for almost $130 on other sites. All pieces and nuts and bolts were there. I had a grill similar to this years ago and would still have it, if it wasn't taken by punks. Love the 3 level settings for searing or warming or semi smoking. It will last years if taken care of properly. Lump Charcoal is the only way to grill!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phierce
Jacksonville. Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Get assembly help
5/8/2015

Customer review by awon

5.0 stars 5/8/2015 by awon
by awon

After reading reviews I think the most problems involved putting it together. I am mechanically inclined and didn't have any problems with assembly.However it does have a lot of parts and assembly is time consuming.And if you're not used to building these kinds of things I can see how the instructions might be confusing.So get help if you need it (almost everybody has a mechanic in the family).I think you'll find it's worth it. Someone said that the cover was mis-shapend and it wouldn't close right.Mine was the same way.But after a little checking I found about a 2" dent in the lip of the left side.It wasn't noticeable at first because of the glossy finish.So I put a rag on a pair of pliers and carefully straightend the dent.The cover closed fine I and didn't even scratch the paint.This saved me a trip back to the store. Hope this helps someone and LET'S GET THOSE COALS HOT!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
awon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Ever Charcoal Grill
5/20/2010

Customer review by MoCity

5.0 stars 5/20/2010 by MoCity
by MoCity

I have been using these grills for over 20 years. They last for years, fold down the side tables for easy storage and are easy to clean out. But the cooking is the thing. The grill can be lowered to sear food and then raised up for slower cooking. Additional heat control is available for smoking, just close off the air vents. If closed completely, the charcoal can be put out and saved for later use. The only negative is that they no longer use a SS grille. The plated grill doesn't last very long.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MoCity
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Basic Grill
4/30/2015

Customer review by HarlanOK

4.0 stars 4/30/2015 by HarlanOK
by HarlanOK

I had one of these 10 years ago, and it was great. The grill doesn't have a great fit when assembled now (hinges are cheaper and top doesn't mate smoothly with base as you close it). Also, you have bolt ends and plain nuts exposed on the exterior when you're finished putting it together. If aesthetics matter to you, buy the Weber. But overall, this is a good grill. The feature I like most is the adjustable grill level. The knobs allow you to move the grill among 3 set positions above the coals. You can't do that with a Weber. The removable fire pan makes cleanup very easy. I recommend this grill, and I'd tell the manufacturer that I would pay a little more for better engineering.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HarlanOK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a very good grill for under $100.00
7/19/2011

Customer review by tonyx500

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by tonyx500
by tonyx500

I got this grill a couple weeks ago.I have grilled steak,hamburgers and pork chops.All came out great.The best part is the 3-way adjustable rack.Set low to cook fast or high to slow cook.I also like Made In USA factor.I look for things made in USA.Support our USA factories.Too bad Wal Mart doesn't sell these in their stores.A great grill.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tonyx500
Dumas,Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cooks great. Charcoal tastes better than gas.
6/30/2012

Customer review by T34RCflyer

4.0 stars 6/30/2012 by T34RCflyer
by T34RCflyer

This is my third or fourth Meco Swinger. I think they cook WAY better than gas. This time I bought a grill cover. Maybe this will be my last one. Assembly was more difficult than anticipated, but worth the effort. The side trays come in handy for tools and pans. Free delivery to local WalMart was very convenient.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
T34RCflyer
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good product for the cost. Love meco grills/
5/19/2014

Customer review by Showmeguy

4.0 stars 5/19/2014 by Showmeguy
by Showmeguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fairly easy to put together and controls (vents and height adjustments) on this Meco model facilitate great cooking.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Showmeguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great classic grill
10/8/2012

Customer review by gt5man

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by gt5man
by gt5man

I wanted to go back to charcoal after using a gas grill for several years. I just wanted a good simple grill that had good ventilation control. The new chimney charcoal starters make it easy to use charcoal these days (My dislike of starter fluids and their effect on the taste of the food was one of the reasons I had moved to a gas grill). The side shelves fold down and I found a smoker cover for $10 at Home Depot that fits perfect. This grill works great. It's good at preventing flare-ups so you don't have to babysit it like some grills, even on windy days. The only thing that I think is not as good as the old design is the grill/heat adjustments. The older design moved the coals up/down, to/from the grill. This unit adjusts the grill up/down instead but at least there is an adjustment unlike some other grills. Another feature I like is the hinged lid design which I like much better than the detached Weber lid design. The ash tray is a nice addition making it very easy to empty the ashes and also shields some of the heat from the bottom. Overall this is a great grill that is inexpensive and Made In USA.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gt5man
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/14/2013

Customer review by TheOldGardener

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by TheOldGardener
by TheOldGardener
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The two new Meco Swinger Series Grills I just bought replaced two almost identical Meco grills I purchased ten years ago. The quality is still there. The best feature is how simple it is to raise and lower the grill (three different settings) with two little wooden knobs. And, the folding side "wings" are great for storing plates and tools. The only minor complaint I have is with the directions for assembly. Good overall, but the plastic handle included for the hood (and screws), did not match the written instructions which called for a wooden handle, standoffs and different screws. It'd be nice if the instructions were updated. Also, the grills I bought ten years ago had a nice wooden tray between the legs about 3" off the ground. The tray provided a nice place to store things, and, it also gave support and strength to the leg structure.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheOldGardener
Chester, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Difficult to give as a gift
8/30/2013

Customer review by VanT1

3.0 stars 8/30/2013 by VanT1
by VanT1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read all the great reviews and so purchased it for my brother for his birthday. I had to give it to him in the box since he drove in from out of town and would make it difficult to take back assembled. He wrote me a couple of days later and said he had to take it back from the difficulty in assembly. So I don't know about the above ratings as accurate. Not recommended as a gift unless you give it assembled or the recipient is mechanically inclined.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VanT1
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews