Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-15 of 15 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Cute, but not IT
11/28/2009

Customer review by CatalunaLilith

3.0 stars 11/28/2009 by CatalunaLilith
by CatalunaLilith

I've been looking for a good glitter mascara for some time now, and I've yet to be impressed by anything. The colour in the tube is gorgeous; black glitter with silver glitter in a clear base. But it stopped amazing me there. This stuff doesn't do much as a mascara -no lengthening or volume, and very little darkening- on it's own; it just adds a bit of glitter factor. Very subtle, so if you're looking for a way to make an outfit a bit more playful without making a big change, this is the product for you. If you put on a black mascara of your choice under it, you get different problems. If you try to put on this glitter mascara over it before it dries, the colors meld and you hide the glitter. If you put on the glitter mascara after the base dries, you have a hard time getting it to no clump; you might be able to get over this problem with a thin mascara that mostly colours for an undercoat, but i personally don't like them. The other problem I got was that the glitter is a bit too chunky, so if you put multiple layers on, you get a chunky-clumpy look on your lashes. what I've found works best for a dramatic glitter lash look is actually another product from Hard Candy, the Walk the Line eyeliners. First you put on your favorite basic mascara, and let it dry. Then take the eyeliner in whatever colour you want -there is a big selection of all sorts of colours, but Lace is the glitter silver, and Dream Girl is the glitter gold- and run the brush on your lashes. I ended up giving this to one of my friends who rarely wears lots of makeup, and is very happy with the super subtle look of it.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatalunaLilith
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Really pretty, fun and subtle. I love this stuff
11/29/2012

Customer review by lovemypuppys

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by lovemypuppys
by lovemypuppys

I don't understand the bad reviews for this stuff. As others have said, it's not a stand alone product but I think that's pretty much a no brainer considering it's consistency and what it is. When I bought this stuff I was looking for a little something to glam up my eyes, but nothing to make me look like I am going to the night club or trying to be a teen again. I am in my early 30's so I wanted something subtle but pretty and this stuff is it! I used my regular mascara and put some of this stuff on and my eyes had a very subtle "pop". In fact, it almost does not look like glitter but instead makes lashes look glossy and angelic almost. When the lights hit my lashes in a certain way they just have this wonderful subtle sparkle. No one really seems to be able to point out exactly what I am doing differently they just say, "Your eyes look pretty". I was thinking that the glitter would end up on my face after a while, but it seems to stay put on my lashes. All and all this product was a pleasant surprise for me and is so fun to use.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovemypuppys
Mountains of So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Gold, yes, Black, no
12/26/2010

Customer review by Animanori

4.0 stars 12/26/2010 by Animanori
by Animanori

I have used both colors of this, and I loved the gold glitter. It was very thick and visible when I put it on, and although it was a bit clumpy, it was awesome looking when it was on. I would have given it by itself a 5 star rating. I did not have such good luck with the black glitter. It was barely visible on my lashes, and something about it really bothered my eyes. I would guess falling glitter, but I am not certain. I still use it, but for things like glittering my eyebrows. It shows up well there without irritating my eyes. Bottom line, if you are considering lash tinsel, stick with the gold. The black needs to be thickened up and made more like a conventional mascara.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Animanori
Columbus OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Pretty sparkles
1/29/2013

Customer review by Jaguar1211

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by Jaguar1211
by Jaguar1211

I got both the gold and silver a while back just for fun, I don't use it very often but I do love them both. I am surprised by the bad reviews though, it's pretty obvious that this is not meant to replace your actual mascara, I do agree that it can be tricky to get the application right, if you are not careful it can clump up on you. I find that if you apply it after your regular mascara by just pressing the wand against your lashes works the best. Don't try to apply it like you do your mascara that's how you run into issues, but if you just press it on you can layer the glitter without the mess. Hopefully those who didn't like the product because of these issues will try playing with it again, it takes a little figuring out the technique but it's worth it really, such a fun product, in fact I am going to have to wear them this week!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaguar1211
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Love!
12/30/2012

Customer review by trishalovesray

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by trishalovesray
by trishalovesray

After reading the reviews, I was hesitant to get this product, but I love it! The perfect amount of glitter and it looks amazing. I got the silver and I'm so glad I got this glitter mascara. Use with your everyday mascara and coat it with this silver glitter mascara and it will look GREAT! :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trishalovesray
Griffith,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Thin and watery - yuck
12/1/2010

Customer review by AtomicChick

1.0 stars 12/1/2010 by AtomicChick
by AtomicChick

Mascara with glitter is just about the best idea I can think of. It combines 2 of my favorite things. That's why I was SO excited when I saw this at Walmart. As soon as I got home I had to give it a try. As soon as I pulled out the brush I knew it wasn't going to be good. The mascara was literally liquid. It actually splashed into my sink when I took the wand out of the tube. It was so thin I didn't even try it on. I don't know if I just got a bad one or not but this experience was enough to keep me from giving this a second try.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AtomicChick
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Beautiful Glittering Eye top coat
9/17/2012

Customer review by mstp

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by mstp
by mstp

I love this mascara. It is great to add to very tips of my lashes or sometimes i comb it through my hair to add a glitter when going out in the evening. the comb is perfect for adding a light top coat over my lashes. Great product for a over the top night club look. love it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mstp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
So Fun!
7/19/2011

Customer review by celestialDestiny

4.0 stars 7/19/2011 by celestialDestiny
by celestialDestiny

So I agree with the other reviews about it not being a stand alone product. I actually really like using the black with silver sparkles mascara from covergirl from the Eyelights collection. So I saw this in spellbound (black) and was thinking it would be a great top coat for that because it looked like I would be making something a already shimmery a bit more dramatic. The lash tinsel is just like the name. its the tinsel on your tree. It worked really well for me because i was just putting bigger sparkles on my eyelashes. My first mascara is pretty thin. But if you put too much your lashes might clump. I didnt get any wierd chunks, just my lashes stuck together a little bit. The end result was very pretty with a smokey eye. I would recommend this for going out.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
celestialDestiny
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sparkle Eyes
3/25/2014

Customer review by BlingSparkle

4.0 stars 3/25/2014 by BlingSparkle
by BlingSparkle

I bought this mascara a few years ago and it was time to get a few new bottles. Works great. I use the applicator brush tip to glide the glitter mascara across my lashes. The traditional wand method doesn't give the full effect. A great product for sparkling standout eyes.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlingSparkle
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it, but use a primer first!
9/26/2013

Customer review by Gingerkittykitty

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by Gingerkittykitty
by Gingerkittykitty

I love the color, I got the purple, but it barely showed, even on my light colored lashes. I'm not crazy about the wand brush, it doesn't seem to have a brush on the wand, just a straight wand that is a little bit wider at the end. But it actually does apply the mascara well. And then I learned that with a colored mascara you should use a white primer first, to make the color show. I ordered Hard Candy 1000 Lashes Fiber mascara and it's fantastic. I apply it first, let it dry for a minute and then put a couple or more coats of my purple or blue or gold mascara and you can really see the color. And the fiber primer gives more volume and makes the lashes longer!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gingerkittykitty
Ft. Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 250 contributor
Rare Product.
4/6/2014

Customer review by MaryExOne

5.0 stars 4/6/2014 by MaryExOne
by MaryExOne

I bought this not expecting much and it has exceeded my expectations. I have been asked if I have fake lashes on because it looks so good. I put them on the bottom and a lil on the side on top and they give my eyes a sort of dreamy twinkle. I will be stocking up because I have looked and I do see the glitter liner but no other glitter mascara out there.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaryExOne
TITUSVILLE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/14/2011

Customer review by tashadoll

2.0 stars 7/14/2011 by tashadoll
by tashadoll

I purchased this last night. It was not on sale like it is on the website. I paid $6 for this bottle of junk. If you're thinking this is actual mascara, you're wrong. All it is is a bottle of glittery goo without an actual mascara wand. It's just a stick that collects glitter for you to rub on your lashes. I could have easily created that out of other products I already own. Definately no value for your money here.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tashadoll
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Big Disappointment
6/11/2012

Customer review by throughxherxeyes

1.0 stars 6/11/2012 by throughxherxeyes
by throughxherxeyes

I bought a tube of this for my prom night thinking it'd be a fun addition. It looked so pretty and glittery! Looks really can be deceiving though. It clumps like crazy, is very thick and doesn't distribute evenly. I've made some bad investments in makeup but this was one of the worst! It's really a shame. I've tried other products made by Hard Candy and they have been great but this stuff was just an epic fail.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
throughxherxeyes
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Blonde eyelash experience
2/22/2015

Customer review by PrincessMerida

4.0 stars 2/22/2015 by PrincessMerida
by PrincessMerida

I would agree with most the the reviews that is is a layering product due to the fact that it's clear mascara with a high amount of colored glitter inside. i bought a set of these a few weeks ago and have layered them over many different colors of mascara and worn them alone. My eyelashes are naturally clear so it's easy to tell what is a mascara and what isn't. I wouldn't wear this product alone, maybe use the black if i had moderately heavy black lashes, but most dont and neither do i. I have only grown to like this product the more i use it, the brush on the wand is flat with out bristles like a qtip end that isnt cotton and i actually prefer it to when i used a disposable normal brush wand because it coats the lashes more heavily though not beautifully. because of the nature of glitter, your lashes will be Crunchy and maybe spidery, so if youre looking for a fun effect but flawless lashes i'd try a metallic product. but i find it doesn't flake off though is nooot waterproof. good luck all my friends love the look and its fun

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrincessMerida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
glittery mascara
5/30/2014

Customer review by Mastriss

3.0 stars 5/30/2014 by Mastriss
by Mastriss

I love it.....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mastriss
Tualatin Or.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.