Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 138 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

138 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

138 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
21
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 stars
10
1-20 of 126 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
Amazing drugstore primer!
6/27/2013

Customer review by SophiaBella

5.0 stars 6/27/2013 by SophiaBella
by SophiaBella

Although it's small in size, don't let that fool you. The "little bottle" has lasted me more than a year, and I use it everyday. The formula is amazing. It's a thick paste that smooths on effortlessly. It has no smell at all, which is a huge bonus, compared to the other Hard Candy primers. It has a smooth finish and feels great. It makes my makeup stay on longer than usual, and that's saying something, seeing as I live in Florida (which is CRAZY hot) plus, I have oily/combo skin-----double whammy! I love the fact that although oil does seep through my makeup, my makeup doesn't run down my face or anything. It does stay intact. I would recommend this product for anyone: whether you're oil/combo like me, or dry or normal---- it works for all! Great product! Keep it up Hard Candy!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SophiaBella
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, better price
10/21/2009

Customer review by LilFullah

5.0 stars 10/21/2009 by LilFullah
by LilFullah

I was so excited to see Wal Mart carry Hard Candy cosmetics...it's been years since I have seen them anywhere. I bought this primer on a whim and it was definitely one of the best beauty purchases I have made. It creates a very smooth surface for make-up application and I feel that it makes my coverage last longer throughout the day (I use mineral powder foundation). It does not leave my face greasy or oily. At department stores you'll pay three times as much for the same type of product. I will definitely be purchasing this product again soon.

Was this review helpful? (171) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LilFullah
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Money Well Spent
4/9/2010

Customer review by missamber07

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by missamber07
by missamber07

This primer is silky smooth and goes on so easily. It makes my foundation stay on better throughout the day and best of all it's a great price. I am just baffled by some of the other reviews saying that this isn't keeping their eyeshadow from creasing. It is because this is not an eyeshadow primer. This is a foundation primer. They don't work in the same ways so it's not going to work the same on your eyelids as the rest of your face. Also there is no primer that is going to be a miracle and keep your foundation on all day long unless you don't sweat, don't touch it, aren't oily, don't have an itch on your nose, or don't hug someone and rub your makeup on their clothes. Primers are to extend the amount of time that you can wear your makeup for and this primer does exactly that. I will definitely be repurchasing.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missamber07
Angleton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy!
11/17/2010

Customer review by Chujumo

4.0 stars 11/17/2010 by Chujumo
by Chujumo

For the past 2 months I have been testing all types of primers, from high end expensive brands to low end cheaper brands. This is a great product for the money. For me it works as well as a popular name brand primer, maybe better (I have really oily skin). Just be sure to shake it before using as it tends to separate and pat on a pea sized amount of product. Using too much will make you greasy. I will definite purchase this again!

Was this review helpful? (123) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chujumo
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic primer!
10/25/2009

Customer review by laperla

5.0 stars 10/25/2009 by laperla
by laperla
Walmart associate

I'm so glad I bought this primer instead of the $100 one at Sephora. It does exactly what a primer should do: primes the skin's surface for easier makeup application. I applied the primer on top of my daily sunscreen -- I couldn't believe how smoothly it glided across my skin. Next I applied a tinted moisturizer and mineral powder and was thrilled that there was no icky product pilling. Yay! It lasted all day and gave my skin a little extra glow. I have normal/combo skin that gets easily dehydrated. The primer was neither to greasy/shiny or drying for my skin.

Was this review helpful? (109) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laperla
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
Creates a nice slate
5/1/2010

Customer review by lpisces28

5.0 stars 5/1/2010 by lpisces28
by lpisces28

This will leave your skin pleasantly primed for foundation, paving the way nicely by leaving the skin soft, smooth and healthy-looking. Looks good even if you elect NOT to wear foundation or powder. I am quite pleased with this purchase, and feel the price for it is very good too.

Was this review helpful? (70) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lpisces28
Bayside, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this primer!
1/13/2010

Customer review by chapstickmom09

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by chapstickmom09
by chapstickmom09

I've been searching for a primer for awhile now. Sephora sent me a trial size of their primer, which I found to be too thick and outrageously expensive for a full size, which was about a half ounce. This Hard Candy primer from Walmart was only $8. The tube is a huge 2 oz. This will most likely last me over a year. It goes on like silk, and a tiny drop is all you need for your entire face. I put powder over it and it stays all day long until I wash it off in the evening. No need for a foundation. I use it on my eyelids and my eye shadow clings to it wonderfully. I would recommend this and will definately buy more. I hope they keep making it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chapstickmom09
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fabulous product, I wish I had tried it sooner.
12/7/2011

Customer review by SophiaATL

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by SophiaATL
by SophiaATL

I finally tried this and I'm amazed by the difference! I have oily/acne prone skin and thought a primer would wreck havoc on my face - it didn't. I didn't break out and it stopped the shine! You only need a little to cover your face and down your neck a bit, give it 2 minutes to dry then apply foundation and set it with powder. I use a little more for an acne scar on my cheek, now it's almost totally smooth when I have make up on. I am sold on this product and definitely recommend it for anyone looking for smoother shine free skin.

Was this review helpful? (48) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SophiaATL
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
If you are having trouble with this product
5/16/2011

Customer review by XinthRau

3.0 stars 5/16/2011 by XinthRau
by XinthRau

Its a decent product for the price, but you have to make sure you exfoliate and moisturize then when skin is dry and clean use this then wait! let it set till its dry then use your other products. make sure you clean your face of this product at bedtime and its all good from there.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XinthRau
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better options out there!
4/7/2012

Customer review by missmoelove

2.0 stars 4/7/2012 by missmoelove
by missmoelove

First and foremost, DO NOT purchase this product if you have very oily skin and/or prone to sweating. I live in the South and due to our sweltering summers here, I sweat easily and this is a disadvantage to my already oily skin. At first it seemed to work well enough, I only applied a small amount each time I used it (per the other reviews) but I noticed after a few days that my skin would be extremely oily (even with foundation, powder, etc) by midday. This is definitely not something that I could wear w/o foundation or powder and the other day when I tried, I ended up walking around for an hour with white residue from the primer on my face! This product is definitely NOT worth the $8 I spent on it and I would gladly pay a little more for a primer that is more oil resistant and doesn't leave me scrubbing my face!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missmoelove
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Primer for the Money!
11/2/2015

Customer review by Gizmo1971

5.0 stars 11/2/2015 by Gizmo1971
by Gizmo1971

I use my mineral foundation and I did not want to spend a lot of money for the primer, so I found this in walmart and decided to try it out. i have oily skin with large pores so I gave this a try. I am thrilled and I love it even more than my expensive primer. I will not use anything else after this. Great price, makeup stays all day and no shine. Goes on very smooth and my skin feels great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gizmo1971
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent primer
11/9/2009

Customer review by Toppolina

5.0 stars 11/9/2009 by Toppolina
by Toppolina

I have tried almost all primer on the market and I believe this is one of the best I have tried. The price makes it more appealing since it is a fraction of the price of the others on the markets

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toppolina
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not for liquid foundation users.
3/13/2010

Customer review by RoxyD

3.0 stars 3/13/2010 by RoxyD
by RoxyD

Gotta say, I'm a little disappointed. I read all the reviews here and was excited to try this primer. I used the primer several times but wasn't sure I could see a difference in my makeup. So, today I applied the primer on one side of my face and not on the other. I did the rest of my makeup normally and went on my way. I worked 9 hours today and BOTH sides of my face look like my makeup is beginning to wear off. The BEST primer out there is HourGlass Mineral Veil, but at $52 a bottle, it's a very pricy investment. But I may go back to it anyhow. The only thing I can say is that I use liquid foundation and maybe that makes a difference. Seems like a lot of the other reviewers are using powder and they like it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RoxyD
Mt. Pleasant, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Primer Separated
11/9/2011

Customer review by christyd2

2.0 stars 11/9/2011 by christyd2
by christyd2

I had high hopes because my aunt uses Hard Candy products & love them. The good: The price is sooo much cheaper than Smashbox. Similar to SB, this primer keeps my moisturizer locked in & my makeup on. The bad: The texture! After a few weeks, the product separated into liquid & clumps. (This was in my house the whole time, not a sitting out in a car or anything either.) The texture was kind of gross actually! In order to use it I'd have have squeeze out double the product so I'd have enough of the liquid & clumps to mix it together. It still worked, so if you'd rather save money & the runny texture doesn't bother you, I'd recommend it. If texture would bother you, I'd highly recommend the Maybelline primer instead. It's the same price as Hard Candy, but comes in a smaller tube. (But it's still a really good value.) It works just as well as Smashbox & the texture is very similar. The pleasing texture & the amount of product & time I save not mixing is worth it to me. After I used that a few times, I tossed my Hard Candy primer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
christyd2
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just not worth it
11/1/2011

Customer review by EditorLiz

1.0 stars 11/1/2011 by EditorLiz
by EditorLiz

In the past I have used Physician's Formula primer, which is an all-around outstanding product; I have also used L'Oreal Studio Secrets primer, which is also a nice product. Hard Candy's primer, though, is useless. First of all, it doesn't go on well. It doesn't matter whether you put it on clean, bare skin or clean skin with moisturizer, it doesn't go on smoothly--it rolls into little balls that cling to your face and hands. In addition, the color doesn't do a thing...it doesn't even your complexion in the least, nor does it smooth wrinkles or conceal pores. It's basically just one big zero. If you want a more or less clear primer, try the L'Oreal I mentioned above; if you want something with a touch of color and that does everything it claims to do, the Physician's Formula is the best bet.

Was this review helpful? (11) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EditorLiz
Montrose, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome Product!
2/14/2010

Customer review by AddictedtoMakeup

5.0 stars 2/14/2010 by AddictedtoMakeup
by AddictedtoMakeup

I have wanted to try a primer for a while and this was a cheaper alternative to the expensive primers I've researched. I put on a tiny amount and when I applied my foundation, it went on smoothly. And, I have oily skin, and this primer has cut down on the amount of oil on my skin after 10 hours! I LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!! The only thing I can say though is that if you put on too much your skin may feel greasy. It only takes a small amount!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AddictedtoMakeup
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!!
1/9/2014

Customer review by wf719

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by wf719
by wf719

I have been looking for months for a good drugstore primer. I had a friend recommend this one to me so I decided to give it a try. I went to my local Wal-Mart to pick it up and it was the last tube on the shelf and after using it for a day I can see why. I couldn't believe how smooth my face felt after applying it. It works just as good as the $36 primer I was using. I think I actually like Hard Candy better.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wf719
Anderson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I Love It!
10/9/2011

Customer review by Bree95

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by Bree95
by Bree95

I LOVE this primer. I put it on in the mornings and it keeps my makeup lasting all day. It goes on really nicely and I can't even feel it's there. It doesn't make my face greasy or oily or anything, and it makes a big difference, especially with my eyeshadow. It's a great product for a great price, and I would definitely reccommend it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bree95
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent & Affordable
3/30/2011

Customer review by PurpleReign2011

5.0 stars 3/30/2011 by PurpleReign2011
by PurpleReign2011

This Primer is better than the more expensive brands, i.e., Covergirl/Oil of Olay, an it does not leave a greasy look - but more of a matte look, and can be worn alone for a fresk look or under foundation. When I use this product I never have to apply power during the day. It gives me a fresh look all day long.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PurpleReign2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
good dupe for Smash Box
5/28/2012

Customer review by celine666

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by celine666
by celine666

I have smash box primer and on youtube emilynoel83 compared this primer to hard candy so i got the HC and guess what they are very similar. no more paying $$ i am hooked with hard candy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
celine666
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews