Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 269 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

269 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

269 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
165
4 stars
34
3 stars
19
2 stars
28
1 stars
23
1-20 of 266 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 266 total reviews
1-20 of 266 reviews
Great foundation
1/2/2012

Customer review by misskitty

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by misskitty
by misskitty

I love this foundation - I am super fair with sensitive skin and pink undertones (I'm ruddy, actually), so Natural Ivory is the perfect shade for me (Natural Ivory def has a pink base). This foundation is thick and creamy, and one bottle will last you forever. I apply it with a makeup sponge to my cheeks/nose/chin, and I can't imagine my life without it now. It completely takes away my redness, and I feel like it actually improves my skin tone and prevents breakouts! I also use it as a concealer. I can see why some people might be bothered by the thick/creamy factor, but I love it because a little bit goes a long way. I would say it has a slightly dewy/matte finish (kind of a combo), so I apply my Clinique powder over it. I just bought the Neutrogena Mineral Sheers Compact in Natural Ivory, so I can't wait to see how it compares to the liquid foundation. I agree that the color selection for this foundation is a bit narrow but since they make my perfect shade, I really can't complain!

misskitty
Cary, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow
1/2/2017

Customer review by jubeeleigh

4.0 stars 1/2/2017 by jubeeleigh
by jubeeleigh

I got this as a sample to review and LOVE it! It's so light on my skin and doesn't feel cakey like others I've tried.

jubeeleigh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Not what it used to be
7/21/2014

Customer review by Hailey29

2.0 stars 7/21/2014 by Hailey29
by Hailey29

I have used this product for years and it has always been my favorite brand. This year I have noticed that instead of feeling soft after a few hours it dries my skin out and starts to flake in spots. At first, I thought that maybe the bottle I selected was old, but month after month of purchasing at different stores, I realized that wasn't the case. I can't wait to wash it off at the end of the day. This is so frustrating, because I absolutely loved this product, it really did make your skin look and feel better than before. Now I don't notice the difference as much, and the foundation feels so different on my skin than before. I don't know what the problem is, but if they are diluting it with alcohol or something they should stop! I've heard physicians formula is good, so sadly I will have to give it a try. I just can't keep using this expecting different results, I want to forget that I'm wearing makeup rather than counting the hours until I can wash it off.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 7/21/2014

We appreciate your feedback, Hailey29. We are so sorry to hear that you had this experience with our product. This is not something that we would expect to happen. We would like to speak with you to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to your call.

Hailey29
Gholson, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
BETTER THAN HIGH END BRANDS!!! THE BEST!
7/18/2011

Customer review by NGLover

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by NGLover
by NGLover

I've used some of the most expensive high end brands of liquid foundations, and this product really blows them out of the water. I have horrible acne prone EXTREMELY oily skin, I could never find the right shade to match my skin and i used to touch up my make up every hour or so...not anymore. I use Neutrogena's healthy skin oil-free combination skin moisturizer and a primer before i put this on, rub it on my face with my fingers, and top it with a few strokes of sephora's mineral foundation powder where i need extra coverage and my skin looks amazing. On the days where I don't need full makeup, this liquid foundation is PERFECT for lightweight, natural coverage. My skin has had less breakouts, appears more even toned, softer and overall healthier since I started using this product, and let me add that the shade i use (NUDE) matches my skin flawlessly. I've had many women compliment my skin numerous times and i give credit to this product!! Best product I've ever used and I will never switch to another liquid foundation.

NGLover
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best makeup I've found
3/1/2012

Customer review by seymour clearly52

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by seymour clearly52
by seymour clearly52

I am 54 years old and have the signs of aging such as larger, more noticable pores which is my biggest challenge. I have been using this makeup now for 1 1/2 years and it is by far the best looking makeup at my age. I have tried all the new products that they come out with and they all are too cakey and dry looking. Which is exactly what we don't need! Most all the makeups that I see out there are aimed at the younger women. I had a very hard time finding anything that would glide on dryer skin and look creamy since everything has gone oil free. This foundation is creamy and adds some moisture to my skin and also some glo. I use a retinol product at night before bed also. We had our picture taken with a group of old friends the other night and when I got the copies back my face looked so dewey and fresh and had a definate glo. I am so glad to have found something for my age range. I wish more makeups were REALLY geared for over fifty.

seymour clearly52
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cant find Product in stores
11/26/2016

Customer review by Coconut

5.0 stars 11/26/2016 by Coconut
by Coconut

I have been using skin clearing foundation tan #120 for about two years and now I can't find this product at the stores. Is it eliminated? I hope not. Does anyone know a similar color complexion to this? Heeelllppp!!!!!

Coconut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Amazing...Simply Amazing!!!
10/21/2011

Customer review by ASRx2

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by ASRx2
by ASRx2

Read the reviews....thought, well I will give it a try, but not really expecting much. How different could this foundation be to all of the hundreds of others out there? WOW I was mistaken! This foundation is the best!!! I have only been using it for 2 weeks and I can already see a noticeable difference. It goes on like silk, covers up all of my blemishes (and I have a lot!) but it feels so sheer, I can't even tell I am wearing it! Paired with skin clearing compact powder that I apply with a makeup brush it keeps my oily face shine free. My face looks brilliant from the moment I put it on in the early morning until I take it off late at night (never have I had a makeup foundation wears this well!) But what I was most surprised at was not while I was wearing it but when I took it off at night. My face feels like it is in better condition even after wearing it all day! The ingredients in this product are nothing short of a miracle! Wonderful Product! Wonderful Quality! Wonderful Price!!!!! I can't express how much I love this foundation. I will be using it for life...thank you Neutrogena!

ASRx2
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love, love, LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!
6/8/2012

Customer review by MissNisha91

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by MissNisha91
by MissNisha91

I absolutely love this makeup! I have been using perfect match by L'Oreal, which I still consider a great product, but i had been using that a while and wanted to try something new, i saw a lot of good reviews for this and decieded to pick it up and i love it so much. It looks so great, most makeups look like i am wearing makeup, this product is so sheer looking it looks like i'm not wearing makeup, but it still provides decent coverage for me because i don't have but only a few blemishes to cover. It has good buildable coverage for problem ares too. I also love the smell, i do not like scented or funky smelling makeups but this has a very slight smell. A little more pricey than i would prefer so at times when i'm short on cash i'll probably go back to picking up a bottle of true match but otherwise i will definitely be continuing to repurchase this product again and again!

MissNisha91
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Must try 4 people w dry skin
10/11/2016

Customer review by Makeup noob

5.0 stars 10/11/2016 by Makeup noob
by Makeup noob

It reduce appearance of my pores and does not cake up. Also, it has a nice smell.

Makeup noob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Bring Back Classic Porcelain!
12/20/2011

Customer review by Foundation Freak

4.0 stars 12/20/2011 by Foundation Freak
by Foundation Freak

I used the old version of Healthy Skin foundation for years, until they changed the formula and took my perfect color away (Classic Porcelain.) I tried the Classic Ivory and I felt it was a tad too light, and way too thick. The next color down, Natural Ivory is too pink and Buff is too dark. So, for the last couple of years I have used L'Oreal True Match, which I like but it's a bit chalky looking and dry. I recently went back to Healthy Skin, and it really does smooth my face, and has that dewy look I love, especially in the winter. Just wish they would bring back Classic Porcelain and make it thinner like it used to be! I recommend this foundation to anyone with dry, normal, or combination skin. It may not last the day on really oily skin, but it lasts through the work day for me. I'll probably make a trade off: Neutrogena in the winter and L'Oreal in the summer.

Foundation Freak
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally found a great foundation!
6/12/2012

Customer review by NaturalLover

4.0 stars 6/12/2012 by NaturalLover
by NaturalLover

I've been using Revlon Colorstay liquid foundation for combination/oily skin for the past 2+ years and loved it. I live in the humid South of USA and it didn't budge during hot 95 degree days but I felt smothered and knew I wasn't doing my akin any favors either. So I switched to tinted moisturizers that just rubbed off and eventually when hot 80 degree April came, I just skipped makeup completely :( but I recently tried Healthy Skin foundation and have fallen in love (June 2012). It's light on my face but has med/full coverage when I apply two thin layers. It wasn't hard to pick a color either surprisingly. I love that it doesn't rub off within an hour and it has an SPF as well. I read the ingredients and there seems to be no parabens! Great job Neutrogena! I love that I can count on you for healthy acne prevention & anti aging products!

NaturalLover
Northwest Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I have a bunch of break outs on my face!!!!:(
10/20/2011

Customer review by msiki911

2.0 stars 10/20/2011 by msiki911
by msiki911

I have been a true customer to Mac satinfinish and diorskin nude by Dior..well I can't justify expending more than 20 bucks on a foundation, I went and picked up this product came home waitid to use it for the weekend and I fell in love with it great coverage,matched my skin perfectly and its in a matte/satin look idk but I liked it. I wore it all Sunday(3days ago) and washed my face before bed...I woke up w. Lil bumps on my forehead some on my cheeks and shin:( I haven't worn it and I'm dealing with my lil pimples like if I hit puberty again...I'm 21 so nope. Not to brag but my skin barley ever breaks out actually never and its sad next day after wearing this foundation I had all these things on my face its Thursday and I'm beggin for my face to clear up. I'm so sad I could of used saving some money on foundations. I'm stuck w. Expensive

msiki911
Reno,NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this product.
3/28/2012

Customer review by swimislove95

5.0 stars 3/28/2012 by swimislove95
by swimislove95

This foundation is the BEST drugstore foundation I have ever tried. I've tried Maybelline FIT ME, Covergirl Clean Makeup, and Revlon ColorStay. Maybelline made me oily, Covergirl broke me out and ColorStay made me a cake face! Neutrogena Healthy Skin is great! It gives me great coverage and still looks natural. It looks like I'm putting a second layer of perfect skin on my face. I do not have that many skin issues, though I do have some redness near my nose and my skin is dull. Healthy Skin evens out my skin tone. For days I want a dewy look, I'll use this just by itself and for days I want a matte finish I'll use Maybelline Dream Matte Powder. Both are just beautiful looks and I always get compliments on how great my skin looks! Definitely buying again! :)

swimislove95
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loved this foundation already - now new shades!
4/30/2016

Customer review by aamv94

5.0 stars 4/30/2016 by aamv94
by aamv94

I LOVE this foundation - I've been using it for about half a year now and it just FEELS great on my skin. That being said, I have always been disappointed in the lack of variety in shades in most drugstore makeup brands (I've never had a problem finding a shade, I'm not quite that dark, I'm half black) but it's always disappointing when my cousin or my best friend can't find a shade of foundation that works for them from a brand that doesn't cost an arm and a leg- so I am so very happy about this new development with Neutrogena! I will definitely be spreading the word about this!

aamv94
SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Beautiful coverage
7/11/2016

Customer review by Bonnice53

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by Bonnice53
by Bonnice53

This is a great foundation. It is not thick, like many other foundations. You get just the right amount of coverage, and it leaves your face looking healthy. It doesn't clog your pores, and it smells nice.

Bonnice53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Very good foundation for affordable price.
9/11/2014

Customer review by HorseyGirl

4.0 stars 9/11/2014 by HorseyGirl
by HorseyGirl

I have used this foundation in the past with success as far as color and formula being right for my skin type, which is oily in T-zone and normal elsewhere. I am in my mid 50's and finding a good, daily wearable foundation with moderate to full coverage and not look masky can be difficult. My old department store brand was discontinued and I switched over to a different formula they had, and quite frankly, after comparing with this foundation, I will continue using Neutrogena's. I use a clean, damp sponge for even, controlled overall application, rather than applying with fingers as that can lead to uneven and cakey application. I also finish with a light dusting of tranlucent loose powder. The formula and coverage works well for me

HorseyGirl
Appleton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
The Best Drugstore Foundation Ever!!
4/20/2013

Customer review by Naty

5.0 stars 4/20/2013 by Naty
by Naty

I love this foundation! My shade is "Natural Ivory" and I was about to get the lightest shade but they were sold out. I had doubts since I am so light skinned, but this shade fits me PERFECTLY!! I am 15 years old and have been dealing with some bad skin lately- it feels dry and dull. I have tried other foundations, such as Revlon colorstay, and unfortunately they were never suited for my skin. The Neutrogena Healthy skin foundation is fantastic. It has medium coverage which is nice because I do have a few areas where I can use a little coverage. I was worried when I picked this up that it wouldn't have much coverage at all, but it is actually really nice. On me personally, I don't find this to be a dewy foundation, it has more of a natural finish. On days where my skin is super dry, I moisturize my face with olive oil because if I didn't- even though this foundation is not drying at all- then it would accentuate the dry patches. I don't find this to be a problem at all. It is long wearing too, which I like because I have to go to school for seven hours on weekdays. Lastly, it never looks cakey or feel heavy on the skin, which was a problem I had with the Revlon colorstay. It looks and feels like skin. I would highly recommend this foundation :)

Naty
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Great Product
6/27/2016

Customer review by Smiley

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Smiley
by Smiley

This foundation brightens my complexion and makes me look younger. I only use it in the T zone. Seems to reduce size of my pores.

Smiley
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Not a Longwear Foundation!
11/29/2013

Customer review by blu35

3.0 stars 11/29/2013 by blu35
by blu35

I recently started using Neutrogena Healthy Skin foundation because I heard rave reviews online. I am happy with the consistency of this foundation, I don't find it heavy and it does appear dewy for about six hours. However, after about seven hours it starts to become more noticeable. I checked in the mirror after about eight hours and I noticed it was wearing off my t-zone area and appearing very shiny and grease-like! It's not a bad foundation if you are only planning to wear it a maximum of six hours, but any longer than that it will become noticeable. I also notice that my skin tends to breakout after use. I would recommend it if you like a light foundation with a dewy appearance for around six hours.

blu35
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
broke me out..
2/3/2014

Customer review by MonicaG

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by MonicaG
by MonicaG

i first used this foundation using stiff stippling brush and i didnt like how it left my face streaky, i started watching reviews on youtube and found out it was breaking people out! since it hadnt broke me out yet i kept using it but instead i applied it with my fingers, it looked so natural and beautiful but immediately i noticed it irritated my forehead & gave me small bumps. i stopped using it and waited for the irritation to go away, once it was gone i used a flat foundation brush ($1 from e.l.f) and viola! gave me the same finish as with my fingers minus the irritation i love it! if its irritating your skin i suggest u play around with methods of appliction & see if you notice a difference:)

MonicaG
phoenix, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
1-20 of 266 total reviews
1-20 of 266 reviews