Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 206 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

206 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

206 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
137
4 stars
62
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 183 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews
Great smoker
9/2/2010

Customer review by Jimmy59

5.0 stars 9/2/2010 by Jimmy59
by Jimmy59

I've had this smoker for a couple years and does a great job. Two things I might suggest is the little smoker box is to small. I use a bread pan (On lower left in photo ) and use charcoal to smoke the wood, does a better job smoking and it is easy to add wood to. I use aluminum foil to line the water pan and large enough where it go to the sides and back where it will funnel the dripens into the water pan. I added a photo

Was this review helpful? (93) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimmy59
Bristol Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Performs great
12/21/2009

Customer review by Norse1

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by Norse1
by Norse1

This is a great smoker. Get the big one. Ive read alot of reviews about it not going lower than 200 degrees and according to the gauge on the door thats right.. But I wanted to see for sure. I went out and got an Oven Thermometer, and with the top vent closed as far as it goes it held between 200-220. The door gauge says 250 (on low) With the vent fully open it is lower than 200. Granted if you fill it, the stuff on the outside will get a bit more heat. But thats normal do the the way smoke flows around the water pan and chips. Only issues ive seen is the chips burn up in 1-2 hours in the provided metal container. But that is an easy fix. Now if its a really hot day.. There might be some changes.. but easy enough to make the adjustments. It would be hard to beat this Smoker for the Price and ease of use.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Norse1
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Product
11/18/2009

Customer review by dsrigid

4.0 stars 11/18/2009 by dsrigid
by dsrigid

This is a good bang for your buck. The only problems I have with it are it only comes with three racks while it can hold up to five, and the lowest temp I've been able to get it down to is 200. If you want it any lower you have to crack the door open. Other than that though it makes smoking fish so much easier and faster that those electric smokers.

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dsrigid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
LOVE THIS SMOKER
12/31/2009

Customer review by shlongstar

5.0 stars 12/31/2009 by shlongstar
by shlongstar

I'm new to smoking and after doing extensive research, I decided on this propane GOSM smoker. Fast shipping through Walmart, Easy to assemble, gets good goal BBQ temperatures between 225-250 (doesn't get much lower than 225, just in case you're interested in doing colder smokes). Really easy to use. I've made GREAT BBQ already with it and I'm a total newbie (spare ribs, smoked duck, prime rib for Xmas). I believe it's the biggest GOSM that Walmart sells, but would probably prefer a slightly bigger version. It fits a whole slab of spare ribs on each rack, but it's a tight fit. Only other drawbacks is that there's no drip tray, the wood box is a little small, and there aren't vents on the bottom to help control heat. Only a top vent. There are ways around these minor issues though. Overall, I love it and would recommend it to a friend. Very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shlongstar
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Works great
7/9/2010

Customer review by almostdread

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by almostdread
by almostdread

I'd never used a propane smoker before so I was a bit nervous, and I had ordered this specifically for a bit 4th of July part we were having so the pressure was on. I seasoned it as per the instrcutions with no difficulties and then got ready for the big day. You can use wood chips or chunks, but you can fit more chips than chunks. In my case I was smoking meat for 6-10 hours (some came out earlier) and had to fill the smoke box 3 times...not too bad really. I think the next time I use it I'll be a bit better at temp control (I had a littel difficulty getting the temp just right, because the propane is a heat source as wwell as a source of smoke, between the dampers and the dial on the burner you can get it pretty cold). Also, it holds a lot. Has 4 rack slots, but only comes with three racks, which is fine since for taller items you need a rack removed. On my first setup I fit: 2 briskets on the top rack a pork shoulder and 3 racks of baby back ribs 2 whole chickens 1 sausage ring needless to say, it holds a lot! For the money if you are lookign for a decent smoker with good capacity, with the ease of working with propane, don't hesitate, just get it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
almostdread
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GOSM Wide body Propane Smoker
4/24/2011

Customer review by stg0205

4.0 stars 4/24/2011 by stg0205
by stg0205

Overall pretty good smoker. Just a couple things you should know before you purchase. First thing-the smoker box is way too small. I swapped mine out for a 9"bread loaf pan. Second thing- buy a digital thermometer. The cheap one on the front door of the smoker is WAY off by as much as 40-50 degrees. One final tip- line your water pan with foil. You will thank me for this after your 1st smoke. Otherwise a really good smoker for the money.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stg0205
Riverhead,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A GREAT SMOKER
11/17/2011

Customer review by JTBELAH

5.0 stars 11/17/2011 by JTBELAH
by JTBELAH

I have had this smoker about 1 year and use it at least 2 times/week. I smoke Boston butt Pork Roasts, Ribs, chicken and turkeys ALL with EXCELLENT RESULTS... I Smoke ALL OF THESE MEATS at 300 degrees which the smoker holds Very well. The Larger Smoker is perfect in size as opposed to the Smaller series. I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS. I am a PROFESSIONAL OUTDOOR COOK and have had smokers that costs 3 times as much as this Smoker and they didn't do any better than this Smoker. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this Smoker to Anyone, Novice or Professional !!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JTBELAH
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Much easier than expected
5/11/2013

Customer review by Lazyspud

5.0 stars 5/11/2013 by Lazyspud
by Lazyspud

I used this smoker for the 1st time this week. I followed a lot of the recommendations read here - I used a .99¢ bread pan since the smoker box was too small. Fit perfectly in it's place. I bought hickory chunks and using a flat head screw driver and a hammer I broke them down into chips. Get much more for your money that way. I added a rope gasket around the door to seal it (Lowe's). When I fired up the smoker (on low) I put a layer of dry chips on the bottom while I soaked a bunch more in water. It's important not to put the burner on high or you will get fire instead of smoke. Once the smoke rolled for about 30 mins and i had a base of coals I added wet chips and dialed in the temp. Like the others, I lined the water pan with foil and extended the foil out to catch any drippings. I was able to hold 227 for most of the time. Here's a trick to get <200-230. Adjust the valve on you propane until it's almost completely off and watch the burner. You won't get there with the dampers alone. Once you get the hang of it, it's easy. I also used an oven temp probe to measure the temp. The one on my smoker wasn't too far off actually, but I like the precision of digital. I had to add chips every 90 mins, but the results were amazing. I did a rack of ribs and a 5lb pork loin. Dry rubbed ribs on the smoke for 2 hours, then wrapped in foil with 1/4 cup of apple juice for 2 hours, then the last hour on the smoker. They were amazing. Pork loin was on for 3 1/2 hours. All at about 227 degrees. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lazyspud
Richmond, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Overall good smoker
3/14/2011

Customer review by Derwet

4.0 stars 3/14/2011 by Derwet
by Derwet

I read all earlier reviews of this smoker. I took heed of the ones about the smoker being bent and dented upon delivery, and had it shipped site-to-store. Perfect shape. A breeze to put together. I seasoned the smoker as instructed. I payed very close attention to what temperature I had in the smoker with every adjustment of the control on the smoker, as well as adjustments I made on the LP bottle itself. The instructions said turn the LP bottle knob open 1-1/4 turns. I feel like I had the best control of my low temperature setting with the bottle open only 1/4 turn and the smoker turned as low as possible. I held from 220 degrees. I would have liked to have held at 200 though. I'm not a big fan of the smoker box or water pan though. I did not get much smoke from the hickory I used in the smoker box. I ended up using a bread loaf pan when I cooked on the smoker for the first time. This worked great. Also, I got really used to the big water pan my Brinkman smoker had. It would be nice for this smoker's water pan to be a little bigger, but it's OK. The water level was good for 3-4 hours without having to refill when cooking at 200-225 degrees. Overall, I am quite pleased with this smoker, and glad that I purchased it. I appreciate the helpful reviews I found on this website to help me with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Derwet
Owensboro, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Value Smoker
10/18/2010

Customer review by ArringtonFan

5.0 stars 10/18/2010 by ArringtonFan
by ArringtonFan

I settled on this smoker after spending much time online researching different smoker options. I have used it three times already, and the food this smoker is producing is excellent. I smoked a whole chicken and some ribs together. I smoked a 20 pound sirloin chunk for a party, boy was that a hit. I shaved the meat off into bite size strips and served it with a homemade bbq sauce.. I was very happy with it. Cook large portions of beef to about 150 for medium rare to medium meat... so perfect and juicy. My smoker came with a small dent in the back of it right out of the box... not really big enough to give a hoot about.. but after it got wet once it is starting to rust. Gonna have to put a paint patch over it to keep the rust from spreading . The unit holds heat well and it easy to maintain temperature. Heads up, buy a separate thermometer you can hang inside the smoker.. because the one that gets mounted on the door isn't perfectly accurate. For 150 dollars, this smoker is an excellent buy. I has three racks inside that can hold a ton of meat. You could easily smoke 40 pounds of meat in it if you wanted to, and had the time to do it. Propane is great because I plan on using it for tailgating, and we don't have 120V power in the parking lot. Charcoal is too much work for a lazy man like myself. lol I highly recommend this product to anyone new to smoking.. I am very satisfied with my purchase.. as are my wife, my neighbors, and my dogs. Meat doesn't last long around my neck of the woods.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArringtonFan
Salisbury, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
good construction
11/14/2009

Customer review by blackdog100

4.0 stars 11/14/2009 by blackdog100
by blackdog100

I thought this was a very good product and the instructions were very clear and everything was bagged just right. I have used it two times, the first time was not very good due to my being new at this smoking. The second time it worked out very nice. I think for the price you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blackdog100
Alexandria, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
AWESOME Smoker!!!!
6/24/2012

Customer review by Nitro195601

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by Nitro195601
by Nitro195601

I have used a side firebox smoker for years and decided to go with this GOSM Smoker and a lot of reviews. It has a rating of 4.8 out of 5 over 140 reviews, thats strong. I have used it 3 times and has done GREAT, best ribs and butt I have done yet. I did however make a couple mods to it. I added a high heat fiberglass seal around the door and assed a low pressure regulator to it. Without the low pressure regulator the lowest I could get it was about 250 degr. Now with the new regulator I can get it to hold steady down to as low as 80 degr. @ major mods, but they were cheapand easy to do.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nitro195601
Simpsonville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Smoker delivers, as advertised
7/7/2011

Customer review by Unogreatdad

4.0 stars 7/7/2011 by Unogreatdad
by Unogreatdad

I didn't have some of the problems others mentioned. I received all my screws, etc. Some reported that this smoker ran hot (about 275-295, F). OK, it runs hot when it's empty, but when it has food and water in it, mine stays about 235-255 (digital thermometer), even in the Florida Summer sun, which is about perfect. If you're wanting to do a slow 18 hour smoke at 170, F, you might want to smoke your roast for 2-3 hours in the smoker and finish it in your oven at a lower temperature. The accuracy of the door mounted thermometer apprears reasonably accurate. But, what the heck, Walmart sells a wireless thermometer for about $15.00 in the grilling department. Use it to check the smoker temperature at the beginning, then push the probe into the meat later. Because it's a propane smoker, it stays cleaner (and is easier to clean) than a charcoal smoker. A charcoal smoker, however, may impart better flavor. It's hard to tell, as I've only had this smoker for a month and I'm still getting use to it. Propane is certainly easier to get going and control. My wife calls me Smokin' Dave (but I don't think that relates to the smoker).

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Unogreatdad
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good value
1/26/2011

Customer review by smokeintheeyes

4.0 stars 1/26/2011 by smokeintheeyes
by smokeintheeyes

product arrived double boxed, no damage, no parts were missing. Assembly was easy with common household tools. Follow directions and you wont have any problems. I have been smoking for many years but wanted a unit that would hot smoke quickly and would hold the heat. No comlaints.. Everyone looves the salmon, ribs, tri tip chicken and turkey that has came out of this smoker. The brisket and pastami is next weekend. Lots of good advice on the internrt on smoking and recipes. Good luck.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smokeintheeyes
North west
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent value in a low priced smoker
1/3/2012

Customer review by fpach520

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by fpach520
by fpach520

Got this smoker for Christmas. Tried it out for the first time on New Years Day. After watching a few instructional videos, I tried my hand at smoking a beef brisket and a couple racks of beef ribs. They came out looking like they were cooked by a professional! Tasted like it too. The compliments were plentiful. Pros: The set up instructions were clear and easy to follow. It maintained the temperatures rather well, and heated back up quickly when I opened the door....which was often. There was plenty of room inside. I could have easily doubled what I cooked that day. Lots of smoke! Cons: The wood chip tray is too small. There was plenty of smoke, but it didn't last long....hence the need to open the door often. I've since ordered a larger tray. The built-in temp guage was fairly accurate, but didn't show the variations in temp that the digital one did. I would recommend getting an external/digital unit. Overall, this is a great smoker. I can't wait to try out the next batch of food. My family can't either. For the price, you get a good sized unit that works very well at what it is intended to do. If you are a first timer like me, do yourself a favor, and read up or find some instructional videos. You'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fpach520
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this product not really knowing how it would be as i have priced other smokers from 400.00 on up. I received it on Friday and did my first smoking in it on that sunday,unbelievable on how well it did. For the money you cant beat it. I would reccomend it to all that want to get into smoking but not alot of money to spend this is the one for you. I'am very satisified with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
williston N.D
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Smoky Mountain 20" x 34" Smoker by Landmann
5/7/2012

Customer review by hightechredneck

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by hightechredneck
by hightechredneck

This is a great smoker. Very large capacity and outstanding value for what you get. I ordered an additional rack and cover from the product's website. The smoker box is quite small so I removed it and now use a small baking pan. If you are thinking of getting a smoker, I highly recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hightechredneck
Denham Springs, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
WOW
3/30/2011

Customer review by lovetogrill101

5.0 stars 3/30/2011 by lovetogrill101
by lovetogrill101

im new to smoking and was not sure on getting one but im so glad i did very good smoker and the price is even better also the smell from the smoke will have alot of people who live around you at your house.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetogrill101
kansas city mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
GREAT SMOKER!!!!
12/31/2010

Customer review by murshopr

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by murshopr
by murshopr

I bought this for my husband for Christmas. I had it shipped site to store. Box arrived before scheduled and in perfect condition. I would deff. do site to store....the carriers ups and fedex are rough on the boxes! He had it put together in less than 30 minutes. It is HUGE! We started just this year processing our own deer. We had a "home made" smoker. It was small and took a long time.THIS GREAT OUTDOORS SMOKER will hold LOTS of summer sausage! I read the measurements and reviews before I bought it...but when we got it together I was amazed at how big this thing is! I love the thermometer on the front door...adds character! We have used it several times already and would buy this smoker again and again! It is a must have! My husband agrees with the other reviews. The Wood chip pan is small....easy fix. If you buy this smoker you will not be dissapointed!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
murshopr
Moline, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Does the job and looks good while doing it...
2/13/2011

Customer review by stnwll

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by stnwll
by stnwll

I'm new to this method of cooking and found this smoker to be an excellent choice for the novice. The packaging was very good. Double boxed with no dents or scratches when it arrived. Was easy to assemble with good intructions. It took about 20 minutes to set up. Holds temperature very well with little fuss. I used 2 remote thermometers. One for the cooking temperature and the other for the meat. Remote thermometers makes life so much easier. I was able to hold 225 degrees when it was -3 outside with no problem. I smoked a turkey breast and a ham and they turned out perfect, received many compliments from friends and family. I am very happy I made the purchase and look forward to many smokey days ahead. The only drawback I see is the limited size of the chamber for the wood chips. It will smoke for about an hour and then you need to refill the chamber. Not a bid deal but a little bit more room would have been nice.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stnwll
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews