Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 140 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

140 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

140 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 126 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
Buy It!
10/1/2009

Customer review by pastorphil

5.0 stars 10/1/2009 by pastorphil
by pastorphil

I used various charcoal smokers for 20 years. I will never go back to charcoal. Tons of smoke flavor, easy to control and maintain heat, easy to access meat. No hassle of tending the fire; sleep through the night while the smoker does the work. And propane is soooo much cheaper than charcoal. I paid 150 when Wal-Mart first starting carrying it, and I thought that was a good deal. This has to be the best BBQ value on the market. It could use a fifth rack (available from manufacturer).

Was this review helpful? (127) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pastorphil
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Best Smoker/Cooker I've owned
10/19/2009

Customer review by Beagle2260

5.0 stars 10/19/2009 by Beagle2260
by Beagle2260

I've had this for 4 years. This is the ABSOLUTE best smoker I've used. I've used charcoal and I've tried electric. This smoker is EASY to use and doubles as an outdoor oven. During a power outage, I used it to make X-mas ham. Turned out PERFECT. Cooked the last two Thanksgiving turkeys in this unit. Temperature stays more constant than in my home oven. Racks are easy to access. I purchased the 4th grate and use it to smoke thicker meats on the bottom while thinner ones go on top. Can't go wrong...!!

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beagle2260
Lynnwood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Smoker
11/29/2010

Customer review by Dangalf

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by Dangalf
by Dangalf

Works as advertised. I was very pleased that it holds temperature at a fairly constant rate throughout the day to allow carefree BBQ/Smoking. Though this is my first smoker and I am a newbie, I have done a few full briskets, pork butts, sausage, ribs and turkey breasts. It holds the 200-250F temperature in both summer and late fall day/night diurnal temperature swings. I have also roasted peppers (bell) and jalapeños at higher temps (400 F), which seems to be about the maximum temperature it can achieve. Cons/wishes: A full brisket and full rack of pork ribs don't fit well. The ribs I had to cut; the brisket has enough shrinkage that it fit by the time it was fully cooked. High fat meats (e.g. pork shoulder and brisket) done at the same time make a mess with the drippings coming out the bottom and down the legs. (I used an automotive drip pan to catch the drippings. The water/drip pan does catch some, but by no means all of the drippings.) Does not come with a cover, rib racks, or bars/sausage hooks. (Some Aluminum bar stock cut to length was a quick fix for the later and others can be purchased separately.) Pros: Great food and easy to use with the mostly fuss-free temperature stability and propane fuel. No getting up in the middle of the night to load in more briquettes. The propone lasted for more than two 18-24 hour cycles. The three sturdy racks that come with it allow you to put a lot of food into the smoker for a single cooking. Though the wood chip box is a bit small for the bigger chucks of wood it didn't deter from the performance. As more of the friends and family taste the final product, they ask "How much did you pay for that smoker?" So maybe the proof is in the pudding on this one, and I do recommend this to those that care to give BBQ/Smoking a try.

Was this review helpful? (55) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dangalf
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Everyone should have one
12/30/2009

Customer review by DryRubLover

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by DryRubLover
by DryRubLover

I have had this smoker for over 4 years and have had hours of smoking for fun and profit. I absolutely recommend it especially for someone just starting out. This year we all chipped in and got our Boss one as a company Christmas present. He was speechless! He has it hooked up to a 1000 gallon Binford Propane tank and couldn't wait to start smoking!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DryRubLover
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good, but not great.
10/12/2011

Customer review by r3krobert

3.0 stars 10/12/2011 by r3krobert
by r3krobert

The poor stuff: 1-Directions could be lots better. Diagrams don't always match product and no recipes or cooking times are given. 2- Welds on two grill holding brackets were broken. 3- Temperature guage not accurate. The good part: 1- Excellent value! 2- Does a good job of smoking (and that's the most important thing). 3- Helpful customer service easy to reach. Suggestions: 1- Always use a meat thermometer. One with a wireless remote saves lots of running in and out of the house. 2- Put a good oven thermometer inside the smoker and compare ts readings with the manufacturer's. Then recalibrate which is an easy job.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
r3krobert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great
11/26/2009

Customer review by HowdyfromWA

5.0 stars 11/26/2009 by HowdyfromWA
by HowdyfromWA

This smoker exceeded my expectations. I've cooked beef & pork roasts, salmon, ribs, sausages, and lots of other meats. Just tossing in a pack of Johnsonville brats and slow smoking with mesquite & maple chips produces the best sausages! I've used those chips, also apple, alder and hickory. Just use the chips you like, and mix them for more flavor. I use my BBQ much less now, and this smoker is so easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HowdyfromWA
Western Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
awesome unit
6/30/2011

Customer review by LEDTVguy

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by LEDTVguy
by LEDTVguy

Instructions were adequately enough to put together in about 1hr. After seasoning the smoker 1 hr, next day I smoked a beef brisket, pork roast, and pork ribs. I used apple and cherry wood from Lowes and the flavor was great. I dry rubbed BBQ seasoning then applied sauce in the last few hours. In all I cooked the meats for 8hrs at 225deg. It was perfect pull pork and meat just falling off bones ribs. Sliced brisket was so tender you can cut it with a fork. I only wish the thermometer on the door was a little more accurate. FYI: It may run much hotter in the center and colder at the top. Thermometer was about 10deg colder, which is good. The gas tank lasted 8hrs and still felt heavy, hardly used. A few more BBQ will tell me how long a tank will last. I only turned in on slow and low... just enough for 225deg. I've had wood and electric smoker, but this is the best way to go with gas. It's well built and good quality, and a good buy for the money. Enjoy!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LEDTVguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Smoker
12/3/2009

Customer review by castoway

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by castoway
by castoway

Great smoker! used it to smoke fish for fish dip, smoked a 19lb turkey at Thanskgiving and heated a spiral ham. All were excellent. My only regret was purchasing this online. I found it in a Walmart store onsale 1 week after I purchased it for $30.00 less than online. I would highly recommend looking in the stores before making a online purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
castoway
Cudjoe Key, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
test the thermometer
2/7/2011

Customer review by oscar8

3.0 stars 2/7/2011 by oscar8
by oscar8

We thought that this unit was a great value. It was easy to put together. It felt sturdy enough to do the job and light enough to move around the deck. Our first attempt was not stellar. We were smoking 2 small briskets (total of ~5#) and my husband was having a difficulty maintaining the temperature with the cheap regulator that came on the unit. Moving the temp knob slightly would drive the temperature from 200 to 325 in a few minutes. We will likely replace the regulator ourselves. The bigger issue, as it turns out, was that the thermometer on the unit was reading 40degrees higher than what was actually in the cabinet. So after 5 hours of cooking at "220 degrees"-- the meat was barely 150degrees-- far from expected temperature. We ended up cooking them for 7 hours and then having to finish then in the oven so we could eat before bed time. I will likely contact the company about the thermometer issue. But word to the wise- Do a simple accuracy test before installing!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oscar8
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Outstanding
9/3/2011

Customer review by JayhawkShopper

5.0 stars 9/3/2011 by JayhawkShopper
by JayhawkShopper

I really like this smoker and used it yesterday to smoke a 15 lb. brisket, 6 lb. pork butt shoulder roast, 3lb of baby back ribs and five brats. It all fit but it was tight! This smoker delivered an outstanding result and it was so easy to keep regulated. As others have said, I do wish they gave you the fourth rack and the wood chip box is way too small (had to constantly put in new wood chips to keep the smoke going - about every hour) but the ease and convenience of this unit makes me want to never go back to charcoal smokers. You might lose a little flavor but for what the convenience brings it is not worth the small difference. I did find that I put a old cookie sheet underneath the unit when smoking to catch the drippings because the water pan will not catch all of them and to protect your deck I would highly recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JayhawkShopper
Lawrence, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Overall, very good
9/27/2011

Customer review by RF001

4.0 stars 9/27/2011 by RF001
by RF001

Pros: Price, works well, easy to put together, size, gas operated: cons: Starter did not work from beginning and I end up using matches. Only comes w/ two grates/shelves and really would like 3. Cannot keep temperature below 190 or 200, some recipes call for 175 and you cannot get this smoker to maintain such a low temp.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RF001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I am blown away!!!
9/30/2010

Customer review by jrfromhbg

4.0 stars 9/30/2010 by jrfromhbg
by jrfromhbg

Assembling this smoker was a snap. The temperate ranged from 185 degrees to 350 degree---you can actually control the temp as opposed to a charcol smoker.....the smoke flavor it produces is INCREDIBLE!!!!! my ignitor doesnt work but I use a long stemmed lighter instead....it could use a drip pan though but I am extemely happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jrfromhbg
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Smoker for the price!
8/19/2011

Customer review by bud6396

5.0 stars 8/19/2011 by bud6396
by bud6396

I wanted to upgrade from an electric smoker to a gas smoker. I did quite a bit reading about this unit and all the reviews. I was a little skeptical about this unit for $108. I have to say I was WRONG! This unit is well worth the money! I am a once every couple weeks meat smoker and I love it. This unit came double boxed from Walmart's warehouse. I guess they do that to protect the product. It arrived in perfect condition. Took less than 30 minutes to assemble. Besides being a nice little smoker, it can be used as an outdoor oven. I took my assembled unit and mounted it on a wooden movers dollie. It fits perfect and even has room for the propane tank to sit on the dollie. I put a screw in each leg of the smoker into the wooden dollie so now I can move it around freely and store it in my shed without having to lift it. I already did beef brisket on it and it came out great. I used wireless thermometer to monitor the meat temperature. Yesterday I tried making beef jerky in the unit. I used wooden skewers and hung the meat on the racks. I hung 4 pounds of strips on 2 racks. I had only one problem. To smoke jerky you should run a temperature around 150 degrees. To get this temperature I had to almost close the valve completly on the gas tank to restrict the gas flow. It ran about 160 to 170 by doing this. The only problem I had was due to the low temperature it was almost impossible to get a decent smoke from my hickory chips. To get a smoke you need around 200 degrees. So I would suggest you put some liquid smoke in your jerky marinate. With the lower temperature it was hard for it to smoke. BUT overall the jerky came out good. Took about 7 hours in the unit to get it just right. If you are thinking about this smoker, I would suggest you purchase it. Nowadays $100 does not buy you too much. This unit is well worth that price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bud6396
Orlando Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
11/24/2009

Customer review by gardensmoker

5.0 stars 11/24/2009 by gardensmoker
by gardensmoker

i love this smoker, took about an hour to put together, and is so easy to use, i would highly recommend using gas, i was skeptical at first, but everything i have tried has turn out great! i am doing my thanksgiving day turkey in it hats off

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gardensmoker
lexington,ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Believe It
11/1/2010

Customer review by suburbabc

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by suburbabc
by suburbabc

The good reviews on this product are completely accurate. A great product for the price. Maintains constant level of heat. Buy a larger smoker box, use chunks and leave it as I have for 4-5 hours without attention. Even using chips last smoked a brisket; to bed at 10pm, up at 2:30am to start smoking, back to bed in 10 minutes, added chips at 6am and 9am, meat was perfectly done at noon. Don't bother with charcoal, too much attention required and propane is cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suburbabc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Smoker
7/8/2013

Customer review by Blindhawk

4.0 stars 7/8/2013 by Blindhawk
by Blindhawk

Got this last week. Put it together in about half hour. Seasoned it on Friday. Smoked with it on Saturday. Smoked a brisket and slab of spare ribs. Had to cut the ribs in half. I didn't want the ribs dripping on the brisket. There is enough room you could cook alot of meat. Maintained the temperature at 225 to 250 no problem. Kept the burner set at just below medium. Had the damper open half way. After opening the door, turned the heat up to high to get back to temperature. This was done only when I turned the meat, added water or wood chips. Had the propane valve open about 1/4 turn. This helped keep the flame low. Saw this somewhere online and it worked great. Took 5 hours for the ribs and 6 for the brisket. Should have gone 6 and 7. Went through one bag of chips. I wanted smoke. Soaked the chips, mesquite, for 1 hr. Smoke lasted about 1 hr each time. No big deal. You don't need smoke all the time. Like I said I wanted smoke. Meat came out great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blindhawk
Tulsa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good but not Great
1/18/2012

Customer review by Zendez33

3.0 stars 1/18/2012 by Zendez33
by Zendez33

I will say this is a great little smoker for a beginner, which I am. Works great with chicken, ham, ribs, pork butts ..etc Definitely can brew up some amazing tasting meat. Although as I move on with this smoking hobby, I have concluded this smoker is average at best. My biggest issue is the temperature, without a needle valve or physical modification to the smoker it is difficult to achieve temperatures below 190-200. My initial goal was to make snack sticks and jerky but this unit cannot hold temperatures around 130-140 degrees like I need. The treats end up cooking too fast, which really hurts the flavor and they do not absorb enough smoke. Also I have had 3 welds on the inside randomly break. One that holds the water pan and two which hold the racks. Throw the temperature gauge right out, dont bother installing it, it is off by an average of 40 degrees. Buy a wireless thermometer instead. In order to get the best out of the smoker do the following 1. Buy the a-maze-n smoker 2. Either install 2 additional BBQ Air dampers or install a need valve off your propane tank 3. Buy a wireless thermometer

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zendez33
Would recommend to a friend? No
damaged parts
4/3/2011

Customer review by Cadman2000

3.0 stars 4/3/2011 by Cadman2000
by Cadman2000

The weld was broken on the wire track that holds up the racks. I contacted manufacture and they sent me another one. The one they sent me has 2 wire pieces that the welds are broken loose on. Now I have to contact the manufacturer again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cadman2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good smoker for the money
11/22/2010

Customer review by fishermanjim

4.0 stars 11/22/2010 by fishermanjim
by fishermanjim

Recieved the smoker three weeks ago, assembly was pretty simple. It took about 1/2 hour and instruction were very good. The manual does not have any recipes or helpful tips for using the smoker. Trying to figure out temps and burner settings, has taken three times. I bought it to smoke some steelhead and I am not sure if I can get the smoker to smoke at the 160 to 180 degree temp. Wish the unit had an adjustable vent on the bottom. Smoking at 225 to 275 degrees is not a problem. Just got done smoking a whole chicken and it turned out great. I am pretty happy with the unit, and would recommend it for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishermanjim
Northeast Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Back in the saddle
1/21/2010

Customer review by jwkinney

5.0 stars 1/21/2010 by jwkinney
by jwkinney

My partner and I live and travel in a 38 foot RV trailer. We've carried our old Smoky Mountain propane smoker back and forth across the country until we finally wore it out. I was told that these smokers were no longer manufactured, but was happy to find them online at Walmart! The new smoker is a bit smaller than our old one, but the unitized burner looks to be much more durable against the stresses of travel. I like the new flatter water pan much better than the old. The wood chips box looks a bit less durable, but we'll see. Unlike the older model, the door thermometer actually works properly and is well positioned. The smoker tends to cook a little bit hotter/faster than the old, so I'm still experimenting with temperatures and cooking times. We use the smoker in all types of weather from dry hot summers to cold wet winters. I just smoked a 3 pound pork roast in 18 degree F weather and a dozen BBQ chicken wings in 50 degree F weather. Both finished perfectly. All in all we're very pleased with the change, especially the range of cooking temperatures.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwkinney
Currently Garner NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews