Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 142 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

142 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

142 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
101
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 128 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews
Great Smoker
11/29/2010

Customer review by Dangalf

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by Dangalf
by Dangalf

Works as advertised. I was very pleased that it holds temperature at a fairly constant rate throughout the day to allow carefree BBQ/Smoking. Though this is my first smoker and I am a newbie, I have done a few full briskets, pork butts, sausage, ribs and turkey breasts. It holds the 200-250F temperature in both summer and late fall day/night diurnal temperature swings. I have also roasted peppers (bell) and jalapeños at higher temps (400 F), which seems to be about the maximum temperature it can achieve. Cons/wishes: A full brisket and full rack of pork ribs don't fit well. The ribs I had to cut; the brisket has enough shrinkage that it fit by the time it was fully cooked. High fat meats (e.g. pork shoulder and brisket) done at the same time make a mess with the drippings coming out the bottom and down the legs. (I used an automotive drip pan to catch the drippings. The water/drip pan does catch some, but by no means all of the drippings.) Does not come with a cover, rib racks, or bars/sausage hooks. (Some Aluminum bar stock cut to length was a quick fix for the later and others can be purchased separately.) Pros: Great food and easy to use with the mostly fuss-free temperature stability and propane fuel. No getting up in the middle of the night to load in more briquettes. The propone lasted for more than two 18-24 hour cycles. The three sturdy racks that come with it allow you to put a lot of food into the smoker for a single cooking. Though the wood chip box is a bit small for the bigger chucks of wood it didn't deter from the performance. As more of the friends and family taste the final product, they ask "How much did you pay for that smoker?" So maybe the proof is in the pudding on this one, and I do recommend this to those that care to give BBQ/Smoking a try.

Was this review helpful? (60) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dangalf
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Overall, very good
9/27/2011

Customer review by RF001

4.0 stars 9/27/2011 by RF001
by RF001

Pros: Price, works well, easy to put together, size, gas operated: cons: Starter did not work from beginning and I end up using matches. Only comes w/ two grates/shelves and really would like 3. Cannot keep temperature below 190 or 200, some recipes call for 175 and you cannot get this smoker to maintain such a low temp.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RF001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Outstanding
9/3/2011

Customer review by JayhawkShopper

5.0 stars 9/3/2011 by JayhawkShopper
by JayhawkShopper

I really like this smoker and used it yesterday to smoke a 15 lb. brisket, 6 lb. pork butt shoulder roast, 3lb of baby back ribs and five brats. It all fit but it was tight! This smoker delivered an outstanding result and it was so easy to keep regulated. As others have said, I do wish they gave you the fourth rack and the wood chip box is way too small (had to constantly put in new wood chips to keep the smoke going - about every hour) but the ease and convenience of this unit makes me want to never go back to charcoal smokers. You might lose a little flavor but for what the convenience brings it is not worth the small difference. I did find that I put a old cookie sheet underneath the unit when smoking to catch the drippings because the water pan will not catch all of them and to protect your deck I would highly recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayhawkShopper
Lawrence, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
I am blown away!!!
9/30/2010

Customer review by jrfromhbg

4.0 stars 9/30/2010 by jrfromhbg
by jrfromhbg

Assembling this smoker was a snap. The temperate ranged from 185 degrees to 350 degree---you can actually control the temp as opposed to a charcol smoker.....the smoke flavor it produces is INCREDIBLE!!!!! my ignitor doesnt work but I use a long stemmed lighter instead....it could use a drip pan though but I am extemely happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jrfromhbg
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Nice Smoker!
11/24/2009

Customer review by splicer1704

4.0 stars 11/24/2009 by splicer1704
by splicer1704

The smoker had been damaged during shipping, but I was able to straighten the cabinet enough to use it. I have only owned the cooker for a short time now, but i love using the smoker. I have not had a bad peice of meat come off the smoker yet. I do wish I would have ordered the bigger smoker that is available. I look forward too cooking my Thanksgiving turkey in the smoker.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
splicer1704
Keystone Heights, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
test the thermometer
2/7/2011

Customer review by oscar8

3.0 stars 2/7/2011 by oscar8
by oscar8

We thought that this unit was a great value. It was easy to put together. It felt sturdy enough to do the job and light enough to move around the deck. Our first attempt was not stellar. We were smoking 2 small briskets (total of ~5#) and my husband was having a difficulty maintaining the temperature with the cheap regulator that came on the unit. Moving the temp knob slightly would drive the temperature from 200 to 325 in a few minutes. We will likely replace the regulator ourselves. The bigger issue, as it turns out, was that the thermometer on the unit was reading 40degrees higher than what was actually in the cabinet. So after 5 hours of cooking at "220 degrees"-- the meat was barely 150degrees-- far from expected temperature. We ended up cooking them for 7 hours and then having to finish then in the oven so we could eat before bed time. I will likely contact the company about the thermometer issue. But word to the wise- Do a simple accuracy test before installing!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oscar8
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
awesome unit
6/30/2011

Customer review by LEDTVguy

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by LEDTVguy
by LEDTVguy

Instructions were adequately enough to put together in about 1hr. After seasoning the smoker 1 hr, next day I smoked a beef brisket, pork roast, and pork ribs. I used apple and cherry wood from Lowes and the flavor was great. I dry rubbed BBQ seasoning then applied sauce in the last few hours. In all I cooked the meats for 8hrs at 225deg. It was perfect pull pork and meat just falling off bones ribs. Sliced brisket was so tender you can cut it with a fork. I only wish the thermometer on the door was a little more accurate. FYI: It may run much hotter in the center and colder at the top. Thermometer was about 10deg colder, which is good. The gas tank lasted 8hrs and still felt heavy, hardly used. A few more BBQ will tell me how long a tank will last. I only turned in on slow and low... just enough for 225deg. I've had wood and electric smoker, but this is the best way to go with gas. It's well built and good quality, and a good buy for the money. Enjoy!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LEDTVguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Smoker
7/8/2013

Customer review by Blindhawk

4.0 stars 7/8/2013 by Blindhawk
by Blindhawk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this last week. Put it together in about half hour. Seasoned it on Friday. Smoked with it on Saturday. Smoked a brisket and slab of spare ribs. Had to cut the ribs in half. I didn't want the ribs dripping on the brisket. There is enough room you could cook alot of meat. Maintained the temperature at 225 to 250 no problem. Kept the burner set at just below medium. Had the damper open half way. After opening the door, turned the heat up to high to get back to temperature. This was done only when I turned the meat, added water or wood chips. Had the propane valve open about 1/4 turn. This helped keep the flame low. Saw this somewhere online and it worked great. Took 5 hours for the ribs and 6 for the brisket. Should have gone 6 and 7. Went through one bag of chips. I wanted smoke. Soaked the chips, mesquite, for 1 hr. Smoke lasted about 1 hr each time. No big deal. You don't need smoke all the time. Like I said I wanted smoke. Meat came out great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blindhawk
Tulsa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy It!
10/1/2009

Customer review by pastorphil

5.0 stars 10/1/2009 by pastorphil
by pastorphil

I used various charcoal smokers for 20 years. I will never go back to charcoal. Tons of smoke flavor, easy to control and maintain heat, easy to access meat. No hassle of tending the fire; sleep through the night while the smoker does the work. And propane is soooo much cheaper than charcoal. I paid 150 when Wal-Mart first starting carrying it, and I thought that was a good deal. This has to be the best BBQ value on the market. It could use a fifth rack (available from manufacturer).

Was this review helpful? (128) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pastorphil
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Best Smoker/Cooker I've owned
10/19/2009

Customer review by Beagle2260

5.0 stars 10/19/2009 by Beagle2260
by Beagle2260

I've had this for 4 years. This is the ABSOLUTE best smoker I've used. I've used charcoal and I've tried electric. This smoker is EASY to use and doubles as an outdoor oven. During a power outage, I used it to make X-mas ham. Turned out PERFECT. Cooked the last two Thanksgiving turkeys in this unit. Temperature stays more constant than in my home oven. Racks are easy to access. I purchased the 4th grate and use it to smoke thicker meats on the bottom while thinner ones go on top. Can't go wrong...!!

Was this review helpful? (55) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beagle2260
Lynnwood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Must Buy
8/23/2010

Customer review by JRBSMOKER

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by JRBSMOKER
by JRBSMOKER

If you are looking for an entry level smoker, this unit can't be beat. Just picked up from Walmart Site to Store an set up this weekend. Check your box for damage! Minor sheetmetal dents from shipping, 2minutes, block of wood and a hammer fixed that. Surprisingly well made, although thinner sheet metal, had no problem with assembly, all holes lined up, and all parts, including needed bolts & nuts, were individually packed which was nice. This unit holds temperatures well, from below 200 to above 350, but is affected very much by the wind, so set up in a calm area or make a portable wind break, it will definitely help in maintaining temps that you want. BUY A DRIP PAN! A metal one from the auto parts store set me back $10, but catches all the grease that WILL run out. This is not a giant smoker, it has 4 supplied racks, 12" x 14" with room for 5 total, but you should be able to cook just about anything with some creative stacking. All in all, very pleased with this unit, especially since it is under $100!.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JRBSMOKER
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
Good but not Great
1/18/2012

Customer review by Zendez33

3.0 stars 1/18/2012 by Zendez33
by Zendez33

I will say this is a great little smoker for a beginner, which I am. Works great with chicken, ham, ribs, pork butts ..etc Definitely can brew up some amazing tasting meat. Although as I move on with this smoking hobby, I have concluded this smoker is average at best. My biggest issue is the temperature, without a needle valve or physical modification to the smoker it is difficult to achieve temperatures below 190-200. My initial goal was to make snack sticks and jerky but this unit cannot hold temperatures around 130-140 degrees like I need. The treats end up cooking too fast, which really hurts the flavor and they do not absorb enough smoke. Also I have had 3 welds on the inside randomly break. One that holds the water pan and two which hold the racks. Throw the temperature gauge right out, dont bother installing it, it is off by an average of 40 degrees. Buy a wireless thermometer instead. In order to get the best out of the smoker do the following 1. Buy the a-maze-n smoker 2. Either install 2 additional BBQ Air dampers or install a need valve off your propane tank 3. Buy a wireless thermometer

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zendez33
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good, but not great.
10/12/2011

Customer review by r3krobert

3.0 stars 10/12/2011 by r3krobert
by r3krobert

The poor stuff: 1-Directions could be lots better. Diagrams don't always match product and no recipes or cooking times are given. 2- Welds on two grill holding brackets were broken. 3- Temperature guage not accurate. The good part: 1- Excellent value! 2- Does a good job of smoking (and that's the most important thing). 3- Helpful customer service easy to reach. Suggestions: 1- Always use a meat thermometer. One with a wireless remote saves lots of running in and out of the house. 2- Put a good oven thermometer inside the smoker and compare ts readings with the manufacturer's. Then recalibrate which is an easy job.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
r3krobert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Good, had to buy it a 2nd Time!
10/21/2014

Customer review by BullDaddy

5.0 stars 10/21/2014 by BullDaddy
by BullDaddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second time to buy this same exact model. Bought the first one 7 years ago and it has been a workhorse for all of the smoking that I do. The burner assembly is what finally gave up the ghost from heat and rust. The new one had the parts numbers, so I ordered a replacement burner assembly and re-installed in the old one. Good news is the company has really beefed up the burner assembly with thicker metal parts, so I think I'll get longer life. Now I have two smokers. The separate wood chip box and water pan is better than models that use one combined pan. Wood box goes above burner, but below the water/dip pan so meat juices/fat does not drip on the wood. The water pan is higher above the heat source and does not boil the water way. Comes with 3 removable meat trays and has 4 rack levels. My first smoker is back in business with new burner and I should get many more years of service. Best propane smoker I have used, but price has gone up in the last 7 years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BullDaddy
Enterprise, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Back in the saddle
1/21/2010

Customer review by jwkinney

5.0 stars 1/21/2010 by jwkinney
by jwkinney

My partner and I live and travel in a 38 foot RV trailer. We've carried our old Smoky Mountain propane smoker back and forth across the country until we finally wore it out. I was told that these smokers were no longer manufactured, but was happy to find them online at Walmart! The new smoker is a bit smaller than our old one, but the unitized burner looks to be much more durable against the stresses of travel. I like the new flatter water pan much better than the old. The wood chips box looks a bit less durable, but we'll see. Unlike the older model, the door thermometer actually works properly and is well positioned. The smoker tends to cook a little bit hotter/faster than the old, so I'm still experimenting with temperatures and cooking times. We use the smoker in all types of weather from dry hot summers to cold wet winters. I just smoked a 3 pound pork roast in 18 degree F weather and a dozen BBQ chicken wings in 50 degree F weather. Both finished perfectly. All in all we're very pleased with the change, especially the range of cooking temperatures.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwkinney
Currently Garner NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Everyone should have one
12/30/2009

Customer review by DryRubLover

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by DryRubLover
by DryRubLover

I have had this smoker for over 4 years and have had hours of smoking for fun and profit. I absolutely recommend it especially for someone just starting out. This year we all chipped in and got our Boss one as a company Christmas present. He was speechless! He has it hooked up to a 1000 gallon Binford Propane tank and couldn't wait to start smoking!

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DryRubLover
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Smoker
12/3/2009

Customer review by castoway

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by castoway
by castoway

Great smoker! used it to smoke fish for fish dip, smoked a 19lb turkey at Thanskgiving and heated a spiral ham. All were excellent. My only regret was purchasing this online. I found it in a Walmart store onsale 1 week after I purchased it for $30.00 less than online. I would highly recommend looking in the stores before making a online purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
castoway
Cudjoe Key, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works great
11/26/2009

Customer review by HowdyfromWA

5.0 stars 11/26/2009 by HowdyfromWA
by HowdyfromWA

This smoker exceeded my expectations. I've cooked beef & pork roasts, salmon, ribs, sausages, and lots of other meats. Just tossing in a pack of Johnsonville brats and slow smoking with mesquite & maple chips produces the best sausages! I've used those chips, also apple, alder and hickory. Just use the chips you like, and mix them for more flavor. I use my BBQ much less now, and this smoker is so easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HowdyfromWA
Western Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great smoker
10/26/2012

Customer review by smokey486

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by smokey486
by smokey486

I bought this smoker from Walmart two years ago through ship to store came in 3 days. assembly was very easy and all the parts were there. there was no damage to the unit. had to bend the tab up on the flue to close it more to regulate the heat better. I had a charcoal smoke before and was greatly disappointed with it. I have not been disapointed with this unit at all. I have smoke briskets, hams, ribs and chicken in it and they have come out just great. I was a little disappointed with the smoker box and was looking to get a used cast iron pan that would fit under the water pan but got a smoke daddy cold smoker instead and attached it to the outside now I don't even have to open the door except to add water or mop my meat. But it still is a great little smoke without that attachment. I have to smoke the hams for the family thanksgivings every year since I got the smoker. Also the smoker is in constant use the week of at our yearly deer camp and has preformed well in the cold weather and wind. I say for the money it was a great purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smokey486
Chickasha, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Believe It
11/1/2010

Customer review by suburbabc

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by suburbabc
by suburbabc

The good reviews on this product are completely accurate. A great product for the price. Maintains constant level of heat. Buy a larger smoker box, use chunks and leave it as I have for 4-5 hours without attention. Even using chips last smoked a brisket; to bed at 10pm, up at 2:30am to start smoking, back to bed in 10 minutes, added chips at 6am and 9am, meat was perfectly done at noon. Don't bother with charcoal, too much attention required and propane is cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
suburbabc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews