Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 149 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

149 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

149 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 stars
34
1-20 of 133 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 133 total reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews
Pretty good
11/4/2009

Customer review by FiremanSteve

4.0 stars 11/4/2009 by FiremanSteve
by FiremanSteve

I purchased this product from Walmart about 2 years ago and use it about 2-3 times per month. The best part of this fryer is the capacity, being able to fry a dozen chicken wings at once is a step up from the little mini 1-2L fryers that are on the market. I work in a restaurant and I am used to a capacity of about 5 times what this little guy can do, but unless you have a few grand to invest in a fryer and a huge kitchen, this is probably a pretty good choice for the medium to large family sizes as you will be disappointed with anything smaller. The only bad side is that after a couple years of what I would consider light use, it seemed to quit working on me, hence the reason I am online looking for a new one. I suppose I got my moneys worth though, figuring I probably used it about 50 times, so about a cost of $1 per use. And speaking of cost, another word of advise, when purchasing a fryer consider the cost of oil or shortening as well as teh initial investment as the oil will break down over time and will need to be replaced. This fryer takes about $15 worth of oil to refill whereas your smaller fryers you can get a way with a $5 oil change. Overall, a good choice for cooking for 3 or more people, but go with something smaller if its just 1 or 2 people. Hope this helps you all, happy shopping.

Was this review helpful? (256) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FiremanSteve
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
MAKE SURE YOU READ DIRECTIONS BEFORE RETURNING
2/17/2010

Customer review by LMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

5.0 stars 2/17/2010 by LMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
by LMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

I had 2 of the same problems that people wrote complaints about and returned the fryer. One was the lid would not shut and kept popping up. I noticed I did not put the front element on correctly. The front element assembly has grooves on the back of it that slides into grooves on the front of the fryer which you have to align perfectly for the lid to close and stay closed and I am not referring to the 2 prongs on the bottom on both sides that fit into little round holes. Mine also started frying and then quit and I could not figure out what was going on for a long time. There is a reset button on the back of the front element that had to be reset. Once I figured those things out by reading the directions, it worked perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (114) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
Aurora, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
oster 4L deep fryer
10/23/2009

Customer review by Inthemidwest

5.0 stars 10/23/2009 by Inthemidwest
by Inthemidwest

Great item. Use it all the time. Love the stainless steel look. Fits right under cupboard. Not messy like a regular fryer, less odor, timer. Great for the price.

Was this review helpful? (95) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Inthemidwest
ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product, no complaints
1/18/2011

Customer review by plumsmart

5.0 stars 1/18/2011 by plumsmart
by plumsmart

I have had this deep fryer for 2 yrs. or more. I love it. I haven't had a problem with my lid staying down or any others problems with it. I or my kids use it EVERY DAY! And it still works like new. When cleaning it I have gotten the control knobs wet and it still works just fine. I would recoomend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (79) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
plumsmart
Brunswick, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
READ THE DIRECTIONS!!!
12/19/2010

Customer review by RedSoxGirl44

4.0 stars 12/19/2010 by RedSoxGirl44
by RedSoxGirl44

Ok, I have to admit that I purchased this product without reading reviews...it was just a spur of the moment purchase. I got home and immediately started reading reviews and I thought to myself "What piece of junk did I just buy???" Then I read some more reviews and realized that the product was not defective. It's common sense...read all instructions and make sure you've put the fryer together correctly before saying that it's garbage! My oh-so-lucky, skinny boyfriend has had me make several batches of french fries and onion rings in this fryer, and it works beautifully. I was a bartender for years and the food is just as crispy and delicious as anything I ever made at work. It's the perfect size for the two of us, and it cooks the food incredibly quickly. I have to admit that the handle on the basket is a bit rickety, but certainly not a deal breaker. As with any appliance, just be gentle with it and take care of it. I don't foresee any problems with this fryer. So far we love the results it's produced. To recap: Read all instructions and make sure it's put together properly. Be gentle: Don't horse on it or slam the lid, etc. If you take care of it, you will have a wonderful little fryer that will exceed your expectations! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedSoxGirl44
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
!!the lid stays closed!!
2/17/2010

Customer review by decemberJoy

4.0 stars 2/17/2010 by decemberJoy
by decemberJoy

when i first set it up I was getting mad that the lid didn't stay closed. So I started to read the reviews and found that I had put the control panel on wrong. Once I finally figured out how to put it on correctly the lid gave me no problem. just look at the back of the control panel and slide it on as close as you can and yeah. it works!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
decemberJoy
las vegas, nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Will not get better for price
2/6/2010

Customer review by MidnightBlue1705

5.0 stars 2/6/2010 by MidnightBlue1705
by MidnightBlue1705

For decades I a gourmet cook by hobby have been frying with the pan method with agonizing results. The oil temp. was impossible to regulate even with a digital thermometer. I compared this product to three similar ones; one which had the same capacity, more fry baskets, higher priced and I would have had to wait for delivery (only avail. online). I decided to give this one a shot as it seemed to have the best features of some over twice the cost (carbon and paper filters, sturdy stainless housing, condensation trap, high capacity). I took it home for $50.00 bought some toasted ravioli, egg rolls and 5 lbs of chicken wings. Egg rolls are tough to get perfect but I set the recommended temp. for five min. and flawless results. Light and crisp on the outside without the oily taste as the temp. remains constant. Next the TR same results, bear in mind these were store bought freezer chest delicacies (can't wait to try it on bigger meats and more fresh not processed products. Finally the wings...had to cut my own winglets which were medium sized, I fried 16 in one batch, canola oil $6.95 a gal. at Wally's, seasoned flour with the Hooter's sauce. It took 15 min. as I guessed on the wing size and cooking time. Whooh! As good as my best and if we had a crowd to cook for at 64 wings an hour, well I also have my own set of domesticated Hooter's so now I never have to leave the house? Forget the lid controversy, figure it out when you buy it or you can pay twice for something similar but less for over twice the price or with three baskets you will never use except the large one. As for the size well did you buy a down sized range because you only cook small batches?

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MidnightBlue1705
Festus, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good product with a bad rap
1/24/2010

Customer review by 1taz2

4.0 stars 1/24/2010 by 1taz2
by 1taz2

I've read a lot of bad reviews on this product. Mainly about the lid not staying closed. If people would pay attention when installing the heating element/control they would not have problems with the lid. There are slots that it slides into that keep the control panel tight to the base. If you don't get the the contols panel into the slots you will have problems with the lid not staying closed. I konw this to be fact because I had the same problem until I realized I was doing it wrong. So it was me not the product that was the problem. This product works great.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1taz2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Unit !
8/27/2011

Customer review by obdaved

5.0 stars 8/27/2011 by obdaved
by obdaved

I bought this fryer 2 weeks ago, despite a lot of negative reviews. I can't understand the issues they described, unless they got a lemon? This fryer is GREAT! I have used it almost daily, for everything including fries, fish fillets, pork, chicken, and even burgers. I just cleaned it for the first time in 2 weeks and it was very easy. The only drawback could be the magnetic power cord connection, but no big deal, since you should not be moving it once you start frying.....Overall Great Unit!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
obdaved
Alexandria,LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Fryer
4/24/2011

Customer review by mvfc14

4.0 stars 4/24/2011 by mvfc14
by mvfc14

I've found this fryer to be a good product. Many of the other fryers I looked at did not seem to be as durable as this one. I've read some of the reviews about the filters and this concerns me a bit but I've had none of the problems that some have had. Maybe those particular fryers were defective? No lid problems, no basket problems, no anything problems. It was also the biggest fryer I found without buying a huge commercial fryer. I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mvfc14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Design flaw
6/26/2010

Customer review by PoppaJohn

1.0 stars 6/26/2010 by PoppaJohn
by PoppaJohn

The size is great, no problem with the lid or the cord, cooks nicely, BUT, someone was not thinking when they designed it. The lid closes on the outside of the oil pan instead of sitting down inside. Oil splatters up all over the inside of the lid and runs down. The large lip around the oil bin collects the oil which runs all down inside. I had to replace our worn out 4 qt GE which i loved, (made exclusively for Walmart). It was easy to clean and did not collect oil around the top and run down the sides, but it is no longer available. I just really don't like using the Oster at all due to all the clean up of the counter, heating element and the housing every time it's used. You should be able to just wipe the housing, empty and strain the oil and clean the oil pan after use. Maybe if you didn't close the lid, as directed, this wouldn't be a problem, but they say it's not safe to do that. I don't use this fryer as much as I would like because of all the mess it makes. It could have been designed better. Mrs. PoppaJohn

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PoppaJohn
Huntington Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Bad Engineering
10/21/2009

Customer review by OwenM

3.0 stars 10/21/2009 by OwenM
by OwenM

I was really excited to buy a 4.0L deep fryer. It has all the functionality needed and looks great! Easy to put together and take apart. The insert for the oil is non-stick and very easy to clean. I used it once and was disappointed because the instructions say to be sure you close the lid before you let the basket with food become immersed in the oil. But the lid wouldn't stay closed no matter what I did. I ended up using a couple of tuna cans to hold it down. Upon examination, the so-called latch mechanism was only a thin piece of plastic. Bad engineering and real cheap too. So I had to clean it up and return it. Too bad. I looked at the display and found it to be the same. As long as the unit is not hot everything is okay - latch works fine.

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OwenM
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Piece of junk
11/13/2009

Customer review by WisconsinMama4

1.0 stars 11/13/2009 by WisconsinMama4
by WisconsinMama4

Purchased this and used (or tried to) the same evening. The unit showed it was heating and ready, but the oil never got hot, just slightly warm. Took everything apart and re-assembled. During installation, it was difficult to get the control panel to go in straight. After an hour of fussing with a hungry family waiting, I gave up and dumped the oil into a fry pan and did it on the stove. Another annoying thing is the super-short electric cord which breaks away if you only slightly adjust the position of the fryer. I do a lot of baking and cooking and this is the worst kitchen appliance I've ever used.

Was this review helpful? (23) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WisconsinMama4
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
WOW ! Right Out of the Box !!
4/21/2011

Customer review by Dave97

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by Dave97
by Dave97

Purchased this deep fryer 2 weeks ago, right out of the box after a short cleaning made some of the best fried chicken ive ever had. Last night made fried Pork Chops, have a friend that doesn't even like Pork Chops but he ate 3 and was looking for more. Quick heating, like the top for no spatter, the timer works great...could go on and on...well worth the money. Have an oven glove to hold the lid down when you open it and when cooking NEVER just push the lid open button, I just wish it had a way to filter the oil but what the heck its all dishwasher safe.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dave97
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Element controls fused to main unit
3/12/2012

Customer review by JR97321

1.0 stars 3/12/2012 by JR97321
by JR97321

I've had this fryer for 2 weeks. I'm really glad I paid the extra $3 for insurance because the controls are now fused to the main unit. The unit now cannot be taken apart for cleaning. I will be returning this today, hopefully for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JR97321
Albany, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love My Fryer!
3/13/2011

Customer review by mom805

5.0 stars 3/13/2011 by mom805
by mom805

First, I was looking for a fryer to do chicken wings, that wasn't too small, easy to clean and of course economical in cost. I found it in this fryer. I was totally amazed when I made my first batch. The wings were delicious, crispy and came out consistently great. I love having the timer and being able to close the lid before lowering food into the oil. I was also pleased with being able to fold down the handle while the food cooks; less chance of someone accidentally bumping into it. Cleanup wasn't so hard; I like being able to take apart the fryer and getting everything cleaned. The only thing that took a little getting used to was the magnetic power cord. I understand the safety issue with killing the power on the fryer; I learned how to position it just right and lining the power cord just so to stay connected. Overall, I am quite satisfied with my purchase of this fryer and would recommend it to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom805
Oxnard, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
12/14/2009

Customer review by rerie877

5.0 stars 12/14/2009 by rerie877
by rerie877

I bought this fryer over a year ago and it is still cooking at its best: i can fry up to 12-13 wingettes at a time, two large chicken breat even a whole snapper among other thing this is just a few examples. it is great for all your frying needs. easy to clean up. The fryer is a pretty large on so it uses a lot of oil. If i fry chicken i can use that oil at least two other times i just store it in an air tight container. Only if i fry chicken though. Its a a great investment. hope this helps. I go on reviews too when i shop on line. :)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rerie877
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
this is a piece of junk!
10/8/2012

Customer review by statsman58

1.0 stars 10/8/2012 by statsman58
by statsman58

I read all these reviews and bought this item. After it arrived, I tried to fry some fish but this piece of junk will not heat over 200 degrees!!! what a waste of time & money! I am returning it tomorrow!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
statsman58
Berthoud, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
DO NOT BUY THIS !!!!
12/13/2009

Customer review by ftirwinarmywife

1.0 stars 12/13/2009 by ftirwinarmywife
by ftirwinarmywife

READ THE OTHER REVIEWS.. poorly constructed..the lid will pop open at any time during cooking. The lip holding the down is not big enough. I wish that I had not even picked this fryer. I picked it only on oster's other products and how good they had performed. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS !!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ftirwinarmywife
BARSTOW
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
AWFUL
1/4/2010

Customer review by flmom4

1.0 stars 1/4/2010 by flmom4
by flmom4

This particular fryer is the worst one I have EVER bought. It is true that the lid wont stay shut while cooking. The appearance is about the only thing decent about this. It is not durable at all either. After time it leaks oil from where the silver connects to the black plastic at the bottom. Just to cut it short its an awful product and I wouldnt buy or recommend.

Was this review helpful? (10) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flmom4
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 133 total reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews