Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

66 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

66 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
28
1-20 of 61 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Died after 2 hours
1/5/2012

Customer review by bhcdj1

1.0 stars 1/5/2012 by bhcdj1
by bhcdj1

My wife bought this dehydrator for me for Christmas. I was all ready to make some beef jerky. Prepared the meat, put it in the dehydrator and ran it for 2 hours until it shut off by itself. The power wswitch was still lit. I tried unplugging it and replugging it in. It never came back on. I went online to check out reviews for it on several sites. They were all poor with the same problem that I had and a lot of them had the same problem with multiple replacements. I contacted the OOster/Jarden Company and was informed that they would replace it for me if they had one and to try back in 4-6 weeks and see if they are have them at that time. They said that they are usually dependable products despite all the poor reviews online. I bought a Nesco FD-75PR 700-Watt Food Dehydrator from Amazon for about $10 more than the Oster and recieved a far superior dehydrator that works absolutely perfect. I would not buy another Oster product ever again and would certainly never recommend them to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bhcdj1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
This Thing Works Great
11/16/2009

Customer review by Texas87

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by Texas87
by Texas87

I just purchased this Dehydrator 2 days ago and Tonight I just did my first batch of jerky after letting it marinade for 24 hours.. I started it tonight at 6:30 p.m. and as of 12:45 pm they were completely finished... and they are EXCELLENT!!.. I was a little afriad of buying this because there have been no reviews I could find anywhere and because theres SO many other dehydrators out there that cost way more & made me wander if this was a cheap buy I would regret.... I'll tell you this thing is great It met my expectations 100% And I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who doesn't have alot to spend on a Dehydrator but would love to get one You will not regret it!!. In the next few days I will be doing dried fruit CAN'T WAIT!!

Was this review helpful? (145) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Texas87
Mineral Wells, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Buy!
5/10/2010

Customer review by sluv

5.0 stars 5/10/2010 by sluv
by sluv

Excellent dehydrator for the price! I've done jerky and all sorts of fruits and I am very happy. Wasn't too sure it would be good since it was so cheap, but I have been pleasantly surprised. Cleans up very easily and is very simple to use. I would like a Hi-Lo setting, and I feel that's the only disadvantage, that there is only ON or OFF. Strong fan and puts out quite a bit of heat that really dries the food. I would HIGHLY recommend this dehydrator to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sluv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Run away fast
2/28/2012

Customer review by ReviewerKY

1.0 stars 2/28/2012 by ReviewerKY
by ReviewerKY

Used this to make deer jerky for the first time. Worked great the one time that I used it. That was over a year ago. Warranty says up to 1 year too by the way. Just got it out earlier tonight after cutting up a ton of apples, including peeling them, and some carrots that I was going to try and nothing. The power light came on but that was it. This was only the second time that the machine had been turned on. My advice is if your thinking about it run away now. The good reviews also appear to be from people that have not had this machine that long either. My guess is that their feelings may change like mine have. I read some reviews that were mixed at the time and decided to try this one. Wished I had not. Most expensive jerky that I've ever eaten. At least I've got a new target to practice with.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReviewerKY
KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Great product for the price
11/28/2009

Customer review by rnforeveryoung

5.0 stars 11/28/2009 by rnforeveryoung
by rnforeveryoung

I purchased the dehydrator at the store and so far have only dehydrated cilantro, but it dried it in just a few hours. It gets warm and the fan is pretty strong. I think this is a great product for the price and I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rnforeveryoung
Choctaw, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Buying two as Christmas gifts
10/22/2010

Customer review by Sara256

5.0 stars 10/22/2010 by Sara256
by Sara256

We had been looking for a new dehydrator and with all of the fancy, expensive ones out there I was a bit nervous when my husband brought this one home one day from our local Wal-Mart. We had an old dehydrator and it took forever to make beef jerky (plus it was a nightmare to clean) so I was skeptical about this one. But as it turned out I had nothing to worry about because this truly is a great dehydrator! I've had it now for a few months and we've made several batches of beef jerky as well as dried apples. It's fast, quiet, and blends in nicely sitting on the kitchen countertop. It cleans up well and so far has proven itself to be durable. Case in point, I dropped two of the trays on the floor, we don't have tile but vinyl flooring so.... but they didn't break, didn't chip.... no problems. I like this dehydrator so much and my husband loves the beef jerky it makes so much (the dogs and I enjoy the dried apple as snacks) that we've decided to buy two as Christmas gifts this year for the beef jerky lovers in our families.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sara256
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great for Jerkey!
12/11/2009

Customer review by GumbyandRed

5.0 stars 12/11/2009 by GumbyandRed
by GumbyandRed

This is a great dehydrator. I've been making jerkey using my stove for a few months and I decided it was time to try a dehydrator. It gets the meat dried out quickly (takes 8 hrs for a batch) and gets it done evenly. Afterwards clean up is easy too. It's the right size and doesn't cost you much either, great pick!

Was this review helpful? (52) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GumbyandRed
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
WORTHLESS
3/8/2010

Customer review by MeganTheVegan

1.0 stars 3/8/2010 by MeganTheVegan
by MeganTheVegan

This product was purchased for me as a last resort after searching my city for a dehydrator. Well, it worked great for about 48 hours. Around the 48 hour mark, it shut off in the middle of making a fruit leather. Thinking that perhaps the fan had simply over-heated, I just the system off overnight. Upon waking up, I tried to turn it on once again and still nothing. Searching the internet for a solution, I have found multiple reviews on this product and other people having the same problem. Had I know, I wouldn't have bothered. Also, you have no way of knowing the temperature that the dehydrator is heating your food to, since the booklet and the product site do not tell you. NOT RECOMMENDED FOR SOMEONE WITH A RAW DIET. You have no idea what temperature you are heating your food to, but I can guarantee it is above 104 degrees.

Was this review helpful? (23) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MeganTheVegan
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It does it's job and dehydrates
6/23/2013

Customer review by crickets

4.0 stars 6/23/2013 by crickets
by crickets

It does it's job and dehydrates food,, have used it a lot have owned it going on 2yrs now. During garden season it barely gets to turn off always dehydrated something, and in the fall use it to make jerky. So has gotten a lot of use and it works great. Only downside I have had is it doesn't have a temp setting , just one switch on it on and off so if you have to dehydrate something on a certain temp you just have to figure out if it needs to be on a bottom tray for higher heat or on top tray for lower heat. I usually have to rotate items through out the dehydrating process to make sure that the bottom tray doesn't get over done. Wish walmart sold extra trays for these or the fruit trays for them have had trouble located those. If I new it was going to get so much use I might of spent a little extra money and found one with more heat settings and one that was easier to get addition trays and fruit leather trays,, but all in all it has done it's job and I am pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crickets
moberly,mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
totally awsome
9/4/2010

Customer review by vixenkitsune

5.0 stars 9/4/2010 by vixenkitsune
by vixenkitsune

ok never before have i ever used a dehydrator or ever made jerky even though i love jerky but because of how hard it is to find soft chewy jerky anymore and the prices i figured what the heck. so went to my fairly local walmart and was surprised to see this one on clearance which was awesome. so i grabbed this and the Oster beef jerky kit which was sitting next to it which comes with the gun and 5 spice packets and 3 tips. brought it all home cleaned everything by hand and let it air dry since i don't have a dish washer. i defrosted 2 lbs. ground beef 80/20. after defrosted i mixed two of the packets of seasoning and mixed it in with the meat. thanks to a friend who makes jerky all the time i knew to spray the trays with cooking spray. i used the long wide tip on the gun and filled all of the trays making sure to leave space between everything then loaded up the machine and put the lid on and turned it on. every half hour i blotted the meat and put the top tray to the bottom. i started the meat at 8:15 am and by 1:15 pm the meat was perfect for me since i like soft and chewy. so pulled the mean off and layed on paper towels and then covered with paper towels and let sit for over an hour. all i can say is i have never had such awesome jerky though next time im gonna make the 2 lbs meat with only one spice packet since it is a bit spicy fo my taste but still so moist and chewy. even after reading all the reviews on this product i still tried it out and i am very pleased with it. anyone who is like me and never done this kinda stuff should give it a try its so easy but god the smell i was craving my jerky all the time it was cooking. the dog was going nuts lol.

Was this review helpful? (56) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vixenkitsune
sisseton, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cheap
11/28/2010

Customer review by Cakmakli

1.0 stars 11/28/2010 by Cakmakli
by Cakmakli

I have had two of these. The first one worked two times and then it stopped working. No heat and no fan. The only thing that worked was the light on the on/off switch. Took it back and replaced it with a new one. Came home, cut the meat and placed it in the trays. Turned on the dehydrator and it worked...for 15 minutes. Save your money because it isn't worth the box that it came in.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cakmakli
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Motor stopped after 4 uses and 40 days
3/3/2011

Customer review by quietthemindhealthebody

1.0 stars 3/3/2011 by quietthemindhealthebody
by quietthemindhealthebody

I had high hopes for a dehydrator that wouldn't be too expensive. I am making dog treats using sweet potatoes only and half cooking them before dehydrating. During my 4th time using, the motor no longer worked. I also think it takes up too much counter room - it's just too wide. Oster has always been a good solid brand and maybe I got a lemon but very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quietthemindhealthebody
Alameda, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
One more who has had two of these fail in minutes
5/30/2011

Customer review by TomThinks

1.0 stars 5/30/2011 by TomThinks
by TomThinks

I purchased this item yesterday, got it home put in a couple of ounces meat for jerky as "test run" as I had never used a dehydrator before. It worked for about five minutes then failed. I returned it for another one. I would have bought a different brand but it was the only available to take home at that time and I was impatient. Well that one failed in about five minutes. Only then (stupidly) did I read some reviews in detail and see that there were a couple of others reporting quick double failures and more reporting quick failures. A quick scan seems to show most 2011 reviews reporting failure. I mention this because I am at a loss to explain how this product could ever get a review that isn't bad considering my experience with it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomThinks
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good value for the money
4/7/2012

Customer review by tracyh926

4.0 stars 4/7/2012 by tracyh926
by tracyh926

This dehydrator works great for the money! These people probably didn't realize that a dehydrator cycles and yes, it does turn off after a little while, but it will turn back on. it cycles!! The only thing i wish it has was flat trays for fruit rolls ups and a temperature gauge (that you could change), but for around $40 you can't complain.. Worth the money when you don't want to spend over $150!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tracyh926
germantown, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great for Dog Treats!!
1/18/2010

Customer review by Gordonfox24

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by Gordonfox24
by Gordonfox24

I recently purchased this product because I wanted to make healthy treats for my dogs. I made chicken wrapped apples, bananas, sweet potatoes, carrots ...etc and my dogs LOVED them all!! The machine worked fantastic and has already paid for itself for how much I was paying for organic dog treats I can now make at home!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gordonfox24
Red Wing, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
there is def a problem with these things
12/20/2011

Customer review by sallieanne

1.0 stars 12/20/2011 by sallieanne
by sallieanne

Brought it home. Prepared my not so cheap beef for jerky and got started. Before I new it the fan stopped blowing. I changed outlets, and unplugged for a few min and it started again. For about 5 min. Not sure if this was normal I started calling customer service. Closed. I left it on and it worked again for about 5 min then stopped I continued to leave it on and shortly the fan began working again....so far its still working but while trying to see if it was "normal" I came across the reviews on this site and it seems to be a very common problem. I am shocked at how many people bought more than one and had the exact same problem. I will be taking it back and finding a dif model/brand somewhere else since its the only one walmart had. Hopefully I will get this batch of jerky done. Bummed!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sallieanne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Everyone must ask for one for Christmas
11/20/2010

Customer review by Wvnavyvet

5.0 stars 11/20/2010 by Wvnavyvet
by Wvnavyvet

Well I got the dehydrator today (11-19-10), after getting it home and started my deer jerky that has been marinating for the last 2 days my house started to smell good and the jerky is getting done pretty quick too. I would like to let everyone know that if they are interested in making jerky this is the best one to get. it might look cheaop due to the low cost but it makes up for it in the quality of jerky it holds on the trays. Get it while supplies last. Trust a US Navy Veteran who knows a few things about quality equipment.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wvnavyvet
Charleston, Wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
stopped working
4/1/2011

Customer review by tiger69

1.0 stars 4/1/2011 by tiger69
by tiger69

Used it once and it stop working befor it was finished! Now all that food will go bad, very upset. Do mot buy this item waste of money and time.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tiger69
Brandenburg, Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Cheap Piece of Junk, Move On!
11/9/2011

Customer review by DoubleVibro

1.0 stars 11/9/2011 by DoubleVibro
by DoubleVibro

Sometimes being the eternal optimist really bites you in the butt. I read all the reviews, and they all said the same: quickly breaks if it works at all. I should have listened. This was the only food dehydrator our Walmarts carry. They used to carry Nesco, but not anymore. I bought this one, hoping that by now all the kinks would be worked out. They're not. I put in a couple pounds of beef for jerky and turned it on. Everything ran ok for at least the first couple of hours. The fan was running nice and loud (and I do mean loud), and the temperature was good and hot. I left it for a little while to do some shopping, and when I came home, the fan had shut off, and the temperature wasn't as hot. I turned it off then back on, and the fan started again, but at this point, I do not trust it. It is going back to the store from whence it came.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoubleVibro
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
excellent product
1/22/2011

Customer review by emerald86

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by emerald86
by emerald86

a little bit pricey but worth every penny. I am making Asian pickle that requires dry vegetable. I used to dry my vegetables by the sun. Every since i use this product, my dehydrated vegetables take more than half of the time to finish. The vegetables only take 2 hours to dehydrate. But the time also depends on how thick you slice the fruits and vegetable. Great product, healthy, and delicious.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emerald86
Lawrenceville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews