Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 268 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

268 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

268 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
175
4 stars
53
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 stars
21
1-20 of 241 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 241 total reviews
1-20 of 241 reviews
Unbelievable - Doesn't break!
2/1/2017

Customer review by HeidiP

5.0 stars 2/1/2017 by HeidiP
by HeidiP

We've had this bread machine for about 5 years now and it has been awesome. I can cook and bake all day long but never had any luck with bread. This has changed everything. I even bought one for my Dad for Christmas and now he's making bread for all my cousins :) Lastly, I taught my husband how to use it and he's been making bread so it's ready when I get home from work. He texted me today and said he was in the office and heard a crash and came barreling out to see what had happened. The machine was on the floor, turned on its side and still mixing away! He unplugged it, picked it up and put the lid back on, and turned it back on. It was just far enough along that it was already doughy and didn't run all over the place. It went through the cycle and finished up and gave us one of the most perfectly shaped loaves of Black Russian bread we've ever had. When I got home it was done, and we took out the bread. I turned the machine over and inspected ever corner, side, nook and cranny. No cracks, nothing chipped or broken. I am amazed! Still running on its side on the floor. It just doesn't get any better than that! Only question I have about it is, why does it walk so much on the counter? LOVE THIS MACHINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

HeidiP
Efland, NC, United States
Gender:Female
Brand new machine with broken temperatures sensor
2/5/2017

Customer review by Valerie from Seattle

1.0 stars 2/5/2017 by Valerie from Seattle
by Valerie from Seattle

I bought one yesterday and tried to use it for the first time. After studying the instructions, cleaning it and putting in all ingredients, all it does is to beep and show "EEE" on the instruction panel. The manual says it has a broken temperature sensor. All the work has been wasted. had to spend an hour on phone with the store to figure what they can - of course nothing much.

Valerie from Seattle
Seattle, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
It makes some breads very well and others not.
11/18/2016

Customer review by Monty W

3.0 stars 11/18/2016 by Monty W
by Monty W

I bought this 10 months ago as we moved and found local supermarket bread awful or expensive. My wife buys 2 different types of bread mix, never properly read the Oster instruction book (e.g. never changed the loaf size from the default 2 lb even though she makes only 1 lb breads) and gets perfect results. She makes two whole wheat breads per week. I've just started using it myself with other bread mixes, and a recipe from the Oster instruction book and cannot get good results. A crusty white bread mix came out dense, doughy and pale (basic - menu 1, 1 lb and dark crust). A whole wheat mix from the same supplier came out a little better but still dense, cake-like and pale (whole wheat setting - menu 3, 1 lb and dark crust). The Oster recipe I tried was far too sweet (100% Whole Wheat Bread). Strike 3. Also, why is it not possible to pause the program? If I want to re-position the dough I'd like to reach in and don't want the kneading blade turning. I suppose I could simply unplug the device and as long as I plugged it in again within the 6 minutes of memory it should re-start at the same point.

Monty W
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Making Bread Is One of the Few Pleasures in Life
1/31/2016

Customer review by cheshkat

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by cheshkat
by cheshkat

I have another Oster bread machine (1.5) I got used. I've had other bread machines in the past couple decades. I decided I really needed a 2lb bread machine as I really like bread and couldn't get used to the smaller loaf sizes. First recipe I decided to tackle is the coffee cake recipe. I put off making bread in this machine because I always alter recipes - and it is important to stick to the recipe when trying out a new machine. However, I just couldn't resist making a few alterations. Ten baked the dough in a 12 inch cast iron pan. This was the best coffee bread I have ever tasted because it was very light and fluffy and not too sweet. I had to email several friends with a photo of the results. Next time I'll use my DSLR but I was too anxious to taste it. If all my recipes come out this well, I shall be very very happy with this bread machine purchase. Like my other machines, I will of course keep an eye on how my dough ball forms, when using the baking modes. But if this is a prelude of what is to come, well, bon appétit! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

cheshkat
NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Okay entry level bread maker. Not durable
12/19/2016

Customer review by CindyJ

3.0 stars 12/19/2016 by CindyJ
by CindyJ

The machine does make okay bread. But the dough was not completely uniform. The final bread was not nearly as nice as those made by the higher end bread makers. Most importantly, after <3 years and maybe 60 uses, the pan starts to leak grease into the dough. Now I know I will use it often, I'll definitely invest in a better unit rather than this one again. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

CindyJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Bad Whole Wheat Recipe
4/10/2016

Customer review by Rsolpugid

1.0 stars 4/10/2016 by Rsolpugid
by Rsolpugid

I have had four or five bread machines over the years, and this one is by far the worst. I only use the 100% whole wheat recipe, and it is barely edible. Compared to the other machines I've used, the Oster bread is gummy, heavy, and yeasty and extremely hard to cut (I have a very high quality bread knife). The recipe calls for more than a full teaspoon of yeast over the other machines I've used and it adversely affects the taste. I prefer a 1 1/2 pound loaf, and although the machine has a setting for that size, the whole wheat recipe only comes in two pounds. I tried to convert it, but only ended up with a goopy mess that I had to throw out. The entire cycle is 20 minutes shorter than my last machine and the loaves do seem very under-cooked. I have to wonder whether anyone at Oster even tasted the final product.

Rsolpugid
Behind the Water Pipes
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Misleading item description....
1/20/2015

Customer review by Jen733

1.0 stars 1/20/2015 by Jen733
by Jen733

I just bought this, got it out of the box, read through the instruction booklet to find information about the gluten free setting (which is stated in the item description...) and found that this has no gluten free setting. I bought this for that one purpose only -- needing a gluten free setting; researched, found that this was the cheapest one out there (and yes, I need cheap considering I had to completely eliminate gluten from my kitchen, resulting in throwing out of a lot of dishes, untensils, appliances, etc..) only to find that this was not a true item description. Please, please, please, do not put out false information for your customers. Now I will go box up this thing, take it back to the store, wait for the refund to be loaded back to my debit card and search again for another breadmaker with a TRUE gluten free setting. Very disappointed.

Jen733
Lubbock, TX, United States
Gender:Female
very happy with this machine.
7/26/2016

Customer review by JaxRenegade

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by JaxRenegade
by JaxRenegade

i love this machine. i have had it 5 years now and it still works as well as it did the first day i bought it. i make at least three loaves a week with it. although it says it is a 2lb machine, i have found that the larger loaves do not come out as good as the 1lb loaves do. but as a single person, that is just fine. i have also found out that not all recipes will work. no matter how careful you are about measuring ingredients and such, they just will not work. so, don't be discouraged if one does not turn out. all in al this is a fantastic machine and i recommend it to anyone. when it needs replacing, i will replace it with the same model. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

JaxRenegade
Jacksonville, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great value
10/1/2014

Customer review by Ann C

4.0 stars 10/1/2014 by Ann C
by Ann C

I've had the machine for about a month. My husband and I are enjoying it so much! The only reason it doesn't get five stars is the fact that it doesn't stir the ingredients adequately in more complicated recipes. However, since the sourdough is our favorite, and it comes out perfectly every time, it's not really an issue. I would like to suggest that instead of adding active dry yeast for the sourdough, a loftier and crunchier top crust is achieved with quick-rising yeast. And I've substituted powdered buttermilk for powdered sweet milk in all of the recipes, because that's what I have on hand, and it works, and tastes great. I would like to know if it's possible to buy a replacement baking pan and stirring blade for this machine, since I'm sure eventually the Teflon will wear off? Thanks for a very good product at a reasonable price!

Ann C
Muskogee, OK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
awesome bread maker!
8/20/2016

Customer review by Big daddy

5.0 stars 8/20/2016 by Big daddy
by Big daddy

At 51 yrs old I bought my 1st bread maker. As a man that enjoys cooking and baking, I wanted to expand my horizons. I was very impressed with how easy it was to make a loaf of bread. I turned right around and ordered one for my parents. My mom pays alot of money for gluten free bread for my dad. Now, she can make it cheaper, better quality and larger slices for him. love, love love this machine! I cant wait t learn what else I can make with it...... [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Big daddy
Scottsboro, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Always Collapsing.
7/29/2016

Customer review by Cabinkat

1.0 stars 7/29/2016 by Cabinkat
by Cabinkat

My boyfriend bought me this bread machine for Christmas & I was so excited since my old one of many many years finally bit the dust. I live high elevation, but that didn't effect the old machine so I thought this one would do as well. Not one loaf of bread, from the book, online recipes, etc. have came out without collapsing. I had tried everything, including adjustments for elevation. I am so disappointed that I'm ready to give this to charity.

Cabinkat
Sugar Mountain, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Easy to use
8/8/2016

Customer review by NickiR

5.0 stars 8/8/2016 by NickiR
by NickiR

I've had my bread maker for about 2 years and absolutely love it. It's the first I've owned. I was a bit intimidated because I had horrible experiences making bread in the past. With the Oster, the majority of my breads come out perfect. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

NickiR
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Oster Express 2-lb loaf Bread Maker
11/12/2014

Customer review by Lore

5.0 stars 11/12/2014 by Lore
by Lore

I never write reviews, but this is a MUST. I Purchased this bread maker Oct 11, 2014. WOW...... what a product... I have been baking bread for 57 yrs. Have had 3 bread makers and always just use the dough setting and do the rest by hand. They baked poor bread. Not so with this product. I followed the directions to a "T" and have the hottest, most delicious bread I have ever eaten(well not quite as good as my moms) I researched on line everywhere and read all the different reviews of all kinds of bread makers and this one fit my family the BEST. I then went on line looking for it and found it in several different stores, all different prices. I decided on Walmart... But had to go around to 3 different walmarts before I found one. Shame on Walmart. I purchased it for $69.00 . Then learned I could have purchased it for $62.10 on Walmarts internet site delivered to the store... Could have saved $6.00. Now I am on OSTER web site and its only $59.00..Another $10 saving.. Oh well I'll learn. I cannot say enough about this little bread maker, its compact, has wonderful instructions, quality is better then some of the most expensive ones,all kinds of different bread recipes and its JUST PLAIN FABULOUS. Run and purchase yours today.....

Lore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Just like Grandmas kitchen
2/23/2016

Customer review by Auntie Dee

5.0 stars 2/23/2016 by Auntie Dee
by Auntie Dee

Bread is getting so expensive I decided to make my own, best decision I could have made. This machine is awesome I made a brioche bread from a recipe for the oven and OMG the first time out it was perfect, I thought a loaf would last a few days like the store bread not so, it was gone in 4 hours and I mean we're talking huge pieces of bread. Best bread I've had since my Grandma who was born in 1896 made us bread as kids and her kitchen smelled like a great big hug. So thanks Oster when my grandkids smell the bread they can feel the hug I'm giving them with fresh baked bread. Plus it's therapeutic (LOL). You're. Gonna have fun and no I don't work for Oster. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Auntie Dee
Lancaster, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good product
11/22/2015

Customer review by Tony88

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Tony88
by Tony88

Bought one of these in 2007 and I'm still using it today (literally, got a loaf of Italian Herb bread going as I write this to go with a crock pot of beef vegi soup). Only problems I have ever had with this was my own doing. Not getting ingredient measurements right, not checking freshness of ingredients (or proper temp of water and or milk) and not watching the dough during 2nd kneading to check if too wet or dry. Good manual, with lots of info and plenty of recipes to get you started. Machine is easy to use and clean up. Controls/display easy to understand once you read through the manual and mess with it a little bit. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Tony88
Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Imagine my surprise
2/8/2016

Customer review by Schulace

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Schulace
by Schulace

After my three sons went off to see the world, I wanted a smaller bread maker and this is the one I chose. I have never been sorry. It turns out delicious bread and is very easy to use. Clean up is no problem but imagine my surprise when I found out it would make jam too. If you have ever made jam and had to stir forever, you will appreciate that this bread maker does it for you. Just add the fruit, pectin and sugar and off you go. Homemade jam to go on your homemade bread. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Schulace
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Wonderful Bread Maker
6/19/2015

Customer review by Photosister

5.0 stars 6/19/2015 by Photosister
by Photosister

I have used many bread machines over the years ,but this one is the best .It is very simple to use ,the manual was by far the best of any I have ever read ,directions were easy to read and understand .The booklet has some great recipes ,another plus is the manual tells you exactly what is happing thru each stage of the bread making .It literally counts in minutes the stage it goes thru .I had planed on buying the machine for my self ,but my husbands aunt gave it to me as a gift ..I bragged on it so much that today she bought one for her self..it you. Are looking for a great bread maker this is the one ..

Photosister
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Disappointed!!!!!!
6/26/2014

Customer review by Dylan

1.0 stars 6/26/2014 by Dylan
by Dylan

I have had several bread machines over the years of different brands and as I have owned an Oster liquidiser for years without any problems I decided to buy one of your bread machines. However I am very disappointed in this Oster machine it would seem the bread is not cooking for long enough as the bread is still very pale even when I have it on the dark setting and comes out very soft and not nice and crusty. I have compared the cooking time with my previous machines and it seems the bread needs to cook for at least another 15-20minutes.

Dylan
British Virgin Islands
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great for the price
9/29/2014

Customer review by Bigmommabird

4.0 stars 9/29/2014 by Bigmommabird
by Bigmommabird

I've had my Oster breadmaker for about 9 months now and in general, it works quite well. I use it several times a week and love the bread I make. The only negatives are that occasionally it does not stir the dough completely and I'll get small crunchy patches on the outside of the loaf that pull off. Also, I was disappointed that there were only two recipes in the manual for the Express Bake setting, and none for the Quick setting. On the whole, though, I'm quite satisfied and would definitely buy another if this one gave out.

Bigmommabird
Manson, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Perfect Every Time
10/15/2014

Customer review by Doodie

5.0 stars 10/15/2014 by Doodie
by Doodie

Over the past six weeks since receiving this marvelous little machine, I have made more than one batch of bagels and pita as well several variations of rye and whole wheat bread. All have turned out perfectively. I can't believe how easy it has been to make my own bread. I just ordered one for my daughter. I bought this so as to have 100% whole grain bread with no added questionable ingredients. I use recipes from "Smart Bread Machine Recipes" by Sandra L. Woodruff which I highlyt recommend.

Doodie
Naples, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 241 total reviews
1-20 of 241 reviews