Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

14 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

14 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-14 of 14 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Product !!!!
11/15/2009

Customer review by SRCbarnum

5.0 stars 11/15/2009 by SRCbarnum
by SRCbarnum

I purchased this humidifier 3 weeks ago, and I think it’s great. It’s quiet and works great for a whole house humidifier. The one review I read said that they had to replace the filter once a week. I think they were confused because when the humidifier is not running the meter will point to change filter, but when you run the humidifier in just a few minutes the meter will point to good filter. So you don’t have to change the filter every week. As I stated I have had this Humidifier for 3 weeks and the meter is pointing to the GOOD mark as if it was new. Also the Sales person at Wal-mart said all you need to do is clean the filter in CLR cleaner and re-use the filter.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SRCbarnum
Barnum, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than advertised
1/29/2010

Customer review by SmartGeema

5.0 stars 1/29/2010 by SmartGeema
by SmartGeema

After several hours of on-line research about humidifiers with the capacity to correct the dry winter air problem in my 2500 SF home in Oklahoma, I finally settled on this one. I have not been disappointed - in fact, I've been pleasantly surprised with the overall effectiveness and ease of operation of this unit. I objected a bit to the price upon ordering, but I now say this humidifier is very good value for the money. It truly does the job it needs to do. Noise was a big consideration for me, and this one is whisper quiet. It sits less than 8 feet from my TV-watching chair, and unless I focus on hearing it with the TV muted, the sound factor is not at all noticeable. Even when "hearing" it, the sound is like a steady, very low whisper - excellent noise rating. Because the house air was super dry (hair-standing-out-when-walking-across-carpet-in-sock-feet-dry!) when I first connected the unit, it ran nearly continuously on the A2 (automatic) setting for 24 hours, and it required refilling (both reservoirs) at about the 18 hour point for 3 days. Once the desired 45% humidity level was reached, however, the unit has run very little and refills have been no hassle. I just check both reservoirs every morning and if one is low, I top it off. It did run completely dry once during the initial re-humidifying period, and the unit shut off just as the instruction book stated it would. The difference in the overall comfort "feel" once the relative humidity was raised, and the feeling of being warmer has been remarkable. Even though outside temperatures have remained in the low-mid 30's since activating the humidifier 3 weeks ago, both forced-air furnaces have been running much less as well. After 3 weeks of continuous use at A2, I finally got a "clean filter" message. I simply took the filter to the tub, rinsed it thoroughly with warm running water and allowed it to "drip dry" - then replaced it in the unit. I see no signs of any growth or build-up anywhere in the reservoirs or in the bottom of the unit, but of course it has been set to operate continuously in A2 (only comes on when needed)mode since day one. If I were to turn it off completely for more than 48 hours, I would empty the water from the reservoirs and the bottom of the unit, and leave them open to air dry completely. I would remove the filter, wash it thoroughly and allow it to air dry completely as well before storing the unit. In the 3 weeks it's been operational, however, even with the less frequent short run periods since the optimum humidity level was reached, it has not shown signs of any build-up of minerals or algae/mold growth anywhere in the unit. The "clean filter" indicator dropped right back into the OK zone when I reinstalled it after its' "tub bath". Other raters have previously mentioned that the unit must be turned on and set to run on an automatic - as opposed to one of the three manual -setting for the filter indicator to register properly - and this correct. I will probably replace the filter annually at the beginning of the next winter season, then clean it as described above whenever indicated. I can say that I Very Highly Recommend this unit to others. I was feeling quite skeptical, as my previous humidifier (which finally wore out last year after 16 years of 3-4 months-every-winter use) cost $30, never grew anything "bad" in it, and had a washable filter. The plethora of information on the internet about modern humidifiers is very confusing (mostly marketing junk - you have to search hard for really helpful information in order to make an educated purchase) as well. My "old faithful" was terribly noisy, however, in spite of its' otherwise redeeming features, and it did have to be refilled frequently. On balance, resolving the noise factor alone has been worth the extra $$$ I spent on this one. Overall good product - good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmartGeema
Eastern Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome!!!
12/10/2009

Customer review by Jethrobombino

5.0 stars 12/10/2009 by Jethrobombino
by Jethrobombino

My wife and i have been waking up with sore throats and dry skin every morning. I didn't think too much of it until i saw our dog started getting dry skin. I bought this product and when i turned it on in our living room it was within minutes and you could feal the difference. It is easy to wash. Not sure about the buying new filter every week. It says right on the box never buy a filter again, has a washable filter. Not hard to clean the unite. I take it into the bath tub and clean it all outl. Best of all i was able to say good bye to the sore throats in the morning.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jethrobombino
Virginia beach, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money!
10/18/2009

Customer review by chaplinj

1.0 stars 10/18/2009 by chaplinj
by chaplinj

I bought one of these last year, it worked great for about a week. AFter that I had to replace the $15 filter every week. If you've got $60 a month to blow on filters, it's a great humidifier. It's difficult to clean, lots of tiny nooks & crannies for nasty bacteria and mold to grow in. Be smart, but a humidifier that doesn't use a 'wick' type filter, these are just garbage and not worth much more than stuffing toilet paper in the unit. I finally tossed mine in the dumpster where it belongs and bought a console type, ah, what a difference!

Was this review helpful? (15) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chaplinj
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Mostly happy :)
1/2/2010

Customer review by LadyOfMagic

4.0 stars 1/2/2010 by LadyOfMagic
by LadyOfMagic

Yes the unit is a bit heavy...well it has to wells that are filled with water and it has a heavy fan that works very well to circulate the air. Yes the filter does seem to get dirty quite quickly. But, it isn't just filling the air with moisture but also it is sucking in the air in from your home. Depending on the kinds of particulates in your air? It can get dirty fast. BTW using the product CLR to clean the filter works very well. My husband and I love this product and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyOfMagic
Red Wing, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Could have done Better
12/11/2009

Customer review by camdids

2.0 stars 12/11/2009 by camdids
by camdids

I admit to purchasing this product, with a little desperation and little Research. I was pursuaded by the size and amount of the display in my local store. They maily carry just this brand. Firstly, the Unit is large,and can be heavy when filled. The casing seems fairly strong,but the main control button is a little flimsy. It got stuck under the casing once,so you have to be careful pressing it. It is used to power the unit on and off and select between the various modes. Another review statde the Filters dont last very long. I have had my unit for Two months now and agree the filters do not last. The first went three weeks and the second I need to change after two. Now this may have a lot to do with the atmosphere in your home and mine is very dry with a wood Pellet stove burning.( The reason I bought the Humidifier) I followed the Manufactureres instructions on cleaning, and this maybe prolonged the Filter a few days, but the first sign of needing a change was the smell coming from the filter.$95 and $10 every 2-3 weeks.Hmmm. Overall I beleive there are better models out there and if I'd done some research would probably have one now.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camdids
Mass.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrible airflow and tank size
12/25/2009

Customer review by reviewerforthepeople

3.0 stars 12/25/2009 by reviewerforthepeople
by reviewerforthepeople

For $95 this is a horrible value. I was going to buy this humidifier as a replacement for my Hunter model but several local Wal-Marts no longer carried this model. So I bought the $75 Sunbeam model. The $75 has much better air flow intake which is one three sides (not just two like this model) and this model also has larger tanks. The wicks are the same for either model. Those with hard water my find the wicks become useless after about a week but a tip on this is to flip the wick every couple of days. After that doesn't work anymore, take the wick and soak it in a small amount of CLR ($5 also at WalMart) and warm water for about 5 minutes and rinse thoroughly. The wick is like brand new. Although I recommend completely replace the wick once a month or so to keep bacteria down. Replacement wicks are cheap at $10 at WalMart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewerforthepeople
Mesa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/3/2010

Customer review by narntl

1.0 stars 2/3/2010 by narntl
by narntl

First day we used humidifier the wheel broke off unit while moving it to different location. We returned it to WalMart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
narntl
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Great Humidifier
1/8/2010

Customer review by lov2smile

5.0 stars 1/8/2010 by lov2smile
by lov2smile

The water tanks are easy to fill in any sink and easy to handle. We like that alot. We've had others that are too big for the sink and too difficult to handle. Tips on the filters: When the filter meter goes into the mid range, turn the filter over, (Up side down) you'll get another week out of it. After that, fill the sink with warm soapy water and add a tablespoon of bleach, lightly spin the filter around in the sink. rinse and place it back into the humidifier, good as new.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lov2smile
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
exactly what i was hoping for
1/12/2010

Customer review by lecraze

5.0 stars 1/12/2010 by lecraze
by lecraze

this unit was purchased to replace a broken humidifier for which i could no longer find replacement parts. i loved that unit. now i have found this one and it is almost the same exact unit. the wick filter works very well if you follow the manufacturers instructions for installation. this means you must allow the unit to sit idle for at least 30 minutes (with water in the reservoirs) after filter installation. once this is done the filter should last at least 30 days before cleaning or replacement. the water in our area is a little hard so i find it more desireable to replace the filters which are readily available. the humidifier is capable of handling my entire house and my 2 cats are very grateful for this. it is easy to fill the 2 reservoirs which have conveniently placed handles to make it easy to carry them to the faucet. a very good buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lecraze
suffolk county, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Humidifer
2/27/2010

Customer review by Whatever1

5.0 stars 2/27/2010 by Whatever1
by Whatever1

Very quiet, does a great job!!!! Would highly recommend!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Whatever1
Hennepin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sunbeam Humidifier
1/13/2010

Customer review by allthenamesweretaken

4.0 stars 1/13/2010 by allthenamesweretaken
by allthenamesweretaken

This humidifier really does a good job. Holds alot of water. For my house I only have to fill it two times a day. I've been running it in the auto mode and it keeps the humidity at the level I selected. One thing about auto mode that could be better. Once the humidity is reached it turns off and on quickly, within a few seconds. In the auto mode it runs almost all the time. I would have expected it to have more of a delay in turning back on after the humidity reached a lower level. It does hold the humidity within 5-6% of the setting I selected which is 45%. I set it close to an air return so it could humidify the whole house.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
allthenamesweretaken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for what it is.
7/2/2010

Customer review by Mitty2

4.0 stars 7/2/2010 by Mitty2
by Mitty2

Used this all last winter and it did a decent job on the whole ground floor. The filters get dirty very very fast but if you don't change it as often as needed the unit still works well (although I'm sure its going to shorten the life but these types of small appliances have a short lifespan to begin with.) I wouldn't use the wheels on a regular basis but sturdy enough for now and then use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mitty2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just Plain Disappointing
1/4/2010

Customer review by GoCardinals2010

1.0 stars 1/4/2010 by GoCardinals2010
by GoCardinals2010

I set this in the "humidistat" mode. Once the unit reached the humidity setpoint, it clicks on-off rapidly in a state of confusion. After 10 minutes of continuous cycling, I mercifully pulled the plug. Obviously a poorly designed control.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoCardinals2010
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day