Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-16 of 16 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Helpful hint about this computer
11/22/2009

Customer review by neilee75

5.0 stars 11/22/2009 by neilee75
by neilee75

I bought this computer because my old one of seven years crashed. I am not a computer guru so I had to ask the associates to help me. I decided on this computer because the associate told me he used it and he didn't have any problems with the computer and it played most games fairly well. I hooked it up with ease and after about 10 minutes I was logged in. The first thing I found out was outlook express does not come installed. I did find the download easy enough by using the discover your pc feature which took me to microsoft website. I did all the updates and as I had bought the computer care plan I installed that. The next day the computer wouldn't go past configuring windows. It took me and a representative two days, and several times we had to take the computer back to factory settings and install everything again. He was very nice and patient and we spent over 6 hours on the phone trying to figure out the problem. I thought this computer was defective and was going to return it back. This was the problem, if you use the free 60 day Norton antivirus and install the bit ware from the computer care plan they will clash and wreck havac with your computer. It will cause all kinds of problems that will make the tech think it is a different problem all together. We finally figured it out on about the sixth time we had to start it from factory settings. So if you buy this computer and start it for the first time, if you plan on using the bitware that comes with the disk as your antivirus protection, DO NOT start Norton up when prompted at the intial set up if you do you will have issues. This may sound stupid but if someone had told me this tip when I had bought the computer I wouldn't have spent my weekend trying to figure it out with a tech on the phone. After that the computer has ran like a dream and I love it.

Was this review helpful? (161) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neilee75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
fast and smooth
11/15/2009

Customer review by wegowalmart

5.0 stars 11/15/2009 by wegowalmart
by wegowalmart

I upgraded from my good old dell to the hp on the advice of a computer geek friend. I use my computer mostly for photos, music, and surfing the web and now I can do all three at once seamlessly. I am no expert but I could not be more pleased with this system. Fast, smooth, and the 20" moniter is cristal clear and perfect for editing photos.Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (73) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wegowalmart
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice!
12/3/2009

Customer review by Cowboys1fan

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by Cowboys1fan
by Cowboys1fan

I had orignally bought the other HP walmart had for $498, but when I went back anc compared the two, I figured this one was a much better deal. It comes with a dual core processor,20in LCD monitor,4G RAM and 500G HDS. The other one had a regular 18in monitor,320G of HDS and a Sempron Single core processor. I havent really been on it alot, but the times I have...I love it. Its fast, easy to use and looks great in our bedroom. i think the extra $100 was well worth it in the long run. I have tons of music and pictures and some videos, so I didnt want to have to hassle with space later on. This is an Awsome deal!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cowboys1fan
Forney,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
64 bit, not 32
11/21/2009

Customer review by bantling14

4.0 stars 11/21/2009 by bantling14
by bantling14

I really like this computer. It is fast, and does what I need it to. The only problem I have with it, is that it is a 64-bit, not a 32-bit, (the norm for most computers) which I did not see anyplace in the specs.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bantling14
Glendale Heights, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
buy in store-not online
12/27/2009

Customer review by DoggieMom3

5.0 stars 12/27/2009 by DoggieMom3
by DoggieMom3

Just purchased this desktop in-store tonight and the price was rolled back to $498...still $598 online. Didn't set up yet but seems like a great PC. Best Buy had the same computer for over $600.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoggieMom3
Scranton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HP Pavilion Slimline is a star
12/1/2009

Customer review by MichiganJim

5.0 stars 12/1/2009 by MichiganJim
by MichiganJim

I really cannot find a single negative thing to say about this package. The PC is incredibly fast, including booting up and down. The widescreen monitor is better than I expected. I do wish the built-in speakers were louder, because I listen to a lot of music on the PC. However, their sound is clear and crisp, and I believe they will be excellent for the typical user.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MichiganJim
Metro Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NOT HAPPY
1/4/2010

Customer review by MOEJOE53

1.0 stars 1/4/2010 by MOEJOE53
by MOEJOE53

I received this product on Saturday. I was so happy because I was using an old Gateway computer that had outlived it's usefullness. When I took it out of the box it looked great. I plugged in all the wires and had it running in a short time. When I started to begin the standard sign on and intro , I saw an internal crack that ran from the top of the screen all the way to the bottom on the right side. It said not to contact the retailer, but call the "help desk" to get advice and information.Well needless to say I called and found out I was calling the Phillipines. The people they employ cannot speak the language , I had to repeat myself so many times I wanted to pull my hair out. Finally after,literally 7 hours of being off and on the phone I was told I would be sent a new monitor and I would have to send the old one back within 15 days or I would be charged for a new one. They do no offer overnight or any type of fast delivery, It is going to take 9 days for me to get my replacement monitor, and I had to give them a credit card in case I did not send mine back on time. I am really thinking of just returning it to WAlmart and when the new on comes in just send it back with the label they are providing. If I have a years worth of time with this clueless "consumer support staff"l I may just go back to using my old one instead.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MOEJOE53
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
AWESOME Computer !!
11/28/2009

Customer review by stayathomemom2boyz

5.0 stars 11/28/2009 by stayathomemom2boyz
by stayathomemom2boyz

I was excited the moment i saw the box!! This is one nice looking computer..the moniter is HUGE..and it runs great!! Fast and Easy to get around on...easy to set up, would recommend this one. Especially if you want to store alot of pictures and or music. You won't be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stayathomemom2boyz
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AMAZING
1/4/2010

Customer review by monikutty

5.0 stars 1/4/2010 by monikutty
by monikutty

This product is amazing. The screen was bigger than expected. The download of Windows 7 downloaded smoothly. All the setup was easy for beginners like me. NOTE TO EVERYONE---DO NOT THINK THAT THE PRICE ON WALMART.COM IS FINAL. Ii GOT $100 CHEAPER FROM GOING TO THE ACTUAL STORE THAN BUYING IT ON WALMART.COM(THE STORE WAS IN WESTBERY) There are built in speakers in the moniter. The tower was a reasonable size. I am satisified with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monikutty
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
12/16/2009

Customer review by TEKATHOME

5.0 stars 12/16/2009 by TEKATHOME
by TEKATHOME

I use this computer for work and home. Meets or exceeds all expectations! Great value! Would buy it again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TEKATHOME
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fair
1/1/2010

Customer review by Nurse876

4.0 stars 1/1/2010 by Nurse876
by Nurse876

Was very surprised when I bought this computer. Beware that this computer does not have wireless. I bought this for my son and we had to buy a $60 wireless card.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nurse876
AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Computer for the Price
12/4/2009

Customer review by Gravaman

4.0 stars 12/4/2009 by Gravaman
by Gravaman

This is not a high end computer, but it is one of the best values for the price, and it has enough speed to handle almost any task. I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gravaman
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/6/2009

Customer review by docdocdoc

4.0 stars 12/6/2009 by docdocdoc
by docdocdoc

Good product as billed. Easy to set up. Worked well straight out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
docdocdoc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great computer-bad speakers
1/6/2010

Customer review by BobbyFrog

4.0 stars 1/6/2010 by BobbyFrog
by BobbyFrog

I really like this computer it is fast and has a nice big, bright monitor. The only thing i do not like is the monitor's built in speakers, they sound awful--kind of like a cheap clock radio. I highly recomend this computer- but if you buy it, i suggest buying separate speakers -the owners manual says you need powered speakers (the kind with their own power cord) Oh by the way! I did have a few problems at first and it turns out that they were caused by the trial antivirus sofware that comes pre -installed! I uninstalled it and put a different antivirus program on the computer and have had no more problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BobbyFrog
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice PC.
12/14/2009

Customer review by chipeer

4.0 stars 12/14/2009 by chipeer
by chipeer

when i got it and hooked it up. Nothing would show on the monitor. after much troubleshooting i Reseated the memory and tried again. It finally worked! First time using Windows 7 and I actually Love it. The computer is great at multi tasking. Now i just need to hook up to the internet. Router is downstairs and computer upstairs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chipeer
Avon, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Compatibility Problems
12/26/2009

Customer review by SnowBird0314

3.0 stars 12/26/2009 by SnowBird0314
by SnowBird0314

The Windows 7 that comes pre-installed was not compatible with many of my software programs (CS4 for example). We worked hours by ourselves to fix the solution before we called HP for assistance. They admitted Windows 7 had many compatibility problems and suggested we wait for the company to come out with a solution. This would make a decent computer for those who do not have other programs needing to be installed but otherwise, I would not recommend it. As a photographer, I do not have time to wait for fixes so I decided to return it and upgrade my previous desktop.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SnowBird0314
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less