Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-12 of 12 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

GREAT BUY
12/28/2009

Customer review by AIRJAG

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by AIRJAG
by AIRJAG

This was a great buy. I had been looking for a Lionel Train set for a long time, but didn't want to pay over 200 dollars for one. When I say the price Wal Mart had it, I bought it right away. It was just what I was looking for. My daughter and I love this train. It will last forever. Thank you Wal Mart. I would recommend this train to anybody.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AIRJAG
Harlingen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Much Better than we thought
12/30/2009

Customer review by magpie1234

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by magpie1234
by magpie1234

We had been looking for an electric train set for a couple of years for a reasonable price, but only found battery operated ones. This one I found on Cyber Monday and I thought it was a great deal, then I comparison shopped online and no one could beat the price. I bought it and had it delivered to our local Wal-Mart. The ordering process was easy, the following e-mails giving order status and delivery were prompt and pick up was easy. We bought this for our 5 year old grandson to begin a tradition of assembling it every Christmas. The quality is better than I thought it would be. I like the Lionel name. Assembling the track was easy. We love it. So does he, but he still might be a little young for it (he wants to put his big trucks on the track and have the train ram into them!) We are very happy with our puchase

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
magpie1234
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
On the Right Track!
1/24/2010

Customer review by Pepsiholic4

5.0 stars 1/24/2010 by Pepsiholic4
by Pepsiholic4

I bought this train set for my husband as a Christmas Gift! He loved it, he was like a little kid in a candy shop! The train set is of excellent quality and without breaking the bank! Great Product! I recommend this train set for established train collectors as well as beginners! Have Fun!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pepsiholic4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
train owner
12/10/2009

Customer review by trainowner

5.0 stars 12/10/2009 by trainowner
by trainowner

i now own 2 lionel trains love them ,im also 49 yrs old

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trainowner
davie,florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lionel Ready to Run Trains
12/22/2009

Customer review by Biggestr62

5.0 stars 12/22/2009 by Biggestr62
by Biggestr62

Excellent beginners set with easy to read instructions which all make sense. The packaging was great and everything came unbroken and exactly as expected. A really good value for the first time buyers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Biggestr62
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Includes unique boxcar
12/22/2009

Customer review by TomTweed

5.0 stars 12/22/2009 by TomTweed
by TomTweed

I especially enjoyed the unique boxcar with graphics from Lionel's 1950 catalog. I found this set a good value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TomTweed
Hillsdale, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Nice Train set!
12/22/2009

Customer review by hland

5.0 stars 12/22/2009 by hland
by hland

Bought for around the tree. Good quality and great deal, we got it on line for $130 during the holiday sales. Does NOT have a bell, but the control panel has a button for it. Can use control panel for other train sets with a bell. Whistle is quiet and it has to run a little before starting to smoke. That's normal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hland
New Orleans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
Laying tracks
12/24/2009

Customer review by browken

5.0 stars 12/24/2009 by browken
by browken

Very nice its Lionel of course. I liked Price especially and free shipping. Wanted more of the same plus accessories. Try to have more next season. Arrived ahead of schedule and good condition. Had time to set up and run. Hope to reset up tomorrow night for grandson. thanks

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
browken
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LIONEL AND WALMART
12/24/2009

Customer review by nyy1996ws

5.0 stars 12/24/2009 by nyy1996ws
by nyy1996ws

Great product, Lionel Makes the best stuff and walmart has great prices, can't beat that combination. (Oh, Thats brothers 3 Pools Slogan)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nyy1996ws
Long ISland,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
big smile
12/23/2009

Customer review by njgrandpop

4.0 stars 12/23/2009 by njgrandpop
by njgrandpop

lionel name means quality and it was.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
njgrandpop
jersey shore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good starter set for 6 year old
12/25/2009

Customer review by MomOfJoJo

4.0 stars 12/25/2009 by MomOfJoJo
by MomOfJoJo

Great starter set for a great price! You can get stronger engines, fancier sounds, and fancier freight cars, but you'll pay twice as much (over three hundred). Paying twice as much doesn't make playing with it twice as much fun. O-scale trains are good for clumsey 6 year olds because they're big and relatively durable. "The smaller the hands, the bigger the train", according to our local train store. "Fastrack", Lionel's propietary large gauge track with the built in roadbed, is sturdy and my 6 year old can take it apart and reassemble it. My 6 year old son is used to wooden train track. It's a learning experience for him, because this is a model train, not a toy train. A simple oval of track is boring and doesn't have a lot of "play value". You have to get imaginative to add play value. Add "play value" with a siding or loop. Buy a switch and extra track to make the siding for parking cars. Use legos and cardboard boxes to build stations, bridges, tunnels, etc. I bought a toy fork-lift (not to scale) and made packages for loading. We downloaded 'Card Models" from the internet and made cardboard crossing towers, stations, loading platforms, etc. Doing the layout and building things together is the fun part, not just running the trains. Have Fun! Just a note: The knuckle couplers on the freight cars don't open; they can't be operated remotely. However, if you buy a couple of cars with operating couplers, these cars are compatible with them. Alternate these cars with cars with operating couples. Then you can couple and uncouple them on a siding for increased "play value"! I gave the set only 4 stars because it's not a "top of the line" set with top of the line features. But it's still a great set for half the price of the fanciest sets. And it's got 99% of the "play value" of a more expensive set.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOfJoJo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Not what I was expecting for the money
12/31/2009

Customer review by RandCMommy

3.0 stars 12/31/2009 by RandCMommy
by RandCMommy

This is a relatively expensive train (in my opinion). I have to take ours back at some point... the whistle doesn't work. After paying that much, I want EVERYTHING to work... including the dumb whistle. Just seems like a pain to box it all up to take it back. :o( The engine is very good quality... but the other cars seem kind of cheap to me. Not really impressed for the price. I got this for my son... he really doesnt' seem over-impressed with it, either.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RandCMommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days