Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 794 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

794 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

794 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
539
4 stars
202
3 stars
24
2 stars
17
1 stars
12
1-20 of 715 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 715 total reviews
1-20 of 715 reviews
Nice to have around
6/30/2012

Customer review by Sherritasworld

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by Sherritasworld
by Sherritasworld
Top 1000 contributor

I don't use it nearly as often as I should but it's quiet, runs smoothly, and holds a good 300 lbs. comfortably. It comes with a poster with the various exercises you can do and it can be stood up on its end to take up very little space. I think it's a wonderful buy and I don't regret it for a moment!

Was this review helpful? (45) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sherritasworld
Midwest, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 1000 contributor
It gets a thumbs up
2/4/2016

Customer review by WanttobeWorkouter

4.0 stars 2/4/2016 by WanttobeWorkouter
by WanttobeWorkouter

I didn't want a bulky work out machine with weights. I wanted a machine I could collapse & move around when need be. I read the reviews & looked at this machine & the total gym. Most of the bad reviews seemed to be from the packaging of the machine or from a faulty part when received. The cost was minimal so I didn't feel like a wasted much $ if I end up donating it to a church garage sale or giving it away. Placed my order & hoped for the best. Apparently the manufacturer must have read some of the reviews as well. The packaging was very sturdy, no broken parts and arrived early. Very easy to put together. It remains to be seen if I will use it regularly or not but I am glad to have it available to use. Would have liked some work out routines included with it but I cut off the side of the box which displays pictures of different positions to reference. My opinion is so far so good. Go for it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WanttobeWorkouter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
thrilled
11/20/2009

Customer review by patant

5.0 stars 11/20/2009 by patant
by patant

Easy to assemble Easy to use It has different levels of strength building areas- from the beginning to advanced It is better or at least as good as the Total Gym and have more features I am very happy with the Weider Total Body Works gym- I have owned the total gym and used it regularly for over 20 years and the features that are in this product were in the original Total Gym and now they charge you for every thing I chose Weider because I knew what I wanted and did not want to pay almost $500. for Total gym Weider Total Body Works gym is versatile and had all the things I had become accustomed to I had it delivered to the store and the associate loaded it in my SUV I took it home and assembled it and used it immediately Just what I needed! I am 63 years old and my muscles and are trying to contract This is what I needed to be proactive against revolt of old age I am building muscle strength and building stronger bones I am thrilled with Weider Total Body Works gym

Was this review helpful? (163) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patant
New york to North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
After doing research....
10/3/2010

Customer review by Phoneidiot

5.0 stars 10/3/2010 by Phoneidiot
by Phoneidiot

LOVE IT LOVE LOVE IT!!!!! I hate the gym so I look for what I can do from home that does everything...THIS IS IT. Ordered ship>home on Sunday night, Fed Ex delivered on Thursday, 4 days later, waaay early. Get this product and NOT Total Home Gym. This has a better price, weight resistance bands, and the pullup bars at the top. Very sturdy and actually doing the excercises are relaxing, just laying there rowing back, rowing forth. I wanted to isolate my chest muscles (pecs) and after one workout, chest was sore for 2 days. Goodbhye pushup and pullup bars I had used. Assembly is quick and easy - maybe 3 bolts and 4 pins. Will need a wrench though. 13mm or equivilent, or vice grips. The price is a steal, and I would pay more for it. Go for it. BTW, I've worked out all my life, in the gym, with the military, on the high school wrestling team etc. I know a thing or two about workout equipment and this is a top home piece.

Was this review helpful? (301) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phoneidiot
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Craftsmanship, Loud and Wobbly
9/19/2011

Customer review by HeatherAU

2.0 stars 9/19/2011 by HeatherAU
by HeatherAU

PROS: Inexpensive, easy to assemble, a lot of exercise options, good for beginners CONS: Loud, wobbly, doesn't glide smoothly, not challenging enough for advanced users OVERALL: I normally don't write reviews but I want to take a moment to express my disappointment in this product. When I ordered this machine, I did so because of the good reviews but after the first usage I'm really sorry I went through with purchasing it. I have worked out consistantly for about 10 years at a lot of gyms, using a number of different lines of equipment (Life Fitness, Free Motion, Techno Gym, Hammer Strength). Don't expect to get the same feel from this $150 machine that you would from any of those manufacturers. It's incredibly noisy, wobbly and doesn't glide smoothly. It is a good concept and could be a really nice piece if more effort, time and money was put into the craftsmanship of it. If you are used to working out at a gym or if you are at a fitness level of intermediate to advanced, I would skip this product.

Was this review helpful? (45) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeatherAU
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
I love this product!
1/12/2010

Customer review by Chopin87

4.0 stars 1/12/2010 by Chopin87
by Chopin87

The Weider 5000 is the answer to my muscle building dilemma. I bought a treadmill that is really fun and I enjoy using it. But I had never come across a weight machine that looked like any fun or that was affordable. This pully system is great and a lot of fun. There are so many different moves that can be on the machine. I hung the poster that has all the moves right next to the machine for easy reference. Some of the moves are not very natural feeling (not like a gym weight machine or free weights) but that does not bother me. (Another negative is that it takes up more space than I had anticipated it would, so if space is an issue I recommend getting the specs and seeing if this will fit in your space). When I first got it I only did a few reps of a few moves and the next day my muscles were REALLY sore (upper body and torso). It really works (at least for me)!!Plus I find it a lot of fun so I am using it 3 times a week. I love it and I am so happy I found this. And you can't beat the price!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chopin87
Pleasanton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product
1/22/2016

Customer review by Brad

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Brad
by Brad

I purchased this to replace a total gym that was about 15 years old. I liked the price point of the weider and the accessories it came with over the other brands. It is very easy to take down and easy to use. Definitely recommend to those who want ease of use and equipment that takes up little space.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Versatile product
12/11/2013

Customer review by Alloha

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Alloha
by Alloha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Helpful in doing many excercises for any part of the body. Good for even those who have had surgeries instead of going to the Gym or Physical therapy to recover from home and not cause more pain but gentle movements as for each one's convenience. Ideal for those with back problems. My back hurts doing excercise with any machine but not this one. Doesn't feel like I am using my back or core but actually I am working those muscle. Ideal for those with knee problems too as pain in knees prevents you or is a excuse that you can't excercise or tone your muscles or lose weight. Unlike other machines this helps with my knee strengthening without causing pain. No longer can my knee prevent me from excercising with this product. Let it be upper body or core or lower body or cardio all kind of excercises are possible with it for everyone. Can adjust resistance based on your capacity. A big thumbs up for this product.

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alloha
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product - Great Value
2/5/2014

Customer review by Rocky0220

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by Rocky0220
by Rocky0220

I am 58 years old and in decent shape. I have been working out regularly since I turned 50. This is a great product that adds for me another dimension to my workouts. Another way to vary routines. I really like it. It is fun, yet it really does give you a good workout if you push to get that extra rep or two. I wish that it had a little more resistance, the 50 extra pounds is just not quite enough for certain exercises. Some exercises, even with the resistance, I find myself doing over 50 Repetitions. Most exercises though do work within an acceptable range of repetitions. Be careful to position yourself on the board so as not to pull the board all the way to the pulleys or you will tear the vinyl at and / or near the corners. This is a great value and appears to be well built. I recommend it, even for people that are already somewhat fit. It would be terrific for beginners. If you are looking to get started working out, or just looking to vary a routine, buy this product. I believe that if you are serious enough about getting in shape, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rocky0220
Cincinnati, Oh.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Exercise Machine
12/18/2010

Customer review by NowYouKnow

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by NowYouKnow
by NowYouKnow

I wanted to replace a 30 year old Total Gym with a modern improved model and one that is more easily stored. During my search I found the highly rated Weider Total Body Works 5000 Gym. It folds down and telescopes to half the length for easy storage in the corner of the room. When set up the Weider 5000 is not in the way as much as my old Total Gym(with the handle bars); so we keep it set up all the time until we are entertaining guests in our home. I feel the high ratings of this product are accurate. The quality, modern functionality, and smooth operation of the Weider 5000 is impressive. The comparible Total Gym is over twice the price for no apparent reason other than brand name. I appreciate Total Gym, who pioneered this gym system, but why are they so expensive? If you are looking for price without sacrificing quality I think the Weider 5000 is a good consideration. It is a great deal at $106... I was blessed to find a like new year old used one for $40 :-)

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NowYouKnow
Battle Ground, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good value
10/16/2013

Customer review by jimbolini

4.0 stars 10/16/2013 by jimbolini
by jimbolini

I purchased the bundle of the total works 5000 and puzzle mat because it's actually a bit cheaper than getting just the machine. While it says it takes two people to assemble it, I was able to do it myself quite easily. Two people may have been a bit easier but it was no problem by myself. As far as the machine goes, it seems to be a very good value, especially if you compare it to the total gym, which is a lot more expensive. I find this machine to be quite fine as far as the functionality goes. It is not excessively noisy and so far seems to be a good machine. I just turned 50 and wanted something I could use easily and inexpensively and so far this fits the bill. The only drawback is that it does not come with a workout chart, but you can go online to find an array of exercises you can do with these type of machines.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimbolini
Buford, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value, Good Workout
2/16/2010

Customer review by CraZMomO3

4.0 stars 2/16/2010 by CraZMomO3
by CraZMomO3

The Pros: I am well over the recommended weight limit, and it holds me fine. It is AWESOME for very overweight people like me because you can do squats and other exercises that would normally put too much pressure on your joints, plus you can keep your heart rate up with a quick transition between exercises. It's not recommended for kids, but my 4 & 6 year olds practice their karate punches on it, and my 9 year old does a very basic total body workout. The Cons: This exercise machine was slightly more frustrating than average to put together, but in the end it only took about 30 minutes. It assembles to be very large, and is difficult (not smooth) to fold and store - it's best to store this where you're going to use it. My cables keep coming off the track, I have to stop and fix it almost every day. I like this product - it does what it says it will do - it just doesn't seem to be made of the highest quality materials (I suspect that in the end, you get what you pay for...).

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CraZMomO3
Elk Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No more going to the gym.
1/13/2016

Customer review by Sherri

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Sherri
by Sherri

Never thought it would be this nice. For the price the value is worth it. I can not say much bad .have to have two people to collapse it to put it away and put up . but I can over look that for the value to price is right!! Also don't have to go to the gym.do it from home.weather not an issue anymore.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sherri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent
1/17/2016

Customer review by CGAI

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by CGAI
by CGAI

The item is in excellent condition. And it works just like it was advertised.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CGAI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
People reviewed it as fun... and it is!
11/24/2010

Customer review by ConsiderThis1

5.0 stars 11/24/2010 by ConsiderThis1
by ConsiderThis1
Top 1000 contributor

My Weider Total Body Works was delivered twice as fast as the shipping confirmation said. Luckily someone was here to bring it in. I started to put it together by myself, I'm 65 and I bought the machine because after hurting my back I decided I'd better strengthen my muscles so that a small exertion didn't do damage. When I wasn't strong enough to make the final adjustment, which extends the machine, my friend came and helped me. He tried the machine, and immediately was smiling. It is fun to use!!! At first I couldn't get on the machine because my balance is extremely bad and I couldn't step over it to reach a straddling position. My friend suggested sitting on the side, then putting a leg over, and that worked. I've had it about two weeks and already my legs are stronger and my balance is improving. I took digital images of the exercise poster that's provided, then cropped them and arranged the ones I most need to do on a single sheet, which I printed and put up on the wall. Later I made a second sheet with additional exercises cropped from the digital images. It's amazing to me that I can do exercises on this machine that I used to do (years ago) at the gym. Happiness!!!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConsiderThis1
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Great Surprise
3/20/2011

Customer review by Trunx41

5.0 stars 3/20/2011 by Trunx41
by Trunx41

Hi, I thought I was buying another "As seen on TV product". Early impressions, this this is solid. Works great, I have been using it about 2 weeks now, and everything is better than expected. I weigh about 250lbs and it really handles me with no problem. I really feel I get a good workout and build a pretty good sweat too. It takes a little more space than expected, stretches out to about 7-8 feet long but I work around it. (fyi to buyers have space ready) And be ready to be inventive on the exercises. It comes with a poster for exercises about 40 or so, but its not very descriptive, or detailed. Youtube is a good resource and imagination helps. Whats cool though is it keeps you thinking about how to create exercises that would meet your needs. But overall i am very pleased with the product and hope to have some great results.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trunx41
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
no real workout guide
1/18/2016

Customer review by Outtapatience

3.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Outtapatience
by Outtapatience

The machine works good, glides smoothly and is easy to set up. My biggest complaint is that there is no workout guide you can hang on the wall, only photos printed on the box. In my case, the box was mangled in shipment by Fedex and rendered the photos useless. Also, there was a part missing from the box being ripped open. Instead of sending me the missing part, they reshipped the whole unit. I removed the one missing part and sealed the box back up. Needless to say I couldn't keep the workout guide because the box would have had a huge hole in it. So the machine works like it should, but you are without a workout guide if your box is damaged. Tried to print the ones shown on Pinterest, etc but they are too blurry.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Outtapatience
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I really wanted to love it :-(
5/10/2011

Customer review by NEJinPA

2.0 stars 5/10/2011 by NEJinPA
by NEJinPA

I was looking for a substitute for the strength training equipment at the gym (my favorite form of exercise) and had high hopes for the Weider Total Body Works 5000. I guess I've been spoiled by top-of-the-line machines that expertly isolate muscle groups because I haven't been able to get nearly the same workout using the TBW. Every exercise engages multiple muscle groups (therefore some groups are overworked) and it isn't easy to maintain proper form. It's also difficult to work at a slow, controlled pace when you're fighting against gravity. My pecs always wind up overworked and I can't get decent emphasis on biceps, triceps and delts. I can get a better upper body workout using dumbbells, so it looks like it's back to the bells for me. I can see why so many people love it, it's great for cardio and doesn't do a half bad job of toning, but it's a poor substitute for strength training equipment. I've rated it on its muscle building merits.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NEJinPA
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
the perfect option
1/20/2010

Customer review by luddy178

5.0 stars 1/20/2010 by luddy178
by luddy178

I used and wore out the Total Gym Pro before purchasing this product. It has all the same features the Total Gym had and more for less money. The resistance bands add more weight/resistance to the workout and the leg features improve my workout routine. I use this 4 x a week minimum. It makes for a quick and effective workout in a very short period of time. I would reccomment this to anyone but expecially to those overweight and older since it allows you to slowely get up to speed with its different inclines and resistance factors. With the proper diet and routine at the age of 47 I have lost 81 lbs and finally close to the same shape I was in high school.

Was this review helpful? (449) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luddy178
Queen Creek, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great buy
2/10/2016

Customer review by dan123456789

5.0 stars 2/10/2016 by dan123456789
by dan123456789

works great, better quality and stability than I had expected. Its a fun workout with lots of options. Check you tube videos for workouts.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dan123456789
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 715 total reviews
1-20 of 715 reviews