Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 737 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

737 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

737 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
501
4 stars
187
3 stars
22
2 stars
16
1 stars
11
1-20 of 658 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 658 total reviews
1-20 of 658 reviews
After doing research....
10/3/2010

Customer review by Phoneidiot

5.0 stars 10/3/2010 by Phoneidiot
by Phoneidiot

LOVE IT LOVE LOVE IT!!!!! I hate the gym so I look for what I can do from home that does everything...THIS IS IT. Ordered ship>home on Sunday night, Fed Ex delivered on Thursday, 4 days later, waaay early. Get this product and NOT Total Home Gym. This has a better price, weight resistance bands, and the pullup bars at the top. Very sturdy and actually doing the excercises are relaxing, just laying there rowing back, rowing forth. I wanted to isolate my chest muscles (pecs) and after one workout, chest was sore for 2 days. Goodbhye pushup and pullup bars I had used. Assembly is quick and easy - maybe 3 bolts and 4 pins. Will need a wrench though. 13mm or equivilent, or vice grips. The price is a steal, and I would pay more for it. Go for it. BTW, I've worked out all my life, in the gym, with the military, on the high school wrestling team etc. I know a thing or two about workout equipment and this is a top home piece.

Was this review helpful? (233) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phoneidiot
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the perfect option
1/20/2010

Customer review by luddy178

5.0 stars 1/20/2010 by luddy178
by luddy178

I used and wore out the Total Gym Pro before purchasing this product. It has all the same features the Total Gym had and more for less money. The resistance bands add more weight/resistance to the workout and the leg features improve my workout routine. I use this 4 x a week minimum. It makes for a quick and effective workout in a very short period of time. I would reccomment this to anyone but expecially to those overweight and older since it allows you to slowely get up to speed with its different inclines and resistance factors. With the proper diet and routine at the age of 47 I have lost 81 lbs and finally close to the same shape I was in high school.

Was this review helpful? (369) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luddy178
Queen Creek, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product!!
12/17/2009

Customer review by tengle91

5.0 stars 12/17/2009 by tengle91
by tengle91

I've worked out for years in gyms and have always been a sceptic when it came to these type products. I was wrong...this machine does a great job toning. The range of motion is great and it forces the muscles to work independently. I would recommend this as an alternative to the Total Gym and high priced gyms.

Was this review helpful? (266) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tengle91
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Value
1/23/2010

Customer review by Oracy

4.0 stars 1/23/2010 by Oracy
by Oracy

The Weider 5000 really is an excellent value. Its construction is quite sturdy, employs quality materials and was very easy to assemble. However, it is quite a bit longer than I anticipated. I have it in a basement workout room, so this isn't an issue. I think space would be an issue in some apartments. The workout is fluid, as challenging as you want to make it, and will do an outstanding job of toning your upper body. The range of exercises for the lower body is limited, suited more for the ladies who want to tone rears and thighs. This machine is not for creating muscle mass (though the added power bands provide great additional resistance and are an important aspect of the machine's value.) The workout chart is ok, but very limited. There is no video or web link that comes with the unit to piece together a 'routine.' You'll need to do that on your own. Stretching is not something that is featured in the marketing of the machine but it is something that happens quite well and naturally as you use the machine. This has been a very pleasant bonus. Overall, for the price it's an excellent, excellent value. I gave it 4 stars overall due to the lack of video / limited exercise chart but this is nit-picking as I am very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (154) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oracy
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exercise for the lazy
10/15/2009

Customer review by sharkwoman

5.0 stars 10/15/2009 by sharkwoman
by sharkwoman

I love the Weider total Body Works 5000. I am able to get a good workout in about very little time. Before I was trying to do free weights/cardio/stretching in one workout, but it took way too long! Now instead of 1 hour (if I felt like doing it), I do 15 minutes on the Weider, and then 15 or 20 minutes on my bike, and I'm done! Three days a week! The quality of this machine is excellent, and you can't beat the price! I am really glad I got it! And of course with Walmart.com's "ship-to-store" feature, I saved a lot of money which makes the value even greater!

Was this review helpful? (198) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sharkwoman
Akron Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
thrilled
11/20/2009

Customer review by patant

5.0 stars 11/20/2009 by patant
by patant

Easy to assemble Easy to use It has different levels of strength building areas- from the beginning to advanced It is better or at least as good as the Total Gym and have more features I am very happy with the Weider Total Body Works gym- I have owned the total gym and used it regularly for over 20 years and the features that are in this product were in the original Total Gym and now they charge you for every thing I chose Weider because I knew what I wanted and did not want to pay almost $500. for Total gym Weider Total Body Works gym is versatile and had all the things I had become accustomed to I had it delivered to the store and the associate loaded it in my SUV I took it home and assembled it and used it immediately Just what I needed! I am 63 years old and my muscles and are trying to contract This is what I needed to be proactive against revolt of old age I am building muscle strength and building stronger bones I am thrilled with Weider Total Body Works gym

Was this review helpful? (131) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patant
New york to North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great machine and can't beat the value
6/13/2013

Customer review by percy777

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by percy777
by percy777

I must say that this machine is well built and will last awhile but make sure you buy the 5000 model that comes with the free puzzle mat for 129.00. It's the same machine for 30 dollars less and you get a 6 pc. mat to go with it. I called Weider and tried to find out the difference between the Ultimate and the 5000 and I kept getting different answers so I ordered both. Both machines were exactly the same. I enjoy this machine and with a 2 year warranty from Walmart for just 12.43 how could you go wrong. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
percy777
tampa, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for everybody in the family.
2/14/2013

Customer review by pleasedfamily

5.0 stars 2/14/2013 by pleasedfamily
by pleasedfamily

We were going to order a Total Gym and came across the Weider Ultimate Body Works Gym in our research on Wal-Marts customer reviews. We thought for the exceptional savings in the price difference it would be worth a try. This gym is awsome! We ordered site to store with free shipping. It came in earlier than expected, so we were excited to begin our work-outs sooner. My husband and I could handle it very easily and had it assembled in about twenty minutes. We tried it out right away! Wow! What a feeling! You can feel it starting to work right away! We are really impressed and amazed! My husband had a heart attack at a young age and he says this gym gives him everything and more that he was getting at a cardiac rehab center. He believes all ages can benefit from it, because it can be anything from low impact to advanced heavy resistance. I myself am about 50 lbs. overweight and I have lost 6 lbs. in the last 2 weeks by working out 25 minutes a day. We also have teenagers active in sports that say this gym gives them good cross training and stamina that normally they would get by cicuit training on multiple machines. I will have to agree with everyone else that the only improvement weider could make for me would have been better work-out charts or a video. For the amount of money we saved by buying this gym, we really can't be upset about that. However if you do go on-line and search Total Gym work-outs, you can find multiple exercises to do on this gym. I printed out Total Gym's "Starter Workout Program" for free which consist of 15 exercises and have added 3 others that I found on-line. that is my 25 minute daily routine for now. All I can say is try it! We're sure glad we did!

Was this review helpful? (61) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pleasedfamily
New Paris, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did I ever need this!!
12/4/2009

Customer review by HiShear

4.0 stars 12/4/2009 by HiShear
by HiShear

This machine is awesome!! Was sweating within 5 minutes into my routine. Very sturdy. Accommodated my 5' 7" 230 lbs frame with room to spare. Price was exceptional compared to similar machines. My only complaint is that there was no cable to accommodate leg extension exercises and I don't know where to find them. Overall I am very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HiShear
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice to have around
6/30/2012

Customer review by Sherritasworld

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by Sherritasworld
by Sherritasworld

I don't use it nearly as often as I should but it's quiet, runs smoothly, and holds a good 300 lbs. comfortably. It comes with a poster with the various exercises you can do and it can be stood up on its end to take up very little space. I think it's a wonderful buy and I don't regret it for a moment!

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sherritasworld
Midwest, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 1000 contributor
Versatile product
12/11/2013

Customer review by Alloha

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Alloha
by Alloha

Helpful in doing many excercises for any part of the body. Good for even those who have had surgeries instead of going to the Gym or Physical therapy to recover from home and not cause more pain but gentle movements as for each one's convenience. Ideal for those with back problems. My back hurts doing excercise with any machine but not this one. Doesn't feel like I am using my back or core but actually I am working those muscle. Ideal for those with knee problems too as pain in knees prevents you or is a excuse that you can't excercise or tone your muscles or lose weight. Unlike other machines this helps with my knee strengthening without causing pain. No longer can my knee prevent me from excercising with this product. Let it be upper body or core or lower body or cardio all kind of excercises are possible with it for everyone. Can adjust resistance based on your capacity. A big thumbs up for this product.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alloha
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than a Total Gym 2000
6/17/2012

Customer review by dohcacr

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by dohcacr
by dohcacr

To set the stage, I used a Total Gym 1700 Club for two years, and made the mistake of replacing it with a recumbent bike, at my wifes prodding. My house is small and I have limited space that I can dedicate to a large piece of exercise equipment, and for me it is essential that the equipment is always setup and ready to use. With hindsight, selling the Total Gym was a big mistake. It took me a year to correct it, by buying the Weider TBW5000. I've only been using the Weider for a little over week, using my old Total Gym routine, but my body loves it. I'm able to duplicate every exercise I did on the Total Gym 1700, but in comparison the Weider 5000 is smoother and quieter. Comparing the Weider 5000 to the current Total Gym models, it is vastly superior to the 2000 ( msrp $599, Amazon price $382) because the Total Gym 2000 does not include the wing attachment or squat stand. I consider the wing attachment fundamental to a good workout because it allows three exercises that I consider essential, leg curls, pullups, and the front press. The squat stand provides the mechanism to do squats, calf raises, cardio pulls, and incline crunches. If I had to leave those exercises out of my routine, I wouldn't feel like I was getting a decent workout. I'm really pleased with the Weider TBW5000. The quality and design are every bit as good as my Total Gym 1700. The only place where the Weider TBW 5000 is lacking is in the documenting of exercise routines, and that void can easily be filled with youtube videos, and numerous exercise blogs. Sorry Chuck and Cindy, but the Weider TBW5000 is better than Total Gym 2000, probably as good as a Total Gym 3000, and a much better value than both.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dohcacr
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the price. Gets the job done.
3/13/2014

Customer review by midnite88

4.0 stars 3/13/2014 by midnite88
by midnite88

I have had the total gym in the past but then gave that to my dad. Now I just bought the Weider gym. I was really impressed with the quality for half the price of the total gym. There is a slight defect, however, in that one side of the metal leg is not even with the other side so the gym tilts a little to the right. It annoys me only because I am extremely picky about those things and I can see it right away when I look at it. However, I don't think it affects the impact of the workout. I still get a great workout by using the gym. Pretty simple to put together. Yes, it's heavier than the total gym and is harder to store because of this. It's also less stable when using it in the highest position. But if I had to choose again, I would continue to purchase this product over the total gym just because it is so much cheaper. Also, the length of the Weider gym is shorter when fully set up in comparison to the total gym, which I like. It takes up less space if you wanted to leave it out. All in all, I'm impressed and love the the product.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
midnite88
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
People reviewed it as fun... and it is!
11/24/2010

Customer review by ConsiderThis1

5.0 stars 11/24/2010 by ConsiderThis1
by ConsiderThis1

My Weider Total Body Works was delivered twice as fast as the shipping confirmation said. Luckily someone was here to bring it in. I started to put it together by myself, I'm 65 and I bought the machine because after hurting my back I decided I'd better strengthen my muscles so that a small exertion didn't do damage. When I wasn't strong enough to make the final adjustment, which extends the machine, my friend came and helped me. He tried the machine, and immediately was smiling. It is fun to use!!! At first I couldn't get on the machine because my balance is extremely bad and I couldn't step over it to reach a straddling position. My friend suggested sitting on the side, then putting a leg over, and that worked. I've had it about two weeks and already my legs are stronger and my balance is improving. I took digital images of the exercise poster that's provided, then cropped them and arranged the ones I most need to do on a single sheet, which I printed and put up on the wall. Later I made a second sheet with additional exercises cropped from the digital images. It's amazing to me that I can do exercises on this machine that I used to do (years ago) at the gym. Happiness!!!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConsiderThis1
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Great value to start exercising
7/2/2011

Customer review by SpiritWalker7

4.0 stars 7/2/2011 by SpiritWalker7
by SpiritWalker7

Totally worth the price. Great value for beginning exercising. Please do not pay the full price for the other gym until you get this workout machine. If you are looking to get started exercising or just beginning, this is a great place to start to see if you like it and can stick with it. I purchased mine two months ago and shipped site to store which took less than a week (shipping box fit in our minivan with 2nd row and 3rd row seats down). Here is what I have noticed in the last eight weeks of working out (20 minutes a day, resting on Sunday). Pros: great for upper body workout, solid construction – it does not wobble while using (I weigh 190), the incline is easy to maneuver – but hold the unit when pulling the pin or it will fall and possibly pinch your fingers, unit is lightweight when assembled (which only took 10 minutes – very easy), a fraction of the cost of other home gyms Cons: not as good for lower body workout, instruction poster okay with no other manual for potential workouts, takes up some space I have lost 10 pounds in the last two months (cutting out soda and eating better – portion control) and already starting to notice a difference in my upper body shape. Of the exercises on the posters, I do 2-3 per day of 3 sets of 12 resting for no more than a minute in between. If I make it to the 12th rep on the 3 set, then I up the incline by one the next time around. Not striving for fast results, striving for lifestyle change to exercise and this piece of equipment works GREAT.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpiritWalker7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing piece of a machine at an affordable price!
1/8/2014

Customer review by Mudkicker78

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by Mudkicker78
by Mudkicker78

There is no workout book, just a machine, heavy duty construction rated for 250LBS. I was 275 (Dec. 27 2013), today while writing this review I weighed in at 266 (January 8 2014) The exercises you can do with this machine compliment phase 1 of South beach diet perfectly. You can look up all kinds of videos on YouTube on how to do all your exercises. They get harder with the incline higher, or if incline is to much you can use any combo of the 4 resistance bands available and already installed on the machine. The machine took about 20 minutes to put together, tightening a few bolts and putting foot board and handlebars on. 2 draw backs, it extends and collapses like a ladder, and is kind of heavy, thus making storage a pain in the butt. I leave it out anyway so it really isn't a problem to me. it is about 7 feet long extended so you do need room for it. The other drawback is the foot board could have been bigger. All in all it is an amazing workout for 150 dollars. I have heard people say the Ultimate and 5000 are the same, but someone on YouTube is saying this is beefier than the 5000. I would get this one because of that.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mudkicker78
CapeCod, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
great gym and a great price
2/23/2013

Customer review by TheBigCman

4.0 stars 2/23/2013 by TheBigCman
by TheBigCman

Gym is much sturdier than i expected it to be. Recommended weight limit is 250lbs, but I'm 265 and handles my weight perfectly. Great value, works just as well as the more expensive total gym but for a third of the price. My only complaint would be the bungee straps. They are supposed to add resistance, but even when all are connected i barely notice a difference. Overall a great piece of equipment at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBigCman
omaha, ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Craftsmanship, Loud and Wobbly
9/19/2011

Customer review by HeatherAU

2.0 stars 9/19/2011 by HeatherAU
by HeatherAU

PROS: Inexpensive, easy to assemble, a lot of exercise options, good for beginners CONS: Loud, wobbly, doesn't glide smoothly, not challenging enough for advanced users OVERALL: I normally don't write reviews but I want to take a moment to express my disappointment in this product. When I ordered this machine, I did so because of the good reviews but after the first usage I'm really sorry I went through with purchasing it. I have worked out consistantly for about 10 years at a lot of gyms, using a number of different lines of equipment (Life Fitness, Free Motion, Techno Gym, Hammer Strength). Don't expect to get the same feel from this $150 machine that you would from any of those manufacturers. It's incredibly noisy, wobbly and doesn't glide smoothly. It is a good concept and could be a really nice piece if more effort, time and money was put into the craftsmanship of it. If you are used to working out at a gym or if you are at a fitness level of intermediate to advanced, I would skip this product.

Was this review helpful? (41) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HeatherAU
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
some good some bad
3/28/2012

Customer review by wormy1

3.0 stars 3/28/2012 by wormy1
by wormy1

This is definately a cheaper version of the one that chuck norris hacks. but the difference isn't worth the price and i've used both. as a workout tool it works great. the foot plate isn't padded...the foam is cheap, but it works. My biggest gripe is that it won't extend or collapse easily and it is a bit heavy for one person to manipulate. i've already smashed a nail becasue the incline mechanism is sloppy and has a lot of play. Overall i'd give it 5-stars for functionality, 3 stars for construction and 2-stars for manuervability, thus the 3- star overall...but! IT WORKS and that is the bottom line... still...i give it a buy, just know that it is heavy and takes a bit work to set it up and put it away.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wormy1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Surprise
3/20/2011

Customer review by Trunx41

5.0 stars 3/20/2011 by Trunx41
by Trunx41

Hi, I thought I was buying another "As seen on TV product". Early impressions, this this is solid. Works great, I have been using it about 2 weeks now, and everything is better than expected. I weigh about 250lbs and it really handles me with no problem. I really feel I get a good workout and build a pretty good sweat too. It takes a little more space than expected, stretches out to about 7-8 feet long but I work around it. (fyi to buyers have space ready) And be ready to be inventive on the exercises. It comes with a poster for exercises about 40 or so, but its not very descriptive, or detailed. Youtube is a good resource and imagination helps. Whats cool though is it keeps you thinking about how to create exercises that would meet your needs. But overall i am very pleased with the product and hope to have some great results.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trunx41
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 658 total reviews
1-20 of 658 reviews