Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 389 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

389 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

389 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
241
4 stars
99
3 stars
19
2 stars
17
1 stars
13
1-20 of 361 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 361 total reviews
1-20 of 361 reviews
Great product
11/30/2009

Customer review by chasf

5.0 stars 11/30/2009 by chasf
by chasf

I have owned many cameras in my time, One complaint I always had was picture quality, well this camera I have to say has the best overall picture quality of any camera I ever had, I actually like the manula flash that most here complain about, to me it is better than going in a digital menue to shut off or turn on, it takes 1 second and done. Now as far as speed goes okay yeah it is not super fast but I don't see the problem there because I am not taking pic after pic as fast as I can.... If you prefer quality I greatly recomend this camera, it has met and exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (89) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chasf
Wellsboro Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera!
10/20/2009

Customer review by 22LL

5.0 stars 10/20/2009 by 22LL
by 22LL

I would have to agree with just about everything the other reviewer stated! I love this camera and have been taking great pics with it. One of the best things about it is its zoom capability. 10x optical is excellent for this price! I have taken close up pics of my babies face while sitting about 8 ft. from her and it looks like I'm sitting inches away. This is great when you don't want to disturb what is going on. I actually prefer and love the manual raise flash because it makes it really easy for me to opt not to use it instead of going through various settings. The only complaint I have is that it does take a little time for the flash to recharge in between shots. It isn't excessive but you do have to wait a few seconds sometimes.

Was this review helpful? (85) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
22LL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great camera!
10/8/2009

Customer review by Hattie2

5.0 stars 10/8/2009 by Hattie2
by Hattie2

I love this camera. Takes great shots. Easy to use. The zoom is terrific. Zoomed into a dark room and the flash made it look like I took the picture in daylight. Only thing I don't like is the manual raising of the flash cover.

Was this review helpful? (67) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hattie2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I Love It
11/22/2009

Customer review by smoothface

5.0 stars 11/22/2009 by smoothface
by smoothface

A wonderful camera, easy to operate, it gives beautiful pictures. Recovery time between pictures is the main reason I purchased this camera Love it

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smoothface
Palm Coast, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I LOVE this camera!!
2/20/2010

Customer review by JustMyName

5.0 stars 2/20/2010 by JustMyName
by JustMyName

I love this camera!! I purchased 4 different cameras since Xmas, trying to find the perfect one for me...2 of the latest Z models from Kodak, a Nikon, and this Canon!...I returned them all and kept the Canon... I am no expert photographer, so I cannot offer an expert opinion but based on the results of my pictures so far, I can only say that I LOVE it!! It has awesome zoom, awesome macro, awesome close ups, and the video is not bad at all!...The full manual has to be downloaded & printed out, all 144 pages of it, but if you want to get fully acquainted with it, it's a must! It has a good feel to it. Not heavy, not bulky, and not cheaply made. I wish the mode dial was raised a little more than it is, but it'll do. Fits perfectly in my purse. Rechargeable batteries are a must!! The picture I'm showing is a tree outside my house, at somewhere around 3-5 X zoom...It was still snowing, and was I was not outside, so it isn't crystal clear...I hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustMyName
Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Nice Camera
1/8/2010

Customer review by BakingNut

5.0 stars 1/8/2010 by BakingNut
by BakingNut

This camera takes great pictures and video and its easy to use. We have taken a lot of video over the holidays as well as pictures and it did great! You just have to remember to pull the flash up. It doesn't automatically come on when you power on the camera.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BakingNut
Elberon, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
THIS IS A GREAT CAMERA
3/11/2010

Customer review by Devvon

5.0 stars 3/11/2010 by Devvon
by Devvon

I bought this camera because I wanted to capture moments at family get togethers. But not only that, I got it for photography. I'm really passionate about photography and I got it as an upgrade from a regular point and shoot digital camera. But I wasn't ready to get a DSLR camera just yet. This camera taught me everything I needed to know about DSLR cameras and I feel like I'm now prepared to move up. The picture quality is AMAZING. I love it. It exceeded my expectations. It's a great camera for a really great price. I personally think this camera is worth more than it's sold for. I would recommend this for anyone who just loves to take pictures or wants to capture moments on the holidays, etc. It's all around a great camera. Kudos to Canon.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Devvon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Camera
2/20/2010

Customer review by RiversidePostman

5.0 stars 2/20/2010 by RiversidePostman
by RiversidePostman

This camera is great, it takes crisp clear pics. My old camera was a 3.2mp Nikon, that I've had for about 6 or 7 yrs, and it was good but I've searched for a much better camera (10 or 12 mp w/high zoom) for about a yr now and most that I found were alot more money. I got the Canon PS SX120-IS at the best price that I could find online and it was bundled with a 4gb mem card for $199.99.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RiversidePostman
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very dissappointing
11/17/2009

Customer review by galica

3.0 stars 11/17/2009 by galica
by galica

I would not recommend this camera if you have small children because of the delay after each picture! it can be up to 10 seconds which may not seem like a long time to most but i have small children and need to beable to take pictures quickly to get the best shot! i am returning it today!

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
galica
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
She LOVES it!!!!
4/4/2010

Customer review by SiteToStoreGuy

5.0 stars 4/4/2010 by SiteToStoreGuy
by SiteToStoreGuy

Bought the Canon PowerShot SX120 for my wife, on her birthday. I did mega amounts of research to get the best camera possible for the money I had available. She LOVES it! Lots of features, well thought out, takes a bit of time to learn how to use it, but right out of the box it takes GREAT pictures. Easy to use, easy to view photos on your computer monitor or even a 40" Flat Panel TV. Pictures even look great at 40", that's amazing. My wife has shown it to friends who used to love their cameras, and she says they all want to trade her for the PowerShot SX120 she has. I guess that says a lot. Buy this camera, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SiteToStoreGuy
Hamilton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Camera
7/2/2010

Customer review by BDB97

5.0 stars 7/2/2010 by BDB97
by BDB97

I got this camera for my birthday yesterday and cannot stop using it! I really do love it, and so far, I can't find anything that bothers me on it. So many special picture modes it has, like: sunset, firework, aquarium, and more! I would highly recommend to anybody who is whatsoever interested in this camera! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BDB97
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
disappointing for Canon Camera
1/24/2010

Customer review by SenderOfCards

2.0 stars 1/24/2010 by SenderOfCards
by SenderOfCards

Took several photos including portraits with this camera and they all came out fuzzy (pixel issue) and the color was off (light skin tones looked yellow/green). My husband has the older model of this camera with 8x optical zoom and compared shots taken with both cameras side by side on his computer monitor which confirmed our suspicion that the camera was defective. Very disappointed in canon. Returned camera for a refund because other reviews had similar complaints but I did not want to believe them. Now I do.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SenderOfCards
Margate, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Sharp Pics, Great Zoom
5/8/2010

Customer review by dvelosky

4.0 stars 5/8/2010 by dvelosky
by dvelosky

Already own the highly rated Canon SD 1000, but wanted the 10X zoom capabilities and the added 3+ mps is a bonus. Have a fully tricked out Pentax DSLR, but can't beat the spontaneity of a point and shoot. This camera fills that bill to a tee.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dvelosky
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very disappointed
8/19/2010

Customer review by beachgoer1992

1.0 stars 8/19/2010 by beachgoer1992
by beachgoer1992

Loved this camera when I first bought it. Takes excellent pictures and video. For what I paid for the camera, I was very impressed. I bought the camera on 4/1/10 and about a month after I bought it, I would occassionally get a "lense error" message. Thought nothing of it, would just restart my camera and it was fine. On 8/14/10 I got the same message on my camera and it never reset itself. Basically, the camera stopped working after only 4 short months. I just spoke with a friend of mine who said she, a friend of hers and her mother-in-law had the same experience with the same camera. So apparently there is an issue with the lense in this camera and it will not last long. I contacted Canon and will have to get the camera rebuilt to have it work again. I am extremely disappointed and will never buy this product again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beachgoer1992
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I expected more out of Canon!
12/26/2009

Customer review by ittymommy77

1.0 stars 12/26/2009 by ittymommy77
by ittymommy77

I got this camera for Christmas and was so excited to start using it, but to my disappointment I was completely turned off of this camera, first the shutter is sooooooooo slow in medium to low lighting so I missed a lot of good pictures waiting for it to take, then once it does and the flash goes off you have to wait 15-20 seconds for the flash to reload, so there goes a whole bunch more good pics I missed! I have 2 kids and they move quickly and this camera does not meet my expectations, taking it back ASAP!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ittymommy77
Rockledge, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great camera
1/7/2010

Customer review by tootietoot43

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by tootietoot43
by tootietoot43

I love the way the pictures come out and all the settings that this camera has. I bought this camera for my husband and I have used it more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tootietoot43
SpringHill, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very nice camera
7/1/2011

Customer review by ednabu

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by ednabu
by ednabu

I have tried to Find a good camera From the most expensive $800.00 to the ones that was $150.00 I saw a lady at our park and she was taking pictures of this little squirrel in the tree. I ask what kind was she using and she told me the canon 120 so i went looking for one they where sold out at 2 stores next to me but the 3rd store had one left bought it and it works better than any I have tried . So excited that I found this camera I love it easy to use from the first time i picked it up. Buy it, you wont be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ednabu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
4/29/2010

Customer review by sparklekittin

4.0 stars 4/29/2010 by sparklekittin
by sparklekittin

I am very happy with this camera except for one thing. It's my fault since I should have paid more attention when looking at it in the store. The quality of pictures is great but it drives me crazy that I have to manually open the flash. I was used to the flash just being on the front of my other cameras but you have to flip it up on this one. Not a huge thing but I don't think I would have gotten this camera had a noticed it at the store. Other than that it really is a great camera.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sparklekittin
Buda, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/17/2010

Customer review by PAPPABEARRRRRRR

5.0 stars 3/17/2010 by PAPPABEARRRRRRR
by PAPPABEARRRRRRR

battery door sticks, very hard to open, scared I am going to break it in regular usage!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PAPPABEARRRRRRR
ALA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Camera
7/14/2010

Customer review by BR1126

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by BR1126
by BR1126

Pros: Full manual control. Well Build, well Designed Camera. Excellent Auto shoot mode, user friendly Menus. Big Bright 3" Display screen. Awesome battery life, uses AA batteries which is great (200+ pictures on single charge, i used rechargeable battery). Cons: No HD Video. Summary: I bought this camera thinking it is going to be a normal point and shoot average photos but I was wrong. When I used it at first and was totally surprised with the image quality, then used it at night and was blown away again. It will never be able to match the quality of higher end Canon cameras but for a point and shoot I am totally impressed, i have attached pictures for you to review.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BR1126
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 361 total reviews
1-20 of 361 reviews