Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
110
4 stars
41
3 stars
17
2 stars
17
1 stars
11
1-20 of 179 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 179 total reviews
1-20 of 179 reviews
value for money
8/9/2011

Customer review by somugsundar

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by somugsundar
by somugsundar

really clear sound, still i am not realizing how come this small speaker makes that much big sound. really an value for money. If it had separate control for woofer it will be more good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
somugsundar
Exton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value for the money
11/9/2009

Customer review by KoderKev

4.0 stars 11/9/2009 by KoderKev
by KoderKev

If you are looking for computer speakers, spend the few dollars extra and get a 2.1 system with a sub-woofer - it makes a difference, trust me. These Altec Lansing speakers replace a set of Altec Lansings without the subwoofer, and I can definitely hear the difference. The value of these speakers is good for the price, it met my expectations perfectly, but I'm sure there are better speakers out there (if you want to spend $$$$) so I gave an overall rating of 4 stars. But for me, they are a vast improvement over the lesser 2.0 speakers.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KoderKev
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Speakers for $25
1/18/2010

Customer review by DWF56

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by DWF56
by DWF56

Just bought a new MacBook Pro (aluminum/black) and wanted some inexpensive speakers to enhance the laptop's audio. This compact system by Altec Lansing (a great audio company) caught my eye. They matched my new computer perfectly (aluminum/black) and cost only $25; how bad could they be? Well, all I can say is I am blown away! Not by "audiophile" sound, of course (that can set you back $10,000). But for speakers with a smooth and sweet frequency response of I would estimate at about 120-15,000hz, and a great crossover to the (small 4") down-firing and ported sub-woofer (sounds best on hardwood vs. carpeted surfaces) -- this is the best compact speaker system on the market for $25 -- clean and clear sound; top-notch value.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DWF56
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great speakers
11/25/2009

Customer review by Wolverines1

4.0 stars 11/25/2009 by Wolverines1
by Wolverines1

I think these are great speakers for the money u can't beat them. I paid $25, and they are worth every penny. I thought they looked bad, but they are the perfect height. The sub is just enough. Having a volume control on the speakers is great. I have not turned them up high yet, but if they are right in front of u how load do they have to be. Heck I might buy a set for my mp3 player. So if you want a good set of small speakers buy these....

Was this review helpful? (64) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wolverines1
New Cumberland, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great addition to a tv with poor audio
3/6/2012

Customer review by JuStIn1990

4.0 stars 3/6/2012 by JuStIn1990
by JuStIn1990

i bought this hoping to add sound to my 32" spectre tv which tops out at volume 23 (goes to 70 but doesnt get louder!) and this works perfectly, the cords are perfect length, the speakers are small but loud enough for enjoyable viewing and the little sub adds just enough bass to gaming with out waking my lil one on the other side of the wall. i tested it out with a radio and found the sub to be below my standards so i went to remove the speaker from the box and reverse it (sometimes increases the bass two fold) but this was not the case, upon removing the four screws and lifting the speaker out i noticed a pad, made of insulation in the sub box used as a sound dampener, so i removed that and it did increase the bass enough to keep me satisfied over all its a good little speaker set, very small and discrete with good sound i am a speaker FANATIC and this meets my standards so i recommend buying if your looking to add more clear crisp sound to what you have, be it a ipod, radio, or in my case a flat screen tv BUT i wouldnt recommend it if your looking to rattle the windows in your room

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JuStIn1990
Clear Lake, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
bang for your buck
2/2/2011

Customer review by atomicadam711

4.0 stars 2/2/2011 by atomicadam711
by atomicadam711

these are very nice speakers for a low price but if ur looking for bass look somewhre else but otherwise their very loud and sound great

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
atomicadam711
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good, But...
2/23/2010

Customer review by AggieDad66

3.0 stars 2/23/2010 by AggieDad66
by AggieDad66

A few weeks ago, I purchased a Logitech 980-000023 S220 Multimedia system and was VERY pleased with that purchase. I originally purchased the Logitech system to hook up my MP3 player out in the garage. However, I was so impressed with the sound, that I decided to use the system in the house with my LED HD TV. So, needing another system, I bought the Altec's at a local Wal Mart based on the reviews. My expectations were high since the Altec system got reviews like the Logitech. HOWEVER, after setting them up side by side and listening to the sound quality and performance, the Logitech were MUCH more powerful without distortion. Turns out the output on these are lower than the Logitech. They do sound very good but you just can't pump up the volume on these without distortion like you can on the Logitech. My advice...get the Logitech speakers for the same price. I purchased both to figure that out. Despite being somewhat disappointed, I plan on keeping the Altec's since they do produce great sound at lower volume.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AggieDad66
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
3/14/2011

Customer review by turettesman

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by turettesman
by turettesman

I am very pleased with these speakers, for less than $20 I really didn't expect much, but got a lot. They are not going to rival a $600 set of studio monitors, but they aren't studio monitors, and they only sell for $20. As long as you aren't using your computer as a replacement for a home stereo these speakers will probably serve you well. I have had much more expensive computer speakers and much less expensive, and there is no doubt that you will not find a better value dollar for dollar than these. No, I am not a fanboy, I am just very pleased after several far more expensive disappointments.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
turettesman
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
They are great
6/6/2011

Customer review by SHADOWxWALKER

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by SHADOWxWALKER
by SHADOWxWALKER

I was looking at these speaker for a while and wanted to get them so i did because if the price and the look of it, but i was amazed on the power that these things have the bass is just amazeing for small speakers these things pack a punch

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SHADOWxWALKER
St. Charles MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WEAK "subwoofer", better than laptop speakers.
7/29/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 7/29/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Moving some furniture around, I broke my old 2.1 subwoofer, a sturdy, heavy, LOUD, thumping 2.1 speaker set.. I didn't want to wait til payday so I could spend a few bucks more for a better set of speakers. I wanted something right away. I read the reviews for all the $20-30 "2.1" speaker systems and felt good about purchasing this one. When I went to pick it up at Walmart, the box was *tiny* and weighed close to nothing.. Still, I had hope. I hooked them up and they were mediocre at best. I thought I could punch up the bass by fussing with the EQ on my music player, but what about internet videos? In short, I tried to make a lot of excuses for these speakers, but they just don't cut it. I've spotted a 32w speaker system (not 12w or whatever this is) on Walmart.com for about $40 that I will be purchasing to replace these. These will probably get handed down to my girlfriend .. for the kitchen. BUYER BEWARE!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A lot of value for the money
8/22/2011

Customer review by 12string55

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by 12string55
by 12string55

Having owned Altec Lansing systems before, I was drawn by the name in my choice of speakers for my lap top computer. As a free lance writer, I spend a great deal of time in front of my computer and wanted something better than the laptop computer speakers as I worked. I definitely got a better solution. I was very surprised when I hooked up the system and fired them up. With 9 watts total power, I expected to have a little better than the micro speakers I was already using. But the sound coming from these speakers is of a quality and quantity that is far above what I expected. I highly recommend this system to anyone looking for an inexpensive alternative. They are not as good as the system I had that cost 5 times as much ten years ago, but their performance is at least half their more expensive counterparts.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
12string55
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/3/2012

Customer review by ndrim1

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by ndrim1
by ndrim1

This is the best under $30 sound system you could ever buy! When I picked this item up for the price I figured it would sound bad. Once I turned it on and hooked it to my IPOD, O my GOD is all I can say! It sounds just as good as a BOSE stereo system. Very clear deep bass coming from the very small in size bass subwoofer with very clear and loud speaker sound coming from the two tub speakers. Even when I turned it up to the max the sound stayed the same with no cracking. Very well put together system. If I did not tell you the price of this item you would think that I spent at least $100 or more. You can't go wrong with this Item.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ndrim1
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great little speakers for $25
1/4/2010

Customer review by Prairiehawk

5.0 stars 1/4/2010 by Prairiehawk
by Prairiehawk
Top 1000 contributor

I bought these speakers to replace the ones that came with my computer and was very pleasantly surprised at the clarity and volume of sound they produce. Even the small subwoofer puts out when there's a lot of bass. For $25 you can't beat them.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Prairiehawk
Moorhead, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
amazing
3/16/2011

Customer review by matt425

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by matt425
by matt425

it gives you a studio/concert feel for the price id recommend it to everyone that wants an amazing high price sound for a cheap price

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
matt425
gulfport ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for $20 (MP3/Computer)
3/15/2011

Customer review by Dhaust

4.0 stars 3/15/2011 by Dhaust
by Dhaust

the best $20 speakers ive ever had. I use these at home and I'm gonna buy a another for Mp3 listening at work.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dhaust
Chesterton,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's better than no PC speakers at all
5/30/2010

Customer review by 23987234

4.0 stars 5/30/2010 by 23987234
by 23987234

For the price, these Altec speakers are great. On an absolute scale, so-so. They are good enough that while watching The Incredibles DVD, you can stop listening to the speakers and enjoy the movie. But, they don't sound as good as good home theater speakers. Here are the sonic deficiencies I've noticed: 1. You can't crank the music up to orchestral levels. The unit is powered by a wall wart providing 9VAC at 1000 mA, so power is limited, and loud transients at moderate volumes are distorted. 2. The highest sounds that provide sparkle are missing. This may because of the satellite speaker's 2" driver. 3. In complex orchestral works, such as the 1812 where the bells start pealing, the instruments lack clarity. 4. When listening to sub-woofer test tones, in addition to the tones I hard lots of rattles, some of which may have been due to other junk near the speakers, but some of which may have been due to resonances of the 4" subwoofer's plastic enclosure. This problem was less noticeable during actual music. All the electrical connections are made to the right speaker. The power cord from the wall wart, which is somewhat short at a little less than 5 feet, plugs in there, as well as the subwoofer. The left speaker is permanently attached to the right by about 38" of wire, so that's the maximum separation of the speakers. There is a power switch on the back of the right speaker, a volume control on top, and an amber power-on LED in front. The self-noise of these speakers is inaudible. The specs printed on the box include: Two 2" full-range drivers 4" down-firing subwoofer Sound Pressure level (SPL) 84 dB Total Continuous Power: 9 Watts RMS Each speaker: 2 Watts per channel @ 4 Ohms @ 10% THD @ 180 - 18 kHz Subwoofer: 5 Watts @ 4 Ohms @ 10% THD @ 50 - 180 Hz (-10dB) Signal to Noise Ratio @ 1 kHz input > 74 dB I'm glad that Altec provides these specs; many cheap speaker makers don't bother, hoping to sell a pig in a poke. In summary, if you just want to watch DVDs and normal PC sounds, these speakers will do the job, and are a bargain. If you are seriously into music, you'll want to get something better.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
23987234
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quite pleased
6/6/2011

Customer review by vestalallen

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by vestalallen
by vestalallen

Bought these to use with a laptop with an external monitor for watching movies. Only took few minutes of playing with eq settings to get the sound I wanted. To reduce distortion turn up the volume of the source and turn down the volume of the speakers. I your computer desk is made of wood put the sub woofer on a bottom shelf and not on the floor. It will turn your desk into a speaker. I can crank this up loud enough to annoy my neighbors with it and it still sounds good. Don't use my computer for music so I can't speak to that. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vestalallen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Still going strong after 3+ Years
6/26/2012

Customer review by HockeyGuyJason

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by HockeyGuyJason
by HockeyGuyJason
Top 50 contributor

Okay. You won't find a lot of bass here, But what you will find is durability. I've had these cranked up pretty loud , almost all the time, and after 3+ years these speakers still sound like new. I've owned plenty of speakers in the past, and they did not surpass the product life that these still have in them. You can set the subwoofer anywhere you want but its most effective and richer in sound if its below a desk. AC Adapter is a little thick for my wall outlet preferences but I have a surge protector that gives me ample space to plug in bulky adapters as such. For the most part you don't need a computer to utilize these they fit many popular MP3 Players such as iPod, and some Android Phones too. For some devices that have a smaller jack you may need a converter, but these can be gotten at your local Walmart for not too much money. Overall, a solid piece of work this speaker unit is.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HockeyGuyJason
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
DO NOT BUY!!!
8/21/2011

Customer review by zadoc777

1.0 stars 8/21/2011 by zadoc777
by zadoc777

Do not buy. I thought I would give these a try. I am old school and respected Altec Lansing enough to give it a shot. The sound is soooo very distorted, especially the bass, that it is impossible to use at full volume (or anywhere near it).Also the cord is so short that I cannot plug it in to my laptop and still put the laptop in my lap. Sometimes there are great products at Walmart with a little known name, such as my surround sound for the desktop I got years ago for 35 bucks and it sounds as good as my Sony home theater that was 400 bucks...of course I got it on sale with a rebate. Nevertheless I'm game for trying new products! You never know. Just save your time and skip this one. I already did the work for you! Hope this helps:D

Was this review helpful? (6) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zadoc777
Hanover,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
room full of sound
3/12/2011

Customer review by ntcl4

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by ntcl4
by ntcl4

This is a amazing system , the bass is strong and the speakers are full of clean and clear sound (absolutely no distortion) .Very Pleased with the product and performance and the price is just ,well perfect... The reviews (almost 5 stars out of nearly 80 people as of 3-12-11) were a big help to me to decide which one to buy ,also the style . I was looking for something that would fit on my smaller computer desk and this is it .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ntcl4
New Braunfels , TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1-20 of 179 reviews