Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
110
4 stars
41
3 stars
17
2 stars
17
1 stars
11
1-20 of 179 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 179 total reviews
1-20 of 179 reviews
Great speakers
11/25/2009

Customer review by Wolverines1

4.0 stars 11/25/2009 by Wolverines1
by Wolverines1

I think these are great speakers for the money u can't beat them. I paid $25, and they are worth every penny. I thought they looked bad, but they are the perfect height. The sub is just enough. Having a volume control on the speakers is great. I have not turned them up high yet, but if they are right in front of u how load do they have to be. Heck I might buy a set for my mp3 player. So if you want a good set of small speakers buy these....

Was this review helpful? (64) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wolverines1
New Cumberland, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Speakers for $25
1/18/2010

Customer review by DWF56

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by DWF56
by DWF56

Just bought a new MacBook Pro (aluminum/black) and wanted some inexpensive speakers to enhance the laptop's audio. This compact system by Altec Lansing (a great audio company) caught my eye. They matched my new computer perfectly (aluminum/black) and cost only $25; how bad could they be? Well, all I can say is I am blown away! Not by "audiophile" sound, of course (that can set you back $10,000). But for speakers with a smooth and sweet frequency response of I would estimate at about 120-15,000hz, and a great crossover to the (small 4") down-firing and ported sub-woofer (sounds best on hardwood vs. carpeted surfaces) -- this is the best compact speaker system on the market for $25 -- clean and clear sound; top-notch value.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DWF56
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value for the money
11/9/2009

Customer review by KoderKev

4.0 stars 11/9/2009 by KoderKev
by KoderKev

If you are looking for computer speakers, spend the few dollars extra and get a 2.1 system with a sub-woofer - it makes a difference, trust me. These Altec Lansing speakers replace a set of Altec Lansings without the subwoofer, and I can definitely hear the difference. The value of these speakers is good for the price, it met my expectations perfectly, but I'm sure there are better speakers out there (if you want to spend $$$$) so I gave an overall rating of 4 stars. But for me, they are a vast improvement over the lesser 2.0 speakers.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KoderKev
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
bang for your buck
2/2/2011

Customer review by atomicadam711

4.0 stars 2/2/2011 by atomicadam711
by atomicadam711

these are very nice speakers for a low price but if ur looking for bass look somewhre else but otherwise their very loud and sound great

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
atomicadam711
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/14/2011

Customer review by turettesman

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by turettesman
by turettesman

I am very pleased with these speakers, for less than $20 I really didn't expect much, but got a lot. They are not going to rival a $600 set of studio monitors, but they aren't studio monitors, and they only sell for $20. As long as you aren't using your computer as a replacement for a home stereo these speakers will probably serve you well. I have had much more expensive computer speakers and much less expensive, and there is no doubt that you will not find a better value dollar for dollar than these. No, I am not a fanboy, I am just very pleased after several far more expensive disappointments.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turettesman
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's better than no PC speakers at all
5/30/2010

Customer review by 23987234

4.0 stars 5/30/2010 by 23987234
by 23987234

For the price, these Altec speakers are great. On an absolute scale, so-so. They are good enough that while watching The Incredibles DVD, you can stop listening to the speakers and enjoy the movie. But, they don't sound as good as good home theater speakers. Here are the sonic deficiencies I've noticed: 1. You can't crank the music up to orchestral levels. The unit is powered by a wall wart providing 9VAC at 1000 mA, so power is limited, and loud transients at moderate volumes are distorted. 2. The highest sounds that provide sparkle are missing. This may because of the satellite speaker's 2" driver. 3. In complex orchestral works, such as the 1812 where the bells start pealing, the instruments lack clarity. 4. When listening to sub-woofer test tones, in addition to the tones I hard lots of rattles, some of which may have been due to other junk near the speakers, but some of which may have been due to resonances of the 4" subwoofer's plastic enclosure. This problem was less noticeable during actual music. All the electrical connections are made to the right speaker. The power cord from the wall wart, which is somewhat short at a little less than 5 feet, plugs in there, as well as the subwoofer. The left speaker is permanently attached to the right by about 38" of wire, so that's the maximum separation of the speakers. There is a power switch on the back of the right speaker, a volume control on top, and an amber power-on LED in front. The self-noise of these speakers is inaudible. The specs printed on the box include: Two 2" full-range drivers 4" down-firing subwoofer Sound Pressure level (SPL) 84 dB Total Continuous Power: 9 Watts RMS Each speaker: 2 Watts per channel @ 4 Ohms @ 10% THD @ 180 - 18 kHz Subwoofer: 5 Watts @ 4 Ohms @ 10% THD @ 50 - 180 Hz (-10dB) Signal to Noise Ratio @ 1 kHz input > 74 dB I'm glad that Altec provides these specs; many cheap speaker makers don't bother, hoping to sell a pig in a poke. In summary, if you just want to watch DVDs and normal PC sounds, these speakers will do the job, and are a bargain. If you are seriously into music, you'll want to get something better.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
23987234
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
They are great
6/6/2011

Customer review by SHADOWxWALKER

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by SHADOWxWALKER
by SHADOWxWALKER

I was looking at these speaker for a while and wanted to get them so i did because if the price and the look of it, but i was amazed on the power that these things have the bass is just amazeing for small speakers these things pack a punch

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SHADOWxWALKER
St. Charles MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great little speakers for $25
1/4/2010

Customer review by Prairiehawk

5.0 stars 1/4/2010 by Prairiehawk
by Prairiehawk

I bought these speakers to replace the ones that came with my computer and was very pleasantly surprised at the clarity and volume of sound they produce. Even the small subwoofer puts out when there's a lot of bass. For $25 you can't beat them.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Prairiehawk
Moorhead, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
amazing
3/16/2011

Customer review by matt425

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by matt425
by matt425

it gives you a studio/concert feel for the price id recommend it to everyone that wants an amazing high price sound for a cheap price

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
matt425
gulfport ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for $20 (MP3/Computer)
3/15/2011

Customer review by Dhaust

4.0 stars 3/15/2011 by Dhaust
by Dhaust

the best $20 speakers ive ever had. I use these at home and I'm gonna buy a another for Mp3 listening at work.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dhaust
Chesterton,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sound for such little speakers!
3/25/2011

Customer review by hollyllama11

5.0 stars 3/25/2011 by hollyllama11
by hollyllama11

The speakers on my laptop are horrible, so I purchased these speakers to plug into it. The difference is amazing! These are great if you want portable quality and easy hook up. The sub is great for bass power too!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hollyllama11
Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
room full of sound
3/12/2011

Customer review by ntcl4

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by ntcl4
by ntcl4

This is a amazing system , the bass is strong and the speakers are full of clean and clear sound (absolutely no distortion) .Very Pleased with the product and performance and the price is just ,well perfect... The reviews (almost 5 stars out of nearly 80 people as of 3-12-11) were a big help to me to decide which one to buy ,also the style . I was looking for something that would fit on my smaller computer desk and this is it .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ntcl4
New Braunfels , TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/3/2012

Customer review by ndrim1

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by ndrim1
by ndrim1

This is the best under $30 sound system you could ever buy! When I picked this item up for the price I figured it would sound bad. Once I turned it on and hooked it to my IPOD, O my GOD is all I can say! It sounds just as good as a BOSE stereo system. Very clear deep bass coming from the very small in size bass subwoofer with very clear and loud speaker sound coming from the two tub speakers. Even when I turned it up to the max the sound stayed the same with no cracking. Very well put together system. If I did not tell you the price of this item you would think that I spent at least $100 or more. You can't go wrong with this Item.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ndrim1
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quite pleased
6/6/2011

Customer review by vestalallen

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by vestalallen
by vestalallen

Bought these to use with a laptop with an external monitor for watching movies. Only took few minutes of playing with eq settings to get the sound I wanted. To reduce distortion turn up the volume of the source and turn down the volume of the speakers. I your computer desk is made of wood put the sub woofer on a bottom shelf and not on the floor. It will turn your desk into a speaker. I can crank this up loud enough to annoy my neighbors with it and it still sounds good. Don't use my computer for music so I can't speak to that. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vestalallen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great addition to a tv with poor audio
3/6/2012

Customer review by JuStIn1990

4.0 stars 3/6/2012 by JuStIn1990
by JuStIn1990

i bought this hoping to add sound to my 32" spectre tv which tops out at volume 23 (goes to 70 but doesnt get louder!) and this works perfectly, the cords are perfect length, the speakers are small but loud enough for enjoyable viewing and the little sub adds just enough bass to gaming with out waking my lil one on the other side of the wall. i tested it out with a radio and found the sub to be below my standards so i went to remove the speaker from the box and reverse it (sometimes increases the bass two fold) but this was not the case, upon removing the four screws and lifting the speaker out i noticed a pad, made of insulation in the sub box used as a sound dampener, so i removed that and it did increase the bass enough to keep me satisfied over all its a good little speaker set, very small and discrete with good sound i am a speaker FANATIC and this meets my standards so i recommend buying if your looking to add more clear crisp sound to what you have, be it a ipod, radio, or in my case a flat screen tv BUT i wouldnt recommend it if your looking to rattle the windows in your room

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JuStIn1990
Clear Lake, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/12/2011

Customer review by gdenih

1.0 stars 8/12/2011 by gdenih
by gdenih

I returned this product. I like sound and bass--these speakers do not produce that. The volume does not increase very loud. However, if you don't require bass and volume, for the price--these speakers may work for you.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gdenih
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Not for my needs..
6/21/2011

Customer review by Wilsonnp

1.0 stars 6/21/2011 by Wilsonnp
by Wilsonnp

If these speakers were in a small quiet office setting they would be great. I got them for use in a large garage to plug iPod into. Great sound but not loud enough.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wilsonnp
77511
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Would not buy them.
8/23/2011

Customer review by NYBetty

1.0 stars 8/23/2011 by NYBetty
by NYBetty

I picked these up yesterday and I am returning them. I cannot turn the volume up enough. If used at the desk alone I guess they would be ok. I want to use them with the laptop in the kitchen while cooking and I cannot hear the voices hardly at all. I have some old speakers from WalMart that they no longer carry and they are wonderful, I would like a set for every room of my house. This set is worthless.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYBetty
Johnstown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good sound from these speakers
1/18/2013

Customer review by Vari

4.0 stars 1/18/2013 by Vari
by Vari

For the price, these little speakers are worth every penny and give a good sound. They aren't BOSE but for a lot of people who hardly care about all the symphonic sounds they would work perfectly. I myself prefer good tones and all but am not able to afford the best speakers out there and these do me fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vari
Spartanburg, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT BUY!!!
8/21/2011

Customer review by zadoc777

1.0 stars 8/21/2011 by zadoc777
by zadoc777

Do not buy. I thought I would give these a try. I am old school and respected Altec Lansing enough to give it a shot. The sound is soooo very distorted, especially the bass, that it is impossible to use at full volume (or anywhere near it).Also the cord is so short that I cannot plug it in to my laptop and still put the laptop in my lap. Sometimes there are great products at Walmart with a little known name, such as my surround sound for the desktop I got years ago for 35 bucks and it sounds as good as my Sony home theater that was 400 bucks...of course I got it on sale with a rebate. Nevertheless I'm game for trying new products! You never know. Just save your time and skip this one. I already did the work for you! Hope this helps:D

Was this review helpful? (6) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zadoc777
Hanover,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1-20 of 179 reviews