Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 104 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

104 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

104 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 98 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews
No Smell Finally!
3/16/2010

Customer review by digdoug

5.0 stars 3/16/2010 by digdoug
by digdoug

My wife and I have a two year old and a new baby boy. For our older child we received the Diaper Genie pail. I have had nothing but problems with that thing. It was bulky and cubersome, the smell never seemed to stop. Plus the cost of the refills added up way to quick. On our registry this time, all we wanted was a diaper pail not named Genie. My mother bought us the DIAPER CHAMP! Finally my dreams are fulfilled. There was no smell...seriously none at all. One time I tried to put a diaper in there but the lid wouldn't rotate. I thought it was broken. Nope just full. There was over a week's worth of a two year old and a newborn's diapers and there was no smell, so much so I thought it was empty. Take it from someone that has been burned in the past with the refill bags, it does add up. The Diaper Champ does have it's own bag, and it's an awesome thick bag, but here's the cool thing. If you run out of refill bags you can use any bag in your house. It's nice to have the thick sturdy bag but its great to know that in a pinch I can use a grocery bag or a regular trash bag. Completely worth the price and I will never again utter the words Diaper Genie

Was this review helpful? (120) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
digdoug
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fabulous Product!
4/11/2010

Customer review by SnowMama2

5.0 stars 4/11/2010 by SnowMama2
by SnowMama2

The diaper champ definitely keeps the odor inside the pail. My daughter and I could be playing on the floor next to it and there is no smell at all. Even when you turn the handle to put another diaper in, no smell escapes. We've had it for 2 years now and it is well worth the money! As the other review said, the pail could be full of dirty diapers and you would never know it. There is only one warning I have to give about using this product- Because the smell is trapped so well inside, if you put really stinky diapers in there, you will get knocked over by the odor when you open it to change the bag. While our baby was nursing, this wasn't an issue at all. But when our DD started regular food and whole milk full time, we started putting only wet diapers in the diaper champ just because the smell while opening it was so strong. We also use the garbage bags that have the "odor-shield" just so it is a little nicer when we change the bag each week. This is a great product and it makes having to do diaper duty a little easier.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SnowMama2
Vail, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ALERT YOUNG THRIFTY MOMS: Best Choice Overall
10/1/2011

Customer review by MommaPractical

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by MommaPractical
by MommaPractical

A lot of people complain about the pale smelling anyway, but ALL diaper disposals smell. The Arm and Hammer one has a special baking soda dropper but the pale is so tiny and hard to remove the bag from. I have a second child on the way and a broken Diaper Geni II Elite. I received it as a gift, and I received a Diaper Champ as a hand-me-down. It's a little small but that's because its the right size that when it's full- TAKE IT OUT. Don't know if people realize that if you just keep adding diapers they weigh ontop of each other and eventually squeaze the bottom ones like a sponge. Next thing you know, the reason your pale smells is because the bag ripped and there's waste spilling into the pale. I've had it happen and it's not fun to clean. Plus no one wants to carry heavy dirty diaper bags. Its amazing for when money is tight and you need to use grocery bags as a last result which we do A LOT. Also, smell bothers you? Deal with it quick and easy! You can buy scented body powder or even just plain baking soda and shake a tiny bit into the top before closing it. I use Lavender and it works like a pro! Plus that box or bottle you buy last FOREVER. Mine it still going after two years.

Was this review helpful? (26) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaPractical
White Salmon, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No smell!
12/17/2011

Customer review by swtandsxy8

5.0 stars 12/17/2011 by swtandsxy8
by swtandsxy8

A nursery is NOT complete without a diaper pail! I chose this one and not the Genie because you can use any trash bag you want. I use regular 13 gallon trash bags and there is NO ODOR! I've read other reviews and here is what I can say: -There is absolutely NO ODOR with the use of this pail. My husband CANNOT stand the smell and he even says he can't smell anything. I don't even install the trash bag according to directions, I just lift up both the top and the blue/pink insert and wrap the trash bag around the actual can itself and then close and use...and still no smell. -If you are having an issue with the trash bag leaking, then double bag or get a thicker made bag. -There is an odor, OBVIOUSLY, when you have to open it up to change the bag. It's not like it seals the diaper when you dump it in there! And there is a bit of an odor even after the trash is taken out, but I'm sure a good bleach water run and complete air out would do just fine to contain it. -I have a newborn baby and only have to change this trash about twice a week. So I would say, on average, it will hold about 25 diapers. BUT, keep in mind, we wrap the dirty wipes inside the dirty diaper and fold them up in a ball and seal with the tabs when disposing them. -To help contain the smell outside of the diaper pail after being taken out, I take out all of the house trash at the same time, therefore, I place the tied diaper pail bag inside our office trash bag and tie, then place that bag into the kitchen trash bag and tie, and then place in our garbage can. That's a triple tied and triple bagged diaper mess that won't stink up my garage! All in all, I would recommend the Diaper Champ. It's one of the few products I WOULD NOT do without in my nursery!

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
swtandsxy8
Raymore, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would buy this again - no question
11/24/2013

Customer review by Jensta49

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by Jensta49
by Jensta49

We have the Diaper Champ for my son's room. He is 14 months old and we have used it since he was born. We have not had any issues with odors (even though he has stinky, "real" diapers now). Don't get me wrong, it STINKS when we open the lid to change the bag, but that's to be expected. When you open/close the handle to drop a diaper in, sometimes you smell a little, but you'll be so quick with that action that it's not a big deal. We empty the can 1-2 times per week. We use the exact same bags as our kitchen trash can (so awesome because I do not need one more thing to remember to get from the store). We put a little Arm & Hammer tablet in the bottom of the can. However, I never remember to switch it out, so I'm pretty sure I have only changed the baking soda once in the 14 months we've been using this. No that my son is walking around and exploring everything, we have had to turn the can around backwards with the handle facing the corner of the changing table and the wall. He figured out how to open it and was putting toys in it. Gross haha. Turning it around backward has worked...for now. ;-)

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jensta49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful product!
3/30/2014

Customer review by Bearkats06

5.0 stars 3/30/2014 by Bearkats06
by Bearkats06
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We had a diaper genie elite which broke within a few months and the refill bags were so expensive. This product is so easy to use, definitely does it's job at blocking odors emanating from dirty diapers, and best of all? You can use regular 13 gallon trash bags instead of expensive refill bags. Love this product!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bearkats06
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your time or money on this
8/14/2010

Customer review by KristenAZ

1.0 stars 8/14/2010 by KristenAZ
by KristenAZ

I bought this because it was less expensive than other diaper pails and because it didn't require special bags. It was a complete waste of time and money because it did NOT control the odor at all. It was hard to use - the way you are supposed to flip the top to deposit the diaper did not move easily and we were always fighting with it. We have finally replaced this one with the Arm & Hammer diaper pail and it's sooooo much better. I have never written one of these reviews before, but i hated this pail so much, I just had to warn someone else who was looking at buying it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KristenAZ
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2nd time around
5/14/2010

Customer review by mom2kandm

4.0 stars 5/14/2010 by mom2kandm
by mom2kandm

I had the diaper champ with our first child (who is now 6 1/2 and loved it so I decided to go with it again this time around. It has changed a little and when this baby arrives in about 2 weeks we'll see how it does. The one big difference is in the height, this one is shorter than the previous one but I guess that will make us change it more often. The "plunger" only goes one way rather than back and forth like the old one so I am wondering what difference that will make. The biggest compliment I have for the diaper champ is that it uses regular kitchen bags and does not require specific refills. My sister also used the diaper champ for her two children and we both would recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom2kandm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ok product
2/16/2011

Customer review by 2mchshopping

3.0 stars 2/16/2011 by 2mchshopping
by 2mchshopping

I bought this after using the diaper genie for a year and a half. The diaper genie was fine until top broke. I chose this diaper pail because it allows you to use any bag. You're not limited to it's own refills like the diaper genie. However, it is small than the genie and the bag needs to be changed much more often. The more you change it, the less the smell will be. However, the genie does better with odor management. This product is ok for the money. However, for the long haul, get the genie.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2mchshopping
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Doesn't contain odor
10/7/2012

Customer review by VilleMom

1.0 stars 10/7/2012 by VilleMom
by VilleMom

I bought this for our church nursery two months ago. I liked the idea of using regular bags and thouight the design would contain the odor. I bought odor blocking bags and put some baking soda under and in the bag. Even though the pail is only used once a week (and emptied the same day) the odor is bad. I have been told the previous versions of this pail worked much better. I am sorry it doesn't work and I reccomend the manufacturer redesign or discontinue it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VilleMom
Cedarville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Simple to use.. and no special bags!
2/1/2016

Customer review by Monique

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Monique
by Monique

The pail/diaper bin works great. No buttons to jam, or special bells and whistles you don't need. The best part is, you don't have to worry about the hassle and cost of buying 'special' bags...we use the same trash bags as we use in our kitchen. Also easy to clean and sanitize every now and then. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monique
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One hand use diaper pail.
6/5/2011

Customer review by Meemaw15

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by Meemaw15
by Meemaw15

I bought the old style of Camp diaper pail for my son's baby. He said it was the best gift they received. He liked it much better than the diaper genie because of the "one-hand" operation and being able to use any size bags, even grocery store bags. When another grandchild was born, I knew just what to get, another Champ diaper pail. This is the 3rd one I've bought. I would recommend this product to anyone who has a baby in diapers.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meemaw15
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A little smelly
2/26/2011

Customer review by twinsNEVERsleep

4.0 stars 2/26/2011 by twinsNEVERsleep
by twinsNEVERsleep

This isn't a containment diaper pail and I knew that before I bought it. The main reason I chose this pail is because you can use your own trash bags. So, as a result of this design, it doesn't have a tight seal and smells to permeate the pail. I recommend changing the trash bag every day to cut back on the odor. It does hold a fair amount of diapers. I would buy it again. If you're on the fence, check out the video on Youtube.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twinsNEVERsleep
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Truly hold the odor
11/28/2013

Customer review by Lisac584

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by Lisac584
by Lisac584
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this, I use it for my elderly Mother Depends. Just the right size to fit in her small bathroom. Holds all odors, uses any 13 gallon trash bag changing bag is a breeze.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisac584
Baltimore Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Baby Trend Diaper Champ
3/29/2016

Customer review by NikJo

4.0 stars 3/29/2016 by NikJo
by NikJo

Love how it eliminates odor

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NikJo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good outdoor dog waste container
10/11/2014

Customer review by R1bzNW1ng5

4.0 stars 10/11/2014 by R1bzNW1ng5
by R1bzNW1ng5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

With two dogs we have a daily need to clean up our backyard. However, putting the "stuff" in the regular trash made opening the trash can lid a horrifying proposition even though we bagged the waste in standard tied dog waste bags. The aroma easily penetrated the bags and the smell never left the trash bin starting with the 1st deposit. Aside from our own discomfort we feared the trash collectors would one day justifiably burn our house down. We decided a diaper pail that could contain the aroma until right before trash pickup would be a plausible method to keep the yard sanitary, keep our own noses undamaged and shield the trash collectors from something way worse than waterboarding. Yay! It works well. The only point that remains unpleasant is the bag exchange time before trash pickup but that's only a couple of minutes and unavoidable unless you own a Roomba from the future.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
R1bzNW1ng5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm glad I bought it!
10/5/2012

Customer review by RNGC

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by RNGC
by RNGC

I first saw this product at Coco's restroom while changing one of my baby's diaper, and I loved it then! It is much simpler to use than other brand types and it also eliminates the need to purchase refills, since you can use your own trash bag with it. There is a smell (of course there is, you're putting dirty diapers in it!) if you use a regular trash bag, specially if you use one that does not block out smell. But it is no where near as bad as you'd think, and it is much, much better than dumping diapers in your regular trash bag. You could always wrap it in another little baggy before putting it in the Diaper Champ (like the ones Dollar Tree sells, for a dollar - they work great!). I had stopped using all other brand types of Diaper Disposal Cans because of how dysfunctional they are, and also how expensive they are due to needed refills. But now, I will always use this one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RNGC
DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the job
1/6/2014

Customer review by lilBensmama

4.0 stars 1/6/2014 by lilBensmama
by lilBensmama
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my 2nd diaper champ. The first one lasted me over 2 years, but it finally broke. It was still usable, but something was wrong with the handle and it was very hard to open and close. Also, I would not recommend throwing stinky diapers in it once the child is eating regular foods. It was never an issue until he was about 1 and eating lots of solids. Then you could smell it after there were a few stinky diapers in it. So we started throwing all stinky diapers in a bag and out with the trash. Only urine diapers in the diaper champ and it improved the smell completely. I would recommend. And you can use regular garbage bags which saves money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilBensmama
Wyandotte, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Diaper Champ
2/29/2016

Customer review by Satisfiedcustomer

5.0 stars 2/29/2016 by Satisfiedcustomer
by Satisfiedcustomer

The products came shipped as required.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Satisfiedcustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/29/2013

Customer review by lalam1982

4.0 stars 7/29/2013 by lalam1982
by lalam1982
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not used this product yet, but I like that I can use a regular trash bag with it. I used to own a Diaper Genie, and I hated having to always buy the refills for it. The refills can be pretty pricey. I gave the Diaper Champ only 4 stars because of Wal-Mart. I ordered it online and had it shipped to my house. When it arrived, it was Not in its original packaging and it was scuffed up a little bit. It looked like someone just grabbed one off the shelf in the store, threw it in a brown box, and shipped it to me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lalam1982
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews