Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 98 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

98 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

98 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 92 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
No Smell Finally!
3/16/2010

Customer review by digdoug

5.0 stars 3/16/2010 by digdoug
by digdoug

My wife and I have a two year old and a new baby boy. For our older child we received the Diaper Genie pail. I have had nothing but problems with that thing. It was bulky and cubersome, the smell never seemed to stop. Plus the cost of the refills added up way to quick. On our registry this time, all we wanted was a diaper pail not named Genie. My mother bought us the DIAPER CHAMP! Finally my dreams are fulfilled. There was no smell...seriously none at all. One time I tried to put a diaper in there but the lid wouldn't rotate. I thought it was broken. Nope just full. There was over a week's worth of a two year old and a newborn's diapers and there was no smell, so much so I thought it was empty. Take it from someone that has been burned in the past with the refill bags, it does add up. The Diaper Champ does have it's own bag, and it's an awesome thick bag, but here's the cool thing. If you run out of refill bags you can use any bag in your house. It's nice to have the thick sturdy bag but its great to know that in a pinch I can use a grocery bag or a regular trash bag. Completely worth the price and I will never again utter the words Diaper Genie

Was this review helpful? (107) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
digdoug
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No smell!
12/17/2011

Customer review by swtandsxy8

5.0 stars 12/17/2011 by swtandsxy8
by swtandsxy8

A nursery is NOT complete without a diaper pail! I chose this one and not the Genie because you can use any trash bag you want. I use regular 13 gallon trash bags and there is NO ODOR! I've read other reviews and here is what I can say: -There is absolutely NO ODOR with the use of this pail. My husband CANNOT stand the smell and he even says he can't smell anything. I don't even install the trash bag according to directions, I just lift up both the top and the blue/pink insert and wrap the trash bag around the actual can itself and then close and use...and still no smell. -If you are having an issue with the trash bag leaking, then double bag or get a thicker made bag. -There is an odor, OBVIOUSLY, when you have to open it up to change the bag. It's not like it seals the diaper when you dump it in there! And there is a bit of an odor even after the trash is taken out, but I'm sure a good bleach water run and complete air out would do just fine to contain it. -I have a newborn baby and only have to change this trash about twice a week. So I would say, on average, it will hold about 25 diapers. BUT, keep in mind, we wrap the dirty wipes inside the dirty diaper and fold them up in a ball and seal with the tabs when disposing them. -To help contain the smell outside of the diaper pail after being taken out, I take out all of the house trash at the same time, therefore, I place the tied diaper pail bag inside our office trash bag and tie, then place that bag into the kitchen trash bag and tie, and then place in our garbage can. That's a triple tied and triple bagged diaper mess that won't stink up my garage! All in all, I would recommend the Diaper Champ. It's one of the few products I WOULD NOT do without in my nursery!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swtandsxy8
Raymore, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ALERT YOUNG THRIFTY MOMS: Best Choice Overall
10/1/2011

Customer review by MommaPractical

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by MommaPractical
by MommaPractical

A lot of people complain about the pale smelling anyway, but ALL diaper disposals smell. The Arm and Hammer one has a special baking soda dropper but the pale is so tiny and hard to remove the bag from. I have a second child on the way and a broken Diaper Geni II Elite. I received it as a gift, and I received a Diaper Champ as a hand-me-down. It's a little small but that's because its the right size that when it's full- TAKE IT OUT. Don't know if people realize that if you just keep adding diapers they weigh ontop of each other and eventually squeaze the bottom ones like a sponge. Next thing you know, the reason your pale smells is because the bag ripped and there's waste spilling into the pale. I've had it happen and it's not fun to clean. Plus no one wants to carry heavy dirty diaper bags. Its amazing for when money is tight and you need to use grocery bags as a last result which we do A LOT. Also, smell bothers you? Deal with it quick and easy! You can buy scented body powder or even just plain baking soda and shake a tiny bit into the top before closing it. I use Lavender and it works like a pro! Plus that box or bottle you buy last FOREVER. Mine it still going after two years.

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommaPractical
White Salmon, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your time or money on this
8/14/2010

Customer review by KristenAZ

1.0 stars 8/14/2010 by KristenAZ
by KristenAZ

I bought this because it was less expensive than other diaper pails and because it didn't require special bags. It was a complete waste of time and money because it did NOT control the odor at all. It was hard to use - the way you are supposed to flip the top to deposit the diaper did not move easily and we were always fighting with it. We have finally replaced this one with the Arm & Hammer diaper pail and it's sooooo much better. I have never written one of these reviews before, but i hated this pail so much, I just had to warn someone else who was looking at buying it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KristenAZ
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ok product
2/16/2011

Customer review by 2mchshopping

3.0 stars 2/16/2011 by 2mchshopping
by 2mchshopping

I bought this after using the diaper genie for a year and a half. The diaper genie was fine until top broke. I chose this diaper pail because it allows you to use any bag. You're not limited to it's own refills like the diaper genie. However, it is small than the genie and the bag needs to be changed much more often. The more you change it, the less the smell will be. However, the genie does better with odor management. This product is ok for the money. However, for the long haul, get the genie.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2mchshopping
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful product!
3/30/2014

Customer review by Bearkats06

5.0 stars 3/30/2014 by Bearkats06
by Bearkats06

We had a diaper genie elite which broke within a few months and the refill bags were so expensive. This product is so easy to use, definitely does it's job at blocking odors emanating from dirty diapers, and best of all? You can use regular 13 gallon trash bags instead of expensive refill bags. Love this product!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bearkats06
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2nd time around
5/14/2010

Customer review by mom2kandm

4.0 stars 5/14/2010 by mom2kandm
by mom2kandm

I had the diaper champ with our first child (who is now 6 1/2 and loved it so I decided to go with it again this time around. It has changed a little and when this baby arrives in about 2 weeks we'll see how it does. The one big difference is in the height, this one is shorter than the previous one but I guess that will make us change it more often. The "plunger" only goes one way rather than back and forth like the old one so I am wondering what difference that will make. The biggest compliment I have for the diaper champ is that it uses regular kitchen bags and does not require specific refills. My sister also used the diaper champ for her two children and we both would recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2kandm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One hand use diaper pail.
6/5/2011

Customer review by Meemaw15

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by Meemaw15
by Meemaw15

I bought the old style of Camp diaper pail for my son's baby. He said it was the best gift they received. He liked it much better than the diaper genie because of the "one-hand" operation and being able to use any size bags, even grocery store bags. When another grandchild was born, I knew just what to get, another Champ diaper pail. This is the 3rd one I've bought. I would recommend this product to anyone who has a baby in diapers.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meemaw15
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A little smelly
2/26/2011

Customer review by twinsNEVERsleep

4.0 stars 2/26/2011 by twinsNEVERsleep
by twinsNEVERsleep

This isn't a containment diaper pail and I knew that before I bought it. The main reason I chose this pail is because you can use your own trash bags. So, as a result of this design, it doesn't have a tight seal and smells to permeate the pail. I recommend changing the trash bag every day to cut back on the odor. It does hold a fair amount of diapers. I would buy it again. If you're on the fence, check out the video on Youtube.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twinsNEVERsleep
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would buy this again - no question
11/24/2013

Customer review by Jensta49

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by Jensta49
by Jensta49

We have the Diaper Champ for my son's room. He is 14 months old and we have used it since he was born. We have not had any issues with odors (even though he has stinky, "real" diapers now). Don't get me wrong, it STINKS when we open the lid to change the bag, but that's to be expected. When you open/close the handle to drop a diaper in, sometimes you smell a little, but you'll be so quick with that action that it's not a big deal. We empty the can 1-2 times per week. We use the exact same bags as our kitchen trash can (so awesome because I do not need one more thing to remember to get from the store). We put a little Arm & Hammer tablet in the bottom of the can. However, I never remember to switch it out, so I'm pretty sure I have only changed the baking soda once in the 14 months we've been using this. No that my son is walking around and exploring everything, we have had to turn the can around backwards with the handle facing the corner of the changing table and the wall. He figured out how to open it and was putting toys in it. Gross haha. Turning it around backward has worked...for now. ;-)

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jensta49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Truly hold the odor
11/28/2013

Customer review by Lisac584

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by Lisac584
by Lisac584

I love this, I use it for my elderly Mother Depends. Just the right size to fit in her small bathroom. Holds all odors, uses any 13 gallon trash bag changing bag is a breeze.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lisac584
Baltimore Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doesn't contain odor
10/7/2012

Customer review by VilleMom

1.0 stars 10/7/2012 by VilleMom
by VilleMom

I bought this for our church nursery two months ago. I liked the idea of using regular bags and thouight the design would contain the odor. I bought odor blocking bags and put some baking soda under and in the bag. Even though the pail is only used once a week (and emptied the same day) the odor is bad. I have been told the previous versions of this pail worked much better. I am sorry it doesn't work and I reccomend the manufacturer redesign or discontinue it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VilleMom
Cedarville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Must have for your baby room!
9/8/2012

Customer review by mommasfirst

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by mommasfirst
by mommasfirst

Love my diaper champ deluxe. It can take normal trash bags. Big money saver. I use a scented force flex bags to help with the used diaper smells and they are super durable for the heavy load of diapers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommasfirst
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this! Best diaper disposal!
7/6/2014

Customer review by LAdams92

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by LAdams92
by LAdams92

With my first son I had a diaper genie, and then a diaper genie II Elite because the first broke...well, needless to say so did the second! With my second, we decided to try the Diaper Champ. We LOVE it! You can use regular trash bags, one handed, and it keeps the smell out of the house (we live in a single wide mobile home, the disposal is in the kitchen, you can't smell a thing!) It also holds a good amount of diapers, but doesn't take up much room!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LAdams92
Morrisville, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this Product!!!
6/16/2014

Customer review by Lubit

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by Lubit
by Lubit

I already have one of these in pink for my daughter. I liked it so much that I'm getting one for my son as we'll. I really like how u can use any type of trash bags, instead of spending extra money for a certain type of bags like the "Genie". There's no odor left behind.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lubit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Convenient
9/25/2014

Customer review by DCHmom

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by DCHmom
by DCHmom

Doesn't have to use only liners. Convenient to be able to use regular 13 gallon trash bags.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DCHmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best diaper pail
9/25/2014

Customer review by NjInHawaii

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by NjInHawaii
by NjInHawaii

Love this over all other brands because you can use regular garbage bags and aren't stuck buying expensive refill bags.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NjInHawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product
6/11/2011

Customer review by RNLA

5.0 stars 6/11/2011 by RNLA
by RNLA

I reviewed and studied, decided upon this product. I am so glad I did. There is a huge savings in just bags alone. You can use regular bags, no special bags required. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RNLA
Boyce, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/10/2011

Customer review by BabyZen

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by BabyZen
by BabyZen

Great product I actually bought this one for my sister-in-law but I have 2 of my own for my kids. Holds a TON of diapers only have to change the bag about once a week! Awsome that there are no special bags to buy and you can use a regular garbage bag.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BabyZen
Cedar Rapids, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/29/2013

Customer review by lalam1982

4.0 stars 7/29/2013 by lalam1982
by lalam1982

I have not used this product yet, but I like that I can use a regular trash bag with it. I used to own a Diaper Genie, and I hated having to always buy the refills for it. The refills can be pretty pricey. I gave the Diaper Champ only 4 stars because of Wal-Mart. I ordered it online and had it shipped to my house. When it arrived, it was Not in its original packaging and it was scuffed up a little bit. It looked like someone just grabbed one off the shelf in the store, threw it in a brown box, and shipped it to me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lalam1982
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews