Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 138 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

138 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

138 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
95
4 stars
24
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 109 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 109 total reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews
very hot
11/3/2009

Customer review by thornlily

5.0 stars 11/3/2009 by thornlily
by thornlily

I had an electric kettle for three years that finally died and bought this GE electric kettle to replace it.the features are awsome iT's a handsome kettle heats up quickly and stays fairly warm for a while. It lifts off the base leaving the cord behind and has a shut off switch. I use mine several times a day, for tea and to heat water for baby bottles. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (69) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thornlily
augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent value
11/8/2009

Customer review by Squittles

5.0 stars 11/8/2009 by Squittles
by Squittles

I looked around a lot, and this is far superior to anything else in terms of price / features. Every other competitor was nearly twice the price and more. And this one, while half the price, doesn't feel like a compromise at all, It's as well-made and attractive as its far more expensive competitors.

Was this review helpful? (50) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Squittles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good kettle
12/25/2009

Customer review by lilmimi

5.0 stars 12/25/2009 by lilmimi
by lilmimi

I bought this for my husband and in the few days we've had it it's been used several times. Heats water very quickly. The size is just perfect. We have a french press coffee maker and can make coffee for him, tea for me, and even an instant soup for the kiddo all on one kettles worth. I love the auto shut off feature since hubby tends to forget things, and the fact that it separates from the base (and thus the cord) it is very convenient. The heating element is completely sealed away from the water chamber, so cleaning will never be an issue. I'd recommend this to anyone in need of a kettle. We are getting rid of our regular coffeemaker (which seems to take about 25 minutes even after being cleaned and descaled). This thing boils water in 3-4 minutes (the whole 1.7 liters) and with a 5 minute steep time, the press gets us coffee faster and better. This kettle has made all the difference.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilmimi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
functional and stylish
10/21/2009

Customer review by demelar

5.0 stars 10/21/2009 by demelar
by demelar

Looks great and works great. I like the automatic shut off feature. It has a great pouring spout that never drips. Nice stainless finish.

Was this review helpful? (33) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
demelar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product
3/8/2010

Customer review by USMA1989

4.0 stars 3/8/2010 by USMA1989
by USMA1989

I bought this product for a few dollars more than a similar product by Aroma offered on Amazon because it has a 2 year warranty vs a 1 year warranty. It replaced a Protor-Silex one I had bought at Wal-Mart a few years earlier that stopped working. I really like the separable base feature and most aspects of the kettle except for the water level indicator window. The window has several problems. It fogs up badly so that you can't read the writing on it until the water level is above the writing. Once filled, the window often will not indicate the water level is below the minimum level no matter how empty the kettle is due to the fact that the window is not actually open to the water, but is filled by a tube that joins the inside of the kettle and the tube is above the minimum level. Also, the level indicated is wildly off actual unless the kettle is near perfectly level. Finally, the window is rather small and concealed behind the wider handle, making it particularly hard to read if you are holding the kettle by the handle while filling it. The kettle is also much noisier than my plastic Protor-Silex kettle was.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USMA1989
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
If it aint broke don't fix it...
2/4/2011

Customer review by WyoReddog

1.0 stars 2/4/2011 by WyoReddog
by WyoReddog

I bought this kettle as a replacement for another GE electric kettle bought in a Walmart store about 5 years ago. We loved that one and it worked great until it just stopped functioning one day. I went back to the store to get a new one to find they stopped carrying it, so had to order this one online. Apparently they have "updated" the new one so that the shape is much taller and thinner: this means it's much harder to clean inside since you can't get your hand in the opening and it's difficult to see how much water you are putting in. They've also made the cord about a foot or two shorter so I can't plug it into the floor level outlet where the old one was plugged in and have to keep it on the counter cluttering up valuable workspace. The taller design also means that when it starts to boil the whole pot teeters as though it's going to spill over. Can't say I'm very happy with the "updated" version and will see if I can return it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WyoReddog
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
replaceable filter
11/4/2011

Customer review by Angiemere

4.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Angiemere
by Angiemere

Don't take me wrong that I don't like the kettle. It's actually the best among those I bought. The only frustrating part is the removable filter. I use my kettle for 10 months, works really great. However, I found out the filter was missing during my routine cleaning. So I went to Walmart store and go on GE website to try to locate a replacement. It's pretty frustrating while I made couple calls to seek help. I was pretty shocked that they don't carry that little part. Well, if you have such a great kettle, you'd better have a good supporting system for it. I don't mind spending couple bucks on a replacement of the removable filter in a regular base. It's such a waste that I'll have to throw my great kettle away and get a new one just because of that small removable filter!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Angiemere
Dublin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
died after a year & 1/2
6/16/2011

Customer review by bathmom

1.0 stars 6/16/2011 by bathmom
by bathmom

My family & I absolutely loved this kettle, we used it several times a day. I even purchased one for my nephew. After a year and 1/2 the mechanism for the lid stopped working, about a week later it stopped working all together. What happened to quality?

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bathmom
Bath, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ge kettle
11/24/2009

Customer review by oddlelally

4.0 stars 11/24/2009 by oddlelally
by oddlelally

The GE kettle has twice as long a warranty as one the same size and similar style from Bed, Bath, and Beyond, but at half the price. It works quickly and well.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oddlelally
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Steel got rusted
11/5/2010

Customer review by HoustonPillu

3.0 stars 11/5/2010 by HoustonPillu
by HoustonPillu

Used this product for 3 months, worked good electrically, but then it got rusted near the spout. Returned back and got full refund.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HoustonPillu
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good product
1/2/2010

Customer review by luvfranck

4.0 stars 1/2/2010 by luvfranck
by luvfranck

This kettle boils enough water for 3 cups of tea in 3 1/2 minutes. The styling is attractive. The automatic shutoff and the lack of exposed coils are good features. My only complaint is that the water level indicator is behind the handle and is therefore hard to read. I haven't had the product long enough to rate durability, but it has a 2 year warranty. So far, I am very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvfranck
Haddonfield, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does NOT stay HOT
9/10/2010

Customer review by RVamerica

2.0 stars 9/10/2010 by RVamerica
by RVamerica

Looks great...however I live in an RV and this requires 12 amps to run. Takes about 5 min to heat a full pot, however you MUST transfer to a thermos to keep water hot. This does NOT keep water hot for more than one cup. I would not recommend this product! Very disappointed for a GE item!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RVamerica
Pahrump, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stainless Steel inside and out
1/19/2011

Customer review by OneHappyGir1

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by OneHappyGir1
by OneHappyGir1

Love the automatic shut off feature. I can walk away and forget about it and it shuts itself off. I also Love that it does not whistle or make noise when it is done boiling. The blue button just pops up and you know it is then done. Heats the water quickly and it is stainless steel inside so you aren't drinking reheated plastic like on some models. The stainless steel keeps itself very clean on the inside of the kettle. I Highly Recommend this kettle.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OneHappyGir1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Does the job
2/22/2010

Customer review by WTKnit

5.0 stars 2/22/2010 by WTKnit
by WTKnit

This kettle does the job just fine. It boils the water quick and has a nice design that looks nice in a kitchen. I like that it is made of metal and not plastic. I took one star off the features because of a very, very short power cord. It seems to be shorter than one foot. I wish it was longer, but it is not a big trouble either.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WTKnit
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Electric Kettle..... for ONE MONTH!
3/9/2012

Customer review by Merry

1.0 stars 3/9/2012 by Merry
by Merry

I visited a relative who had an electric kettle and loved how quickly it boiled water. I purchased this GE kettle as soon as I got home. It was great while it worked. ONE MONTH TO BE EXACT. And I only used it for two cups of tea each night. It just quit working and I decided to go back to an old fashioned tried and true teakettle that you put on the stove. I am very disappointed in this brand.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Merry
Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointing
11/14/2010

Customer review by Zhera

1.0 stars 11/14/2010 by Zhera
by Zhera

Worked fine for the first 8 months, then started to make a sound when plugged in and switched off. After that, switching it on became difficult - sometimes it would switch on, other times, you would have to swivel it round on the stand, or press down on the top. My previous kettle lasted 10 years before doing that. This is very sub-par for quality.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zhera
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
No Drips!!
1/7/2010

Customer review by HarleyJoyRider

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by HarleyJoyRider
by HarleyJoyRider

I bought a kettle for $20 more elsewhere and it dripped horribly. This little number pours beautifully. It does just what it's designed to do, and does it very well. Looks nice too. What's not to like at such a great price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HarleyJoyRider
Blair, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Where has this been all my life!
12/16/2009

Customer review by felinefan

5.0 stars 12/16/2009 by felinefan
by felinefan

I am absolutely in love with this kettle! Well - as much as one can be in love with something metal that is! I poo-pooed the idea of an electric kettle for years and finally my husband convinced me to get one - because his mother had one! (All you wives know how well that goes over.) Anyway - he - and his mother - had the right idea and this kettle is an awesome choice. I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
felinefan
Franklin, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hold the phone!
7/20/2010

Customer review by Snookums1946

5.0 stars 7/20/2010 by Snookums1946
by Snookums1946

I was replacing an electric kettle when this jewel caught my eye. It heats water quickly and, as far as I can tell, contributes no taste. In my view it is beautifully designed and carefully manufactured.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snookums1946
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Boli Water Quick
9/7/2010

Customer review by MEQ1959

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by MEQ1959
by MEQ1959

The tea kettle is modern looking and boils quickly. I use to own the hot water pumper and it use to get hot in my kitchen as it did not have a shut off. The water boils quickly and turns off automatically. Looks great in stainless steel because it looks great with my other appliances. The measuring window fogs up, but you just need to tilt it back a bit while filling so that the water clears it. Great tea kettle. I used a more expensive stainless steel tea kettle in Australian (about $125.00) and this one is just as good. Excellent price. The short cord is fine. I made it shorter by wrapping it underneath the base wrap so the cord is not as visible, like most kitchen appliances. Just bought it a month ago and love it. I don't know much about the durability of it yet. I only paid about $20.00 for it, so I think I already got my money's worth.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MEQ1959
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews