Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

97 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

97 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 88 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Very nice and at a great price!
5/20/2014

Customer review by GQAndy

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by GQAndy
by GQAndy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quality

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GQAndy
Corpus Christi Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Latching handle fell off on first use
6/3/2015

Customer review by Disappointed

2.0 stars 6/3/2015 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

I paid a considerable amount of money for this cooler as I have always valued Coleman products. On the first use of the cooler when I closed the lid the latching handle broke off leaving the cooler without a method of securing the lid. I was on a vacation trip and have spent the rest of the time with a brick holding down the cooler lid. Second issue I have with the cooler is that there is NO tray for holding food above the ice. Some coolers have a removable tray that fits in the retainer ring at the top of the cooler body. This one does not and after calling Coleman, I was informed that they do NOT make such a tray. Poor planning Coleman. On the bright side, I called Coleman and after a prolonged discussion with a very incompetent customer service rep, I finally talked with a very nice guy (Cody) who agreed to mail me a replacement latch for the cooler. I do think the cooler keeps ice for a long time, but I am not very pleased with the two items mentioned above. You decide for yourself.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
An Excellent Cooler
7/23/2007

Customer review by 50sGal

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by 50sGal
by 50sGal

This cooler is the best! I've tested the cooler, leaving the cooler in my car during July with pop and ice in it until the ice was all melted, and it lasted over 4 days! And then the water inside the cooler was still cool, even though the temps in the car were around 100 degrees! Since the outside of the cooler is silver (SS), it is very hot, so I cover it with a towel. I highly recommend this cooler! The only negative I would have would be that it's pretty heavy, so I just put it in my car empty, then put drinks in it, then take it to get the ice.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
50sGal
W. Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Cooler
1/2/2016

Customer review by Ron1

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by Ron1
by Ron1

I put my logo on this and give them away at shows. Number one sought after gift by my customers

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ron1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Cooler for the money
7/13/2008

Customer review by MadScientist31

5.0 stars 7/13/2008 by MadScientist31
by MadScientist31

This is the second of this type cooler that we have purched. They are far better than any plastic or styrofoam cooler and keep ice loonger than most other metal coolers. Walmart is far cheeper then buying direct too.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MadScientist31
Manchester, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Cooler, Great Price
7/23/2007

Customer review by NMCampers

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by NMCampers
by NMCampers

This cooler keeps ice frozen much longer than standard coolers. Our ice lasted in this cooler for four days. Walmart had the cheapest price of anyone we researched.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NMCampers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Missing Latch on lid to lock down.
12/30/2015

Customer review by Rick

1.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Rick
by Rick

Had to make a trip to a Wal-Mart store to wait in line to return it. So much for the 'convenience' and reliability of on-line shopping.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rick
Would recommend to a friend? No
keeps its cool!
1/11/2008

Customer review by TheJacksons

5.0 stars 1/11/2008 by TheJacksons
by TheJacksons

We borrowed one of these and it worked so well that we wanted to get one ourselves. Stays cold much longer than our old cooler!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheJacksons
south Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
There are better choices......
3/5/2013

Customer review by FloridaRetiredEngineer

2.0 stars 3/5/2013 by FloridaRetiredEngineer
by FloridaRetiredEngineer

Ordered this cooler sight unseen online from Walmart for $137.88 + tax and received last night. Very disappointed in both the quality and features of this cooler. We had a Coleman steel cooler for many years and this new one doesn't even closely measure up to that. Sidewalls and lid are thin and flimsy and couldn't possibly contain enough insulation to keep items cold as long as claimed. It's very evident to see that Coleman cut too many corners here: There isn't even a lid strap to prevent the lid from opening too far and bending the hinges, and the hinges themselves are marginal at best. The drain is an unthreaded plastic snap on cap with no rubber seal to prevent leakage. No rubber feet on bottom to prevent sliding around in your vehicle or boat. This cooler won't last long in even mildly rough usage. This is basically a $29 plastic cooler with a stainless steel skin and lid and not a good value in this price range. $ 150 cooler with no lid strap, minimal insulation, no dry goods tray, etc etc. My advice would be to step up to a good quality cooler such as a Pelican, Igloo Yukon, or a Yeti any of which will outlast several of this model, or just buy a cheaper thowaway cooler. You get what you pay for. I'll be returning mine for a refund today.

Was this review helpful? (23) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FloridaRetiredEngineer
Venice,Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Keeps ice for days
5/28/2014

Customer review by Picky63

4.0 stars 5/28/2014 by Picky63
by Picky63
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Box had no damage however cooler had dents in it. This means it was shipped with dents in it. But I will have to say it is an excellent cooler. Keeps ice for days!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Picky63
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Cooler
9/8/2008

Customer review by LuvnHarlys

5.0 stars 9/8/2008 by LuvnHarlys
by LuvnHarlys

I think this is a GREAT cooler! It keeps items cold and holds ice great. My only problem was someone stole it while I was at the beach. : (

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuvnHarlys
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect Cooler for home emergencies and trips
2/8/2014

Customer review by Josh020814

5.0 stars 2/8/2014 by Josh020814
by Josh020814
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recommend this cooler for any event specially for trips. I found that it keep the temperature far longer than other coolers.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Josh020814
Norcross, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I thought it would be.
6/10/2014

Customer review by Danadevane

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by Danadevane
by Danadevane
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Keeps ice for 3+ days in 100+degree weather. Sturdy, doesn't leak. Can handle things being stacked on it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danadevane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good
10/30/2015

Customer review by josie

5.0 stars 10/30/2015 by josie
by josie

good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
josie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
dont listin to the advertizements
9/9/2015

Customer review by mrlee

1.0 stars 9/9/2015 by mrlee
by mrlee

the add says ice lasts for 3 days I don't think so maybe in Alaska lol I put 14 refridgerated bottles and 6 refridgerated cans in this cooler plus 2 5lbs babs of ice and covered the cooler with a very heavy towel now mind you it was prob about 85 degrees out I went on a 250 mile trip with the ac on a day and a half later all I had left was cold water and very few ice cubes I drained the cooler and put another 10 lbs of ice in it it lasted 2 days on the ride home I added another 1 lb so don't let the adds fool ya maybe if you put 10 lbs of ice in it and cover it with a shipping blanket then the ice might last for 3 days other wise not lol

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrlee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice looking but does not hold ice long
8/9/2014

Customer review by ThorTex

2.0 stars 8/9/2014 by ThorTex
by ThorTex
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had one of these in green for about 18 yrs. The plastic finally cracked and yellowed. I always thought this was the best looking cooler so I bought another in red. No doubt these are the best looking on the market. Tested this and a coleman $20 3 day cooler at the beach in Texas. 3 HOT days !!. Coolers not in direct sunlight. Added ice each day.....The cheaper coleman cooler ice lasted each day while I had to dump large amounts of water from the steel belted cooler !!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThorTex
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Coleman 54 Quart Steel Cooler
10/9/2015

Customer review by Gator

5.0 stars 10/9/2015 by Gator
by Gator

Why would you buy the steel for 142.10, or the red steel for 110.00, or the black steel for 90.00, when you can buy the green steel for 85.00. Exact same cooler.......

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gator
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't hold ice
6/24/2015

Customer review by Amyers

1.0 stars 6/24/2015 by Amyers
by Amyers

We took this cooler to the beach last weekend. It didn't hold ice any better than the $20 cooler it replaced. We will be emailing Coleman about the poor performance of this cooler. We had to buy 20 pounds of ice every day. We kept it in the shade. Don't waste your money!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amyers
Would recommend to a friend? No
An excellent cooler!
6/30/2008

Customer review by mudbunny2

5.0 stars 6/30/2008 by mudbunny2
by mudbunny2

We love our NEW Colman cooler! This is our 2nd Coleman and we would purchase a 3rd if need be! The 1st one has lasted well over 20 yrs, so we decded that we deserved a newer, shinier model! I'm so glad I found this item on line!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mudbunny2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best wedding gift you can give!
9/11/2014

Customer review by deeppow

5.0 stars 9/11/2014 by deeppow
by deeppow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have owned Coleman steel belted coolers for decades.. They are the best, size wise in so far as they do not have to use real thick walls as other brands do to keep the ice as ice and not melted cold water. Inside, they have the most usable room of any cooler. We do not own the stainless steel model, because our steel belted cooler simply will not wear out.. That said, my wife wants to get a stainless steel unit to supplement our arsenal of coolers for when we hit the road. We just purchased this stainless steel unit for a wedding gift. Fouty years ago, we received a Coleman metal cooler as a wedding gift. It was the most usable, long lasting gift we received! Yes, this is a lot of money compared with other coolers, but this cooler is in a league of it's own. In the long run, it is worth every penny. While you're at it, buy one for yourself!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deeppow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews