Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

28 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

28 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 26 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Great lil heater!!
11/16/2009

Customer review by MrConsumerinTX

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by MrConsumerinTX
by MrConsumerinTX

Didn't really read the specs on heater before it arrived, so was pleasantly surprised to find it a submersible heater! Works great, hasn't come unattached from the aquarium like my last one did. Is perfect for angelfish, keeps the tank at a steady 79-80º! For the price, can't beat it cuz I looked online a lot til thought, why not Walmart?? Thanks again Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrConsumerinTX
Denver City, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not bad for the price
2/19/2010

Customer review by curlysue4

5.0 stars 2/19/2010 by curlysue4
by curlysue4

Got this heater for my tank that houses 4 tropical fish.. I like the fact that its submersible and you dont have to adjust the temp (it is automatically programmed to 78 F). Only negative ting is that it only shows a red light wen it is heating, there is no green light (as indicated in other reviews) stating that the temp is at 78 f, so you're left wondering whether the heater is working or not. So far i just check my thermometer to make sure the temp is between 76-78 f. Temp has been maintained so far.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
curlysue4
atlanta, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great heater for the price
12/15/2009

Customer review by fishfanatic99

5.0 stars 12/15/2009 by fishfanatic99
by fishfanatic99

this heater does a great job. It was priced well, installs quickly, and does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishfanatic99
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works good
5/19/2010

Customer review by BensenvilleMom

4.0 stars 5/19/2010 by BensenvilleMom
by BensenvilleMom

I purchased this thinking it was adjustable, but it is a preset heater (78 degrees). That was my mistake. I should've realized that a submersible heater is a preset but I had been looking at heaters for an hour and finally just bought this one due to the price. It does what it is supposed to in my 30 gallon tank. I am always around 77-78 degrees and it sits in my basement which is pretty chilly all year round. I would recommend it as long as you don't mind one that isn't adjustable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BensenvilleMom
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
failed to keep the temp above 70 --- worthless
11/16/2012

Customer review by BartGafooley

1.0 stars 11/16/2012 by BartGafooley
by BartGafooley

was hoping it would do the job for my 10 gal tank but it wouldn't keep the temp above 70 even when I added hot water to raise it to 78 it would drop back to 70 worthless I also had the 50 watt which fail just like this one

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BartGafooley
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Heater for a smaller Tank
10/17/2011

Customer review by Tell855

3.0 stars 10/17/2011 by Tell855
by Tell855

My fish stay close to the heater b/c it doesn't get warm enough. I wish you can control it then it will be better for me!!!!! I have to return it and get one that I can control. The temp stays at 70 sometimes and drops to 60. I wouldn't refer a friend to this product unless they have 30- and down tank size for this heater.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tell855
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Only last 1 year
1/20/2013

Customer review by luamwh

2.0 stars 1/20/2013 by luamwh
by luamwh

I have bought 2 of these heaters for my 30gal tank and both have quit working almost exactly 1 year after I purchased them. Going for a different brand!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luamwh
Cosmopolis, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Couldn't Use This Heater
11/22/2014

Customer review by losangelesperson

5.0 stars 11/22/2014 by losangelesperson
by losangelesperson

My betta fish died before I got the heater. Since we have a severe drought i n California, I am not getting more fish until the drought is over. However, I am sure the heater would do a very good job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
losangelesperson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Product never delivered
2/18/2010

Customer review by Lostdelivery

1.0 stars 2/18/2010 by Lostdelivery
by Lostdelivery

The product in questioned was never deliveried to the local store and no one can tell me what happened.

Was this review helpful? (2) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lostdelivery
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect!
11/12/2014

Customer review by MookiB

5.0 stars 11/12/2014 by MookiB
by MookiB

I thought that since it was priced so low, it would not be as good as the ones from pets stores, but decided to give it a shot. This heater works great and I haven't had any problems! For some reason, the local Walmart had it priced about $5 more, so I ordered ship to store instead. Delivered ahead of time and at the right price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MookiB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Keeps my fish tank perfect
6/6/2015

Customer review by mamawolf5

5.0 stars 6/6/2015 by mamawolf5
by mamawolf5

Works great and is small so that it is not in the way.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamawolf5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best heater!
6/23/2012

Customer review by FishExpert5786

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by FishExpert5786
by FishExpert5786

I love my fish and my last water heater from a different company blew up. Then ive picked tetra and it works flawlessly.

FishExpert5786
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it's a cool product
3/4/2012

Customer review by luv2golf

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by luv2golf
by luv2golf

just purchase mine for my 55 gallon aquarium it's good looking and works perfect for my tank......

luv2golf
CHICAGO,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Why get any other brand
6/11/2014

Customer review by Fishboyoutofwater

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by Fishboyoutofwater
by Fishboyoutofwater

It works just as good as any other heater if not better and it is half the price

Fishboyoutofwater
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Heater For The Price
7/4/2015

Customer review by KEV45ACP

5.0 stars 7/4/2015 by KEV45ACP
by KEV45ACP

Easy to set up and it keeps the same temp. All day long.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KEV45ACP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
tetra are good product
8/12/2011

Customer review by ofelia

4.0 stars 8/12/2011 by ofelia
by ofelia

the tetra product are good easy to follow the instructions also good price compare to different porduct, my friends they using tetra product.

ofelia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5 gallon tank reads at a solid 76F
8/14/2013

Customer review by BabyMamaCT

3.0 stars 8/14/2013 by BabyMamaCT
by BabyMamaCT

I have kept fish since I was a kid (I am now 38) and just purchased a 5 gallon tank for my 4 year old daughter's birthday. I purchased the Tetra Sub Heater suitable for a 2-15 gallon tank which touted to keep the temp at a balmy 78F. I also placed the stick on tank thermometer at the furthest point away from the heater as to glean the correct reading. After running the tank for 12 hours with ya-ya brand filter (size suitable for said tank size with a med-low flow) in a perfect location, in a dark corner, no direct sunlight, empty tank of course being new etc etc... my reading is at a solid 76F. I guess I am writing this because I have a 5 gallon tank and this is my reading. If I had the 10 or 15 gallon tank, 15 being the max this heater is rated to handle..not sure where my reading would be.. Food for thought I guess.

BabyMamaCT
Wethersfield, CT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
junk
1/11/2015

Customer review by smiller85

2.0 stars 1/11/2015 by smiller85
by smiller85

I am about to return my second one. First one stopped working completely and now this replacement one. The light is on saying it's heating but the temperature continues to drop. Both kept the tank at a max of 80°

smiller85
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/13/2013

Customer review by jijabrte

1.0 stars 2/13/2013 by jijabrte
by jijabrte

It worked for one week then quit heating. I contacted Terra by email and 2 weeks later I still haven't received a response.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jijabrte
Sturgis, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BAD Heater
1/9/2015

Customer review by Caviler98

1.0 stars 1/9/2015 by Caviler98
by Caviler98

I bought this heater from online here. There was nothing in the box to keep the heater from moving around. I got my order in the mail, put this heater in my tank, 4 days later it quit heating my fish tank. That green light is always on. In summery, Don't buy this heater, it will give you a headache trying to make it work.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Caviler98
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews