Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

57 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

57 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
16
1-20 of 50 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Betta Fish no longer shivering
2/17/2010

Customer review by JTavarez

5.0 stars 2/17/2010 by JTavarez
by JTavarez

I was not aware that a Betta fish prefers a warm environment. When he stopped moving or eating I researched the symptoms on the net. Sure enough, they like it 78 -82 degrees. Without a heater it was about 68 degrees. Burrrr. The Tetra heater is the perfect size and has made all the difference in his quality of life. So far it is a steady 78 degrees and he loves it. The heater is under the rocks out of sight. It was so simple to find it, pay for it on Walmart.com and have it shipped to a nearby store. :-)'s

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JTavarez
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Works for a 10 Gallon Tank
11/22/2009

Customer review by shine367

3.0 stars 11/22/2009 by shine367
by shine367

The same product in store cost $20 bucks... works okay, but I have noticed that it doesn't hold at 78. It goes back and forth from 78 to 76. It does enough to keep the fish happy!

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shine367
spring
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Use for Turtles, very excellent
7/20/2012

Customer review by fangs211

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by fangs211
by fangs211

Turtles will not eat if it's cold but they will not go into hibernation if it's not cold enough. My two turtles stopped eating around winter. They became skinnier and retreated to their hide-y cave. It worried me a bit because they used to be excited eaters, rushing to the side of their tanks and waving at me so I could come over and feed them. And no matter how much I fed them, they wanted more food. So I did some research and I found that piece of information in my first sentence. So I went to the store and bought this, washed it and plugged it in. Just a few hours later, they returned to their old begging-dog self. It works great, keeping the temp at a constant 65-75 degrees that the turtles need. Only thing is that my turtles don't like a lot of water for some reason so the heater is half in the water, half out, even if I stick it at the bottom of the tank. But no worries. The turtles lay on it to keep even warmer. It doesn't burn their shells...

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fangs211
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Heater Must Be Used Correctly
12/2/2012

Customer review by BillTheET

4.0 stars 12/2/2012 by BillTheET
by BillTheET

If water does not circulate in the area around the heater, the heater's internal thermostat will quickly reach it's design point for cutting off power to the heater and it (properly) quits heating. Also, the volume of water and the room's ambient temperature will affect the ability of the heater to do it's job of maintaining a stable temperature in the aquarium. The more the room temperature is below the heater's setpoint, the harder the heater will try and will possibly fail to maintain a stable temperature. My heater is used correctly and it has served me well.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BillTheET
Winnabow, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts
12/12/2009

Customer review by AnthemForAFallenStar

2.0 stars 12/12/2009 by AnthemForAFallenStar
by AnthemForAFallenStar

I would really not spending money on this. It says it keeps it up 78 F, in reality it doesn't. This is suppose to be for 2-15 gallons. I use it for a 1.5 and still cant get past 72 during day and 70 at night. Don't waste your money on this.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnthemForAFallenStar
San Diego, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
USELESS - STAY AWAY PLEASE!
1/18/2010

Customer review by momocow

1.0 stars 1/18/2010 by momocow
by momocow

I purchased this heater less than 2 months ago and it already STOPPED working. It definitely doesn't keep the water at the 78-80 temperature. Currently it only goes on when I unplug it and plug it back in, but afterward it will not turn on again until I unplug and plug it back in. It is a TERRIBLE TERRIBLE product. It says it has a 2 year warranty, but you need to have kept the receipt and pay them $3 extra for shipping. Which means you pay money to ship it back to them, and then you provide money for them to ship it back after they "fix" it. They won't provide you with a new one, but only PARTS. PLEASE DO NOT PURCHASE THIS TERRIBLE PRODUCT.

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momocow
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great heater for small tank.
2/20/2013

Customer review by Kaj4711

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by Kaj4711
by Kaj4711

I bought this heater for my daughters new betta fish 2 gallon tank. I love the fact that it suctioned on the side of the tank & also has an auto shut off when it reaches correct temp. He dif. seems to like it being warm.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kaj4711
Lafayette, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Heater stopped working
12/18/2009

Customer review by JDNickname

1.0 stars 12/18/2009 by JDNickname
by JDNickname

I purchased this heater about 9 months ago as part of a 5 gallon aquarium kit. It worked great for the first 8 months but has sinced stopped working. The tank temp now is around 70 degrees and I noticed that the heater never seems to turn on. As there are not many choices for heaters for a 5 gallon tank I'm not sure what to do.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDNickname
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works well
3/25/2010

Customer review by ThEngineer

5.0 stars 3/25/2010 by ThEngineer
by ThEngineer

Being used in a four gallon tank. Water temperature stays at around 75 degrees in a room with an ambient temperature of 64-68 degress.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThEngineer
Beaumont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not reliable in the long run
3/21/2010

Customer review by shoppingstandards

1.0 stars 3/21/2010 by shoppingstandards
by shoppingstandards

I bought this heater about a month ago. For about three weeks this heater was doing exactly as it is suppose to do. However, it randomly started losing it's heating power. Instead of heating it to 76 degrees, it is now at 71 degrees. A 5 degree difference really affects a fish's health. Do not buy this heater because you'll have to buy another heater in the near future.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shoppingstandards
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Aquarium Heater
8/7/2013

Customer review by Ldyjadette

4.0 stars 8/7/2013 by Ldyjadette
by Ldyjadette

I love this heater. I used to have problems keeping fish because of the tank's inaccurate temperature. All I have to do is simply place the heater in the aquarium and plug in. It automatically keeps the temperature the same all day every day. I no longer to have worry about my fish. Great product and strongly recommend for beginners and/or amateurs.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ldyjadette
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well for guppies.
8/14/2010

Customer review by ReverendDrew

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by ReverendDrew
by ReverendDrew

Hi, I raise Guppies and have been using this heater to do so and have never had any proublems out of them and I use them in my 5-gal, and 10-gal, tanks the 5-gal, tanks stay between 78%-80% witch I find to be good for the fry and the 10-gal, tanks stay around 77%-79% witch aint bad if you ask me I like them and will keep using them as long as they still work the temp in my house is around 70%-72% all the time so for the heaters are working great and to be working this good I will always buy and us them I would tell anyone looking to get one to get this one and one othe thing if the flow of the water aint that great it won't work right and if you use a air stone put the heater on the other side of the tank where it will not be near the air the air will mess with the heater and never pull the heater out of the water with it still pluged in it will never work right again if you do.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReverendDrew
Inverness, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great heater for a 1.5 Gallon tank.
10/14/2014

Customer review by courie

5.0 stars 10/14/2014 by courie
by courie

It's a bit big for the 1.5 gallon tank but it doesn't over heat it at all. It stays exactly in the green area of the thermometer for tropical fish which is great because we use this little tank for our swordtail fry. Our last heater by someone else, kept going above the green area well into the 90 degree area and we weren't taking a chance on losing our babies. So if you have a small tank this is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
courie
Coos Bay,Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Aquarium Heater
11/15/2014

Customer review by seaguygrr

5.0 stars 11/15/2014 by seaguygrr
by seaguygrr

The heater is small and does actually what the package says. It maintains the temperature at a steady 78 degrees. It has a red light to let you know when the heater is heating and a green light to let you know that it is pulgged in and in stand by. I highly recommend this heater for use in the proper size aquarium.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seaguygrr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fish Demon
1/20/2015

Customer review by corpsegirl

5.0 stars 1/20/2015 by corpsegirl
by corpsegirl

It works great in my 2.5 gallon Betta tank.He's happy so I'm happy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
corpsegirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fish Tested and Approved
1/26/2015

Customer review by DanyB

5.0 stars 1/26/2015 by DanyB
by DanyB

I have a tropical fish. I had a heater that was just too long so i ordered this. My poor Finny was so cold he barely moved. As soon as i got this in and his tank warmed up my fish perked up so much. He began zooming around his tank instead of acting lethargic. He is very happy now and im so glad i got this for my small tank. Im one happy fish owner because he is comfortable and i am able to adjust yhe temperature in the room to what is comfortable for me or leave the heater off when im not home without worrying about him. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DanyB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
heater is alright for a small tank
1/4/2013

Customer review by kirsix

2.0 stars 1/4/2013 by kirsix
by kirsix

I have a 10 gallon tank and the heater did not warm the tank to temperature to what it advertise. 78 or whatever Temperature it advertise. I had to use two heaters water was too cold for fish

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kirsix
ny,ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mine died too.
1/14/2011

Customer review by danielthechskid

1.0 stars 1/14/2011 by danielthechskid
by danielthechskid

I have a 30 gallon long aquarium and managed to break my 300 watt non-submersible heater that was 8 years old (I think it was a Tetra too) by letting the water level get too low. It was still working fine prior to the incident. I purchased this 50 to go along with another submersible 50 watt (adjustable) that I had thinking that 100 total would be fine, and it was. The heater cycled on and off and maintained temp normally. After a couple weeks I noticed that the water was getting too cool and the red LED was off so I unplugged and plugged it back in and it came on. Now it will not come on at all even with the water temp at 64° so I took it apart to see how it worked. It is based on an LM324 quad op-amp and 2 temp sensors that appear to be thermal diodes but are labeled NTC on the board. These 2 sensors drive 2 of the 4 op-amps and the output of the 2 drive the third which controls the triac that switches the power to the element. The fourth op-amp is unused. The red indicator LED and its dropping resistors are hooked directly across the element. I think moisture may have gotten in and ruined the electronics. It is not serviceable as it is glued together with CA (super glue) and I broke the glass tube trying to take it apart.

Was this review helpful? (7) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danielthechskid
Centerville, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product for the money
6/29/2011

Customer review by raviK

5.0 stars 6/29/2011 by raviK
by raviK

It has been working fine so far. My fish are happy and it keeps them warm and healthy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
raviK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
72 degrees is NOT a tropical temperature
8/4/2010

Customer review by JustNaz9

1.0 stars 8/4/2010 by JustNaz9
by JustNaz9

I bought this heater a week ago and since then my 5-gallon aquarium has not reached more than 72 degrees. Tropical fish ideally should be kept in water between 76 and 82 degrees and this heater doesn't even come close. I guess you get what you pay for, but I will definitely be returning this product and spending the money on a good quality heater.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustNaz9
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews