Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 129 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

129 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

129 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
81
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 117 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews
Great starter aquarium
1/18/2010

Customer review by WallyNJ

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by WallyNJ
by WallyNJ

Great little aquarium! We have a 90 gallon, a 50 gallon, and a 10 gallon tank. My husband bought this little tank for in the kichen to replace an expensive plasic designer tank....that began to leak after 3 yrs. This tank is well made...up to par with our other expensive tanks. Very happy with quality. Great little size. I just popped a small heater in and was good to go. I would highly recommend this tank.

Was this review helpful? (164) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallyNJ
Central NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Buy!!
5/28/2010

Customer review by LovemyBetta

5.0 stars 5/28/2010 by LovemyBetta
by LovemyBetta

I debated for a few days on whether or not i wanted to purchase this tank...i am so happy that i did!I absolutely love this tank!!I have female Betta fish that live in this tank together and they love it as well!!Some people say the water pressure coming out of the filter is too strong..all you have to do is pull the black tube up a little and the pressure gets slower.Overall i'm definitely pleased with this great little tank!!Definitely worth the money!!

Was this review helpful? (124) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovemyBetta
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent products for excellent price
9/1/2010

Customer review by ElectricBlue

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by ElectricBlue
by ElectricBlue

I bought this at a Walmart store and it was better than I expected. For merely 30 bucks, you get pretty much all you need for fish, besides buying a heater which you can do right on their website (the heater works great too). The tank is a great size for placing beside your desk and takes very little effort to clean. The people who are giving the tank low ratings are not considering the package they are getting. The filter works great and makes NO noise. It cleans the water well and is in fact a very strong filter. You can lower the intensity by moving the tube up from the filter. The light bulb provided is also very bright. All in all, a great buy and great starting aquarium. I have been a fish keeper for over 3 years I have no complaints and I have actually switched from a 20 gallon to this 5 gallon.

Was this review helpful? (96) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectricBlue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
great for the price
10/13/2009

Customer review by shopper1000000

5.0 stars 10/13/2009 by shopper1000000
by shopper1000000

Just bought it for my beta and also got a castle and a couple of plants and it just looks great. I shopped around for about a week and after seeing the review that said that it was 30 I called the Walmart closest to me and they said that it was 29.97 so I immediately went there and picked it up. So, if you are interested in this aquarium then it looks like it's a good bet that it's 30 instead of the 50 that it's going for online. I would recommend to a best friend.

Was this review helpful? (87) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopper1000000
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the price!
12/29/2009

Customer review by Nantasketlove

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by Nantasketlove
by Nantasketlove

This product is perfect for a child's first fish tank. We've only had it for a little amount of time but everything is working wonderful! My son is six and it's perfect size for him to put in his room and to help me clean. I looked at every website possible and the was cheap and worth every cent.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nantasketlove
Hull, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice size for a child
9/30/2009

Customer review by jknight1

5.0 stars 9/30/2009 by jknight1
by jknight1

Very good size tank for a child or someone wanting a few fish. I have had plastic ones before and they scratch so easy. Thats why I went with this one. I got mine at the store and only paid $30 for it so I don't know why the same tank online is almost $50.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jknight1
Madison Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Great First Aquarium!
3/21/2010

Customer review by nightridertc

4.0 stars 3/21/2010 by nightridertc
by nightridertc

Bought this aquarium about 3 weeks ago. Set it up, and everything worked great. Only flaw is that the suction from the filter is way too strong for small fish. My angelfish fought the current every time it swam over to that half of the tank.. Had to pull up the tube about half an inch and wedge a piece of plastic underneath it. Slowed the flow of water a little, but doesn't bother my fish now.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nightridertc
Camarillo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
buy it at the store
1/6/2010

Customer review by ryco88

5.0 stars 1/6/2010 by ryco88
by ryco88

When I received this tank & opened it, it was cracked all the way down the side so I had to return it the same day which was a bummer. :/ But it was cheaper at the store & I also got 2 free plants in the box! So far I like the aquarium, it's quiet & hopefully since the filter is so big it will stay clean and my little goldfish love playing in the waterfall. :)

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ryco88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT Betta Tank!
12/26/2009

Customer review by BettaGirl112

5.0 stars 12/26/2009 by BettaGirl112
by BettaGirl112

I keep my red halfmoon betta in this tank along with my golden apple snail. They live very happily in this tank. One thing about the filter is it seemed to stress my betta because it was constently battling the pull of the current D=! One day, i was toying around with it and found if you slightly lift up the suction tube on the filter, it will reduce the current dracticly and the pull of the tube. Doing this, will sadly make you in need of more frequent water changes, but your fish will be much happier! Also, a friend of mine has this tank and the filter almost sucked up her guppy! She called me and i told her this trick. All in all a great buy. I reccomend reducing the current and buying a flureccent bulb. Your fish will be extremely happy in this cute little table-top tank!

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BettaGirl112
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Aquarium and Heater
11/21/2010

Customer review by tacosaredabomb

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by tacosaredabomb
by tacosaredabomb

I ordered this online and got every piece, except the heater was charged separately and the total was 40 dollars, not 50 (but that's a good thing). This aquarium is very easy to set up and works nicely. It comes with a tetra 5-15 gallon filter (which Walmart also sells) and one filter cartridge, but you have to use the cartridge to set up the aquarium in the first place. Walmart is the only place that i could find that sells the filter cartridges, so i suggest buying those along with the aquarium. The filter is easy to set up; just put in the filter cartridge, hang it on the aquarium and plug it in. If you have the water line high enough you can't even hear the filter. However, it is a bit strong for my betta fish. Actually, almost too strong. The current will shoot him all over the tank if there is nothing to slightly obstruct the it. The intake thingy also is quite strong; i once saw my betta glued to it and he couldn't get off of it. I had to use a net to get him off. However, this only happened once. Otherwise, it does its job and works just fine. The heater is also fantastic. The indicator light is a bit useless, though, because it only records the temp of the immediatly surrounding water. I suggest getting a plain old thermometer if you're worried about the temp. It keeps the tank at a constant 75 degrees or so, and is easy to hide behind a plant or two. Same with the filter. The tank itself is quite nice; i personally hate the hexagon shaped tanks. All over its a nice combo for a nice price.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tacosaredabomb
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent for the price amount
3/29/2010

Customer review by punkchica321

4.0 stars 3/29/2010 by punkchica321
by punkchica321

I brought this a few weeks back for my betta fish. It didn't come with a heater which I knew about and can easily be added, however the filter is probably my biggest problem. The flow of the filter too strong for a betta fish, so I would suggest looking online for a DIY filter baffle. I like the size and hood light isn't too bright. The food it comes with is of course useless for my betta, but I was also aware of that before I brought it. All and all I think I would recommend this product but just give people heads up if they're going to be getting it for a betta fish.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
punkchica321
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great for a beginner
5/29/2011

Customer review by keikihula

4.0 stars 5/29/2011 by keikihula
by keikihula

This is a a great tank to start with, esp for goldfish. It comes with all the basics. You'll need to add gravel, plants, decorations, a thermometer, ect., and a heater if you plan on having tropical fish. The filter is quiet and does a good job of keeping the water clear. My only problem with this kit is that the hood comes with an incandescent light bulb, which puts off a lot of heat. If we leave it on for more than a couple hours it heats the water to between 76-80 degrees, which is WAY too hot for our goldfish. We keep our house very cool, so that's not contributing to the extra heat. I could keep tropical fish in this tank without a heater, just by leaving the light on. Also, since it's a "starter kit", it would be nice if it came with a net and a thermometer. Other than that, I am very happy with this tank, esp since I had to buy it, spur of the moment at midnight, after my son won a goldfish from the carnival. :-)

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keikihula
Sandpoint, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cool water
2/15/2010

Customer review by Roylt

4.0 stars 2/15/2010 by Roylt
by Roylt

I believe a Heater, and some Gravel should be included in this package. Then, all you would need is Fish. It is a nice size for a beginner, to help them to decide if they want to really get involved with the responsability of keeping fish, and if they might want to go to a larger aquarium.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roylt
Middle River, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great starter tank and supplies
7/19/2010

Customer review by MedCAT5000

5.0 stars 7/19/2010 by MedCAT5000
by MedCAT5000

Looking for a small aquarium to brighten up your room? Look no further. This tank is exactly what I wanted, and my GloFish as well as little Neons seem to agree. Just remember not to overcrowd the tank--the rule of thumb is 1.5" of fish per 1 gallon of water. However, tetras do like to have a few buddies swimming around with them, so don't buy just a single fish of each kind- that's just cruel. The water filter is functioning well, but as others have mentioned, you do need to purchase a heater-- I think mine was around $15 and I bought it on this site as well. I'm uploading a picture of the happy campers in their newly set up "tent" :) I hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MedCAT5000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a wise buy ONLINE--great to purchase in-store
11/29/2010

Customer review by GatorMommy08

3.0 stars 11/29/2010 by GatorMommy08
by GatorMommy08

The aquarium kit itself is great--if you buy it in the store. We went to pick ours up and the box "jingled." Not good. Someone in the packing process neglected to mark the package as fragile, so it appeared that something incredibly heavy was set on one end of the box, thereby crushing the cardboard and its contents. We had opted for the free site-to-store shipping, so we were in the customer service department when the breakage was discovered and were able to return it immediately. My husband went to the back of the store (primarily to distract our disappointed daughter) and found the same kit for $2 less than we paid for it online. Do your research about aquariums in general before making this purchase. Ours (as improved as it was over the 1-gal pickle jar we started with) was still too small for just the 2 goldfish we had in it (a "prize" at the neighborhood fall festival). They have since moved to the septic tank. :o( As I understand it, (this) our 5-gallon set-up is more appropriate for a couple of guppies (make sure you have a friend at the pet store who will take your overruns) or a few mollies. For tropical fish, however, you will also need to purchase a heater. There is limited space on either side of the filter opening on the back, so measure twice and buy once. We're going back to the pet store in a few weeks...

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GatorMommy08
Northwest Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product, But Pick Up In Store!
4/22/2010

Customer review by HappyBlueCat

5.0 stars 4/22/2010 by HappyBlueCat
by HappyBlueCat

When I ordered this item online it arrived shattered in the box. It was very poorly packaged for a glass aquarium. There was no bubble wrap or styrofoam for protection, only paper. If you want this aquarium I highly advise buying it at the store, and for the price its worth upgrading to the ten gallon. You will appreciate it later. I love this mini aquarium and it is well constructed for the cost. It includes everything to get started minus the gravel, etc. I currently keep my Betta fish Nerite snail, Otto, and several Ghost shrimp in this tank. I changed the stock incandescent bulb out with a 15 watt max CFL "Daylight" bulb that I bought from Lowes. This bulb makes a huge difference in the appearance of the aquarium and growth of the plants. I also spray painted the whole inside of the canopy gloss white for better reflection. This seems to have helped also, and the tank has turned out really nice. Excellent set-up for any beginner or experience fish enthusiast. Also makes a nice grow tank or quarantine tank.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyBlueCat
Central, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW!!!
12/10/2009

Customer review by BUPZ

5.0 stars 12/10/2009 by BUPZ
by BUPZ

I LOVE THIS FISH TANK (IT CAME WITH EVERYTHING EXCEPT THE HEATER) BUT THE PRICE WAS WORTH IT. IT CAME WITH PLANT, FOOD, FILTER) ALL I NEED TO GET IS A HEATER, BECAUSE I WANT TROPICAL FISH. WHO CAN BEAT THAT!!!. IT SAYS IT'S $33.00 ONLINE, BUT IN THE STORE IT ACTUALLY $29.97. THAT IS DARN GOOD PRICE FOR EVERYTHING IT COMES WITH. IT EVEN CAME WITH SAMPLES OF FOOD & A WATER TREATMENT PACK.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BUPZ
HAWTHORNE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it.
7/29/2010

Customer review by RLLL

5.0 stars 7/29/2010 by RLLL
by RLLL

I love this fish tank. Its great for a begginer like me and was pretty easy to set up. I cant wait to add my fish.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RLLL
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Starter Aquarium
10/10/2009

Customer review by FavColorPurple

5.0 stars 10/10/2009 by FavColorPurple
by FavColorPurple

My family bought this aquarium 5 days ago and are extremely happy with the quality and ease of set-up. Our daughter won a Comet goldfish at a local fair over the weekend and the fish seems to love the tank. We did add an additional air stone as a precautionary measure for oxygenation because we felt the filter wasn't adequately sized for the tank. Overall this tank is great for those who only want to take care of a few fish. As with the previous review, we paid around $30.00 in store, not $48.00 as quoted on-line.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FavColorPurple
Upper Bucks County
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice tank but.....
8/18/2010

Customer review by PrincessBonAmi

3.0 stars 8/18/2010 by PrincessBonAmi
by PrincessBonAmi

This tank set is nice & comes with almost everything you need to get started but I have issues with the filter. It's not very powerful & the only place you can get replacement "cartridges" is at WalMart! So if your local store happens to be out, you're out of luck. They don't sell them online either, which makes no sense. Guess I'd better stock up if I see some but I'm already shopping for a different filter.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrincessBonAmi
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews