Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 129 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

129 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

129 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
81
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 117 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews
Great for newbies!
2/6/2011

Customer review by KingPikDarkKirby

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by KingPikDarkKirby
by KingPikDarkKirby

I have had gold fish, snails, and bettas in your 1 gallon pentagon tank but this is my first time with a 5 and I must say I love it!!! I have a large leopard frog tadpole (Frogger), 3 neon tetras (Phineas, Ferb, and Perry), a black kuhli loach (Pangio), and an african dwarf frog (Drifter), and they all seem to like it! GREAT product!!!! very happy :) !!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KingPikDarkKirby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Great Product, But Pick Up In Store!
4/22/2010

Customer review by HappyBlueCat

5.0 stars 4/22/2010 by HappyBlueCat
by HappyBlueCat

When I ordered this item online it arrived shattered in the box. It was very poorly packaged for a glass aquarium. There was no bubble wrap or styrofoam for protection, only paper. If you want this aquarium I highly advise buying it at the store, and for the price its worth upgrading to the ten gallon. You will appreciate it later. I love this mini aquarium and it is well constructed for the cost. It includes everything to get started minus the gravel, etc. I currently keep my Betta fish Nerite snail, Otto, and several Ghost shrimp in this tank. I changed the stock incandescent bulb out with a 15 watt max CFL "Daylight" bulb that I bought from Lowes. This bulb makes a huge difference in the appearance of the aquarium and growth of the plants. I also spray painted the whole inside of the canopy gloss white for better reflection. This seems to have helped also, and the tank has turned out really nice. Excellent set-up for any beginner or experience fish enthusiast. Also makes a nice grow tank or quarantine tank.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyBlueCat
Central, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Great First Aquarium!
3/21/2010

Customer review by nightridertc

4.0 stars 3/21/2010 by nightridertc
by nightridertc

Bought this aquarium about 3 weeks ago. Set it up, and everything worked great. Only flaw is that the suction from the filter is way too strong for small fish. My angelfish fought the current every time it swam over to that half of the tank.. Had to pull up the tube about half an inch and wedge a piece of plastic underneath it. Slowed the flow of water a little, but doesn't bother my fish now.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nightridertc
Camarillo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
buy it at the store
1/6/2010

Customer review by ryco88

5.0 stars 1/6/2010 by ryco88
by ryco88

When I received this tank & opened it, it was cracked all the way down the side so I had to return it the same day which was a bummer. :/ But it was cheaper at the store & I also got 2 free plants in the box! So far I like the aquarium, it's quiet & hopefully since the filter is so big it will stay clean and my little goldfish love playing in the waterfall. :)

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ryco88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it.
7/29/2010

Customer review by RLLL

5.0 stars 7/29/2010 by RLLL
by RLLL

I love this fish tank. Its great for a begginer like me and was pretty easy to set up. I cant wait to add my fish.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RLLL
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome starter kit!
5/8/2010

Customer review by Ghettohoney

4.0 stars 5/8/2010 by Ghettohoney
by Ghettohoney

I bought this starter kit so me and my family can enjoy having some fish in our home. I found it to be cheaper in my store than online for some reason so i went to Walmart and bought whatever i needed for the tank. I called Tetra to ask a few questions about setting it up and they gave me advice on how everything should work. Luckily, my first fish was the Blue Gourami (Trichogaster trichopterus) which hasn't died until this day but i added more fish and now i may need a bigger tank. This tank was good while it lasted and now it's time for me to upgrade since i'm not an amateur anymore. I would recommend it to someone until they get the hang of things or if they just want a starter tank just to have one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ghettohoney
Southern US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice tank!
7/30/2010

Customer review by WisconsinSharron

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by WisconsinSharron
by WisconsinSharron

I LOVE this tank and so does my betta!!!! EXCELLENT value for the money, IMO!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WisconsinSharron
N.E. Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The price is great for all you get out of it.
9/6/2011

Customer review by TheGirlWhoLovesHerFish

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by TheGirlWhoLovesHerFish
by TheGirlWhoLovesHerFish

This tank is the best! I went to walmart to buy it for $32 but at my walmart it was only $27!! and it came with a filter, filter cartridge, light, and a lightbulb!! It was great for my betta, because he likes to just relax and so thats what he does. It was a perfect size too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheGirlWhoLovesHerFish
Gooding, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT Betta Tank!
12/26/2009

Customer review by BettaGirl112

5.0 stars 12/26/2009 by BettaGirl112
by BettaGirl112

I keep my red halfmoon betta in this tank along with my golden apple snail. They live very happily in this tank. One thing about the filter is it seemed to stress my betta because it was constently battling the pull of the current D=! One day, i was toying around with it and found if you slightly lift up the suction tube on the filter, it will reduce the current dracticly and the pull of the tube. Doing this, will sadly make you in need of more frequent water changes, but your fish will be much happier! Also, a friend of mine has this tank and the filter almost sucked up her guppy! She called me and i told her this trick. All in all a great buy. I reccomend reducing the current and buying a flureccent bulb. Your fish will be extremely happy in this cute little table-top tank!

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BettaGirl112
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great starter tank and supplies
7/19/2010

Customer review by MedCAT5000

5.0 stars 7/19/2010 by MedCAT5000
by MedCAT5000

Looking for a small aquarium to brighten up your room? Look no further. This tank is exactly what I wanted, and my GloFish as well as little Neons seem to agree. Just remember not to overcrowd the tank--the rule of thumb is 1.5" of fish per 1 gallon of water. However, tetras do like to have a few buddies swimming around with them, so don't buy just a single fish of each kind- that's just cruel. The water filter is functioning well, but as others have mentioned, you do need to purchase a heater-- I think mine was around $15 and I bought it on this site as well. I'm uploading a picture of the happy campers in their newly set up "tent" :) I hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MedCAT5000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/5/2011

Customer review by Turtletooooo

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by Turtletooooo
by Turtletooooo

Today, i went out to buy this tank for my two turtles, one in which is a little Mississippi Map turtle, and the other is a painted turtle i found in the lake no bigger than a quarter. I couldn't put him in with my bigger turtles because they were really mean to him, plus they are in a 35gallon. I got home, put it together which literally took 5 mins. My baby turtles love it, and it's just the right size for them both right now until they get bigger. I also have a little floating dock that fits perfectly in it. My boyfriends mom, and his brother both have one of these for their turtles. They love it also, it's the perfect size to fit pretty much anywhere. Also, it looks very nice, and not cheap at all. The only thing is, if you're gonna have a turtle in it, make sure once the turtle starts growing.. and gets the size of your palm, he will need to be transfered to a bigger tank. They need lots of room to swim. Later on when my turtle outgrow this tank, it will be perfect for little fish or snails.. anything. I would recommend this fish tank to anyone just starting out, or with little time or space.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Turtletooooo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
WOW!!!
12/10/2009

Customer review by BUPZ

5.0 stars 12/10/2009 by BUPZ
by BUPZ

I LOVE THIS FISH TANK (IT CAME WITH EVERYTHING EXCEPT THE HEATER) BUT THE PRICE WAS WORTH IT. IT CAME WITH PLANT, FOOD, FILTER) ALL I NEED TO GET IS A HEATER, BECAUSE I WANT TROPICAL FISH. WHO CAN BEAT THAT!!!. IT SAYS IT'S $33.00 ONLINE, BUT IN THE STORE IT ACTUALLY $29.97. THAT IS DARN GOOD PRICE FOR EVERYTHING IT COMES WITH. IT EVEN CAME WITH SAMPLES OF FOOD & A WATER TREATMENT PACK.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BUPZ
HAWTHORNE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Little Starter Tank
12/29/2010

Customer review by Love2Sign

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by Love2Sign
by Love2Sign

We bought this tank for my son for Christmas. It was delivered quickly without any problems (like being broken, etc.). It was easy to set up, and fits our needs perfectly. It would be nice if it came with some beta-friendly food and maybe a heater though. My son is excited to learn how to care for his new fish (which cost more than the tank itself), and it has made a lovely addition to our living room. This tank is definately worth the price!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Love2Sign
Martinsburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4 gallons
3/2/2011

Customer review by FishAreFriendsNotFood

4.0 stars 3/2/2011 by FishAreFriendsNotFood
by FishAreFriendsNotFood

This is a great little tank for a betta fish. I have one betta and an apple snail happily living in this tank. The only thing is..once you add gravel or sand and a few plants it is truly only a 4 gallon tank. However, that Still is not bad for just my betta and my snail. They are happy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FishAreFriendsNotFood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ok tank
1/6/2012

Customer review by Julls04

3.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Julls04
by Julls04

i upgraded to this one from my 3 gal, because we got another goldfish and they need the room. the tank was fine for the most part but after about 6 months in one of the corners under the black lining the glue stoped working came out or cracked something had happened i never moved it once it was set up, but after 6 months it started leaking on one side and i couldnt find the leak. 6 months is to far to return it, and its really not worth the repair better off getting a new one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julls04
Fairfield, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic For Price!!!
7/20/2010

Customer review by tweetybrd798

4.0 stars 7/20/2010 by tweetybrd798
by tweetybrd798

My fish LOVE this tank!!! My light bulb came in shattered into little piecies but can eaisly be replaced. There was ALOT of sealing calk exposed. But over all a GREAT AWSOME tank!!! Highly recomend it!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tweetybrd798
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great for a beginner
5/29/2011

Customer review by keikihula

4.0 stars 5/29/2011 by keikihula
by keikihula

This is a a great tank to start with, esp for goldfish. It comes with all the basics. You'll need to add gravel, plants, decorations, a thermometer, ect., and a heater if you plan on having tropical fish. The filter is quiet and does a good job of keeping the water clear. My only problem with this kit is that the hood comes with an incandescent light bulb, which puts off a lot of heat. If we leave it on for more than a couple hours it heats the water to between 76-80 degrees, which is WAY too hot for our goldfish. We keep our house very cool, so that's not contributing to the extra heat. I could keep tropical fish in this tank without a heater, just by leaving the light on. Also, since it's a "starter kit", it would be nice if it came with a net and a thermometer. Other than that, I am very happy with this tank, esp since I had to buy it, spur of the moment at midnight, after my son won a goldfish from the carnival. :-)

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
keikihula
Sandpoint, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent products for excellent price
9/1/2010

Customer review by ElectricBlue

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by ElectricBlue
by ElectricBlue

I bought this at a Walmart store and it was better than I expected. For merely 30 bucks, you get pretty much all you need for fish, besides buying a heater which you can do right on their website (the heater works great too). The tank is a great size for placing beside your desk and takes very little effort to clean. The people who are giving the tank low ratings are not considering the package they are getting. The filter works great and makes NO noise. It cleans the water well and is in fact a very strong filter. You can lower the intensity by moving the tube up from the filter. The light bulb provided is also very bright. All in all, a great buy and great starting aquarium. I have been a fish keeper for over 3 years I have no complaints and I have actually switched from a 20 gallon to this 5 gallon.

Was this review helpful? (96) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElectricBlue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Value!
12/31/2009

Customer review by MissCupcake287

5.0 stars 12/31/2009 by MissCupcake287
by MissCupcake287

This product exceeded my expectations. I bought everything I needed for under $40 (with tax)with this tank starter kit. It doesn't include the heater true, but it at least tells you that on the box to remind you to purchase one. Which they sell the perfect size one you need at walmart or on the website. It also came with two green plants! Like a 5 dollar value! The starter kit it self is cheaper in stores by like 3 dollars. And I didnt want to wait for it to come by mail so I just went ahead and bought one in-store. I had to go to 2 different Walmarts because one of them was out of stock. It is a very popular product! I absolutely love my new small easy to clean, everything I wanted aquarium! All the replacement bulbs and filters and conveniently sold at walmart too, so I can just pick some up when I grocery shop. I would Def recommend this product to anyone. Great starter fsh tank. Great for a spoiled pet Betta. Or even a small gold fish (until he outgrows it), or a few tiny fish like mollies. Perfect size for a desk aquarium too. THANKS WALMART!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissCupcake287
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Buy!!
5/28/2010

Customer review by LovemyBetta

5.0 stars 5/28/2010 by LovemyBetta
by LovemyBetta

I debated for a few days on whether or not i wanted to purchase this tank...i am so happy that i did!I absolutely love this tank!!I have female Betta fish that live in this tank together and they love it as well!!Some people say the water pressure coming out of the filter is too strong..all you have to do is pull the black tube up a little and the pressure gets slower.Overall i'm definitely pleased with this great little tank!!Definitely worth the money!!

Was this review helpful? (124) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovemyBetta
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews