Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

29 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

29 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 29 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Wonderful little tank
1/18/2010

Customer review by MissHaleyDawn

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by MissHaleyDawn
by MissHaleyDawn

I love this tank very much. This tank was, at my request, a Christmas gift. I'm a college student, and had been wanting a fish to take back my dorm with me. I specifically asked for the fluorescent tank, because I wanted fluorescent decor, NOT fluorescent fish. When researching this product, I was delighted to find that it came with a filter that aerates as well as cleans the water. In it, I have one male betta, Clifford: The Big Red Fish. The filter is extremely quiet; much like the name implies: it is whisper quiet. For those who are complaining of noise issues, by simply placing the filter on a wash cloth, the vibrations from the air pump are drastically cut down. If it is still bothering you, I suggest a check-valve for the air line: this is what turned the low hum of the filter to virtually nonexistent for me. Thus far, I am completely in love with the filter included with this tank. My water has remained crystal clear and the water parameters for my specific breed fish are perfectly maintained. I do however, in keeping with the "be kind to your fishy friends" motto, suggest doing weekly to bi-weekly partial water changes, just to keep the water fresh. The water current churned out by this filter is not bad at all. It is very light, and my betta enjoys swimming against the gentle current from time to time. At first, your filter may churn out a lot of bubbles (You can see this in the second picture). But after a day, the bubbles stopped and have not returned. In addition to the filter, I purchased a small submersible heater (made by Tetra) for my betta fish. Even with the filter and heater, my betta's swim room was not compromised all that much. Do not be deceived by the product packaging, though! The box makes you believe that there is plenty of room for upwards of four plants, in addition to a large rock. Once the filter (and heater if you have a tropical fish) are in, the tank fills up quickly when adding decor. My betta ended up with a rock (similar to the one depicted on the tank box) and one medium sized plant. I like the under-the-tank-storage feature. It keeps my desk area clean and tidy. Some have mentioned being disappointed with the LED lights; I am not. As you can see from my pictures, this tank gets rather bright in the dark, and is still fairly illuminated with lights on in the room. Overall, this is a wonderful product. If properly set up and maintained, this is a perfect starter tank for beginners, college-pet tank, or hospital tank. My betta is happy and so am I. Follow the directions, and you will be too! :) I would NOT recommend this tank for anything other than a single betta, or equally small fish. Shoaling fish are probably not a good idea either, unless kept to a conservative number of three. Goldfish are also a "no," seeing as they produce A LOT of waste, which may overwhelm the small filter. In addition, it is a rule of thumb that one inch of fish needs one gallon of water--and goldfish can easy outgrow this 1.5 gallon tank.

Was this review helpful? (106) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissHaleyDawn
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/28/2009

Customer review by bassetlover27

3.0 stars 9/28/2009 by bassetlover27
by bassetlover27

its a cute aquarium. however i was highly dissapointed with the light that it comes with. I spent $6 a fish to get the glo fish thinking it would look awesome but the light doesnt light up the tank enough to really show off the fish.

Was this review helpful? (50) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bassetlover27
north little rock ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for a Betta!
10/7/2009

Customer review by Truckit

4.0 stars 10/7/2009 by Truckit
by Truckit

Buy this tank for your Betta,it really shows there color under the LED's.And they appeciate more room and a little current from the air filter.Water stays fresher also.Yeah,the LED's are a little small.It really needs about 18 lights not 9.But overall,great display for the one male Betta fish in your house.You could add a snail!

Was this review helpful? (33) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Truckit
Maryville,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
ok product
11/13/2009

Customer review by zacram

4.0 stars 11/13/2009 by zacram
by zacram

tank is OK it needs more lights on it and the top of the filter keeps on falling into the water!!!!!!! it does not have any accesories with it besides the basics pump, air pump, apporating manuals, and air hose, over all very nice enjoy it very much. :}

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zacram
georgiana AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice and unique tank!
2/19/2010

Customer review by curlysue4

4.0 stars 2/19/2010 by curlysue4
by curlysue4

Have had this tank for a month. have really enjoyed it so far. the filter is very quiet and keeps the water in the tank very CLEAN! (at first could hear the vibrations of the air pump alot but just simply put a check valve and that should stop the humming).I have 3 mixed fruit tetras (wich are white fish that have a neon blue or neon pink strip on the top) and a small algae eater for the tank, the tetras actually glow wen they pass thru the black light seam!! I guess since they are small fish it hasnt caused any problem with the space and water capacity. Overall the fish look happy swimming around. Only side affects: i agree with the other reviwers, the led lights dont really light up the whole tank enough to actually make eryting glow, as you can see in the pics only the plant right below the light is the only one that glows.But besides that this tank actually lights up any room very brightly!! .And like another reviewer said, the tank pic on the box makes is seem like theres alot of space to put plant and ornaments but there is not. As you can c in my pic i only put three medium glow plants and was not able to put the rock cuz it would not leve enough space for the fish to swim in. Besides the three plants i also bought a heater for the tetras since they are tropical fish so u got to take that into account for space if you're guna have tropical fish. BUt overall, for a beginner tank, its a nice looking tank ;) .

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
curlysue4
atlanta, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/12/2010

Customer review by mweaver41

5.0 stars 5/12/2010 by mweaver41
by mweaver41

I adore this product. This is the first fish tank I've ever owned. I use it for my betta, Ernie. Even though betta don't require anything but a bowl, I thought this would be great,because I don't like the small bowls most betta are kept in and it seemed easy enough to use. Assembly was easy and not confusing. Not only do I love the tank,Ernie absolutely loves it. It's low maintenance,but of course you should still change water at least once a week. It's easy to use and it's looks great. Before purchasing a fish,I would recommend doing your research though. I learned so much from just browsing the web. The tank is somewhat small,so I would recommend 3-4 small fish at most. I highly recommended this tank for a first time fish owner or someone who just wants a tank to keep a few fish in.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mweaver41
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little tank
3/4/2010

Customer review by Pharett

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by Pharett
by Pharett

I bought this product about four months ago now. I read most of the reviews on it at the time and for the most part it had got great reviews. As the owner now of one I would say its a great little tank, especialy for the price. The biggest complant that I have is that the light could be better. I did not use this tank for the glow fish I bought it for a betta. He seems quite happy in the tank. I think its perfect for a betta the light may not show off glow fish very well though.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pharett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good tank
6/7/2010

Customer review by AudiobookAddict

4.0 stars 6/7/2010 by AudiobookAddict
by AudiobookAddict

This tank comes with everything you need. I have been using mine for a year or so and have had great success. If you get the GloFish, the blue lights really make them glow. You can also keep neons and zebra fish (I read that GloFish are genetically modified zebra fish). I have been advised not to keep more than 3 or 4 fish in a tank this size and that seems to have worked for me. My fish are thriving and the tank is nice to look at.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AudiobookAddict
Forth Worth, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
light doesnt work
1/12/2013

Customer review by jeanne45

3.0 stars 1/12/2013 by jeanne45
by jeanne45

does anyone know where to get those underwater lights?

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeanne45
Warner Robins, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Nice Little Tank
2/28/2012

Customer review by SamuraiSniper

3.0 stars 2/28/2012 by SamuraiSniper
by SamuraiSniper

I bought this tank to set up a separate tank for a Pea Puffer. Although the light was not that great I did have some success with live plants although it might be that my room gets a lot of sunlight. The filter that came with it did not do a very good job at cleaning the water so I bought a Tom internal Filter and I also do not use the led lights anymore because I needed more light so I just have a desktop lamp over it. Other than the filter and light I really enjoy this tank and my fish seem to also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SamuraiSniper
Lynchburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tank is ok, but filter was defective.
6/3/2011

Customer review by mattsmom31655

2.0 stars 6/3/2011 by mattsmom31655
by mattsmom31655

The tank is all right, but the lid fell right off the filter within a week. The filter isn't usable without the lid because the water foams all over and overflows the tank.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mattsmom31655
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terriable
4/12/2012

Customer review by JKAJMOM

1.0 stars 4/12/2012 by JKAJMOM
by JKAJMOM

Our filter does not work, lite makes nothing glow. I would not recommend this to any one. Better off just buying a led light for a bigger tank.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JKAJMOM
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice product.
11/19/2011

Customer review by faceman1964

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by faceman1964
by faceman1964

I've had this aquarium for about 6 months now. Everything works just great. No problem with leaks, pump or light. I've enjoyed it so much Im thinking about getting a bigger aquarium where I can have more fish..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
faceman1964
South GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/6/2009

Customer review by TLC86

3.0 stars 12/6/2009 by TLC86
by TLC86

The tank make any betta look good. The light gets in the way when trying to clean the tank.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TLC86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dont buy waste of money!
2/14/2012

Customer review by Mzcakespecialist

1.0 stars 2/14/2012 by Mzcakespecialist
by Mzcakespecialist

I bought this for my 7 year old son. Very disappointed the filter stop working after a week of having it! and the glow fish died one by one. I had to keep taking them back. We have always had fish and never had any problems like this. would never recommend this tank.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mzcakespecialist
kansas city,mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent tank for bigger fish
6/5/2012

Customer review by Okara03

4.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Okara03
by Okara03

Overall this is a good tank, and I think it would work well for a betta. If you have the right color of Glofish (yellow and orange) they show up great. The main problem we have had is with the filter. The filter fell off twice in the first two days so we bought a different (and larger) filter, removed the over the tank hook, and put the hook on the original filter. With that problem solved, another arose...within the first week we have lost four fish due to their being sucked into the filter.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Okara03
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/24/2010

Customer review by happyperson26

2.0 stars 3/24/2010 by happyperson26
by happyperson26

My son got this tank for christmas and we have has to replace the Whisper, air powered, three-stage filtration pump three times already. What a pain. Does not work at all. I always have to take the fish out and clean it by hand every day to keep fish alive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyperson26
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It Leaks after a couple of months
4/16/2012

Customer review by Dis1girl

1.0 stars 4/16/2012 by Dis1girl
by Dis1girl

I had mine for 3 months then it started to leak.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dis1girl
Long Beach, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
i reallly do like this product but
1/9/2010

Customer review by Letiicia79

4.0 stars 1/9/2010 by Letiicia79
by Letiicia79

i dont know how to really use the pump!!! sad i know but i really like this aquarium for my betta bt the light is to low and the pump problem!

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Letiicia79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very adorable and nice size for my son's betta....
8/24/2011

Customer review by love2shop2478

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by love2shop2478
by love2shop2478

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
love2shop2478
Montrose Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews