Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 40 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
Weight vest
3/18/2010

Customer review by DntTreadOnMe

5.0 stars 3/18/2010 by DntTreadOnMe
by DntTreadOnMe

Great vest high quality, the weights are individual sand bags but seem to be very sturdy; have trained with it for about a week and all the seems are still holding well. no malfunctions to report

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DntTreadOnMe
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Altus 40lb Weight vest
9/7/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Got this vest about two months ago and love it. It is a little big for me (medium build @ 5'6" 165 lbs) but it works. I got it to add "a little" intensity to my workouts :) It is a little bulky, but its a weight vest, its gonna be. I like the pocket for a mp3 player and the reflectors for running.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Hagerstown, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice addition to workout routine
6/15/2010

Customer review by SalFromCal

4.0 stars 6/15/2010 by SalFromCal
by SalFromCal

Bought this to help me get more of a workout during walks with wife as well as hiking/running on local hill trails. Not making a fashion statement with this thing so tend to use it for walks in non-busy areas. Works well during runs however does bounce around especially when going fast. No issues with the materials and everything looks well made. Great value compared to other vests that don't hold as much weight (this one goes to 40 though I have only gone to 32 to date) while a lot of others go to 20 for around the same cost.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SalFromCal
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good
2/24/2010

Customer review by WatchoutBJpenn

5.0 stars 2/24/2010 by WatchoutBJpenn
by WatchoutBJpenn

Over all the vest is very good, putting the weights in takes a bit of time! but well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WatchoutBJpenn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great vest
3/16/2011

Customer review by MrBJR

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by MrBJR
by MrBJR

This is a well made weight vest. It is great for working out in. I would not suggest is for running since it is so bulky and long. It is not as snug as a 20lb vest I have tried but that is partly because of the extra 20lb difference. It holds up well and I have not had any problems with it. I use it mostly for adding weight to body weight exercises like pushups, chinups, and squats. Works perfect for that.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrBJR
Greeneville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/15/2011

Customer review by InTraining212

4.0 stars 9/15/2011 by InTraining212
by InTraining212

Vest is very comfortable & very easy to wear/workout in. The quality though is not as nice as the 20-lb Gold's Gym one sold in the store. This vest is nice, but the make-up of the vest is thinner than the 20-lb vest & since I have used both, I can compare & say that the Gold's Gym one is a thicker more quality vest. This 40-lb vest is nice & works find, I just hope it lasts.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InTraining212
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost great
5/31/2010

Customer review by pounder

4.0 stars 5/31/2010 by pounder
by pounder

The biggest thing I do not like about this vest is that the clips are kinda cheap. I'm afraid I may break them one day. They also may come undone if you have the vest really tight on you and are doing some quick movements (I was doing some boxing). This vest is better for those who will plan to do movements like squats, pull-ups, or dips, etc.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pounder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Price.....So-So design
7/14/2011

Customer review by TheWoodser

3.0 stars 7/14/2011 by TheWoodser
by TheWoodser

Overall this seems to be a pretty good weight vest....But it could be allot better. I am an average size male at 5’9" and 180lbs. I figured the “One Size” would be no problem, but this vest, even at its tightest still is "sloppy" on me. I would like it to fit a bit more snug as I intend to wear this while running. Also it is a bit bulky, the shoulder area hangs over my upper arms and the removable weights seem very large for the amount of weight they represent. It feels like each of the small bags are filled with sand, if they had used lead shot the weight bags could have been much smaller. Pros: Prices Cons: Bulky on small to average size people. Weights are too large for the amount of weight they contain.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheWoodser
Oceanside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I'm glad I bought it.
5/2/2011

Customer review by CowboyInTheJungle

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by CowboyInTheJungle
by CowboyInTheJungle

Overall, I’m pleased with this vest. I like that I can slowly add weight as my strength increases. It is bulky, but I don’t know how it could be more streamlined given the amount of weight it holds.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CowboyInTheJungle
Northeast, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Accessory!
6/26/2011

Customer review by Amoyemaat

4.0 stars 6/26/2011 by Amoyemaat
by Amoyemaat

This is a great accessory to my workout routines. I use it to run a 3.5 miles cardio workout, and to do weighted push-ups, dips, chin-ups and crunches. It is very sturdy and I like the pocket for my iPhone to listen to music while I run.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amoyemaat
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the time for serious athletes
5/2/2012

Customer review by MountaineeringMan121

1.0 stars 5/2/2012 by MountaineeringMan121
by MountaineeringMan121

I am a mountaineering junkie and i bought this weighted vest to help intensify my workouts, firstly this vest is BIG! I couldn't imagine walking into my gym with this vest on without getting stares from my fellow gym goers. The vest is also clumsy and not good for really anything but walking. If your just looking to help intensify your evening stroll then this vest will be perfect for you. But for people like myself who just want to workout without worrying about being hit in the knees by this clumsy vest look somewhere else. I just got back from returning this vest and literally just ordered a new brand (70 pound ZF0 vest) which may be more expensive but already from the pictures looks 10 times more satisfactory, all in all I wouldn't wish this vest on my worst mountaineering rival. Pay the extra cash and buy a more solid vest, I've decided to not let price be a drawback again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MountaineeringMan121
Covina, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Spend a little more elsewhere
7/22/2010

Customer review by P90xr

3.0 stars 7/22/2010 by P90xr
by P90xr

The fit on this thing is horrible and the material used is very uncomfortable...especially where it contacts the neck. I am 6'1 and around 170lbs. It is very loose for my frame. You need to be more round to prevent it from moving around so much.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
P90xr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sore Shoulders
11/22/2011

Customer review by Nocard

1.0 stars 11/22/2011 by Nocard
by Nocard

For walking workouts the problem with this vest is that all the weight hangs from the shoulders and makes them sore. This is a common problem with backpacks which is solved by using a hip belt and some type of frame to transfer the majority of weight to the pelvis. I suggest a small internal frame pack with a hip belt and a system of straps to compress the load (tighten the pack around weights) to keep it from slopping about when walking.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nocard
New York City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Useful item, if a little clumsy
5/30/2011

Customer review by Tunkson

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by Tunkson
by Tunkson

I haven't fully used this vest to its full potential yet (after all, you should start low/comfortable and then work your way up), but I can tell you that this vest is actually very good to helping you exercise. Now, note that this vest is big and clumsy, so you're not winning any fashion awards with it, and from the outside in, it may even look ridiculous, but what counts are results, so if you can look past outer appearances, you'll really come to like this (no dating puns intended). Having an additional 10, 20 or 40 pounds on your shoulder really gets to you for the first week or two or three, depending on how often you workout with it, but I can guarantee you that if you use this on a regular basis, you'll feel light as a feather by the time you're done. (Please be aware that although I haven't fully used all 40 sacks of this vest yet, I used to have ankle and wrist weights, so I do know what I'm talking about). As far as pricing goes, this was 70$, which is very good, considering that others are 40$ for 20 lbs. Since the weight on this behemoth of a vest is adjustable, this is a very good value. So all in all, this is a very good choice as far as price/performance goes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tunkson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/5/2011

Customer review by jsabs44

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by jsabs44
by jsabs44

no problems with this product so far. seems like a good value. easy to adjust weights, seems durable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsabs44
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
12/25/2010

Customer review by JED321

3.0 stars 12/25/2010 by JED321
by JED321

This weight vest seems to be of decent quality, but the sizing is off. Definitely not something to run in as it will "flap in the breeze". WIll return in-store and reorder a different one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JED321
Lexington KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Cheap indeed.
8/29/2012

Customer review by JacobsE

1.0 stars 8/29/2012 by JacobsE
by JacobsE

I received this vest and worked out with it 12-15 times, and the sand or whatever it is is coming out of the little 1lb baggies that hold it, the packs that hold the weights are ripping themselves off of the vest, and the seams by the shoulders are ripping apart as well. The bottom of the vest is too long, and flops. It tends to hit me in an unpleasant place when I run with it. I asked for this vest for Christmas as a gift because it was the cheapest I could find. I had found a cheap on alright. I then emailed ALTUS about it and received no response. Just bought one from ZFO. Hopefully they do not let me down like ALTUS has. Rather ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JacobsE
Annapolis, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great!
11/28/2011

Customer review by 96kittens

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by 96kittens
by 96kittens

This vest was a gift for my son who likes working out. He chose this vest and really likes it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
96kittens
Hattiesburg, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Altus 40# weighted vest
9/28/2010

Customer review by torn8ochaser

5.0 stars 9/28/2010 by torn8ochaser
by torn8ochaser

Compared to other similarly weighted vests, this one is a great bargain. I have seen this same vest priced at $100 at other retailers. The vest fits well, using the adjustable straps. The top and bottom of the vest have Velcro strips. The only thing that could be better (and this is a minor annoyance) is that it can get a bit difficult to snap the clasps together when the vest is loaded. But it could be that I pull them pretty snug. I don't run, I use it for walking appx 2 - 2 1/2 miles morning and evening, and the vest hangs well, with the weight distributed well. If you are wanting to burn more calories thru a more vigorous workout, this vest should serve you well. I also use it for doing my pushups. Good added bonus.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
torn8ochaser
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great vest
9/26/2012

Customer review by Conditioning

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by Conditioning
by Conditioning

Vest seems to be well made. None of my sandbags leak. The vest fits good and is adjustable. I have used it while riding my bike on training runs and it provides good resistance. While the vest is big, it isn't so bulky that it is uncomfortable to wear or throw you off balance as you try to move around. You can add or remove sandbags to adjust the weight. I would not advise running while wearing this as the weight could be too much on your joints. Overall, I am happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Conditioning
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews