Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

44 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

44 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
6
1 stars
13
1-20 of 42 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
1/12/2012

Customer review by Timberline

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Timberline
by Timberline

I have been using this device everyday for the past 4 month's and it has yet to let me down. I do some serious pull-up exercises with it and i have yet to have any sort of issue. When assembling make sure that everything is aligned straight before you tighten the screws as this may be why some of you are having issues with it coming loose over time. I haven't had to tighten mine again so not sure if this helped. As far as the grips go and how some people are stating that the foam is starting to come apart, do what I did to save that foam and take a simple ankle high sock, fold it in half and then drap it over the handles. That way you are putting more of the friction on the sock which is saving the foam underneath. I also did the same thing on the foam ends that press up against the doorframe. That way my doorframe won't get damaged from any rubbing. Again, I have found numerous exercises that I can do with this unit that aren't just the boring pull-up and chin-up styles so be creative!! I would easily recommend!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Timberline
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Garbage
1/20/2016

Customer review by DanF

1.0 stars 1/20/2016 by DanF
by DanF

Could not even mount this thing on my door way! Not tall enough to clear my trim. The box has no sizes listed on it so there is no way to know if it will fit other than the width of the doorway. The trim surrounding my doorway is only 4 1/2" which is pretty standard. If you are going to sell a door mound bar, it may be a good idea to make it fit most door trims!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanF
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does the job..
3/19/2010

Customer review by Patron022

4.0 stars 3/19/2010 by Patron022
by Patron022

Bought this pull up bar to start my p90x workout.. works awesome.. very study and does the job. Will recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patron022
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works just fine
10/20/2010

Customer review by Xenophilius

4.0 stars 10/20/2010 by Xenophilius
by Xenophilius

It works as expected but there was no DVD. However, I think the one with a DVD was $5 more. I really don't need the DVD so, no big deal.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xenophilius
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The bolts
1/16/2010

Customer review by Facts55

2.0 stars 1/16/2010 by Facts55
by Facts55

Ok overall this is good pull up bar, considering the price. I bought this pull up bar to start my homegym, I been lifting for about 5 years and got tired to pay a membership. This bar is a good idea, but you have to consider that every one like "the guy in comercial" is going to use it, which means the people are gonig to weight over 170 pounds most of the time. Here is the cons, the bolts broke not one but three, two in the middle where you connect the two long flats bars together, and the third L shape so yes I fell down and my work out was over. The last con to this I think its bad for the door. The pros to this is it holds me very well and its stable, with that said it actually make you go slow and watch your form. It also seem that I'm not the first with the bolt problem, so yes I do remmomend that if you buy this bar that you should buy some bolts at the same time, even if your don't brake you can just return them.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Facts55
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym
1/17/2010

Customer review by gpd106

2.0 stars 1/17/2010 by gpd106
by gpd106

I purchased this product at Walmart and put it together. After only a few uses one of the bolts broke. I took it back to the store and exchanged it for another one. I put that one together and again the bolt broke. In one review it was wrote that instead of complaining about the bolts breaking, just replace them. That is okay, but why can't I expect the ones included in the package to work? Overall, I believe that the product is a good deal and sturdy for the price. Even with having to replace the bolts I think that it is. When it is up and the bolts are not breaking it does exactly what I expect it to do. I still would recommend this mainly because similar products are much more expensive. There is even one on another website that is identical to this one only with a different name and it is $10.00 more. It is worth spending a few extra bucks to replace the bolts if necessary.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gpd106
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Extremely Poor Design
9/30/2010

Customer review by KayakChica

1.0 stars 9/30/2010 by KayakChica
by KayakChica

This product is very poorly designed. The square-headed metal bolts are held in place (kept from turning) by soft plastic. The tool intended for assembly that was enclosed with the product is not well matched to the size of the nuts. (I would recommend using a socket set.) Once we had assembled this product it became clear that the bar would not fit on our door. However, due to the poor design, it is impossible to take apart and return to the store. The nuts would not unscrew from the bolts because the square indentations in the plastic had been stripped during assembly, so we ended up giving away the pull-up bar and hopefully someone else can use it. I cannot say how it would work once assembled since it doesn't fit our door, but I can say that the assembly was difficult and that disassembly is impossible.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KayakChica
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Limited applilcations
9/29/2010

Customer review by fisherman37

1.0 stars 9/29/2010 by fisherman37
by fisherman37

There is nothing on the exterior of the box to tell you this and you find out only when you open the box and read the users manual. This device only works with doors that have a door frame width of 27.5 to 30 inches. All the doors in my home are wheelchair compatible and are 32 to 36 inches in width so I will be returning this item as it is not compatible with any of my door openings.

Was this review helpful? (80) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fisherman37
Central Alabama rural area
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
11/1/2009

Customer review by ktgk

4.0 stars 11/1/2009 by ktgk
by ktgk

I didn't know what to expect when I bought this, but I am very satisfied. It's sturdy and that's what matters most. I wish the foam were more secure, but that's my only complaint.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ktgk
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
product works fine
3/31/2010

Customer review by joey915

4.0 stars 3/31/2010 by joey915
by joey915

I bought this product and it works fine, but then again I only weight 160 lbs . I don't recommended this product for anybody who is 200 lbs or more. Installation is very easy. Great product if your under 200 lbs.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joey915
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheaply Made
1/7/2010

Customer review by johnyab

1.0 stars 1/7/2010 by johnyab
by johnyab

I bought this product so I could to pull/chin ups at home. I assembled it and even read the manual like a good boy. The manual states that this pull up bar is not to be used by anyone over 250 pounds. I weigh 155 pounds, yet I somehow managed to bend one screw and completely break another, THE VERY FIRST TIME I USED IT, rendering the bar useless. I went to Gold Gym's website to inquire about replacement parts, but you can't get anywhere withought the product and serial numbers, neither of which are printed on the bar, manual, or box. This was a total waste of money and I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnyab
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Very Limited
1/10/2011

Customer review by strthomp

1.0 stars 1/10/2011 by strthomp
by strthomp

Does not fit in any door of my home. Tried to give it to a friend, but it did not fit any of the doors in his apartment. Not a single note on the box about the dimension requirements. My doorways are not uncommon, and neither are my friends.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
strthomp
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Excellent value in a functional piece of equipment
11/14/2011

Customer review by SDCyclist

4.0 stars 11/14/2011 by SDCyclist
by SDCyclist

Extremely good value in a combination pullup bar/pushup assitant. It works with just about any conventional doors or even the end of hallways with moudling. I know - I have tried it both ways. The dip function and situp function are pure gimmick - as they don't really enhance doing those workouts without this equipment. Pullups chinups with hands placed wide, narrow, and with the hands rotated 45 degrees off from the classic pullup/chinup position emphasizes different muscles. I tried doing pushups with this and it was immediately evident that it made this rote exercise more challenging. Far better value than buying a ton of worthless and expensive equipment. Costs less than joining a gym. And it breaks down into a suitcase for use in hotel rooms on business travel. Hard to beat combo!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SDCyclist
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
helpful
3/14/2010

Customer review by paajma

1.0 stars 3/14/2010 by paajma
by paajma

First use of this item was the last. Connecting screw separated in mid-pull up causing me to go down with gravity.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paajma
Blackwood, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great for the money
2/19/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/19/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this about a week ago. I didn't expect much from it since it was so cheap. I put it together and gave it a whirl. I was pleasantly surprised how sturdy it was. I seen several identical ones for more money. Worth the $20.00 indeed!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great pull-up bar
3/10/2012

Customer review by Renessa14

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Renessa14
by Renessa14

I didn't know what to expect when I purchased this. I couldn't understand how you could do a pull up if it were not to be attached permanently. I am very satisfied with this product! We keep it on the door way entering the kitchen as a reminder to use it, but it can be removed if we are having guests.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Renessa14
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Useful
10/25/2010

Customer review by LanPro

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by LanPro
by LanPro

Mounts in all of my doorways and holds up very well. For the price this is a great buy! I plan on using it for a long long time! I work for the company that sells this product and would highly recommend buying it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LanPro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great value
1/11/2010

Customer review by dsmayo

5.0 stars 1/11/2010 by dsmayo
by dsmayo

This product is great. Very convenient to use and sturdy. In regards to the review stating the hardware broke - just replace the bolts. There is no special hardware required and the included bolts are strong.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dsmayo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
only good enough for the money..
3/22/2010

Customer review by komije

2.0 stars 3/22/2010 by komije
by komije

this product was suppose to come with a DVD but none came with mine which is kinda annoying....

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
komije
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works as good, if not better than higher priced
10/11/2010

Customer review by ferre11

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by ferre11
by ferre11

Great in-door and floor equipment — comparable to high-end products at 2x and 3x the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ferre11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews