Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 293 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

293 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

293 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
181
4 stars
67
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 stars
19
1-20 of 267 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 267 total reviews
1-20 of 267 reviews
Get Suckum
2/4/2017

Customer review by Staceman

4.0 stars 2/4/2017 by Staceman
by Staceman

This is my second hand-held Dirt Devil. I've used it a couple times a week every week of the year in my 18 wheeler. It really does a great job! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Staceman
Lake Country, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love a corded hand vacuum.
1/25/2017

Customer review by Wendy45

4.0 stars 1/25/2017 by Wendy45
by Wendy45

I am glad to have this product; the cordless hand vacs die after a couple of years; we have never had good luck. The one thing that disappoints me about this vacuum is that it doesn't have a small brush head, only a wand. The old model of this vac did, and I used it often. Please Dirt Devil, provide an optional brush head for the hose!

Wendy45
Parker, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love it!
1/11/2017

Customer review by Maggies Dad

5.0 stars 1/11/2017 by Maggies Dad
by Maggies Dad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Strong, powerful,love the crevice tool!

Maggies Dad
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Still the best!
12/28/2016

Customer review by DD king

5.0 stars 12/28/2016 by DD king
by DD king

I originally brought my first Dirt Devil over 20ys ago. My honey uses mine & loves it. I decided get her one & didn't know about the new attachment. It works great!

DD king
Dayton, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for people with pets hair on furniture
8/16/2014

Customer review by Babette

3.0 stars 8/16/2014 by Babette
by Babette

I'm a professional house cleaner and I've tried a lot of vacuum cleaners on the market. As I use my clients' appliances depending on what their household needs are, I'd definitely recommend this Dirt Devil to any one who wants to grab bad and overwhelming pet hair on upholstery, furniture and staircases. I tried many vacuums and the ones with best suctions are not comfortable to use in standard US staircases; the ones that fit the staircases don't have the right suction or don't work well with upholstery. Pretty much I haven't find the perfect vacuum (do all) yet! If you have hairy pets and you need something that will get rid of the hair off your furniture and every little place, this is definitely the best hand held vacuum I've used so far ( I'm talking about efficiency here). Yes it's VERY loud and heavy on the arm.... I hate that it has a bag too. There are always some leakage if you are dealing with dusty places.

Babette
Mankato, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
The only full-service hand-vacuum
5/6/2016

Customer review by RRassendyll

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by RRassendyll
by RRassendyll

I am on my third Dirt Devil Ultra. The first served handily for 20 years; the switch failed. The second blew a bearing (so far as I could tell); it was replaced under warranty with no fuss. The third performs flawlessly. We use this in the room where our birds spend most of the time; it is superb for picking up seed and other like debris. The strong features: This is bagged -- much easier to keep clean when getting rid of debris. The crevice tool is right there -- an improvement from earlier models is that the hose is now permanently mounted, rather than removable. The beater-bar works well; I liked the older version better than the newer one, but both are entirely functional. The suction is impressive; as someone has said of anther DirtDevil product, this thing will suck the chrome off your bumpers. The two-speed motor is nice. Downside: Replacing the belt can be a bit time-consuming -- but this is not a frequent problem. I like the retro feel of the thing. My mother had a Royal upright and a Royal hand vacuum (as well as an electrolux). This hand vacuum has much the same feel as the c. 1940-something vacuum I remember as a child.

RRassendyll
Schenectady, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dirt devil quality 5 star as always
10/13/2016

Customer review by Jamey

5.0 stars 10/13/2016 by Jamey
by Jamey

I have a spiral staircase that is carpeted. Imagine how difficult that would be to clean with a normal large vaccum lugging it up and down. Ive owned dirt devil in the past ans they have never let me down. My stairs are so easy to clean now i sure wish id have gotten minr sooner! The hand held crevice tool is a great bonus item also for other quick messes. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jamey
Shawano, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dirt Devil corded hand vacuum
10/12/2016

Customer review by Buffy

5.0 stars 10/12/2016 by Buffy
by Buffy

Bought this a few months ago by mistake--wanted a cordless but kept it because the cord was long enough that I could use it easily anywhere. Also, it had the advantage of no time limit in its use. Such is not the case with cordless. But, most of all, it's extremely powerful, and I use it on all my home's surfaces. Love it!

Buffy
Tampa, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One of 1st handheld model
10/12/2016

Customer review by Happy dog owner

5.0 stars 10/12/2016 by Happy dog owner
by Happy dog owner

I purchased my dirt devil handheld approximately 20+ years ago for convenience & ease when cleaning up my Husky's dog hair. I use it on a weekly basis, and was ecstatic when the hepa bags came out. Absolutely the best small vacuum purchase I've made.

Happy dog owner
Cortland, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for cleaning an RV
10/17/2016

Customer review by Skywalker

5.0 stars 10/17/2016 by Skywalker
by Skywalker

I bought this about a month ago and works great vacuuming my class C motorhome. Very handy and compact. Highly recommend.

Skywalker
Santa Cruz, NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very powerful
10/12/2016

Customer review by stones

4.0 stars 10/12/2016 by stones
by stones

I've had mine for many years and I use it everywhere. It much stronger then the battery powered ones. Plus I don't have to worry about the battery running out while I'm using it..Good buy for the money

stones
West Hempstead, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Light and compact. Keep int he camper for cleaning. great on steps in the house.
10/12/2016

Customer review by bcgrund

4.0 stars 10/12/2016 by bcgrund
by bcgrund

I've owned mine for over a year. Still works great. Really like how long the cord is on the unit. Simple to pull this vacuum out instead of always hauling out my big vacuum.

bcgrund
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little vacuum with enormous suction
10/14/2016

Customer review by Vicky

5.0 stars 10/14/2016 by Vicky
by Vicky

I've had my handheld corded vac for years. Great for stairs, upholstery or a fast clean-up.

Vicky
Enfield, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use
10/13/2016

Customer review by handy

5.0 stars 10/13/2016 by handy
by handy

Bought this to use in the car but we use it everywhere. It has plenty of power to pick up most anything.

handy
Dexter, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Hand Vac I've owned
7/31/2016

Customer review by Hapaki1

5.0 stars 7/31/2016 by Hapaki1
by Hapaki1

This may sound a bit weird, but even though this is the 3rd time I've bought this model as a replacement, this is still the best hand-held vacuum I've owned. I just love it. It's great for (carpeted) steps which my wife makes me do 2 or more times a week, and area carpet cleaning. Best features: Easy to use, lightweight, 2 speed, and it DOESN'T have one of those useless Turbo Brushes that never work. Now, why have I replaced it 3 times? User error. Each time I've picked up something that shouldn't be picked up with a vacuum. I remember reviewing this vac on Amazon and seeing someone else's review. In their review they complained about dirt shooting under and behind the vacuum. ANY vacuum has this problem. The reason is that the user is not holding the vacuum properly; parallel the surface. They're tilting it forward slightly which allows the brush to push dirty under and behind the vacuum. 2 things I'd love to see in an upgrade: 1. A rubber (or other material) air dam at the back of the vacuum's surface to prevent the dirt kick back I mentioned when you don't hold it properly. 2. This same model as a cordless hand vacuum...but no turbo brush! I'd rather have to recharge the battery than have a vacuum with a useless turbo brush. And, YES, I will buy it again if need be, unless Royal comes out with the cordless model.

Hapaki1
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for doing stairs and small spills
9/18/2016

Customer review by sansan

5.0 stars 9/18/2016 by sansan
by sansan

But I want to know how to get the bag off to empty it. HELP!!!

sansan
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Limited use
9/11/2016

Customer review by freddie74

2.0 stars 9/11/2016 by freddie74
by freddie74

This vacuum could perform more tasks if a longer hose attachment and brush attachment were included.

freddie74
niagara county, New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Motor Home is not complete without my "Dirt Devil"
5/5/2016

Customer review by One and Onie

5.0 stars 5/5/2016 by One and Onie
by One and Onie

Well, I have had my "Dirt Devil" for longer that I can remember. Never has let me down. I keep one in the house and one in my RV. My motor home. is not complete without my trusted corded hand held vacuum. Behind the driver's seat, nothing fits there except my Dirt Devil, other vacuums are just to big and cumbersome. Under the passengers seats, reaches all that can't be reached by other vacs....Vacuums up every little rock, dust and debris. I can't believe how handy-dandy my hand held vac is. It reaches places that need vacuuming without a fuss and keeps those spaces clean and cleaner. It does the job it was designed to do. Loved Dirt Devil a very long time.The quality was built to last and last and last.

One and Onie
Oregon, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DIRT DEVIL
8/24/2016

Customer review by MCLOUD

4.0 stars 8/24/2016 by MCLOUD
by MCLOUD

THE ONLY COMPLAINT IS THAT ITS LOUD, ITS IS A GREAT SIZE AND VACUUM VERY WELL. PRICE WAS GREAT ALSO

MCLOUD
The Colony, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I needed!
6/28/2016

Customer review by ravensdale1066

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by ravensdale1066
by ravensdale1066

I like the convenience and power of this fine product. I have had other portable vacuums, (cordless), that actually required twenty hours of charging to give me ten minutes of vacuuming. This is as powerful, (4 amp), as I can ever see requiring in a portable vacuum. My wife and I have a Russian Blue cat that leaves a wondrous silky trail behind her. This does the job between full vacuum jobs. I would highly recommend this model. I like that it has a bag and the crevice attachment is on the unit. I really like this unit.

ravensdale1066
Selkirk, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 267 total reviews
1-20 of 267 reviews