Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 216 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

216 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

216 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
134
4 stars
49
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 stars
13
1-20 of 190 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 190 total reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews
Best hand vac for stairs
9/20/2013

Customer review by Heidi74

5.0 stars 9/20/2013 by Heidi74
by Heidi74

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this hand vac! I have an upright vacuum with an attachment and my stairs never seemed clean enough. I have a medium length haired dog, and I was constantly finding hair even after I vacuumed. This hand vac has a rotating belt system which is what I wanted. I didn't want a dust buster style hand vac. I love the fact that this also has a hose attachment with the crevice tool. I can now get every piece of hair, dirt and crumbs out of my stairs. I also like the fact that I can vacuum the front face of my stairs. Best purchase I have made in a while. The only down side is the fact that I have to purchase bags for this vacuum. I wish it had a small canister I could empty instead. You will not be disappointed with this vacuum. The cord is not an issue for me. I wanted something n I could plug in. I think the cordless vacuums don't have enough guts. The latch for the cord, to keep it tied up is of poor construction. Very cheaply made. I don't even bother with it. I simply use a cord clasp I bought a the big orange Home supply store.

Was this review helpful? (59) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heidi74
Hemet, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Small, Portable and Efficient
5/18/2014

Customer review by Jayjae

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Jayjae
by Jayjae
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The hose from an older Dirt Devil Hand Vac detached and I was able to use duct tape for a month but then I had the same problem so it was time to purchase a replacement model. I always keep two of these Dirt Devils-one upstairs and one downstairs for small and quick jobs like bathroom floors, car interiors, steps, and catching insect and spider "critters." I love having the bags inside the vacuum as I have used bagless appliances before-yucky! With this vacuum, you just toss the bag and put in a fresh one. It always surprises me how long it takes to fill a bag. The cord is nice and long and it is a pretty powerful unit for the size. I use it frequently. This is a great Walmart price. I had mine sent site to store. It arrived in just a few days and I could track the shipment online. Thanks, Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jayjae
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love my Dirt Devil!
1/28/2016

Customer review by bensgermanwife

4.0 stars 1/28/2016 by bensgermanwife
by bensgermanwife

I searched 6 stores in Florida for a Dirt Devil compact vacuum that had an electrical plug. I didn't want a battery operated one that I would have to spend money on batteries on continuously. I also love Dirt Devil brand, I have one at my other home and it has worked well for 15 years! I finally had to order this online at Wal-Mart. I was so happy that they had it available and it arrived in a few days to the store, free shipping to the store. It works Great! Very strong suction. I am so happy with it and I always recommend it to my friends and family!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bensgermanwife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Hand held sweeper!!!
1/17/2016

Customer review by callie

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by callie
by callie

I have had an old dirt devil and it finally quit. This one is much more powerful and I love the on board hose. It absolutely does a fantastic job on my stairways. I have two cats and it picks up all of the tiny bits of cat litter that seem to get on my steps. I would recommend this product highly to anyone that needs a hand held sweeper for small quick jobs!!~~

callie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
In a GOOD way - This Vacuum Sucks!! . . . See what I did there?
1/15/2016

Customer review by PsyBirdy

4.0 stars 1/15/2016 by PsyBirdy
by PsyBirdy

Bought this specifically for stairs and quick clean ups. We use a Roomba for general vacuuming and I've tried many hand help cordless dust buster type units for stairs and quick cleans. This one is the BEST! My stairs and baseboards look amazing. It has a great power brush and cord wraps up nice for storage. TWO thumbs up for this awesome little Dirt Devil! And Great price too!

PsyBirdy
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Strong vacuum
2/5/2016

Customer review by Diesel

4.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Diesel
by Diesel

Powerful suction. Does what I expected, to clean bird seed and cat litter. Only annoyance mostly to our pets is that it's loud.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diesel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Handy
1/29/2016

Customer review by Susa

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by Susa
by Susa

Very handy for small jobs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Susa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
vacuum cleaner
1/27/2016

Customer review by Judy

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Judy
by Judy

I like this hand held vacuum to get to odd places. It is electric which is a lot stronger than the ones that are battery charged.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Judy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hand Vac That Has Suction
2/6/2010

Customer review by TiredOfWastingMoney

5.0 stars 2/6/2010 by TiredOfWastingMoney
by TiredOfWastingMoney

Finally A Hand Vac That Actually Makes A Difference After Running It. Of Course You Can Not Over Power The Unit By Moving It Too Fast & Expect It To Remove Strings, Fuzz, Paper Clippings Etc. I Tried To Pick Up All Of The Above Items & Had No Problem. We've Been Using An Older Version Of This Model, But After About 10 Years Of Use, It Was Time To Replace It. Nice Touch With The Unit Being All In One & With The Flip Of The Door You Can Switch From Brush Roller Use To Hose Use. On Older Version,We Had To Remove Belt & Install Hose In Opening To Switch From Roller To Hose Use.

Was this review helpful? (143) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TiredOfWastingMoney
Lehigh Valley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Product
1/4/2016

Customer review by Linel

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by Linel
by Linel

I bought this hand vac about a month ago. I've had several in the past, and they have always worked well. One minor thing that I don't think is necessary is the cord holder. It is too small to hold the cord properly.

Linel
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I guess I just like Dirt Devil brand
9/12/2010

Customer review by Goodvaluegal

5.0 stars 9/12/2010 by Goodvaluegal
by Goodvaluegal

I like the Dirt Devil brand (the red vacs) and have the small hand held one for stairs and the floor vac for the rest of the house. They have always been reasonable in price and simple to use. I find they get the job done without all the bells and whistles of the more complicated high tech vacs. Over the years they are my choice also because I can take them apart easily for cleaning or belt replacement and don't have to "send them out to be repaired" -you can do it yourself.

Was this review helpful? (60) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goodvaluegal
Baltimore Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not so bad
12/21/2009

Customer review by None9987

4.0 stars 12/21/2009 by None9987
by None9987
Top 500 contributor

This Dirt Devil works much better than the other hand vac they make. This one has a wooden beater bar that is belt driven. The suction is ok but not awesome. If Dirt Devil put the suction of their non belt driven model into this one they'd have a real winner. This one does work fairly well. It seems well built and I did like that it isn't very heavy. It does require the ongoing purchase of bags but that's not a huge drawback, as long as I can find them. It does come with one bag. I could not find that tidbit of info anyplace. I would suggest giving this model a try.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
None9987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 500 contributor
Dirt Devil Hand Vac
11/18/2010

Customer review by RFRPITT

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by RFRPITT
by RFRPITT

This is one great little hand vac for the money. I saw in other reviews that the hose doesn't have much vacuum. They must not have closed the door over the brush area or something, because this little guy works great.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RFRPITT
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
LOUD
11/30/2015

Customer review by NJW5166

2.0 stars 11/30/2015 by NJW5166
by NJW5166

This is very loud. This has got to be one of the loudest vacuums that I own ( I collect vacuums). The suction through the hose is very poor, but it can still suck up smaller crumbs, and bird seed without any problems. Now, even though the hose lacks power, the brush where this excels. It is great at cleaning stairs and upholstery. I have three dogs and two cats, and it gets all of the hair off of the carpeted stairs and the couch. It also grooms the carpet nicely! Other than the noise,and hose, my other main gripe with this is that it is a Dirty Air cleaner. What is dirty air? It means the dirt passes through a suction fan. For example, the upright vacuum that you use (as long as it was purchased with in the last 15 years and isn't a Kirby or a Riccar) is clean air, which means dirt bypasses the fan. With this being a dirty air cleaner, be careful what you pick up. If you suck up something big, or hard, such as a nail, a coin, a rock, or even an M&M, it will shatter the fan and ruin the machine. So watch what you suck up. Because of this, I would not use this in the car if there are rocks that got tracked in. This is definitely better than any cordless handheld in this price range, however, I do feel that there are better corded hand vacuums that cost less, such as the Dirt Devil 2.0 or the Eureka 71b EZ Clean

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/2/2015

Hi NJW5166! We're truly sorry to hear the Ultra does not meet your standards and appreciate your honest feedback! We can spare a few tips to alleviate the issues you're experiencing. If the hand vac appears to be loud and has poor suction, this could be attributed to a clog or blockage. Try this: remove the hose from clip on side of cleaner. Then, insert a small utensil through to knock out any blockages or debris. Be sure to replace the disposable bag with genuine Type G Bags. Replacement parts can always be found here: http://bit.ly/1O3O8CQ. Please give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (Monday-Friday 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST) if you have any more questions. We're here to help out!

NJW5166
Altoona, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works really great
12/22/2015

Customer review by Teds truck

5.0 stars 12/22/2015 by Teds truck
by Teds truck

It does a great job cleaning up after my 2 dogs and my cat. It does a great cleaning my truck.

Teds truck
Brandon, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great
1/8/2016

Customer review by merisister

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by merisister
by merisister

no problems with this order came earlier than expected and it was just what I wanted

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
merisister
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's fine but not perfect
2/9/2014

Customer review by Brooklynbridge2002

4.0 stars 2/9/2014 by Brooklynbridge2002
by Brooklynbridge2002
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this after many people highly recommending it and saying that they last forever. I thought it would be useful for vacuuming the stairs and for getting dog hair off of the couch. It has been useful for the stairs and it's way better than dragging the vacuum cleaner up and down. I cannot use it on my couch due to the couch's fabric (a leather blend). The brush rollers are extremely powerful and after one use I was afraid I'd soon wear right through the couch's fabric. It does have a hose, but it's not very useful. It's only about 8 or 10 inches long and only has one skinny attachment for it. Overall, I'm still pleased and will be glad I have it each time I need to vacuum the stairs.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brooklynbridge2002
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful
12/15/2015

Customer review by Rosie

5.0 stars 12/15/2015 by Rosie
by Rosie

I am looking to buy another one. I had this very same hand held vacuum [which I gave to my niece; she loves it]. I also love the "bag" convenience [you throw it out when it is full].

Rosie
Montréal-Nord, Montreal, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pros and Cons
4/20/2010

Customer review by scrappiecat

4.0 stars 4/20/2010 by scrappiecat
by scrappiecat

This Dirt Devil handvac works very well when using the main brush, but the hose "attachment" is a disappointment. Very little suction, and it's hard to fit into crevices. I ordered the "wand" separately, thinking this would be flat and narrow at the end, but it's the same as the hose. I still like this - it's great for things like stairs - but not so much for cleaning out your car.

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scrappiecat
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A great little vacuum cleaner
5/13/2011

Customer review by jan1949

4.0 stars 5/13/2011 by jan1949
by jan1949

This is the greatest vacuum cleaner for doing the stairs carpeting. This newer model is loud and the plastic material seems low quality but it works well. It is light weight and easy to handle. The crevice tool really does not work too well but I don't need it. The cord is long. I just hope it lasts 20 years like the last one I had. The low price makes it a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jan1949
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 190 total reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews