Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 307 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

307 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

307 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
191
4 stars
70
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 stars
20
1-20 of 281 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews
Best hand vac for stairs
9/20/2013

Customer review by Heidi74

5.0 stars 9/20/2013 by Heidi74
by Heidi74

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this hand vac! I have an upright vacuum with an attachment and my stairs never seemed clean enough. I have a medium length haired dog, and I was constantly finding hair even after I vacuumed. This hand vac has a rotating belt system which is what I wanted. I didn't want a dust buster style hand vac. I love the fact that this also has a hose attachment with the crevice tool. I can now get every piece of hair, dirt and crumbs out of my stairs. I also like the fact that I can vacuum the front face of my stairs. Best purchase I have made in a while. The only down side is the fact that I have to purchase bags for this vacuum. I wish it had a small canister I could empty instead. You will not be disappointed with this vacuum. The cord is not an issue for me. I wanted something n I could plug in. I think the cordless vacuums don't have enough guts. The latch for the cord, to keep it tied up is of poor construction. Very cheaply made. I don't even bother with it. I simply use a cord clasp I bought a the big orange Home supply store.

Was this review helpful? (81) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heidi74
Hemet, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Small, Portable and Efficient
5/18/2014

Customer review by Jayjae

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Jayjae
by Jayjae
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The hose from an older Dirt Devil Hand Vac detached and I was able to use duct tape for a month but then I had the same problem so it was time to purchase a replacement model. I always keep two of these Dirt Devils-one upstairs and one downstairs for small and quick jobs like bathroom floors, car interiors, steps, and catching insect and spider "critters." I love having the bags inside the vacuum as I have used bagless appliances before-yucky! With this vacuum, you just toss the bag and put in a fresh one. It always surprises me how long it takes to fill a bag. The cord is nice and long and it is a pretty powerful unit for the size. I use it frequently. This is a great Walmart price. I had mine sent site to store. It arrived in just a few days and I could track the shipment online. Thanks, Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jayjae
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hand Vac That Has Suction
2/6/2010

Customer review by TiredOfWastingMoney

5.0 stars 2/6/2010 by TiredOfWastingMoney
by TiredOfWastingMoney

Finally A Hand Vac That Actually Makes A Difference After Running It. Of Course You Can Not Over Power The Unit By Moving It Too Fast & Expect It To Remove Strings, Fuzz, Paper Clippings Etc. I Tried To Pick Up All Of The Above Items & Had No Problem. We've Been Using An Older Version Of This Model, But After About 10 Years Of Use, It Was Time To Replace It. Nice Touch With The Unit Being All In One & With The Flip Of The Door You Can Switch From Brush Roller Use To Hose Use. On Older Version,We Had To Remove Belt & Install Hose In Opening To Switch From Roller To Hose Use.

Was this review helpful? (155) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TiredOfWastingMoney
Lehigh Valley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
it's the original one
8/20/2011

Customer review by defender52

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by defender52
by defender52

I had one of these for over 10 years before it just gave out. When I went to buy another, I couldn't find this exact one ANYwhere. So, I bought a Shark that looked like this Dirt Devil. Rotating brushes, a couple of tools, etc.. It was horrible!!! After vacuuming one set of stairs it was so hot on the outside that you couldn't hold it in your hands AND it didn't even clean very well. I had to get online to find and order this Dirt Devil. Now I've found that I will have to get back online to order bags for it because I can't find those in any store either. It might sound like a hassle, but it's worth it if this one lasts as long as the last one did. The brushes on this Dirt Devil rotate quickly (2 speeds) and really picks up all the cat and dog hair off the stairs and other things I use it on. Cleaning is easy because of the bags. No big "poof" of dust when you empty it into the garbage bag. It's powerful, easy to use, not too heavy and has a nice long cord. I really missed it when I didn't have one. My stairs especially are back to looking really clean.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
defender52
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Not so bad
12/21/2009

Customer review by None9987

4.0 stars 12/21/2009 by None9987
by None9987
Top 1000 contributor

This Dirt Devil works much better than the other hand vac they make. This one has a wooden beater bar that is belt driven. The suction is ok but not awesome. If Dirt Devil put the suction of their non belt driven model into this one they'd have a real winner. This one does work fairly well. It seems well built and I did like that it isn't very heavy. It does require the ongoing purchase of bags but that's not a huge drawback, as long as I can find them. It does come with one bag. I could not find that tidbit of info anyplace. I would suggest giving this model a try.

Was this review helpful? (44) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
None9987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
I guess I just like Dirt Devil brand
9/12/2010

Customer review by Goodvaluegal

5.0 stars 9/12/2010 by Goodvaluegal
by Goodvaluegal

I like the Dirt Devil brand (the red vacs) and have the small hand held one for stairs and the floor vac for the rest of the house. They have always been reasonable in price and simple to use. I find they get the job done without all the bells and whistles of the more complicated high tech vacs. Over the years they are my choice also because I can take them apart easily for cleaning or belt replacement and don't have to "send them out to be repaired" -you can do it yourself.

Was this review helpful? (68) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goodvaluegal
Baltimore Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
It's fine but not perfect
2/9/2014

Customer review by Brooklynbridge2002

4.0 stars 2/9/2014 by Brooklynbridge2002
by Brooklynbridge2002
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this after many people highly recommending it and saying that they last forever. I thought it would be useful for vacuuming the stairs and for getting dog hair off of the couch. It has been useful for the stairs and it's way better than dragging the vacuum cleaner up and down. I cannot use it on my couch due to the couch's fabric (a leather blend). The brush rollers are extremely powerful and after one use I was afraid I'd soon wear right through the couch's fabric. It does have a hose, but it's not very useful. It's only about 8 or 10 inches long and only has one skinny attachment for it. Overall, I'm still pleased and will be glad I have it each time I need to vacuum the stairs.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brooklynbridge2002
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
long lasting great suction
4/29/2017

Customer review by chrissyj

4.0 stars 4/29/2017 by chrissyj
by chrissyj

I bought one similar to this one but mine doesn't have extra handle it still works amazingly great suction gets the job done right the first time mine is over 10 years old i lovedirt devil products for cleaning.this would be a great choice for an upgrade especially if you have a small child or animals in the house you would be pleased with the results.small quick and easy design guarantees the any job around the house fun and quick. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

chrissyj
Rhode Island, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's mine!!! Mine!!! Mine!!!
5/6/2017

Customer review by AprilLove

5.0 stars 5/6/2017 by AprilLove
by AprilLove

I wouldn't trade my Dirt Devil handheld for anything!!! Being a pet owner, this vacuum is a Godsend!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

AprilLove
Twin Cities, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dirt Devil Hand Vac
11/18/2010

Customer review by RFRPITT

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by RFRPITT
by RFRPITT

This is one great little hand vac for the money. I saw in other reviews that the hose doesn't have much vacuum. They must not have closed the door over the brush area or something, because this little guy works great.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RFRPITT
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
A great little vacuum cleaner
5/13/2011

Customer review by jan1949

4.0 stars 5/13/2011 by jan1949
by jan1949

This is the greatest vacuum cleaner for doing the stairs carpeting. This newer model is loud and the plastic material seems low quality but it works well. It is light weight and easy to handle. The crevice tool really does not work too well but I don't need it. The cord is long. I just hope it lasts 20 years like the last one I had. The low price makes it a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jan1949
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Expected something better from Royal.
4/23/2017

Customer review by Bunnsville Bum

1.0 stars 4/23/2017 by Bunnsville Bum
by Bunnsville Bum

Still use the original Dirt Devil handheld with the paper bag upgrade and love it. Bought current model for another location and very disappointed with it. The brush is powered by a vacuum turbine that jams easily, needs frequent cleaning, and doesn't do the job. It looks like something from Mattel, (I suspect Mattel would design a better product). If you want a hand vac, try to find the original Dirt Devil, with paper bag upgrade. The new one is at best a toy for the kids.

Bunnsville Bum
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pros and Cons
4/20/2010

Customer review by scrappiecat

4.0 stars 4/20/2010 by scrappiecat
by scrappiecat

This Dirt Devil handvac works very well when using the main brush, but the hose "attachment" is a disappointment. Very little suction, and it's hard to fit into crevices. I ordered the "wand" separately, thinking this would be flat and narrow at the end, but it's the same as the hose. I still like this - it's great for things like stairs - but not so much for cleaning out your car.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scrappiecat
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
An dependable old standby.
4/22/2017

Customer review by The Traveler

5.0 stars 4/22/2017 by The Traveler
by The Traveler

I've had this vac for so long that I can't remember where or exactly when I bought it. It spends a great deal of time alone in the garage (where I use it on the car's floor mats) but is there when I need to clean up a small emergency or a spot that I just can't get to with a larger vacuum. This little monster has the power of a much larger vac and still going strong although it is well into it's second decade. Would I recommend this to a friend. You betcha! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

The Traveler
Central Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
second one
3/13/2017

Customer review by mooose

5.0 stars 3/13/2017 by mooose
by mooose
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

as far as hand held vaccums go, the dirt devil can't be beat. owned the original version years ago. This one will be perfect for my rv.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mooose
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mrs
4/19/2017

Customer review by DebbieJY

5.0 stars 4/19/2017 by DebbieJY
by DebbieJY

I use my Dirt Devil for my stairs, my camper, my truck, it picks up well, its so handy for quick touch ups! I love it!

DebbieJY
Casper, WY, United States
Much better than the Power Reach
8/19/2010

Customer review by swxup

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by swxup
by swxup

After having first purchased the Royal Dirt Devil Power Reach model years ago and being terribly disapointed with it, I am so much happier with this Ultra model. This model's brush is directly driven by the motor unlike the Power Reach. This is important if you want to vacuum carpeted stairs, the main reason for my purchase. Power Reach's brush would stop when barely touched to the carpet, totally useless for my purpose. Definitely get this Ultra model to do carpeted stairs. Now if they would make it more powerful like the Power Reach it would be perfect.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
swxup
Norcross, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
GREAT VALUE & DEPENDABLE
7/18/2011

Customer review by Rockinrob

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by Rockinrob
by Rockinrob

Bought This Dirt Devil after trying all the cheaper models & brands about a month ago.NOTHING can compare to the good price,actual usages it provides,& power it has in such a compact vac. It does everything as advertised & more. I live in a 5th Wheel trailer & space is always a problem but not with this one.Fits perfect in cabinets. I highly recommend this one!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rockinrob
Yantis,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
MUST HAVE!!
4/27/2017

Customer review by CHORES OF MOM

5.0 stars 4/27/2017 by CHORES OF MOM
by CHORES OF MOM

RECEIVED AS A GIFT, 100% LOVE THIS LITTLE THING!! SO LIGHT AND EASY TO USE AND WORKS GREAT!!!! PICKS UP EVERYTHING I WANT IT TO AND THEN SOME. I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND BUYING THIS PRODUCT! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

CHORES OF MOM
Seven Points, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
efficient product
10/22/2011

Customer review by hhuff

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by hhuff
by hhuff

I bought this vac primarily for doing our carpeted steps. I had previously used a very well known battery operated unit but it lasted 5 minutes at best and didn't do the job. This Vac has amazing suction and very very long cord and i like that it uses a paper bag inside the fabric bag which means it will always have optimal suction and the fabric bag won't be clogged up. It is light and we can now do our steps in a short amount of time and the hose is easy to use as well along the sides and base of the riser. You can hear the power in the motor the moment you turn it on. It is another terrific Dirt Devil product and i wouldn't hesitate buying it if your looking for a dependable powerful hand vac.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hhuff
Sneads Ferry, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews