Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 195 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

195 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

195 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
120
4 stars
43
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 stars
13
1-20 of 169 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews
Hand Vac That Has Suction
2/6/2010

Customer review by TiredOfWastingMoney

5.0 stars 2/6/2010 by TiredOfWastingMoney
by TiredOfWastingMoney

Finally A Hand Vac That Actually Makes A Difference After Running It. Of Course You Can Not Over Power The Unit By Moving It Too Fast & Expect It To Remove Strings, Fuzz, Paper Clippings Etc. I Tried To Pick Up All Of The Above Items & Had No Problem. We've Been Using An Older Version Of This Model, But After About 10 Years Of Use, It Was Time To Replace It. Nice Touch With The Unit Being All In One & With The Flip Of The Door You Can Switch From Brush Roller Use To Hose Use. On Older Version,We Had To Remove Belt & Install Hose In Opening To Switch From Roller To Hose Use.

Was this review helpful? (132) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TiredOfWastingMoney
Lehigh Valley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I guess I just like Dirt Devil brand
9/12/2010

Customer review by Goodvaluegal

5.0 stars 9/12/2010 by Goodvaluegal
by Goodvaluegal

I like the Dirt Devil brand (the red vacs) and have the small hand held one for stairs and the floor vac for the rest of the house. They have always been reasonable in price and simple to use. I find they get the job done without all the bells and whistles of the more complicated high tech vacs. Over the years they are my choice also because I can take them apart easily for cleaning or belt replacement and don't have to "send them out to be repaired" -you can do it yourself.

Was this review helpful? (50) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goodvaluegal
Baltimore Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not so bad
12/21/2009

Customer review by None9987

4.0 stars 12/21/2009 by None9987
by None9987

This Dirt Devil works much better than the other hand vac they make. This one has a wooden beater bar that is belt driven. The suction is ok but not awesome. If Dirt Devil put the suction of their non belt driven model into this one they'd have a real winner. This one does work fairly well. It seems well built and I did like that it isn't very heavy. It does require the ongoing purchase of bags but that's not a huge drawback, as long as I can find them. It does come with one bag. I could not find that tidbit of info anyplace. I would suggest giving this model a try.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
None9987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
Best hand vac for stairs
9/20/2013

Customer review by Heidi74

5.0 stars 9/20/2013 by Heidi74
by Heidi74

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this hand vac! I have an upright vacuum with an attachment and my stairs never seemed clean enough. I have a medium length haired dog, and I was constantly finding hair even after I vacuumed. This hand vac has a rotating belt system which is what I wanted. I didn't want a dust buster style hand vac. I love the fact that this also has a hose attachment with the crevice tool. I can now get every piece of hair, dirt and crumbs out of my stairs. I also like the fact that I can vacuum the front face of my stairs. Best purchase I have made in a while. The only down side is the fact that I have to purchase bags for this vacuum. I wish it had a small canister I could empty instead. You will not be disappointed with this vacuum. The cord is not an issue for me. I wanted something n I could plug in. I think the cordless vacuums don't have enough guts. The latch for the cord, to keep it tied up is of poor construction. Very cheaply made. I don't even bother with it. I simply use a cord clasp I bought a the big orange Home supply store.

Was this review helpful? (53) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Heidi74
Hemet, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pros and Cons
4/20/2010

Customer review by scrappiecat

4.0 stars 4/20/2010 by scrappiecat
by scrappiecat

This Dirt Devil handvac works very well when using the main brush, but the hose "attachment" is a disappointment. Very little suction, and it's hard to fit into crevices. I ordered the "wand" separately, thinking this would be flat and narrow at the end, but it's the same as the hose. I still like this - it's great for things like stairs - but not so much for cleaning out your car.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scrappiecat
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Dirt Devil Hand Vac
11/18/2010

Customer review by RFRPITT

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by RFRPITT
by RFRPITT

This is one great little hand vac for the money. I saw in other reviews that the hose doesn't have much vacuum. They must not have closed the door over the brush area or something, because this little guy works great.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RFRPITT
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
GREAT VALUE & DEPENDABLE
7/18/2011

Customer review by Rockinrob

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by Rockinrob
by Rockinrob

Bought This Dirt Devil after trying all the cheaper models & brands about a month ago.NOTHING can compare to the good price,actual usages it provides,& power it has in such a compact vac. It does everything as advertised & more. I live in a 5th Wheel trailer & space is always a problem but not with this one.Fits perfect in cabinets. I highly recommend this one!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rockinrob
Yantis,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/17/2010

Customer review by jcmommy1

5.0 stars 4/17/2010 by jcmommy1
by jcmommy1

Our old one finally died after 15yrs. So with reluctance, we had to buy a new one. My daughter (11), who is responsible for vacuuming the stairs, rated this product. She loves it. She said it is stronger and easier to use than the old version. The hose part is her favorite.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcmommy1
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Small, Portable and Efficient
5/18/2014

Customer review by Jayjae

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Jayjae
by Jayjae

The hose from an older Dirt Devil Hand Vac detached and I was able to use duct tape for a month but then I had the same problem so it was time to purchase a replacement model. I always keep two of these Dirt Devils-one upstairs and one downstairs for small and quick jobs like bathroom floors, car interiors, steps, and catching insect and spider "critters." I love having the bags inside the vacuum as I have used bagless appliances before-yucky! With this vacuum, you just toss the bag and put in a fresh one. It always surprises me how long it takes to fill a bag. The cord is nice and long and it is a pretty powerful unit for the size. I use it frequently. This is a great Walmart price. I had mine sent site to store. It arrived in just a few days and I could track the shipment online. Thanks, Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jayjae
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great little vacuum cleaner
5/13/2011

Customer review by jan1949

4.0 stars 5/13/2011 by jan1949
by jan1949

This is the greatest vacuum cleaner for doing the stairs carpeting. This newer model is loud and the plastic material seems low quality but it works well. It is light weight and easy to handle. The crevice tool really does not work too well but I don't need it. The cord is long. I just hope it lasts 20 years like the last one I had. The low price makes it a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jan1949
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
It's fine but not perfect
2/9/2014

Customer review by Brooklynbridge2002

4.0 stars 2/9/2014 by Brooklynbridge2002
by Brooklynbridge2002

I bought this after many people highly recommending it and saying that they last forever. I thought it would be useful for vacuuming the stairs and for getting dog hair off of the couch. It has been useful for the stairs and it's way better than dragging the vacuum cleaner up and down. I cannot use it on my couch due to the couch's fabric (a leather blend). The brush rollers are extremely powerful and after one use I was afraid I'd soon wear right through the couch's fabric. It does have a hose, but it's not very useful. It's only about 8 or 10 inches long and only has one skinny attachment for it. Overall, I'm still pleased and will be glad I have it each time I need to vacuum the stairs.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brooklynbridge2002
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unexpected Cost
5/12/2010

Customer review by MichiganGardener

2.0 stars 5/12/2010 by MichiganGardener
by MichiganGardener

I owned a Dirt Devil hand vac which finally wore out with many many years of reliable use. Imagine my surprise and disgust to find its replacement required the expense and inconvenience of replacement bags! In a few years the $30.00 purchase price will be exceeded by the cost of the bags. That is if I can find them. Three visits to three stores and I came up empty.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MichiganGardener
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Makes cleanups a snap.
11/3/2013

Customer review by Avoner

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Avoner
by Avoner

Best little hand vacuum around. Beats all others in the marketplace. Can be very difficult to find the replacement paper filters.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Avoner
Avon, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super suction!
4/10/2014

Customer review by shopper997

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by shopper997
by shopper997

I use this for my steps and some other areas where it's harder to drag a big vacuum around. This is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopper997
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Much better than the Power Reach
8/19/2010

Customer review by swxup

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by swxup
by swxup

After having first purchased the Royal Dirt Devil Power Reach model years ago and being terribly disapointed with it, I am so much happier with this Ultra model. This model's brush is directly driven by the motor unlike the Power Reach. This is important if you want to vacuum carpeted stairs, the main reason for my purchase. Power Reach's brush would stop when barely touched to the carpet, totally useless for my purpose. Definitely get this Ultra model to do carpeted stairs. Now if they would make it more powerful like the Power Reach it would be perfect.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swxup
Norcross, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great vac
12/13/2013

Customer review by slimowens

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by slimowens
by slimowens

Vac is small, compac and effective.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slimowens
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good vacuum for stairs
12/6/2013

Customer review by MKinMI

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by MKinMI
by MKinMI

This is a good little vacuum for the price. It has a long cord and the suction is pretty good. The only thing I was super impressed with is the attachment because the suction isn't as good when your are using the attachment. But overall it was a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MKinMI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
powerful vac for your home or car
7/19/2011

Customer review by mlstn

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by mlstn
by mlstn

Surprisingly powerful and the attached hose makes crevice and furniture cleaning fast and efficient. Superb design.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mlstn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
dog hair problems over
12/16/2010

Customer review by DogloverinMs

5.0 stars 12/16/2010 by DogloverinMs
by DogloverinMs

I had a persistent problem with dog hair on my stairway carpet. The big vacuum wouldn't get all the hair up using the wand. Plus it was heavy to carry up and down the stairs. This hand held has the rotating brush, so all the dog hair is gone. The cord is long enough to allow me to vacuum the entire stairway without stopping to move to a different outlet. It's also very lightweight. Hint: don't forget to get some bags for it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DogloverinMs
Southaven, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
not very good
8/15/2010

Customer review by orve

1.0 stars 8/15/2010 by orve
by orve

i purchased this product and the brush works ok but when you use the nozzle it fails bad it will not even pick up a tissue i will return this product for sure.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
orve
jersey shore,pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews