Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 319 reviews
5 stars
199
4 stars
71
3 stars
16
2 stars
11
1 stars
22
Sort by: 
1-20 of 293 reviews
1-20 of 293 reviews
Best hand vac for stairs
9/20/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this hand vac! I have an upright vacuum with an attachment and my stairs never seemed clean enough. I have a medium length haired dog, and I was constantly finding hair even after I vacuumed. This hand vac has a rotating belt system which is what I wanted. I didn't want a dust buster style hand vac. I love the fact that this also has a hose attachment with the crevice tool. I can now get every piece of hair, dirt and crumbs out of my stairs. I also like the fact that I can vacuum the front face of my stairs. Best purchase I have made in a while. The only down side is the fact that I have to purchase bags for this vacuum. I wish it had a small canister I could empty instead. You will not be disappointed with this vacuum. The cord is not an issue for me. I wanted something n I could plug in. I think the cordless vacuums don't have enough guts. The latch for the cord, to keep it tied up is of poor construction. Very cheaply made. I don't even bother with it. I simply use a cord clasp I bought a the big orange Home supply store.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (87)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
it's the original one
8/20/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had one of these for over 10 years before it just gave out. When I went to buy another, I couldn't find this exact one ANYwhere. So, I bought a Shark that looked like this Dirt Devil. Rotating brushes, a couple of tools, etc.. It was horrible!!! After vacuuming one set of stairs it was so hot on the outside that you couldn't hold it in your hands AND it didn't even clean very well. I had to get online to find and order this Dirt Devil. Now I've found that I will have to get back online to order bags for it because I can't find those in any store either. It might sound like a hassle, but it's worth it if this one lasts as long as the last one did. The brushes on this Dirt Devil rotate quickly (2 speeds) and really picks up all the cat and dog hair off the stairs and other things I use it on. Cleaning is easy because of the bags. No big "poof" of dust when you empty it into the garbage bag. It's powerful, easy to use, not too heavy and has a nice long cord. I really missed it when I didn't have one. My stairs especially are back to looking really clean.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Small, Portable and Efficient
5/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The hose from an older Dirt Devil Hand Vac detached and I was able to use duct tape for a month but then I had the same problem so it was time to purchase a replacement model. I always keep two of these Dirt Devils-one upstairs and one downstairs for small and quick jobs like bathroom floors, car interiors, steps, and catching insect and spider "critters." I love having the bags inside the vacuum as I have used bagless appliances before-yucky! With this vacuum, you just toss the bag and put in a fresh one. It always surprises me how long it takes to fill a bag. The cord is nice and long and it is a pretty powerful unit for the size. I use it frequently. This is a great Walmart price. I had mine sent site to store. It arrived in just a few days and I could track the shipment online. Thanks, Walmart!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Happy
10/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my third Dirt Devil, still have the first, and it is permanently plugged in for quick dust bunny pick ups in the bedroom. The second one got destroyed when glass pieces chattered inside and wrecked something..R.I.P..... the third one is in service in the laundry room and kitchen for quick lint and crumb pickups. Maybe the second one could have been repaired, but I wanted the replacement fast, and the price is reasonable! And by the way, you can extend the reach by adding a wand or hose to the existing hose without any problems, just pay attention to avoid plug ups. You can hear and or feel if something is too much and quickly clear any obstruction.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hand Vac That Has Suction
2/6/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Finally A Hand Vac That Actually Makes A Difference After Running It. Of Course You Can Not Over Power The Unit By Moving It Too Fast & Expect It To Remove Strings, Fuzz, Paper Clippings Etc. I Tried To Pick Up All Of The Above Items & Had No Problem. We've Been Using An Older Version Of This Model, But After About 10 Years Of Use, It Was Time To Replace It. Nice Touch With The Unit Being All In One & With The Flip Of The Door You Can Switch From Brush Roller Use To Hose Use. On Older Version,We Had To Remove Belt & Install Hose In Opening To Switch From Roller To Hose Use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (162)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
9/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the second hand-held dirt devil I have owned in my long life. I truly enjoy the product. Thanks.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best little hand vac hands down
8/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the power driven belt and the fact that you can adjust the for single pick up. Get this you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent portable vacuum
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We are very pleased with this vacuum and love the side piece for sucking up odds and ends. Walmart's price was substantially below that of Amazon.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I guess I just like Dirt Devil brand
9/12/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like the Dirt Devil brand (the red vacs) and have the small hand held one for stairs and the floor vac for the rest of the house. They have always been reasonable in price and simple to use. I find they get the job done without all the bells and whistles of the more complicated high tech vacs. Over the years they are my choice also because I can take them apart easily for cleaning or belt replacement and don't have to "send them out to be repaired" -you can do it yourself.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (71)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not so bad
12/21/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
This Dirt Devil works much better than the other hand vac they make. This one has a wooden beater bar that is belt driven. The suction is ok but not awesome. If Dirt Devil put the suction of their non belt driven model into this one they'd have a real winner. This one does work fairly well. It seems well built and I did like that it isn't very heavy. It does require the ongoing purchase of bags but that's not a huge drawback, as long as I can find them. It does come with one bag. I could not find that tidbit of info anyplace. I would suggest giving this model a try.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A great little vacuum cleaner
5/13/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the greatest vacuum cleaner for doing the stairs carpeting. This newer model is loud and the plastic material seems low quality but it works well. It is light weight and easy to handle. The crevice tool really does not work too well but I don't need it. The cord is long. I just hope it lasts 20 years like the last one I had. The low price makes it a good deal.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not worth the money
9/23/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Migraine inducing loud and only picked up maybe 75% of the mess. I loved the small nozzle feature on it, but if it doesn't pick it all up it makes no difference. Instant migraine and scared my children with the volume of it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pros and Cons
4/20/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This Dirt Devil handvac works very well when using the main brush, but the hose "attachment" is a disappointment. Very little suction, and it's hard to fit into crevices. I ordered the "wand" separately, thinking this would be flat and narrow at the end, but it's the same as the hose. I still like this - it's great for things like stairs - but not so much for cleaning out your car.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dirt Devil Hand Vac
11/18/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is one great little hand vac for the money. I saw in other reviews that the hose doesn't have much vacuum. They must not have closed the door over the brush area or something, because this little guy works great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's fine but not perfect
2/9/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this after many people highly recommending it and saying that they last forever. I thought it would be useful for vacuuming the stairs and for getting dog hair off of the couch. It has been useful for the stairs and it's way better than dragging the vacuum cleaner up and down. I cannot use it on my couch due to the couch's fabric (a leather blend). The brush rollers are extremely powerful and after one use I was afraid I'd soon wear right through the couch's fabric. It does have a hose, but it's not very useful. It's only about 8 or 10 inches long and only has one skinny attachment for it. Overall, I'm still pleased and will be glad I have it each time I need to vacuum the stairs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to handle but...
9/10/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought it for the hose attachment...no suction whatsoever
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great little vac
9/10/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great little vac
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Much better than the Power Reach
8/19/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After having first purchased the Royal Dirt Devil Power Reach model years ago and being terribly disapointed with it, I am so much happier with this Ultra model. This model's brush is directly driven by the motor unlike the Power Reach. This is important if you want to vacuum carpeted stairs, the main reason for my purchase. Power Reach's brush would stop when barely touched to the carpet, totally useless for my purpose. Definitely get this Ultra model to do carpeted stairs. Now if they would make it more powerful like the Power Reach it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT VALUE & DEPENDABLE
7/18/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought This Dirt Devil after trying all the cheaper models & brands about a month ago.NOTHING can compare to the good price,actual usages it provides,& power it has in such a compact vac. It does everything as advertised & more. I live in a 5th Wheel trailer & space is always a problem but not with this one.Fits perfect in cabinets. I highly recommend this one!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Super suction!
4/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I use this for my steps and some other areas where it's harder to drag a big vacuum around. This is perfect!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642873, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-