Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 250 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

250 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

250 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
157
4 stars
55
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 stars
15
1-20 of 224 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 224 total reviews
1-20 of 224 reviews
Best hand vac for stairs
9/20/2013

Customer review by Heidi74

5.0 stars 9/20/2013 by Heidi74
by Heidi74

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this hand vac! I have an upright vacuum with an attachment and my stairs never seemed clean enough. I have a medium length haired dog, and I was constantly finding hair even after I vacuumed. This hand vac has a rotating belt system which is what I wanted. I didn't want a dust buster style hand vac. I love the fact that this also has a hose attachment with the crevice tool. I can now get every piece of hair, dirt and crumbs out of my stairs. I also like the fact that I can vacuum the front face of my stairs. Best purchase I have made in a while. The only down side is the fact that I have to purchase bags for this vacuum. I wish it had a small canister I could empty instead. You will not be disappointed with this vacuum. The cord is not an issue for me. I wanted something n I could plug in. I think the cordless vacuums don't have enough guts. The latch for the cord, to keep it tied up is of poor construction. Very cheaply made. I don't even bother with it. I simply use a cord clasp I bought a the big orange Home supply store.

Was this review helpful? (71) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heidi74
Hemet, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Small, Portable and Efficient
5/18/2014

Customer review by Jayjae

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Jayjae
by Jayjae
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The hose from an older Dirt Devil Hand Vac detached and I was able to use duct tape for a month but then I had the same problem so it was time to purchase a replacement model. I always keep two of these Dirt Devils-one upstairs and one downstairs for small and quick jobs like bathroom floors, car interiors, steps, and catching insect and spider "critters." I love having the bags inside the vacuum as I have used bagless appliances before-yucky! With this vacuum, you just toss the bag and put in a fresh one. It always surprises me how long it takes to fill a bag. The cord is nice and long and it is a pretty powerful unit for the size. I use it frequently. This is a great Walmart price. I had mine sent site to store. It arrived in just a few days and I could track the shipment online. Thanks, Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jayjae
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ok
6/25/2016

Customer review by jk44444

3.0 stars 6/25/2016 by jk44444
by jk44444
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this model due to the included crevice/tube device which works ok -not as good as prior red devil hand vacuum and it is loud and heavy

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jk44444
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I needed!
6/28/2016

Customer review by ravensdale1066

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by ravensdale1066
by ravensdale1066

I like the convenience and power of this fine product. I have had other portable vacuums, (cordless), that actually required twenty hours of charging to give me ten minutes of vacuuming. This is as powerful, (4 amp), as I can ever see requiring in a portable vacuum. My wife and I have a Russian Blue cat that leaves a wondrous silky trail behind her. This does the job between full vacuum jobs. I would highly recommend this model. I like that it has a bag and the crevice attachment is on the unit. I really like this unit.

ravensdale1066
Selkirk, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The only full-service hand-vacuum
5/6/2016

Customer review by RRassendyll

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by RRassendyll
by RRassendyll

I am on my third Dirt Devil Ultra. The first served handily for 20 years; the switch failed. The second blew a bearing (so far as I could tell); it was replaced under warranty with no fuss. The third performs flawlessly. We use this in the room where our birds spend most of the time; it is superb for picking up seed and other like debris. The strong features: This is bagged -- much easier to keep clean when getting rid of debris. The crevice tool is right there -- an improvement from earlier models is that the hose is now permanently mounted, rather than removable. The beater-bar works well; I liked the older version better than the newer one, but both are entirely functional. The suction is impressive; as someone has said of anther DirtDevil product, this thing will suck the chrome off your bumpers. The two-speed motor is nice. Downside: Replacing the belt can be a bit time-consuming -- but this is not a frequent problem. I like the retro feel of the thing. My mother had a Royal upright and a Royal hand vacuum (as well as an electrolux). This hand vacuum has much the same feel as the c. 1940-something vacuum I remember as a child.

RRassendyll
Schenectady, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not for hardwood
6/26/2016

Customer review by Not satisfied

3.0 stars 6/26/2016 by Not satisfied
by Not satisfied

Bought this to vacuum hardwood stairs. Brush is level with plastic casing and I'm afraid it will scratch the wood. Also noisy but I could put up with that. Should have returned it.

Comment from Karissa - 6/27/2016

Hi there! We strive to provide the best products to meet each individuals cleaning needs. The rotating brushes on the Ultra Corded Bagged Handheld Vacuum are more meant for use on carpeted stairs rather than hardwood. The brushes help aid in deep pick up for carpet. If you're concerned about the brushes scratching, the hose attachment may be a better choice to aid in pick up on the hardwood stairs instead. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

Not satisfied
Massachusetts, United States
Great
7/14/2016

Customer review by Young

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Young
by Young
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great. I have had one for years and it broke. Love it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Young
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hand Vac That Has Suction
2/6/2010

Customer review by TiredOfWastingMoney

5.0 stars 2/6/2010 by TiredOfWastingMoney
by TiredOfWastingMoney

Finally A Hand Vac That Actually Makes A Difference After Running It. Of Course You Can Not Over Power The Unit By Moving It Too Fast & Expect It To Remove Strings, Fuzz, Paper Clippings Etc. I Tried To Pick Up All Of The Above Items & Had No Problem. We've Been Using An Older Version Of This Model, But After About 10 Years Of Use, It Was Time To Replace It. Nice Touch With The Unit Being All In One & With The Flip Of The Door You Can Switch From Brush Roller Use To Hose Use. On Older Version,We Had To Remove Belt & Install Hose In Opening To Switch From Roller To Hose Use.

Was this review helpful? (149) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TiredOfWastingMoney
Lehigh Valley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I guess I just like Dirt Devil brand
9/12/2010

Customer review by Goodvaluegal

5.0 stars 9/12/2010 by Goodvaluegal
by Goodvaluegal

I like the Dirt Devil brand (the red vacs) and have the small hand held one for stairs and the floor vac for the rest of the house. They have always been reasonable in price and simple to use. I find they get the job done without all the bells and whistles of the more complicated high tech vacs. Over the years they are my choice also because I can take them apart easily for cleaning or belt replacement and don't have to "send them out to be repaired" -you can do it yourself.

Was this review helpful? (64) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goodvaluegal
Baltimore Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not so bad
12/21/2009

Customer review by None9987

4.0 stars 12/21/2009 by None9987
by None9987
Top 1000 contributor

This Dirt Devil works much better than the other hand vac they make. This one has a wooden beater bar that is belt driven. The suction is ok but not awesome. If Dirt Devil put the suction of their non belt driven model into this one they'd have a real winner. This one does work fairly well. It seems well built and I did like that it isn't very heavy. It does require the ongoing purchase of bags but that's not a huge drawback, as long as I can find them. It does come with one bag. I could not find that tidbit of info anyplace. I would suggest giving this model a try.

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
None9987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
Motor Home is not complete without my "Dirt Devil"
5/5/2016

Customer review by One and Onie

5.0 stars 5/5/2016 by One and Onie
by One and Onie

Well, I have had my "Dirt Devil" for longer that I can remember. Never has let me down. I keep one in the house and one in my RV. My motor home. is not complete without my trusted corded hand held vacuum. Behind the driver's seat, nothing fits there except my Dirt Devil, other vacuums are just to big and cumbersome. Under the passengers seats, reaches all that can't be reached by other vacs....Vacuums up every little rock, dust and debris. I can't believe how handy-dandy my hand held vac is. It reaches places that need vacuuming without a fuss and keeps those spaces clean and cleaner. It does the job it was designed to do. Loved Dirt Devil a very long time.The quality was built to last and last and last.

One and Onie
Oregon, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's fine but not perfect
2/9/2014

Customer review by Brooklynbridge2002

4.0 stars 2/9/2014 by Brooklynbridge2002
by Brooklynbridge2002
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this after many people highly recommending it and saying that they last forever. I thought it would be useful for vacuuming the stairs and for getting dog hair off of the couch. It has been useful for the stairs and it's way better than dragging the vacuum cleaner up and down. I cannot use it on my couch due to the couch's fabric (a leather blend). The brush rollers are extremely powerful and after one use I was afraid I'd soon wear right through the couch's fabric. It does have a hose, but it's not very useful. It's only about 8 or 10 inches long and only has one skinny attachment for it. Overall, I'm still pleased and will be glad I have it each time I need to vacuum the stairs.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brooklynbridge2002
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dirt Devil Hand Vac
11/18/2010

Customer review by RFRPITT

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by RFRPITT
by RFRPITT

This is one great little hand vac for the money. I saw in other reviews that the hose doesn't have much vacuum. They must not have closed the door over the brush area or something, because this little guy works great.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RFRPITT
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Dirt Devil Ultra
6/22/2016

Customer review by Phil

4.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Phil
by Phil
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It does a good job!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great little vacuum cleaner
5/13/2011

Customer review by jan1949

4.0 stars 5/13/2011 by jan1949
by jan1949

This is the greatest vacuum cleaner for doing the stairs carpeting. This newer model is loud and the plastic material seems low quality but it works well. It is light weight and easy to handle. The crevice tool really does not work too well but I don't need it. The cord is long. I just hope it lasts 20 years like the last one I had. The low price makes it a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jan1949
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Pros and Cons
4/20/2010

Customer review by scrappiecat

4.0 stars 4/20/2010 by scrappiecat
by scrappiecat

This Dirt Devil handvac works very well when using the main brush, but the hose "attachment" is a disappointment. Very little suction, and it's hard to fit into crevices. I ordered the "wand" separately, thinking this would be flat and narrow at the end, but it's the same as the hose. I still like this - it's great for things like stairs - but not so much for cleaning out your car.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scrappiecat
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
good quality
3/18/2016

Customer review by michael

5.0 stars 3/18/2016 by michael
by michael

It has good suction. I wish it was a little easier to maintain such as changing belts and disassembly. It uses quite a bit of power. So far a 100 watt inverter is not strong enough. An 800 watt inverter is but the extra battery in my car will only last 5 minutes alone with no continuous power supply. I have yet to try my 400 watt inverter with the car running. But that is what my extra battery is for, emergency power or other uses like a fog machine for an on-board Light Show. That fog machine uses 400 watts. It is about the same usage for this little vacuum. The fog machine uses a bit less power. I just get tired of throwing away money at car wash vacuums with timers and some that don't work and take your money. I want to take my time and do a good quality job I will be happy with but I believe Dirt Devil is a good brand. So far I am not disappointed. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
michael
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Handy unit
4/23/2016

Customer review by Craig H

5.0 stars 4/23/2016 by Craig H
by Craig H

I bought this mainly to keep a few heavy traffic areas of my apartment tidy, mainly my home office area and especially around my cat's litter box. It works great for the most part, except when cleaning off the carpet by the litter box, the rotating brush tends to kick back as much litter as it picks up, so I have to make 2 runs at it to get it all picked up. The crevice tool works great for hard to reach places and stores neatly out of the way, unlike my DIrt Devil Vision full-size upright. It is far more handy to just grab this and go rather than drag out my upright. I really like this unit and would buy it again.

Craig H
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A HAND VAC WITH POWER
5/10/2016

Customer review by william6

5.0 stars 5/10/2016 by william6
by william6

I'm on my third dirt devil hand vac and it's because at 4 amps, its the most powerful none commercial hand van you can get. The other hand vacs look good, but don't deliver the lift that the Dirt Devil does. Battery operated hand vacs, don't last very long and take hours to recharge. I wish I could get a better hand vac but I havn't found it yet.

william6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it's the original one
8/20/2011

Customer review by defender52

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by defender52
by defender52

I had one of these for over 10 years before it just gave out. When I went to buy another, I couldn't find this exact one ANYwhere. So, I bought a Shark that looked like this Dirt Devil. Rotating brushes, a couple of tools, etc.. It was horrible!!! After vacuuming one set of stairs it was so hot on the outside that you couldn't hold it in your hands AND it didn't even clean very well. I had to get online to find and order this Dirt Devil. Now I've found that I will have to get back online to order bags for it because I can't find those in any store either. It might sound like a hassle, but it's worth it if this one lasts as long as the last one did. The brushes on this Dirt Devil rotate quickly (2 speeds) and really picks up all the cat and dog hair off the stairs and other things I use it on. Cleaning is easy because of the bags. No big "poof" of dust when you empty it into the garbage bag. It's powerful, easy to use, not too heavy and has a nice long cord. I really missed it when I didn't have one. My stairs especially are back to looking really clean.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
defender52
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 224 total reviews
1-20 of 224 reviews