Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

30 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

30 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

33%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
16
1-20 of 28 total reviews
33%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Do not buy
9/26/2009

Customer review by jmrsfl

1.0 stars 9/26/2009 by jmrsfl
by jmrsfl

This is the worst vacuum I have ever owned. I have bought cheaper vacuums that have worked much better. It doesn't pick up everything and if you even attempt to go to a hard surface it will shoot out dirt from the vacuum. I bought the vacuum so I could use the hose and nozzle to clean my couch. Does not work. If you remove the nozzle from the vacuum, dirt will shoot out of the hole where the nozzle is stored. The vacuum puts more dirt in my house then it cleans up. Do not buy this and waste your money, you will be very disappointed like I was. There are better vacuums for the same price if not less.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmrsfl
Would recommend to a friend? No
hard belt to replace
12/12/2009

Customer review by slth34

3.0 stars 12/12/2009 by slth34
by slth34

have had this product for 1 yr have had to replace belt twice. took me approx 1/2 to 1 hr to do this. you have to take out all screws on bottom. my old hoover had twist handles to remove bottom. and have pinced hands and fingers several times while in the process of replacing this. seems belts are not long enough. but product does work well when belt is newly replaced. have not had problems when removing hose and picking up dirt. would not recommend this product on basis of replaceing belt so often and also this is so hard to do.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slth34
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Vacuum
3/17/2010

Customer review by JaneAustenLover2

5.0 stars 3/17/2010 by JaneAustenLover2
by JaneAustenLover2

I have been very pleased with this vacuum cleaner. It has picked up things in my carpets that I didn't even know were there. It is very easy to put together and the dirt tray is easy to remove. I hope it lasts me a long time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaneAustenLover2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this item is terrible
6/8/2010

Customer review by swellsurfer

1.0 stars 6/8/2010 by swellsurfer
by swellsurfer

I have never had a vacuum that is as bad as this one, I owned a much cheaper model before this one by Dirt Devil and it actually worked good. I returned this item once before thinking it was just a bad one, then I got the same thing (another bad one) when I got a new one as a replacement.This item is terrible!! I give it 10 thumbs down

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
swellsurfer
cayucos california
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Generally poor performance
1/27/2010

Customer review by BlankName

1.0 stars 1/27/2010 by BlankName
by BlankName

Several problems with this vacuum. First, it is fairly heavy, I'm guessing somewhere around 21 lbs since shipping weight is twenty-five. Not a problem for a few carpeted areas but will eventually be an issue if you are doing a large house. Second, the "attachments" are a joke. The Powerbrush attachment is powered by the suction through the hose so the brush does not rotate. It is basically a marketing novelty. The Crevice tool is too wide at the narrowed tip to maintain suction in the hose, consequently it often pulls dirt toward the tip but doesn't actually vacuum it up. The extending hose does not stay seated in the vacuum well and if you aren't on top of it, it will have a leak and not suction dirt. Finally, the suction seems decent on the vacuum but it requires regular cleaning of the filters to maintain functionality. So unless you enjoy inhaling the dirt vacuumed around your house when you clean the filters/cannister, it isn't a good product for you. Basically it is a waste of money if needed for all around cleaning since attachments don't work, suction is lost when any attachment is used, and the heaviness will severely limit its use in a multi-level house.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlankName
Would recommend to a friend? No
It works for me:)
5/2/2010

Customer review by MJB4ME

5.0 stars 5/2/2010 by MJB4ME
by MJB4ME

First I was concerned about all the bad reviews about this product. I then saw it on sale at my local discount store for only $59. I thought to myself, if it doesn't work I can always return it. I brought it home and quickly put it together. It only has one screw to complete the entire process. I started to vacuum my two 8X10 rugs. The machine picked up a lot of dust and debris that I noticed was in the dirt container. I had just vacuumed 2 days before! I see how the machine looses suction. You MUST clean the filters and SCREENS when your done vacuuming. Not only does it have a foam filter that must be cleaned, it also has screens inside the dirt container that MUST be tapped or cleaned with your hands in order to make air flow through the screens and maintain suction. I am satisfied with the machine, especially for the price. It cleans very well!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MJB4ME
Seekonk,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
ONE OF THE BEST VACUUMS I'VE EVER HAD!!!!
12/7/2009

Customer review by drew14

5.0 stars 12/7/2009 by drew14
by drew14

i just bought this vacuum because my bissell which i had for 5 years and really liked is starting to ware out. i used this dirt devil vacuum to sweep my living room and all of the upstairs of my home. the suction is very great! NOT any dirt left behind! The hose is also very great. there are many tools for the hose 2 that work wonderful too, which makes cleaning stairs and hard to reach places very easy. this vacuum is built very strong. I jus love this vacuum. it is one of the best vacuums i have ever had. i would reaccommend this vacuum to everyone! It's very affordable and does a wonderful job.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drew14
unknown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good for those with pets
1/7/2013

Customer review by Winniethewingnut

4.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Winniethewingnut
by Winniethewingnut
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My Parents needed a new vacuum. They were using mine until they found a new one and were happy with the performance of mine. I could not find my model in any stores but did find it online. I noted the bad reviews online but was satisfied with this vacuum and ordered it for them. I has 3 cats and my parent have 1 dog and 2 cats and both house holds are satisfied with the performance of this vacuum. I agree it is heavy to carry to the second floor but it has great suction and I would buy this vacuum again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Winniethewingnut
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum for price
3/26/2010

Customer review by daisy2010

4.0 stars 3/26/2010 by daisy2010
by daisy2010

Just purchased this vacuum today after our Bissell died (10 years old, will be missed:-). Didn't want to spend a lot of money, and this machine definitely fits the bill. On first room vacuumed, seemed to have only fair suction. Decided to re-vacuum room (after emptying filter) and went slowly. OH MY, did this vacuum bring up dirt! It almost made me ill to see how much dirt was in the carpet. Decided to do a THIRD pass, and got another 3/4 inch of dirt/dust in the cup! Also used the hose attachement; excellent suction right away, but definitely decreases as the cup fills with dirt/dust. Others have written about machine being heavier which I agree with. I think dirt cup is super easy to empty, and it has a washable filter which I like. I would definitely recommend this vacuum so far, hopefully it will last a while!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daisy2010
Baldwin, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't buy this vacuum
2/6/2010

Customer review by 4daughters

2.0 stars 2/6/2010 by 4daughters
by 4daughters

We have had this vacuum for over a year now and it was not till we just purchased our new Bissell that I have decided to write a review. I have had good experiences with Dirt Devils in the past. This one just has a poor design. The filter is in an inconvenient place and must be cleaned before every use. The first time we vacuumed with new one it was full of dust after the first two minutes, even though we vacuumed every night with the Dirt Devil. Do your self a favor and read the reviews before you purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4daughters
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Don't Waste Your Money!
1/19/2010

Customer review by CleanFreak33

1.0 stars 1/19/2010 by CleanFreak33
by CleanFreak33

My Hoover WindTunnel died after 9 years so my husband purchased this for me. I was a little leary since I have never had good luck with Dirt Devil's but I didn't want to hurt his feelings. I returned it after a month of frustration. The suction was horrible and the attachments and hoses didn't fit well together which made the suction even worse. It was also annoying because I wasn't able to get under the edge of cabinets/etc like I was able to with my other one. The final straw was the vacuum wouldn't pick up a lot of stuff, it would just move it around. I returned this and was delighted to find a newer version of my trusty Hoover WindTunnel at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CleanFreak33
Would recommend to a friend? No
worst product ever!!!
1/22/2010

Customer review by armywife13603

1.0 stars 1/22/2010 by armywife13603
by armywife13603

I bought this vacuum in green, and i got it home took it out of the box it was fairly easy to put together and i used it a couple times and it started to leave everything behind on the floor i could go over and over and over the same spot many many times and still didnt pickup much, and then it started leaving piles of the dirt on the floor when you turn it off, it the worst vacuum ive ever used. i will never buy another dirt devil i guess the name says it all, its a devil to get up the dirt..lol do not buy this vacuum you will be very disappointed. and yes its true you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
armywife13603
ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy this vacuum
10/3/2009

Customer review by wallyWorldShopper21

1.0 stars 10/3/2009 by wallyWorldShopper21
by wallyWorldShopper21

Bought this because I had other Dirt Devil products that I liked but this vacuum was horrible and I just replaced it with a Dyson. This vacuum spits dirt all over the place while trying to suck it up. If you use the hose the vacuum spits dirt all over from the bristles that are still turning and also up and out of the tube that has to be disconnected in order to use the house. Dirt also falls out of the bottom of the vacuum, so there is always a pile of dirt and dust below it in the closet where it is stored. Whatever you do, do not buy this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wallyWorldShopper21
Would recommend to a friend? No
Find another vacuum
7/2/2010

Customer review by OKfromAR

3.0 stars 7/2/2010 by OKfromAR
by OKfromAR

Wish I would have reviewed this one online before I bought it. It works great on carpet, picks up stuff my old vacuum never did. The design is poor, however. When you remove the hose to use the attachments as soon as you turn it on, dust and debris blows out of the hole where the attachments plugs in when not in use. No way to cover it, I stuff a rag there until I'm done. It also comes loose sometimes during carpet vacuuming, trash is flying everywhere. To be bagless, I'm dealing with more dust than when I had a bagged vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OKfromAR
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Do NOT Buy!
2/14/2010

Customer review by Shopper111111

1.0 stars 2/14/2010 by Shopper111111
by Shopper111111

Looks like I'm returning another machine. After putting this together - which wasn't too hard - I turned it on to see what I'd get. Not much. My carpet had a lot of dirt on it (I have 2 cats and a dog) and it hadn't been vacuumed in at least a week thanks to having to return the last vacuum I bought. The canister didn't even have anything in it when I was done! Checked to make sure I wasn't supposed to take some wrapping out of the hoses or nozzles! Back to square one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopper111111
Spanaway, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A very good product
4/5/2010

Customer review by ItsMeOKAY

5.0 stars 4/5/2010 by ItsMeOKAY
by ItsMeOKAY

I purchased this product two years ago, and I am satisfied with it's operation, I have not had any problems with it, and it's suction is better than any vaccum that I have used or purchased so far! I believe the key to keeping your vaccuum working right, you need to do common sense maintenance, keeping it clean, and free of any debri, or build-up of any kind, and don't forget to change the filter every so often, 2 to four times a year! Great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItsMeOKAY
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Terrible Buy
3/17/2010

Customer review by KShorsewoman

1.0 stars 3/17/2010 by KShorsewoman
by KShorsewoman

I bought this vacuum 8 months ago, since then i have replaced the belt twice. This vacuum gets clogged between the bucket and bottom of vacuum constantly. Even before I got pets it would clog just off of dust! Every time you turn the vacuum on it blows a cloud of dust into the air. I have resorted to wearing a mask when vacuuming until i can purchase a new vacuum. This product has been nothing but a headache and causes more of a mess than it cleans.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KShorsewoman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
It SUCKS!! And I mean that in a good way
12/30/2012

Customer review by crq18

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by crq18
by crq18
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It SUCKS!! And I mean that in a good way. I love the Dirt Devil's, but the last couple have not lasted long. And I have cats. Once assembled I used this over a small area (medium sized room) - it got an amazing amount of 'stuff' in the chamber. I hate feeling 'stuff' under foot that is not carpet, so was really amazed by the huge amount of yuck in the chamber...my feet are happy, now on to the rest of the house. Excellent so far - only 1 week.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crq18
77338
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This Vacuum Doesn't SUCK -anything that is...
11/27/2012

Customer review by mom232012

1.0 stars 11/27/2012 by mom232012
by mom232012

Okay, we have owned quite a few vacuum's in the last 20 years. This. Has. To. Be. The. Worst. EVER. Very Poor Suction Awkward hose storage- Keeps falling down while you vacuum. Oh, and very poor suction. Loud...um, have you ever stood in front of a DC-10 while it ramps up it's engines? Well you can now when you turn on this deafening machine. We are going back to Dyson. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. Now, go buy some earplugs if you do.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom232012
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Dirt Devil Dud
6/2/2010

Customer review by goldielocks4

1.0 stars 6/2/2010 by goldielocks4
by goldielocks4

It takes more time cleaning the vacuum than it does to vacuum. You have to empty the canister, then there are 2 filters under the canister that have to be cleaned after each use. Then you have to remove a spindle that keeps back the larger dirt items. After you get that spindle thing out you need an extra 10 minutes to get it back in right. Vacuum it also noisy. Also have had it only 8 months and changed the belt 2 times.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goldielocks4
North East, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews