Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 331 reviews
5 stars
182
4 stars
88
3 stars
20
2 stars
6
1 stars
35
Sort by: 
1-20 of 291 reviews
1-20 of 291 reviews
It's good ..
9/5/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It's good price but switch is not easy to open.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
For what it is, what a bargain.
9/22/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's about the most basic standing lamp you can find if you don't care about the look. You're not getting a fancy finish here. Seems mostly grey rather than silver but for my purposes it was fine. We're selling a 49 year old house and back then bedrooms didn't have installed lighting, just a switched outlet. So for <$8 I was able to fill each room with some light. In a normal household setting, if you need some light and some savings, this is a handy option. In most room situations the lamp itself is invisible. You look at the shade and the what is being lit... nobody checks the quality of the stand or the finish on the pole. Assembly was quick and simple, screw together segments of the pole. I found it simplest to extend the cord, start at the socket and work down, then pull the excess cord through the base and screw that on. That way the cord wouldn't be twisting much inside. Not the prettiest, but functional and super cheap and handy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great 3-Way Floor Lamps
9/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I caught this item online for a great price. I used the same day in-store delivery at a WalMart that was about 20 minutes from my home (as the store near my home is terrible with respect to customer service). I ordered two lamps because the price was so great (less than eight bucks at the time of order). When I got to the store about four hours later, I was helped immediately (not like at my local store). Further, I received a discount on the lamps as they went on sale in the time I ordered. With tax and all, I paid five dollars and some change for both lamps! The lamps came together easily and have worked like a charm. I like that they are 3 way lamps but I didn't use 3-way bulbs. Even without the sale, the lamps were a great value for the price but the sales makes it even better. I will use the Kankakee, IL store, which is furthest from my home in Bourbonnais, IL, rather than using the Bourbonnais, IL store, as the Bourbonnais, IL store is horrible with respect to customer service. I hope WalMart never stops their online order and pick up at the store on the same day service.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's a $9 lamp.
1/31/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you're looking for a $9 floor lamp to stick in the corner and use when needed this one works just fine. If you're wanting a $60 value lamp and think you're going to get that with this for $9 forget it, you won't be happy with it. It's just a cheap little lamp that sits a little crooked unless you manage to get the base screwed in perfectly, which is super tricky. It is a three way lamp and it does work nicely but you have to buy the right light bulb- an actual 3 way light bulb. So those who said the 3-way doesn't work probably just put in a regular bulb. One thing I wondered about was the shade. In the above picture it appears blue. It's not really, it's a white shade.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does the job
10/13/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's a nice looking lamp actually. It's flimsy, feels like I could break it easily- the stand, switch, shade. But it works fine so far, have had it a month. It stands straight. There's only one light brightness level, not 3.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent for the money
12/23/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have three of these lamps, one for each of my home's bedrooms, which have no built-in lighting. These lamps are certainly nothing fancy, but they are reasonably well made and stand up straight. The shade is plastic, but good looking enough. I've had these lamps in use for 2+ years and they've held up fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (131)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very poor quality
7/26/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought 2 of these in black and the shade was cracked on 1 of the lamps and the other lamp was bent in the middle where you screw it into itself. Taking them both back.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AWESOMENESS!!
10/10/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This lamp is very easy to install and provides perfect light for the perfect price!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Simple & Bright
5/23/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Its hard to find a lamp when remodeling a room, I personally have been looking at Tiffany lamps, then I figured why pay $150 for the elegance of the lamp (tho it gives the same brightness)when i might wanna change the complete style of my room in a couple years? Itd be a waste of money... This lamp is versatile which is good to have in a home. The room Im remodeling is in the basement, its dark with just 1window, so lighting is must in the room, an this light gives off good light, I have 2 & it worked out nicely! Ive had this lamp for over 3years & it holds up just fine & stays straight.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice
2/25/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I ordered this as a Christmas present for someone I was very impressed once I received it then I ordered two for myself. Nice to have worth the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great lamp, great price
8/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought two of these for the kids room and looking at buying a third one. Good lamp. Will totally recommend
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cheap product, came defected
9/21/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this in store because of the great price but when I brought it home to assemble, part of the silver metal connecting piece was crooked. I tried to connect each piece anyways but it was not a straight long lamp but rather a very crooked lamp. There was no way to fix it because it was crooked. I tried to disassemble it but once you twist the pieces together it is nearly impossible to undo. It's unfortunate but I just will have to throw it away. Luckily I didn't spend much on it but literally throwing 8 dollars in the garbage.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor quality lamp
10/1/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The stem sections are held together with hollow all thread which will not screw into the next section and the ones that did were so wobbly it never would have stood up straight.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Value!
1/28/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My wife and I had purchased three floor lamps with fluorescent light bulbs at an Ace Hardware a few years ago. They were very nice but one of them broke today while I was moving furniture around. I couldn't find the same lamp online at Ace, so I went online at WalMart and and found this lamp. After reading a few reviews I saw that it was quite the bargain and everyone was satisfied. If you don't have to worry about large pets knocking it over or kids playing with it, I think it's plenty sturdy and looks super! We will definitely buy a couple more. Super value, nice looking and easily fits fluorescent bulbs. Good deal!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (61)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
floor lamp
2/2/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
Very well made, easy to assemble, gives good lighting to the room. Clean elegant style. Cheap and very reliable.I was so pleased that I ordered another.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (65)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Flimsy
7/11/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Lamp is flimsy, but at the price what do you expect. The switch only works on one level, not 3 way. Oh well......bulbs cost as much as lamp
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good considering the price.
7/25/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It's very good considering its price. The only cons I find is that it says you can only use a light bulb of maximum 33 watt CFL, which makes me suspicious, what type of cords they have used, that makes it so not resistant to higher wattage. Also the color is not really silver, but it's very dark metallic gray. But as I said compared to its price it is nice and well working, and gives out enough light compared to a lot of other lamps that eat away the light from the light bulb.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
More affordable in the store!!
1/27/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My husband and I looked at this lamp on walmart.com and liked the price most of all. It appeared to be a basic floor lamp, but that was all we really needed. We hoped it would be a fairly quality product (not wanting to tip over or be lopsided or something) and not the old saying, "you get what you pay for"..... Well, we went shopping at our local Wal-Mart yesterday and found the lamp for $7.97!!! We were thrilled! Even if we didn't like it, who could complain about $8?? As soon as we got home, my husband put it together, with ease. The base is well weighted, it is not at all cheaply constructed! The shade is plastic, but we checked it several times last night and the shade was not even warm. We love this lamp and are seriously considering getting another one!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Item arrived with broken shade
8/2/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this item for a lamp in my room. The shade arrive smashed. Since it is so cheap, it takes up a large amount of time to have to go through the process of returning it, when in reality I just needed a new shade.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Affordable and not too much else
7/3/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My title is a little more harsh than the lamp deserves. I own two and they both do their job. The lamp's body is a series of very thin poles that screw into one another. The tubes/poles are like a really light weight metal or something. I don't think they're plastic. They unscrew a little and become a bit loose if you move the lamp around too much. This is remedied pretty easily with some glue if you're bothered by that, but be sure not to glue the wire too. The shade is plastic. But unlike other plastic lampshades it seems not to have a problem being near the light bulb. It doesn't get hot or smell like melting plastic, which is good. Or at least not when you use the energy efficient bulbs. I haven't used the old style bulbs in them. The base of this thing is pretty heavy which is great for countering what would otherwise be a top-heavy structure. I know some people say they use it for their kid's rooms, but I don't see that as a fantastic idea as the lamp is so light and frail that it seems like a bump or two would break it. I keep my two lamps in the corner of the living room and in my office, in low-traffic areas. They don't look too bad, and for less than 10 dollars, that's a pretty great feature.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642837, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-