Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 229 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

229 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

229 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
133
4 stars
55
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 stars
19
1-20 of 207 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews
Lamp serves its purpose
1/4/2010

Customer review by marslu87

4.0 stars 1/4/2010 by marslu87
by marslu87

Granted the quality isn't super great, but the price should explain why. It lights up a room, and the reading light would be handy if I used it (haven't had the need to yet, anyway). Speaking of which, the shade on the reading lamp part of the lamp was a pain to assemble; maybe it was just mine, but I eventually got the shade screwed on right. It also bends easily in different directions. I don't expect the shades to melt even though they're made of plastic. From a distance, you can see the top of the bulbs peeking over the shades, but it's not a big deal. If you need a simple, inexpensive lamp and a reading light, go ahead with this one. The same lamp without the reading light is availabe, as well, for a few dollars less. In hindsight, I probably should've gotten that one. Oh well! Happy lighting!

Was this review helpful? (66) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marslu87
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Lamp
2/23/2010

Customer review by Magalia53

5.0 stars 2/23/2010 by Magalia53
by Magalia53

Takes about 5 min's. to assemble but looks good and works great. Shades are plastic but for the price. Lower lamp is fully adjustable and a nice feature for reading in bed. For the price and cost of shipping it can't be beat. Definately buy one.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Magalia53
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
super value - great product
3/31/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/31/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

A snap to assemble, decent materials, good heavy base. Attractive piece even with the plastic shades. The reading lamp is flexible so you can adjust it to your liking. Really illuminates an area. The 3-way switch only worked on the high setting but no big deal.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great lamp, great price!
5/9/2014

Customer review by LeeAnn03

5.0 stars 5/9/2014 by LeeAnn03
by LeeAnn03

This lamp is just what I needed, and you can't beat the price! The shades are plastic, but handled carefully they seem sturdy. I put a 40W bulb in the lower section as the 60W was too bright. The 3-way on the top offers a soft glow for tv time, but you can make it bright when searching for the remote! It's sturdy and stands straight. Just be careful when assembling not to twist the wires too much, or to tighten the shade holders too tight. It was easy to assemble. It's very tall, so I couldn't put it exactly where I wanted (covered up a shelf), but it works well where I have it. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeeAnn03
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of Light!
3/19/2010

Customer review by rofund

5.0 stars 3/19/2010 by rofund
by rofund

I bought one of these for my sewing room and it puts out a ton of light! I can easily tilt the lower lamp and direct it right where I need it. Personally, I like it better than my ott light. Putting it together, I had to really work to get a few of the pole pieces screwed in together, but once they got started they went together very securely. For the money you can't find a better deal. I'm buying two more for other areas in my house!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rofund
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A bad investment..!!
12/13/2013

Customer review by darshaks

1.0 stars 12/13/2013 by darshaks
by darshaks

Although it may look durable..the lamp shield broke in the packaging itself..the stand remains tilted and the lamp shield does not fit into it's slot.. Going to return it asap. look for better options.. Do not buy..!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
darshaks
Ann Arbor,MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than the price
6/18/2014

Customer review by dfan2

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by dfan2
by dfan2

As I moved to my new apartment, I found that I do not have any place for installation of a bulb, so I need a table lamp or a floor lamp. most of them were expensive but this one had a good price but such a bad reviews!!!! like cheap material, plastic shades, bending to one side, switches are not working.....I was really in need a floor lamp. I told myself I will buy this one because of its good price and if it does not work later I will buy something with good quality. When it arrived I was positively surprised. shades are plastic but you can not find unless you touch it. They are not blue as pictured .They are completely white and change with the color of bulb, I used normal 40W bulb for both main light and reading light and it is yellow and beautiful . There is nothing wrong in it even one point . It is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dfan2
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy on a Combo Floor Lamp
5/18/2014

Customer review by janice

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by janice
by janice

I already had one Mainstays floor lamp, and wanted a matching one. It is easy to put together, and sturdy. I actually am using the reading lamps to accent a picture I have above my couch. They swivel into any direction easily. I love them.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
janice
Fort Worth, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black
10/23/2013

Customer review by tap603

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by tap603
by tap603

You get what you pay for. I needed a "cheap" lamp for reading by my chair. It works well for that. It is plastic, easy to put together. Just follow the instructions or you will twist the cord and possibly damage the connectors. Also you need a 3 way bulb on top for the light to work properly.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tap603
Claremore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
VERY GREAT FLOOR LAMP!!!!!
4/25/2012

Customer review by shellbear

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by shellbear
by shellbear

The Mainstays 72" Combo Floor Lamp,Black Is A Really Great Lamp. It Works Great It Lights Up The Whole Room. It ALso Has A Great Price. I Would Recommend This Lamp To Everyone That Is Looking For A Great Floor Lamp.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shellbear
TENNESSEE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Let there be light !
4/12/2010

Customer review by 1Moose

5.0 stars 4/12/2010 by 1Moose
by 1Moose

Nice lamp at a great price. had it shipped to my apartment. fast delivery with undamaged box. assembly was easy. you need a 3-way bulb for the upper light , and a regular bulb for the lower. I used the new CFL bulbs because they are much cooler to the touch and the shades are plastic.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Moose
Liberty , New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice lamp at great price
5/6/2012

Customer review by DeeThatsMe

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by DeeThatsMe
by DeeThatsMe

Quick & easy to put together. Gives good lighting for our living room. Plan to purchase another one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeeThatsMe
Sioux City, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
For $12, it is what it is. Nothing fancy, does job
11/3/2013

Customer review by Greg46815

3.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Greg46815
by Greg46815

My old floor lamp was blowing bulbs by the week, so it was time for something else. I didn't want to spend $50+ for what most stores offered. So I went with this special. I like that it has the side lamp for reading. Wish it was a little more flexible and would stay where I put it. BUT... it was about $12, so what can you expect. I can read with it, so it works. Wish the top lamp on off switch was reachable from sitting in my chair, but it's at the top. Would prefer a top shade that was more flared out and a little more reflective so more light would hit the ceiling. But again, it works and is definitely worth what I paid for it. One main flaw is that I can not get good contact with mini CFLs, so I can't use them, which I was hoping to do. IF I could use my CFLs, I would probably give it a 5 star rating.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greg46815
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for poor eye sight
3/27/2010

Customer review by Gypsy63

5.0 stars 3/27/2010 by Gypsy63
by Gypsy63

I have very poor eye sight when it comes to reading in anything but bright light. This lamp more than exceeds my expectations. I really love this lamp. It is inexpensive, bends to any position I need, and just the reading light lights up the room pretty well. I haven't had to use the top light because the reading light is enough. I use this lamp right beside my computer and it gives me better light than my previous lamp which was a lot more expensive than this one. I love not having to tilt the lamp shade up (which then blinds you with direct light) in order to get more light because the shade that comes with this lets the light shine through the shade. I have only had this lamp for a month so I can't comment on weather the shade cracks or not as one reader stated. I hope not because I really love this lamp! I would have bought more than one of these lamps but this was the only one left in the store. Later if none come in I may order a couple more on-line for a couple of other rooms in my house. Unless you want something a lot fancier looking, you won't regret buying this lamp. It is not an ugly lamp, & even though it is not as fancy as some others I have seen, it looks well in almost any room.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gypsy63
Lincolnton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Get What You Pay For
7/7/2014

Customer review by Moemoe23

4.0 stars 7/7/2014 by Moemoe23
by Moemoe23

I've had this lamp since Feb of 2012. Other than the fact that the column broke at the base within 3 hours of putting it together, I'd say it's held up great for a really cheap floor lamp. After all, what matters most is that both the lights still turn on and that it stands up, although a bit like the leaning tower of Pisa. Now it is a little bit flimsy. Our room mate sort of fell on it and it broke at the base about 3 hours after we put it together. He didn't land on it, just tripped and pushed it over while moving furniture and it broke. After almost 3 years this thing has survived being knocked over a few times by my now 3 1/2 year old and still turns on so it's sturdy that way. The knobs don't work quite properly anymore. The clicks don't really mean much on the top lamp, but it still turns on and stays on. That being said, I originally bought this thinking I'd replace it within a year or when part of it would die within 2 years. It's going on 3 now. I think I'll keep it until it really does break or I think my son won't break a better floor lamp.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moemoe23
Mendota, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Excellent product!!!
7/3/2014

Customer review by Echo88

5.0 stars 7/3/2014 by Echo88
by Echo88

I bought two, one was more than enough! excellent lightning, shape and everything!! BUY IT

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Echo88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for the money
2/22/2014

Customer review by WomenVet

4.0 stars 2/22/2014 by WomenVet
by WomenVet

I purchased almost 5 years ago, and the only complaint I have ever had is the upper light switch is difficult to turn. Now, I need a new light cover - after years of daily use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WomenVet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's a lamp
7/6/2014

Customer review by JoeFromIowa

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by JoeFromIowa
by JoeFromIowa

Inexpensive, very basic, easy to assemble, provides light. That's about it. I own two of these, had one for about 3 years, no problems. New one has been in service for a couple weeks, no problems. I'd recommend this to anyone who needs a basic floor lamp.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoeFromIowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I need
7/16/2012

Customer review by SoonerMed

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by SoonerMed
by SoonerMed

My roommate and I live in an apartment that doesn't have a light in the living room (we are students and its all we could afford) so we bought two of these lights for the living room. They look great (not tacky at all), they light the entire room and are easy to put together and move around. I only wish the cord was a little longer, but we fixed that easily by hooking it to a small extension cord. Amazing product at a great price

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoonerMed
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Function over form ... but the form is ok
7/18/2012

Customer review by Smeeagain

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by Smeeagain
by Smeeagain

The light works fine and looks pretty good. Given the price, it rates as a great buy for those looking for function. Want a Tiffany? Shop elsewhere (but the light won't be any brighter). I just ordered a second one, so that about sums it up, doesn't it?

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smeeagain
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews