Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 112 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

112 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

112 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 stars
34
1-20 of 104 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 104 total reviews
1-20 of 104 reviews
Too Cumbersome!
11/9/2015

Customer review by Jojo48

1.0 stars 11/9/2015 by Jojo48
by Jojo48

I have had this vacuum for a few years now and have never made myself sit down and write a review--until today. I had a Futura that lasted 20 years and was hoping that this was going to be a great replacement...not the case. The machine is very cumbersome, partly due to the "swivel" hose which really doesn't swivel well. Therefore, the hose kinks quite often, almost tripping me up. The power head stopped working after about a year, so I now just use this vacuum for hardwood floors and tile. The problem with that is that the floor brush is too wide. You would think that would make the vacuuming take less time, but it doesn't. There is still just the one opening for the dirt to enter, so you have to keep moving the brush over the same area to make sure the dirt finds its way to the opening. The smaller brush on the Futura was much more efficient. The machine is heavy, awkward to maneuver, and a disappointment. I should have patched up the old Futura or invested in another brand.

Comment from Kenya - 11/10/2015

Hi Jojo48! We appreciate your feedback concerning the design of the hose and size of the floor brush. We are always looking for ways to improve our products. You shouldn’t be having any issues with the power head. If your brushes are not spinning we recommend checking that the belt has not broken or become stretched. If the belt is fine, there may be an issue with the brush motor that we need to take a look at. The good news is that your WindTunnel Canister carries a 3 year warranty against manufacturing defects. To locate your nearest center to take the unit in for repair visit http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps!

Jojo48
LaGrange, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good
12/11/2011

Customer review by Worsel

4.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Worsel
by Worsel

Overall very good. I had an old Hoover Wind Tunnel that I liked very much and this is similar. The 360 degree hose and the rollers on the canister make it easier to maneuver than the old one. Also, it is just as easy if not easier to attach/detach items which is important to me. Power cord is long enough and comparable to my old vacuum. Suction is fine. Attachments are fine, although I miss my old rounded brush (I'm still trying to get used to the new thin angled brush.) The only drawback for me is that on my old vacuum the handle had a power on/off switch (in addition to the foot pedal) but this new version does not allow me to control power on/off with the handle. I have to use the foot switch and I find this awkward as I do turn the vacuum off and on frequently while I move about the house, switching attachments etc. I recommend Hoover consider putting back the power on/off switch on the handle when they redesign this model again in future.

Worsel
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Enjoy using it, works great, quiet .
8/15/2012

Customer review by Fashionista

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Fashionista
by Fashionista

In 35 years I've had 3 Hoover Vacuums. The last was a Futura and died after 20 1/2 years of use. Before that my mother had Hoover Vacuums for 50 years so I never thought about buying anything else. I live in a 2 room apt. in a brownstone that is by subway construction which brings in lots of dirt that you don't get in the suburbs. This vacuum picks up all the dirt from area carpets and hardwood floors on a low suction setting. For years my downstairs neighbor would knock on her ceiling with a broom handle for she could hear me vacuuming BUT NO MORE OF HER COMPLAINTS because this vacuum so quiet I can use it at 10:00 PM. The dirt goes right in the bag and the inside stays clean. I had to learn to use it on low suction for my apt. because it is powerful. Good on doormat for it gets rid of all my neighbors dog hair. I use the stick attachment to get dust out of wrought iron radiator/inside window sills also. I hope it last 20 years too. They use to last even longer at moms. It's not too heavy for me because I work out and can lift heavy but for everyone else it's good exersice to use it.

Fashionista
New York, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too many repairs!
11/30/2013

Customer review by Finn

1.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Finn
by Finn

I bought this vacuum in March of 2011.  I have found it to be a strong performer when it works.  I am in rural northern NM, and the closest repair facility is close to two hours away. To date, I have had three issues which have required replacing parts which in my experience are poorly engineered and manufactured, but the motor has continued to run strong.  Today the motor died and I smelled a burning smell.   I will not be loading this vacuum back into my car to take it all the way to the repair facility.  The gas to take it in for repair would have paid for a new one, and the really sad part is that we were in Santa Fe just yesterday!  I will call customer care on Monday, and it is my hope that they will send me a replacement.  If not, they have lost a loyal customer of over 50 years, and I have recommended this vacuum to friends and family who have also had issues with it.

Finn
Taos, NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Buyer Remorse
7/13/2012

Customer review by Broom Rider

1.0 stars 7/13/2012 by Broom Rider
by Broom Rider

This is my third Hoover canister & this one will be my last because the quality has gone. The bare floor attachment does not clean well--they should have stuck with the old design. I collect more pet hair on the outside of the brush than what gets vacuumed up. I'm constantly vacuuming the brush to get it to clean and the carpet attachment is bulky and awkward to use on bare floors. The hose is another poor design because it is always crimping up. It is difficult to use the off/on & cord release switch with your foot. Because of the curved design the vacuum wants to escape when pressed! Next we come to the non- or only with difficulty retracting wand. [*]. I've had this vacuum less than a year. The machine gets a 1 rating from me because it cleans carpet well but in general it is such a pain to use that I will replace it with another brand soon.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 7/13/2012

Hello! We are very sorry to hear about the issues you are experiencing and we would like to get this problem solved for you right away! Please call in to customer service 1.800.944.9200 Monday-Friday 8am-7pm EST. Thank you!

Broom Rider
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Close to being a GREAT vacuum!
11/15/2011

Customer review by irismay

3.0 stars 11/15/2011 by irismay
by irismay

This vacuum would be close to excellent with a few changes. The suction is indeed very impressive. I do feel like it's getting the rugs clean, but it's hard to drag over them. I use the lowest suction, too. Perhaps a height adjustment would help. When using the stair and furniture attachment, it is very hard to pull the handle out of the wand on mine. It's just as hard to get it back together when done. And speaking of the stair/furniture attachment, it would work much better if the attachment itself was motorized (the Kenmore vacuum cleaner has a motorized one~ works great!). Whenever the tool makes contact with a surface, the brush stops rolling. What's the point? I agree, the hose is quite cumbersome too. And last but definately not least, the BIGGEST issue is definately the on/off switch being on the canister instead of the handle.

irismay
NW Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unhappy
11/25/2013

Customer review by Wandaful

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Wandaful
by Wandaful

I've had this vacuum for a couple of years.  The plastic pieces around the hose connections cracked within the first few months.  The vacuum still functioned, but I have to be extremely cautious when I use attachments.  Last week I was using the power nozzle on my carpet and it just quit running.  I thought perhaps the belt had slipped, so I took off the cover only to discover the belt was still in place.  I thoroughly cleaned the power nozzle inside and out, I checked the wiring, then put the unit back together. Still not working.  I checked your site for a replacement power nozzle and the replacement is $182.41. I paid only $299.00 for the entire system when I made the initial purchase.  I bought this unit based on reviews (at the time) from Consumer Reports.  I'm thoroughly disappointed with the machine AND Consumer Reports.

Wandaful
North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disgusted with Hoover
8/16/2012

Customer review by Dave the disgusted

1.0 stars 8/16/2012 by Dave the disgusted
by Dave the disgusted

This was a major disappointment to me. I have always been a Hoover user. My wife went out and bought a Dyson and I went right back out immediately and bought this Hoover, as i do 90% of the vacuuming. Now I an embarassed. We bought it in Oct. 2010, by Jan 2011 it was in the shop for a faulty switch. Back home and working great until May of 2011 when it went back in the shop for the same faulty switch. Called Hoover and they said it was under warranty and would be fixed immediately. Back home and working fine until September 2011 for (wait for it) switch problems, called Hoover and got the name of an alternative repair shop in hopes that that was the source of the problem. Back home and running great until April 2012 when the switch failed again. No more; I bought a Eureka had enough of Hoover.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 8/16/2012

Please call our customer care group at 1-800-944-9200, Monday-Friday 8am-7pm EST for assistance.

Dave the disgusted
Milford, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked great ane day & no power the time.
1/31/2016

Customer review by renegade

2.0 stars 1/31/2016 by renegade
by renegade

I have had this vacuum for less than 2 years with no major issue. It worked find the a couple days prior and now for some reason it won't power up or start at all. After reading major of the reviews - I would say it not worth taking in for repairs because its most likely the circuit board with the fuse. Prior to this major issue of not starting - it worked great removing pet hair from the carpet which was the main reason I purchased it. But I didn't like the attachment provided for the hardwood floor. I had adapted another attachment from a previous vacuum cleaner clean the hardwood floors. After reading other reviews and it all of sudden for even turn on - I won't recommend this vacuum cleaner

Comment from Kenya - 1/31/2016

Hi renegade! That sounds like something we'll need to get our hands on. The great news is that your Anniversary WindTunnel Canister actually carries a 3 year warranty against manufacturing defects. We surely hope a repair that shouldn't cost you a thing is worth bringing in for repair. If so, you can locate your nearest service center by visiting: http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps!

renegade
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lost Power at Hose Connector
2/23/2013

Customer review by rbraak

4.0 stars 2/23/2013 by rbraak
by rbraak

I have been a Hoover owner for almost twenty years and just loved that with a little tlc, anyone can keep these vacuums running.   Just had this new vacuum replaced by the store from where it was purchased.  It has been a GREAT vacuum but after ten months use, the powered nozzle stopped working and I traced it to the electrical plug where hose connector fits into the bag lid. From routine pulling around, some excess play has developed.  I can only get power back to the nozzle if I hold the connector a certain way. This appears to be design related and could become a re-occuring problem.  For this reason, I cannot recommend this product.   I suspect that it will happen again and only hope that Hoover will stand by and provide the necessary support.  

rbraak
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Very Disappointed!!!
5/14/2014

Customer review by holishn

1.0 stars 5/14/2014 by holishn
by holishn

This is the first time I bought a Hoover product, but I am very disappointed. For the money it worth it should be working perfectly and without even smallest issue. I have both this vacuum for Christmas in 2011, after 11 months of use the power nozzle stopped working. I took to t repair shop and they they traced it to the electrical plug where hose connector fits into the bag , it was no longer fixable. After 2 months of waiting I received a brand new unit as a replacement. I was happy that I received a new vacuum and did not have to worry about it any longer. But again after 16 months of use  the same problem occurred, the power nozzle died. I took it to the repair shop and after that said it was exactly the same issue as with the first vacuum. Although now the customer service does not want to replace it with a new unit, they want me to repair it. I have less than a year left on my warranty, so after it runs out and my vacuum brakes again I will have to pay out of my own packet to fix it. because if it happened with two units than even after repairing it, the vacuum will not work as it should. I would like to receive a brand new unit but a different model, do not want to own this Wind Tunnel anymore. I wish I could get my money back and never buy Hoover product again.

Comment from Ian - 5/20/2014

Hi Holishn, I pulled your records and have a good idea of what's going on. I sent you a email just now so that we can figure this out together and get you taken care of. We want a chance to make this right. Thanks.

holishn
Sterling Heights, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Oh for the good old days!
12/2/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 12/2/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We bought this model hoping it was a new version of the Hoover vacuum we loved to use, which was the M1000 canister(?) Our repairman has been waiting for a month for the main circuit board which also holds the fuse for the floor attachment and it is back-ordered for another month!! Who would design an fuse to be a part of and expensive circuit board anyway? Also the hand windtunnel tool is non-functional and the hard floor tool is poorly designed, so I threw both away and use the old bare floor tool from the original machine that I retrofitted to fit this machine. It could have been a great machine,if it were truely and anniversary edition, built like the original!

An anonymous customer
Cokato, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love my vacuum!
4/27/2016

Customer review by jeezermd

5.0 stars 4/27/2016 by jeezermd
by jeezermd

I have had my Hoover Wind Tunnel bagged vacuum for many years. I love it so much that when the motor died, I replaced the motor and am still vacuuming with it! It is not this newer version, but one from quite a few years ago.

jeezermd
Baltimore, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed :(
7/5/2012

Customer review by Paula...

1.0 stars 7/5/2012 by Paula...
by Paula...

I've had 2 previous WindTunnel canister vacuums. Each of them lasted a long time & I LOVED them. Bonded with them right away. I use my vacuum daily (I live with a parrot)& was bummed when my vacuum died. I used it for over 10 years so I guess it was time. I'm mad at myself for not taking the time to check this new one out before I purchased it. Since I loved my last 2 I figured it would be just as good if not better. Boy, was I wrong! It may be a bit lighter in weight but it seems to be made of very cheap, easy to break material. The tools (if you want to call them that) are too small & there's no on board storage for the powered hand tool & the hard floor head. My last vacuum had all of those attachments, they were all a reasonable size, they were all stored on board, & they were contructed out of better quality material. The hose was sturdier on the old one & I view the telescoping wand as another thing to wear out/break. Unfortunately, I used the vacuum so I can't return it ~ My bad... Hoover, you cheaped out & let your long time customers down ~ Your bad... This is the last Hoover I'll own. Next time (with the lack of quality this one has, I'm sure it won't be long)I'll buy something of substance that shows some pride in manufactuing, not cheaping out to maximize profits. That path just lost you a long time customer. [$] should get you a lot more than this!

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 7/5/2012

Hi Paula! We are sorry to hear about the trouble you are experiencing with your unit but we would like to work with you to resolve the issue as soon as possible! Please call in to customer service with your unit information for troubleshooting assistance, 1.800.944.9200 Monday-Friday 8am-7pm EST. Have a wonderful day!

Paula...
Santa Clara, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dissappointed
4/25/2016

Customer review by Boby P

2.0 stars 4/25/2016 by Boby P
by Boby P

This vacuum cleaner loses efficiency over time, very heavy, parts breakdown quickly.

Comment from Kenya - 4/28/2016

Hi Boby P! With normal maintenance your WindTunnel Canister can be up and running like new. The vacuum appears to be about 3 years old. The belt and bulb are consumable parts. Overtime the belt will stretch out or break preventing the brushes from spinning and the bulb can blow. These items are available here: http://bit.ly/1UjDTSy under the “Parts & Accessories” tab. Hope this helps!

Boby P
Lethbridge, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Will not hold up! Cheap...Cheap...Cheap
6/16/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/16/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Very disappointed in this machine. It is not cheap, but also not a Miele; but a knock off of the design of the Miele. The power connection for the hose pulls out very easily, the bare floor brush is not effective whatsoever, the tools are way too small and the tiny crevice tool is useless. Also the hose kinks and that is a pain in rear end. This is just a cheap machine and honestly expect more with the hoover name. Did okay with the carpet, but it simply is not holding up. Worth spending a little more and getting something more solid. Very disappointed in this Hoover!!

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 6/16/2012

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate the feedback. We are very sorry to hear about the frustrations you are experiencing and would like for you to call in to customer service with for more assistance. You can reach us at 1.800.944.9200 Monday- Friday 8am-7pm EST.

An anonymous customer
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Three failures in 4 years.
8/3/2015

Customer review by Franco

2.0 stars 8/3/2015 by Franco
by Franco

The first failure was the wand extension mechanism...repaired under warranty. The second failure was the "board" a couple of months past the warranty...paid to repair...about 35% cost of the unit. Third failure, about 4 years in...the two little wheels under the power nozzle broke off. It is such a shame to see what has happened to the Hoover brand. Used to be a Hoover would last 15 years or more. Fewer purchases but much more customer confidence and loyalty. No, Hoover is off my list of well made vac's.

Comment from Kenya - 8/3/2015

Hi Franco, we want to assure you that providing quality products to our customers is still very important to us. The two small wheels under the nozzle are available here: http://bit.ly/1IkAZDt. Let us know if there is anything else you need, we are happy to help!

Franco
Bohemia, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Hardcore cleaner
10/29/2013

Customer review by Busywife

2.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Busywife
by Busywife

This is my third Hoover, I love the vacuum for the suction and light weight, if it would only keep running. the circut boards for the power head last for about two uses. I took it in again today to get it repaired. very disappointed after owning the other machines, they didn't stop running just wanted to update, what a mistake!! the machines are not inexpensive but very cheaply made, gives Hoover a bad name. I hope they can repair it to last this time. if not the game is over for Hoover with me!!

Busywife
Roseburg, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Don't buy it
9/1/2012

Customer review by Deeply disappointed

1.0 stars 9/1/2012 by Deeply disappointed
by Deeply disappointed

This purchase has been a big disappointment! After just five months, the power brush on my new Hoover stopped working. Yes, I can and will get it repaired, but I know from long experience that once such basic things start needing to be fixed, a vacuum cleaner such as this will never run as well as it should. My previous Hoover lasted seven years, not exactly a lifetime, but I hoped I would get the same number of years out of this one as well. But five months!??

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 9/1/2012

We are sorry to hear about the issue you have experienced with your vacuum! A few troubleshooting tips: Check and clean the brush roller ends of jammed debris; also, check if the belt is stretched out. It may require replacing. For further assistance, please call our Customer Care Department at 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST or visit a local service dealer. For a list of local service centers visit http://hoover.com/locator/. Thank you!

Deeply disappointed
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
URGHHHH!!!!!
9/19/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/19/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have owned Hoover vacuums for a long time, when we purchased a new home I decided a canister would be my preference for all the nooks and cranny's...the tab to hold the hose broke off within the first month! Carpet attachment is made very cheap. When I attempt to use it on the stairs it stops spinning making it impossible to use. The canister is very heavy and difficult to drag around the carpet. But on a good note the machine works great on hard wood floors

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 9/19/2012

We are very sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced with your vacuum! We are happy to hear you were pleased with its performance on hard floors. When used and maintained in normal household use, it is warranted against original defects in material and workmanship for 3 years. Local service dealers are listed at http://hoover.com/locator/ for your assistance.

An anonymous customer
Sewell N.J
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1-20 of 104 reviews