Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 109 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

109 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

109 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 stars
34
1-20 of 101 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
a great buy
4/9/2010

Customer review by kidranglerof2

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by kidranglerof2
by kidranglerof2

I've bought expensive up right vacs and they only last a short time. I have animals and kids so I need a good vac. I always borrowed my mother in-laws canister hoover and it is 10yrs old. But it works great so I got this one for myself and I love it. It has lots of power and the suction is great. I love that it has a 3yr warrenty. It is a little heavy but I am only 98lbs and I can use it with no trouble at all. I can see how it would be hard to vacuum stairs But my house is only a one story. The hard wood flood attachment is not the best but it still gets the job done. I just use the power head (for the carpet) on the hard wood floor and it's great. I also love the power head attachment for your furniture it takes care of crumbs and pet hair. I am very happy that I bought this vac. I would recommend this vac to anyone. This vacuum is just like my mother in-laws vac but just a newer model. I suspect that this vac will last me 10+ years. Hoover is a great product.

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kidranglerof2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too Cumbersome!
11/9/2015

Customer review by Jojo48

1.0 stars 11/9/2015 by Jojo48
by Jojo48

I have had this vacuum for a few years now and have never made myself sit down and write a review--until today. I had a Futura that lasted 20 years and was hoping that this was going to be a great replacement...not the case. The machine is very cumbersome, partly due to the "swivel" hose which really doesn't swivel well. Therefore, the hose kinks quite often, almost tripping me up. The power head stopped working after about a year, so I now just use this vacuum for hardwood floors and tile. The problem with that is that the floor brush is too wide. You would think that would make the vacuuming take less time, but it doesn't. There is still just the one opening for the dirt to enter, so you have to keep moving the brush over the same area to make sure the dirt finds its way to the opening. The smaller brush on the Futura was much more efficient. The machine is heavy, awkward to maneuver, and a disappointment. I should have patched up the old Futura or invested in another brand.

Comment from Kenya - 11/10/2015

Hi Jojo48! We appreciate your feedback concerning the design of the hose and size of the floor brush. We are always looking for ways to improve our products. You shouldn’t be having any issues with the power head. If your brushes are not spinning we recommend checking that the belt has not broken or become stretched. If the belt is fine, there may be an issue with the brush motor that we need to take a look at. The good news is that your WindTunnel Canister carries a 3 year warranty against manufacturing defects. To locate your nearest center to take the unit in for repair visit http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps!

Jojo48
LaGrange, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just Okay
12/29/2009

Customer review by WMshopper2499

3.0 stars 12/29/2009 by WMshopper2499
by WMshopper2499

I purchased the Hoover windtunnel canister vac in November after researching and reading reviews. I felt like this was the best choice for our money, but I am somewhat disappointed by the bare floor performance. I have to say that I am pleased with it's performance on the carpets, I just feel like I should have gone ahead and purchased another Kenmore canister vac because I loved the way my old one performed on bare floors. I also HATE the power button being on the canister~ I'd much prefer it being on the handle. Other than these things, I think it's a great vacuum. I had a Kenmore canister vac that I LOVED, but the canister itself cracked one day when I accidentally pulled it into our kitchen cabinets. As the impact wasn't so strong that it SHOULD have cracked to this extent, we were concerned about the quality of the Kenmore canister vacs currently being produced. My mom has had one for 24 years that still works great, but I had also had an issue with the hose on this particular vac shortly after purchase.

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WMshopper2499
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Vacuum
12/31/2010

Customer review by beans55

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by beans55
by beans55

I gave this to my sister for Christmas. She has a Golden Retriever and mostly hardwood floors with areas rugs in her Manhattan apt. She says its great at getting up all the dog hair from the rugs and loves that the beater bar has a shut-off buttom. She's tried many other vacuums, and they were awful, she never felt the rugs were actually cleaned. Having bags instead of bagless is much cleaner. The dirt dust doesnt go back into the apt. when emptying. It is big and a bit heavy, but overall very satisfied with the vacuum. I thank all the reviewers on this site that helped in my decision on which vacuum to get her. Plus the price was very reasonable compared to the other well known brands.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beans55
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really Good Vacuum
4/14/2011

Customer review by KazjiaDoll

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by KazjiaDoll
by KazjiaDoll

I read many of the reviews, good and not so good. I purchased the vacuum. The most difficult part about the initial operation of the vacuum, was where the "start" button was. :) I had to read the directions. But after that it was vacuuming bliss. I am 5'6", 58 years old, and I have osteo-arthritis. I found the canister easy to wheel around, the hose is pliable enough, it's reasonably light and easy to operate. The machine's exterior is plastic, and while I wouldn't sit on it, it does what it is supposed to do. I am thrilled not to have to dump out a cup of dirt and hair anymore. I don't see what the fascination of "bagless" vacuums is all about. This Hoover canister vac is attractive, and strong. I am very pleased with my purchase. Kazjia

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KazjiaDoll
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is a great vacuum for all floors.
11/15/2011

Customer review by In4Life

5.0 stars 11/15/2011 by In4Life
by In4Life

I replaced my 20 year old Hoover canister with this new model. I had studied and read reviews of a lot of canisters. I like a canister because you can get under couches & beds, etc. I have wood, tile, carpet and area rugs. I decided on one with a bag. I have a portable dirt devil with a cup to empty and it is really messy. I don't need MORE dust in the air. The bag does not have to be emptied after each use. There is also a FULL indicator light. I like the suction options. You can lessen the power for things like kitchen rugs so they won't be sucked off the floor. I use the big motor for the carpets & rugs; and use the wand with the floor tool attachment for other floors. The small tool with rotating brush is great for cloth furniture. Good instructions for assembly. There is a toll free number if you have any questions. I did have a little bit of trouble trying to find the ON bar. Just think push with your foot for the features. Good long cord that retracts with push of a bar. I thought the value was very good. It was rated well on Consumer Reports. Especially for suction. I paid about the same as I did for the 20 yr old machine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
In4Life
Maryville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
better than a Dyson
5/8/2011

Customer review by mschiff

4.0 stars 5/8/2011 by mschiff
by mschiff

I had purchased a Dirt Devil Vision previously and it worked great for about 3 weeks, then the suction went down dramatically. Then I purchased a Dyson canister. What a mistake. It was a cheap piece of junk at an exorbitant price. This Hoover Windtunnel isn't perfect but for the money it's a good buy. I've had mine for about a month now and the suction is still good. It's a little cumbersome, but at least it seems sturdy and well made which the other vacuums mentioned were not. The cord is longer than most other canister vacuums and the wand is metal and the hose flexible and not cheap like the Dyson. The upholstery attachment does a good job but clogs constantlly so that's a minus. The motorized carpet attachment does a decent job considering it is a canister and not an upright. I have mostly hardwood and vinyl flooring so that's not an issue for me. If you have mostly carpets, get an upright. I've never seen a canister yet that can do carpets as well as an upright. This unit does take HEPA bags which are a little pricey but worth it. The bagless vacuums have mediocre suction compared to bagged models. Also, there is no messy and frequent cup emptying. Overall, for the money, I'm satisfied as long as it doesn't start losing suction. Honestly, it's seems to be very difficult to find a great canister vacuum for fair price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mschiff
Canton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hoover Wind Tunnel Bagged Vacuum
9/26/2010

Customer review by mariafgp

5.0 stars 9/26/2010 by mariafgp
by mariafgp

This vacuum does an excellent job of getting my carpets clean. I was told by some vacuum store that it was a self-propelled vacuum which it isn't. On the highest speed it was a bit hard to move over the carpet. I called their customer support and was told to drop the speed down and that made it easier to move back and forth. Haven't used it but a few times but I like it a whole lot more that my bagless small upright. I can vacuum the whole house in less time since I am not having to empty the cup after each room. Great vacuum if you have a lot of pet hair around.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mariafgp
Springtown. TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love It!!!
5/2/2011

Customer review by LJFar

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by LJFar
by LJFar

I have owned electrolux canister vacuums and the last two vacuums were Kenmore canisters. This vacuum is as nice as the other ones I have owned and is so easy to operate and less expensive. I have two dogs and a cat and it really takes care of all pet hair. There are two things the manufacturer should change. The on/off switch should be on the handle and not on the canister and the hose is stiff and not as flexible as the Kenmore vacuums. The features that I really love are the telescopic wand which is very light, the power nozzel which pushes itself on low pile carpet due to the power brushes, the power tool for pet hair and other small jobs and the floor brush. This is the first vacuum that I have seen with a floor brush that has wheels. I have seen complaints about this item and it is much nicer than the Kenmore floor brush. I find this vacuum to be quiter than other vacuums I have used. One bit of advice is to make sure you have extra bags. It comes with two Hepa fabric bags which are great but these are not carried in the stores that I could find. I could only find the paper ones which are not that good. So they may need to be ordered. A great vacuum for the money and it has a 3 year warrenty which most do not. Highly Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LJFar
Fort Collins, Co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Durable vacuum
3/23/2011

Customer review by hotwrench

5.0 stars 3/23/2011 by hotwrench
by hotwrench

I have 2 kids, 2 cat's, 1 dog and very thick carpet at home! That being said my home has destroyed two different up right models and one other canister vacuum. I had a Hoover canister vac 20 years ago and after killing the third vacume in 5 years I decided to go back. Its was the best decision I ever made! This model looks good and cleans even better. The nicest thing is it does, is not plug up with the cat,dog hair and deep carpet! I have vacuumed the entire house twice now and the bag still does not need replacement! In the past I would have to empty the upright catch can after each room and dig debris out of the machine and hoses. This Hoover is a nice machine!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hotwrench
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
almost perfect
7/24/2010

Customer review by mommamuffin

3.0 stars 7/24/2010 by mommamuffin
by mommamuffin

The Hoover canister vacuum is very well made and attractive in appearance. The suction is great and just what I needed for my apartment. There are two things that tempted me to return the product. The vacuum is heavy and cumbersome, especially when using the furniture attachment. The hose is stiff and hard to maneuver. It will take some getting used to. I've only had it for a week and I'm exhausted when I'm finished vacuuming my place.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommamuffin
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very good
12/11/2011

Customer review by Worsel

4.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Worsel
by Worsel

Overall very good. I had an old Hoover Wind Tunnel that I liked very much and this is similar. The 360 degree hose and the rollers on the canister make it easier to maneuver than the old one. Also, it is just as easy if not easier to attach/detach items which is important to me. Power cord is long enough and comparable to my old vacuum. Suction is fine. Attachments are fine, although I miss my old rounded brush (I'm still trying to get used to the new thin angled brush.) The only drawback for me is that on my old vacuum the handle had a power on/off switch (in addition to the foot pedal) but this new version does not allow me to control power on/off with the handle. I have to use the foot switch and I find this awkward as I do turn the vacuum off and on frequently while I move about the house, switching attachments etc. I recommend Hoover consider putting back the power on/off switch on the handle when they redesign this model again in future.

Worsel
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great canister
4/23/2011

Customer review by marypr

4.0 stars 4/23/2011 by marypr
by marypr

After trying a couple of other vacuums I decided to finally spend this much money and guess what? I got what I paid for. Although it is a little heavy it has awesome suction, easy to assemble, easy transition from wood to carpet and much quieter than my last vacuum. It has a low enough profile to fit under most furniture. I have had it about a month and am very happy so far. Wish I had not been tried to be so thrifty and spent the money for a decent vacuum in the first place. It would have saved a lot of frustration.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marypr
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
9/27/2011

Customer review by cavesandlight

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by cavesandlight
by cavesandlight

I have had my Windtunnel canister by Hoover several months. It is strong suction and will almost take the carpet off the floor! You can adjust the suction which is a good feature. Great for pet hair and dirt. I also like bagged better than bagless so I can just change the bag with no mess. This vacuum cleaner is solid and well made. I am very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cavesandlight
Richmond, Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent price for the item...:)
8/19/2010

Customer review by Coqui

4.0 stars 8/19/2010 by Coqui
by Coqui

I used this item every 2 weeks to deep clean my 2 story house. I used it for hard floor, also for my screens, fans, everything I can. I love that you can put the wand into diferent lenght. If you are tall or short it's great because your back don't get hurt. I like that it turns 360degrees. I like too that you can stand the hose/wand in the back of the canister, it has a small hook. Is Heavy, but you don't carry it for cleaning you pull it. The only CON I see is that you can not turn it on/off in the hand grip. It replaced my Eureka, that last 8 years of full use. I hope this one last the same time or more, because Hoover is a good product....:)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coqui
Toa Baja, PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/2/2011

Customer review by Bethb30

4.0 stars 10/2/2011 by Bethb30
by Bethb30

Bought this vacuum to replace my Dyson that "Lost suction" So far I'm really liking it. The only thing I would change would be the ability to turn the power nozzle to get under tables and around corners better. First vacuum I've owned that didnt turn. Hope I'm not overlooking something that has it locked. Plus I LOVE having a bagged Vac. Hate the mess a bagless vac makes when you empty it! Great for picking up dog hair.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bethb30
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
exellent suction power
11/17/2011

Customer review by SisnoMore

4.0 stars 11/17/2011 by SisnoMore
by SisnoMore

This vacuum has excellent suction power and makes quick work of cleaning. I do find the hose to be a bit stiff and the angle of the duster attachment is awkward to use. Not as good as the older Hoover vacuums but alot better than others I've tried.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SisnoMore
Bloomfield, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/13/2011

Customer review by ShopsAtHome

5.0 stars 3/13/2011 by ShopsAtHome
by ShopsAtHome

This vacuum is great! I've only had it for a couple of weeks, but I use it every day. Boy, does it have suction! It is a really good deal for the money. I highly recommend this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopsAtHome
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Enjoy using it, works great, quiet .
8/15/2012

Customer review by Fashionista

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Fashionista
by Fashionista

In 35 years I've had 3 Hoover Vacuums. The last was a Futura and died after 20 1/2 years of use. Before that my mother had Hoover Vacuums for 50 years so I never thought about buying anything else. I live in a 2 room apt. in a brownstone that is by subway construction which brings in lots of dirt that you don't get in the suburbs. This vacuum picks up all the dirt from area carpets and hardwood floors on a low suction setting. For years my downstairs neighbor would knock on her ceiling with a broom handle for she could hear me vacuuming BUT NO MORE OF HER COMPLAINTS because this vacuum so quiet I can use it at 10:00 PM. The dirt goes right in the bag and the inside stays clean. I had to learn to use it on low suction for my apt. because it is powerful. Good on doormat for it gets rid of all my neighbors dog hair. I use the stick attachment to get dust out of wrought iron radiator/inside window sills also. I hope it last 20 years too. They use to last even longer at moms. It's not too heavy for me because I work out and can lift heavy but for everyone else it's good exersice to use it.

Fashionista
New York, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too many repairs!
11/30/2013

Customer review by Finn

1.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Finn
by Finn

I bought this vacuum in March of 2011.  I have found it to be a strong performer when it works.  I am in rural northern NM, and the closest repair facility is close to two hours away. To date, I have had three issues which have required replacing parts which in my experience are poorly engineered and manufactured, but the motor has continued to run strong.  Today the motor died and I smelled a burning smell.   I will not be loading this vacuum back into my car to take it all the way to the repair facility.  The gas to take it in for repair would have paid for a new one, and the really sad part is that we were in Santa Fe just yesterday!  I will call customer care on Monday, and it is my hope that they will send me a replacement.  If not, they have lost a loyal customer of over 50 years, and I have recommended this vacuum to friends and family who have also had issues with it.

Finn
Taos, NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews