Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 286 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

286 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

286 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
160
4 stars
79
3 stars
14
2 stars
15
1 stars
18
1-20 of 263 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 263 total reviews
1-20 of 263 reviews
Floor Attachment Head Wears Out & Falls Off
11/30/2013

Customer review by mshaw

1.0 stars 11/30/2013 by mshaw
by mshaw

I am so disappointed in this product. I have used Hoover products for years and have always been satisfied with the products until I purchased this vacuum. I purchased three of these last year and the cleaner does a good job. Problem is after just a few months of use, the floor attachment head wears out and starts falling off the cleaner as you are vacuuming. I have had this vacuum for a year and am on my third replacement head. I contacted Hoover about this problem before my warranty expired and they shipped me a replacement head which I have used and already replaced with one I had to purchase. I am having to order more replacement heads so I can keep using this vacuum. Guess this is one way to keep getting money out of your customers. You would think Hoover would find a fix for this problem and make it right to their customers! There have certainly been enough complaints about this problem and brought to their attention!!!

mshaw
Newton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
8 years and running...
3/2/2015

Customer review by Fantail

5.0 stars 3/2/2015 by Fantail
by Fantail

I've owned this stick vac for 8 years and encountered my first issue today. The latch on the dust cup broke. That's pretty outstanding value for 8 years of service. I've used a million stick vacs and this one sinks them all. The cordless ones are overpriced junk. This one out powers them all, you don't have to replace batteries and for the money it's the best price. However, if you are looking for a cleaner that deep cleans, takes a lot of abuse and is not maintained according to the instructions, forget it. This is a light duty machine that is great for general dusting and quick pickups, particularly on hardwood floors and light rugs. If you're going to treat it roughly, you need to get a commercial grade machine.

Fantail
Minneapolis, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Head falls off
10/6/2015

Customer review by tdanboy

2.0 stars 10/6/2015 by tdanboy
by tdanboy

This is my second Flair vacuum and the second time that the black plastic which attaches the head to the grey housing cracked, causing the head to fall off. Using old electrical tape (which is sticky on both sides due to sun exposure) I've tightened the fit enough for the head to stay on for half of my vacuum sessions. The black connector piece has eluded me from parts lists. In addition, the upper flange of plastic used to wind up the cord seems unhappy in its installed position. It repeatedly fell out until I misplaced it. The unit is otherwise well powered for the price, and I'd be thrilled were it not for the pieces refusing to stay in place.

Comment from Kenya - 10/7/2015

Hi tdanboy! That is awful and should not have happened. Unfortunately the nozzle is not available for the Flair. We want to help you out. We are sending you a private email for further assistance. Thanks!

tdanboy
Firestone, CO, United States
Thank you Hoover!
6/13/2014

Customer review by CleanMomma2

5.0 stars 6/13/2014 by CleanMomma2
by CleanMomma2

After my initial review of the vacuum with the faulty head, Hoover (thank you, Ian) generously sent a replacement head part. Not sure why, but I haven't had a single issue with this vac ever since. This is the best vac for hardwoods. Plenty of suction, easy to clean filter (I use a shop vac to clean the filter). I had purchased an ergo-rapido while my flair was not useable. It doesn't come close to the power this stick vac does. Now I just need suggestions on a powerful hoover for my carpeted area. My other Hoover is over 20 years old and I want a new one. 

CleanMomma2
Middle America
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Vacuum is great, but the nozzle keeps falling off.
12/20/2015

Customer review by Sister

1.0 stars 12/20/2015 by Sister
by Sister

Bought this several years ago. Within a few months the nozzle started dropping off. I tried everything to keep the head on the vacuum. Nothing worked. Recently, I hurt my back and can no longer stoop over to pick up the nozzle and snap it back on. I decided to look on line to see if I could find some help and was surprised to find this is a common problem, but no help is given. I am now looking around for a replacement.

Comment from Kenya - 12/22/2015

Hi Sister! The parts on your Flair Stick Vacuum should be able to stand the test of time. Unfortunately, with the exception of maintenance items such as the brush and filters, the Flair and its replacement parts have been out of production for some time. We wish we could’ve reached you when you first noticed this issue. Please keep in mind all of our products come with warranties against defects. We recommend the Corded Cyclonic as a replacement. You can find it here: http://bit.ly/1wt2lGg. We have a special offer for you. We are sending you an email with more details!

Sister
Oceanside, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Head Keeps Falling Off!!! UGH!!
10/3/2014

Customer review by FlaGirl

3.0 stars 10/3/2014 by FlaGirl
by FlaGirl

I have now had 3 Hoover Flair Stick Vacs and I Love them - However!!! In all 3 of them, the Head keeps falling off making it very frustrating. We kept hoping with each new purchase, this wouldn't happen, buy it happens each time I use it!!! Please Help with Solution to this Annoying problem! I would recommend this product buy for this ongoing problem, and I see that over Reviewers are having the same problem; it's a Shame, as it's a Great and Powerful product other than that!Thanks

FlaGirl
Florida, United States
Gender:Female
GREAT WHEN IT WORKS
6/19/2014

Customer review by japn1965

1.0 stars 6/19/2014 by japn1965
by japn1965

I have bought at least six of these vacuums throughout the years because when they work, they work until either the head comes off or they overheat and turns off and have to wait 5 to 10 mins. to restart. All had the same symptoms, but for the price, can be beat, but adding all the money I have spent at Bransdmart in Miami, I could have bought a much better unit by now.

Comment from Giselle - 6/24/2014

Hi japn1965! If your Flair is shutting off, there may be a clog or the filter needs to be cleaned/replaced. We recommend after every use empty the dirt cup and clean the filter, also remove the nozzle and check for any possible clogs in the stick portion of the vac and in the neck of the nozzle. Hope this helps!

japn1965
Miami, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
STAY AWAY!!
10/28/2014

Customer review by LSMichael

1.0 stars 10/28/2014 by LSMichael
by LSMichael

Wow! Our Hoover Flair is less than three years old, used only to support Hoover Wind Tunnel. Yet, floor noozle has broken off twice. Now have more money in repair than in purchase. Hoover says no more parts available. Solution: discount on new one. Time to switch to Shark! Hoover KNEW product was defective all along!

LSMichael
Erie, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Disapointed
7/28/2013

Customer review by jlo12

2.0 stars 7/28/2013 by jlo12
by jlo12

Bought this vacuum for my daughters apartment and it's broken already. Same problem as others as the head fell off. It seems that part 8 got cracked and some ring also broke. I can't seem to be able to find the parts so I can replace them. Then again I'm not sure it's worth it. It was working fine up until now.

Comment from Ian - 8/19/2013

Hi jlo12, this never should have been a problem for you and we;d like a chance to make it right. We're sending you a private email so that we can assist you more directly. Thanks so much.

jlo12
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Head falls off
8/21/2014

Customer review by grammyd

2.0 stars 8/21/2014 by grammyd
by grammyd

Every time I use this, the head falls off.  Is there a replacement part that can be sent to me?  If, so, I would like 2 or 3 as it seems this keeps happening.  I have had this since 2012 but can't use it without the head staying on.  Is there some other "fix" to it? I enjoy using it when it works.

Comment from Giselle - 8/25/2014

Hi grammyd, we would like to further assist with this situation. You will receive a private email shortly. Thank you.

grammyd
Yakima, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
4/22/2014

Customer review by grammy3

2.0 stars 4/22/2014 by grammy3
by grammy3

This is the second one that I have purchased. They work really well and when bag is clean they have amazing suction power. My only problem on both is that after a year or two the nozzle keeps falling off. There has to be a better design for these, they really work great.

grammy3
Wantagh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The beater bar stopped working
10/10/2015

Customer review by Mary236

3.0 stars 10/10/2015 by Mary236
by Mary236

I bought this a few months ago and the beater bar has stopped working. Is there a way to fix it?

Comment from Joscelyn - 10/10/2015

Hi Mary236! We have a quick and easy fix for this. On the top of the Flair's floor nozzle, there is a combination brush on/off pedal that must be engaged each time you want to operate it on carpet. To activate it, simply step down on it once and then you should begin to see the brushes spin. That should do it! Please let us know how it works out for you!

Mary236
Syracuse, NY, United States
Head wears down and falls off
5/15/2013

Customer review by CleanMomma

1.0 stars 5/15/2013 by CleanMomma
by CleanMomma

When I first got this, I thought it was great. However , the swiveling head eventually just kept falling off because the friction soon wore the plastic enough and would no longer hold the head on the vac.  Too bad it happened just after the warranty expired.  

Comment from Ian - 5/15/2013

Hi CleanMomma, we know that can be a little frustrating. We're going to reach out to you via e-mail so that we can get your Hoover working again. Thanks so much!

CleanMomma
Middle America
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Cleans as advertised!
1/12/2013

Customer review by JMAC

4.0 stars 1/12/2013 by JMAC
by JMAC

I just received the S2200 yesterday and used it today. I was really satisfied with the job it did. I could not beleive the amount of hair and dirt it picked up. It took a little getting used to, but after a short while I had no problem. VERY GOOD PRODUCT!!

JMAC
CENTERVILLE, IOWA
The head falls off!!!
8/3/2013

Customer review by Joyce

1.0 stars 8/3/2013 by Joyce
by Joyce

I love the way this vacuum works. I thought I had finally found the writer vacuum for my needs. But the head falls off!!! This is so frustrating. I am just really upset I wasted my money on something that frustrates me to use.

Comment from Ian - 8/19/2013

Hi Joyce, we know that this is frustrating and we want to get your Flair working the way that it should. We're sending you a private email so that we can better assist you. Thanks so much!

Joyce
Cincinnati, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
8/18/2013

Customer review by lainey

3.0 stars 8/18/2013 by lainey
by lainey

It does a great job; however, I have only had it a few months and it is already broken. It keeps shutting off like it is overheating and I have to wait a while before turning it back on. The head has fallen off as well.

lainey
baton rouge, la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
8/11/2013

Customer review by fkuffy

2.0 stars 8/11/2013 by fkuffy
by fkuffy

I bought this about 6 monyhs &was very pleased with it but th bottom keeps falling after a ffew swiprs I am 83 years of age and was happy to have this I amso disappointed I had such faith in hoover products

fkuffy
garnerville ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Head falls off!
6/19/2013

Customer review by Larson

1.0 stars 6/19/2013 by Larson
by Larson

I agree with CleanMomma! Thought it was wonderful;..lots of wood floors. But, can't keep head on...parts are "out of stock" on website and can't find a way to keep the head on to use it! Frustrating!!

Comment from Ian - 6/19/2013

Hi Larson, the nozzle is available here: http://hoover.com/search/?q=59136026&x=18&y=17 on Hoover.com. It shouldn't be falling off at all though. We're sending a private e-mail out to you so that we can see what we can do to help. Thanks so much!

Larson
Owatonna, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Worked well until its head popped off
3/29/2014

Customer review by CleanDream

2.0 stars 3/29/2014 by CleanDream
by CleanDream

The head of the vacuum or floor attachment fell off, resulting in one of the wheels breaking off. Cannot locate replacement parts. Please help!

CleanDream
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works Good But
1/14/2014

Customer review by Sprint33

3.0 stars 1/14/2014 by Sprint33
by Sprint33

Floor nozzle keeps coming off. Unable to figure out or hear of a Fix.

Sprint33
Warren, Ohio
Gender:Male
1-20 of 263 total reviews
1-20 of 263 reviews