Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

32 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

32 reviews | 2 out of 5

22%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 stars
19
1-20 of 32 total reviews
22%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
This Vacuum sux
3/8/2012

Customer review by Chris

2.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Chris
by Chris

I bought this vacuum and was blown away by the suction. I couldn't believe it. After a few months I continuously learned how to clean this vacuum inside out. The V belt loosens too easily and the agitator will stop spinning. There is an obvious design flaw in the mechanism that pushes against the V belt to create enough pull to spin the agitator. I am shocked this vacuum has never been recalled. I have spent hours analyzing this vacuum and am convinced Hoover never spent much time testing the functionality of the V belt and Pully design. We should all get refunds or $$$ toward a new purchase. I can't imagine buying another Hoover though.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 3/8/2012

We are sorry to hear you are disappointed with your purchase and understand your frustration. Belts should be inspected from time to time to be sure they are in good condition. The V-belt is designed to last for a long time is not normally replaced unless it is cracked, gouged or broken. The flat belt should be replaced every 6 to 12 months due to stretching. Your cleaner has a manufactures defect warranty; Please visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for a listing in your area. Thank you!

Chris
Marquette, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Mach Cyclonic agitator belts problematic
2/4/2012

Customer review by Cybermum

2.0 stars 2/4/2012 by Cybermum
by Cybermum

After getting over the fact that this is a heavy machine I decided it would be the one that stayed on one floor as it was heavy to lug up and down stairs. so today the agitator belt quits turning so I figure broken belt--NOPE agitator goes round until you put wieght on it and then it stops. So I downloaded the manual and there is NOTHING in there for trouble shooting--- The two belts are in place and unbroken- spend two hours trying to figure out why- throwing this sucker in the trash and going to get a NON Hoover vac- NOT happy with this unit at all

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 2/4/2012

We are sorry to hear you are disappointed with your purchase. Your vacuum could have a stretched belt. A belt can slip due to stretching or improper installation and should be replaced every 6-12 months. Our Customer Care Department can aid in the application and purchase of new belts. Please contact us at 1-800-944-9200. Thank you!

Cybermum
Midland Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? No
Decent Vac
11/30/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/30/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've had this vacuum for 4-5 years now and have never had anything malfunction, nor have I had to replace any belts. Seems to work pretty good up until recently the suction isn't as good as it was when it was brand new. I never paid attention to the filters in it (which I should have), so now it shuts off in the middle of using it. I will clean the filter and see how things go. Overall, I think 5 years is pretty darn good to have never replaced a part in this vacuum. We use it frequently and we have cats and kids to clean up after.

An anonymous customer
North Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hoover Mach cyclonic
11/2/2011

Customer review by shylah

2.0 stars 11/2/2011 by shylah
by shylah

At first I thought it was a great vacuum, I absolutely love the retractable cord. However, after the first week the long cord is now shorter because the vacuum will not allow you to pull the entire cord out, not sure why? In addition I am continually cleaning the filters and still not the greatest suction from the hose. Now in the middle of vacuuming the floor the vacuum just shut off & now it will not restart? I guess if you do not vacuum often this would be a great choice but it has frustrated me & its not even a year old yet.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 11/2/2011

Thank you for your feedback! The loss of suction could be due to a clog in your system. A clog will also reduce/cut air to the motor and shut the unit down. Please check the cleaner for possible clogging in the hose or dirt cup filter. Your owner's manual will have trouble shooting assistance. Your cleaner has a manufactures defect warranty for the cord rewind; please visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for listing of local service dealers for assistance.

shylah
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Loved it tell it broke
2/22/2016

Customer review by Nicki98901

2.0 stars 2/22/2016 by Nicki98901
by Nicki98901

I boight it a month ago loved it tell 2 days ago it snapped in half.

Comment from Karissa - 2/24/2016

Hi Nicki98901! Oh no, your Mach Cyclonic Bagless Upright should last longer than this. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance. We look forward to hearing from you!

Nicki98901
Would recommend to a friend? No
Save your sanity - don't buy
9/28/2013

Customer review by jfayek

1.0 stars 9/28/2013 by jfayek
by jfayek

This vacuum is a big disappointment. It has poor suction and please don't tell me there is a clog - it becomes a family project to take everything apart and find that there is NO clog. The cord gets burning hot while running. When you get done sweeping and turn it off a small pile of dirt will fall out. We only have 2 rooms with carpet and everyone hates this machine so it doesn't get used that much.

Comment from Ian - 10/3/2013

Hi jfayek, we understand that you've checked for this but all signs point to there being a clog somewhere in your airway. If you've already checked your filters, another great technique is to check the hose for clogs is to remove it from both ends and run a broom handle straight through it. Also if your machine is leaving debris on your carpet, you may want to remove the hood and check the brushroll housing and the brush itself for build up in that area. Let us know if you need any more help. Thanks so much!

jfayek
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
nothing but headaches
4/30/2012

Customer review by RT

1.0 stars 4/30/2012 by RT
by RT

I have had this vacuum for 2 years now, and it has been nothing but headaches. I have had to change out the belts twice now, the brush has had several issues as well. now its been overheating and turning off. I though i had the carpet setting incorrect, nope on every setting i can vacuum for 10 mins before it needs a few hours to cool down. very disapointed

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 4/30/2012

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear about your disappointment! The thermo fuse will shut the unit off if air is not getting to the motor for cooling. This is caused by a clog. Check and clean the filter and hose. The owners manual will have for information and troubleshooting assistance. If the problem persists, please call our Customer Care Department at 1-800-944-9200 to further address the problem. Thank you!

RT
San Bernardino California
Would recommend to a friend? No
For starters......
10/18/2011

Customer review by Emkeim

3.0 stars 10/18/2011 by Emkeim
by Emkeim

When I bought this vacuum I paid [$] for it, which seemed like enough for a good vacuum. However, after only having it for two years one of the hoses that is never used on it fell apart for no apparent reason. Since it was the hose that brings the dirt into the vacuum, It can no longer be used. All in all it was good while it lasted.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 10/18/2011

We sell replacement parts for our vacuums. Please call our Customer Care Department so we can help address the problem with the hose. 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST. Thank you!

Emkeim
Rushville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hoover Mach Cyclonic
11/25/2011

Customer review by Bthebutler

1.0 stars 11/25/2011 by Bthebutler
by Bthebutler

Have always purchased Hoover but will no longer. Did not use this one that much as I had another Hoover bagged model I preferred after discovering this one had such poor suction and did not clean as well. While using recently it just stopped. Would never recommend this product.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 11/25/2011

Thank you for your feedback. The loss of suction could be due to a clog in your system. Please check the unit for a possible clog in the base, hose or dirt cup filter. Your owner's manual will have trouble shooting assistance, or call our Customer Care Department at 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST.

Bthebutler
baltimore
Would recommend to a friend? No
worst purchase I ever made
1/21/2013

Customer review by shipharbour

1.0 stars 1/21/2013 by shipharbour
by shipharbour

no wonder this vacuum in on clearance, too bad I did no t read reviews before purchasing it, can't count the times when cleaning upholstery with hose and attachments the vacuum has fallen , too heavy to lug up and down stairs , hard to empty

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 1/21/2013

We are sorry to hear you are disappointed with your purchase. We do make lighter-weight vacuums, but this vacuum was designed with other strengths in mind. Our apologies you didn't find your perfect match in a vacuum.

shipharbour
dartmouth nova scotia
Would recommend to a friend? No
not a good buy
4/7/2012

Customer review by misscleancarpets

1.0 stars 4/7/2012 by misscleancarpets
by misscleancarpets

I vacuum 3-4 times a week, no pets just kids and this vacuum couldnt keep up. It dies 1 month after warranty expired. Its heavy and not powerful. also too many filters all over the place make it hard to keep clean.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 4/7/2012

We appreciate your comments and understand your frustration. With all vacuums maintenance is required to keep your vacuum running to full performance. There are three filters in your vacuum: the cyclonic filter assmebly, secondary filter, and HEPA final filter. The filters require periodic cleaning of dirt and debris to avoid clogs and loss of suction.

misscleancarpets
Peace River AB
Would recommend to a friend? No
THIS Product sucks
3/28/2012

Customer review by sj

1.0 stars 3/28/2012 by sj
by sj

I only had it for a year and the brush doesn't spin anymore meaning it doesn't pick up any trash plus its heavy...i just dislike the product wish i could return it

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 3/28/2012

We appreciate your comments! The brush not spinning would indicate a broken belt. With all vacuums maintenance is required to keep your vacuum running to full performance. Belts should be replaced every 6-12 months or when they appear stretched, cut or broken. Instructions will be listed in your owner's manual for your assistance.

sj
Palm springs,ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Mach Cyclonic Upright
4/27/2012

Customer review by Robyn

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by Robyn
by Robyn

Use this at home pick up sand and everything

Robyn
Port St Luciem, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WORKS FOR A MONTH
2/4/2010

Customer review by eanddsmom

1.0 stars 2/4/2010 by eanddsmom
by eanddsmom

I had a Hoover Mach 5 prior to purching my new Mach in Jan/2010. The Mach 5 did it's job, but only for a short time. When we went to purchase a new vacuum, I wanted a decent one but did not want to spend a ton of money on it. The Mach fit my price range, so my husband and I decided to try it again. I paid the additional $20 for the extended warranty offered through Wal-Mart, in case this one should also not work well. I think if I spend about $150 on a vacuum, it should work well. This did not. When I called Hoover about the problems I've had with these vacuums, I was advised to take it back and to get a different vacuum; the T series or the Anniversary Series. I was told that there are a lot of complaints with this vacuum. I hope this helps in your decision to buy or not to buy.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eanddsmom
Minooka, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY
10/27/2009

Customer review by Bignbadbuffdaddy

1.0 stars 10/27/2009 by Bignbadbuffdaddy
by Bignbadbuffdaddy

We have had this vaccum only a few months. Initially the suction was great, but like other reviews there is a belt that will slip and the spinning brush will stop working. It would also overheat and turn intself off after a few minutes. The vacuum may look nice but it has many manufactured flaws. Please do not buy this junk. Learn from our mistake

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bignbadbuffdaddy
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW!
9/3/2009

Customer review by SueWV

5.0 stars 9/3/2009 by SueWV
by SueWV

I've owned a Hoover Windtunnel prior to this one (one of those pesky bag types) which towards the end despite my best cleaning efforts just didn't seem to pick up any dirt and then finally quit. I was looking into the Bissell line and esp those with the cyclonic power and bagless. Then when in the store I came across this one and it was about 20-25 dollars cheaper than the Bissell, plus it had a few attachments that the Bissell didn't. So I bought this one. I'm AMAZED at the power of this one. We assembled it immediately and tried it, we had to empty the canister once and filled it probably about 1/3 of the way during the second half of our vacuuming the first time, and I had just vacuumed with the old bag-Hoover 3 days prior. It sucks up A LOT of stuff - even sucked up rubberbands and crayons the kids had left out. I must admit we had to disassemble the stair/upholstery tool the first time using it on the steps, as it clogged up with hairs, but upon removing all the hairs that tangled up in the bristles it worked fine. I'm in love with this vacuum, it actually FEELS clean after I'm done vacuuming now. A few extra points in my book: * The cyclonic power, it keeps the first pushed out to the edges and doesn't clog up, UNLESS you pass the "full line" on the canister. * The upholstery/stair attachment is worth it all in my book, the stairs were always a problem area for me, not anymore! Actually all the attachments are good, 2 extensions, the upholstery brush, the regular two plastic ones, one with a removable bristle edge. The clear hose has good reach, I can leave the vacuum on the bottom of the stairs and reach all the way up to the top step with it, without an extension. *Cord rewind, love it, I always hated rolling up the cord and storing it on the old unit - esp when the holder broke off of it. Its a bit sluggish to get the cord in towards the end but it stores it. * The on/off switch for the bristles, as well as the turn off feature when its running in the upright position - no more eaten carpets. Move furniture out of the way while its still running, hook up (an optional) fan blade cleaner and clean the fans while its running in the floor. A few negatives: * Cord is a bit on the short side, I've got a mid-entry house, so 3 floors, not very large house, but it just barely vacuums all the rooms (depends on where I plug it in, has to be a central place to reach all the rooms). * Cord holder - its pathetic and since the cord comes out from the bottom of the unit it easily tangles around your feet and vacuum, I've found its easier to keep track of it but pulling it through the handle while vacuuming so I don't run it over. *The price, it was a bit more than I wanted to spend on a vacuum to be honest, but after having used it for several weeks - its worth EVERY PENNY! *Canister needing to be emptied fairly often - with the bagged version a bag didn't seem to fill up for 2-3 months, so the need to empty the canister every other use is a bit of a pain, but maybe an indication of how much it actually sucks up and not leaves behind? If you have an old vacuum that doesn't seem to do the job anymore, I don't think you'll be disappointed with this one - I LOVE mine, it really does do a good job sucking up dirt, dust and whatnots.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueWV
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good vacuum for a bagless
6/2/2010

Customer review by theonlyju

4.0 stars 6/2/2010 by theonlyju
by theonlyju

Pros: Height adjusting handle Cord winder Fairly quiet Cleans well Can turn off the spin brush to do hard floors Cord is plenty long Easy to put together Cons: Bagless- some people like these, but I hate cleaning it out, it puts dust in the air and is a big pain. I don't understand all the hype over bagless. Filter mechanisms on this vacuum are a pain when it comes to emptying the canister. Vacuum is pretty heavy- hard for little ones to handle The cool tool for doing stairs that has a spinning roller doesn't do much for the edges, so cleaning the stairs with that involves switching between tools since the roll brush is turned off automatically if you put the vacuum upright, which is how I used to do the stairs. Several cons there, makes me wish I would have ended up with a different vacuum, but all in all, it's not so bad that I'm anxious to get rid of it. It works well enough, and the cord winder is a nice little perk, so I would still recommend it. If you're already used to the whole bagless thing, you'll be fine with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theonlyju
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT BUY!!
2/14/2010

Customer review by Lisakat428

1.0 stars 2/14/2010 by Lisakat428
by Lisakat428

This Hoover has a belt problem. I purchased mine in July of 2009, towards the end of the month. Between then and the beginning of January we had it into an authorized Hoover repair place at least 5 times as the belt would stretch and come off, then the beater brush would quit working. Each time they replaced the belt, and it would work maybe 2-3 times before quitting again. THIS time, it has been in the repair shop since just after New Years waiting on a "special belt" for this Hoover. After a month of being told they were still waiting for it, I called again and was now told Hoover does NOT make a special belt for this. He further told me this is a common problem in this model and they are simply waiting for Hoover to recognize it as a problem and issue a recall. They can KEEP IT!! I am buying a Dyson! I have been a loyal Hoover fan for decades but will not purchase another Hoover again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisakat428
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
V Belt Problem
9/1/2009

Customer review by GreenHaggis

1.0 stars 9/1/2009 by GreenHaggis
by GreenHaggis

I have 2 cats & was tired of my machine clogging. So I bought the most expensive vacuum the store had in stock. After less than 2 months it was broken. There is a v-belt that disengages when the attachments are in use and when the handle is completely upright. This belt is slipping & now I can't clean my carpets. This is the most I've spent on a vacuum & the least satisfied I have ever been.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreenHaggis
Paso Robles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
DON'T BUY THIS!!!!
2/19/2010

Customer review by iluvfrogss

1.0 stars 2/19/2010 by iluvfrogss
by iluvfrogss

I bought this about a week ago and I use it daily. I didn't read the reviews before I bought this and I sure wish I would have. This vac looks nice and has great features. I loved it the first couple of times I used it because it sucked up everything! I had vacuumed with my old vac and went back over it again with this vac and it still pulled tons of stuff up. BUT, now it is throwing junk out the back and when I shut the brush off for bare floors, it just makes a big mess. It even makes a weird sqweeking noise when I vacuum my carpet. This is the 2nd vac I have bought in the past 2 weeks that has been a real piece! I don't know what to buy now! I just want a good, durable vac. and I assumed for almost $150 I had finally found the one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iluvfrogss
San Angelo, TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews