Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

196 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

196 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
108
4 stars
59
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
8
1-20 of 174 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews
gold's gym stepper
1/25/2010

Customer review by valerie572

4.0 stars 1/25/2010 by valerie572
by valerie572

I bought this stepper it does work i feel it in my legs.It would work much better if i used it more ,i have been lazy i admit it,but i also have a slip disc and in pain alot too.But i would recommend this stepper to anyone that wants to start working out.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
valerie572
jersey city nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Golds Gym Electronic Stepper
1/24/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/24/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've worked out in gyms for over 20 years and wanted something for home use that I could just jump on and get in a good cardio workout while watching TV or working on my computer. I’m 6’ and weigh 185lbs. This machine works great. I bought this product about 2 weeks ago and use it for 30 or 45 minutes twice a day. I try to get in 10,000 steps per day. An added bonus is you can get in a fairly good bi / tri workout using the bands if you go to failure each time. I read reviews about the squeaking and after about a week and a half it began squeaking very loudly but the squeaks can be eliminated. It took me a while to figure out the source but it was coming from the pulley bracket that inserts into the collar on the main frame. Take the bracket out of the main frame and oil the post as well as the hole that the post fits into on the main frame and the squeak disappears. I am sure the squeak will eventually return but it's easy to remove, oil, and reinsert the post. It takes about a minute.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Works great, doesn't last long
4/28/2010

Customer review by pam0012

2.0 stars 4/28/2010 by pam0012
by pam0012

Like some of the other reviewers here, I love love love this stepper. The construction is sturdy, the workout is terrific, and the portability is unquestionable. I love this machine so much, I've bought 3 of them in as many years. But I won't buy any more. On the first one, the cable broke after about six months of regular use, and I realized I'd never sent in the warranty information so--too bad for me. On the second one, I realized when I got home with my new purchase that I'd forgotten to take the receipt (a requirement for warranty registration), so when the cable broke after 4 months, too bad again. On the third one, I finally did everything necessary to register the machine for the warranty. This time, when the cable broke after three months, I successfully sent off for a free replacement cable. That cable broke after only one month. At $45, what do you want, right? Well, I want a stepper that doesn't break all the time. So now I'm hunting a new stepper that doesn't use a cable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pam0012
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Wasted Calories
8/24/2011

Customer review by workitout11

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by workitout11
by workitout11

I bought this stepper based on customer reviews, and I'm glad I did! This is such an easy workout, it doesn't take up a lot of space, and I actually have more control over my workout than I thought I would. The only bad thing I would mention is that this is definitely a woman's stepper. When I put my sneaks on my feet hang off the back by about an inch. I imagine this would be uncomfortable for someone with larger feet. The calorie counter will really make you understand what a wasted calorie is! My recommendations for you would be to buy a good diet book to go along with this if you really want to see lose weight. When I first started I used what I call the saucer diet, which is when you use the small saucer plates to put your food on and eat only whats on the plate. I saw a difference, but when I switched to the fat smash diet I really saw a difference. Most importantly!!! give yourself time to build stamina. It doesn't take long to get used to it and really work it out! Plus, it makes your soul feel good when you do something that's good for you. :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
workitout11
Russell Springs, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Perfectly
10/23/2009

Customer review by krein711

5.0 stars 10/23/2009 by krein711
by krein711

This stepper is exactly what I wanted. I am able to move from room to room easily. It works you much harder than I thought it would. In 1 week I am seeing and feeling results. Love the timer. It seems to time just my actual stepping time, which is about 10 minutes in 20 ( I am so out of shape) You must wear good tennis shoes. The only time I thought I was falling forward was when I was wearing old tennis shoes. I am not really using the armbands yet. The machine is very quiet. I am very happy with this purchase. The price was wonderful, too. I believe I have seen the exact stepper under another name for $25 more.

Was this review helpful? (120) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krein711
Bel Air, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT WORKOUT!
1/26/2010

Customer review by turboreview

5.0 stars 1/26/2010 by turboreview
by turboreview

I LOVE THIS STEPPER! VERY STURDY & WELL BUILT, EASILY TO MOVE AROUND. I LOVE THE TIMER & CALORIE COUNTER! THIS MACHINE GIVES YOU CARDIO AND RESISTANCE AT THE SAME TIME. TO REALLY GO FASTER I LEAN FORWARD(ON A CHAIR OR TABLE) & REALLY PICK UP THE PACE, TO REALLY BURN MY GLUTES, QUADS & HAMS I GET INTO A SQUAT POSITION ON THE PEDALS & GO! IT REALLY BURNS!!! WHEN I GET OFF THE MINI-STEPPER MY LEGS FEEL TIGHT! ITS TOTALLY WORTH THE GREAT PRICE!!!!!GO FOR IT!!! CHALLENGE THOSE MUSCLES!

Was this review helpful? (57) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
turboreview
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
super great work out!
5/3/2010

Customer review by ME163

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by ME163
by ME163

I love this little compact stepper because it really works! You WILL sweat especially if you do use the bands, it is up to you and what kind of work out you want for yourself. Wear a sweat band for sure or at least have a towel to keep by your side. If you dedicate yourself to a 15-30 minute workout you will feel so great. Watch t.v., it makes it so much easier and the time flies! It works great on bare floors. You can't beat the price and it is simple to put together. I think they should make a bigger foot size for guys as my son is 13 yrs. old and his feet are too big to fit on the smaller foot pedals or he would use it too! It is a super little machine. I think it is a good competitor for the larger machines that take up way more room and cost a lot more. A little tricky to get your footing at first but once you get the hang of it, no problem. You don't want to quit! Highly recommend, especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ME163
Barto, Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gold's Gym Mini Stepper
11/16/2009

Customer review by FitnessEnthusiast2

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by FitnessEnthusiast2
by FitnessEnthusiast2

Works great. Excellent quality. Heavy duty construction yet portable.

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FitnessEnthusiast2
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Little Machine
11/9/2009

Customer review by iconoclastic

5.0 stars 11/9/2009 by iconoclastic
by iconoclastic

My sister has one of these (sans the resistance tubes) and my wife fell in love with it when she tried it out... so I bought her one. We had free weights, a tread mill, an excercise ball, blah blah blah... but none of them got used. The treadmill and free weights are too bulky, can't be moved around, are loud... the ball doesn't really give a full workout. Basically, they were all collecting dust. This little stepper is a jolt of energy in our fitness routines... it can be moved easily from room to room, it's quiet, convenient, and easy to get started... but it packs a punch when used correctly. You get a great, low-impact workout burn from 15 or 20 minutes. After about 3 weeks of using it, it feels really well made. It's solid and quiet, has a smooth, even pressure through its full range of motion, and it's stable (doesn't slide or tip) (although you might... see next paragraph). It takes a few sessions to get used to it, so have a couch or a chair nearby to steady yourself. Now that I'm better at it, I've started really using the resistance tubes, and it adds a whole other facet to the workout... I like 'em. Not only that, but we're using the treadmilll again, and I'm digging out the garage to set up the free weights again. This little guy's been true catalyst for change for us. We love it. I wish the resistace tubes were adjustable. For working my shoulders they're perfect, and when I swing my arms against their resistance, it really gets the blood pumpin', but when I do curls, the tubes aren't extended far enough to create good resistance. Maybe I'll try gripping 5 lb mini weights as well to ramp it up. Over all, a fabulous product. I'd recommend it to anyone, regardless of fitness level. I've never seen a better fitness solution for the price, anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (95) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iconoclastic
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Read me....
3/1/2011

Customer review by rottenlittlething

2.0 stars 3/1/2011 by rottenlittlething
by rottenlittlething

Ok so I just bought this stepper today based on it's reviews and I'm really hoping to get a good one when I exchange the one I just bought. Why I like it: It was really easy to put together. It's small and compact. It had my heartrate up within minutes of using. It really hits those target areas; legs and butt. Why I am exchanging it: The resistance is greater on the right side in comparison to the left. No it should not be like that. When you go to the gym and see a sign on a machine that says "sorry, out of order" it's because of little problems like this. My review may change depending on how the next one works.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rottenlittlething
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not again!
9/8/2010

Customer review by w8H24MK

2.0 stars 9/8/2010 by w8H24MK
by w8H24MK

Love the idea of the small stair-stepper. Allows me to keep the thing handy and work out in front of the TV, watching mind-numbing shows to kill the pain. Bought the cheapest thing I could find the first time, and a non-replaceable bolt, yes bolt, just snapped after a few months. I weight 170# and use it about 45 minutes a day. Bought this item as a replacement and, guess what? Today, the bolt on this one broke, also. I keep hoping not, but it certainly appears that you get what you pay for. By the way, had to spend a lot of time lubricating it from the start in order to not be diven nuts by the squeaking.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
w8H24MK
NW Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Product; Didn't Last Long.
1/13/2010

Customer review by Menahan

3.0 stars 1/13/2010 by Menahan
by Menahan

I exercised every so often and wanted a small exercise equipment that doesn't take up alot of space and easy to move. This stepper fitted the bill perfectly. I used the stepper 3x a week about 30 mins (10 mins/each interval to prevent the burning smell). Even used oil to coat the cable. After 8 months of usage, the cable snapped today. The stepper was useful for the price. Trying to find something similar but more durable.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Menahan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE IT!
1/26/2010

Customer review by MiaSAS

5.0 stars 1/26/2010 by MiaSAS
by MiaSAS

I received this for my 60th birthday and I've used it everyday and LOVE IT! I have balance issues and haven't had any problems with this sweet little machine. I actually look forward to using it, two or three times a day, while I watch TV. So far this is my favorite piece of equipement ever and I own a exercise bike and a treadmill, also lots of bands and yoga equipment. Try it, you'll like it! Lol!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MiaSAS
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broke quickly, customer service unsatisfactory
2/19/2011

Customer review by WalmartBart

1.0 stars 2/19/2011 by WalmartBart
by WalmartBart

At 170 lb I am well under the advertised 250 lb limit. But after just a few weeks of use the cable broke. The replacement cable broke after a few days and the frame began to crack. Three phone calls and an email to Impex Fitness (www.impex-fitness.com, their phone number is on the product) has not resulted in replacement or refund. The BBB has given Impex Fitness a grade of F. Shoddy construction. Shoddy response. Shady vendor.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartBart
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for very casual exercise but broke with use
2/18/2011

Customer review by FitnessFan02

3.0 stars 2/18/2011 by FitnessFan02
by FitnessFan02

Everything about this stepper is amazing, if only the wire it uses for resistance had not broken. When I started to use it for serious workouts (1-2hrs a day) the wire snapped. So I'd only recommend it for casual exercise of 15 minutes or less.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FitnessFan02
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Five stars!
11/15/2009

Customer review by Lpoa

5.0 stars 11/15/2009 by Lpoa
by Lpoa

I bought this based on the reviews. I needed something portable and affordable to use on the days it is too nasty to take a power walk. It is easy to set up and easy to learn to use. The only thing I would change is to have the resistance adjustable. I am lightweight and it took all my weight to get the pedals down, but once I got into a flow, it gave an excellent workout.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lpoa
Tornado Alley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
10/18/2009

Customer review by CallMeCheep

5.0 stars 10/18/2009 by CallMeCheep
by CallMeCheep

This is a good mechine to have when you just can't make it to the gym. I definately feel my muscles working. Over-all, I love it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CallMeCheep
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Functional But.....
2/1/2011

Customer review by Beverly0807

3.0 stars 2/1/2011 by Beverly0807
by Beverly0807

Gold's Gym stepper is inexpensive and therefore a good value, but the user is not able to change the resistance level. This fact is not noted in the product specifications; if it was, I wouldn't have purchased this product. Also noted is that the resistance level is very difficult when you first start to use the machine, but gets less difficult as the machine warms up.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beverly0807
Newark NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Starter piece
1/10/2011

Customer review by ChrisRIL

4.0 stars 1/10/2011 by ChrisRIL
by ChrisRIL

The Gold's Gym stepper is made by Stamina. The Hers, Stamina, Marcy, and Gold's Gym mini steppers are all the same product. Over all its a pretty decent little stepper. The resistence is fairly stiff; I weigh 250 lbs and its just the right amount of resistance for me. small and portable; can be used just about anywhere. My only complaint is the foot pads; I wish they were a little bigger. I wear a size 11 shoe and my foot covers the entire pad, other than that I am glad I purchased this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChrisRIL
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just OK product
12/11/2009

Customer review by JALR

1.0 stars 12/11/2009 by JALR
by JALR

Would you recommend this product? * Answering this was a difficult choice because yes it was small and lightweight for keeping out of the way but it was very difficult to use. There isn't any adjustment on the tension so basically one size fits all situation. I took it back for a refund because I would not use it as difficult as it was I am very disappointed but may try another product that has tension adjustments.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JALR
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews