Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

30 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

30 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 29 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
My Face Broke Out
6/23/2016

Customer review by Lindsay

2.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Lindsay
by Lindsay

I bought this product to go to the beach for vacation. It worked great to keep the sunburn away; however, it caused major rashes and patches of skin to break out all around my forehead and upper lip. I suspect it is a reaction to one of the strong chemicals in this product. I thought I paid too much already for the sunscreen, but I did it anyway to pick something I could trust. I was wrong to do so, as now I can't trust half of the products. Now the patches won't go away and are made worse even by soap. The only thing that helps is putting zero products on my skin. I will never buy this sunscreen again, and I'm considering switching from my neutrogena makeup too, since it has similar ingredients.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 6/23/2016

Thank you for your review, Lindsay. We would like to gather some additional information about your experience with our product. If you could, please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Monday- Friday 9am- 7pm EDT. Thank you!

Lindsay
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
amazing
3/31/2016

Customer review by Ljcon4567890

5.0 stars 3/31/2016 by Ljcon4567890
by Ljcon4567890

I bought this for a vacation in Florida for a week. I am very sensitive to a lot of ingredients and thought I would break out or get a rash. I also burn easily I have fair skin I'm never in the sun. This stuff is awesome I didn't break out at allllllll and I didn't burn. In fact i didn't even get a tan lol. This stuff protected me and I was in the sun alllll day. I literally burn and with this on I didn't burn. My skin also looks smooth from this and not red (I'm usually red). This stuff may have improved my skin. If you're someone who doesn't want to tan or get skin damage buy this. Also apply this every two or three hours that's what I did. You can apply a lot too that's what I did and I didn't break out. The only thing is it can burn your eyes if you're not careful but allllllll chemical sunscreens do that. So people should not complain that it burns the eyes, every sunscreen does it unless it's a physical block with titanium and zinc. Anyway this is officially the best sunscreen love it!!!! I feel moisturized and comfortable. My skin looks better.

Comment from Neutrogena - 4/1/2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, Ljcon4567890. We'd love to learn more about your experience with our product! When you get a chance, please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM and 7PM ET Monday-Friday and a specialist will gladly help you. We really appreciate your review and look forward to your call!

Ljcon4567890
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
I am very happy with this
5/12/2016

Customer review by MET661

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by MET661
by MET661

I have rosacea and have very sensitive skin and I burn very easily. If I have to be in the sun, it actually hurts my face and makes me very uncomfortable. I have always had problems with sunscreens (sunblocks) as many of them "hurt" my skin - particularly my face. I have not had any problems with this product, and it keeps me from getting burnt. It feels good on my face and I don't even notice that I have it on.

MET661
Rosemount, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Hands-Down the Best Facial Sunscreen for Athletes
1/23/2016

Customer review by Lifeguard-pal

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Lifeguard-pal
by Lifeguard-pal

I live in Los Angeles, not far from the beach, and I'm very active year-round: marathons, running along The Strand, beach volleyball, surfing, rollerblading, etc. I've used this product for years and it has never failed me yet. I sweat A LOT, and thus reapply every few hours. I visited the dermatologist today, and he commented that despite a lifetime spent outside in Los Angeles, I don't look anywhere near my age and have very little sun damage. I think daily use of sunscreens - for sports, and for everyday under makeup has contributed to this. It dismays me, however, to hear Neutrogena has chosen to discontinue this fab product; I hope they replace it with another high-performance facial sport sunscreen. In the meantime, I'm stocking up on multiple tubes.

Lifeguard-pal
Marina Del Rey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Best sunblock for athletes faces...period.
2/6/2012

Customer review by FLRunner79

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by FLRunner79
by FLRunner79

I am a distance runner who runs 7 days a week and runs a good 25-30 races as well as several marathons each year. I also live in Florida. With my work schedule, my runs take place in the mid-day sun about 75% of the time. Even in the hot summer months. Over the last 10 years, I have tried endless sport sunblocks. Most were horrible. Some were very good, but although the sunscreen itself didn't run, my sweat running down my face would pick up traces of it and it would get into my eyes. They would burn for the rest of the day in most cases. Sport Face has been the first sunblock that this has NOT happened even once. I love the stuff. The price can be slightly steep for a 3.0 ounce tube, but I still find it an invaluable tool in my repertoire of gear as a runner and a Floridian. I hope Neutrogena never stops making it. As an athletic sunblock, especially for hot conditions, it simply rules!

FLRunner79
Windermere, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only sunscreen I trust for running outdoors
7/2/2014

Customer review by ThatMiddleAgedLadyRunning

5.0 stars 7/2/2014 by ThatMiddleAgedLadyRunning
by ThatMiddleAgedLadyRunning

I've been using Sport Face for a couple years and love it. I am fair-skinned, and wear this when running in the midday/afternoon sun, often while sweating like crazy. I haven't burned, nor have my age spots gotten worse. Any sunscreen will sting my eyes, so I'm careful not to get it in my eyes, but I do apply it to my eye lids, almost to my lash line. Only once has it stung my eyes. Many times I've had sweat drip into my eyes, but had no stinging, which probably means that the lotion is staying put. I wish there was a product as effective as this that did not contain oxybenzone, but I have not found one. I use a mexoryl cream during the winter, but found that during the summer, it doesn't hold up like Sport Face. Especially not to sweat.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 7/2/2014

Thank you for your review ThatMiddleAgedLadyRunning! We are happy to hear that this product has worked well for you. Since you had mentioned this product has stung your eyes, we would like to learn more. If you could please call us at 1-800-582-4048, open Monday through Friday, 8 AM-8 PM EDT. We hope to hear back from you.

ThatMiddleAgedLadyRunning
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Best face sunscreen out there!
7/18/2015

Customer review by tommie52

5.0 stars 7/18/2015 by tommie52
by tommie52

I have been using sunscreen daily for over 25 years. I started using this product several years ago, but continue because it goes under my makeup well, is not sticky and doesn't leave any white residue on my face. My dermatologist said that because of the use, (he also recommends Neutrogena) I have the skin of someone much younger. Unfortunately, I used to bake in the sun when I was a teen through my 20's. I'm thankful to the dermatologist for insisting that I use sunscreen everyday and because of it, I do not have the damage of many women in their 60's. My children and grandchildren use it too. Thanks for a great product!

tommie52
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
SAVED THE DAY -- AND MY FACE!!
7/14/2015

Customer review by melizmc

5.0 stars 7/14/2015 by melizmc
by melizmc

Arkansas heat in July is unbearable, especially with the humidity. I went riding for 5 and a half hours one Sunday afternoon unprotected except for the Neutrogena Sport Face, only applied it once after the initial cover. I had NO burn, no tenderness or no icky sticky feeling either! It saved this 50 year old white faced woman. :)

melizmc
Quitman, Arkansas
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
My Skin burnt
5/28/2014

Customer review by lovesthebeach

1.0 stars 5/28/2014 by lovesthebeach
by lovesthebeach

I love neutrogena products and have always bought them. I tried this one so I'd have something for my face. My face is completely bright red as if i never even put any sunscreen on it at all. Its not sunburn either becuase I have had plently of those growing up and you can just tell the difference. Every where i put this lotion on my face and my ears its bright red and itchy. I used the new beach and sun lotion on the rest of my body and that was great, but this sport face product I don't recoommend at all.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 5/28/2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review this product, lovesthebeach. The redness you experienced on your face is not typical of this product, and we would like to gather a little more information. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 Mon-Fri 8am-8pm EDT. We look forward to hearing from you.

lovesthebeach
Hershey, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Best Sunblock!
3/30/2011

Customer review by tennis girl

5.0 stars 3/30/2011 by tennis girl
by tennis girl

I teach tennis in a desert, and am exposed to the sun 8+ hours a day. I have horrible skin that is very sensitive to anything I put on my face. I have been buying sunscreen in salons for years for around $50 a bottle. This Neutrogena sunscreen blows my mind! My skin has been way more protected, since beginning use I have been way less red and it is not clogging my pores at all. I have tried every sunscreen and have the most tempermental skin. I can say in full confidence that this sunscreen is the best ever!

tennis girl
so cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
7/2/2015

Customer review by Inked1

5.0 stars 7/2/2015 by Inked1
by Inked1

The sunscreen works very well on my face and Ink. I put this on before I apply my makeup, it has helped keep my skin soft and clear of any negative effects. I also use it on my tattoos and they look just as fresh and colorful as the day I got them.

Inked1
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Best sunscreen!
7/4/2015

Customer review by Shannon103105

5.0 stars 7/4/2015 by Shannon103105
by Shannon103105

I have very sensitive skin - and burn readily. I love this formula - it protects my skin and keeps it looking healthy. I participate in a three day biking event and Neutrogena Sport Face gives me peace of mind. Thank you!!

Shannon103105
Cleveland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Sensitive facial skin? Say No to this.
6/20/2012

Customer review by RebaTN

2.0 stars 6/20/2012 by RebaTN
by RebaTN

I am in my 30s and tend to have sensitive, oily facial skin. I love Neutrogena products and use many other of their products, so I had high expectations for this product. It does a good job of keeping the sunburn away. However, each time I applied it, my face would break out slightly moderate with red bumps and sensitive to touch. I usually would dress my neck with this product too & no problems on the neck area. Just the face would get irriated. I won't buy this product again.

RebaTN
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not for me
2/21/2012

Customer review by RMLdesert

2.0 stars 2/21/2012 by RMLdesert
by RMLdesert

I have very sensitive skin and have always been careful what I use. I live in an area with sun almost 365 days a year and finally felt I needed to start using a block on my face. I used it for about 4 or 5 days and then had an appointment for a consult with an aesthetician...she asked if I was using Retina A because my forehead was peeling. Needless to say, I stopped using the product and the peeling stopped. I am now on the hunt for another sunscreen that I can use.

RMLdesert
Rancho Mirage, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Like this product
5/24/2015

Customer review by alyce

5.0 stars 5/24/2015 by alyce
by alyce

My dermatologist recommended this product since I get skin cancer. Does not bother me with stinging. The thing I like most is that it is not chalky white like some sun screens and it is affordable.

Comment from - 5/25/2015

Thank you for your review. We would like to learn some additional information about your experience with our product. If you could, please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Monday- Friday 8am- 8pm EDT. Thank you!

alyce
Richardson TX
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Best sunblock for acne prone skin
2/2/2012

Customer review by RKumari

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by RKumari
by RKumari

My obsessions with sunblock has led me to try variety of mid-range to high-end brands. Most of the brands often leave a white residue on skins, causing my make-up to look uneven, oily and worse, causes skin to breakout. Bought this sunblock last month and havent had such clear skin in months. No pimples, stays on well under make-up. No white streaks and best of all doesnt leave your skin looking oily.

RKumari
Singapore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding...
5/25/2012

Customer review by Albiegirl

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by Albiegirl
by Albiegirl

This is such a great product. I've always had problems (and still do!) with acne and I'm also a runner. My skin has done so well with this product, I now wear it every day, not just if I'm going for a run. Powder looks great over it, great for sensitive skin, and it won't burn my eyes even with heavy sweating! Can't say enough about it.

Albiegirl
Westfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally!
11/15/2012

Customer review by Hamelyak

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by Hamelyak
by Hamelyak

I'm 51, very fair skinned and break out easily. This is the only sunscreen that doesn't make me break out. I'm very active outdoors and never have a problem with it in my eyes or rubbing off easy. I do not think it has the odor of sunscreen like other products and it really works. I keep it in all my vehicles. Highly recommend.

Hamelyak
Huntington Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Male
finally i found
11/12/2012

Customer review by my fave

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by my fave
by my fave

hello. I am brown skinned and all the spf lotion I've tried gaved my face a fake looking tone. My search is over becaus this one just blends perfectly. No one can tell i am wearing and it's not thick and greasy! Please don't stop making this one. Thank you.

my fave
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Male
To protect the face
1/24/2012

Customer review by Dakota

5.0 stars 1/24/2012 by Dakota
by Dakota

I have used this sunscreen for a couple of years now, it goes on so well, I wear it under my make up daily, I won't leave the house without it. These are quality products and I know that my face is protected from the sun, I really love it !!

Dakota
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews