Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

61 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

61 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
19
1-20 of 61 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Caused irritation
7/25/2016

Customer review by LPshopping

2.0 stars 7/25/2016 by LPshopping
by LPshopping

Got this sunscreen for my son who is very fair. At first his skin looked a bit flaky where we applied sunscreen (we assumed he did not wash it off very well and it was just a built up). After continued use his skin got more and more flaky and now its red and very irritated. He has never had reaction to any sunscreen, both chemical and mineral type (we never used Neutrogena brand before). I assume it is something in this formulation that does not work for him. If you have sensitive skin do a patch test (for a few days in a row).

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 7/26/2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for this product. We are sorry to hear about your son's reaction to this product. This isn't typical of the product and we would like to learn more. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 9am-7pm EDT. We look forward to hearing from you.

LPshopping
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent
7/8/2016

Customer review by Bev8

5.0 stars 7/8/2016 by Bev8
by Bev8
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My eyes always would water and burn with regular suntan lotion on my face. I use this stick around my eyes and on my face without any problems. Not just for babies. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bev8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No more burnt skin...
6/17/2016

Customer review by Laframabe

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by Laframabe
by Laframabe

I am 50+ years old. My dermatolist suggested this product for me. I have very fair skin that always burns...I have tried everything. But, last summer, I used this product. I did not burn at all. I was shocked. It is thick and "white" in color at the pool and water...but I did not burn. I had a nice color on my face and legs, but was happily left with no pain post ocean and pool. This product works well. No tears. No stinging. Just pure sun blockage when you need it. Finally.

Laframabe
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Great for babies and toddlers
4/13/2016

Customer review by AmyLynn

5.0 stars 4/13/2016 by AmyLynn
by AmyLynn

Bought this for my 4 month old and even though package said 6 months and up her pediatrician said it was OK to use just to test it on her lower leg before bed one night since she has sensitive skin. This is great! Easy on her skin and gives her the protection she needs from the sun.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmyLynn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The ONLY Sunscreen Our Children Will Use
8/22/2014

Customer review by PaleSummer

5.0 stars 8/22/2014 by PaleSummer
by PaleSummer

I was shocked by the low rating, so I had to add my two cents. When we first started having children, we kept them sheltered from the sun as much as possible and even use clothing with a UPF 50+ and hats of course. Keeping them free from sun damage until they are 18 is a responsibility we take seriously and we scoured the market looking for the right product to protect their delicate skin. I tried this one bc the price was lower than the competitors boasting natural ingredients and it came in a pack that included the lotion, lip balm, and facial stick, which was a great way to start with a baby (our children have extremely sensitive skin and we have to be careful which soaps they wash with and which detergents we use for their clothing). Having sensory issues, I cannot stand the "sunscreen smell" either, so I use it as well w amazing results. When we go to the beach and come back paler than when we left, I consider it a win. I am hoping that Neutrogena creates this product in a spray form now that the babies are toddlers as it wd be much easier to re-apply to their legs and arms.

PaleSummer
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Good Coverage
5/12/2016

Customer review by 1958mom

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by 1958mom
by 1958mom

Makes thing so easy where ever

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1958mom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The only sunscreen kids have no reaction
4/22/2016

Customer review by Momof3

5.0 stars 4/22/2016 by Momof3
by Momof3

This is the best sunscreen for children. The kids break out from other sunscreen. They never sun burn with this product. The only sunscreen my children do not break out or have a reaction. Very safe

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momof3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent travel sunscreen
3/25/2016

Customer review by IgobyJ

5.0 stars 3/25/2016 by IgobyJ
by IgobyJ

I carry this in my purse everywhere. It is small, and because it is not a liquid, I am not afraid of any mess. When I am caught out in the sun I can quickly apply it and know I have the protection that I need.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IgobyJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My son now gets rashes from the sunscreen
4/30/2015

Customer review by suzcal1

3.0 stars 4/30/2015 by suzcal1
by suzcal1

I am long time supporter of Neutrogena as it has always worked wonders with my skin, including the sunscreens. When my son was born, I of course choose Neutrogena's baby sunscreen. It has worked until he was 15 months. We have taken beach vacations twice in the past year and both times (15 months and 2 years old), within 3 days of using the Pure and Free Baby Sunscreen, my has broken out into pimply bright red rashes. In speaking to many of the mothers that are having the same problem, we think your product is reacting to the chlorine in the pools. When my son is in the ocean, we do not see any reaction. It does take continued use over several days before the rash develops. Please look into this as this seems to be more of a problem than just what my son is experiencing.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 4/30/2015

Hi suzcal1. Thanks for letting us know about this. We'd like to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to speaking with you!

suzcal1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great nonchemical sunscreen
5/24/2015

Customer review by Fair in Boston

5.0 stars 5/24/2015 by Fair in Boston
by Fair in Boston

I've been using Neutrogena's Ultrasheer Dry Touch for years, but sadly have begun to get sunspots over the past year or two as I've used the 70 SPF version religiously every day. After doing some research, I realized chemical sunscreens can actually cause them (called photosensitization). So I've switched to this, which has only "physical" sunblock ingredients that do not lead to photosensitization or spots. Hoping for no new dark spots this year! The dry touch finish is the best of any sunscreen I've ever used, and I'm sad to leave it--it literally made my skin look matte and feel perfect all day, without powder. This isn't quite as nice, but it's still a great deal better than other physical sunblocks I've tried from even fancier brands--it leaves my skin soft but moist and nonoily all day, and after a bit of powder doesn't feel tacky or sticky at all. I have very sensitive skin and have not experienced a reaction to this; I've used it for about a week. Hopefully Neutrogena clears that up! Removing the photosensitizing ingredients from the Dry Touch formulation (some sunscreens are supposed to be worse than others) would also be a good idea. In the meantime, I'm happy with this and with knowing I'm no longer doing potential damage to my skin!

Comment from - 5/25/2015

Thank you for sharing your experience with our product. We would like to learn just a few more details from you about it. If you could, please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Monday- Friday 8am- 8pm EDT. Thank you!

Fair in Boston
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Excellent product
10/31/2015

Customer review by AnaMaria

5.0 stars 10/31/2015 by AnaMaria
by AnaMaria

Our son has extremely faire skin due to a genetic condition. Under professional health advice, we have used this product since he was a newborn. We use it on his whole body, not only on his face. Our son has never had any skin reaction to this product. It is absorbed quickly, it does not dry his skin and we are very happy with this product.

AnaMaria
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
if you have sensitive skin and acne buy this!
6/20/2013

Customer review by Daniela

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by Daniela
by Daniela

For years I've tried dealing with my skin being too sensitive for everything. I tried applying a camomile baby lotion from Johnson once and it made my face burn. It was awful because my face felt like burning every time I put sunscreen of any kind! Until I found this one. I have oily and prone to acne skin and with the help of this sunblock and an Aveno moisturizer my face has never felt better. No more burning or itching. It reduce redness appearance and helps maintain my oily skin in control. it last all day unless you sweat a lot or go swimming. I love it and I will never NEver ever stop buying it! It even helps with my uneven skin tone. I <3 it

Daniela
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Hyper-allergic to everything but this product!
6/6/2014

Customer review by JenniferL

5.0 stars 6/6/2014 by JenniferL
by JenniferL

I've been allergic to chemical sunscreens all my life (I'm pushing 40). Every time I found a physical sunscreen on the market, with titanium dioxide as the main ingredient, it wouldn't be waterproof. I'm extremely pale, and so hyper-allergic that even touching a doorknob from someone who's wearing sunscreen can put me in the ER. When my husband found this product, I was overjoyed. I have 2 children, and my whole family uses this religiously during the summer months. I've never had a break-out, neither has my kids. This is a thick sunscreen, so if you apply too much, your skin will have difficulty "breathing," as it were, leading to itchiness (I wonder if this is what happened with some of the negative reviewers). Also, like any sunscreen product, you must diligently reapply (e.g. a 60 spectrum must be applied every 60 minutes). I can literally apply this sunscreen all day long and not even tan. It is an absolute miracle sunscreen for someone like me who's spent much of her life avoiding pools, the beach, etc. due to the allergic reactions. Now, I can play in the pool with my kids knowing they're protected and I won't break out in hives from touching them. My only complaint is that the sticks are too small. I wish they made larger ones. We run through these far too quickly. PLEASE don't stop making this product! It's a life saver for hyper-allergic people like me!

JenniferL
Herndon, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Really Bad Prickly Rash
10/16/2015

Customer review by I'm burning

1.0 stars 10/16/2015 by I'm burning
by I'm burning

I bought this product for my sensitive skin. On the second day of use I developed a prickly raised rash on my neck. I washed the lotion off of my neck but the rash won't go away. It's been 3 days now and I just want relief from the itching and burning.

Comment from Neutrogena - 10/16/2015

Hello! We appreciate you review of our Pure & Free® Baby Sunscreen Lotion Broad Spectrum SPF 60+. Your experience is not one that we would expect from our product and we would like to learn more. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday between the hours of 8AM-8PM EST. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

I'm burning
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Great protection!
7/7/2011

Customer review by Montana Mom

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by Montana Mom
by Montana Mom

This is the best sunscreen that comes in decent sized containers and that I can find locally. I also like the Mustela brand with Titanium Dioxide & Zinc Oxide but can not find it locally. The Neutrogena product works great on my small children. They have never been sunburned. I use it all the time too. It's very water resistant. It will give you a white sheen for a while, but that doesn't bother me. I prefer to know exactly where the product is and where it needs to go. I would rather have a white sheen that disappears after a while than sun damage, especially on my kids fair skin and on my face!

Montana Mom
Butte, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I just got a rash too!
6/8/2015

Customer review by Duckymom

2.0 stars 6/8/2015 by Duckymom
by Duckymom

I usually use the ultra sheer dry touch sunscreens but recently used this because I was putting it on my three year old. Within two days I also broke out in a bright red, raised, goose-bump like rash. It has lasted a week and is just now going away! I will not put this on myself again and I just might switch to another brand for my daughter. Seems like the product has changed in the past two years. I never had this reaction before.. Two stars because my daughter didn't react to it this time.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 6/8/2015

Hello, thank you for reaching out to us. We wouldn't expect this experience from our Sunscreen and would like to learn more. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 8AM to 8PM EST Monday-Friday. We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Duckymom
Boston, ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
AWFUL CAUSED A RASH THAT LOOKS LIKE A BURN
8/3/2015

Customer review by Cecygem

1.0 stars 8/3/2015 by Cecygem
by Cecygem

Neutrogena, I have never been disappointed with your products till this past weekend. I used the Pure and Free Baby Sunscreen on my 5 year old daughter because she has sensitive skin. So normally baby products work great because their supposed to be gentle but not your product. It caused a raised chemical burn like rash on both legs. URGENTLY RETEST YOUR PRODUCT. ITS HARMFUL, DO SO BEFORE THIS HAPPENS TO OTHER CHILDREN.

Comment from Neutrogena - 8/4/2015

We'd like to learn more about your daughter's experience with our product, Cecygem, since this is not typical of our product. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EDT. We're looking forward to hearing from you!

Cecygem
Jersey City, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
It didn't work at all.
2/23/2014

Customer review by Jocelyn's Mom

1.0 stars 2/23/2014 by Jocelyn's Mom
by Jocelyn's Mom

I used the Pure & Free® Baby Sunscreen Stick Broad Spectrum SPF 60 on my 2 and a half year old's face ears and neck before going to the beach. I reapplied often, and used a lot of the product each time. I used a different product on the rest of her body. That night, we discovered her face ears and neck were sun burned. she was red, itchy and so uncomfortable. The rest of her body was just fine, no sunburn at all. The rest of our trip we used the other product on her face, and it worked just fine, although harder to apply. I will never buy this product again. I am so disappointed.

Jocelyn's Mom
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
Has worked great for Mom and Baby for over a year
7/12/2015

Customer review by Crittergirl

5.0 stars 7/12/2015 by Crittergirl
by Crittergirl

I wanted to post a review after reading all the reviews about rashes - it's possible that there is something in there that some people are allergic to - however, I've been using it on myself and my toddler pretty much every day for over a year with no problems. We both have dry skin and eczema and are both redheads. I like that the active ingredient is Zinc Oxide and nothing that has been linked to endocrine disruptors.

Crittergirl
St Paul MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Red Bumpy Rash
8/20/2014

Customer review by MrLouDog

1.0 stars 8/20/2014 by MrLouDog
by MrLouDog

I have always used Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry Touch Sunscreen SPF 55 and up, and never have had an allergic reaction. Since Pure & Free Baby was more "pure" I thought I would try it. In 2 days I developed a rash on my chest and belly and a little on my legs. The active ingredients are Titanium Dioxide 4.9% & Zinc Oxide 4.7%. These do not appear to be in the other regular (non baby) sunscreen. Can someone at Neutrogena say something informative about this? There are other similar skin reactions in your reviews of this product. Thank you

Comment from Neutrogena® - 8/21/2014

Hi MrLouDog. We are so sorry to hear that you had this experience. This is definitely not something that we would expect from our products. We would like to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EDT. We look forward to your call.

MrLouDog
Chevy Chase MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews