Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.1out of 5 stars
3.1 out of 5 | 27 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
12
Sort by: 
1-20 of 27 reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Snaps shut before you can set it down
8/27/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nearly impossible to set the trap, and completely impossible to move to location and set down with setting it off. The metal is very smooth, and the plastic bait holder is very slick and smooth. So even with the trap sitting in location, you have to try and try, with the trap obnoxiously snapping shut 5, 6, 10 times! So trying to set the trap in another location to carefully slide into a location, say under a cabinet, is impossible! Completely useless. Store refused to refund because bait holders on 3 traps had bait residue on them, even though I challenged him to try to set the unused traps himself. He accused me of putting something slick on them! I told him to go get another, unopened package and try it. He told me I was being impossible. I left traps on the counter.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/11/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have never tried these without bait although the listing says no bait is required. I usually use peanut butter. I see a number of 1-star ratings, which is odd because I have found this style trap to be the best and came specifically looking for it. If you put the peanut butter on the middle of the pad the mouse has to climb onto the pad to get to it and will trip the trap. I have found this to be much more effective than other traps where they have eaten the bait without tripping the trap.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ignore the 1-star reviews...
6/12/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have no idea what the low-rating people are complaning about. Picked up this four-pack, brought it home and set them. A day later I had four dead mice. Pretty good in my book... However, there are three things to keep in mind when using these: 1) Use a thin layer of peanut butter on the cheese pedal when baiting. A nickle-sized amount about 1/16 inch thick is all you need. Too much and they'll take it without tripping the trap. In this case, less is more. 2# Be patient when setting the traps. They're designed to be extremely sensitive and may snap once or twice when setting them until you get the hang of it. Just line up the locking bar with the notch by the spring #not the one on top of the cheese pedal, that won't work) and slowly release your thumb off the kill bar until it's set. 3) Placement is key. Don't just put them out on the floor or some random spot. Look for droppings or gaps/holes they might enjoy, and place the trap there. If you don't see any evidence or don't know where they're coming from, make sure the traps are perpendicular to a wall, as mice run along walls when they travel. It may help to double up traps next to each other, too, since mice may jump over an obstacle in their normal path. Used properly, these have proven to be the most effective traps money can buy...and they're dirt cheap!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bad Product
3/7/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used the old stype traps for years, in fact I still have a bunch of them I use. I bought two 4 packs of the new traps today. I had high hopes for them. Sadly they did not work well at all. Set one way you can whack the bait with a screwdriver and they do not go off. IN the other setting, they do not catch and tend to close on yor hand. Stick with the old style traps if you cna get them, or the glue style traps. They are not as re usable but at least they work. These would be going right back if they did not cost less then the cost of gas to take them back.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DON'T BUY THESE
11/19/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
BAD PRODUCT! I have bought close to a dozen of these. It's all I can get since all of the local stores seems to have switched to this style. In many cases, the mouse was able to lick the peanut butter off of the trap without setting it off. There seems to be two problems with these. First, the hinge point is metal into plastic. The plastic can get off center resulting in the hinge jamming. Second, the trigger arm must be carefully set just on the edge of triggering. Too deep into the plastic and it won't trigger. If you can find the old style, I suggest you stock up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
How to do it...
10/17/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got my mouse inside of a day. These are actually an improvement on the old traps as a mouse can't get at all the bait without standing on the trigger platform. The little "Cheese" has holes in it. Don't coat the whole thing like a loaf of bread. Just fill the holes in with peanut butter. Then the mouse has to climb up on the cheesy platform to get at them. If he stands on the platform, it's going to go off. Just like the classic traps, it takes some decent finger strength to set. Keep fingers away from the strike end of the board and tension the trap bar -holding firmly. Lay the trigger bar over the top and flip the trap inverted to let the platform cover the end of the trigger bar. Release a slight amount of pressure on the trap bar to create moderate friction, but maintain control of it so it will not trigger while adjusting. The pressure and friction will allow you to adjust the platform to a proper height above the board (I suggest slightly above level) to encourage the mouse to climb up on. When satisfied, slowly release more pressure until certain the trap is set properly and carefully grasp the board from below and away from the strike end of the board. Maintain that level hold from below and clear of the swing arc and gently place in a suspected mouse traffic location clear of any obstructions. Held properly, the bar will move harmlessly away from your hand if set off by accidental bumping.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not so "Easy to Set Mouse Trap"
3/14/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I live next to farms and a dairy and the fields are being turned into houses and apartment and a school so it is pushing all the field mice up into our house in the old subdivisions near the fields and we are all battling mice and flies and raccoons and foxes and coyotes so I bought a case of these mouse traps since they were cheap and the mice took off with my expensive ones in the attic in the insulation. Wont buy them again! Hard to set and the ones we got to set when they snapped the wood split lengthwise and we had to throw the mouse traps away. Very thin cheap wood. The staples they use to hold the hardware on the wood came loose from the cheap wood. Just very poorly made. Definitely will not buy again or recommend them to anyone as these traps are JUNK!. I wouldn't give them a 1 star but they don't have anything negative or a 0.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The best of the best
1/10/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just bought this product yesterday at walmart and put peanut butter as bait on all 8 traps I set at night. Had no success that night but went to church and when I returned home sure enough 1 mouse was dead in my kitchen. Not hard to set- up and very easy to use with common sense. I'm a single parent and was able to do this on my own. I have previously bought the victor electronic mousetrap with no success for 3 days so I decided to go with the old fashion style of catching a mouse.. Yes it's true this is the best way of getting rid of a mouse. Excellent product
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A small scrape of PB is all you need
6/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Not sure about all the bad reviews, but Ive used atleast 20 of these things and Ive never had an empty trap. I think people bait with too much peanut butter or something. You need a tiny tiny bit. I knife it on so it goes in the little holes on the 'cheese' and thats it. You only give em a taste and WHACK! Gobs of peanut butter does nothing but feed several mice after the trap is set off, empty or not.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NOT easy set
10/20/2009
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Tried setting all 4 of these mouse traps and got my fingers snapped a few times and they are still not set. very disappointed. would rather have the old little metal piece back.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend
1/9/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Took a few minutes to figure out how to set these but once we figured out the little metal thing went over not under the part you hold back with our thumb it was easy. This worked very well. We did not use any bait just like the package said and it worked great without it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/6/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You have to be smarter then the mouse trap. I see people complaining about its not sensative enough and the mouse is eating the peanut butter off without setting it off. Then people are complaining about snapping their fingers. I have always used this style of mouse traps and I set 4 and caught 2 mice so Im happy. Use cheese and smash it on the trigger then they cant steal it. be carefull setting it or you will snap your fingers. if you do whats the big deal. Its not like its going to break your finger. what do you want for the money? a mouse trap made of gold. set it and be very gentle setting it down and you will have a mouse in no time. IF you catch one throw the mouse and the trap away. Dont be a tight wad and try saving the trap. Thats just plain nasty.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works good
10/29/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had some old victors that were reused several times but quit working. Threw them out and tried these with peanut butter against wall. Work great. Since they set a little different there is a short learning curve.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best "Lick of Death" tweakable mousetrap!!!!!!
11/20/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
At first, I bought mouse trap with plastic "cheese" step plate hoping it would provide more leverage to trigger even lightest mice.. I put small amt of peanut butter on it. Next day it was licked off but trap did not snap. I was disappointed BUT I decide to tweak the trigger by bending the tip of wire downward a little bit with nose plier. I experimented and I made it "hair trigger". I set the trap gingerly and close the cabinet slowly. 15 min later, my kids told me they heard a 'Snap!' and I quickly check cabinet, OOOOOHHH MAANN!! 4 mices in 1 trap!!! Dang!!! I saw one dead mice had its tongue sticking out near middle of "cheese" which licked PB. I called it "Lick of Death". I set rest of 3 other trap into hair triggered "lick of death". I literally killed 18 mices. Some traps had 3 mices and one had 5 young mices in 1 trap. All that less than a week and my house was free of mices. I know you may not believe me or sound impossible, it's serious stuff if it's hair triggered. Maybe you rarely have 2 in one trap. I did that next follow year in October when weather became cold and mice came in. I use same traps and cleared mices out of my house. Works each time That explains why customers complained this trap won't catch mice or plate seem not sensitive to mouse weight. Key is to tweak the end until it's hairy that even slight stomp on floor or bang on countertop will set it off. Also "Cheese" plate have two hinges in its place that make it easier to set trigger rather than typical metal plate which is wobbly and hard to set.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This order...
3/18/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
was not good. Could only get 3 out of 4 traps to hold a set. 1st time I've been disappointed in a product from here. Was gonna call Victor and complain but their return policy is lengthy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GOOD TRAP!
2/21/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
good mouse catcher! Caught 3 mice 3 days in a row--
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Waste of money
2/14/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Poorly designed. almost impossible to set. threw out 3 unopened packages because the product is bad.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Most Awesome Mouse Trap I've EVER Used
12/2/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love this new style. The old metal ones just weren't doing the job. These are a little sensitive to set, but if you read some of the reviews, they give awesome advice on how to set them. We haven't figured out where they are coming in, but the traps are catching at least 3 per day. We set out about 8. One is in a flower pot they had been throwing dirt out of. We've caught so many there it's not even funny. Great buy!! Highly Recommended!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a waste!!!
12/11/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After setting the trap and it not working I decided to put some peanut butter on the "cheese". The critter licked every bit of the peanut butter and never set off the trap!!! To even get the trap to go off I had to whack it hard with my cane. Threw the other three traps away. Why waste even more money in gas to return them!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Problem Solver
12/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Like the product says Easy Set. They do the job! Just luck, but within 2 minutes had results.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640673, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-