Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

26 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

26 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
13
1-20 of 26 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Horrible product
12/17/2015

Customer review by Stan

1.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Stan
by Stan

A few years ago, I bought these and ended up throwing them all away. When I needed to prchase more traps this week, these were the only ones available so I thought I'd give them another chance. I'll be bringing them back for a refund. These will not set. I watched the video, I followed the instructions, I tried both firm and sensitive sides but the arm will not stay in place. Another brand is much easier to set and works just fine.

Stan
Williamsburg, VA
Ignore the 1-star reviews...
6/12/2012

Customer review by MintShoelace

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by MintShoelace
by MintShoelace

I have no idea what the low-rating people are complaning about. Picked up this four-pack, brought it home and set them. A day later I had four dead mice. Pretty good in my book... However, there are three things to keep in mind when using these: 1) Use a thin layer of peanut butter on the cheese pedal when baiting. A nickle-sized amount about 1/16 inch thick is all you need. Too much and they'll take it without tripping the trap. In this case, less is more. 2# Be patient when setting the traps. They're designed to be extremely sensitive and may snap once or twice when setting them until you get the hang of it. Just line up the locking bar with the notch by the spring #not the one on top of the cheese pedal, that won't work) and slowly release your thumb off the kill bar until it's set. 3) Placement is key. Don't just put them out on the floor or some random spot. Look for droppings or gaps/holes they might enjoy, and place the trap there. If you don't see any evidence or don't know where they're coming from, make sure the traps are perpendicular to a wall, as mice run along walls when they travel. It may help to double up traps next to each other, too, since mice may jump over an obstacle in their normal path. Used properly, these have proven to be the most effective traps money can buy...and they're dirt cheap!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MintShoelace
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Will not set.
12/12/2015

Customer review by electrifier

1.0 stars 12/12/2015 by electrifier
by electrifier

These plastic traps are junk. The arm slips off the plastic pedal no matter what you do. This is the worst thing I have ever seen. I am ready to build a 120 volt electric trap. I know that will work great.

electrifier
Kalamazoo, MI, United States
8/11/2011

Customer review by Ken99

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Ken99
by Ken99

I have never tried these without bait although the listing says no bait is required. I usually use peanut butter. I see a number of 1-star ratings, which is odd because I have found this style trap to be the best and came specifically looking for it. If you put the peanut butter on the middle of the pad the mouse has to climb onto the pad to get to it and will trip the trap. I have found this to be much more effective than other traps where they have eaten the bait without tripping the trap.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ken99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Terribly hard to set
11/16/2015

Customer review by Nola

1.0 stars 11/16/2015 by Nola
by Nola

I bought four. Can't get one to hold at all. The other three took several tries. I have three bruises on fingers from my efforts. These need a hook, hole, or ledge for the bar to connect. A copper bar against a slick plastic mechanism is a horrible design.

Nola
Bad Product
3/7/2010

Customer review by Matthewkl

1.0 stars 3/7/2010 by Matthewkl
by Matthewkl

I have used the old stype traps for years, in fact I still have a bunch of them I use. I bought two 4 packs of the new traps today. I had high hopes for them. Sadly they did not work well at all. Set one way you can whack the bait with a screwdriver and they do not go off. IN the other setting, they do not catch and tend to close on yor hand. Stick with the old style traps if you cna get them, or the glue style traps. They are not as re usable but at least they work. These would be going right back if they did not cost less then the cost of gas to take them back.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Matthewkl
Genoa, NY USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
These traps are terrible, they noth'n but junk.
12/14/2015

Customer review by 1Complainertoo

1.0 stars 12/14/2015 by 1Complainertoo
by 1Complainertoo

These traps are terrible, they noth'n but junk. These traps don't work, buy the old-style traps.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1Complainertoo
Would recommend to a friend? No
victor used to be good... not any more
10/21/2015

Customer review by depressed

1.0 stars 10/21/2015 by depressed
by depressed

victor has changed their design to the point they don't release. theyre not senitive enough to release. might work on squirels ut not mice.

depressed
Great trap
10/19/2015

Customer review by Boatman

5.0 stars 10/19/2015 by Boatman
by Boatman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fantastic trap, don't even bait it. Just put in areas that are possible runs and wham, got them.

Boatman
Oklahoma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DON'T BUY THESE
11/19/2010

Customer review by ridefar

1.0 stars 11/19/2010 by ridefar
by ridefar

BAD PRODUCT! I have bought close to a dozen of these. It's all I can get since all of the local stores seems to have switched to this style. In many cases, the mouse was able to lick the peanut butter off of the trap without setting it off. There seems to be two problems with these. First, the hinge point is metal into plastic. The plastic can get off center resulting in the hinge jamming. Second, the trigger arm must be carefully set just on the edge of triggering. Too deep into the plastic and it won't trigger. If you can find the old style, I suggest you stock up.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ridefar
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
How to do it...
10/17/2011

Customer review by TheRealWallyWorld

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by TheRealWallyWorld
by TheRealWallyWorld

I got my mouse inside of a day. These are actually an improvement on the old traps as a mouse can't get at all the bait without standing on the trigger platform. The little "Cheese" has holes in it. Don't coat the whole thing like a loaf of bread. Just fill the holes in with peanut butter. Then the mouse has to climb up on the cheesy platform to get at them. If he stands on the platform, it's going to go off. Just like the classic traps, it takes some decent finger strength to set. Keep fingers away from the strike end of the board and tension the trap bar -holding firmly. Lay the trigger bar over the top and flip the trap inverted to let the platform cover the end of the trigger bar. Release a slight amount of pressure on the trap bar to create moderate friction, but maintain control of it so it will not trigger while adjusting. The pressure and friction will allow you to adjust the platform to a proper height above the board (I suggest slightly above level) to encourage the mouse to climb up on. When satisfied, slowly release more pressure until certain the trap is set properly and carefully grasp the board from below and away from the strike end of the board. Maintain that level hold from below and clear of the swing arc and gently place in a suspected mouse traffic location clear of any obstructions. Held properly, the bar will move harmlessly away from your hand if set off by accidental bumping.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheRealWallyWorld
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Best "Lick of Death" tweakable mousetrap!!!!!!
11/20/2015

Customer review by owner

5.0 stars 11/20/2015 by owner
by owner

At first, I bought mouse trap with plastic "cheese" step plate hoping it would provide more leverage to trigger even lightest mice.. I put small amt of peanut butter on it. Next day it was licked off but trap did not snap. I was disappointed BUT I decide to tweak the trigger by bending the tip of wire downward a little bit with nose plier. I experimented and I made it "hair trigger". I set the trap gingerly and close the cabinet slowly. 15 min later, my kids told me they heard a 'Snap!' and I quickly check cabinet, OOOOOHHH MAANN!! 4 mices in 1 trap!!! Dang!!! I saw one dead mice had its tongue sticking out near middle of "cheese" which licked PB. I called it "Lick of Death". I set rest of 3 other trap into hair triggered "lick of death". I literally killed 18 mices. Some traps had 3 mices and one had 5 young mices in 1 trap. All that less than a week and my house was free of mices. I know you may not believe me or sound impossible, it's serious stuff if it's hair triggered. Maybe you rarely have 2 in one trap. I did that next follow year in October when weather became cold and mice came in. I use same traps and cleared mices out of my house. Works each time That explains why customers complained this trap won't catch mice or plate seem not sensitive to mouse weight. Key is to tweak the end until it's hairy that even slight stomp on floor or bang on countertop will set it off. Also "Cheese" plate have two hinges in its place that make it easier to set trigger rather than typical metal plate which is wobbly and hard to set.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
owner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Would recommend
1/9/2010

Customer review by NCgrandparents

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by NCgrandparents
by NCgrandparents

Took a few minutes to figure out how to set these but once we figured out the little metal thing went over not under the part you hold back with our thumb it was easy. This worked very well. We did not use any bait just like the package said and it worked great without it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NCgrandparents
Murphy, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't like the easy set
8/16/2015

Customer review by Earl

1.0 stars 8/16/2015 by Earl
by Earl

I bought the EASY SET rat traps recently and have been very disappointed. The plastic pedal in not as good as the older medal type. The hang arm will not stay on the plastic pedal. It keeps slipping out so I am unable to set the trap. With the medal version I could tweak it a little to get it to stay if it wasn't quite perfect out of the package. Unable to adjust the plastic in a way to make it hold so I will be throwing these ones away and going back to the medal style. Overall I still think that the Victor snap traps are the best way to go.

Earl
Tacoma, WA, United States
The best of the best
1/10/2010

Customer review by cali3

5.0 stars 1/10/2010 by cali3
by cali3

Just bought this product yesterday at walmart and put peanut butter as bait on all 8 traps I set at night. Had no success that night but went to church and when I returned home sure enough 1 mouse was dead in my kitchen. Not hard to set- up and very easy to use with common sense. I'm a single parent and was able to do this on my own. I have previously bought the victor electronic mousetrap with no success for 3 days so I decided to go with the old fashion style of catching a mouse.. Yes it's true this is the best way of getting rid of a mouse. Excellent product

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cali3
Memphis, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A small scrape of PB is all you need
6/14/2012

Customer review by ieetgluu

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by ieetgluu
by ieetgluu

Not sure about all the bad reviews, but Ive used atleast 20 of these things and Ive never had an empty trap. I think people bait with too much peanut butter or something. You need a tiny tiny bit. I knife it on so it goes in the little holes on the 'cheese' and thats it. You only give em a taste and WHACK! Gobs of peanut butter does nothing but feed several mice after the trap is set off, empty or not.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ieetgluu
Central NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
NOT easy set
10/20/2009

Customer review by painxinxvain

1.0 stars 10/20/2009 by painxinxvain
by painxinxvain

Tried setting all 4 of these mouse traps and got my fingers snapped a few times and they are still not set. very disappointed. would rather have the old little metal piece back.

Was this review helpful? (14) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
painxinxvain
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
12/6/2011

Customer review by Handlegrip

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Handlegrip
by Handlegrip

You have to be smarter then the mouse trap. I see people complaining about its not sensative enough and the mouse is eating the peanut butter off without setting it off. Then people are complaining about snapping their fingers. I have always used this style of mouse traps and I set 4 and caught 2 mice so Im happy. Use cheese and smash it on the trigger then they cant steal it. be carefull setting it or you will snap your fingers. if you do whats the big deal. Its not like its going to break your finger. what do you want for the money? a mouse trap made of gold. set it and be very gentle setting it down and you will have a mouse in no time. IF you catch one throw the mouse and the trap away. Dont be a tight wad and try saving the trap. Thats just plain nasty.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Handlegrip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Works good
10/29/2009

Customer review by Stacyl61

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by Stacyl61
by Stacyl61

I had some old victors that were reused several times but quit working. Threw them out and tried these with peanut butter against wall. Work great. Since they set a little different there is a short learning curve.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stacyl61
Oconomowoc, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
What a waste!!!
12/11/2011

Customer review by Moi70

1.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Moi70
by Moi70

After setting the trap and it not working I decided to put some peanut butter on the "cheese". The critter licked every bit of the peanut butter and never set off the trap!!! To even get the trap to go off I had to whack it hard with my cane. Threw the other three traps away. Why waste even more money in gas to return them!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moi70
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews