Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

18 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

18 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
1-18 of 18 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Bad Product
3/7/2010

Customer review by Matthewkl

1.0 stars 3/7/2010 by Matthewkl
by Matthewkl

I have used the old stype traps for years, in fact I still have a bunch of them I use. I bought two 4 packs of the new traps today. I had high hopes for them. Sadly they did not work well at all. Set one way you can whack the bait with a screwdriver and they do not go off. IN the other setting, they do not catch and tend to close on yor hand. Stick with the old style traps if you cna get them, or the glue style traps. They are not as re usable but at least they work. These would be going right back if they did not cost less then the cost of gas to take them back.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Matthewkl
Genoa, NY USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/11/2011

Customer review by Ken99

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Ken99
by Ken99

I have never tried these without bait although the listing says no bait is required. I usually use peanut butter. I see a number of 1-star ratings, which is odd because I have found this style trap to be the best and came specifically looking for it. If you put the peanut butter on the middle of the pad the mouse has to climb onto the pad to get to it and will trip the trap. I have found this to be much more effective than other traps where they have eaten the bait without tripping the trap.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ken99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
DON'T BUY THESE
11/19/2010

Customer review by ridefar

1.0 stars 11/19/2010 by ridefar
by ridefar

BAD PRODUCT! I have bought close to a dozen of these. It's all I can get since all of the local stores seems to have switched to this style. In many cases, the mouse was able to lick the peanut butter off of the trap without setting it off. There seems to be two problems with these. First, the hinge point is metal into plastic. The plastic can get off center resulting in the hinge jamming. Second, the trigger arm must be carefully set just on the edge of triggering. Too deep into the plastic and it won't trigger. If you can find the old style, I suggest you stock up.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ridefar
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
How to do it...
10/17/2011

Customer review by TheRealWallyWorld

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by TheRealWallyWorld
by TheRealWallyWorld

I got my mouse inside of a day. These are actually an improvement on the old traps as a mouse can't get at all the bait without standing on the trigger platform. The little "Cheese" has holes in it. Don't coat the whole thing like a loaf of bread. Just fill the holes in with peanut butter. Then the mouse has to climb up on the cheesy platform to get at them. If he stands on the platform, it's going to go off. Just like the classic traps, it takes some decent finger strength to set. Keep fingers away from the strike end of the board and tension the trap bar -holding firmly. Lay the trigger bar over the top and flip the trap inverted to let the platform cover the end of the trigger bar. Release a slight amount of pressure on the trap bar to create moderate friction, but maintain control of it so it will not trigger while adjusting. The pressure and friction will allow you to adjust the platform to a proper height above the board (I suggest slightly above level) to encourage the mouse to climb up on. When satisfied, slowly release more pressure until certain the trap is set properly and carefully grasp the board from below and away from the strike end of the board. Maintain that level hold from below and clear of the swing arc and gently place in a suspected mouse traffic location clear of any obstructions. Held properly, the bar will move harmlessly away from your hand if set off by accidental bumping.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheRealWallyWorld
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
NOT easy set
10/20/2009

Customer review by painxinxvain

1.0 stars 10/20/2009 by painxinxvain
by painxinxvain

Tried setting all 4 of these mouse traps and got my fingers snapped a few times and they are still not set. very disappointed. would rather have the old little metal piece back.

Was this review helpful? (11) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
painxinxvain
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
The best of the best
1/10/2010

Customer review by cali3

5.0 stars 1/10/2010 by cali3
by cali3

Just bought this product yesterday at walmart and put peanut butter as bait on all 8 traps I set at night. Had no success that night but went to church and when I returned home sure enough 1 mouse was dead in my kitchen. Not hard to set- up and very easy to use with common sense. I'm a single parent and was able to do this on my own. I have previously bought the victor electronic mousetrap with no success for 3 days so I decided to go with the old fashion style of catching a mouse.. Yes it's true this is the best way of getting rid of a mouse. Excellent product

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cali3
Memphis, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ignore the 1-star reviews...
6/12/2012

Customer review by MintShoelace

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by MintShoelace
by MintShoelace

I have no idea what the low-rating people are complaning about. Picked up this four-pack, brought it home and set them. A day later I had four dead mice. Pretty good in my book... However, there are three things to keep in mind when using these: 1) Use a thin layer of peanut butter on the cheese pedal when baiting. A nickle-sized amount about 1/16 inch thick is all you need. Too much and they'll take it without tripping the trap. In this case, less is more. 2# Be patient when setting the traps. They're designed to be extremely sensitive and may snap once or twice when setting them until you get the hang of it. Just line up the locking bar with the notch by the spring #not the one on top of the cheese pedal, that won't work) and slowly release your thumb off the kill bar until it's set. 3) Placement is key. Don't just put them out on the floor or some random spot. Look for droppings or gaps/holes they might enjoy, and place the trap there. If you don't see any evidence or don't know where they're coming from, make sure the traps are perpendicular to a wall, as mice run along walls when they travel. It may help to double up traps next to each other, too, since mice may jump over an obstacle in their normal path. Used properly, these have proven to be the most effective traps money can buy...and they're dirt cheap!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MintShoelace
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Would recommend
1/9/2010

Customer review by NCgrandparents

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by NCgrandparents
by NCgrandparents

Took a few minutes to figure out how to set these but once we figured out the little metal thing went over not under the part you hold back with our thumb it was easy. This worked very well. We did not use any bait just like the package said and it worked great without it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCgrandparents
Murphy, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works good
10/29/2009

Customer review by Stacyl61

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by Stacyl61
by Stacyl61

I had some old victors that were reused several times but quit working. Threw them out and tried these with peanut butter against wall. Work great. Since they set a little different there is a short learning curve.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stacyl61
Oconomowoc, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A small scrape of PB is all you need
6/14/2012

Customer review by ieetgluu

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by ieetgluu
by ieetgluu

Not sure about all the bad reviews, but Ive used atleast 20 of these things and Ive never had an empty trap. I think people bait with too much peanut butter or something. You need a tiny tiny bit. I knife it on so it goes in the little holes on the 'cheese' and thats it. You only give em a taste and WHACK! Gobs of peanut butter does nothing but feed several mice after the trap is set off, empty or not.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ieetgluu
Central NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
The best product!
3/4/2012

Customer review by Ario12

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by Ario12
by Ario12

I used it two times and each time I put a piece of nut in it. After a few hours two mice were trapped!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ario12
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
12/6/2011

Customer review by Handlegrip

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Handlegrip
by Handlegrip

You have to be smarter then the mouse trap. I see people complaining about its not sensative enough and the mouse is eating the peanut butter off without setting it off. Then people are complaining about snapping their fingers. I have always used this style of mouse traps and I set 4 and caught 2 mice so Im happy. Use cheese and smash it on the trigger then they cant steal it. be carefull setting it or you will snap your fingers. if you do whats the big deal. Its not like its going to break your finger. what do you want for the money? a mouse trap made of gold. set it and be very gentle setting it down and you will have a mouse in no time. IF you catch one throw the mouse and the trap away. Dont be a tight wad and try saving the trap. Thats just plain nasty.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Handlegrip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
4/1/2012

Customer review by applesRyummy

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by applesRyummy
by applesRyummy

I didnt use this 4 a mouse trap but in science class i used it to power a mousetrap car and this is the absolute best prodict for that. definately powreful and i aced the project

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
applesRyummy
DaVille, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
What a waste!!!
12/11/2011

Customer review by Moi70

1.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Moi70
by Moi70

After setting the trap and it not working I decided to put some peanut butter on the "cheese". The critter licked every bit of the peanut butter and never set off the trap!!! To even get the trap to go off I had to whack it hard with my cane. Threw the other three traps away. Why waste even more money in gas to return them!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moi70
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
10/8/2011

Customer review by Ratrap

1.0 stars 10/8/2011 by Ratrap
by Ratrap

I have tried this new type mouse trap for over two weeks and haven't caught a mouse yet. I cannot find the older style mouse trap anywhere and they actually worked. I will not waste my money on these traps that do not work.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ratrap
Cheraw, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hard to set.
5/2/2012

Customer review by DaveC

3.0 stars 5/2/2012 by DaveC
by DaveC

They do work if you use cheese.Mold a small piece into a ball then press it onto the yellow plastic piece so it goes threw the holes just a liitle bit..Press the back part so the mice dont pull it off.Dont use Peanut Butter they clean it dry with out setting off the trap.Very hard to set.Bring back the old style with the all metal mechanism,and wood.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaveC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Feed Your Mice Easily!
10/21/2011

Customer review by phonegoddess

1.0 stars 10/21/2011 by phonegoddess
by phonegoddess

I've had four of these licked clean (peanut butter) with no springing. You get what you pay for - sticking with the Quick Set.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phonegoddess
Somewhere in Middle America
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not good!
3/19/2015

Customer review by Allyg

1.0 stars 3/19/2015 by Allyg
by Allyg

Nothing against the companies that sell these mouse traps, but they do not work well at all!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Allyg
Would recommend to a friend? No