Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

63 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

63 reviews | 3 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
30
1-20 of 63 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews
Usually works well once....
5/7/2016

Customer review by AlexandriaVAmom

4.0 stars 5/7/2016 by AlexandriaVAmom
by AlexandriaVAmom

This was the second time use for this trap and it would only allow use on the least sensitive setting. We have pics of a mouse nibbling on the unbaited fake cheese. Here is a great pic of the mouse that got away

AlexandriaVAmom
VA, United States
Ignore the 1-star reviews...
6/12/2012

Customer review by MintShoelace

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by MintShoelace
by MintShoelace

I have no idea what the low-rating people are complaning about. Picked up this four-pack, brought it home and set them. A day later I had four dead mice. Pretty good in my book... However, there are three things to keep in mind when using these: 1) Use a thin layer of peanut butter on the cheese pedal when baiting. A nickle-sized amount about 1/16 inch thick is all you need. Too much and they'll take it without tripping the trap. In this case, less is more. 2# Be patient when setting the traps. They're designed to be extremely sensitive and may snap once or twice when setting them until you get the hang of it. Just line up the locking bar with the notch by the spring #not the one on top of the cheese pedal, that won't work) and slowly release your thumb off the kill bar until it's set. 3) Placement is key. Don't just put them out on the floor or some random spot. Look for droppings or gaps/holes they might enjoy, and place the trap there. If you don't see any evidence or don't know where they're coming from, make sure the traps are perpendicular to a wall, as mice run along walls when they travel. It may help to double up traps next to each other, too, since mice may jump over an obstacle in their normal path. Used properly, these have proven to be the most effective traps money can buy...and they're dirt cheap!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MintShoelace
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
8/11/2011

Customer review by Ken99

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Ken99
by Ken99

I have never tried these without bait although the listing says no bait is required. I usually use peanut butter. I see a number of 1-star ratings, which is odd because I have found this style trap to be the best and came specifically looking for it. If you put the peanut butter on the middle of the pad the mouse has to climb onto the pad to get to it and will trip the trap. I have found this to be much more effective than other traps where they have eaten the bait without tripping the trap.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ken99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
AlexandriaVAmom Upgrades Rating to 5-stars
5/10/2016

Customer review by AlexandriaVAmom1

5.0 stars 5/10/2016 by AlexandriaVAmom1
by AlexandriaVAmom1

Since my last review 3 days ago, i've caught at least one mouse per day on that same trap. The mouse was nibbling on the trap because we used the least sensitive setting. I couldn't get the regular/sensitive setting to work because the metal kept sliding off the plastic fake cheese bait. It was my fault, I was putting too much peanut butter on the fake cheese. It is pre-baited and doesn't need peanut butter. Adding weight from additional bait makes it really hard to set on the sensitive setting. I've continued to use the slightest bit of peanut butter, just enough to add a little scent and I did the same with a Decon snap trap, the one with a triangular shaped piece of fake cheese. In 5 days i've trapped 5 mice on the Victor easy set and 0 with the decon. Both traps are within 2 feet of each other and both have peanut butter on them. It seems to me the mice prefer the easy set for some reason...or maybe they ate the PB from the decon and it didn't go off. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

AlexandriaVAmom1
Alexandria, VA, United States
Received free product:Yes
Bad Product
3/7/2010

Customer review by Matthewkl

1.0 stars 3/7/2010 by Matthewkl
by Matthewkl

I have used the old stype traps for years, in fact I still have a bunch of them I use. I bought two 4 packs of the new traps today. I had high hopes for them. Sadly they did not work well at all. Set one way you can whack the bait with a screwdriver and they do not go off. IN the other setting, they do not catch and tend to close on yor hand. Stick with the old style traps if you cna get them, or the glue style traps. They are not as re usable but at least they work. These would be going right back if they did not cost less then the cost of gas to take them back.

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Matthewkl
Genoa, NY USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
DON'T BUY THESE
11/19/2010

Customer review by ridefar

1.0 stars 11/19/2010 by ridefar
by ridefar

BAD PRODUCT! I have bought close to a dozen of these. It's all I can get since all of the local stores seems to have switched to this style. In many cases, the mouse was able to lick the peanut butter off of the trap without setting it off. There seems to be two problems with these. First, the hinge point is metal into plastic. The plastic can get off center resulting in the hinge jamming. Second, the trigger arm must be carefully set just on the edge of triggering. Too deep into the plastic and it won't trigger. If you can find the old style, I suggest you stock up.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ridefar
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
This order...
3/18/2017

Customer review by baltbob

1.0 stars 3/18/2017 by baltbob
by baltbob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

was not good. Could only get 3 out of 4 traps to hold a set. 1st time I've been disappointed in a product from here. Was gonna call Victor and complain but their return policy is lengthy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/22/2017

At Victor®, we strive to ensure that each consumer is satisfied. Thank you for taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We apologize for this experience and would like to offer further help.<br /><br />Our Consumer Relations Team is available six days a week. Please feel free to contact us directly for additional assistance.<br /><br />Best Regards,<br /><br />Susan<br />Consumer Relations Representative<br />Woodstream Corporation<br />Victor®

baltbob
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
How to do it...
10/17/2011

Customer review by TheRealWallyWorld

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by TheRealWallyWorld
by TheRealWallyWorld

I got my mouse inside of a day. These are actually an improvement on the old traps as a mouse can't get at all the bait without standing on the trigger platform. The little "Cheese" has holes in it. Don't coat the whole thing like a loaf of bread. Just fill the holes in with peanut butter. Then the mouse has to climb up on the cheesy platform to get at them. If he stands on the platform, it's going to go off. Just like the classic traps, it takes some decent finger strength to set. Keep fingers away from the strike end of the board and tension the trap bar -holding firmly. Lay the trigger bar over the top and flip the trap inverted to let the platform cover the end of the trigger bar. Release a slight amount of pressure on the trap bar to create moderate friction, but maintain control of it so it will not trigger while adjusting. The pressure and friction will allow you to adjust the platform to a proper height above the board (I suggest slightly above level) to encourage the mouse to climb up on. When satisfied, slowly release more pressure until certain the trap is set properly and carefully grasp the board from below and away from the strike end of the board. Maintain that level hold from below and clear of the swing arc and gently place in a suspected mouse traffic location clear of any obstructions. Held properly, the bar will move harmlessly away from your hand if set off by accidental bumping.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheRealWallyWorld
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Works fine after some experimentation
12/2/2016

Customer review by Drb1

4.0 stars 12/2/2016 by Drb1
by Drb1

I baited and set two traps. One set easily, but the other took about 5 or 6 attempts to get it to stay set. I checked the reviews and discovered that a lot of ppl had a similar experience with the hair trigger, so I did some experimenting, and discovered that an unbaited trap was a lot easier to set, and I've concluded that the weight of the bait on the pedal affects the sensitivity of the trap. Thus, if you just put a speck of peanut butter on the pedal, the traps work more like they were intended. Incidentally, I have used a lot of the "other" brand's plastic pedal snap traps and they don't seem to be so touchy, but they still work well. I've also given up on the metal bait-pedal traps. They have changed over time and are too insensitive. I can set them easily, but they don't trip well, and my mice just suck the peanut butter right off of them. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Drb1
Chicago, IL, United States
Received free product:Yes
Not so "Easy to Set Mouse Trap"
3/14/2016

Customer review by countrygal413

1.0 stars 3/14/2016 by countrygal413
by countrygal413

I live next to farms and a dairy and the fields are being turned into houses and apartment and a school so it is pushing all the field mice up into our house in the old subdivisions near the fields and we are all battling mice and flies and raccoons and foxes and coyotes so I bought a case of these mouse traps since they were cheap and the mice took off with my expensive ones in the attic in the insulation. Wont buy them again! Hard to set and the ones we got to set when they snapped the wood split lengthwise and we had to throw the mouse traps away. Very thin cheap wood. The staples they use to hold the hardware on the wood came loose from the cheap wood. Just very poorly made. Definitely will not buy again or recommend them to anyone as these traps are JUNK!. I wouldn't give them a 1 star but they don't have anything negative or a 0.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
countrygal413
Would recommend to a friend? No
The best of the best
1/10/2010

Customer review by cali3

5.0 stars 1/10/2010 by cali3
by cali3

Just bought this product yesterday at walmart and put peanut butter as bait on all 8 traps I set at night. Had no success that night but went to church and when I returned home sure enough 1 mouse was dead in my kitchen. Not hard to set- up and very easy to use with common sense. I'm a single parent and was able to do this on my own. I have previously bought the victor electronic mousetrap with no success for 3 days so I decided to go with the old fashion style of catching a mouse.. Yes it's true this is the best way of getting rid of a mouse. Excellent product

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cali3
Memphis, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
GOOD TRAP!
2/21/2017

Customer review by Ginny

5.0 stars 2/21/2017 by Ginny
by Ginny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

good mouse catcher! Caught 3 mice 3 days in a row--

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ginny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A small scrape of PB is all you need
6/14/2012

Customer review by ieetgluu

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by ieetgluu
by ieetgluu

Not sure about all the bad reviews, but Ive used atleast 20 of these things and Ive never had an empty trap. I think people bait with too much peanut butter or something. You need a tiny tiny bit. I knife it on so it goes in the little holes on the 'cheese' and thats it. You only give em a taste and WHACK! Gobs of peanut butter does nothing but feed several mice after the trap is set off, empty or not.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ieetgluu
Central NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Waste of money
2/14/2017

Customer review by Davethomas

1.0 stars 2/14/2017 by Davethomas
by Davethomas

Poorly designed. almost impossible to set. threw out 3 unopened packages because the product is bad.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Davethomas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Would recommend
1/9/2010

Customer review by NCgrandparents

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by NCgrandparents
by NCgrandparents

Took a few minutes to figure out how to set these but once we figured out the little metal thing went over not under the part you hold back with our thumb it was easy. This worked very well. We did not use any bait just like the package said and it worked great without it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NCgrandparents
Murphy, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Setting is easy with a little help
1/15/2017

Customer review by hzmeyer

5.0 stars 1/15/2017 by hzmeyer
by hzmeyer

I used a paint stirrer and a piece of scrap wood to make a helper to set my traps. As shown in the photos, the trap is set under the paint stirrer (catcher) to prevent the unwanted catching of my finger. Then I slowly depress the bait holder to trip the trap to see where that occurs. Next, I reset the trap and again press down on the bait holder just short of the position where it releases. Now the trap is set in a hair trigger mode. I some times catch 3 mice per night. And, yes, I do live in a woods along with a lot of mice. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

hzmeyer
Plymouth Charter Township, MI, United States
Received free product:Yes
NOT easy set
10/20/2009

Customer review by painxinxvain

1.0 stars 10/20/2009 by painxinxvain
by painxinxvain

Tried setting all 4 of these mouse traps and got my fingers snapped a few times and they are still not set. very disappointed. would rather have the old little metal piece back.

Was this review helpful? (14) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
painxinxvain
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
12/6/2011

Customer review by Handlegrip

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Handlegrip
by Handlegrip

You have to be smarter then the mouse trap. I see people complaining about its not sensative enough and the mouse is eating the peanut butter off without setting it off. Then people are complaining about snapping their fingers. I have always used this style of mouse traps and I set 4 and caught 2 mice so Im happy. Use cheese and smash it on the trigger then they cant steal it. be carefull setting it or you will snap your fingers. if you do whats the big deal. Its not like its going to break your finger. what do you want for the money? a mouse trap made of gold. set it and be very gentle setting it down and you will have a mouse in no time. IF you catch one throw the mouse and the trap away. Dont be a tight wad and try saving the trap. Thats just plain nasty.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Handlegrip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Never again
1/4/2017

Customer review by Jerry424

1.0 stars 1/4/2017 by Jerry424
by Jerry424

I've used Victor mouse and rat traps for years and have always been pleased with the quality of the product. Until now. The 'EasySet' mouse trap is a poorly designed trap that, obviously, had not been adequately tested before general release. Bait or no bait, the mouse trap snaps before I am able to put it in place the great majority of the time. I will go back to the metal bait triggers, they are reliable and the best Victor product.

Jerry424
St Charles, IL, United States
Not as good as the Victor Metal Pedal trap
1/13/2017

Customer review by Quan

2.0 stars 1/13/2017 by Quan
by Quan

Pre-bait? Nope, needs real bait, or it does not work. But if the bait is added, its weight will make it difficult to set the trap. It can still be set, but need to be very meticulous. Once the trap is set, it works fine.

Quan
Montreal, QC, Canada
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews