Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 5273 reviews
5 stars
3727
4 stars
422
3 stars
144
2 stars
177
1 stars
803
Sort by: 
1-20 of 5272 reviews
1-20 of 5272 reviews
Cascade is the ONLY one I'll use - ever!
2/19/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
In the 20+ years I've owned a dishwasher, I've always used Cascade. I'm not one to rinse my dishes before loading them, because I figure if the force of the water jets can't rinse them enough, I don't have a powerful enough dishwasher. If I had an extra large or scummy load, I'd always fill both cups with the powder. When the Actionpacs first came on the market, I was skeptical because it seemed the price for the number of uses was high compared to the boxed powder. Then by just using one Actionpac, even on the larger loads, I found that they came out just as clean as if I had used the two detergent cups. I even kept track of how many uses I got from the box as compared to the quantity of Actionpacs and found the Actionpacs came out to be the better deal. Also want to mention that a neighbor was moving and gave me her other brand of dishwasher powerballs. They just didn't do the job that Cascade can do. Therefore, you can consider me a loyal fan and loyal customer of Cascade! Thank you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Unsatisfied
10/6/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was so excited to purchase these new pre-dispensed dishwashing packets. My mother and sister had used them, so they came highly recommended. I tried them, and much to my dismay, my dishes have never looked worse. The glasses came out of the dishwasher looking like milk spots had dried completely in the entire glass, top to bottom. They are so milky looking that they look as though I never washed them at all. All the other dishes and silverware in the dishwasher came out with a white film on them also. I have always used Cascade Complete powder and have loved it. I have never experienced anything like this before. I switched to the powder again, and now I have the same results as the packets. Totally unsatisfied. I cannot seem to get my dishes looking sparkly anymore. I feel that to get my dishes clean, I am going to have to go back to the old days of washing by hand. What a waste of time in this day and age. Wondering if the ingredients have been changed or altered in any way???
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Bachelors Dream!
8/13/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Being a bachelor I dont usually pay much attention to the dish cleaning products I buy. I just buy one and use it. How ever this time I went out on a limb buying Cascade Complete. I saw the words "No need to pre-wash" and thought "Ok this is worth a try." So I did my dishes the next day using various levels of dirty dishes. From fully wiped and rinsed to week old crusty food stuck on the plate. I did rinse most of them off before hand just to get the large chunks off. But I will say stuff still went in with particles of food on still. Im not talking specs. Im talking pinky nail sized stains and chunks. Started it up. Checked it the next day. Low and behold all of my dishes but 3 items were spotless. Granted these were extreme tests on most of the stuff. So to clean the filth I left on some of these plates, I have never seen before in a dishwasher fluid. This stuff is amazing and is the only time I have found myself excited to recommend to friends to use it. Thank you CASCADE!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
surprise!surprise!
9/6/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My family and I have been using a very cheap dishwasher that came with our house for the past seven years. We had accepted that unless we handwashed everything that went in the dishwasher the dishes would come out with spots or food somewhere on them. It became a game when putting dishes away to find the hidden dried on food! Because of the poor make of the dishwasher I always used the cheapest brand of detergeant, because I had tried everything and the dishes were always dirty. A hunch, whisper in my ear, whatever you want to call it, inspired me to try Cascade a few months ago and was I ever SURPRISED!! My dishes were coming out clean, there was no more hide-n-seek with leftovers on the dishes. We no longer had to preclean the dishes in order for them to come out clean from the dishwasher. Cascade is pleasant smelling, very convenient to use, and I love being able to tell when I need to buy more by counting how many I have left in the bag. Thank you, Thank you and Thank you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the Action Pacs!
3/5/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Before leaving for vacation last week, I loaded the dishwasher in a hurry, without rinsing and without loading correctly, with the intention of rinsing and reloading upon our return, to actually run the load thru the dishwasher. These were dishes from the previous day that I hadn't gotten around to doing at all, but I didn't want them to sit for the whole weekend. When we returned Saturday night, I decided to test the power of your product and just threw in the Action Pac and ran the load. There was a casserole dish that had baken on cheese and spaghetti sauce that I just KNEW would need re-washing, but to my surprise, it was sparkling clean! The entire load-- even my palstics-- were clean and grease free! The only things that I had to rewash were a spoon and fork that were nestled and had food between them. I was totally shocked and had to tell my husband! I am truly a believer! I have ALWAYS pre-rinsed before running a load, but I am certainly happy to cut that step now! I LOVE this product!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
disappointed
10/10/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am reading why my wife's baking pans have all turned black is due to no phosphate in the cleaning solution. In reading what to do to correct this problem it creates more problems which Rose and Monika fail to explain. 1) it is suggested by cascade to use a metal polish. 2) Boil the pan in crean of tartar. 3) scrub with a soap pad. Now here is the created problem 1) I can'T find the link for the free metal polish 2) Boil the pan in WHAT? is there a pot made that large 3) Use a scrubbing pad? again I can't find the link for the maid service to come scrub all of my wife's pans. AND after we do all of this once washed in your product which does do a great job at cleaning the dishes, the pans will again turn black and here I am back at square one. QUESTION Why wasn't the consumer warned at first of this products action ANSWER because the consumer will not buy. Cascade you have disappointed the general public so badly and your marketing department should be ashame of themselves.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ruins plastics
1/31/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My wife recently purchased the cascade complete 4.68 lb box of detergent powder. It has completely ruined all plastics that have been washed with this detergent. I have used different cascade products in the past (complete packs) with mostly success, the only problem being the occasional film leftover. However, thus powder based product has ruined hund4ds of dokars of plastic kitchen ware. It has left a permenant discoloration that cannot even be removed by hand washing. We have tried to use a finishing product to see if that would fix the fading/discoloration this product had called. I would advise all to stay away from this product as it will force you to throw away your plastics. Addition !y wife and I are extremely fastigious about pre washing so all I'm looking for is a detergent to get our dishes sparkling clean. I would have written a a review to a complaints Compartment however I can not find one. I am beyond dissatisfied and I am agree that this product has ruined so much of my kitchen ware.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Surprisingly Clean
11/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've always pre-cleaned my dishes before putting them in the dishwasher. This time was different. While making dinner on a Saturday evening I managed to clog the drain in the kitchen sink. After dinner, I wasn't able to rinse the dishes as usual, so I scraped off whatever food I could into the trash and put them directly in the dishwasher. Since the dishwasher empties into the same sewer line as the kitchen sink I wasn't able to run the dishwasher until Monday night after the plumber left. I then went ahead and just ran it with the food still stuck on the dishes figuring I'd scrub them later. When I took the dishes out I was surprised to find that every dish was spotlessly clean, even after sitting for 2 days with dried on food! My previous experience with other brands has usually been that if I didn't pre-clean the dishes they would come out of the dishwasher with some food still stuck on them. I am thoroughly impressed with the results I got with Cascade Complete.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Will Not Purchase or Recommend Again
11/22/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I grew up with Cascade, and I used to use the liquid Cascade until they removed phosphates and my dishes were left with a film. We started using these tablets and within the last few months, we've probably thrown away more than we've successfully used. I am so disappointed because initially, it seemed they were cleaning great. Now, when we open the dishwasher, we'll find the tablet at the bottom of the machine with a small hole in it where it tried to open but didn't. This has happened with numerous tabs out of our bin of 48, and we are THROUGH with Cascade. Unfortunately, I have about half of the bin left. Not sure how to make this work other than waste tons of water and energy washing every load 3-4 times. If Cascade can figure out a way to make their tablets actually dissolve, then we might consider. Even if you offered trouble-shooting tips on the package - SOMETHING. This is ridiculous that these cost so much and you end up wasting a third of the product, not to mention so much wasted water and energy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What do you have to say now?
8/4/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So, I buy a package of the Cascade Pure Essentials Tabs and after 3-4 washes my pans start turning black on the outside. I come here and read how this has happened to numerous folks and the company reps say it is due to the phosphate free formula and aluminum pans are not dishwasher safe. WRONG WRONG WRONG. I also have a box of FINISH tabs which occasionally leave a white powder residue on the load but NEVER turned my pans black. So I figured I would check the label....guess what? FINISH IS PHOSPHATE FREE ALSO AND DID NOT TURN PANS BLACK. I understand aluminum pans are not dishwasher safe but for a company to say, Oh its all the pans fault, is ridiculous. Thousands of people have been using them in the dishwasher for many many years without them turning black so the fact that Boom! we change detergent all the sudden they turn black is the pans fault or our fault for putting aluminum in the dishwasher? When another brand does not turn them black? I don't think so.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
"LIFESAVER"
10/14/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We did our the kitchen over and bought all top rated appliances. Cost was not a problem. Our dishwasher was well over $1000.00 installed. From day one, I HATED it. Nothing looked clean. Food particles were stuck on everything. It was a disaster. I had to soak my dishes, glassware and silver over night in hot soapy water then, in the morning, load them into the dishwasher and turn it on immediately. There were always a few things that still had food attached! I could not afford to purchase a new dishwasher so I felt trapped. God Bless my daughter in law. She came to the rescue. I was telling her about my problem. She told me she had just tried a new Cascade product and it was wonderful. Since I had only used Cascade powder ever, I was a non believer. I saw this "new produce" in the store and decided to give it a chance. WOW am I ever a happy camper. It is wonderful. I now love my expensive dishwasher because with the complete packets, it works like a charm!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ruined my plastics!
1/8/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased 2 bags of the New Zealand Springs scent Cascade. It is AWFUL! All my plastic spatulas and storage containers taste like perfume! Unfortunately it took me a few weeks to notice where the bad taste was coming from. All baking I stored in containers that were plastic was ruined for Christmas. Any food that was stored in glass dishes with plastic lids was pretty much awful! So dissapointing! Doesn't P&G test this before they send it out on the market? I am now in the process of trying to figure out how to get this awful smell out of all my plastics AND my dishwasher!!!! My daughter also purchased the Berry scent and is having the same problem. My dishwasher is Stainless steel inside (all but the racks) but her's is plastic throughout....is there anything that will take out the scent? We have tried vinegar to no avail! Hope you can help me. I am not going to be purchasing cascade for a long time if ever because I am afraid of encountering problems again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Best Detergent, EVER
7/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've always used the store-brand liquid detergent, but since moving into my current apartment, the dishwasher just isn't that great and we have hard water, to boot. So store-brand started leaving film and wasn't really getting the job done. I always thought the ActionPacs looked neat, so that's where I went next, and I haven't looked back. My biggest fear is that Cascade will stop making them! lol Occasionally there will be some residual powder left on the bottoms of glasses on the top rack, but it's nothing major, and honestly I'd be surprised if there wasn't since there's no top-rack jet, so that I'm chalking up to my dishwasher. Otherwise it rinses super-clean and my good dishes absolutely sparkle when all is said and done. If you have stainless steel cookware as I do, you cannot do much better in the detergent department. I only have to polish it once a week now because the ActionPacs are so freaking good! They're a little on the spendy side, which I'm always kinda neurotic about, but it's worth it! Hands-down.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cascade Complete Pacs Cleans It All
9/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For years I've always "pre-washed" my dishes before putting them into the dishwasher. I always wondered why I even had a dishwasher at all, if I had to go to this much trouble before turning the dishwasher on. Even though I "pre-washed" the dishes, I often still found stuck on bits that I had somehow missed after the cycle was done. I just figured that it was how all dishwashers performed. Recently, I ran out of dishwashing detergent and my sister gave me a few of her Cascade Complete Pacs to try. She told me not to waste my time pre-washing, as the Cascade would clean everything on its own. So I put my dirty dishes in the machine without my usual pre-cleaning and turned it on. Much to my amazement, the dishes were sparkling clean when I took them out! No stuck on bits, no nasty water spots, just clean dishes! I've got to say, I've been wasting time for too many years. From now on, I'm going to let the Cascade Complete Pacs do all of the cleaning for me!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cascade Complete
7/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used Cascade for 40 years and love it. If it doesn't work for you or your dishes are not clean then it must be the dishwasher that isn't working correctly . Every time I have used it either the powder in the beginning years ago or now the Cascade Complete the dishes are just squeaky clean. The dishwasher we have in our new house is not a very good one so I have told my husband we need to replace so that the soap will distribute evenly and especially make sure that your spinner at the bottom nothing is blocking it. You must make sure all is correct with the dishwasher before you wash the dishes. Cascade can only clean as well as you load the dishwasher it doesn't work miracles if things are on top of each other and the dishwasher wasn't built for that. I have talked about this product so much and once in a great while tried other just to make sure I was right and wow luckily I only bought a small one of the others as I always went back to Cascade.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
worth every penny
5/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As a one income family with teenagers in the house, I had never tried Cascade. Recently, being particularly disgusted by the look of my glassware and the need to rewash half if not more of every load, I set out to purchase a name brand. I must tell you that as a shopper that needs to watch every dollar I stood for quite awhile comparing the prices and "claims" of the various products. I purchased the Cascade Complete which was, admittedly almost 3x the price of the generic. I loaded the dishwasher (And I do mean LOADED) and when the cycle was complete and I opened the door, I was literally blown away! I even called my husband to see the difference when compared to a glass that had been washed with the other stuff. I felt like I was in a TV commercial! I will never waste another dime on the "cheaper" brand, because if a product doesn't work, you have not saved anything. I haven't been this excited about a cleaning product in all my years of cleaning!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Solution
4/21/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have been using Cascade for decades, so several months ago when our dishwasher started leaving the dishes with stuck on food, undissolved detergent and hazy streaks we thought we were going to have to buy a new machine! We tried everything, thinking the spray jets were clogged we tried several strong chemicals to clean the dishwasher. Nothing worked. We began just hand washing everything. Yesterday I read about the removal of trisodium phosphate from the Cascade formula. I immediately retrieved my TSP, used to clean before painting, and added a tablespoon to the measure of Cascade I dumped into the dishwasher. For the first time in months my glassware came out sparkling! This formulation change is ill-advised and should have been addressed on the lack of data showing actual problems in the environment. TSP could cause a problem, but there is no valid data that, when properly analyzed, shows that dish detergent is a likely pollution source.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What happened to the old Cascade formula ! ?
7/14/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was a faithful Cascade Complete powder user many years ago. My dishes ALWAYS came out sparkling clean; without evening rinsing the food off I might add. I raved about it to everyone I knew. I moved and did not have a dishwasher for several years. Just recently I got a new one. Of course, I purchased my faithful Cascade Complete powder. But it didn't clean my dishes completely, and it left this white residue on most of them. The inside of my dishwasher was covered as well! The more I used the dishwasher, the worse it got. I used a rinse agent too. I am so, so disappointed. I checked with my friends and family to see what they said about Cascade. Everyone has stopped using it, because of the same problem. This includes the powder, gel and action pacs. What has happened to my old Cascade formula?? Please, please fix the problem and offer a product that will work like it used to. Cascade products cost too much to have such a poor performance!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Finally, The Product I've Been Waiting For!
11/10/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am so pleased with the performance of your new Cascade Complete dishwasher detergent! For years now we have fought with very hard water and its effects on our dishes. We've tried everything from special rinses to adding vinegar, borax, you name it. The end result was always the same: particulate junk stuck inside the top of the cups, dishes that should have been clean and just weren't. So frustrating! We even bought a brand new, top of the line dishwasher, figuring that maybe it was a problem with the unit. No good. Three weeks ago my husband brought home a bottle of the new Cascade Complete, and oh, my gosh, the difference in the dishes was immediate! No more junk in the cups, the shine on the plates had returned, and I didn't have to add anything other than the usual rinse solution! I'm sold! Even the stuck on food on the plates, which I normally would have had to scrub off, was gone. I am one happy camper! Thank you, Cascade Complete!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Phosphate free disaster
9/26/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I along with many others are pretty outraged by P&Gs decision to totally eliminate phosphates. This was an industry decision that had nothing to do with any laws in most states. I just cannot believe that in the last 40 years that this has been an issue that P&G has not found a solution. My specific case is hard water related where the first wash in the new phosphate free Cascade basically runied my everyday stainless utensils and Corel dishes. Yes with a lot of elbow grease I can get quite a bit of the white residue off but they are certinly not like before washing in Cascade. I am quite disapointed in P&G having been a loyal Cascade customer for over 30 years. I would have expected a lage company like P&G to come up with a solution rather than leaving the experimenting to us customers. You really need to review what ever policies led to this decision. Yes the industry group made the decision but you are the industry! Gimme a break!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641738, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-