Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1262 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

1262 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

1262 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1087
4 stars
54
3 stars
20
2 stars
22
1 stars
79
1-20 of 1262 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1262 total reviews
1-20 of 1262 reviews
No longer love Dawn.
8/9/2014

Customer review by mamalou

1.0 stars 8/9/2014 by mamalou
by mamalou

I have used Dawn dish liquid for years. I would frequently recommend it because of the way it cut grease. I can no longer do that because it has not been cutting grease for several years now. I asked several friends who used it if they felt it no longer did the job and they agreed. I had written my opinion at that time and noticed that there were many other people who expressed the very same sentiments about the product. I felt the reviews that still raved about it either had some of the old product or they were paid for their review. I cannot believe that a product that leaves a greasy film you can see and feel can possibly be doing a good job removing HEAVY oil and grease from wildlife. Even the bottle cap is not a good design. No matter how carefully it is poured and closed the bottle is always slick with soap that has leaked. Sometimes I can get enough suds just rinsing the bottle off. If I could find a product that cleaned like Dawn used to clean I would never buy Dawn again..

mamalou
Newnan, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Laminate Floor Cleaner
11/8/2012

Customer review by Patrm99

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by Patrm99
by Patrm99

My grandkids leave a trail of spilled food food & candy crumbs etc. on my new laminate floor every time they come to visit. I have tried several laminate floor cleaners, but they leave a flim on my floor or it doesn't look as clean as I like. Today, after the sprayers on 2 different cleaners broke. I was determined not buy anything else to clean the floor. I've used the Dawn Power Dissolver on tough food stains for my pots & pans and to clean my oven with great success, so I decided to take a chance and use my Dawn non concentrate dish detergent for the floors. I used a damp microfiber mop and just poured a small amount of the detergent directly on the mop and rubbed it into the mop head. It cleaned the floors perfectly!, removing the ground in bits of food that didn't come off with the vacuum. I used another microfiber mophead to dry each section as I went along. When finished my floors had a nice shine and a clean smell plus no film!! Now, I'll only use Dawn to clean my laminate floors.

Patrm99
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Worth every penny!
1/2/2012

Customer review by katselks

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by katselks
by katselks

I have never used Dawn dishwashing liquid before but it was on sale at the local drug store. I don't often do dishes by hand since I have a dishwasher and only used it a few times for minor dishwashing. Candied yams is a dish that we serve at all of our holiday meals and because the pan is a beast to get clean afterwards, I usually do them in a disposable aluminum pan. What I used this year was a high quality disposable pan, so I thought I would try to clean it and see what I had left. I soaked the pan overnight in regular Dawn dishwashing soapy water. Holy cow! In the morning, I just poured out the water and the pan was nearly clean all by itself! I have since gone on to clean the greasy cupboards, microwave and walls in my kitchen; even using it full strength on the greasy vent. There is no rubbing or scrubbing! It cuts the grease extremely well. I now have a new dishwashing liquid AND a new house cleaning product. You have a new customer for life! Thanks so much for making this incredible product!

katselks
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Has changed
9/26/2010

Customer review by Lelija

1.0 stars 9/26/2010 by Lelija
by Lelija

I have been using Dawn since it first came out on the market. I have noticed a change in Dawn that I don't understand.. It is not as good a product as it was in the past. I thought that I might haVE gotten a bad bottle so after I finished my last bottle I bought another. The product has changed and not for the good. It does'nt have the cleaning power that it use to, does not sustain it's consistency and works so much worse than the least expensive products. I* loved Dawn and would have sworn by it. I bought the product in two different stores to make sure it just was'nt a bad batch. What have you done to a product that I would have sworn by and recommended to others? If your trying to save a few pennies your going to loose loyal customers. I remember using this product forever can't even remember what I used before. Please give me back the Dawn I use to use, it was a pleasure to use it for cutting grease now it barely retains it's cocsistency to wash a few dishes. It's too bad, you've lost a loyal customer.

Comment from Monika - 9/28/2010

I'm sorry you're not as satisfied with Dawn as you have been for years. I'm not sure why your're not getting the same results as you're used to. The last formula change to the Dawn Ultra & Antibacterial versions was 5/2005. I hope you'll give Dawn another try!

Lelija
Calif
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product is great at cleaning dishes and so much more!
5/2/2014

Customer review by OnTheRoad

5.0 stars 5/2/2014 by OnTheRoad
by OnTheRoad

I have used various Dawn products for many years; in fact, it is the only brand I will purchase now. I had tried many other brands in the past. This is the first time I have purchased Dawn Ultra and have been so pleased with the results. Not only does it easily cut food particles stuck on dishes and grease from cookware, it is gentle on my hands. My hands are dry and I need to be careful with cleaning products I use. Dawn Ultra is very reasonably priced for the value it offers. There are many products that may be cheaper priced, but they do not perform as well as Dawn and I have to keep adding more to complete my dish washing, thus actually costing much more and being much less effective. It works great too on stains on clothing. A small dab rubbed in is all I often need to get the spot out. I also use a less concentrated amount for cleaning around my house--the stove top, kitchen cabinets and surfaces, bathroom surfaces, including the shower, and even washing my vehicle. The surface dirt and grime melt away; and it is easily rinsed off my car.

OnTheRoad
Sioux Falls, SD, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
A Time Tested Truly Top Product!
3/4/2015

Customer review by Doodledog53

5.0 stars 3/4/2015 by Doodledog53
by Doodledog53

While I'm writing this about Dawn Ultra in the original scent, I would like to emphasize my remarks apply to the lemon scented as well. It is wonderful to find a truly consistently great product. I can always, of course, count on Dawn Ultra to get my dishes clean and leave a fresh scent in the kitchen. It has staying power - the bubbles last and last thru heavy duty cleaning, where other brands fall short. I also like to use it to help remove grease spots in clothing (using it as a pretreat). Additionally we have found it effective as an all around cleaner on the farm or as an addition (teaspoon or so) to a homemade window cleaner recipe. I also find its use in cleaning oil off of wildlife very biologically friendly. Dawn Ultra works great too, when I use it to make a homemade bubble-making solution for the kids! All in all, I will keep using Dawn Ultra as long as it is offered in its current form/price. Thanks! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Doodledog53
Wentworth, MO 64873, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Laundry Stains
1/14/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I can't tell you how pleased and IMPRESSED I am with Dawn Ultra as a stain treatment!! My daughter got an oil stain on her new sweatshirt she got for Christmas. My mom told me to try Dawn, I thought she was nuts! She told me Dawn was used in the oil spill for the grease removal on the animals and birds. I had used Dawn in the past for dishes but would never think to use it for stains on clothes. So, I got myself a small bottle of Dawn Ultra and tried it. To my amazement the stain came out of the sweatshirt on the first wash! Then it worked on mustard - first wash! What got me though was the stain on a skirt I was going to toss. I had washed and dried the skirt a few times, the oil stain never came out. I figured, what the heck why not try the Dawn. Do you know, even after the skirt had sat in my room for months with the stain set in it came OUT!!! I have officially become the Dawn Ultra spokesperson for anyone who is looking for a stain spotter!!! Believe me when I say I have tried many laundry stain removers and soaps over the years. Dawn takes the cake hands down!!!

An anonymous customer
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dawn Works!
3/2/2015

Customer review by El61

5.0 stars 3/2/2015 by El61
by El61

I'm a long time user of Dawn and I wouldn't trade it for any other dishwashing liquid. It kills the grease with just a small squirt. I love seeing it chase the grease away when the first drop falls into the water. I have to tell you about the time my family and I were on vacation. We were staying in a condo and had to provide our own dishwashing liquid. I bought a cheaper brand because I didn't need a big bottle since we were there for a week (I didn't find Dawn in a travel size). With this cheaper brand, I had to give the bottle 2 long squirts and it still didn't work as well as Dawn. I brought that bottle home but I've hardly used it. I'm always reaching for the Dawn because I know it will clean just about anything quickly the first time around. As a mother, I'm concerned about leaving the world in a better place for future generations. That's why I applaud Dawn for helping to rescue wildlife with its grease-cutting effectiveness in times of oil spills. How many millions of birds and other marine animals were saved because of Dawn? You deserve a high-five! You're awesome! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

El61
Cupertino, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Since you can count on it to really wash your dog or cat or dishes it's great!
10/23/2012

Customer review by TamJam

5.0 stars 10/23/2012 by TamJam
by TamJam

As a Ragdoll Cat Breeder with a full grown Saint Bernard living in the house with us, you can just imagine the fleas we get! Well it is a lot easier to deal with them by # 1 giving each a bath with Dawn Original, make sure you leave the soap on the pet at least 5 minutes before rinsing off and also make sure you have fully saturated the pet in water first and then the Dawn Original Dish Detergent,Massage to work up a thick lather, leave on 5 minutes then rinse well and you will havea flea free pet. Don'y forget to treat all fabric areas inside your home! From curtains to rugs & bedding! #2 You can wash your most delicate China or rely on Dawn Original to clean your most greasy pan. It dosen't matter. It wii get it clean! #3For a cheap Bug Repellant you can make at home Take an empty spray bottle pour in 3 Tablespoons Dawn Original Fill the bottle up the rest of the way with lukewarm water, shake it up & spray buth sides of leaves & such that are being eaten by pests! Reapply after a goo rain or every few days. Works well with roses. Don't spray in intense sunlight though.

TamJam
Bloomington, IN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Skunk cleaner
8/13/2010

Customer review by Halo

5.0 stars 8/13/2010 by Halo
by Halo

Last night me and my dog - got sprayed by a skunk. If anyone knows the smell it is horrific. Gagging, unable to breath, gasping, nothing I ever imagined. Than the coating of the spray on dog fur and human skin, unreal. I was told that skunk spray is oily - so I went and grabbed Dawn (the one with the penguin on the front) and figured if it cleans oil off of wildlife it should do something for us. I scrubbed my dog all over with Dawn and rinsed. I scrubbed myself in the shower with Dawn - My hands are skunk stink free and the only smell on my dog is a faint odor. I can not believe how wonderful Dawn is. I thought I was going to spend a lot of money (I didn't have) but I didn't have to. I thought I would have to drive all over town to find a remedy that didn't include tomato paste or sauce. I found the solution at home. Thank you Dawn - now all I ask for is a spray to help clear the air in my house.

Halo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AMAZING Product
2/17/2012

Customer review by DanielleK

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by DanielleK
by DanielleK

My car was recently vandalized with spray paint and I was really dreading a big bill at the auto body shop and called around to an auto shop to see if there was a cheaper alternative. They told me mineral spirits, so off to the hardware store I went. But, in the parking lot, a man offered that Dawn Dishwashing Liquid and a soft dish scrubbing pad would get the paint off and not take my car's paint off. I was skeptical, but for maybe $4.00 total, I figured it was worth a try. I was amazed. As soon as I put the soap on the spray paint, it immediately lifted off. I hardly had to scrub at all. The trick seemed to be to use a dry scrubber and just soap. I rinsed it off and my car looks better than before. I've told all my friends and I will never buy anything but Dawn. I love that I can take your soap camping and not impact the environment, but this blew my mind. You've got a customer for life!

DanielleK
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A product that lives up to all its advertised claims!
3/3/2015

Customer review by chicknahaf

5.0 stars 3/3/2015 by chicknahaf
by chicknahaf

I have loved, used, and trusted Dawn for 30+ years. I'd been using it happily for its customary purpose: to wash dishes, when one morning my curious kitty came home drenched in motor oil...as if he'd stumbled into a pan of someone's drained car oil. I didn't want him to start licking himself clean; ingesting all that gunk when I thought, "Hey, Dawn takes out of your way." He wasn't happy about the actual bath, but purred and preened once dry and fluffy and oil-free. Years later, I heard they used Dawn to clean wildlife during the Exon-Valdez cleanup and thought, "Herbert and I could have told them that!" I've used Dawn ever since. 'Cause not only does it take grease out of my kitty's fur, not only does it smell fresh and clean, but Dawn does dishes like crazy! I really do love this product. Thanks for not changing it's basic formula - the part that works - over the years. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

chicknahaf
Chico, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Has this product changed?
4/12/2016

Customer review by nynnianne

4.0 stars 4/12/2016 by nynnianne
by nynnianne

I've been wondering if they have changed it it's not been working as good lately, it does not seem to be as strong at cutting grease and is harder on my hand's

nynnianne
Winslow az
Would recommend to a friend? No
dissapointed
7/28/2010

Customer review by kclee

1.0 stars 7/28/2010 by kclee
by kclee

I used and kept a constant stock of dawn on hand at all times for many years ,believed there was nothing better. But in the last three years or so I've seen the true quality of it dissapear. New and improved became watered down, having to use more and more to do what a little dab had done before. I have stopped buying it all together, and found a cheaper off brand that has done a good job, If you want to get back your loyal customers, you might wanna think about going back to the old formula, all these new ones mean nothing, they are mearly window dressing to disguise the lack of quality. The cloth washing detergent has done no more than give you half for more money. You still gotta use as almost as much. as before.I'm 62 and have used a lotta soap over the years and can tell theres a vast difference. Sorry you all jumped on the quanity instead of quality band wagon.

kclee
tampa fl area
Would recommend to a friend? No
Label Print Needs to Be Readible
8/22/2014

Customer review by CaptJune

1.0 stars 8/22/2014 by CaptJune
by CaptJune

My 77 year-old husband is an excellent grocery shopper since I am unable to do that chore. He has all his faculties but does require reading glasses from the local pharmacy. He also brings home the items from my grocery list which is accurate 99% of the time. BUT, there is one item which he always fails to bring home correctly. His favorite liquid hand soap for his bathroom is Dawn; but, guess what, there are very few people with eyesight good enough to read the labels on these products. AND, when you actually can read enough of that jibberish in the small type to know if it is dishwashing soap or hand soap your vision must be of some super power. Therefore, my husband probably likes to wash his hands in Dawn Ultra Dishwashing Soap because the Dawn label is printed so darn small we old people CANNOT begin to read it. What gives? I know people of the US and the rest of the world purchase enough Proctor & Gamble products that surely there is someone with P&G that could spend some time creating a label with larger print for us elderly eyesight challenged customers could read. What gives? Thank you for reading my gripe.

CaptJune
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Oil slick animals and kids
3/5/2015

Customer review by elaineo

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by elaineo
by elaineo

Dawn is the best for grease cutting. I use the Dawn with Olay in my hand soap dispensers. All three of the men at my house are mechanics and farmers, Dawn is the only product that will cut the grease. I used to use other products on my dishes, but after seeing that Dawn Original was used to clean up oil-slick soaked animals, I decided to try it on my dishes. I have been using this product for 42 years. I figured if Dawn could clean the animals and birds so well it would work well on my husband and sons hands. I decided to forego buying liquid hand soap and purchased Dawn with Olay. They all marveled at how well that "new pink soap" worked at getting the grease off their hands. I also enjoy having cleaner hand towels as a result of the effectiveness of this product. I am also pleased that money is donated by Dawn to the World Wildlife fund. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

elaineo
Fort Scott, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Unbelievably disappointed!
2/24/2013

Customer review by tattoogrl13

1.0 stars 2/24/2013 by tattoogrl13
by tattoogrl13

For some reason I can't find the Dawn I usually use in my town anymore so I had to buy something else. I didn't put much thought into it, just that I'd buy another Dawn product because they have always performed so well. The Ultra seemed like a good choice . . . until I tried it. I've never been so disappointed in a dawn product. Apparently the greasy dishes were too greasy for it to handle (I didn't know that was possible). Even after 3 washings the glass lid to my skillet would not come clean: there's a greasy residue that won't go away. The same is true for a brand new clear plastic storage container: it's part of a set, and next to the others that were not washed yet the difference was obvious. I changed the sponge and the water but nothing helped. After swiping my finger on my other "clean" dishes I found the same greasy film. I had to go buy another brand to get my dishes clean. I can't even ask for my money back because I trusted the Dawn name so much I didn't keep the receipt. The next time I travel to the neighboring city I will look for my old reliable and stock up. This stuff will go to the garage to wash the cars!

tattoogrl13
Sutherlin, OR, USA
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Great for hand wash and machinbe wash
10/23/2012

Customer review by Perfectionist

5.0 stars 10/23/2012 by Perfectionist
by Perfectionist

Dawn washes my dishes in the sink, and VERY diluted in the dishwasher. I know that you shouldn't use it in the dishwasher as it creates overflowing suds;but if you dilute it very well in water and pour a little into the machine your dirty dishes and cookware will come out sparkling clean!!! Forget costly specialty laundry products. I do a lot of hand wash as I am very poarticular about my things. I like them to last; and I buy good quality items only. Dawn to the rescue !!! This is the only procduct that I use in the sink as well as in the Maytag. It is fantastic. There are no cheap perfume smells eminating from my laundry room. Dawn was once recommended to me as a stain lifter for clothes and linens. I took that person's advice. As they say you can learn something from everyone. I am not sorry. And neither will you be if you use Dawn!!!

Perfectionist
The Southeast USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Saved my cats life.
12/3/2013

Customer review by MRWIZARD0808

5.0 stars 12/3/2013 by MRWIZARD0808
by MRWIZARD0808

I've seen the commercials featuring Dawn saving the lives of small ducks, geese and other little animals caught in an oil spill. Job well done. I never gave it a second thought until I needed to use Dawn to help one of my own little critters! Thanksgiving night I walked into my bedroom to find my cat, Mr. Wizard, huddled in the corner, panting with his tongue hanging out. I picked him up and realized that he was covered in lighter fluid (the kind used to light your BBQ). His skin was burning and he was suffocating from the fumes. I gave him a double bath using cold water and Dawn dish soap. He knew I was trying to help him, and he just sat still and let me clean him. The soap removed the the oil AND smell and made him ALL BETTER! Thank you Dawn! You really saved the day. Again. Yours Truely, Harison, Shannon, Mr. Wizard, Corky.

MRWIZARD0808
Tacoma, WA, USA
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Male
The Go-To Cleaner
3/2/2015

Customer review by Reeney26

5.0 stars 3/2/2015 by Reeney26
by Reeney26

After using many cheap, wasteful alternatives, I finally put my foot down and use Dawn Original for all of my hand-washed dishes. Additionally, I use it to supplement homemade cleaners for windows, floors, and carpets. It is a pre-and post- laundry treatment, as well as the cleaning component in my homemade liquid laundry detergent. I have used it on dogs and cats, when necessary, to remove the odors when tangling with skunks! Mixed with a bit of peroxide and baking soda, it is a great way to whiten yellowed fingernails (caused by dark nail polishes.) Combined with hot vinegar, and allowed to soak on tub and sink, it will remove all the greasy funk left behind by teenagers. In short, the ONLY thing we don't use Dawn Original for is cooking! Great product, great value, and myriad of uses around the home (and farm.) [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Reeney26
Southern Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
1-20 of 1262 total reviews
1-20 of 1262 reviews