Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 432 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

432 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
216
4 stars
144
3 stars
34
2 stars
19
1 stars
19
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 377 total reviews
Well worth the money
5/21/2010

Customer review by gbh1360

5.0 stars by gbh1360

I bought the bike last December and have ridden the bike over a thousand miles (avg. 15-40 mile rides)with the only maintenance cost was tires and C.0. 2 air inflater so far. There are a lot of reviews on sites that criticize the quality of the bike and i would say most of them have never even ridden the bike. I had not ridden a bike in many a years so i did not want to invest a large amount of money that they charge at the bike stores just to find out that I was stuck with something i would never use. I am 6'2" 260 so i am rating the bike as high as i can for the money you can't go wrong. There are plenty of videos on line that will help you set the bike up(tune up) or you can take it in and have and have them set the bike up for you. The bike i have was already assembled. Before you take the bike to a shop you might want to do a safety check set your seat and handle bars to a setting that is comfortable for you the shifting was a little stiff at first but i found that the the cables stretch out and it shifted fine with no further need to adjust for quite a while. The bike is heavy and the gearing ratio is not going to let you when any races, but if you need a bike to ride and enjoy for training and exercise i would highly recommend it. It has been an excellent started bike for me. The only other things i might recommend get a speedometer ($10.00) and helmet ($20.00) also C.0.2 air inflation tire repair kit ($30) extra tire tube($5) ( schrader valve is required) and enjoy the fact that you are getting the most bang for your buck. Hope this review is of some value to you.

Was this review helpful? (706) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gbh1360
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
11/9/2009

Customer review by DNrn2009

5.0 stars by DNrn2009

The main reason I purchased this bike was the PRICE, plus I liked the colors. So far I am satisfied on my purchase. I have ridden a total 25 miles so far and the bike works well. I am 6’5” and am glad to say this bike fits me perfectly. I have the seat about 3/4ths of the way up and the handle bars at the minimal insertion line. I am not a professional rider but the bike is a great starter bike. Out of Box: The majority of the assembly was easy since the back half of the bike was pre-assembled. After you assemble it you more than likely will need to bring it to a bike shop to have them tune it. The bike was way out of whack I couldn’t even ride it, I had to being it to them because I never adjusted a derailleur before and do not know how to true the wheels. I paid $40 for them to adjust the brakes, adjust derailleur, true the wheels and tighten everything (including what the factory assembled). The previous posts made comments on the brakes. They are acceptable, by that I mean they will stop you but the brakes are cheap, hard plastic so I will soon be upgrading them so I can stop better. Stuff you should know: This bike does not include the pedals that you can use cycling shoes (the ones that lock). Be prepared to make adjustments for the bike to be right. This bike does not have quick releases for seat and wheels.

Was this review helpful? (205) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DNrn2009
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great deal
5/19/2010

Customer review by TahoesFan

5.0 stars by TahoesFan

I have been looking at this product while researching others costing much more for some time now, including on Ebay and Craig's List. The price is incredible, so I was suspicious of the quality, difficulty in assembly, etc. I kept coming back to this product, however, primarily to read the reviews and remind myself of its features. The features and, most importantly, reviews finally convinced me to make the purchase. I picked it up last night at about 9 p.m. and then assembled it in about an hour. (It comes nearly assembled out of the box and only slightly nocked down.) The instructions are thorough, but to be candid (and I am not a big biker), I didn't need to more than glance at the istructions once to assemble the bike. Then, with some really easy adjustments to the brakes, it was all ready to go. I took it out on the road today, and it worked like a charm. Gear changing was a breeze. I thank all the prior reviewers who steered me to this steal of a product. Looks great and feels reliable too.

Was this review helpful? (150) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TahoesFan
Reno-Tahoe, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A Really nice bike for the money.
9/21/2009

Customer review by redwingjg

4.0 stars by redwingjg

I fell in love with this bike on Walmart.com and when I saw it I had to have it. At 6'1" I can get by, but this bike is really built for riders over 6'2". It is well put together and weighs in at 30lbs. ready to ride. So far I really like the bike, but I've only begun to ride it because of inclement weather since I bought it. Here are my opinions so far: the seat is very hard and became uncomfortable after only a few minutes of riding. I will have to change it out for a higher quality one. The brakes seem very good to me, though a person answering a question on this site said his were terrible on his '09 model. I do not like the quality of the shifting. The shifts are not positive and seem to take too long to accomplish. I know this is an entry level bike, so I'm willing to cut it some slack. I have not missed a shift thus far. Over all a really nice entry level touring bike. Just be aware that when riding this bike you will be bent over at the waist in a racing posture. If that's not what you want to do, then consider a hybred, with upright seating.

Was this review helpful? (132) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
redwingjg
Beautifel East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Killer Price for a Newbie to Road Bikes
3/28/2010

Customer review by AllRealMP

4.0 stars by AllRealMP

I spent the past week going store to store in major metropolitan area doing test rides. I spoiled myself by test riding bikes $800 - $1200. I was unaware that road bikes were quite so expensive and was shocked at these prices. The lowest priced road bike at the local bike stores was around $550. After realizing that budget was more important than brand name as I am new to the hobby I began searching online and found the GMC Road Bike. I wanted to find it at a local store so I could at least sit on it. I found it at a WalMart about 30 miles away and went to see it. I am 5'9" and find the bike an OK fit. It is not 100% ideal and better for taller users than my size - but is a consideration for the price. It was the last one available at the store and already assembled. The price for this last unit was $99. At the price this last unit was made available - it was a no brainer for a new user, still navigating the sport - to jump on this price. I took it for a first ride at a local biking area and kept up with the "pros." The breaks are "OK" and the gear shifting is "OK" in comparison to the other models (but that whats money gets you). I really liked the paddle style gear shifting on the more expensive bikes, but not for the price. The chain did pop on my first ride switching gears, but was able to get it back on quickly. Overall, worth every penny for a newbie to the sport. I'd rather spend the $99 to get into the sport and can always upgrade. I see road bikes always have a resale value of around this amount - so am confident this investment is a good one.

Was this review helpful? (50) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AllRealMP
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really can't be beat for the price
4/11/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I drive a isuzu trooper which gets about 9 mpg and i wanted to start biking to school and work instead of burning my money away on gas. So i went to a couple local bike shops in town and found two i liked. my favorite was a hybrid trek bike, but it was $480!! Im a broke college kid with stingy parents, so i was on my own. With this bike, i was thinking with the price, it must be junk.. I was very much mistaken, when i got the bike, i was very pleased. The bike looks good in the pictures, but its even more pretty in person. Im used to riding mountain bikes, so the set up with this road bike is very different. i didnt know that the seat was supposed to be level or HIGHER than the handle bars. for me it was weird at first, but i got used to it pretty quickly. so dont think the bike is too big for you, im 5' 10" and it fits me perfect. After a couple weeks of riding the bike, i took of the GMC stickers so i could put on my own.. bad idea. it looks like they dont completely finish the paint job under the bigger stickers, so i dont recommend it unless you have nicer looking big stickers to cover it. out of the box, it is very easy to assemble. Just attach the seat post, front wheel, and handle bar stem. The only negatives I would have to say is; the seat is kind of hard for long trips, (but what would you expect), a couple of the parts that come reassembled came loose within a couple times of riding (so dont assume whatevers assembled in the box is nice and tight) and- it might have been just mine, but the first time i rode my bike to school (7 miles downhill) when i got to school, walking into my first class i heard a "pssssssshhh" and the tube in my tire released allll my air. luckily theres a bike shop across the street that checked it out and said it was a defective tube, not really the bikes fault but just be aware of that small stuff. the PROs: very smooth shifting up and down hill, I can hit 40 MPH going downhill and still have enough tension on the pedals to go faster, the lowest gears allow very easy climbing for steep uphills, and the best thing- its really sexy! its a really good looking bike, GREAT for the money, and it seems like it will last me a looong time. so if your on a budget and cant afford a 500 dollar road bike, or you just want to give it a try, i really recommend this bike. its very fun, great value for the price, and very efficient.

Was this review helpful? (46) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Hilo, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome value!
10/10/2009

Customer review by Williams37

5.0 stars by Williams37

I bought this bike with site to store shipping, and it arrived a week earlier than it estimated. As soon as I got the bike, I had it set up by a bike mechanic. He got the brakes and derailluer's dialed in. We set the stem and seat height up for me and were done. My first impressions of the bike were great. I've ridden older road bikes like schwinn's and peugot's, and I instantly liked the GMC more than both. The bike is fast and comfortable. My first 8 miles have been smooth and I can already tell my cardio will improve with this bike. My only complaint with this bike is the handlebar setup. It isn't necessarily uncomfortable compared to traditional handlebar setups, but it definitely takes a ride or two to get used to it. I would 100% recommend this bike to anyone interested in getting into the sport. It has some bad reviews in forums, but I would expect people with $2000+ bikes to talk down on this bike. But honestly, your getting the same enjoyment as them, spending 10% what they paid. You wont regret buying this bike!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Williams37
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great deal!
4/26/2010

Customer review by pokechopsnapplesauce

5.0 stars by pokechopsnapplesauce

These are on clearance in WM stores for $100. It's an unbelievable price for a bike of this quality. I don't know why it's still more expensive online, but look in stores near you for the sale price. I'm 5'11", 225 lbs, and this bike fits me very well. It's a heavy bike, at around 31 lbs, but it is very easy to ride fast, and takes off like a rocket. I sold my high dollar Gary Fisher mountain bike last year, and I'm surprised that the quality of this bike is about equal with it. The tires are not true "road bike" tires, but more of a hybrid tire, having nice tread and more thickness to them. I'm surprised at how comfortable it is to ride, but I did put a cushioned cover over the torture device they call a seat, before I rode it. The only thing I'd change is that the brakes don't have safety levers, that allow you to brake both in upright and hunched positions, so if you ride with your hands on the top of the handlebars, where the shifters are, you must switch positions before you can brake. I'm overall very happy with it. Just a word of caution: Go over any bike you buy, to make sure everything is tight and straight. No matter where you buy, you never know who is putting these things together, and it would stink to find out on the road, that your gears, wheels or brakes weren't on right. This bike was put together ok, but did need some adjustments.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pokechopsnapplesauce
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A good first road bike
10/1/2009

Customer review by akhoi

4.0 stars by akhoi

I got it for two weeks now. At first I had a problem with the front derailluer. Took me three days to get it right. The bike is good enough for a starter, I guess, since this is my first road bike. Its cheap price makes up for its weight (30lb) and its hard riding experiment. I has to look for a new seat because it's so hard. But it certainly is a good looking bike since a lot of people I meet on the way to school told me so. Oh yeah, I am a 5'7" rider and it's a little bit tall for me, but I will be ok.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
akhoi
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Entry Level Road Bike.
7/19/2010

Customer review by jpilla

5.0 stars by jpilla

Warning.. Check your local Walmart for Price before you purchase online. I got mine for $139.99. Okay that was the bad stuff. Now to the good stuff. Thiss bike is worth what ever VALUE price you get it for. Its not going to give you a Tour to France, but it will give you a comfortable commute, a great workout and lots of enjoyment. All this bike needs when you get it is a basic safety tune up just like all bikes need. This safety tune shouldn't cost more than 40 bucks. This will ensure that your brakes, gears, shifters, cables, and wheels are secure and safe. This is the same thing that the thousand dollar bikes have to go through before they are peddled off. Don't get all caught up in the hype of names and advertisements. Just Ride Safe.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jpilla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid and meets reasonable expectations
4/24/2011

Customer review by RDjoe

4.0 stars by RDjoe

The bike is solid and the components all work fine with only a minimal need for adjustment. The Good: The paint is attractive The tires seem fine The shifters look nice and work well Seat is comfortable Good price wheels are fairly straight and true...especially for the price. The Bad: The decals are not well laid and I expect some to peel soon The inner tube on the rear went flat from a defect upon adding only 40 lb of air The shifter location cause you to have your hands on the upper part of the bar away from the brake levers so frequent hand placement changes are sometimes needed. - A pair of retro shifters with the dual levers would be a great improvement. No quick release wheels A little on the heavy side for an aluminum frame

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RDjoe
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
700C GMC Denali Men's
3/25/2010

Customer review by JRider

5.0 stars by JRider

Great bike, minor issues. PRO: I order online. The store assembled it. I rode it from the store to my house; 12 miles. Sweet ride, great California weather! CON: Once home, I raised the handlebars. I'm 6 feet tall and the handlebars need to be a little higher. Unfortunately they could only be raised safely about 1-inch. I utilized all 21 gears during the ride. About 3 or 4 of the higher gears slipped but that was to be expected. Walmart is not a bike shop. SUMMARY: Great product, great experience, great price! I bought it for recreational riding and I have not been disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JRider
Roseville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
NICE RIDE
9/22/2010

Customer review by RECBIKER

5.0 stars by RECBIKER

I looked a several shops and stores before buying this bike online. Read alot of reviews on this bike from different places to buy and they all were mostly for the purchase. Super easy to put together. Front wheel, handle bars and seat and your ready to go. Gears needed a bit of adjusting, but a step by step is available online that can save you the $30.00 bike shop tune-up fee. not super light, but a real nice ride for the price. I'd buy this bike for my sons. I now ride the 24 mile round trip to work and back on this bike 5 days a week. Order it...you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RECBIKER
Tucson, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent for light riding and interested looks.
7/15/2010

Customer review by LBKTriathleteGuy

3.0 stars by LBKTriathleteGuy

As in all things, you get what you pay for and you pay for quality. This bike is fitted with low-pressure Kenda tires, thin inner tubes, poorly-indexed Shimano Revo grip shifters intended for mountain bikes, and finicky derailleur cages. I used it 5 days per week for a 10mi round commute, as well as on weekends for 25+ mi rides for 8 weeks. During that time, I cleaned it every third day, lubed all spinning parts, adjusted derailleurs & brakes as needed and kept my tires right at 85 psi (specs as on sidewall). The left Revo broke some internals after frequent use and rendered the three chainrings useless (left me with just the 38 tooth middle ring), the front derailleur would not stay adjusted despite being well set, the rear brakes were soft at every level of adjustment. Not everything was bad, though. The front brakes were exceptional for the price, using a vertical pull, single pivot cantilever. The frame is incredibly heavy (about 23 lbs without wheels) but is durable and stable while cornering. If you're between 5' 10" and 6' 3" the bike is an excellent fit, the saddle is firm (good for longer rides or faster cadences), the bike accepts a rear rack well, and the knurled pedals are good for tennis shoes. Don't expect to get race-ready with this bike, or to commute quickly every day. But if you'll take it slow, maintain it faithfully, and have reasonable expectations, the bike will turn lots of unknowing heads. A poor buy for me, who got a road bike to train for a triathlon, but a great bike for someone looking for something different and no aspirations to race.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LBKTriathleteGuy
Lubbock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
College Commuting Made Easy!
8/25/2010

Customer review by Bryzinho

5.0 stars by Bryzinho

I'm a college athlete. I ride my bike to school everyday. I wanted to invest in something that would really save me money fast in transportation and this bike has already payed off in the first few weeks! What's even better is that its a comforatable, fast, and enjoyable ride. Very affordable bike that is totally worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bryzinho
Placentia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2nd GMC Denali 26" Men's Bike (2nd one)
1/8/2011

Customer review by NotSoPsilos

4.0 stars by NotSoPsilos

Just awesome bike. Good stopping power on the brakes. Since this is my second Denali here are a few tips. Get the bike, comes in a box partially assembled. For best riding experience don't even bother putting the thing together yourself. Take the box it comes in (a big, rectangular box maybe 5 feet X 4 feet and being 8 inches thick) to your nearest bike shop. A tune up is about 45 dollars but a full body overhaul is around 65-100 dollars depending on demographic location and what kind of bikes they sell. The full overhaul includes a professional tune up. After around one to three months you will need another tune up (first time only) because the metals, chains and everything tends to break in and stretch. After that only need one tune up per year. I am telling you the difference is night and day. The bike is well worth it. I ride almost everywhere and I ride it rough. When in Philadelphia City sometimes I will run with bikes in the subways and trains which is allowed if they are not busy.....if I sometimes miss the train I will run with the bike up the stairs onto the main road and catch the train from the next stop. The bike is light weight for the price. It's a great bike. I have two more people who are buying this bike after seeing mine. This is my second one. I just wish they had the black one back again. The yellow is OK if you like more sporty than sharp. I like the sharp look. CONS: the seats could be better.....cheap seat metal and material but over all you get much more than you pay for. (NEVER tell a bike shop how much you paid for a bike. The work and prices sometimes varies from person to person and you never want to let them know that they can milk you for your money. Hope it helps.)

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NotSoPsilos
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pretty Good
2/8/2011

Customer review by richards1

4.0 stars by richards1

My feelings toward this bike are conflicted. I only paid $100 for it, and I have to say that for 100 bucks I can't complain at all. I have put a little over 300 miles on the bike just riding once a week a little over 25 miles each. I just got in to biking, and this bike got me hooked. I am now looking to upgrade, but not because of any great flaw in this bike. I simply need something with the capability to attach aero bars for triathlon purposes. I am probably way too short for this bike to be honest at just 5'7", but I was able to make some seat adjustments and body position adjustments and it worked just fine. Most of the time i was blowing by people on bikes that were upwards of $2000. I attached one of the handle bar computers to clock distance, speed, and time and have hit a max speed of 37 mph. Not too shabby. This bike is going to be just fine for a beginner, and honestly people that aren't obsessed with the name on the side of their frame. I will be upgrading to the Triace here soon.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
richards1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great bike, don't trust assemblers
6/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

First of all this is a great bike for someone that has common sense; by that i mean... This is not a $500 bike it is a $169 bike. If you want top of the line equipment buy the $500+ bike if you want good solid reliable and good quality equipment buy this one. I bought this bike knowing the quality of most chain store "techs" is marginal at best. I did not even sit on the "ready to ride" bike before checking it over. The tires were at 20 psi (rec. 50-75 psi) and the front derailer cable was not even tight enough to try working, after a good check and tuning ,the gears are good to go. However much like the shifter style this bike is geared for some serious hill climbing or someone who likes their feet moving at the speed of light, me i prefer more top-end minded gears even in the hilly area i ride. The brakes are a hard compound that work good on hilly rides but if you only have short city commutes go to a softer compound. The bar wrap is nice but you may want gloves for padding. Over all this is an excellent bike for the price, even after the $45 most folks will have to pay to have the bike tuned and wheels trued, its not the lightest or fastest but for a serious weekend warrior or a cheap serious rider its most certainly a good choice.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Three Rivers, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This bike is a Winner
7/23/2010

Customer review by NewTrekker11

5.0 stars by NewTrekker11

First of all, I am only 5'2" and this bike is a little big for me, but not dangerously so...so smaller people need not be afraid of this bike...I love this bike...have always had mountain bikes but after a short 5 mile ride, i will never go back to a mountain bike again...The only thing that i can complain about is the brakes, as in previous reviews, they are not the best...but i am a newbie to the sport and did not want to spend the big wad of cash for a road bike at a bike shop...This bike cost me $99...and so far is worth every penny! I am going out and buying my daughter the same bike..

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NewTrekker11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing bike for less than $500
7/4/2010

Customer review by asdgfkthye

5.0 stars by asdgfkthye

I bought this bike 6 months ago to train for a half-ironman triathlon. It has not stopped short of exceeding all my expectations. Trying to find a bike to train & race on for less than $500 to $700 in a bike store was near impossible. When I told my pro-cyclist friend I got my bike at walmart he laughed. . . until he saw it, then he was shocked and impressed. For the money you cannot find a better new bike. It has a well constructed frame and decent components. It is also relatively lightweight. The chain came off on my first few 30+ mile rides, but then a friend set up the derailleurs properly and have not had a problem since. I hit 750 miles total before hitting another problem, burst inner tube. I took the bike in for a $40 tune-up and everything is better than new (as they took the bike apart and set it up better than I did - big respect ot the guys at Dicks sporting goods). 750 miles is a lot to ask from a bike without even a chain oiling so this bike is a trooper. I am 5'8" with a short lower body and average upper body. I have to lean the bike slightly to stand on both feet flat foot. The frame length is appropriate. I would reccomend this to anyone looking to get their first road bike, or a replacement bike without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
asdgfkthye
orlando, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 377 total reviews