Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 549 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

549 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

549 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
452
4 stars
60
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 stars
11
1-20 of 493 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 493 total reviews
1-20 of 493 reviews
Fantastic Toy
1/3/2010

Customer review by NishaP

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by NishaP
by NishaP

I was going to buy another similar toy but this caught my eye, my favorite color is purple. I looked at it and thought it was the perfect toy for my now 5 month old. I read that it would say your child's name and thought to myself, "Oh, it wont say my baby's name." Boy was I fooled. My daughter's name is Sanaya and it says her name so well. I was so excited i just kept pressing the paws, lol. There is a different spelling of her name but I changed that. Even though she is just 5 months old, i like that she hears it say and spell her name. Whoever designed this toy is amazing. I could just literally hug them. :)

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NishaP
Franklin, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing!
1/16/2011

Customer review by MJP1123

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by MJP1123
by MJP1123

My mother bought Violet for my daughter when she was only a few months old. She is now 14 months old and Violet is like her best friend. She sleeps with Violet every night and she knows exactly which paw to press for bedtime music. It is so great because you are able to customize Violet to your child's liking. You choose favorite color, song, food, and can also customize it to say (and sing) your childs name. It is overall the best toy that my daughter has.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MJP1123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE
1/2/2010

Customer review by ACMCKC

5.0 stars 1/2/2010 by ACMCKC
by ACMCKC

This toy is absolutely adorable! I highly recommend this toy from ages 1-5, for sure. It superceeded my expectations based on the price. I got my nephew one for Christmas and I fall in love with it. I went back and got my 2 year the girl "Violet" and she loves it. It was very easy to download, maybe 10 mins. tops. My daughters name is spelled a little different so I wasn't sure if it would have her name. It didn't have her spelling but it did have it in a different spelling. Being you can listen to the name before downloading it, I picked the name that sounded like hers but changed the spelling of her name in the box. So when Violet spells her name out, she says it right. I total love seeing her little face light up when Violet says her name... She is even spelling her name with her new puppy. It's way to cute! The puppy's voice is very soft also. It says everything very clear. I have to say this was one of the best toys she got for Christmas. My 5 year old said she wanted one because it's so personalized. Great toy

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ACMCKC
Lake Butler FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME Product!
11/18/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this item for my niece last year for Christmas. I carefully got it out of the box, took out all of the computer accessories, and set it up on my computer. I read several reviews on it prior to purchasing it, and knew that Violet sang the child's name, but I was really worried it would not have the spelling of my niece's name (Maddison). To my surprise, it did (as well as many others)! The program to set it up was easy to use. I got it all set up, then turned it completely off, carefully arranged all of the items back into their original places in the packaging, and wrapped it up. Christmas morning, she opened it up, I flipped the switch, and instantly Violet was singing her name and mentioning her favorite color and food! It is a perfect gift for toddlers!! Here it is a year later, and she is STILL playing with it!! I highly recommend it, it's the PERFECT gift!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Violet
11/22/2009

Customer review by Mary427

4.0 stars 11/22/2009 by Mary427
by Mary427

The toy is a good toy, but like the other reviewer that gave a poor rating, my Violet did not connect to the computer and run the program as it said it should. I tried another USB cable, though, and it WORKED just as it should. This is a very inexpensive toy, and the USB cable is not a quality cable. I tried my digital camera cable and it worked IMMEDIATELY. I tried Violet's cable with my camera, and it did not work. There is something wrong with the USB cable. Don't give up on the toy until you try another cable. It might work for you too!

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary427
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very disappointed
12/29/2014

Customer review by EJLe

1.0 stars 12/29/2014 by EJLe
by EJLe

I wanted this product because it could be customized - not only with name and favorites, but also by changing the music. I opened it and hooked it up only to find out that this new version no longer allows you to customize the songs!! I downloaded the software that supposedly allows this customization, to find that the software requires a USB, but the new version comes only with a microphone jack hookup. In addition, the box states that it has 40+ songs. I find this very hard to believe as we've had this 3 days already, and have definitely not heard 40 songs, We haven't even heard 20 and have heard all of them many times. While my daughter does enjoy the product, we wanted something we could change so that none of us got sick of the same things over and over. I'm extremely disappointed. It was a huge mistake to make this update to the product. If we hadn't already opened the product, I would return it. We already have the Fisher Price Laugh and Learn Puppy. It's essentially the same thing now.

EJLe
Would recommend to a friend? No
This is the best toy ever for a child!
11/5/2009

Customer review by WVFelicia

5.0 stars 11/5/2009 by WVFelicia
by WVFelicia

My Pal Violet is great. It was so easy to plug into my computer and download more songs and to have it say her name, and sing a song with her name and all her favorite things in it. My daughters name is Alyssa and the mypal violet sings and says her name so clear. I would highly recommend it and will be giving these out to all the little ones for christmas thats on my list.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WVFelicia
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this toy!!
8/30/2009

Customer review by MissMarie123

5.0 stars 8/30/2009 by MissMarie123
by MissMarie123

My daughter got this toy for her first birthday. Very easy to set up! You program the childs name and favorite food and color ect. My daughters name is Avery and it speaks her name very clearly! I was very superised of the quality of the features and I have to say it may be the most awsome toy i've ever seen! And the price? I think the toy is worth WAY more!

Was this review helpful? (66) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissMarie123
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great learning toy!
12/27/2015

Customer review by singlemom2014

4.0 stars 12/27/2015 by singlemom2014
by singlemom2014

My son got this as a gift for Christmas. He is 20 months old and he loves it. He had gotten something similar to this (but w/o the features) for his birthday and he didn't play with it much. This toy that is not the case. I love how it says his name and the color he likes. I just plunged it up today and customized it. When i turned it on and it said his name his face lit up! I only wish it had not abilities to customize and change but for what you pay it is a great toy!

singlemom2014
Morristown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wish they still sold the old version
6/9/2015

Customer review by Armymedic7588

3.0 stars 6/9/2015 by Armymedic7588
by Armymedic7588

I was really excited to give this toy to my 1 year old daughter. And while she does love it and plays with it everyday, I wish it was the older version and I would've known beforehand that it does not do the same things as the pervious version of the MyPal. Yes you can customize this with the child's name, favorite food and things like that, but the older version you were also able to pick which songs it plays and other things. I didn't know until now (a few months after buying it) that you are not able to further customize it. I downloaded the computer app and everything and only when I called customer support did they explain that it can only do the name and things like that. It no longer is able to be further customized because they switched to an audio jack as the connection to your device instead of a normal USB plug. So overall I still like it, but if the older version was able to do more why mess with a good thing? Still cute though!

Armymedic7588
Northern NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad BUT
12/27/2015

Customer review by PrestonsAsh

3.0 stars 12/27/2015 by PrestonsAsh
by PrestonsAsh

I like the previous one with the usb, but this is alright i guess. needs to be able to customise the songs, and what is the deal with the GIANT battery pack that is a huge struggle to get into the toy, nearly burst a vain struggling to do it.

PrestonsAsh
Preston, England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Christmas Present for my daughter
11/29/2010

Customer review by gabstersmommy

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by gabstersmommy
by gabstersmommy

I got this on black friday for a Christmas present for my daughter. I program it already and it is so cute I want to give it to her now. LOL It say her name which is spelled different but it has a list of names that are similar and said the same. Like her name is spelled Gabryelle instead of Gabrielle. It even sings a song were it spells her name and when it first started I thought it would spell it with the i cause that is the name I had to pick on how to say her name and it didn't. It spelled it with the y. I was very happy. It was so easy to program and set up.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabstersmommy
Angola, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not for me
11/25/2015

Customer review by ShopaholicMom017

2.0 stars 11/25/2015 by ShopaholicMom017
by ShopaholicMom017

We got the My Pal Violet as a gift. First of all, you need access to a computer and internet like most Leap Frog toys. When trying to personalize the toy for my daughter, we realized that only the most common names were programmable. If your child has a unique or ethnic name, you WILL NOT be able to program their name. You will have to choose a generic pet name like "Princess", or "Cupcake". My child just wasn't interested in Violet after putting all that effort into programming it for her. It was such a let down because we truly love & enjoy most Leap Frog products. The only purpose it served was at bedtime, we did play the bedtime music for her to fall asleep to.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopaholicMom017
Would recommend to a friend? No
Multiple purchases, love it!
12/21/2015

Customer review by MSDinBama

5.0 stars 12/21/2015 by MSDinBama
by MSDinBama

I've purchased this product in the past for my other nieces and nephews and this educational bear never gets old and never stops helping children learn while also having a ball! They learn their name and how to spell it, it has fun songs to sing along with and it even has that go to music when you I needed my niece or nephew to lay down and take a nap.....they would cuddle with it and just listen to the music until they fall asleep. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MSDinBama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow, great toy for the money!
12/28/2015

Customer review by Rhea

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Rhea
by Rhea

This is adorable! and does so much! My two year old grand daughter LOVED it! Excellent purchase!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rhea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Impressive
12/29/2015

Customer review by Lori

4.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Lori
by Lori

Very educational toy. Child can grow with you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lori
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE IT! It's my 1 year olds FAVORITE toy!
10/19/2011

Customer review by HaleighAndKhloesMommy

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by HaleighAndKhloesMommy
by HaleighAndKhloesMommy

I got this toy for my daughters first birthday. She fell in LOVE with it very quickly! She loves when it sings her name! She just lights up! She now can't go to sleep unless I put it on bedtime music! I love that you can put it on for 2, 5, or 10 minute play. I just wish that it didn't talk before the music starts. When you push the button it yawns and says "two minutes of bedtime music" "5 minutes of bedtime music" "10 minutes of bedtime music" so right before the 10 minutes is up if she isn't asleep I have to push the button to keep the music going but it talks which peaks her interest.... and if I wait til the music stops to hit the button it still talks again making her open her eyes and look at the puppy... but that said it is still SOOOOOOOOO worth it! That is the only flaw!! My daughter must take it with her everywhere... she freaks if we start walking out the door without it lol!! Definitely a must have toy!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HaleighAndKhloesMommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely love Violet
12/15/2015

Customer review by ProudMomma11

5.0 stars 12/15/2015 by ProudMomma11
by ProudMomma11

I bought scout for my daughter when she was born. I actually bought Violet for family because I loved scout so much. My daughter is four now and she still plays with scout. I love the fact that you can help the toy grow as they grow. As their favorites change, you can update the toy to do the same. The pronunciation of names is really close. And the installation of the program on to the computer is super easy. Very happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProudMomma11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Vilot.
12/26/2015

Customer review by Jrjr

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Jrjr
by Jrjr

She loved it. Soon

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jrjr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So cute
11/21/2013

Customer review by autumn2000

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by autumn2000
by autumn2000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased Violet for my one year old granddaughter. I am impressed at how simple it was to hook up to the computer and download her name, favorite food and color and I liked that I could pick out daytime songs and nighttime songs to download. It only took a minute. My granddaughters name is Jacki and Violet says her name very clearly and uses it often. She will get this for Christmas and I am sure she will love it. I think her sisters will also. I know I do.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
autumn2000
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 493 total reviews
1-20 of 493 reviews