Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 541 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

541 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

541 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
445
4 stars
62
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 stars
12
1-20 of 479 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 479 total reviews
1-20 of 479 reviews
Almost a year later he loves it
5/13/2013

Customer review by Offums

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by Offums
by Offums

I bought this for my son when he was six months old. He started out by only looking it when the bow tie lit up, but now that he's fifteen months old he can press the buttons himself and loves to hear Scout say his name. Absolutely adorable. If this one ever breaks I would not hesitate to buy a new one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Offums
Pearl City, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My daughter loves it!!!
1/21/2011

Customer review by emmiesmommy1113

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by emmiesmommy1113
by emmiesmommy1113

My mom actually had me order this online as a birthday present for my daughter. I love that I can go on the computer and change the songs on it with the leapfrog program. I love that it says her name, too. The only thing I don't like about it saying her name is it sounds like it is asking, not stating, but her name is some-what unusual so I can't expect it to be perfect. I'm not sure how educational this really is. My daughter is 14 months and hasn't learned anything from it yet. She does love the bedtime music and I love that I can set it for 3 different lengths. Battery life is great. I think I've changed the batteries once, if at all, and it just recently ran out of battery life. She received another dog toy for Christmas that is very similar to this one but a different brand and no customizable features and it is so sensitive. If the surface it's sitting moves at all, it turns on. I like that you actually have to push the buttons on this one. It makes it so that battery life is not wasted if you forget to turn it off by the switch.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emmiesmommy1113
Military town, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Leap Frog Does it Again!!!!!!
1/23/2010

Customer review by MonkDoodle

5.0 stars 1/23/2010 by MonkDoodle
by MonkDoodle

This is, hands down, the best product of its kind. My son in 20 months old. He goes to bed holding Scout and wakes up asking, "where 'Cout?" It is a very clever toy. I think the personalization factor is what puts it so far ahead of its competitors. My son loves playing with Scout because Scout knows his name and knows all of his favorite things. My friend's daughter has Violet and she gives Violet the same review I'm giving Scout. The low price is just icing on the cake. This is, by far, the best toy my son received this Christmas! (Thanks, Santa!)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MonkDoodle
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
liken it:)
9/15/2010

Customer review by jeo17

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by jeo17
by jeo17

my son loves his new toy..he will set and play with it for along time and that is good for him cause he is always on the run..i am very happy with it:)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeo17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Best Gift EVER!
12/26/2009

Customer review by superstarfrog

5.0 stars 12/26/2009 by superstarfrog
by superstarfrog

I bought this for my two year old and my one year old. My one year old isn't quite into it yet, but my two year old absolutely LOVES it!! Especially when it says his name, which it does quite often. It took no time at all to get everything downloaded. Quick and simple. Best gift he could have ever gotten and VERY worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
superstarfrog
Sioux City, Ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Scout is new best friend!
1/5/2014

Customer review by 4x4Chevy

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by 4x4Chevy
by 4x4Chevy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Grandson loves him! Keeps him entertained.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4x4Chevy
Fairplain, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/12/2013

Customer review by welovejace

4.0 stars 1/12/2013 by welovejace
by welovejace

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
welovejace
mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great toy for your money
7/6/2016

Customer review by Idoitmommy

4.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Idoitmommy
by Idoitmommy

I got this toy for my one year old for Christmas, he immediately felt in love with it. He love that it says his name. I kind of think that is how he learn his own name. He loves pushing on all four paws, each paw has something different, I love "5 minutes of bedtime music" great for naps. He has learn a few of the songs just by playing with it, he also likes that you can push twice to skip to the next song. Getting personalize was super easy with an ipad, I tried setting it up with my Samsung galaxy and it wouldn't communicate. You can change the stuff that says as their taste changes. Not sure if it was my phone or the toy. The one thing that drives me nuts is the light on his collar, there nights when my son decides that he has to sleep with his doggy. The light is so bright that lights the room up and makes it very difficult to put your child to sleep. Maybe install a switch for the light Otherwise is a great toy for toddlers.

Idoitmommy
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Toy
9/7/2009

Customer review by DLM3262

5.0 stars 9/7/2009 by DLM3262
by DLM3262

First off this toy is so darn cute! It comes with a USB cable to go online and customize the dog to say your childs name as well as favorite food, color and animal. You can also select five "daytime" songs and five "nightime" songs to program the dog to play from a list of 30 songs. You can select the "nightime" music to play for 2, 5 or 10 minutes which is a nice feature. There is an activites mode in which it teaches counting, favorite color, feelings and animal noises. There are two levels of volume control although I feel the low level could be a little softer. On a side note there was a recall on the original one in which there were decals on the paws instead of the new stitched paws. If you have one that has the decals they can come off per the website. I am extremely happy with this purchase and well worth the small price tag. As of yet my son has not played with it (just got it today) but I am sold and I am sure he will be too.

Was this review helpful? (42) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DLM3262
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buy the one with the USB Cord
7/6/2016

Customer review by JeffN

1.0 stars 7/6/2016 by JeffN
by JeffN

We got this for my daughter, and it is unable to be programed. you are supposed to connect it to your iphone and run through the promps but the little dog just keeps say Go to WWW. Blah Blah Blah.... waste of an Hour trying program this!

JeffN
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very disappointed
12/29/2014

Customer review by EJLe

1.0 stars 12/29/2014 by EJLe
by EJLe

I wanted this product because it could be customized - not only with name and favorites, but also by changing the music. I opened it and hooked it up only to find out that this new version no longer allows you to customize the songs!! I downloaded the software that supposedly allows this customization, to find that the software requires a USB, but the new version comes only with a microphone jack hookup. In addition, the box states that it has 40+ songs. I find this very hard to believe as we've had this 3 days already, and have definitely not heard 40 songs, We haven't even heard 20 and have heard all of them many times. While my daughter does enjoy the product, we wanted something we could change so that none of us got sick of the same things over and over. I'm extremely disappointed. It was a huge mistake to make this update to the product. If we hadn't already opened the product, I would return it. We already have the Fisher Price Laugh and Learn Puppy. It's essentially the same thing now.

EJLe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Messed up when we attempted to change the things
7/15/2012

Customer review by rebeccasmommy2012

2.0 stars 7/15/2012 by rebeccasmommy2012
by rebeccasmommy2012

I bought this for my daughter in December 2011 for her birthday. She LOVES LOVES this toy and we have had to take him everywhere. We decided today to change out the things he says and the songs it plays etc. for some reason it completely messed up. At first he would only say half of his dialogue now all he does is bark with a word here and there. Unfortunately we are going to have to buy another one because she loves him so much. The price is reasonable so I dont mind I just hate that he only lasted a little over 8 months. I have emailed the leapfrog customer support people and am waiting to hear back from them to see if there is a fix for this issue before we buy a new one. Dont get me wrong this is a great toy and I think any kid would love it. I just wanted to give my experience with it so other people can make a sound purchase without worry. So overall it was a good buy but not very good quality as far as the electronics in him go.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rebeccasmommy2012
Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this Toy!
9/16/2009

Customer review by mom25kidzz

5.0 stars 9/16/2009 by mom25kidzz
by mom25kidzz

This is a great new Leap Frog toy. It was easy to install the program and add my son's personalized information..favorite food, color, music, and name. The voice is so cute when it says your childs name. His face just lit up like "wow is that dog really talking to me". It is not scary at all. We love it and would highly reccommend it.

Was this review helpful? (60) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom25kidzz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice toy
6/20/2016

Customer review by Justin

4.0 stars 6/20/2016 by Justin
by Justin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this for my son because my nieces had one (plus Violet, the purple one). He is 18 months and loves it. He figured out what buttons to press and talks to Scout and sing along. He goes to bed with Scout because Scout has a 5 minutes of bed time music mode. Downside is the blue light that flashes when Scout talks is very bright (think bed time). Also, my nieces tore theirs up pretty well, though they are working and still loved.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Justin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful toy!
1/3/2013

Customer review by MamaRae81

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by MamaRae81
by MamaRae81
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my son 2 years ago, and he loved it so much (still sleeps with it every night) that I decided to purchase it for my nephew (11 months) for Christmas. I ordered online and my sister picked it up at her local Walmart in San Diego the same day! My nephew loves his puppy just as much as my son does. I love that it can be personalized and changed to introduce your child to different music and vocabulary, colors, and animals. After 2 years of ownership there are only 2 things that are slightly annoying. Scout gets dirty but you can't put him in the washer (obviously, because of the computer), so the best you can do is a spot clean here and there. And the batteries are difficult to change. We haven't had to do it very often, but it's difficult when required. But, those 2 small things are not enough to deter anybody from this toy. Best toy for a preschooler I have ever found, and after 3 kids, you can bet we have tried a bunch!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaRae81
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price
6/22/2016

Customer review by Strawberryhart

5.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Strawberryhart
by Strawberryhart
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 2 year old grandson loves it and how it says his name.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Strawberryhart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Adorable talking puppy!!
12/31/2009

Customer review by ChaseMommy

5.0 stars 12/31/2009 by ChaseMommy
by ChaseMommy

We bought Scout for our 15 mo. old son for Christmas and pre-programmed it so it was ready to go on Christmas morning. I can not say enough how impressed I am with this product. It is very quick and easy to personalize online with your child's name, favorite color, food & animal and you can change those preferences as your child grows. My son's face lights up every time this little dog says his name, it is so cute! There are plenty of songs you can select online as well; your child can listen to daytime or nighttime songs which are also changeable anytime. There are also very cute songs that incorporate the child's name, spelling and favorite things--so cute! I am very impressed with this toy and think it is worth more than the price tag. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (21) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChaseMommy
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
WOW - AWESOME PRODUCT!
11/30/2011

Customer review by dianeandjohn

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by dianeandjohn
by dianeandjohn

This toy EXCEEDED my expectations for sure! For the price and for what you get - it is TRULY worth every penny! My 15 month old son just adores Scout! We first introduced the Good Night Scout Book to him at bedtime and then I decided to get him Scout the Stuffed Dog! Leapfrog makes GREAT products for kids and for learning! The thing I love the most about this dog is you can personalize it by simply hooking it up to your computer and everything it does says your child's name! How cool is that?!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dianeandjohn
Stoney Creek, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wish they still sold the old version
6/9/2015

Customer review by Armymedic7588

3.0 stars 6/9/2015 by Armymedic7588
by Armymedic7588

I was really excited to give this toy to my 1 year old daughter. And while she does love it and plays with it everyday, I wish it was the older version and I would've known beforehand that it does not do the same things as the pervious version of the MyPal. Yes you can customize this with the child's name, favorite food and things like that, but the older version you were also able to pick which songs it plays and other things. I didn't know until now (a few months after buying it) that you are not able to further customize it. I downloaded the computer app and everything and only when I called customer support did they explain that it can only do the name and things like that. It no longer is able to be further customized because they switched to an audio jack as the connection to your device instead of a normal USB plug. So overall I still like it, but if the older version was able to do more why mess with a good thing? Still cute though!

Armymedic7588
Northern NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Scout is the best!
7/18/2010

Customer review by aleroy

4.0 stars 7/18/2010 by aleroy
by aleroy

Scout gets more kisses than I do, my son loves him so much! He's easy to program and you don't have to pay anything to download the songs onto him. He comes with a cable and instructions. I was very impressed by the options you can choose, there are tons of foods and animals to pick for the favorites, including ethnic foods. The only reason I'm givine it 4 stars (and it would be 4 and a half if I could) is because he's not easy to clean. The voice box doesn't come out so you can't just trow him in the washer. After all the slobbery kisses, I might have to get a new one cause he's getting kinda grimy. But there's no way he's going in the trash, he's too loved. :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aleroy
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 479 total reviews
1-20 of 479 reviews