Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 530 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

530 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

530 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
438
4 stars
59
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 stars
11
1-20 of 468 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 468 total reviews
1-20 of 468 reviews
Almost a year later he loves it
5/13/2013

Customer review by Offums

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by Offums
by Offums

I bought this for my son when he was six months old. He started out by only looking it when the bow tie lit up, but now that he's fifteen months old he can press the buttons himself and loves to hear Scout say his name. Absolutely adorable. If this one ever breaks I would not hesitate to buy a new one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Offums
Pearl City, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My daughter loves it!!!
1/21/2011

Customer review by emmiesmommy1113

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by emmiesmommy1113
by emmiesmommy1113

My mom actually had me order this online as a birthday present for my daughter. I love that I can go on the computer and change the songs on it with the leapfrog program. I love that it says her name, too. The only thing I don't like about it saying her name is it sounds like it is asking, not stating, but her name is some-what unusual so I can't expect it to be perfect. I'm not sure how educational this really is. My daughter is 14 months and hasn't learned anything from it yet. She does love the bedtime music and I love that I can set it for 3 different lengths. Battery life is great. I think I've changed the batteries once, if at all, and it just recently ran out of battery life. She received another dog toy for Christmas that is very similar to this one but a different brand and no customizable features and it is so sensitive. If the surface it's sitting moves at all, it turns on. I like that you actually have to push the buttons on this one. It makes it so that battery life is not wasted if you forget to turn it off by the switch.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emmiesmommy1113
Military town, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Leap Frog Does it Again!!!!!!
1/23/2010

Customer review by MonkDoodle

5.0 stars 1/23/2010 by MonkDoodle
by MonkDoodle

This is, hands down, the best product of its kind. My son in 20 months old. He goes to bed holding Scout and wakes up asking, "where 'Cout?" It is a very clever toy. I think the personalization factor is what puts it so far ahead of its competitors. My son loves playing with Scout because Scout knows his name and knows all of his favorite things. My friend's daughter has Violet and she gives Violet the same review I'm giving Scout. The low price is just icing on the cake. This is, by far, the best toy my son received this Christmas! (Thanks, Santa!)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MonkDoodle
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
liken it:)
9/15/2010

Customer review by jeo17

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by jeo17
by jeo17

my son loves his new toy..he will set and play with it for along time and that is good for him cause he is always on the run..i am very happy with it:)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeo17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Best Gift EVER!
12/26/2009

Customer review by superstarfrog

5.0 stars 12/26/2009 by superstarfrog
by superstarfrog

I bought this for my two year old and my one year old. My one year old isn't quite into it yet, but my two year old absolutely LOVES it!! Especially when it says his name, which it does quite often. It took no time at all to get everything downloaded. Quick and simple. Best gift he could have ever gotten and VERY worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
superstarfrog
Sioux City, Ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Scout is new best friend!
1/5/2014

Customer review by 4x4Chevy

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by 4x4Chevy
by 4x4Chevy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Grandson loves him! Keeps him entertained.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4x4Chevy
Fairplain, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/12/2013

Customer review by welovejace

4.0 stars 1/12/2013 by welovejace
by welovejace

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
welovejace
mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Toy
9/7/2009

Customer review by DLM3262

5.0 stars 9/7/2009 by DLM3262
by DLM3262

First off this toy is so darn cute! It comes with a USB cable to go online and customize the dog to say your childs name as well as favorite food, color and animal. You can also select five "daytime" songs and five "nightime" songs to program the dog to play from a list of 30 songs. You can select the "nightime" music to play for 2, 5 or 10 minutes which is a nice feature. There is an activites mode in which it teaches counting, favorite color, feelings and animal noises. There are two levels of volume control although I feel the low level could be a little softer. On a side note there was a recall on the original one in which there were decals on the paws instead of the new stitched paws. If you have one that has the decals they can come off per the website. I am extremely happy with this purchase and well worth the small price tag. As of yet my son has not played with it (just got it today) but I am sold and I am sure he will be too.

Was this review helpful? (42) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DLM3262
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice learning toy but misleading info
12/25/2015

Customer review by LovinNC

4.0 stars 12/25/2015 by LovinNC
by LovinNC

My wife and I bought this toy for our 1 year old for Christmas. It does what it says so no problems there. The only two issues, and why I didn't give it 5 stars, is the battery pack/voice module is actually quite large and you have to shove, bend, twist the box to get it back into Scouts body and reattach the Velcro. The second issue, and more important, is the packaging claims you can hook Scout to any device to configure him. No you can't. You have to configure Scout from a computer because he connects to a 3.5mm headphone jack and he needs to be the ONLY input/output device connected. Meaning the output sound carries the configuration instructions to Scout. If the sound comes out of your speakers, which it will on a phone or tablet, Scout isn't getting the instructions and he will not program correctly. So overall a good toy, but leapfrog dropped the ball when stating any device could configure him.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovinNC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My son absolutely loves this toy.
1/25/2016

Customer review by Alisha

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Alisha
by Alisha

My mother got my son this toy when he was only five months old. He learned quickly how to press the buttons which helped in excel with other toys. He loved when it would say his name and sing to him. It doesnt sound robotic which i love. Very soothing voice. When he turned 1, he started singing to him. Now he is 3 and a half and still sleeps with scouts music and shows him off to his friends which love it to. I buy this toy for almost any baby shower i go to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alisha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very disappointed
12/29/2014

Customer review by EJLe

1.0 stars 12/29/2014 by EJLe
by EJLe

I wanted this product because it could be customized - not only with name and favorites, but also by changing the music. I opened it and hooked it up only to find out that this new version no longer allows you to customize the songs!! I downloaded the software that supposedly allows this customization, to find that the software requires a USB, but the new version comes only with a microphone jack hookup. In addition, the box states that it has 40+ songs. I find this very hard to believe as we've had this 3 days already, and have definitely not heard 40 songs, We haven't even heard 20 and have heard all of them many times. While my daughter does enjoy the product, we wanted something we could change so that none of us got sick of the same things over and over. I'm extremely disappointed. It was a huge mistake to make this update to the product. If we hadn't already opened the product, I would return it. We already have the Fisher Price Laugh and Learn Puppy. It's essentially the same thing now.

EJLe
Would recommend to a friend? No
The perfect stuffed animal
1/19/2016

Customer review by Happymomma

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Happymomma
by Happymomma

My son got this for Christmas of 2015 & has hardly put it down since. I've never seen him take to a toy this much & this long! He's 1 and a half and he's always carrying it around with him. He loves that it says his name, favorite food, color and animal. This is a perfect toy for little ones! I love seeing him pack it around and laugh and smile at it! Not that exspensive either!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happymomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Messed up when we attempted to change the things
7/15/2012

Customer review by rebeccasmommy2012

2.0 stars 7/15/2012 by rebeccasmommy2012
by rebeccasmommy2012

I bought this for my daughter in December 2011 for her birthday. She LOVES LOVES this toy and we have had to take him everywhere. We decided today to change out the things he says and the songs it plays etc. for some reason it completely messed up. At first he would only say half of his dialogue now all he does is bark with a word here and there. Unfortunately we are going to have to buy another one because she loves him so much. The price is reasonable so I dont mind I just hate that he only lasted a little over 8 months. I have emailed the leapfrog customer support people and am waiting to hear back from them to see if there is a fix for this issue before we buy a new one. Dont get me wrong this is a great toy and I think any kid would love it. I just wanted to give my experience with it so other people can make a sound purchase without worry. So overall it was a good buy but not very good quality as far as the electronics in him go.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rebeccasmommy2012
Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great learning toy!
12/27/2015

Customer review by singlemom2014

4.0 stars 12/27/2015 by singlemom2014
by singlemom2014

My son got this as a gift for Christmas. He is 20 months old and he loves it. He had gotten something similar to this (but w/o the features) for his birthday and he didn't play with it much. This toy that is not the case. I love how it says his name and the color he likes. I just plunged it up today and customized it. When i turned it on and it said his name his face lit up! I only wish it had not abilities to customize and change but for what you pay it is a great toy!

singlemom2014
Morristown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this Toy!
9/16/2009

Customer review by mom25kidzz

5.0 stars 9/16/2009 by mom25kidzz
by mom25kidzz

This is a great new Leap Frog toy. It was easy to install the program and add my son's personalized information..favorite food, color, music, and name. The voice is so cute when it says your childs name. His face just lit up like "wow is that dog really talking to me". It is not scary at all. We love it and would highly reccommend it.

Was this review helpful? (59) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom25kidzz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wish they still sold the old version
6/9/2015

Customer review by Armymedic7588

3.0 stars 6/9/2015 by Armymedic7588
by Armymedic7588

I was really excited to give this toy to my 1 year old daughter. And while she does love it and plays with it everyday, I wish it was the older version and I would've known beforehand that it does not do the same things as the pervious version of the MyPal. Yes you can customize this with the child's name, favorite food and things like that, but the older version you were also able to pick which songs it plays and other things. I didn't know until now (a few months after buying it) that you are not able to further customize it. I downloaded the computer app and everything and only when I called customer support did they explain that it can only do the name and things like that. It no longer is able to be further customized because they switched to an audio jack as the connection to your device instead of a normal USB plug. So overall I still like it, but if the older version was able to do more why mess with a good thing? Still cute though!

Armymedic7588
Northern NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad BUT
12/27/2015

Customer review by PrestonsAsh

3.0 stars 12/27/2015 by PrestonsAsh
by PrestonsAsh

I like the previous one with the usb, but this is alright i guess. needs to be able to customise the songs, and what is the deal with the GIANT battery pack that is a huge struggle to get into the toy, nearly burst a vain struggling to do it.

PrestonsAsh
Preston, England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful toy!
1/3/2013

Customer review by MamaRae81

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by MamaRae81
by MamaRae81
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my son 2 years ago, and he loved it so much (still sleeps with it every night) that I decided to purchase it for my nephew (11 months) for Christmas. I ordered online and my sister picked it up at her local Walmart in San Diego the same day! My nephew loves his puppy just as much as my son does. I love that it can be personalized and changed to introduce your child to different music and vocabulary, colors, and animals. After 2 years of ownership there are only 2 things that are slightly annoying. Scout gets dirty but you can't put him in the washer (obviously, because of the computer), so the best you can do is a spot clean here and there. And the batteries are difficult to change. We haven't had to do it very often, but it's difficult when required. But, those 2 small things are not enough to deter anybody from this toy. Best toy for a preschooler I have ever found, and after 3 kids, you can bet we have tried a bunch!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaRae81
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful
1/9/2016

Customer review by Booski1

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Booski1
by Booski1

Great for growing babys/kids

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Booski1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leapfrog my pal
1/9/2016

Customer review by Eric

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Eric
by Eric

Help my grand baby to know his name and color

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eric
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 468 total reviews
1-20 of 468 reviews