Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

21 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

21 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 20 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Hard to enjoy
2/3/2010

Customer review by CoffeeNutz

2.0 stars 2/3/2010 by CoffeeNutz
by CoffeeNutz

Pro's Makes a GREAT cup of coffee. Impressive features: * (2) Mr. Coffee glasses: They are nice! But most people drink they're coffee out of ceramic mugs, not glass * Cool milk frother, works rather well Cons The press itself fell apart the first time I used it! When gently pulling up on the plunger, the handle popped off with the plunger still in the press. It doesn't seem to be attached very well. I've used it for 4 weeks and maybe twice it hasn't come apart. There is a black plastc stand on which the press rests upon between the counter top and the bottom of the press. This stand has four tabs that keep it attached to the press itself. Three of them broke causing the stand to be flimsy and unusable before I used it the first time. The handle seems like cheap, thin plastic. The Milk frother requires 2 AA batteries! ..For a Milk Frother!? I actually was excited to buy another Mr. Coffee product. I have a Mr. Coffee auto-drip and a coffee bean/spice grinder that work great, however, I will be writing to the manufacturer about this sadly designed, disappointing product.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoffeeNutz
Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Broken Item
1/25/2010

Customer review by Sams1fan

3.0 stars 1/25/2010 by Sams1fan
by Sams1fan

I was so excited to get this french press. When it arrived I could only think of making a fresh pot of coffee. It was, however, broken around the rim. I went to return it and order another, but there didn't seem to be any in stock. I was quite disappointed to say the least. Shipping suggestion - check all items prior to sending out and put fragile on the outside of the box...

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sams1fan
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Awful design
8/25/2010

Customer review by Andrewmac

1.0 stars 8/25/2010 by Andrewmac
by Andrewmac

I bought this product to replace the French press that got knocked off the counter by my daughter. I bought the previous French press at Wal-mart as well. It was a good one. I miss that French press. This French press is terrible. My old one had all metal hardware. This is mostly wimpy plastic. The hardware that attaches the plunger to the filter is plastic. Actually the plunger screw is metal, and it screws into plastic. A metal, small groove screw into a plastic nut. Not good. It fell apart the first time I used it. Also, the (plastic) base fell off this morning. I hate this French press so much that I went here to warn others. This product should be discontinued immediately. Bring back the French press you used to sell, Wal Mart!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Andrewmac
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
12/28/2009

Customer review by SassyStyler

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by SassyStyler
by SassyStyler

You've never tasted a great cup of coffee til you've made coffee in a press. My friend has always made me coffee with his. I got hooked and got my own! The frother is an added bonus & is really neat to froth the cream.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SassyStyler
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/13/2011

Customer review by coffeedrinker27

3.0 stars 1/13/2011 by coffeedrinker27
by coffeedrinker27

the bottom broke off 2 days after we opened it

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coffeedrinker27
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
don't buy this one
8/27/2010

Customer review by jmpearson

2.0 stars 8/27/2010 by jmpearson
by jmpearson

I'm an engineer so I'm a pretty handy guy. My first one broke on the 3rd use because of a poor plunger design. The second one had it's glass container crack at the bottom when I poured hot water in. Imagine that! This product is not worthy of your shelf space - I highly recommend you buy a different brand. I am taking back my second one this morning.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jmpearson
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not the greatest
12/2/2010

Customer review by visiongirl85

2.0 stars 12/2/2010 by visiongirl85
by visiongirl85

i purchased this product for my husband for his birthday, and after about 3 or 4 uses the plunger stripped off the disk at the bottom. we still use it, but it is a pain to get the pump out after you pour out the coffee. i would recommend choosing a different french press than this one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
visiongirl85
Pleasant Hill, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Buy something else
5/25/2011

Customer review by TheShortbus

1.0 stars 5/25/2011 by TheShortbus
by TheShortbus

The most cheaply made piece of junk I have ever seen from Mr Coffee. Spend a little more and get a quality Bodum brand press that is actually made to last. I used to equate the Mr Coffee brand with decent quality, not anymore.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheShortbus
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor Design
4/8/2010

Customer review by bhardin1

1.0 stars 4/8/2010 by bhardin1
by bhardin1

I have been looking for a French Press for quite a while. I've been to 6 different stores and finally discovered this Mr. Coffee version here on Walmart.com. I was very excited when I got it today. Within the hour I had a mug full of coffee and some milk frothed. I went to clean the Press and the plunger came apart in the bottom of the press! I am very displeased with this poor quality. Spend a little extra and find yourself a Bodum French Press instead.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bhardin1
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
simple and easy to use
1/12/2011

Customer review by bams123

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by bams123
by bams123

I recently bought this due to my traditional coffee maker dying on me. A friend had a French Press and me being an avid coffee drinker, was really interested in owning one. It is affordable, easy to use and clean and is nice looking! I love my French Press and have recommended it to others!!!! Since I'm the only one in the house that drinks coffee, I make a full pot, drink what I want and stick it in the fridge and reheat later...sooo simple!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bams123
Fort Wood, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Well worth the money.
7/18/2010

Customer review by DaveInIraq

5.0 stars 7/18/2010 by DaveInIraq
by DaveInIraq

Worth the price, works flawlessly and if I lost it or broke it, I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaveInIraq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Defects and poor design
12/12/2011

Customer review by JaySSS

1.0 stars 12/12/2011 by JaySSS
by JaySSS

Horrible design and manufacturing. The handle wasn't welded onto the metal body frame in two spots (there should have been four welds). Because of this the whole unit was wobbly as I lifted it by the handle. The instructions specify to unscrew the handle from the base to thoroughly wash all parts. The big problem with this is handle rod has thin metal threads, and where it screws in is plastic. It never screws back in properly and you wind up forever stripping the plastic. I'm returning to Walmart asap for a refund. Am very disappointed the Mr.Coffee brand would put out something like this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JaySSS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Replacement Parts
12/27/2011

Customer review by Beandog

4.0 stars 12/27/2011 by Beandog
by Beandog

I need a new part. The very bottom is a plastic wheel with a projection that broke. Cannot find any mention of the french press on the Mr. Coffee website. HELP. Otherwise the pot is good for the price, about half of bodum. One thing I noted is that the glass container fits both the bodum and Mr. Coffee. Problem the glass replacement is almost as expensive as the whole Mr. Coffee pot. Would love to know if Mr. Coffee carries replacement carafes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beandog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Buy
6/29/2011

Customer review by VaultBoss

4.0 stars 6/29/2011 by VaultBoss
by VaultBoss

The french press is great for the money. However, I could do without the "tiny" little glass cups. All in all, it's a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VaultBoss
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
French Coffee Press
5/3/2011

Customer review by DrBobJones

5.0 stars 5/3/2011 by DrBobJones
by DrBobJones

It's everything I expected. The price was low and it included a milk frother and two glass coffee cups. I also use it for making tea.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrBobJones
Vian, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great french press
2/16/2010

Customer review by CrAzYaRmYwIfE

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by CrAzYaRmYwIfE
by CrAzYaRmYwIfE

I got this for my husband who works outside almost all day. Its perfect! He can have fresh hot coffee anytime he wants it! He only uses the frother when he makes me coffee, tho. I do have to add that the frother accidentally was soaking in the sink for like 2 hrs with batteries in. When I took it out, I took out the batteries and let it dry. It still works! Overall, this is a great product and my husband and I are very happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrAzYaRmYwIfE
Eglin AFB, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrific Coffee!
9/7/2010

Customer review by SeaBreezeWoman

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by SeaBreezeWoman
by SeaBreezeWoman

I was reluctant to buy this given the reviews, but I took the chance and am so glad that I did! The coffee is phenomenal, and I've had no problems with the pot. I wish that I had purchased this sooner. Delicious!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeaBreezeWoman
Eastern Shore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love my new French press!
4/9/2010

Customer review by dfraniew

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by dfraniew
by dfraniew

This is the smoothest, richest cup of coffee ever! I don't know if I'm supposed to or not but I heat the water directly in the carafe in the m-wave to just boiling. I then add the coffee and let steep for 4 minutes before pressing. Works great -the carafe is holding up fine after many uses. And this way the coffee is reallllly hot -- just the way I like. Also, the glass mugs are nice and love the milk frother thingy. Cool product and great value!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dfraniew
Pass Christian, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Yummy coffee
8/22/2010

Customer review by merrill

4.0 stars 8/22/2010 by merrill
by merrill

Bought this for coffee while camping and have continued to use it at home. Makes very tasty, not burnt, coffee. Just as easy to brew as with a coffee maker but does have a higher likelihood of grounds showing up in your cup... This is to be expected with a French press from what I understand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
merrill
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
10/30/2010

Customer review by sisnk

1.0 stars 10/30/2010 by sisnk
by sisnk

The glass part of this pot was broken when I opened the box. It was not well packaged. A lot of trouble for nothing!!! Item was returned to store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sisnk
Waco, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female