Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 33 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
I love this camera!~
10/23/2009

Customer review by mickeyjck

5.0 stars 10/23/2009 by mickeyjck
by mickeyjck

I was turned on to this camera doing a search and looking for reviews. What they say is true, it is the smallest DSLR camera that I have ever seen, and the quality not only of the materials used, but the quality of the camera itself impress me. I couldn't wait to get this camera so I went to my local Walmart to buy it and they only had one there. I didn't get the 2GB memory card for free, but I did take advantage of the special offers for the additional lenses. For the price, you can't go wrong. This little DSLR works wonders, I give it two very enthusiastic thumbs up!~

Was this review helpful? (52) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mickeyjck
Waynesville, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy for the money
1/17/2010

Customer review by OwlSayDesigns

5.0 stars 1/17/2010 by OwlSayDesigns
by OwlSayDesigns

I LOVE this camera! This is my first DSLR camera. I've had several point and shoot cameras before this one. I had a very top of the line Nikon Coolpix, Kodak and then a not so great Samsung camera. I needed a camera that would allow me to be more versatile in taking product picture shots for my online business. I could get by with the point and shoots I had before, but this camera absolutely blows me away. I never realized that the cameras I was using before did not accurately represent the colors of my products while viewing online. When I retook some product pictures with this new Olypmus, the colors were crisp, vibrant and very true to real life. So far, my favorite feature is being able to adjust the flash. You can even choose from 1/4, 1/16 or 1/64 flash. This is perfect for choosing the correct flash for your lighting situations to make sure your pics come out true to color every single time. I'm also amazed at the shutter speed. It takes very rapid pics of my 2 year old, and I've been able to catch silly faces that I'd otherwise been missing with the delay in my other point and shoot cameras. Like others have said, it is very light weight. I can take up to 100 product shots in one day and it's not cumbersome or heavy at all. Some of the other DSLRs I handled felt bulky and were too hard to handle with one hand (and I'm 5'8", so not exactly petite). For my use, all of the buttons are in perfect positioning. I'm not accidentally setting the timer, for instance, when I'm holding the camera to take a shot (a problem I've had with other cameras). The Live View mode is a little more difficult to use than a point and shoot, but it's more accurate. It does not shutter as fast when it's in live view mode either. And it definitely drains batter power. I've been sticking to using the view finder. All menus and buttons are logically laid out so it's easy to find what you need to be able to quickly adjust settings. I think it's the absolute best value for the money and it's just as awesome as an $800 Nikon. Especially for a new DSLR user.

Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OwlSayDesigns
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cool Camera
11/6/2009

Customer review by WinstonS

5.0 stars 11/6/2009 by WinstonS
by WinstonS

I bought this small DSLR for my wife who loves shooting pictures of my son. Excellent very small lens with power for 28mm wide angle because she love landscape shots, and will zoom equal to 84mm for people pictures. Image quality is superlative. We have the 40-150mm lens which is pocket sized and zooms in to a 300mm equivalent of my clunky old 35mm lens. We can fit both lenses and the camera into my wife's purse. The sports mode and 3.5 frames-per-second shooting mode works great at my son's soccer games. This was a killer value at $399 for the camera with second lens for $99 and it is simple to use. A great DSLR for the money! Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WinstonS
Memphis, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I LOVE my new camera!
12/7/2009

Customer review by CmeRamzEE

4.0 stars 12/7/2009 by CmeRamzEE
by CmeRamzEE

We ordered this camera before a trip to washington for thanksgiving, it arrived just in time. I started taking pictures right away and fell in love with this camera. If the camera is on the right settings your pictures come out great, so if you have never used a SLR digital camera before read the manual it helps.With two very young kids traveling with this camera wasn't too bad becasue it is small and fits just about anywhere. I was able to take my own pictures for christmas cards this year, and the pictures turned out better than I expected. You will not find a camera this good for the price, trust me we did the research.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CmeRamzEE
Modesto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great starter SLR
11/10/2009

Customer review by pamchs

5.0 stars 11/10/2009 by pamchs
by pamchs

I have been looking at SLRs now for about a year. I dont know much about photography, but I wanted to start learning more. This camera is very user friendly and has settings for just about everything! I couldnt beat the price even with a used SLR. great for a person who wants to start taking awesome pictures!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pamchs
Wausau WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera
1/10/2010

Customer review by 82detroit

4.0 stars 1/10/2010 by 82detroit
by 82detroit

I have owned this camera for several weeks now and I love it. I bought it knowing nothing about SLRs and have learned a lot since. The manual is cumbersome and not always clear. There is some noise when you zoom in on a picture taken at a high ISO, but overall it takes great pictures. An excellent buy for your money.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
82detroit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I wanted!
4/8/2010

Customer review by allaboutbabygirl

5.0 stars 4/8/2010 by allaboutbabygirl
by allaboutbabygirl

I love this camera. I was tired of my cheapo digital camera that missed the shot I wanted every time. I hated the delay that caused me to end up with pictures of the back of daughter's head, etc. I talked to a friend of mine that is a professional photographer and for what I wanted he recommended the Nikon. I was in the store about to purchase it when another shopper told me he had just bought this Olympus over the Nikon and how he loved it and it's a little less expensive. I took his word, bought this one and have been taking pictures like crazy since. I love it and the pics are beautiful no matter what! Not to mention that all my pics are of my sweet little girl. Anyway, this camera is great!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
allaboutbabygirl
Double Springs, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Dad's First Camera
1/3/2010

Customer review by EthanAJS

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by EthanAJS
by EthanAJS

He loves it, takes pictures with ease every day. Good guides included with the camera to help you get started. Great zoom as well! Tons of options for pro and new photographers. Great for a first DSLR

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EthanAJS
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everything I expected!
8/10/2010

Customer review by mckaylively

5.0 stars 8/10/2010 by mckaylively
by mckaylively

After much, much (and I may add exhausting) research, I decided on the Olympus E-420, primarily because the price was right for a brand new DSLR. Not to mention the included Olympus M+ 2GB xD-Picture Card. Although I purchased this camera because the price was on the lower end of competitors, I couldn't be happier with the camera. It's quick, responsive and downright easy to use. There's also plently of tweaking and manual adjutments that can be made by the veteran user. I'm still learning the various (and numerous) settings and adjustments. I love the scene options, which adjusts the necessary settings to optimize specific scenes. For example, the camera has eighteen different scenes to choose from, including full auto, sunset, active children, night shots, and sports (among others). I am very happy with the scene selections, as it allows for great pictures with various settings, while not having to actually tweak the settings myself. It's great that the camera does it for me! I'm also happy with the shutter time and lag with this camera. My past digital cameras have been of the point-and-shoot variety, which always aggravated me because of the lag time between pictures. There is a small lag time (around three seconds) for the camera to auto-focus if the lens is zoomed in. This is especially noticeable in dim lighting. With that said, there is virtually no lag between shots with the lens fully retracted (not zoomed). I love that! This is surely the best feature in my eyes. As for picture quality, I am so far satisfied. I have developed 150 pictues so far and I'm happy with the color reproduction in each one. As for the Olympus M+ 2GB xD-Picture Card, it is noticeably faster in processing than my "old" Olympus M 2GB xD-Picture Card. The difference is the "+" after the "M." The "+" increases the processing speed. Overall rating? Excellent! Highly recommened for someone looking to enter the DSLR market at a truly affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mckaylively
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Olympue E 420
7/14/2010

Customer review by 12020mike

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by 12020mike
by 12020mike

Great value. Small size with great features.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
12020mike
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
awesome camera for the price
12/1/2012

Customer review by poorbucks

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by poorbucks
by poorbucks

After searching on and off for about a year looking for a point and shoot camera, with very little success, I happened upon this one. I thought it was a misprint on the price (close out). I immediately researched this product through professional reviewers and buyers as well, and quickly went back to buy it. So far this camera is flat out awesome, takes great pictures and has easily exceeded my expectations. After reading the manual, which is very informative, getting used to the features is becoming much easier. I expect to use this for many years.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poorbucks
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Price, Good Product
12/28/2009

Customer review by SpouseandMomma

4.0 stars 12/28/2009 by SpouseandMomma
by SpouseandMomma

I was really excited to go buy this camera. The reviews were very helpful and I decided this was the best bang for my buck. After using the camera for three weeks I have decided to return it and purchase another camera instead ( I am think the Canon Rebel or the Nikon D3000 or D40). The pictures this camera takes are wonderful and full of detail, but I can't always get the camera to take the picture. It just keeps zooming in and out and making focul adjustments, but never takes the picture. I dont know if this is my inexperience preventing the shot, but the picture will be perfectly clear, in a well lit environment and still nothing. I bought this camera to take pictures of my 3 month old and 95% of the time I miss the initial shot I wanted. If you aren't trying to take pictures of small children, or moving objects I think you will love this camera, but if you are, I suggest either going with a different DSLR or just getting a really good little digital.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpouseandMomma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
6/6/2010

Customer review by bcs48

4.0 stars 6/6/2010 by bcs48
by bcs48

This was purchased after browsing in the store after getting intertested in photography. I already had a point and shoot Panasonic that was given to me by my sons before returning to Iraq in Oct. '07 and it served my purpose for that type of use (i.e. traveling, going thru airports, passport control, etc,). Since this purchase I have used it for all kinds of pics and have not been disappointed with anything. It takes some practice to learn how to use all the modes. I really don't see any reason to stray from the "auto" mode unless you encounter low light conditions. This camera struggles in low light in auto. It is fun to explore all the different modes and setting you can use. Also, when I purchased it in Oct. '09 the price was 399 so it was not too expensive. Olympus has been around for a long time, but always in the shadow of Canon and Nikon. There products are just as good, but not as expensive. This is a good camera!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bcs48
Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
one nice camera
1/18/2010

Customer review by cubbies2010

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by cubbies2010
by cubbies2010

This camera may be inexpensive compared to Nikon and Canon but the features make it wonderful for someone that is entering the world of DSLR photography. The live view is there for those who like it but I have not used it yet. I received this as a gift and my kids are sure putting it to quick use. I have not had time to experiment with all the manual settings or most of the auto settings but there are many. I couldn't be more pleased with my camera. My next purchase will be one of the telephoto lenses.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cubbies2010
fort wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera
6/3/2010

Customer review by hailey0704

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by hailey0704
by hailey0704

This camera does not miss a beat! It takes great pictures for the money... even from faraway you will not miss any good shots.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hailey0704
Cedar Rapids Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
6/9/2010

Customer review by pabloncho

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by pabloncho
by pabloncho

I got the camera last month so far so good, take very sharp and clear pictures, sometimes takes a while to get the shot..but is my first time with a SLR camera so I guess I still need to learn how to use it properly, I know Canon and Nikon are better but for the price this camera works pretty good and is one of the only ones that basically have a live shot, the Nikon D300 and the Canon for around that price don't have it,if you are used to your compact digital camera you should look at that...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pabloncho
Redondo Beach,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great DSLR
1/26/2010

Customer review by TheStevensFamily

5.0 stars 1/26/2010 by TheStevensFamily
by TheStevensFamily

This is my first experience with a DSLR and I am so pleased. The pictures have turned out great. It is easy to use. I haven't figured out all the bells and whistles yet but that will come with time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheStevensFamily
Jefferson City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Camera
12/9/2009

Customer review by jabeaux

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by jabeaux
by jabeaux

This camera is absolutely excellent. It takes great pictures and very easy use. I am greatly please with the quality of this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jabeaux
Hutchinson, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A fun value
2/24/2010

Customer review by MustangMo

5.0 stars 2/24/2010 by MustangMo
by MustangMo

Easy to use. I'm still working through all of the things that are possible with this camera. It takes great shots indoor and out. Loaded with features for the price. Perfect for a beginner with SLR.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MustangMo
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome value! Great product
8/4/2010

Customer review by jamesb959

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by jamesb959
by jamesb959

You can't get much more camera for your $. This is a fantastic little camera that takes great pictures. This is a good camera for your entry into the world of the D-SLR.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jamesb959
Grass Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews