Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 123 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

123 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

123 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
31
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 stars
16
1-20 of 106 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews
Excellent Purchase!
7/3/2010

Customer review by HavingFunIn2010

5.0 stars 7/3/2010 by HavingFunIn2010
by HavingFunIn2010

I got this to assist me in cleaning kitchen fixtures where sticky/oily residue builds up (the vapor the fan doesn't catch) and to sanitize counter top surfaces after a general wiping. When the steamer arrived, my wife became so interested in it that she did the cleaning for me. She cleaned the grout in our shower too. Therefore the product works better than I ever hoped for. It also does what it claims to do, but be prepared to knock down lime build up with liquid cleaners first (shower cleaning). It is very versatile: You can even steam the shower head holes to unclog them. The long power cord makes it easy to maneuver within a room. We haven't had this item but only a week, so I can't speak to it's true durability, but it appears rugged. I'd rate this a good value. Walmart delivered it quickly. Another good experience: Shipping costs were low.

Was this review helpful? (53) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HavingFunIn2010
Oxnard, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
This product is AWESOME
1/19/2010

Customer review by Luv2BChemicalFree

5.0 stars 1/19/2010 by Luv2BChemicalFree
by Luv2BChemicalFree

I am a stay at home Mother to 4 children and a Boxer puppy, along with a husband :) I do not like using chemicals to clean my home with as they just clean the SURFACE and are also bad for your body. It amazes me when the bottle says, "WARNING: use with adequate ventilation, may burn eyes, throat, skin, etc"...but yet soo many people use these products to clean their bathtubs and then put their children in there to "get clean"..meanwhile sitting in all the residue left behind from the chemicals. Anyways, I'll get off my soap box and onto the review :) This product is amazing! I've had it for about a month or so now but have used it about 12 hours so far. The drains in the sink APPEARED clean but when I used this mean machine it blew soo much black gunk away that was under the ring that the chemicals didn't get to. I won't even mention what it did around the base of the toilet, I'll just say one word WOW...and I thought my house was clean! It melted away the baked on grease in my oven and blasted away the tea stains in my kitchen sink. I can not say enough about this product. I have the Haan Floor Sanitizer and I love that too so didn't think I could go wrong buying another Haan product, and I didn't. I'm very satisified with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (102) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luv2BChemicalFree
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good idea loses steam
10/31/2010

Customer review by GrammasPlayground

3.0 stars 10/31/2010 by GrammasPlayground
by GrammasPlayground

Using steam to clean is a great idea. But the HAAN Steam Cleaner falls short of delivering the capabilities advertised. While it does produce steam fairly quickly and in a generous amount, the water tank runs out well before any job can be finished. And this is where the problem lies. The cap cannot be removed while the unit is hot, requiring a lengthy wait to refill the tank. So most of the "cleaning time" is spent waiting. On the positive, it does smell fresh during and after use, without the chemical or perfume odors or residues of typical household cleaners. Also wish the product packaged more than one cloth headcover as it is used for a majority of my cleaning projects. And a word to the wise, use it on the inside of your toilet with caution---when the steam blows from the tool, even when curved up at the top of the bowl, the spray and air force blows the toilet water all over the place. I will still use this product to sanitize counters and some bedding but it is not convenient for other things due to the short use time and the long cool down time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrammasPlayground
Portage, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Smartheart
1/18/2012

Customer review by Smartheart

1.0 stars 1/18/2012 by Smartheart
by Smartheart

I returned this immediately after using for the first time. I followed all the instructions and was thrilled the first time I pulled the trigger and got a BIG STRONG blast of steam - so I set off to clean my kitchen sink first. However, what I soon learned was that the BIG STRONG blast of steam only lasted about 15 seconds before reducing so far on power it couldn't clean anything. After about 45 seconds the reheating light came on - so I had to put it down to build up steam. So I got a 15 second blast of steam, 30 more seconds of steam that wouldn't clean followed my minutes of waiting for it to heat up again! Not what I was expecting. Next, the water was empty so I had to allow 20 minutes for the unit to cool so I could add more water. 3 tanks of water, 2 hours of my time and the kitchen sink did not look much different from when I started - which is why I returned immediately.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smartheart
Bellingham, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Best of the small steamers
1/24/2012

Customer review by frogn

5.0 stars 1/24/2012 by frogn
by frogn

Looked at many reviews before purchasing this steam cleaner. Most problems were with units failing after the warranty, so I purchased the extended warranty. This unit is heavier than most, but the steam is really hot, which was one of my priorities. The attachments are handy and come with a storage bag so I should be able to find them again. It was easy to use, warmed up fast, but had to "recharge" to keep the pressure up pretty often. I used it for about 3 hours doing all my vinyl flooring edges (never been done this way in 15 yrs) and cleaning bathrooms. Great to go with to the Eureka floor steamer I purchased to go with it. I cleaned my kitchen counters and stove with it too. My house looks and feels cleaner, so it did its job. Tried this unit at work to clean a machine and it really doesn't have enough power to compete with a job really meant for a pressure washer, but plenty good enough for household filth.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frogn
Rockford IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Glad I Bought It
3/9/2010

Customer review by espy25

4.0 stars 3/9/2010 by espy25
by espy25

This was a little more expensive than some others, but well worth it. I wish the tank held a little more water, because I didn't like stopping. I used it on appliances, backsplash, cupboard doors and furniture. Sputters a little while heating, but does not when in use.

Was this review helpful? (64) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
espy25
Hershey, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
One of my worst purchases ever!!!
11/15/2010

Customer review by jewlsr

1.0 stars 11/15/2010 by jewlsr
by jewlsr

I read all the previous reviews & thought this would be a great product - wrong, so very wrong! I don't know why this product has a continuous spray button, cause you can't use it. Had to stop about every 10 seconds to let the steam build up again & the reservoir was so small. This didn't even take care of what I thought would be the easiest job after it didn't work on a tougher job - needless to say, I returned it & wouldn't recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jewlsr
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
A disappointment
3/13/2012

Customer review by MAAUS

1.0 stars 3/13/2012 by MAAUS
by MAAUS

We bought the HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner after a lot of research. We tried it out as soon as it arrived and were pretty disappointed. It DOES have a lot of attachments and uses for these attachements, but none of them were useful to us. We tried it on everything, and found that the cleaning power was just so-so. For the time that it took to fill it up and wait for it to be ready to use, I could do a better job the old fashioned way (household cleaner and a rag/paper towel). We used the HAAN for the next couple of hours, trying it on everything we could think of and all of the results were the same--disappointing. It just seemed like a lot of waiting/steam/noise for nothing. I thought it would be great to use on toys, and yes, it would be...but for our family, that was the ONLY thing it could be used for. We could not justify keeping it for just that one purpose, so we returned it that day. Walmart was very helpful and allowed us to return it with no problems. We really wish it would have worked out for us. The idea of using steam instead of chemicals to clean is what we loved about it. I'm not saying this was a bad product, maybe it is and maybe it isn't, but for us, it just didn't get the job done.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MAAUS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
GREAT ASSISTANT to DEEP CLEANING!!!!
8/16/2010

Customer review by BlueEyesBargains

5.0 stars 8/16/2010 by BlueEyesBargains
by BlueEyesBargains

I am 40 but have Rheumatoid Arthirtis, Degenerative Disc Disease (with hardware in my lower back), & Fibromyalgia. This has helped me clean things I COULDN'T due to my health. I LOVE IT! It makes me feel like I am in control of my house again!! THANK YOU HAAN!!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueEyesBargains
Norwood, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works well, small water capacity
2/22/2012

Customer review by cinnarose

4.0 stars 2/22/2012 by cinnarose
by cinnarose

I bought this after soliciting recommendations from friends. I am generally happy with my purchase, it is the first steam cleaner that I've owned, so I don't have any other comparison. It does have a 200 ml (1 cup) water capacity (measuring device included), which gives you 15-20 minutes of steaming. Some people have complained about this, but maybe those people are looking for a professional grade steam cleaner. For your average home this seems to be more than sufficient. I like that there are many attachments included. It does take time to re-pressurize while in use (1-3 minutes maybe), so keep that in mind. I assume any steam cleaner works like that, so I don't know if that is a drawback. If you are looking for something that will give you 15 minutes straight of steam, you'd probably be better off with a much larger unit. I've used it to clean my oven and oven racks, it was able to get off some burnt on grease that even oven cleaner couldn't touch. I look forward to using this on the shower door/track. It says it can be used to steam clothing as well, which makes this well worth the price in my opinion. The instructions recommend using distilled water in the unit, which is a good idea if you have hard water. A build-up of mineral deposits would ruin the steamer, and a gallon of distilled water is $0.80.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cinnarose
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
didn't work for me
12/16/2010

Customer review by 7456210

1.0 stars 12/16/2010 by 7456210
by 7456210

I spent more time filling it up and waiting for the reheat than I did using it. I was only able to use it for a minute or so, and then had to refill again (& again.) Returned the same day to purchase a larger one that would run longer.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
7456210
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for small to medium house-hold projects.
1/7/2013

Customer review by NCPerson

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by NCPerson
by NCPerson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Haan Hand-Held Steamer cleans as described in the product description. It is not an industrial device meaning for extended use, you have to wait for the pressure to build from time to time. The smaller the nozzle, the more pressure is delivered. Thick width dirty grout may take a while because the nozzle will deliver a thin line of steam. But that line of steam is effective. I was able to clean my bathroom from floor to ceiling, getting in between decorative molding details, behind the fixtures, and even under the faucet knobs to sanitize for flu season. I am a relatively clean person so I was surprised how my bathroom gleamed after I was finished. You do need to wipe down the condensation left from the steam. It's definitely an added layer of sanitization when it comes to household cleaning. I used it on the curtains as well. Some fabrics release wrinkles with steam better than others. Overall, I am happy with the Haan Hand-Held Steamer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NCPerson
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for the price
6/9/2010

Customer review by NYCwalmartshopper

4.0 stars 6/9/2010 by NYCwalmartshopper
by NYCwalmartshopper

it gets the job done. used it to steam my pillows and bedding. also removed grease from wall tiles near stove. one downfall is because of size, the steam runs out quick if you are doing big projects like beds and grease removal. I found I had to refill the thing 4 times or so for each project and since it gets so hot inside you must let it cool before putting more water because it spatters all over if you dont. I found it wasnt helpful in the bathroom at all. too tedious, rather pray scrub and go, cleaning hard water and soap scum with this thing would take at least an hour because it didnt remove it quickly or easily. like grease spots you had to spray the same spot and let it heat up to wipe away and the water runs out too quick so for the bathroom i wouldnt recommend this product. used it to steam rinkles out a dry clean only dress and it worked well spattered water a bit if i didnt hold it in the right position but it worked. for the most part this thing gets the job done, not easily, but most chores arent so... for the price its worth it for your first steamer until you really pinpoint your uses for a steamer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NYCwalmartshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
Does NOT clean
12/3/2010

Customer review by BigBB

1.0 stars 12/3/2010 by BigBB
by BigBB

Just got this product today, used once, and it is going back to the store. It does not even move the grime off the stove knobs! I let it heat for 4 minutes to boil the 7 oz of water before using but the cleaning results were very poor. I live alone so we are not talking heavy usage on my appliances. I am going to order something else to see if it does better. Only 1000 watts of power and I could hold my hand in front of nozzle without any burns. This is more like a hand held vaporizer for colds.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigBB
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Very disappointed!
6/23/2012

Customer review by spaznchick

1.0 stars 6/23/2012 by spaznchick
by spaznchick

I have a basic (yellow) Haan floor steamer and I absolutely love it, so when I went in search of a handheld steamer I was drawn to this brand. I researched the different handhelds on several sites and read hundreds of reviews. This gadget seemed to receive great reviews...I went back and forth about which one to buy but when I found the HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner at walmart.com for $20 less than the leading online retailer, I jumped on it. It arrived quickly and I tore open the box, eager to start steaming. It feels sturdy and has plenty of attachments-- including a funnel to pour the water in. Easy peasy...I was ready to go. It didn't take very long to heat up and as soon as it was ready I started cleaning the bathroom. The amount of steam that pumped out seemed sufficient, but it didn't have the pressure that I was hoping for. The grout seemed to be coming clean, BUT!!!! Wait! Out of steam?!?! It only lasted for 5 minutes before needing a refill! FIVE MINUTES??? I don't know about you, but 5 minutes is not long enough to do much more than clean the toilet and sink. Unfortunately, I will be boxing this back up and returning it. I still want a handheld steamer, predominantly for cleaning the bathrooms. With two teenagers and their friends coming in and out, there is a lot of cleaning necessary. Steaming a toilet beats scrubbing with a toothbrush for sure! So, I am going to buy the McCulloch MC-1275. It isn't exactly a handheld because it is attached to a canister-like unit, but it offers up to an hour of steam time and that is very appealing to me. If you have a small bathroom or just want to use this to clean your stove or grill then it might work fine for you. If you plan on steaming for longer than 5 minutes, I definitely suggest that you keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spaznchick
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
just what I needed
5/3/2011

Customer review by stubbyfingers

5.0 stars 5/3/2011 by stubbyfingers
by stubbyfingers

great little cleaner goes places that rags fear to go, won't clean the side of the house but cleans a bathroom spotless.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stubbyfingers
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great on grout
1/17/2013

Customer review by WorkingCalimom

4.0 stars 1/17/2013 by WorkingCalimom
by WorkingCalimom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this for work because we needed something to help clean and sterilize our small kitchenette area that has no water and other parts of our office. We have a microwave that gets pretty disgusting. I use the Shark hand held at home but ordered this for work because it's smaller and less expensive. I tried it out at home before I brought it to the office and found that it cleans the (who knows how many years of gunks worth) grout in my ceramic tile flooring. I though the grout was black. Its NOT! Another think I like better about the HAAN compared to my Shark is the locking mechanism. I can just lock and point instead of having to hold the lever down to steam. At work it helps clean out stains in carpet and office chairs, helps get rid of 20 years + worth of dust on top of file cabinets, and cleans the microwave effortlessly. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I would have liked to use the steam to just sterilize areas like the refrigerator handle and conference room table and chairs but it spurts out too much water with the steam.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WorkingCalimom
Mission Viejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is awesome!
4/14/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had this steamer for about 3 weeks. I read all the reviews for this and similar products before buying. In my 3 weeks, I have cleaned (with this steamer) walls, ceilings, ceiling fan blades, kitchen counters, cupboards, bathrooms, floors, my grill, stove and oven, dining room chairs, mirror, windows and even my friend's pancake spattered textured ceiling. Is this the cure all for cleaning? Well, it isn't a maid in a machine but if you wanted chemical free cleaning this is the best. Love all the attachments and I have had no problems with this so far. Bonus: the instructions had me rolling on the floor from all the typos.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Would not recommend this product.
8/29/2011

Customer review by tmrozzer

2.0 stars 8/29/2011 by tmrozzer
by tmrozzer

The steam runs for a very short time and you have to let it heat up again. It only holds 1 cup of water and runs out quickly. Not worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tmrozzer
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
waste of money
12/7/2010

Customer review by whyistahat

1.0 stars 12/7/2010 by whyistahat
by whyistahat

does not produce a constant pressure of steam,

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whyistahat
amsterdam,ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews