Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 301 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

301 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

301 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
199
4 stars
63
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
23
1-20 of 275 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 275 total reviews
1-20 of 275 reviews
It is used and boxes broken
5/12/2016

Customer review by Mark Mississauga

2.0 stars 5/12/2016 by Mark Mississauga
by Mark Mississauga
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The item is in fair condition. Boxes is broken, and you can tell immediately, the box has been opened. Open the box, you can easily see scratch on the plastic handle and cover. So, it is definitely used. Assebemly is easy, but I understand why it is returned, the screws are dropping off. I have too be "creative" to install it properly. When I began to use it, it is where the "Fair" part comes, it works ok. Did the job it supposed to do. So far, I used only 2 times, it did not break as other reviewer expereinced. Maybe I just used it lightly and I have light jobs only, so can not tell if it is in heavy use. Won't recommend to buy items from Walmart online, This is the 2nd time that when I purchase a comparatively big item I got a used one!!! And I only had 2 times to buy a big item. Last time I have to return it as I can not even assemble it. Walmart need to review their warehouse, it really ruin their reputation of online store. It is really not a good experience. I will re-consider next time if I have to buy Walmart items online.

Mark Mississauga
Mississauga, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Tiller
10/9/2016

Customer review by Cindy

5.0 stars 10/9/2016 by Cindy
by Cindy

https://www.facebook.com/cindy.o.vincent/videos/10208399144190125/ We used it to give my vegetable garden a tilling before winter. It tilled so much better than our old gas tiller, which just dug up clumps, but this makes the soil very fine and workable without having to rake out clumps afterwards. It's amazing how powerful this is, considering how lightweight it is and so easy to use.

Cindy
Titusville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love it!
5/26/2013

Customer review by Ancient Gardener

5.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Ancient Gardener
by Ancient Gardener
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm 66, with arthritis and a damaged back. I've gone through two Mantis tillers, but the engines never held up more than 3-4 years, supposedly because we have so much ethanol in the gasoline in the Midwest. I bought this tiller out of desperation, because I needed something to work with a new vegetable garden that had been grass. Wow! It works as well as the Mantis. It's a LOT easier to use--no gas mix to fuss with, no tugging on the starter cord. It pulverizes soil as well as the Mantis, but it also can work superficially to weed between rows. The first one I ordered malfunctioned; the company shipped me a new one, free of charge, without question, in two days. It works just fine. This is one great little machine, even for someone with arthritis in her hands and a back that can't twist or lift. Yes, it's that easy to use.

Ancient Gardener
Tustin, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice tool but need a little improvement
9/10/2016

Customer review by Hoang911

3.0 stars 9/10/2016 by Hoang911
by Hoang911
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was able to do my yard but I had to stop every 15 min because the grass would get stuck into the blade

Hoang911
Montreal, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
handyman
6/16/2013

Customer review by Handyman

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by Handyman
by Handyman

I highly recommend the Show Joe tiller. It works exceedingly well. It is rugged and really digs in. I have clay in one place and almost a gravel pit in another and it handles both with ease. I am in my 80's and broke my hip so have a metal hip now and I am not too solid on my feet anymore, but I can handle the tiller fine. It is very rugged and the tines stand up to use very well. I have had a lot of very large rocks jam into the tines so tight I had to use a hammer and chisel to get them out and they did not do any damage to the tines what so ever. After years of use the tines are still very good. The only thing negative about the tiller is the location of the switch and possibly a latch on the hook that is designed to hold the electric cable. The switch is too far forward for comfortable use. When working ones hands tend to slide to the back of the grips and off the switch. To keep ones hand on the switch takes a tighter grip and more energy than would otherwise be needed if the switch was a little further aft. The Electric cord has a tendency to work its way out of the hook and pull out. A latch on the hook would cure that. But these are minor inconveniences and do not take away from the usefulness and durability of the tiller.

Handyman
Salina, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Fine
2/10/2015

Customer review by tillman

4.0 stars 2/10/2015 by tillman
by tillman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tiller was fairly simple to assemble. One of the screw wells on the throttle handle was cracked upon receipt but this was not an immediate concern. The handle seems to be constructed of a lightweight plastic, I hope it will hold up to the moderate level of use I intend to put it through. The tiller has sufficient power for moderate use, I would not expect it to dig through compacted soil like a gas powered rear tine tiller would be able to do. I am looking forward to using this tiller especially since I will not have to deal with the hassle of using two cycle engine or seeking out ethanol free gasoline.

tillman
southwest Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm with them
6/15/2014

Customer review by Former brown thumb

5.0 stars 6/15/2014 by Former brown thumb
by Former brown thumb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was impressed with this product the moment I started to put it together. How easy! Then when I actually started to use it I was impressed at how low the noise level was for such a work horse. I'll admit that I was a little scared at actually redoing my entire yard (replanting, installing a walkway and vegetable garden) on my own but with my cultivator I am already seeing great results in such a short time. I highly recommend this product to all the ladies out there that like to get a little dirty.

Former brown thumb
Cary, N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Jumpy
5/12/2016

Customer review by jennj13

1.0 stars 5/12/2016 by jennj13
by jennj13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just used it for the first time this afternoon and was not impressed. The garden was just tilled about a week ago with my neighbors tractor. I just want to mix in some new topsoil and ash. It jumped all over and hardly went down an inch. I was hoping to use it for in between the rows to keep weeks down but now I think I will be returning it.

jennj13
Desboro, Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for small jobs
6/18/2013

Customer review by SC Gardener

4.0 stars 6/18/2013 by SC Gardener
by SC Gardener

Purchased to use in a small garden 15x20 ft., did the job expected it to do, obviously a gas tiller would do it faster, but for the price I was able to assemble and till the garden area in about one hour. Someone who is taller than me at 5'10" might find it hard to use given that you must tilt and hold the handles lower to the ground for the tiller to do a good job and prevent bouncing. I do not have soil with rocks which I feel would impeed its use.

SC Gardener
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gear Box needs redesign
1/14/2015

Customer review by Mo Ho

3.0 stars 1/14/2015 by Mo Ho
by Mo Ho

Unit is small light powerful nimble but I discovered when the tiller failed, I took the gear box and noticed that the gearbox was held by four wood screws to a nylon block, Two adjacent screws eventually became loose and a result the bevel gear was forced to work at an angle that ventually wore out the bevel fiber glass gear tooth. If screws were redesigned with a bolt and a locknut it should do the job.

Mo Ho
Cupertino, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Muti-use Machine !!
4/15/2014

Customer review by Big Tom

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by Big Tom
by Big Tom

I was skeptical because it is electric. WAS I WRONG !! this machine work better than any gas unit i ever used. It tilled my old garden like it was screeded soil. I then used it to clear a 13x13 sq.ft. area to pour a patio. my wife asked to try it.She did it all in less than an hour herself! I have not found 1 thing i could say bad about this tool.It has guts,and comfort that is well worth the price !!

Big Tom
St. Clair, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great!
11/16/2014

Customer review by trudy the wannabee master gardener

5.0 stars 11/16/2014 by trudy the wannabee master gardener
by trudy the wannabee master gardener

I got the sunjoe tiller 4 years ago. It has consistantly exceeded my expectations. I used a gas powered tiller for years it was noisy, heavy and spit hot oil on me. This tiller is easy to use and works well every time. I find that if you walk slowly forward with the tiller to loosen the dirt and then walk slowly backward to dig a little deeper it really does an excellent job on garden soil.

trudy the wannabee master gardener
Beavercreek Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Suprised!
6/2/2012

Customer review by Chris

4.0 stars 6/2/2012 by Chris
by Chris

I absolutely love the tiller. It is a work horse as long as you don't try to do things it's not capable of doing. Work within the means of the tiller you bought and it will work great. The only thing I dislike is the position of the trigger, It is not in the correct place for comfortable use. If it was I would have no complaints. Good overall product I would recommend buying it.

Chris
Martinsburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Much better than I thought!!!!!!
4/5/2012

Customer review by Harry

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Harry
by Harry

I'm a 80 year old male. I have a small vegetable garden in my back yard. This tiller was so easy to use and turned the soil over to a depth of 6 to 7 inches.Not bad for an old man. I highly recommend this tiller to you younger men also. Just a little humor. Excellent tiller!!!!!!!!!

Harry
Cypress, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quick assembly
4/15/2014

Customer review by John

4.0 stars 4/15/2014 by John
by John

Just put it together and fired it up in the garden. Worked great. Only improvement I can suggest is a dirt deflector on top to keep the dirt in the same area as being tilled. However, the nicely pulverized soil is easy to rake back into place.

John
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
More powerful than what I thought
4/20/2014

Customer review by Jerry

5.0 stars 4/20/2014 by Jerry
by Jerry

It is far more powerful than what I thought, being rated at 6.5 amp. Cutting through dry garden soil and plant roots with ease. Try to pull the tiller towards you rather than push it forward when your soil is really hard.

Jerry
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Tiller
6/11/2015

Customer review by TillerMan

5.0 stars 6/11/2015 by TillerMan
by TillerMan

I bought one of these 4 years ago and it is great. It turns the dirt into powder. By working it, you can get quite deep too. It cuts and pulls out roots from previous plants without a problem. I just pulled some shrubs with a winch that were planted 25 years ago, after they were out I tilled the compacted dirt without any problem, it didn't bog down at all. The tiller was loaded with roots that I had to remove with some needle nose pliers. I use this every spring to till the garden also. It sure beats messing around with a gas power unit. Excellent investment.

TillerMan
Caseville, MI 48725, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
very good for the money
5/21/2014

Customer review by mike

5.0 stars 5/21/2014 by mike
by mike

I like how it tills when you pull it back wards I do agree it needs something to keep the dirt in place I would recommend it to any one that has a med to small garden

mike
hurt va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this!
5/22/2012

Customer review by Joey

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by Joey
by Joey

This is so easy to use. I am not a big person, 5 feet tall and 110 Lb. and I can use this very easy. I always wanted one and finally purchase it. Will never regret it.

Joey
Cochrane, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A gardeners best friend!!
5/1/2012

Customer review by DJ

5.0 stars 5/1/2012 by DJ
by DJ

Used this tiller for my flower bed and a small garden. It just whizzed right through the areas, small rocks and all. I am in my 60's and had no problems at all.

DJ
Salton Sea, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 275 total reviews
1-20 of 275 reviews