Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 246 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

246 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

246 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
165
4 stars
52
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
18
1-20 of 220 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 220 total reviews
1-20 of 220 reviews
Worked great
4/3/2012

Customer review by MilwaukeTom

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by MilwaukeTom
by MilwaukeTom

I have used it once but it was easy to use and did a really good job on the garden soil. I did change the name and picture on the box to "Tiller Tom" to impress my friends and tell them I invented the machine.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MilwaukeTom
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Control handle cracked the first time I used it
6/10/2014

Customer review by Vestallady

2.0 stars 6/10/2014 by Vestallady
by Vestallady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator from Walmart.com and it was delivered on 5/15/14. After about an hour of using it the plastic hand grip on the control handle split up the side. I was able to duct tape it and finish tilling my garden but I expected it to last longer than an hour.. The tiller does work good, but the plastic parts are cheap and don't hold up. I am a 62 year old woman, so it's definitely not that I was over using it or handling it roughly. I have contacted Sun Joe about it and if they will not replace the handle I will return the tiller to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vestallady
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very poor e-mail response
5/13/2013

Customer review by DanDanTheRadioMan

3.0 stars 5/13/2013 by DanDanTheRadioMan
by DanDanTheRadioMan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Tried to tell them (4times) with pictures that they had labeled the crossbar piece wrong. It is very light weight, very powerful, easy to use. The only drawback I can see, the way you have to turn on the unit. very hard if you have arthritis, the safety button has to be pushed in first.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanDanTheRadioMan
Ellsworth Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
mean little bugger
4/6/2011

Customer review by bitn

5.0 stars 4/6/2011 by bitn
by bitn

I did substantial research before I bought this and was still skeptical about its abilities. Have to say after numerous uses in bullet proof clay, it works great. It is NOT a heavy duty tiller. What it is is a great light weight, powerful machine that is very convenient to use. I tilled two 5x10 gardens and numerous other locations in my yard for new spring plantings. Have even been using it to double dig before planting. Basically till approx 6-10 inches down, shovel out, till another 6-10, amend soil, till everything together and plant. Instant on, instant off. Used a friends Mantis(twice the cost) which ended up dying on me and didn't do a single thing different except be much louder, gas fumes and very hard to get started. Had my doubts but they've gone away. Great little birthday present for myself and would buy again without hesitation. Again, if you want a big heavy duty monster, this isn't your tool. If you want something that you can whip out, use and hang on a hook when you're done, buy it now.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bitn
Richmond VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Rototiller A pleasant Surprize
5/20/2010

Customer review by Vet4USConstitution

5.0 stars 5/20/2010 by Vet4USConstitution
by Vet4USConstitution

I have used the tiller for 6 hours in previously un-gardened soil filled with small rocks (up to 5 inches). Obviously any tiller is challenged to operate under tough circumstances. The Sun Joe Electric garden tiller is working like a champ! I help remove rocks which the tiller is telling me it is scraping over. Once extracted, the tiller works the soil into loose particles, easily mixes with grass clippings and compost, and digs down 8 inches just as anticipated. IT is a tough little machine and sells for an excellent price. The fact that it is electric is a positive factor for me. First, it does the job! Second, electric drives are lest expensive than gasoline. Third, electricity (energy) is lots cheaper than petroleum gasoline fuel and it is always available without a special trip with a gas container to the station. I recommend this tiller to anyone home user with a small garden (small in my opinion is less than 500-700 square feet of garden)

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vet4USConstitution
Syracuse, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sun Joe Tiller
10/31/2015

Customer review by Cliffy1

4.0 stars 10/31/2015 by Cliffy1
by Cliffy1

I bought this for my veggie garden - I needed to work compost into the soil and the idea of using a shovel for the task was too much. I already have the Mo-Joe lawn mower and love it so I was pretty sure that the product would be good. At this price I was not sure that it would have much power. So wrong. It has so much power that it took about ten minutes to figure out how to use it without removing body parts. After I got the hang of it I was in heaven and I now have the best looking garden in town. I read a review where the man said it need wheels. I did not find that to be the case as it moved along faster then I was ready for. I only gave it 4 stars because I have trouble holding down the start button for any length of time - it is very hard to press in and my hand starts slipping from the movement of the machine. Therefore I start and stop a lot. Not a really big deal. I am very happy with the machine and have already recommended it to several friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cliffy1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product
2/20/2014

Customer review by VeryPickey

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by VeryPickey
by VeryPickey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this tiller. It was quick and easy to do our 25' x 10' garden spot. Compared to our old gas tiller I really liked the ease of starting it. However, be aware that you must maintain a firm grip on the right handle to keep it from shutting off - it is very sensitive. That was a little difficult for me and may be for others as well. The wide spread of the handles helps with better control. The digging width is nice which allowed for more space to be covered in a shorter time. I noticed that the cleanup was pretty simple too. The directions say not to get any water in the motor so you have to be careful, but there were no weeds bound up in the tines as there would have been in our little gas tiller tines. I also noticed that the tiller did not jump around like our old tiller. NICE! I would recommend this tiller!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VeryPickey
Middleton, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent tiller
2/16/2010

Customer review by greenthumb0027

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by greenthumb0027
by greenthumb0027

This is such a wonderful little tiller! I have to admit that I was sceptical at first because of the price (very cheap for a tiller) but I was shocked by how powerful the motor is! It even has the capability of tilling through areas of my yard that are slightly rocky. It is small enough that I can till in small spaces, and I have had no problem tilling through areas which have some weeds growing. I like the fact that there is a two year warranty, which gives me peace of mind. I would recommend this tiller to everyone and my only regret is that I didn't buy it sooner!

Was this review helpful? (146) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greenthumb0027
Schertz, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I'M IN LOVE!
2/25/2010

Customer review by OklahomaYankee

5.0 stars 2/25/2010 by OklahomaYankee
by OklahomaYankee

I love this little monster and so will you. This thing was bought to loosen up some flower beds that had been tilled and that was all but I just couldn't stop "testing" to see if it could do more. It broke new dirt, grass areas and even a very stoney area (not great idea but it did it). All that and no "jerking" to start, just push the button. I expect a lot when I pay for something and this was worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OklahomaYankee
Duncan, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Lightweight Tiller
1/21/2010

Customer review by bKay58

5.0 stars 1/21/2010 by bKay58
by bKay58

This is a wonderful little tiller to use in areas without rocks or roots. I've owned several other brands of small tillers costing twice as much that only last 2 - 4 yrs before they had starting problems. This electric tiller has the power needed to till and is much easier to handle. I love the folding handle feature in order to hang tiller out of the way when not in use. I highly recomend this tiller especially for older folks.

Was this review helpful? (94) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bKay58
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
It is a good choice for the average homeowner
4/12/2014

Customer review by Talldog3rd

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by Talldog3rd
by Talldog3rd

I have used this littlr guy for about two months now and it does the job -- I recently gave up my old 8 horse gas job with big power and weight - I am very well experienced in rototilling - For a small light weight unit that gets into small places and can be manuevered -I say this is the real deal--The right hand handle with the switch on it cracked where it grips the round strut so I fixed this with good old Gorilla tape - The designers could take a hint and beef this up a bit - I also strapped on ten pounds of weight to keep it down and from bouncing a little in harder soil - I'm sure I'm pushing the limits of it a little but it is tough and does the job well beyond what you will see in the video-- Give this one a go I dont think you can lose ----

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Talldog3rd
Goleta Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome
4/12/2011

Customer review by Szabobogi

5.0 stars 4/12/2011 by Szabobogi
by Szabobogi

I am a new gardener with a huge first garden. I've had my eyes on this tiller for a while. I finally found it at Walmart for the lowest price (they were out of stock for a while). This tiller is a beast! It has so much power. My boyfriend used it as well to till up some grassed area and it went through like it were butter. All you need for it is a long cord. They even give you clips that keep the cord out of your way as you till. It only weighs 17 lbs so it is easy to lift. I have a raised bed garden and I had no issues whatsoever. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Szabobogi
Bethany Beach, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great tool for small garden jobs
9/28/2010

Customer review by SoHoShopper2010

4.0 stars 9/28/2010 by SoHoShopper2010
by SoHoShopper2010

We wanted to remove a long stretch(50x2) of existing lawn and turn it into a space suitable to plant edgers and other flowering plants. The Sun Joe tiller did a great job digging and tilling out the grass patch. We were done with tilling in about 1 hr. A second or third round of tilling made it more easier and deeper. It is very light, so you have to hold it tight and keep it down for it to really dig into hard soil. It is quite powerful for small and regular garden jobs. Overall its a great tool for its money. It is easy to carry and store.

Was this review helpful? (49) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoHoShopper2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Outstanding and Powerful!
3/21/2012

Customer review by RoswellShopper

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by RoswellShopper
by RoswellShopper

I ordered the Sun Joe tiller after deciding to plant a rather large home garden, around 600 square feet. The soil here is clay and when dry, is very hard, so I was a bit skeptical about such an inexpensive tiller, especially an electric model, being able to handle the job. I had never used a tiller, so also had no idea how to handle it, but am very happy to report that with a little practice, it was easy to control, works great and is very powerful! Once I got the hang of how to make the most progress with the least work, it just ate right through the ground and got the job done. Smaller rocks, tree roots and the hard soil did not even phase this little work horse. Something that might be helpful, especially for those who do not do physical labor on a regular basis, is a back belt for support. Your lower back will get quite a workout! Overall, I would highly recommend this tiller for anyone who needs one for small to medium jobs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RoswellShopper
Roswell, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lightweight and powerful
5/15/2014

Customer review by seaseadea

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by seaseadea
by seaseadea
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a 66 year old woman and have been gardening for 46 years. I've had many tillers, but this is my first electric one. It is surprisingly powerful for a 6.5. I really had to hang on. It did get bogged down with some roots, but after clearing them out of the tines (unplug first!), it started right in again. I'm almost sorry my garden isn't bigger.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seaseadea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tough and rugged without hesitation.
8/6/2011

Customer review by Kruzoo

5.0 stars 8/6/2011 by Kruzoo
by Kruzoo

I am not at all disappointed with my decision to purchase this product from Walmart after looking at tillers elswhere that cost three times what this one cost. The Sun Joe Tiller is electric but performs as a powerful gas driven cultivator operating easily because of its lighter weight and durable construction. For the smaller to medium project. Buy one. You won't be disappointed. I have used it a number of times with hard and packed dirt here in Georgia. No problem. I wasn't sure about the design without wheels but once again, it didn't "walk away" from me like another type of tiller might. Good, no, great product!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kruzoo
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The Sun Joe electric Tiller a breeze to use
3/4/2014

Customer review by silverhairedcustomer

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by silverhairedcustomer
by silverhairedcustomer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I found the Sun Joe easy to assemble. I was delighted with the job it did on my garden and how easy it was on my back to operate. My wife took her turn and whissed around the garden with no problem. I'm looking forward to this garden chore instead of dreading using my heavy gas model.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
silverhairedcustomer
Vian, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SUN JOE 6.5 TILLER
12/15/2015

Customer review by JRHigs

4.0 stars 12/15/2015 by JRHigs
by JRHigs

So far a good little electric tiller,not for heavy duty work.will move small amounts of ground great for the home owner who needs to perform light duty gardening or small earth moving projects. we bought it to level ground from water line digging projects, this works great for this it makes this work much easier than shoveling and raking alone

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JRHigs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Shocking!
3/21/2011

Customer review by tbs1

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by tbs1
by tbs1

I'm tilling up my very first garden this year, and wanted to have all the equipment to do it myself. After looking at $300 gas tillers, I found this one at Wal-Mart for around $150. I was very skeptical of the claims, but since it had so many good reviews I decided to try it. (one of the great things about walmart is their return policy!) My yard is grass and weeds, and has never had a tilled area before. This little tiller cut through my yard like it was nothing, leaving loose soil perfect for planting. I will probably till the area one more time before I plant to get extra depth, but that's not necessary. This is a GREAT tiller, very powerful, for a great price. My garden area is 16'x20' and tilling up that size of an area is quite a workout, but I'm 5'4" and 140 lbs, so if I can handle that, I assume that just about anyone could. :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tbs1
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Great Product!
3/9/2010

Customer review by Milytheshopper

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by Milytheshopper
by Milytheshopper

Minimal assembly required, very easy to do. Good performance, a great value and does exactly what it says it will do!!! Very easy to operate, I have used it three times since I got it and makes my spring planting a breeze! Handles are ergonomically design (no blistered hands). I highly recommend this product for everyone, specially us ladies :).

Was this review helpful? (52) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Milytheshopper
Pass Christian, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 220 total reviews
1-20 of 220 reviews