Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

82 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

82 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 stars
19
1-20 of 71 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
What I've been looking for
9/12/2009

Customer review by aintmyname

5.0 stars 9/12/2009 by aintmyname
by aintmyname

I had seen this product advertised on the Roxio web site for a higher price. Walmart* had it almost $10.00 cheaper. I have tons of VHS tapes that I have been trying to put on to DVD disk, experimenting with different ways of doing it but none seemed to work right. The "VHS To DVD" does the trick wonderfully. Still learning some of it's features, but that is part of the fun of it.

Was this review helpful? (130) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aintmyname
Petoskey, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Well worth $50 !
3/1/2010

Customer review by PhillieBaby

5.0 stars 3/1/2010 by PhillieBaby
by PhillieBaby

Before ordering Easy VHS To DVD I read a few reviews. About 1/3 of them complained that the program either could find the UBS Drive or could not find the DVD Writer. I decided to order anyway and it installed beautifully and worked perfectly. One must be careful to have the Video Capture USB attached BEFORE installing the Program. I copied a VHS tape that was made in 1994 to a DVD. It worked the very first time. I played it on a DVD player, a DVD-VHS combo unit, and in my auto.

Was this review helpful? (68) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhillieBaby
Baton Rouge,LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Surprised Me
10/30/2010

Customer review by OldMustang

5.0 stars 10/30/2010 by OldMustang
by OldMustang

After reading the reviews on this product I was a little leary about it, but figured it doesnt work take it back. Got it home, read the instructions and its working just fine, no problems at all. Taking all those vhs tapes and making dvd. Havent gotten into editing but just being able to copy the tapes to dvd is a big plus. Its fairly easy to set up and does a good job.

Was this review helpful? (41) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldMustang
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works and does as advertised
12/6/2010

Customer review by HTRedneck

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by HTRedneck
by HTRedneck

I mainly bought this product to transfer tv shows and movies from my dvr to dvd. It installed easly and simply and the software is simple to use and easy to install. I will be configuring it in the future to use more than one source so i can hook it to my vcr, dvr, and record player, so that I can transfer my lp's as well.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HTRedneck
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This software is possibly the worst.
2/9/2011

Customer review by Mungo18

1.0 stars 2/9/2011 by Mungo18
by Mungo18

I have tried everything to get this software to work. I am a senior systems analyst so it isn't like I don't know my way around. The software didn't work on any of four machines. On one, it simply froze. On another two, it never started recording. On a fourth, it only showed the VHS playing and no record window. I tried and tried to contact Roxio but they seem to be in hiding. All you get is an automated answering machine and their response to my email was to give me an "ticket number" which I was to use to correspond. When I clicked on the "ticket number" it turned out to want me to log in and state my problem all over again. They sent me an email after 5 days and asked if everything was resolved and to contact them letting then know how they are doing. I tried to respond but, here again, it isn't possible to answer them. On their site, they have a service pack but you can't download it. This company needs to do some serious reviewing of their programmers and especially their Webmaster.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mungo18
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
Making Memories
2/13/2010

Customer review by Stephanie910

5.0 stars 2/13/2010 by Stephanie910
by Stephanie910

Ok. Let me start by saying the one problem I have with this product is that for over $60, I feel it should have come with ALL the cords needed to connect it to the VCR. I had to go out and buy audio & video cables in order to use this. But on the plus side, this is easy to use, has lots of features for creating beautiful DVD memories. Download took about 20 minutes. I am now capturing my first home movie onto my PC with this. So far so good. I highly recommend this product if you are like me and have a ton of VHS home movies lying around. Just be prepared to spend an extra $15 or so for the necessary cables.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stephanie910
Biscoe, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Difficult to Use
9/7/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 9/7/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

They say that this is the eaisest thing to use. Ha!! It was difficult with very little explanation or directions. Someone who is really savvy with electronics and computer may do okay. I had to have my husband help me and buy other connections to go along with it. I finally got all of my VHS copied but still cannot figure out how to do my cassette tapes. They give so little help in their book or online and make it almost impossible to get help over the phone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY
2/21/2011

Customer review by WantToConvertMyVHSs

1.0 stars 2/21/2011 by WantToConvertMyVHSs
by WantToConvertMyVHSs

First off let me say the program was easy to install and begin using. I am running on a Vista operating system and it was no trouble getting the program to work. Like many people out there I have a collection of home videos and movies on VHS that I never watch anymore because the VCR is quickly going extinct. I have paid professional services to convert some of my VHS's to DVD's for me which looked great but I thought it was way too expensive (like $40 per full length VHS). So I bought this thinking I could upgrade my video library and store it all on a hard drive. The problem is the video quality Roxio's VHS to DVD captures is absolute GARBAGE! It looks horrible! And by horrible I mean fuzzy, choppy and without a doubt much worse than what I would have gotten had I set up a tripod infront of my T.V. and recorded the video using my digital camcorder. Since you just hook up AV cables to a USB connector I tried every thing in my house with AV outputs which included my VCR, DVD and BlueRay player. (obviously, I expected the BlueRay video to be degraded by the conversion but thought, lets just see how bad). There are no adjustments within the software to improve the quality of recording whatever is connected to the computer, and like I said before the quality of the video captured is absolute rubbish! Sadly I paid $60 for it. Seriously, go buy a cheap tripod and an even cheaper digital camera, set it up infront of your T.V. in a darkly lit room and record whatever your T.V. is playing and you will achieve a better quality conversion. The only understandable comparison to which I can equate the conversion to is this. Imagine listening to a brand new CD on a BOSE stereo. Now take that same CD to an AM radio station 100 miles away, drive into a tunnel and then tune your radio to the station. When you can just barely hear the music over the white noise. That's how sharp the contrast would be to watching your VHS on a VCR vs. converting it using Roxio's VHS to DVD and viewing it on your computer or burning it onto a DVD! I am taking mine back to Walmart tomorrow to try and argue a refund.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WantToConvertMyVHSs
Salt Lake City, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
I would buy Roxio for VHS to DVD
3/14/2010

Customer review by Mom4ever06

4.0 stars 3/14/2010 by Mom4ever06
by Mom4ever06

I first will say that I am pretty comfortable at the computer. With that said, I am happy with this product. I installed the software, registered on line and received an update. After that, I hooked up my vcr and followed the instructions. I am only using it to copy vhs to dvd and haven't tried the other options. It is time consuming, but it's fun to watch the video while your burning the dvd. I usually set a timer when I think the vhs is longer than the dvd will hold so I can stop the vcr and continue recording. If anyone has a different way, please let me know. I have over 30 tapes to copy and some I am making duplicates. It is well worth the money. I estimated it would have cost over $500 to have these done professionally. It is exactly what I wanted. Hint: try not to mention it to family and friends because you'll be burning dvd's forever!!! LOL I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom4ever06
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ok Average Product
10/8/2010

Customer review by Marksopinion

3.0 stars 10/8/2010 by Marksopinion
by Marksopinion

I was Roxio user from way back, I like roxio for ease of use. This item is a one purpose deal and is shy on features; it could have used a little more bang for the price. It does do what it is intended for quite well, with some options to convert & save to other devices. It does come with the USB capture device, RCA / S Video adapter & a short USB extension cable. The bad is; you cant use a kodak camera, does not input MOV files, editing is limited & you must be careful not to bump into USB cable (it will pop out). If you just soley want to take your old VHS tapes and convert to DVD, then this will do it quite well & is very easy to use. No problems with install on windows vista prem. 32bit. Very smooth!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marksopinion
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Unpleasant Experience
9/11/2009

Customer review by TechieGram

1.0 stars 9/11/2009 by TechieGram
by TechieGram

Did not review this product before bought. Driver to run program did not load correctly. Could not get program to recognize hardware properly. Installed and uninstalled numerous times. Could never get this product to work correctly. Still trying but from reviews from other sources, doubtful will ever get this to work. Never had a program so hard to work with.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechieGram
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
12/21/2009

Customer review by wHan

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by wHan
by wHan

I read the reviews and almost didn't buy this. I decided to try it knowing I coyld return it. I worked very well and I will not be returning it

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wHan
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Total Garbage
9/1/2011

Customer review by Naeemah

1.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Naeemah
by Naeemah

Dvd came out with voice and picture not in sync. Returned it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Naeemah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great value
4/2/2010

Customer review by shelovesthebeach

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by shelovesthebeach
by shelovesthebeach

I had about 15 8mm video tapes that contained home movies from over the years. I wanted those videos to be in digital form so I could save them for a longer period of time. This product allowed me to save all of them in digital form. I have not yet figured out how to make the files small enough to fit on a DVD, but am very happy to have them all saved digitally on my computer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shelovesthebeach
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Works just like I needed it to work
11/19/2011

Customer review by DMR74

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by DMR74
by DMR74

Roxio Easy VHS to DVD did exactly what I needed. I had no problems with installation to my Lenovo T61 laptop. I connected my (very old) Panasonic VCR to my laptop with the cable supplied, and it all worked. I've been recording from VHS (family videos from early 90's) to my Seagate USB drive. Then I go back into Record,Edit,Save and click Import Video, pick the file I want, and click the arrow on the bottom right to export to DVD. So I have these memories on both a hard disk as well as on DVD. I test viewing the DVDs on my TV and on another laptop - no problems; video and sound are fine. This would have cost a lot more if I had sent the VHS tapes out to be processed, and I don't have to worry about my one-of-a-kind VHS tapes being lost or damaged by a stranger. I have not needed or wanted to do anything fancy (menus, etc) so I can't speak for those features of the product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMR74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome product
11/11/2011

Customer review by nottechy98765

4.0 stars 11/11/2011 by nottechy98765
by nottechy98765

love love love it. i have used my roxio for vhs to dvd, dvd to dvd, put all my cd's on the computer. took 100's of 40 second clips of home videos and put them on one dvd with music. super easy to use with a little trial and error. i am not techy by any means, but this was so easy to figure out even with the limited directions provided. way cheaper than buying a dvd recorder, and it does SO much more. product was $20 cheaper on line at walmart.com than in the local store. also the dvd & cd were about 50% cheaper on line. did the ship to and pick up at my local store and that was easy as well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nottechy98765
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I had a lot of problems with it.
6/20/2011

Customer review by Emmybruny

3.0 stars 6/20/2011 by Emmybruny
by Emmybruny

My computer is older and had to download a lot of things that weren't listed. Got it to work once, but, it's messed up again. My sister bought it also. She has a newer laptop and hers worked great. Once I get it to work again, I think it's a neat product. Roxio help desk wasn't too helpful.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Emmybruny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sorriest piece of software made
6/10/2011

Customer review by skypup

1.0 stars 6/10/2011 by skypup
by skypup

I have to say this about Easy VHS to DVD, don't buy it! I don't know what PC these folks have that gave this program a good review, but I recently purchased an Acer Aspire X3400G, that I love and I cannot get this program to download without getting the administrative error popping up. I have tried 5 or 6 different solutions to the problem via Roxio's support team and nothing has worked. The last request they made was to mess with my registry, which was the last straw. Anyone looking for this program and wants a good deal on it just has to be at the Polk County Dump on Weds and they can pickup my copy when it slides down the chute. Junk..!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skypup
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product
8/14/2010

Customer review by Will4x4

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by Will4x4
by Will4x4

I purchased this product to transfer my precious and irreplacable home videos of my children/family onto DVDs. It has clear, simple instructions, is simple to hook up, transfers easily, comes out great! I do recommend to use the BEST QUALITY setting (which means only 1 hour of video per DVD). I tried the 2 hour per DVD and it came out grainy. The 1.5 hour per DVD was exceptable, but these are precious memories so BEST QUALITY was my choice. The direct transfer is a bit easier than the edit, clip, trim, piece multi videos together, part of the program, but I still LOVE this product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Will4x4
Ahwahnee, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/17/2011

Customer review by Danicasmom12

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by Danicasmom12
by Danicasmom12

I love it and it's so easy to use!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Danicasmom12
San Dimas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews