Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 674 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

674 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

674 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
265
4 stars
202
3 stars
79
2 stars
36
1 stars
92
1-20 of 618 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 618 total reviews
1-20 of 618 reviews
Broken cup holder and screen!
1/31/2011

Customer review by Hljohnson

3.0 stars 1/31/2011 by Hljohnson
by Hljohnson

This is the second elliptical I bought from Walmart. The one I ordered a few weeks ago was broken to pieces when I got it out of the box so I took it back and bought this one. I did the site to store shipping for both of them. When I got this elliptical I found that the cup holder was broken and the screen was scratched. The reviews I read said that it should only take 2 hours to put together but it took me and my boyfriend about 5 hours. Also I am 150lbs and when I use the elliptical is rocks a little side to side. I have used many ellipticals and this is the only one that has done this; so if you are heavier I do not suggest getting this elliptical. On the positive side it is good for shorter people, it is not made for tall people. Overall I am happy with the product and will never order another workout machine from Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (42) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hljohnson
Williamsburg, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Inferior device, horrible service.
3/8/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/8/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this elliptical back in September 2011, and one of the main-frame welds broke by February 2012. I'm far below the max weight of this thing, and my workouts were not intense (about an hour a day at an intensity of 7 or lower). The manufacturer won't replace/refund it, because it's past the 90-day warranty period. I bought a 2-year service plan with it, but they won't do anything about it, because weld damage is considered "physical damage", something they don't cover. Nobody involved with this product will stand behind it. Don't buy it, unless you're willing to gamble $300 on getting one that won't fail you.

Was this review helpful? (53) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
2/13/2010

Customer review by KyShopper2000

1.0 stars 2/13/2010 by KyShopper2000
by KyShopper2000

Bought this item on 2/6/10, only one week ago... During my workout this morning, the machine started feeling very unbalanced and wobbly. After an investigation, I discovered that the front brace is broken. Literally...broken where it appears to have been welded. I'm dreading returning this machine, which I bought as a display out of store. Just very disappointed, I expected better. Would not recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (43) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KyShopper2000
KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SO Worth the Price!!
9/20/2010

Customer review by armsTX

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by armsTX
by armsTX

I just graduated from college and have been looking to lose the "freshman 15" (more like 20) that I've kept around for 4 years. With a full-time job and a long commute, joining a gym just didn't sound practical. Instead I looked to buy an elliptical that I could use at my home.... AND I LOVE THIS ELLIPTICAL!! For 300 bucks you can't go wrong, compared to the prices of the other machines. It has 6 programmed 30-minute workouts, and they are no joke! I've only been doing it for 2 weeks along with dieting and I'm already seeing results! Love love love it. I can't wait to get home from work to use it!! It's also really nice to be able to do a small workout in the morning before work to really get my metabolism going for the day (which would never be possible with a gym membership!) I feel a little stronger every time I use it and can already feel my improvement. Definitely recommend it! PS - assembly wasn't hard, just took a few hours and definitely requires 2 people

Was this review helpful? (181) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
armsTX
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth What It Costs ...
12/18/2010

Customer review by ModernMaster

4.0 stars 12/18/2010 by ModernMaster
by ModernMaster

December 17th, 2010 ... I got this machine today and here is the lowdown. Just in case you don't want to read this entire review, the quick version is YES ... this machine is worth what it costs. The assembly is somewhat challenging for one person but, would be a breeze for two people. Identify your parts and then identify them again. I didn't pay close enough attention and I used the wrong wave washers in the wrong place and had to undo some of my work. Had it not been for having to backtrack, assembly would have taken an hour and a half. I have read other reviews that say this is a noisy machine. Mine is quiet except for a very, very minor click (not enough to even bother me). The only thing I will say it lacks is stability. BUT! The weight capacity for this machine is 250 pounds and I am currently 243 pounds so, I don't really fault the machine for being a little shaky under my weight. I have noticed already that if I can learn to hold my core/torso fairly stationary (only moving my arms and legs) the machine is much more stable during use. It's when I start shifting my weight that it gets unstable. Overall, I think that I am going to be happy with it. I am way, way out of shape and the first time I got on it, I could only do a couple of minutes worth. So, if you are looking for an economical machine for cardio workouts, I would say that the StrideTrainer 380 is a good choice. Also, I opted to get a Universal AC Adapter. You will want to get one as well.

Was this review helpful? (64) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ModernMaster
Mountain Home, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great elliptical for the money!
2/4/2011

Customer review by ResearchedConsumer1

5.0 stars 2/4/2011 by ResearchedConsumer1
by ResearchedConsumer1

After reading the reviews and comparing this to many others I am very happy with my choice. The directions were easy and I put this together myself in around 1 1/2 hours. I made sure to put a nice amount of grease on all the greased areas since some reviews said that it was noisy. I have no noise, it glides smoothly and I love the fact it is on the smaller side and does not take up much space in my apartment. This is a great product and I say if you are looking to buy it it is well worth the money. I suggest you take the time to read the directions, layout all the parts and hardware and do not spare on the grease. :)

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ResearchedConsumer1
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
broken rusted pieces
1/15/2014

Customer review by tipgym

1.0 stars 1/15/2014 by tipgym
by tipgym

i just received mine and after lugging the hunk-a-junk in, i opened it to find broken, bent, rusted pieces... look at review from other golds gym products, not just this one... its very common to get bad and messed up pieces! only gave it one star because it would not let me rate it lower!!!!!! i also contacted golds gym on fb, and they gave me a phone number! no apology from them... walmart was awesome and let me get reimbursed for my protection plan!!!! walmart, 100 golds gym, 0...

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tipgym
hampton, va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great machine for the price
8/10/2011

Customer review by raffietaffy

4.0 stars 8/10/2011 by raffietaffy
by raffietaffy

I've had this elliptical for about 6 months and it's still going strong. It's small enough to keep in the office/spare room of our 2-bedroom apartment, but it still gives a great workout. Overall it was easy to assemble... it took my husband and I a few hours on a Friday night, beverages in hand. I think it would have been difficult trying to do myself, though. One negative I encountered with it is the pulse/heart rate monitors on the handles don't work. I am almost positive we pulled or damaged one of the connecting wires during assembly, though, and I just don't care to use them enough to dis-assemble and try to fix. Also the screen was scratched when it arrived, but again, my heart is not broken because of that. Overall it was a great purchase. I would recommend this to anyone needing a solid piece of cardio equipment in a relatively small area.

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raffietaffy
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 380
11/7/2010

Customer review by TheSilverShirt

5.0 stars 11/7/2010 by TheSilverShirt
by TheSilverShirt

I'm writing this so people like you can come and read about the Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 380.First I'm a 59 year old white male that has been out of work for 2 years and living on a budget.Money is tight so going out other than looking for a job is not an option if you know what I mean. I grew up with free weights and have always used them to better myself at what ever I did. So finding my self out of work I felt I need something else to keep myself better fit.I,just like you looked around at many differant trainers that ranged from $200 dollars to $4ooo and there are many out there. So I picket a name brand I knew and used and trusted for years,Gold Gym.I picket this unit for 2 reasons,price and I liked the feed back that others left and I had to make a choice. I can honestly tell you it was a good choice!I put it all together myself,not sure how long it took I wasn't in any hurry just took my time making sure everything was there.It all went together by the numbers very smooth with no problems.Most of everything used to tighten the bolts is done with the alen wrenches that come with it. You will also need a small philips head screw driver and a 1\2 inch box or end wrench not enclosed. The trainer works on 4 D-cell batteries or a 6 volt power supply not enclosed. Do your self a favor and buy the 6 volt power supply. I am very impressed on how smooth it works and I really like the smart workout with the 6 step workout and heart meter.When you first start out take it slow and easy,listen to your body, you can stop and get off and rest a little and go right back to where you were.The 6 step workout last for 30 minutes. Well this is a new journey for me and if you buy this unit it will be a new journey for you as well. So good luck and let the good times roll. Alan in Visalia California.

Was this review helpful? (24) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheSilverShirt
Visalia, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Happy Angel *****
4/8/2010

Customer review by Angel4Walmart

5.0 stars 4/8/2010 by Angel4Walmart
by Angel4Walmart

OK, so I have never taken the time to write one of these reviews before...but I had to for this! I am one HAPPY angel. My husband put this together in about 1 1/2 hours. I didn't realize until afterwards that I should have ordered the AC Adapter, but NO problem..ordered it the next day. After it arrived 3 days later, I plugged it in and started out with the smart workout. I've had some medical issues, so I had to start out slow. I was really amazed at how well this machine worked and compared to other machines $$ wise...GREAT DEAL. I looked every where on the internet, craigslist, ebay etc. and this was definately the best deal I could find. I don't need fancy stuff, I just want a good workout. LOVE IT! Thanks Walmart ....

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angel4Walmart
FRESNO CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great machine for a small budget.
1/19/2010

Customer review by skotty8191

4.0 stars 1/19/2010 by skotty8191
by skotty8191
Top 250 contributor

As someone who relies on user reviews to make smart purchases, maybe my thoughts can help someone make a good purchase as well. I assembled this elliptical alone in my basement with no trouble at all. I will tell you this, Inventory all of the screws and parts before you start putting it together. The toughest part of the assembly was screwing on the handles (it wouldn't be tough at all if you had a second person). After all the screws were tightened and I tried it for the 1st time, I was impressed. It was quiet, stable and the console worked great. I was a treadmill runner until I injured my knee and now it's all elliptical for me now. My normal 30 min treadmill workout burned about 250 cals. I worked out on this elliptical for 30 mins and burned 500 cals and My knees felt great. For under 300 bucks, I think this elliptical is incredible. I also purchased a 2 yr extended warranty for 20 bucks extra. I shopped around the sporting goods stores and could not find anything in that price range. As of now... I have nothing negative to say about this.

Was this review helpful? (1244) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skotty8191
Riverside, Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 250 contributor
Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 380
3/11/2011

Customer review by HeyRay77

4.0 stars 3/11/2011 by HeyRay77
by HeyRay77

I purchased the 380 trainer on 3/10/2011 and it took about 2 hours to put together. This can be assembled by one person, but I recommend two people if possible. I had some simple problems that were my mistake. 1. pay attention to the wave washers there are two sets. One small and one large. The large ones go on the axles for the pedals. I had the large ones on the arm axle and when I got to the end the obvious became apparent. Also pay attention to the arms another simple mistake on my part which cost me a few more minutes of unscrewing and screwing. It's solid, smooth, and no problems. I suggest purchasing 4 - D cell batteries, make sure you have phillips head screwdriver, a wrench or good pair of pliers. Overall my experience, even early at this stage has been good. It's a little more tense at level 1, which made me tired within a minute, the stride is a little short and I am 5'9" but I can deal with it. I bought this for my wife and she is 5' 3", so we are ok. Other than that, I like the product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeyRay77
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Great Machine!
11/8/2009

Customer review by PowderSkier

5.0 stars 11/8/2009 by PowderSkier
by PowderSkier

I've had this machine for 2 weeks as of today. I workout 6 days a week twice a day, and so far so good. The only thing I noticed was a squeak which I can fix by applying some more grease to the spots that I put on during set up. The set up was super easy ( I really enjoy putting things together ). My husband helped me for a few things but that was it. I also used a power drill instead of the tools supplied with the machine. That helped a lot. And a couple of the holes didn't line up with the screws that good, but we got them in. I'm not sure if I've lost any weight but I've noticed that my stomach is flatter and I fit into pants that I couldn't fit into 2 weeks ago. But I also go for walks, do push ups, and am very active otherwise. I'm also a vegetarian. So all these factors aide this machine. The purpose of this machine is to not gain weight over the winter and so far it is helping me. Although it wouldn't work if it was being used as a coat rack in the living room.

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PowderSkier
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Shorter People!
11/8/2010

Customer review by PastorScott

4.0 stars 11/8/2010 by PastorScott
by PastorScott

This is a great machine for shorter people. My wife and I were able to assemble this on our own without an real difficulty in under two hours. The directions were easy to follow. Several reviews complain about a squeaking or squealing sound. We discovered that this is caused by the manufacturer over-tightening some of the screw/bolts which, in turn, caused the plastic casing to scrap against the belt. If you have this problem, simply remove the right "hub cap" (as you are on the machine)before assembling the machine and loosen the screw near the rear of the elliptical and that should fix it. Don't take off the left hub cap because then you'll make the belt fall off. Now our elliptical doesn't scratch or squeak. It is very silent and we get a great work out on it! The only problem I have with it is that the 14" stride isn't very long at all! It's kind of like climbing stairs. So if you are tall or have bad knees go with the 18" version for a little more money, but if you are shorter than say 5'7" you'd be just fine with this one.

Was this review helpful? (47) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PastorScott
Palmyra, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
batteries not included
3/10/2010

Customer review by cheapsenior

4.0 stars 3/10/2010 by cheapsenior
by cheapsenior

Had to order online(not sold in store)after doing much research. I didn't want to spend alot, but wanted a unit that would be easy for myself and wife to use and easy on our older bodies. Only had one problem with assembly: one hole had a burr in it and I cleaned it out with a drill. Quality of parts good for $277. For the average user, I highly recommend it. Now, the con: I spent time trying to find information on a power supply fot it. Like everyone else, I didn't want to spend $90 from the manufacturer. I found one from Sears, but not from Walmart. I bought one from Bestbuy( saw it online) locally. It is a Jensen universal adapter for $24.99. It several ends for many applications, including 6 volt. I was hesitant at first, until I verified the correct polarity of the 380. The center pin is positve. The power supply is 1500 ma, more than enough to handle the 600ma min. required. Align the + on the index mark of the dc plug, and your good to go!

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheapsenior
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You get what you pay for..
12/28/2012

Customer review by Lara0074

3.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Lara0074
by Lara0074

I feel I can adequately review this machine because I've owned two of them. The first one lasted about a year, with twice daily use of about an hour. It creaked and squeeked, but I turned up the TV and ignored it. After about a year, a grinding noise started coming from the round back end, and no tinkering could fix it, the axl itself was bent. About a month later, the entire machine broke from underneath me while I was using it. So I threw my cares to the wind and stupidly bought an identical machine. This one didn't even last a year. Same use and it did the same thing- busted from underneath me, in about six months. I suppose I should have prefaced this in saying I was not over the weight limit, in fact, far from it, and I'm only 5'8". I suppose if you are going to stick to a budget and only give this machine light use, it could work for awhile, but I would never purchase it again, and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lara0074
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product for a Home Workout
4/1/2011

Customer review by cupcake2011

4.0 stars 4/1/2011 by cupcake2011
by cupcake2011

I love using the ellipticals at the gym, and was hesitant about buying one of these cheaper home-use models. It took a good amount of time to put this together (2 hours or so), and it was not the easiest assembly. Once the elliptical was together, I tried it and the center bar seemed to sway from side to side. This initially freaked me out because I thought, "great I bought a piece of junk," however I simply needed to adjust the rear stabilizer knobs. Now it is solid and works great. Make sure you use the included grease for the handles and pedals so there is no noise, and adjust the rear stabilizers, and you should have a great product. It's a good workout, and the resistance goes from somewhat difficult to very difficult. The console is not "great" …definitely not gym quality, but it is good for a home workout machine. Overall, if you want to save yourself a trip to the gym, this product will get the job done and is worth the <$300.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cupcake2011
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gives a great workout and is quiet
6/9/2010

Customer review by Mamatomybabies

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by Mamatomybabies
by Mamatomybabies

If your serious about getting fit then you won't mind the few hours it takes to take everything out of the box, seperated and accounted for, and assembled. I really love my elliptical. It's very quiet. I like very much that it has resistance controls on it so you bump it up as you go. The digitals are very easy to understand. My only complaint is that where the arm of the bars are connected to the main pole, the covers don't fit exactly right and the joint which is greased well shows a little. Tightening doesn't do any good. It does not effect the machine though so far. I would recommend tightening all screws and all after a few weeks to avoid any future noises and to keep it top shape. I get on my elliptical about 30 mins a day about 5 times a week and I've had it for 2 weeks and lost an inch at least off my waist and my legs look smaller. I'm not sure how much weight has been lost b/c I don't have a scale here at home. I love that it keeps count of the calories you burn. It's sort of like a motivation.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mamatomybabies
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worst Exercise Product Ever Don't listen to others
12/19/2010

Customer review by Derek2734

1.0 stars 12/19/2010 by Derek2734
by Derek2734

The machine started making an UNBEARABLE noise within about the 3rd workout of using the machine. I work out fairly hard, but nothing special. I am 5'10" and weigh 165, so it cannot be blamed on that. There is no section in the manual to troubleshoot noise issues with this machine. The worst part is, the noise is coming from INSIDE the preassembled part of the machine. There is no way to try to add grease. Also, the machine WOBBLES fairly badly on carpet or on a mat. The only way this could be used would be on hardwood with headphones BLASTING in your ears to drown out the unbearable grinding noise. I am taking this machine back ASAP, fully assembled. No way I am I putting it back in the box. They should pay me for my wasted time with this. If you are going to buy an elliptical, go to a store where you can try out a fully assembled model for a period of time with associates who can tell you FOR SURE it will be reliable in all aspects for at least a year...

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Derek2734
Would recommend to a friend? No
Could be better, could be A LOT worse.
9/7/2010

Customer review by jenniferp04

4.0 stars 9/7/2010 by jenniferp04
by jenniferp04

I wanted to buy an elliptical to use on a daily basis, but I was on a budget. For the excersier on a budget, this is a pretty great deal. However, it does and will squeek. If you think you will be one of the chosen few that gets a perfect machine, think again. This machine does have a few set backs, but none worth returning it over. It squeeks (but any affordable elliptical will) and it rocks a tad. Other than that though, its a killer workout. The resistance is killer on it and after 30 minutes on it my EKG heart meter said I had burned 430 calories. If thats not worth $300, I dont know what is. So get some WD40, stop complaining, and just purchase the dang thing. I can get over a little added noise if it means Im going to achieve my health goals and not go broke at the same time. Cheers.

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jenniferp04
Nashvile, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 618 total reviews
1-20 of 618 reviews