Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 648 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

648 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

648 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
256
4 stars
195
3 stars
76
2 stars
35
1 stars
86
1-20 of 592 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 592 total reviews
1-20 of 592 reviews
Great machine for a small budget.
1/19/2010

Customer review by skotty8191

4.0 stars 1/19/2010 by skotty8191
by skotty8191

As someone who relies on user reviews to make smart purchases, maybe my thoughts can help someone make a good purchase as well. I assembled this elliptical alone in my basement with no trouble at all. I will tell you this, Inventory all of the screws and parts before you start putting it together. The toughest part of the assembly was screwing on the handles (it wouldn't be tough at all if you had a second person). After all the screws were tightened and I tried it for the 1st time, I was impressed. It was quiet, stable and the console worked great. I was a treadmill runner until I injured my knee and now it's all elliptical for me now. My normal 30 min treadmill workout burned about 250 cals. I worked out on this elliptical for 30 mins and burned 500 cals and My knees felt great. For under 300 bucks, I think this elliptical is incredible. I also purchased a 2 yr extended warranty for 20 bucks extra. I shopped around the sporting goods stores and could not find anything in that price range. As of now... I have nothing negative to say about this.

Was this review helpful? (1143) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skotty8191
Riverside, Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 250 contributor
Two month update on my elliptical
6/16/2010

Customer review by mybabyroxi

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by mybabyroxi
by mybabyroxi

I've had my elliptical for two months now and it is still working great. I use it 5 days a week for 30-45 minutes. When I first got the elliptical I could not even complete the level 1 workout, but now I do the level 6 workout. I have lost 30 lbs. dieting and exercising (on this elliptical). It gives a great workout, so be ready to sweat your butt off.

Was this review helpful? (653) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mybabyroxi
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Absolutly Wonderful!
3/20/2010

Customer review by Bubkin82

5.0 stars 3/20/2010 by Bubkin82
by Bubkin82

I have been wanting to exercise for a long time to lose that baby weight and my weight I gained when stopped smoking. With my 2 kids, husband, busy schedule and the fact I don't have all the money in the world to spend at a gym and on childcare.. I went shopping for a at home machine that will give me results on my time schedule. After reading about a bunch of expensive units I came across this one and I liked what I heard. It has a 78% rate of 4 or 5 star rated. I decided to purchase the unit and boy am I happy. The first time I used it on resistance 1 my thighs were burning within 2 min. The LCD display is very easy to read. The machine it self is so quiet my kids can watch a move while I workout and not be disturbed. The 6 personal trainer preset are nice too. I was worried about getting a machine that might hurt my 2 year old but this is very stable and doesn't have anything for him to catch himself on. Putting it together was pretty easy. The instructions were very easy to ready. My husband basically did the work all by himself. All I did was arrange the nuts and bolts and hand those to him correctly. However, when trying to connect the inner handle bars we had problems. The way you have to do it you have to thread a bolt around the wires, it took time but we got it together. The handles bars defianatly need 2 people to make it easier, the rest you don't. Long story short this machine is well worth the purchase in more ways then one. If you are shopping for a inexpensive but well rounded machine you have found it! I LOVE IT! My husband is liking it now too!

Was this review helpful? (336) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bubkin82
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Somewhat surprised
3/15/2011

Customer review by topherboy1981

4.0 stars 3/15/2011 by topherboy1981
by topherboy1981

Now I'm no trek star mind you. I'm a fatty, 30 something male who sits in front of a desk. Or behind. But that's not important. I have been working out at my local gym focusing on Cardio and the elliptical is a great low impact exercise that will burn a high amount of calories in a short period of time. Especially for fat guy like me. (soon to be skinny) Here's the things I liked about this Goldgym 380: -cheap (love cheap stuff) -a lot of functions (for the cheap factor, you wouldn't expect much but this offers a lot) -and seems durable (if it can withstand my fat body, chances are you'll be fine) Things I didn't care much about: -the LCD is not backlit. (that made me sad cause I do most of my workouts in the morning before the sun rises in the bedroom and now the wife hates me because I work out with the lights on while she sleeps)(that and I sing to the music while working out which makes it even worse) -the stride distance is only 14" (which is plenty for my short stubby legs) but the other Goldgym ellipticals can adjust from 12" to 18" -takes time to put the thing together right (making sure there's no extra parts left over) Conclusion: For the cost, it's a great elliptical. It gives you a great work out. And if you're talented like me, you'll be able to put it together by yourself. You really don't need two people. However, you do need two people to bring it upstairs. That second person shouldn't be your wife. (sorry honey, I'm sure that leg will heal right up) Don't expect a high end elliptical trainer straight from your $50 a month gym. But don't expect Chevett held together with duct tape either. It does the trick, gives you a good workout and the features are just as good as the gyms equipment. Now if only I can convince myself to use it more often. toodles! P.S. My elliptical survived "Ship to Store" service. The box looked like it was dragged through the grand canyon but other then that...

Was this review helpful? (378) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
topherboy1981
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Love it!!!
12/4/2009

Customer review by jess23mk

5.0 stars 12/4/2009 by jess23mk
by jess23mk

I'm always looking for a review to tell me to buy this product. So hopefully this will convince those who r thinking twice, Buy This Elliptical!!! It is difficult to put together but can be done. The workout is soo worth the wait. My husband was surprised that this machine was worth its money. I use it everyday for at least 30 mins and am getting the results I want. I highly recommend this product. And I am so gald I did not purchase the treadmill. lol

Was this review helpful? (117) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jess23mk
us
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
1/24/2010

Customer review by BabyGirl2730

5.0 stars 1/24/2010 by BabyGirl2730
by BabyGirl2730

I have spent some time looking at elliptical machines and reading reviews, trying to search for the right one to help me lose unwanted post baby weight. I came across this one in the store and decided a week later to go back and get it. I am a military wife with a husband that is deployed and had to put it together by myself. It took me a couple hours with a few breaks, but I got it put together with no help. Honestly the directions were awesome! I haven't had any problems with it shaking and I live in an apartment. I haven't had any issues with noise either. I have a treadmill as well and the elliptical is easier on my knees. The one thing I would recommend is that you purchase the AC Adapter so that you wont go through batteries. So far so good and I would recommend this to any one and everyone I know!!!! Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (102) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BabyGirl2730
Ft.Lewis, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
SO Worth the Price!!
9/20/2010

Customer review by armsTX

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by armsTX
by armsTX

I just graduated from college and have been looking to lose the "freshman 15" (more like 20) that I've kept around for 4 years. With a full-time job and a long commute, joining a gym just didn't sound practical. Instead I looked to buy an elliptical that I could use at my home.... AND I LOVE THIS ELLIPTICAL!! For 300 bucks you can't go wrong, compared to the prices of the other machines. It has 6 programmed 30-minute workouts, and they are no joke! I've only been doing it for 2 weeks along with dieting and I'm already seeing results! Love love love it. I can't wait to get home from work to use it!! It's also really nice to be able to do a small workout in the morning before work to really get my metabolism going for the day (which would never be possible with a gym membership!) I feel a little stronger every time I use it and can already feel my improvement. Definitely recommend it! PS - assembly wasn't hard, just took a few hours and definitely requires 2 people

Was this review helpful? (165) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
armsTX
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Purchase!
11/14/2009

Customer review by ClaudiaAnne

5.0 stars 11/14/2009 by ClaudiaAnne
by ClaudiaAnne

I can't believe that this Elliptical was under $300 dollars! It's a real powerhouse, very sturdy and well made. I purchased it late night on 11/7 and put it together the following day. It wasn't the easiest thing to put together but I did it with barely any help from my husband. Make sure to really grease (package included in setup) up the areas that call for grease to avoid any squeaking. I also purchased a bottle of Silicone spray from the automotive section of Walmart just in case it does start to squeak. I would highly recommend this product and for my height 5'9" the stride is perfect. This is a WINNER! The only things you will need are D batteries (4) a Philips screwdriver and a wrench.

Was this review helpful? (253) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ClaudiaAnne
Globe, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth What It Costs ...
12/18/2010

Customer review by ModernMaster

4.0 stars 12/18/2010 by ModernMaster
by ModernMaster

December 17th, 2010 ... I got this machine today and here is the lowdown. Just in case you don't want to read this entire review, the quick version is YES ... this machine is worth what it costs. The assembly is somewhat challenging for one person but, would be a breeze for two people. Identify your parts and then identify them again. I didn't pay close enough attention and I used the wrong wave washers in the wrong place and had to undo some of my work. Had it not been for having to backtrack, assembly would have taken an hour and a half. I have read other reviews that say this is a noisy machine. Mine is quiet except for a very, very minor click (not enough to even bother me). The only thing I will say it lacks is stability. BUT! The weight capacity for this machine is 250 pounds and I am currently 243 pounds so, I don't really fault the machine for being a little shaky under my weight. I have noticed already that if I can learn to hold my core/torso fairly stationary (only moving my arms and legs) the machine is much more stable during use. It's when I start shifting my weight that it gets unstable. Overall, I think that I am going to be happy with it. I am way, way out of shape and the first time I got on it, I could only do a couple of minutes worth. So, if you are looking for an economical machine for cardio workouts, I would say that the StrideTrainer 380 is a good choice. Also, I opted to get a Universal AC Adapter. You will want to get one as well.

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ModernMaster
Mountain Home, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Extensive Research
3/18/2010

Customer review by Welovetrains

5.0 stars 3/18/2010 by Welovetrains
by Welovetrains

We did extensive research prior to this purchase. We outlined what various stores and other products offered and when we were done analyzing we came to the decision of the Gold's Gym 380 from Wal-mart with Wal-Mart's extended warranty. We were comparing the Gold's Gym to the Pro-Form found at other stores and eventually our decision was based on price and size. We needed the elliptical to fit into a certain space we had. The size is actually smaller in length than the specifications state. I would suggest doing what we did and measuring at a local Wal-Mart prior to purchasing. We were also concerned about the stride because my husband is 6'1", but this machine works just fine for both of us (I'm 5'5"). I have noticed improvements in my upper thighs and overall weight loss. We are active and play sports, but needed something consistant to do daily. It has stayed quiet and I use it while the rest of the family is asleep in the early morning. We also took the advice of other reviews we read and made sure to properly grease the parts as suggested. We invested in a plug for the console at Wal-Mart and actually had to call the Gold's Gym company because only the top part of the console worked from day one. They gladly replaced the console since it was under warranty. The only reason we hesitated on purchasing this one was because it did not have an mp3 port, but it really is not a problem now that we have it. We just put our mp3s in our pockets. Also we found Wal-Mart had the best warranty for the price. You can't beat $19.88 for two years! We have owned the product for five weeks and use it four times a week.

Was this review helpful? (48) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Welovetrains
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
WONDERFUL MACHINE
3/3/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I brought this machine back in December I workout on it almost everyday for 1 hour it's a killing workout. I burn up to 900 calories in just 1 hour and I am not in best shape after having my son....you can go at your own pace...no squeaking or wobbling...I am short 5'4 and it works great. I used to run for years prior to having my son and this is wonderful for the knees....I definitely would recommend it, my Fiancee put it together in no time while watching t.v. hope this helps your decision!

Was this review helpful? (63) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fairfax Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
EXCELLENT ELLIPTICAL!
10/25/2010

Customer review by Sammiam

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by Sammiam
by Sammiam

WENT TO PURCHASE THE GOLDS SPIN BIKE 210 AND WAS DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE MY KNEES KEPT HITTING THE BARS. WAS EYEBALLING THIS AND DECIDED TO PURCHASE IT. WALMART ASSEMBLED IT FOR FREE (BETCHA DIDNT KNOW THAT). I PAID FOR IT AND PICKED IT UP BY 3PM. THIS IS A GREAT MACHINE, GREAT PRICE, AND A GREAT WORKOUT. IM 5'9 AND THE STRIDE IS GOOD. I'LL KEEP YOU POSTED AS I WORK OUT, BUT SO FAR IM VERY SATISFIED.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sammiam
Columbia, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Could be better, could be A LOT worse.
9/7/2010

Customer review by jenniferp04

4.0 stars 9/7/2010 by jenniferp04
by jenniferp04

I wanted to buy an elliptical to use on a daily basis, but I was on a budget. For the excersier on a budget, this is a pretty great deal. However, it does and will squeek. If you think you will be one of the chosen few that gets a perfect machine, think again. This machine does have a few set backs, but none worth returning it over. It squeeks (but any affordable elliptical will) and it rocks a tad. Other than that though, its a killer workout. The resistance is killer on it and after 30 minutes on it my EKG heart meter said I had burned 430 calories. If thats not worth $300, I dont know what is. So get some WD40, stop complaining, and just purchase the dang thing. I can get over a little added noise if it means Im going to achieve my health goals and not go broke at the same time. Cheers.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jenniferp04
Nashvile, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Shorter People!
11/8/2010

Customer review by PastorScott

4.0 stars 11/8/2010 by PastorScott
by PastorScott

This is a great machine for shorter people. My wife and I were able to assemble this on our own without an real difficulty in under two hours. The directions were easy to follow. Several reviews complain about a squeaking or squealing sound. We discovered that this is caused by the manufacturer over-tightening some of the screw/bolts which, in turn, caused the plastic casing to scrap against the belt. If you have this problem, simply remove the right "hub cap" (as you are on the machine)before assembling the machine and loosen the screw near the rear of the elliptical and that should fix it. Don't take off the left hub cap because then you'll make the belt fall off. Now our elliptical doesn't scratch or squeak. It is very silent and we get a great work out on it! The only problem I have with it is that the 14" stride isn't very long at all! It's kind of like climbing stairs. So if you are tall or have bad knees go with the 18" version for a little more money, but if you are shorter than say 5'7" you'd be just fine with this one.

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PastorScott
Palmyra, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Key Weld Broke
7/7/2010

Customer review by TenaciousG

1.0 stars 7/7/2010 by TenaciousG
by TenaciousG

This WAS a perfect product, until it broke! It ran smoothly and very quietly, and I was very pleased. Then, two weeks past the 90 day warranty, the weld that secures the front stabilizer bar (the front "feet") to the frame snapped. I am 225 lbs - below the 250 maximum-and used the machine 3 times per week. A call to manufacturer customer service was disappointing, though not surprising, as the item was no longer covered by warranty. I'll now have to get a friend to weld the thing or I'll have to fashion brackets. Until then, it's useless. $277 for three months' use.

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TenaciousG
Oshkosh, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Inferior device, horrible service.
3/8/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/8/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this elliptical back in September 2011, and one of the main-frame welds broke by February 2012. I'm far below the max weight of this thing, and my workouts were not intense (about an hour a day at an intensity of 7 or lower). The manufacturer won't replace/refund it, because it's past the 90-day warranty period. I bought a 2-year service plan with it, but they won't do anything about it, because weld damage is considered "physical damage", something they don't cover. Nobody involved with this product will stand behind it. Don't buy it, unless you're willing to gamble $300 on getting one that won't fail you.

Was this review helpful? (45) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Broken cup holder and screen!
1/31/2011

Customer review by Hljohnson

3.0 stars 1/31/2011 by Hljohnson
by Hljohnson

This is the second elliptical I bought from Walmart. The one I ordered a few weeks ago was broken to pieces when I got it out of the box so I took it back and bought this one. I did the site to store shipping for both of them. When I got this elliptical I found that the cup holder was broken and the screen was scratched. The reviews I read said that it should only take 2 hours to put together but it took me and my boyfriend about 5 hours. Also I am 150lbs and when I use the elliptical is rocks a little side to side. I have used many ellipticals and this is the only one that has done this; so if you are heavier I do not suggest getting this elliptical. On the positive side it is good for shorter people, it is not made for tall people. Overall I am happy with the product and will never order another workout machine from Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (37) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hljohnson
Williamsburg, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Product didn't last
3/5/2010

Customer review by CheshireCT

1.0 stars 3/5/2010 by CheshireCT
by CheshireCT

At first I was really happy with this product. It was getting an hour of use per day, between my wife and I. In 3 months, the welds at the front of the machine came loose, and the frame actually cracked (and yes, we are both within the weight limits of the machine). With the crack in the frame, it now makes a loud grinding noise, which the TV cannot drown out. I think this machine is not very well balanced, it shimmies right and left as you use it, and this causes the frame to wear down quickly.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CheshireCT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Machine!
11/8/2009

Customer review by PowderSkier

5.0 stars 11/8/2009 by PowderSkier
by PowderSkier

I've had this machine for 2 weeks as of today. I workout 6 days a week twice a day, and so far so good. The only thing I noticed was a squeak which I can fix by applying some more grease to the spots that I put on during set up. The set up was super easy ( I really enjoy putting things together ). My husband helped me for a few things but that was it. I also used a power drill instead of the tools supplied with the machine. That helped a lot. And a couple of the holes didn't line up with the screws that good, but we got them in. I'm not sure if I've lost any weight but I've noticed that my stomach is flatter and I fit into pants that I couldn't fit into 2 weeks ago. But I also go for walks, do push ups, and am very active otherwise. I'm also a vegetarian. So all these factors aide this machine. The purpose of this machine is to not gain weight over the winter and so far it is helping me. Although it wouldn't work if it was being used as a coat rack in the living room.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PowderSkier
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
batteries not included
3/10/2010

Customer review by cheapsenior

4.0 stars 3/10/2010 by cheapsenior
by cheapsenior

Had to order online(not sold in store)after doing much research. I didn't want to spend alot, but wanted a unit that would be easy for myself and wife to use and easy on our older bodies. Only had one problem with assembly: one hole had a burr in it and I cleaned it out with a drill. Quality of parts good for $277. For the average user, I highly recommend it. Now, the con: I spent time trying to find information on a power supply fot it. Like everyone else, I didn't want to spend $90 from the manufacturer. I found one from Sears, but not from Walmart. I bought one from Bestbuy( saw it online) locally. It is a Jensen universal adapter for $24.99. It several ends for many applications, including 6 volt. I was hesitant at first, until I verified the correct polarity of the 380. The center pin is positve. The power supply is 1500 ma, more than enough to handle the 600ma min. required. Align the + on the index mark of the dc plug, and your good to go!

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cheapsenior
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 592 total reviews
1-20 of 592 reviews